Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 6145B001 » 25 Reviews

Canon PowerShot D20 12.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Blue - 3" LCD - 5x Optical Zoom - Optical (IS) - 4000 x 3000 Image - 1920 x 1080 Video - HDMI - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 25 reviews)

65% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Short life

By Traveler from Toronto, Ontario on 05/11/2015

The camera did take good pictures and is easy to use. a plus for sure. My problem is it only lasted 3 under water trips. On the fourth use, water did get into the camera killing it. After paying for the service repair, I was given a new D30. Less than a new one but still expensive. About to try this camera on a trip and hope it lasts longer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The same thing happened ...

By had from Massachusetts on 12/05/2014

The same thing happened to me as a previous reviewer. I have used this camera on vacations, cruises, white water rafting (for two consecutive successful years), and this year water got through and it no longer works. I am past warranty, and am looking into a new waterproof camera for my cruise this January, and part of my wanted to buy the same one again. But since other reviewers have had the same problem, I will probably head in another direction. :(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for underwater- not for video

By CO_dogs from Denver, CO on 12/04/2014

I purchased this camera for a special trip to use for snorkeling. It performed wonderfully under water and fish photos turned out great. It takes good pictures for day to day things, but the 5x zoom is not enough for many situations. The videos all have a clicking sound in them and I don't like to use it for video at all, so it becomes a less useful all-around camera. It is nice to have a camera that I don't worry about getting wet. I attach a "float" strap and take it on a paddleboard to take photos. This is my third Canon camera and they have all been reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not-so-waterproof

By Sorrento from Boston, NY on 11/13/2014

I owned my D20 since 2011 and I have been very happy with it. It produces very good quality photos, very easy to use and a lot better than than other water-proof in size and looks. I have always been a fan of Canon, so I chose this for my weatherproof camera as well. After years of using it in bodies of water, my camera was tested and failed in the waterfalls. Water breached through and was rendered unusable. I am past the warranty, and it would have been more expensive to have it repaired. So maybe it wasn't shock-proof and waterproof?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Power Shot D20

By Gumbo from Pensacola, FL on 10/27/2014

I live on the Gulf Coast and purchased my first Canon Power Shot D10 just before the 2010 BP oil Spill. We liked the fact that there are no moving external parts and found it to take great pictures. I sampled twice weekly as the oil was coming ashore and took thousands of great pictures...and then one day the camera was dead. We purchased the Power Shot D20 - and on the first day of use the camera quit working, and canon immediately provided a new camera in return for the first. The second D20 has worked great until last month...while underwater - I took several pictures and the power never came back on. We are good about rinsing our equipment and set it out to dry. Every few days, I try it to see if something will work. Nothing. Ironically, the D10 started working again. So now it is the primary day-to-day camera. I'm disappointed that the cost of repair is more than the cost of a new camera. The camera takes great pictures, is rugged, and thankfully doesn't have any external moving parts for sand to get in...but throughout the past 4.5 yrs, this moisture issue seems to be a downfall for this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am extremely ...

By LA from Undisclosed on 04/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am extremely disappointed with this camera. Our family loves to be in the water. I thought this camera would be perfect. Unfortunately it is not really waterproof. The first one I bought started leaking within a month. Canon sent me a new one. (which was great for customer service) But, now the second one let water in too. :( Obviously it isn't waterproof like they advertise. I can't say anything bad against Canon's customer service and their other products. I love my 7D. BUT, do not buy the Powershot D20!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not waterproof

By Anonymous from Cleveland, Ohio on 03/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera and used it underwater twice without problem. The third time while snorkeling it filled with water and is now useless. I will send it to Canon but am not hopeful they will replace it as it is out of warranty. After reading the reviews, I think this model is a lemon. Maybe the D30 will be better? I love my other Canon cameras (five)!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is my 3rd canon ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 12/31/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is my 3rd canon waterproof cameras and I loved the other two. The changes that have been made to this model are horrible and have reduced the quality of this camera to the point that i will be sending my recent purchase back. The change to the location of the strap attachment makes it impossible to set up a timed shot because the camera will no longer stand up without being propped up. And when propped the pucture is crooked due to the srap attachment not letting it sit evenly. The focus time is much longer and sometimes it took over 5 seconds to get the camera to focus in order to take a picture. The quality of pictures in low light is horrible even in auto mode. Very grainy and unfocused. And if any of the peple in the pictures moved at all the picture was blurred. The latch / cover over the battery compartment is also very flimsy compared to the last 2 models. I am so disappointed. I have raved about my last 2 cameras and the difference with this model is huge. Poor work canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nasty suprise - not water friendly

By Snorkeler from Vancouver, BC, Canada on 11/27/2013


Pros:

Hd Movie, Feature Set, Gps, Style

Cons:

Warranty May Be A Concern, Not Waterproof

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this camera in October for snorkeling in Mexico November for its waterproof, GPS, Movie and rugged capability. Sampled pictures prior to trip and liked the simplicity and feature set. However, on first use in water (all doors are sealed with a goof-proof snap-click lock), at a depth of 3 inches, it filled up with water and became unusable. Very disappointed as I love the canon line and buy all my cameras (SLR, DSLR, Powershot) from them. Camera has been sent out for repair. I am waiting for the results of their warranty investigation and will post the results. Had this camera for just over a month.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best purchase ever

By a from north Carolina on 11/17/2013


Pros:

Waterproof Easy To Use

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this Camera.it takes great pictures underwater and out.I use it regularly at our local YMCA with me and my 2 year old daughter. she took a survival swim class. And I have lots of videos and pictures of her swimming underwater.I have burned DVDs and they come out great. I wish I can upload a Videos of her doing her swim float Swim sequence. just so you can see what it looks like. I just keep it strapped to my arm with the float keeper. And it works out great. I wish I could buy another one just so if they stop making it I will have a backup. Because I love it so much.I have owned other brands of waterproof cameras and this one is the best hands down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

happy customer

By galapagos diver from Undisclosed on 10/03/2013


Pros:

Doesn't Leak Under Water

Cons:

Zoom Isn't Great

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was worried about this product when I read a bad review on it but I've had it for a while and it hasn't disappointed. The only things that I didn't like about this camera is there is no panorama button and the zoom isn't very good. I just got the standard camera without any additional zoom but I found when I was taking pictures of birds that were kind of far away that the zoom didn't cut it. It foucusss relatively well - I took a lot of pictures inside a moving bus and for the most part they turned out well


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, but no lens cover

By scald from Houston TX on 09/17/2013


Pros:

Tough High Qiuality

Cons:

Slow To Shoot, No Lens Cover!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm buying another D20, after superb performance for two years. My bad-- I caused a leak in salt water.Two complaints, one serious: 1) slow to shoot, but aren't they all, and 2) NO LENS COVER! Hand it to a friend for a shot, or forget, and you've got a lens smudge.But, the camera goes anywhere I can, takes professional quality images for magazine use, does excellent video. Since they seem to be hard to get, I wonder if Canon is revamping. Anyone know, because I can't get an answer from Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DC10 - I WANT ANOTHER ONE!

By drew from santa cruz mountains , ca on 08/13/2013


Pros:

I Cant Brake It

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I 've probably used my DC10 every day for years. in and out of my creek, I captured silt laden steelhead trout videos and put this camera TO THE TEST. It has never had problems - unbelievable roughness I put it through, yet still takes very clear incredible shots. I noticed it appears a little slower on shots than it used to. Apparently discontinued, I wonder if the DC20 will live up to the dc10?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've had this camera for ...

By Rich from New Jersey on 07/24/2013


Pros:

Great Pic Quality

Cons:

Camera May Not Seal Right

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this camera for a little over a year. It was fun while it lasted. The camera may not seal correctly thus causing the unit to be flooded with water. So much for the underwater capability. All of my cameras are Canons but I would think twice about purchasing this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I had the d10 camera and ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 06/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had the d10 camera and was looking for a smaller version of the same camera. when I first looked at the d20 , I thought the specs said it would have a time exposure setting of up to 15 seconds. That was the one feature of my d10 that I used to capture auroras in AK. When I got the camera home I couldn't find the setting for long exposures. I called Canon's helpline and was told that the new models are not able to do time exposures. I was ready to take it back to the store. But I knew I had read somewhere that the camera could take 15 second time exposures. So I looked again on the Canon website and found that it did. I had to call Canon's helpline again.This time after about 10 trying minutes of being on hold, someone finally came on the line and talked me through the steps to setting up the camera for a time exposure. It is not so easy to figure out unless you have someone tell you how. You have to quickly move through the controls or you get stuck where you pause. This needs to be fixed Canon. I hope I can recall the needed procedure next time I want to use it. It is not user friendly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon does it again

By HomeAir from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA on 04/12/2013


Pros:

Excellent Images, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use

Cons:

Wish It Could Take 6 Fps

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What more can I say...another great rugged outdoor camera by Canon. I had the D10 which I lost in high surf because of the metal locking strap dislodging from the camera. I now like the D20 with the option of attaching the strap straight into the camera itself. The images are sharp and clear. I've had some people think I used an SLR to take some of the photos. Low and behold, it's a point and shoot. Love it and totally recommend it over the other popular brands. Good luck and good shooting!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Limited Lifespan

By Sandy from Undisclosed on 03/12/2013


Pros:

Worked Well

Cons:

Stopped Working At 2 Years

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received the camera as a gift and thought it was great, but when 2 years old it stopped working and there was no way to replace it without buying a new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera overall

By islandgirl from Dominica on 01/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had the older powershot D model and I absolutely loved it... unfortunately it was stolen so I had to upgrade to this current model. I love all the features, modes, and image quality of the camera. My two complaints are that 1) the lens is on the left hand, upper corner which can cause a problem if your left finger gets in the way (the prior model had the lens in the middle which I liked more). and 2) The other issue is that the strap can only be connected on the bottom right corner which does not allow the camera to stand up (again, the prior model had different options for the strap placement). Overall, I'm still very happy with my choice of sticking with the powershot D. It takes great underwater photos as well as dry ones. I love the newer filters such as "poster" and "miniature". Would definite recommend it to a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera in and out of the water.

By Mermaid from Surfside, Fl on 12/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Canon PowerShot D20 in my opinion is a great under water camera. Compared to other under water cameras I have owned this one takes great shoots in and out of the water. The features are easy to understand and access. The description of each feature and what it offers makes the camera easy to use with out memorizing every symbol or having to look it up. I also love the strap system it comes with. Great buy for the money and stylish.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

clicking noise in video mode

By seelion from Terre Haute, In. on 11/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I also had an issue with clicking noise while in video. found out that this noise comes from the auto focus, to resolve this, when in video mode, put your focus on infinity and wella !!! no more clicking noise. hope this helps with your camera. i barrowed this camera, but will be buying my own soon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

D20 1-Flaw

By Chris from Atlanta, GA on 09/28/2012


Pros:

Easy, Quality Pictures, Small

Cons:

Rattles In Movie Mode

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When the camera is in Movie mode, it rattles. Doesn't rattle in picture mode, so it must be something in the camera's mechanics. So if you plan on shooting video, you will get a clicking sound until this gets resolved. Mine is not the only one that does this. So it is likely a design, or software flaw. I sent mine back, and they said it was "in spec" ... Otherwise it is a great camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best purchase EVER!!!

By Costarican fan from Undisclosed on 07/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love going to the beach or pool with my son, and I love to have lots of picsand videos of him. This is the perfect option to take both without thinking of anything else than having fun!!! IT IS JUST PERFECT!! Loved the gift. Thanks hubby!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Camera dies after one hour

By zenmaster from East Brunswick, NJ on 07/03/2012


Cons:

Dies After An Hour Of Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera specifically for a trip to the beach with my extended family. After an hour of use, all of the buttons on the back stopped responding. I couldn't zoom in or out, could't change shooting mode, couldn't delete photos or review any of the pictures I shot and couldn't access the menu. The camera turned into a very expensive fixed focus point and shoot camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This camera is fun

By KC Xanadu from Brooklyn, NY on 06/30/2012


Pros:

Super Sharp Photos, Looks Cute, Exceeds Expectations, Worry Free Beach Days, Perfect Size

Cons:

Computer Program

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera mainly because I was afraid of taking my Canon G-11 to the beach. I wasn't expecting too much to be honest, but I'm really surprised how much fun I'm having with this camera. It has a lot of fun features built in to manipulate the photos. I also like the fact that it's small, but not TOO SMALL. As a 6'3" male, I prefer a camera that feels like it can't flip out of my hands because it's so thin and tiny. It's still compact but reasonably compact. I thought I was basically buying a tough, basic, quality underwater camera. I had no clue about the built in GPS system, Photo stitching and movie quality video camera. The photos are razor sharp and simply stunning. I've posted several photos and several people have already asked me what camera I am using. I really don't have any issues with it because it exceeded my actual expectations. It is easy to get your finger in the shot but once you make that mistake a few times, it's an easy fix. The crescent moon shape on the left side is a great place to put your finger to prevent this from happening. My friend upstairs is actually a pro. I let him see it and he was very impressed as well. This is a solid camera that you won't need to replace for awhile because it is what it is. I don't really like the computer program that comes with it. It looks very basic, as it should be, but its still confusing. I was also kinda surprised that it doesn't tell you if the camera floats or sinks in the water. Seems like that should be an obvious listing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Kid-Proof and Versatile

By Briarwoood from Southern Maryland on 05/26/2012


Pros:

Compact, Kid-friendly, 1080p Video, Good Low-iso Image Quality, Versatile

Cons:

Lens Placement, Higher Iso Noise

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've owned nearly a dozen different Canon digital cameras. This is one of the best we've owned in that it is so versatile. Going on family trips to the beach or hiking we always want to have a camera with us but don't want the weight of a DSLR or the fragility of our superzoom. We decided it was time to get a kid-proof camera that could withstand the sand. mud, much, and otherwise camera-unfriendly treatment our kids dish out. Our 3 and 4 year old use this camera without a problem (though the 3 year old has to be reminded to move her fingers out of the way of the lens, since it is so close to the outside edge). My wife and I always take pictures of our family, but now we can get the kids to take pictures of us - it's great. Picture quality is not good, but not great - don't expect the tonality of a DSLR or a higher-end point-and-shoot. This is a small sensor in a tight package and the results are typical for this category. The quality is good enough though, that coupled with it's versatility and small size, it will replace our digital elph. Wish the lens and rear-screen were gorilla glass, so case/cover was not necessary.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved