Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 6310B002 » 27 Reviews

Canon 40 mm f/2.8 Medium Telephoto Lens for Canon EF/EF-S - 52 mm Attachment - STM Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 27 reviews)

95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Super-sharp Images (16), Fast Auto-focus (11), Superior Build Quality (10)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Lightweight and Sharp

By Waddizzle from New York, NY on 07/19/2015

I purchased a camera kit, which naturally came with a zoom lens. I wanted something lightweight, suitable for walking around taking pictures at the beach, at cookout, etc. I never fully understood why people would purchase a standard lens when a zoom could cover the focal length of multiple standard lenses. The reason is performance. I was immediately impressed by how sharp the images are with this lens. It has a short focal length, but without any wide angle or fish-eye effect. Colors are vivid. Bokeh is great on subjects close to the camera/lens, about 3-9 feet. This lens is a great value. The price/performance ratio is off the charts. This is a must have for full frame or APS-C cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great lense for your camera

By zeee from Connecticut, USA on 07/09/2015

Got it yesterday and trust me it is the best lens for portraits. Great bokeh, crisp pictures and most important there is no lens noise. superb built feels great in hand. would recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Sharp

By Smokey from Fredericksburg, VA on 01/21/2015

This is one of the sharpest lenses I own. That said, I own the EF 24-105mm f4/L IS USM lens. It competes quite nicely with that lens. Enough said.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Walk-Around Lens

By ace from East Lansing, MI on 12/19/2014

This thin lens is the perfect walk-around lens for a full frame camera and a decent portrait lens for a APS-C camera. Just add a protection filter and a thin sun shade, and you are ready to cruse the boulevard.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon Best Pancake Lens

By 808 Pureview from Honolulu, HI on 09/02/2014


Pros:

Very Small, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Noisy Manual Focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best Canon pancake lens. Very small, light weight, yet the build quality is excellent, with metal mount and good glass. Image is very sharp, even at F2.8. Focus is very fast, even in live view AF mode. With the STM, you may override focus manually at anytime. The only issue is the manual focus - this is not a true manual focus, when you rotate the ring, the motor will drives the lens, at the same time it make some hmm noise, that is not good when recording video as the mic pick up the noise. Also the lens will not retract when the camera is powered off. So far, I am very happy with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic lens

By SnapDragon from AK on 08/21/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Beautiful Bokeh, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm so impressed by this little lens. Super sharp and excellent bokeh. Just a sweet lens that makes shooting common item found in my yard so much fun. I just love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Bargan

By "T" from Michigan on 04/10/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Price

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens might be the best buy of the entire Canon line of lenses..I tested the canon 40mm against the 40mm f2 from Voightlander and was pleasantly surprised by the Cannon.I'm not going to say that the Canon was better in every way; but as far as center sharpness goes, I was amazed. I found my copy of the 40mm f2.8 pancake to be sharper in the center for all f stops untill f16 when Voightlander catches up. At f22 the voightlander is sharper. At 5.6 and F8 canon was quite a bit sharper. I own 5 other canon lenses (all "L" glass). For the price difference, this little knock around lens is amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

In love

By jlynn from Northern Wisconsin on 01/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased the new 70 D body, I am never that fond of kit lenses so this is the first lens I decided to purchase to go with my new camera. I am in love with this lens. It is such a fun lens, it really captures the colors of the scene you are shooting well, and for the price the quality of the photos are great! If you are a intermediate photographer like me I know you will not be disappointed! This was actually my first stationary lens, I usually shoot everything with a wide angle zoom or a regular telephoto zoom, this lens has made me so excited to purchase another stationary lens. I see the 85 mm in my future:)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Compact Lens

By Nico from Charleston, SC on 01/18/2014


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Perfect Focal Length

Cons:

Average Focus Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the Canon EOS 40mm cause it is a great travel lens. It is also tack sharp because it is simple and only has 6 elements (pieces of glass). Since it weighs next to nothing, it definitely lightens the load of my 50D with accessories, which weighs almost 10 times more than the lens itself. I would definitely recommend this to someone with a full frame camera (6D, 5D, 1D) or to somebody with a ASPC camera (All Rebel models, 10D, 20D ... 70D) that wants a more zoomed in image.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Full-frame focal length and lens size

By Canonball from Hawaii on 12/23/2013


Pros:

Really Really Versatile, Enjoyment, Price/anxiety, Super-sharp Images, Size

Cons:

Is Would Be Heaven Sent For Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am soooo happy canon made this lens. It really is the PERFECT focal length and size all in one camera. This lens will absolutely put the fun back into your photography days. To say the least, 40mm on a full frame is not too sweet, not too sour, but just right. EVERYTIME! It's size and PRICE allows you to tote it around and ENJOY yourself. Thank you god! Geez. I've been waiting a looonnnggg time for something like this. Canon.... please develop the 40mm focal length more. And please develop pancake lenses more. Pancake lenses are the future for anyone who wants to enjoy their DSLR. I can now carry my 6D everywhere and carry my children when I need to. It is 10x more easier to carry around than the 50mm f1.4. THAT is saying quite a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this little lens rocks

By taylorphototexas from Redmond, WA on 09/24/2013


Pros:

Useful In A Lot Of Situations, Lightweight, Sharp At Full Frame, Value

Cons:

Too Much Dof For Some Uses, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After shooting with this lens I think it has a very useful field of view; decent optics, a usable autofocus, and strong contrast with good color rendition. Optically it is not superb but in the context of price, size, and weight this lens is a very handy thing to have around. I use a full frame camera but if you have EPS-C this would probably be a real interesting portrait lens wide open. The bokeh is not what you would get on the 85mm 1.2 for sure but wide open without the aperture blades in the way this lens does a good job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good 'n small

By Capcanon from California on 08/25/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's really good to carry everywhere because it is small.it is also produced sharp and nice picture


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What is the point

By ansel from NY on 07/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can't see the point of this lens when a 50mm f1.4 is available. It's not actually that much shorter and doesn't have the quality or speed of the existing prime.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well worth the price

By Stonewall from Dallas, Texas on 03/16/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is a perfect addition to my collection for the price. I shoot for pleasure, often hiking with just my 70-300 or 24-105. Until I can save up for a 70-200 f/2.8, it's great to have a small fast lens that I can literally fit in my pocket. I've actually taken some of my best shots with this little lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not sure why the negativity. This is fantastic

By lancer from florida on 03/11/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens for the money is a must buy. I got this lens a few weeks ago and am so happy with it. Highly recommend picking this up. Great build quality and awesome images from this lens. Very sharp and fast focusing. Not sure why the bad reviews but I've researched and everyone seems to agree with my take on this lens. I wouldn't hesitate on picking this up great addition to my bag and use it quite often. Don't pass this by.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little lens.

By PHOTOS BY TOM from Springfield, ILL. on 02/06/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Great Lens 4 Money., Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens when it first came out. At the time of purchase i had a T3i canon rebel and it worked great with it. Then i purchased the Canon Mark II, and it works even better. Great lens for the money and more!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok

By EdK from LA on 01/17/2013


Pros:

Good For The Price., Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Overall Distortion, Poor Contrast

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens, for the money, is pretty good. However....the contrast is weak and it seems to have some distortion. A 40mm really souldn't have much, if any, distortion. The latter is easy to fix in Lightroom, or DxO, but the contrast is difficult to remedy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow... better then expected.

By Doc from Chesterfield, MO on 11/28/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pleasantly surprised by the quality of this inexpensive lens and its performance. AF is quick and precise. Image is outstanding. I think this lens will become my "go to" lens replacing some rather expensive EF and L Canon lens for every day use as a hobbyist.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ist non L lens purchased.

By gotgov from Utah on 10/12/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I usually buy L glass only but I made an exception when this came out. I am very happy overall with it. I have only shot a short while with it but so far its sharp, produces great images and gives me a bit ore room to work with than my 50mm 1.2L as far as focal length. Defiantly not a replacement for any of the lenses I have but a great fun and affordable lens. Worth trying at the price point!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of bang for the buck

By Paula from Lawrence, KS on 09/28/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was torn between this lens and either the 50mm 1.8 or 1.4f lenses and decided to give this lens a try. So far I have been quite pleased with the lens. I like the extra view I get with this 40mm lens on my T2i compared with a kit lens. I do a lot of macro work and for flowers this lens is great when you don't need macro but want a close up. You can use it with extension rings and I can see using it in a pinch in lieu of my 100mm macro. On the other hand it is great for medium range shots as well. For instance I found this lens really performs taking street shots. Focusing takes a bit of getting used to; I am used to the 55-250 or the 70-300mm telephoto lenses or the 100mm macro and keep reaching for the wrong spot to focus. The main complaint I have is that the manual focus ring is a bit too narrow and I have small hands but it is better than the 50mm f1.8 lens. Also the connection to the camera is metal rather than plastic like the f/1.8 50mm or for that matter the 55-250 telephoto. The other thing about manual focus is that it seems to take quite a few turns to get something in focus and sometimes the manual focus seems to sleep. Pressing the shutter half way seems to wake it back up. If you want something else other than the 55mm kit lens then I'd take a look at this lens. Way better build than the f/1.8 and much faster than the Kit lens that came with my T2i.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THE BEST

By Hoborg from Jacksonville on 09/12/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Doesn't Buy Me Coffee

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used a 15-85mm, on my 60D and i was happy with that lens, carrying it everywhere for daily shooting, since i got this beauty, i can't take it off! it is lighter, sharper and makes the life easy in low light. MUST HAVE!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A bit of a let down

By Gilo from Philippines on 09/06/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Weight, Size

Cons:

Poor Bokeh, Semi-sharp Images, Flat Color Rendition

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens for its weight, size and price. Based on the reviews,it seemed quite good, but using it is a bit of a let down. It is certainly small and light, but the autofocus problem for the models sold with the first firmware is indeed annoying and it is present even when used with a Canon EOS3. Even more annoying is that to install the firmware upgrade one MUST use either a 1Dx, or a 5DIII equipped with latest firware upgrade, or a 650D (which is being recalled for other reasons). This means that one has to go to Canon to do it. But even once upgraded the lens remains pretty flat in terms of performance . Yes, the autofocus is fast, but the focus is soft, color rendition is flat and bokeh is basically non existing. So overall, I would say the price is not that good, because you get exactly what you pay for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't beat this lens for the price

By RawDogg from Redwood City, Ca. on 07/19/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Larger Aperture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Small, Light weight, Fast and fun to use. I put it on my 5D Mark II and was totally surprised by the results. I wasn't expecting the image quality that I received. I wish it were a 2.0 or even 1.8 or better yet 1.4 but it would have cost more. I'm totally happy with my purchase. I use it for landscape, friends & family, video, macro, portraits, and it works excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Good Buy

By Eyeballer from Los Angeles, CA on 07/11/2012


Pros:

Small And Light, Convenient Focal Length, Good Build Quality

Cons:

Needs A Larger Aperture, Sleeps Too Quickly, Slightly Soft At 2.8

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens mainly because of its size and weight. The lock-up is nice and tight. I use a 5Dii. It's a great lens if you want to drop the overall weight and size of your set up for a day of snapping. Lugging around a camera with thick, heavy glass does become a drag. Image quality is good and I get usable photos. Background blur is nice. Build quality is impressive when considering its price. It has full-time manual focus, too. Some of my minor complaints are that the lens goes to sleep too quickly and on occasion it will not wake up. I'll have to turn the camera off, then on again to get the lens working. Manual focus doesn't work when the lens is asleep. It's a little noisy when focusing and its focusing speed could be better. It's not slow, but it's not fast either. Of course it's not a USM, however focusing is accurate. Some of my major complaints are that the lens is not very fast at only 2.8. I think a prime lens should be faster, at least a 1.8, but if that were the case it would probably out compete the 50mm 1.8. The relatively small max. aperture is disappointing and irksome. Canon should have made this lens faster. Also, image quality is slightly soft wide open. It's not as sharp as others at 2.8 (it's sharp enough, just not razor sharp) and vignetting is very obvious on a full frame. This lens could be better, but considering what it sells for I'm not too surprised about its overall quality and performance. You get what you pay for. If you already have the 50mm 1.8 or the 1.4, then there's no reason to buy this lens except for its attractive size. The focal length makes it a great walk-around for the streets or indoors, but the 50mm 1.4 would do the same with slightly better IQ at 2.8. Plus, you'll have the option of going larger in low light conditions. Overall, I'm happy with this lens for what it is and I am satisfied that I purchased it. It's discreet, compact, affordable, and easy to carry and produces usable photos. However, if you're thinking about buying this lens before the 50mm 1.4 or 1.8, then don't.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EF 40mm f/2.8 STM

By Nick from Norfolk,VA on 07/05/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got it today I have a T2i not like the big dogs but it does a good job,it fits pretty snug on to the body at first I thought something was wrong how snug it is. Its pretty quiet "to me" when focusing.I took 10 shots with it and they all are very sharp.I'm new to the world of photography and if there's others like me please get this lens for the price it want let you down and the build of it is very good as well it a keeper I can see some good things down the line with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Sharp Pancake

By viktas from Wharton NJ 07885 on 07/04/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like so many things about this lens so lets get in to it. First the size is a GREAT answer to mirrorles systems. Second the Optics are very sharp even wide open just slghtly soft at extreem edges wide open. Third the color out put is really nice not muted. Forth the build quality is incredible for such a cost and that is the fith consideration the inexpensive price. I am using my copy on a 5Dmk3 and I love it. I am having issues with non Canon lenses AF on my 5Dmk3. But not with this Pancake 100mm f2.8L and 70-200 f2.8L ii. to put it simpler tjherms I get all the resolution of the 5Dmk3 with this lens and my other two all the time, completing my system for now till I get a 18-135 STM and T4i for video. finailly Canon is catching up with the High Megapixel sensors in optics. Check the MTF charts. if you might be considering a undercover looking lens or compact size don't hesitate get your copy now. Despite having two 430ex ii I decided to get a 270ex ii because of it's compact size to use as IS and it's a lovely combination. The AF is not slow on this lens, just not as fast as my other two!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this lens makes me happy

By derob from Concord, NH on 06/22/2012


Pros:

Overall Image Quality, Price Performance, Discreet Small Size

Cons:

Vignetting

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens for my 5DII for two reasons; I thought 40 mm is just excellent for landscapes, stills, and cityscapes, and I wanted to have a lightweight and discrete alternative for the big zooms. Well, this lens is pretty excellent for this purpose. I have had it only for a week now and I am really happy with it. It lives up to its discreetness (it looks strange on my camera, as if no lens is mounted). I made some really nice pictures with it already. About image quality: Sharpness first. Although I did only field testing, to me it appears tack sharp. At f2.8 it is OK (though at 100% visibly softer and less contrast), with some quite apparent problems in the extreme (really extreme) corners. You will not notice without looking for it. From f4 onwards I did not notice this anymore and IQ appears overall excellent. Another thing what is outstanding is bokeh; even at f8 it is very smooth. From some test shots made for the purpose I did not notice bokeh fringing either. Overall color and contrast appear OK as well. With some real effort I detected some barrel distortion which was already fully corrected in Photoshop by using the smallest correction possible. Except... with image quality I am afraid there is one problem, and that is vignetting. At f2.8 this is very apparent, and does only go away at f5.6 or so. Of course my 5DII firmware doesn't have data for this...Canon please please add correction data at least to DPP, it is difficult to correct by hand... Other things, well, build quality is very good, and manual focusing is surprisingly easy given the by wire focus control. The focus ring is also big enough. The AF is a bit slow though, and makes a weird noise. STM I don't need. Given the price/performance/discreetness, I think this lens is a definite hit. If you don't really need the speed of one of the other primes, this is a good bet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved