Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 6163B001 » 11 Reviews

Canon PowerShot ELPH 530 HS 10.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - White - 3.2" Touchscreen LCD - 12x Optical Zoom - Optical (IS) - 3648 x 2736 Image - 1920 x 1080 Video - HDMI - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 11 reviews)

63% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight/portable (6), Durable (4), Nice Features/settings (7), Excellent Image Quality (6), Good Low-light Performance (6), Bright Lcd (5), Simple Controls/menu (5), Easy To Use (6)

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Has potential of a real winner

By Tim from Atlanta GA on 12/28/2013


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Durable

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

THis is my initial review for the ELPH 530 HS and will update it in a week or so. I have seen several comments about short battery life so that will be investigated. The comments about the round and round on the Canon web site is true. I still do not have my account complete yet, I think!? Camera quality is superb - I saw several reviews that knock it because it isn't the usual ELPH metal case. In my humble opinion, so what? It has a very solid feel and I like the "quality" of the plastic components. It has a lot of powerful technology packed inside it. I had initial problems with the wi-fi capability as it was one of the reasons I purchased it! I own a Rebel XT and a 7D so love Canon! More later.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst purchase ever

By camera fan from west palm beach florida on 10/13/2013


Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Image Quality, Difficult To Use, Poor Low-light Performance, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

poor quality images, not intuitive or user friendly, picture quality better in older canon models, would not recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent camera

By photo novice from Nayarite, Mexico on 08/18/2013


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Durable, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

1st canon was a T50 P&S .. AE1 .. this Elph 530HS is the most convenient and all around quality ...I always remove the battery from all cameras when not in use .. This is probably the best camera I have ever owned ...the big screen is a great feature...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wifi not so good

By PWD lover from Aldie, VA on 07/22/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Wifi Capabilities, Difficult To Use, Complicated Controls/menu, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera as a lightweight alternative to my DSLR for fun trips. I loved the idea of having wifi to post to Facebook, etc. It took me several hours to figure out how to set it up. The Canon website is horrible. If you don't do everything in the proper sequence you have to keep registering your camera over and over. It wasn't clear whether you needed one password or two (for the Canon Imaging as well as the Canon account). You can submit a photo to facebook, but you can't make any comments - not good. Email photos - I haven't had time to delve into it but it appears that you have to set up the email recipients ahead of time on the web site, so you need to know who you might send a photo to before you even take it. I haven't taken many photos yet, so will refrain from commenting on that until after my upcoming trip. I know it's not an iPhone, but I did expect some basic features for wifi that didn't require constant set up changes on a web site to make it work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good!

By JSK from Toronto, ON on 06/13/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Heavy/bulky, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera as point and shoot for my dslr One of the review(at the bottom) said there are no manual option. But there is one. If you used canon camera, word P is manual setting. It is great except the screen. Screen is not a static but pressure. It means it has films on it. Not like smart phone screen. Respond time is longer and sometimes it doesn't work. So if you want to buy this product, you should try ou the working one. Because all the functions on the phone is great and works well. Pro: Low light, many functions and settings, manual option, easy to use. Con: Touch screen, no multi erase, battery is short, case is made with plastic,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bang for the bucks!

By thecatsmeow from Georgia on 04/24/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the camera. Its sleek design and compact. Everything I needed in camera. Takes excellent pictures even in low light. It took me some time to get use to the touch screen which is very sensitive but I love it! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a cheap camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great little camera

By BillyBob from Pensacola FL on 04/12/2013


Pros:

Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast, lightweight takes awesome pics. Upgraded from older Canon Elph....love the touch screen


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great CameraWith One Flaw

By BHG from WA on 04/10/2013


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Simple Elegant Design, Easy To Use

Cons:

Battery Goes Dead Even When Off

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like everything about this camera except one: If you leave the battery in the camera it goes dead in only a few days, even when the camera is turned off. If you remove the battery after each use it holds its charge OK.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Camera

By Thae from Undisclosed on 05/29/2012


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My previous camera, Canon SD3500, was horrible! I hated the thing and the pictures were awful. This camera replaces that one and it is awesome! It takes excellent low light shots and the normal pictures are beautiful. The touchscreen is not iPhone-like but i don't expect my camera to be a phone. This is the 1st camera I have truly loved in awhile.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent small camera

By LoffKat from New York, NY on 05/13/2012


Pros:

Weight, Wifi Upload, Size

Cons:

Slow Readiness For Next Picture To Be Taken

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera because an old camera (SD450) which i loved so much was lost to a bus ride... I love the size of this camera and the features are the same as most small cameras. There IS a manual override for shooting adjustments (P). While is it a little on the slower side to be ready to take the next picture, I am okay with sacrificing that option for the weight and size of the camera. As always with Canon, the images are excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no manual override

By grr from Willmar , MN on 05/01/2012


Pros:

Small Size

Cons:

No Manual Override

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was really excited about this camera and then I found out that it has no manual override. I returned the camera. I can not use a camera this basic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved