Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 6351B001 » 10 Reviews

Canon 6351B001 Powershot S110 Camera W/ Built-in Wifi Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 10 reviews)

71% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Excellent Image Quality (6), Easy To Use (5), Good Low-light Performance (5), Bright Lcd (6), Lightweight/portable (5), Simple Controls/menu (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Perfect affordable high quality compact camera

By ReturnOf7heKing from Pacific NW on 08/01/2015

Fantastic camera! It takes great pictures in low light and is the perfect camera for someone who wants a high quality compact camera instead of using cell phone. It fits right in your pocket and I plan on taking it hiking/backpacking primarily.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Everything:That Anyone Really Needs!

By Robert from East Windsor, New Jersey on 05/17/2015

The Canon S-110, is a totally awesome camera! There is nothing negative, that can be said of it, whatsoever! Due to it's very small size, it is required to have a small battery, and therefore a back-up battery, is recommended. This tiny camera, has such an exceedingly high level of performance in all areas of rating, that there is simply no "need" to purchase a more expensive, "higher-end" model of camera; to obtain, "better" performance, in some way. There are, more expensive models, of small camera's, which "outperform," this model, in certain specifications, yet, this model, will, meet all of the demands, of even the most demanding photographer, in my own, opinion. The S-110, is a very fine, all around, very small, non-EOS camera! It is, most, "EOS-Like!" You will, surely love it, as well as whatever models, that succeed it! This tiny camera utilizes's Canon's, very highest level's, of their most advanced technology, "to pack" all of the "electronics and mechanics," into such a very tiny, and reliable package, that functions so perfectly, and does it's purpose so very superior, in every single way, that you could possibly imagine, and also, in so many more, that you could never, even imagine, until you have read, the 330 page, User's Guide! Which is written, so very well !!! I could not recommend, this camera, highly enough, or, also, it's successor; as this model is actually, currently discontinued, as I write this, on May 17, 2015. God Bless You, and enjoy your Photography!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not so sure

By mana from new jersey on 01/01/2015

I agree with others that the flash is in an inconvenient spot and that the on/off button is small. My main complaint is that a lot of my pictures come out blurry. I can only think that this happens bc their is no viewfinder so there is nothing to keep the camera perfectly still. Lose a lot of pictures to this blurriness. Not happy about that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So happy then so sad!!!!!

By On the go from Portland , ME on 08/21/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I loved this camera. I used all the features. I probably convinced others to buy this camera because of the way I promoted it and believed in it. I traveled with it to Italy, Peru, Puerto Rico and all over the USA and took beautiful photographs. I am a former black and white film photographer who had a hard time switching to digital and had an even harder time switching from a slr to a point and shoot but this camera made me a believer in the capability of both. I had owned the canon powershot s110 camera for 1year and 3 months when it just stopped working (on my sister's wedding day ). I own about 12 cameras and this one was my "go to" for everyday life and travel. It took such wonderful shots for its size. The warranty ends at one year so I am just out of luck and so disappointed. The camera will not turn on, that's it. There was no trauma or damage, no scratches anywhere, it appears to be in mint condition. It just stopped working.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

do not buy this camera

By lechat from New York on 01/19/2014


Cons:

Does Not Work In Cold Weather

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera does not work in cold weather. I exchanged the first one thinking the camera was defective. Same problem with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

versatile camera

By scuba from Undisclosed on 10/11/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased camera to use on a diving trip to Fiji. Put it in a Ikelite housing with a Sola 500 photo light. Got excellent video and still shots. Colors where on the money. Simple and fast controls. no focusing problems like other brands. Awesome shark dive videos at Bega Lagoon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great Point & Shoot for DSLR Users

By Euastace 2 from Cincinnati, OH on 06/30/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Exposure Control, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This review is from the perspective of a long time DSLR user. My regular camera is a DSLR with the battery grip and several lenses. I have been looking for an easily portable camera to carry when I dont need or want the heavy gear. My goal was to reproduce the functions of the DSLR in a small package. This review looks at my five most important DSLR functions and explains how they are reproduced in the S110. Shooting in Camera Raw I always shoot my DSLR in RAW mode and custom crop and process every image. It sounds like a pain, but thanks to automated features in programs like Photoshop and Photoshop Elements, it isnt a big deal and the results are worth it. If this is new for you, the difference between capturing a picture in JPEG and RAW is in the ability to further manipulate the images later. For example, assume you have set your camera to use: 1) Auto White Balance, 2) No Exposure Compensation, 3) Medium Sharpening, and 4) produce the image in JPEG format. The camera takes the picture, applies your settings and records it as a JPEG file. If you shoot the same picture in RAW with the same settings, the camera notes your settings and may apply them to the thumbnail that it shows you, but what you download from the camera is the data collected from the sensor without the settings applied. This is why pictures from a cheap point-and-shoot (P&S) camera may look better out of the camera than pictures from a DSLR or advanced P&S. But, the trouble comes when your JPEG settings dont give you what you expected. Suppose you get the pictures on your computer and they have a green cast from the lighting, they are under-exposed and under-sharpened. If you shot them in JPEG, you may be out of luck without doing extensive fiddling. If you shot them in RAW, you use your processing softwares RAW converter and change the settings to what they should have been to give you the shot you wanted. Basically, you adjust RAW images on your computer like your camera produces JPEG images in the camera. The computer gives you more processing power, more sophisticated processing software, and the ability to change the settings until you get the image you want. Combine this with the fact that JPEG compression will hurt image quality and RAW images come out of the camera uncompressed and you can see why shooting in RAW mode is more work, but can provide a much better outcome. The primary reason for selecting any of the cameras in this class of advanced point-and-shoots is the ability to record images in RAW format. If you plan to leave the camera in JPEG mode, you can save yourself some money, get a good camera, and get very nice pictures by choosing a different camera that takes only JPEGs. Front Control Ring You can assign 8 preprogramed functions to the front ring. I use the control ring to change the lens zoom settings. The focal length changes in fixed steps of the standard prime lenses from 24mm to 120mm. I find the control ring works much faster than trying to frame with the zoom lever on the top of the camera. After using a range finder and SLR cameras for years, it is natural to have this control on the front of the camera and I love the ability to program it with the push of a button. I have been surprised by how this one feature simplifies shooting with the S110. Display Information I dont know if I will ever get used to framing on the screen of a P&S. I prefer the real optical viewfinder of a SLR. But, none of the cameras in this class have an optical viewfinder, to get that feature you will pay another $100 and get a larger camera. The S110s display gives me all of the information I get when using my DSLR and more. When framing the shot, I see the battery level, shooting mode (e.g. RAW), the exposures remaining on my SD card, the length of video I could shoot, the flash setting, horizontal level, exposure compensation, f-stop, and ISO. When I press the shutter button, the display clears at the top and then shows me the information on that shot along the bottom of the display: exposure meter mode, horizontal level, f stop (in aperture priority), exposure compensation, and ISO setting. Aperture Priority Mode Cameras in this class will allow you to choose Aperture, Shutter, and Manual mode in addition to a bazillion scene settings. Like my DSLR, I keep the S110 in aperture priority nearly all the time and use the back thumb wheel to change the aperture. If you have read the reviews for this camera and the others in this class you know that you lose a lot of aperture range as you extend the zoom. For example, the aperture range is f 2.0 to f 8.0 at 24mm and at 50mm the aperture range is f4 to f8. The relatively fast lens helps get good pictures in low light situations. The problem is that the relatively small sensor gives little control over the depth of field, again an issue with this class of cameras that is not unique to the S110. Exposure Compensation The cameras meter is always a good place to start. But, I often find that I need to increase or decrease the exposure to accurately capture the mood of the scene. The exposure compensation process is simple with the S110; press the top of the rear control dial and rotate the dial to select the exposure increase or decrease. The display them previews the shot with the new setting. If you have read the other reviews, you know that it is a good idea to buy a second battery. I own at least two batteries for all my cameras, so I was not surprised or disappointed by the battery life. The S110 is not intended to replace your DSLR. But, Canon has taken the DSLRs controls and wrapped them around a point and shoot sensor to give photographers a great small camera that they can carry virtually everywhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

buy spare batteries!

By jazzfreek from Buffalo, NY on 12/21/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera takes great pics and Raw mode was a prerequisite to me purchasing, as its the 2.0 aperture. I only have 2 complaints. I think the camera is way too complex and overloaded with features, like watching for a babies smile to snap a picture, etc. I think these features are ridiculous, although I'm sure somebody likes them. The booth drawback though is the very bad battery life, not to mention the price of spares. Besides these issues, it takes very nice photos in a very small footprint.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like a point & shoot EOS

By Canon Cop from Oak Lawn, Illinois on 10/15/2012


Pros:

Built In Gps, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Shoots Raw, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My search for the ultimate small backup camera is over. I normally shoot with a 5D mki III, and a 7D. My back-up or lcompact has been a G11 and/or a SX30 (both fine cameras in there class) However i have always wanted a "do all" camera that would truely fit into a shirt or pants pocket. Of course there are hundreds of cameras from all manufacturers that fit into that size catagory. All the ones that I have tried (and that is a lot between family and friends) have fallen fare sort with their image quality. Then enter the Canon S100. The image quality is equal to that of the G & SX series, and some entry level DSLR's. Still it will fit in a shirt pocket. Soots RAW , JPEG, or both, has GPS, and very good low light capability for this class camera. Shutter lag, is always an issue with compacts, however is not bad at all with the S100 (flash off of course). It would be nice to have a little more zoom, but in a camera of this size it just would be practicle without a tripod.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super

By Pp from Maryland on 10/08/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For profesionl people is very good toys in pocket. I can recommend ... I love it. Is good have extra battery ...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved