Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 6473A003 » 48 Reviews

Canon Cameras 6473a003 Ef 75-300mm F/4-5.6 Iii Reviews
Canon Cameras 6473a003 Ef 75-300mm F/4-5.6 Iii

Canon Cameras 6473a003 Ef 75-300mm F/4-5.6 IiiAdded to our catalog within last 30 days

The optical system, construction, and exterior are the same as the EF 75-300 mm f/4-5.6 III USM's. The difference is that it uses a DC motor instead of a USM to drive the AF.

Canon Model: 6473A003

$213.05

253 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 48 reviews)

84% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (10), Super-sharp Images (8), Fast Auto-focus (8), Lightweight (3)

Cons:

Poor Build Quality (3), Slow Auto-focus (12), Semi-sharp Images (10), Noise (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Pretty impressed

By Christian from Springfield, OR on 08/19/2015

I got this lense the same time I got my camera. And I have to say, I'm pretty impressed. I wouldn't recommend this to a professional. But for a beginner or a intermediate photographer it's a perfect fit. It's a great lens and I would recommend this to anyone who would like a medium duty lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rebel EOS A Great All Purpose Camera

By MW from Southern California on 04/17/2015

The Canon Rebel EOS is everything I want in a camera. It offers options to satisfy the beginning, casual photographer such as myself to the tech savvy photographer who wants an SLR camera that he/she can use for a variety of photo opportunities. For the novice, it is easy to use for excellent quality photos. The Canon EOS is a great buy. The lens is also everything one could want in a telephoto lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best purchase

By gate93 from York, Maine on 03/03/2015

This is a great camera and very easy to use for a beginner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

yes, I endorse quality!

By Buck from Tucson, AZ on 02/20/2015

Back in the 1960s, I was impressed to see Canon lenses on TV cameras in a TV studio I was doing an appearance in; a subsequent trip to Tokyo's Ginza led to some serious camera shopping- a Canon 35mm SLR and lenses (50mm+ 200mmtelephoto) which served beautifully for the balance of my 'round-the-work-journey following a year of travels through India.Years later, I upgraded the body to an A1 and ultimately transitioned into a 5D/ii, which evolved into an SL-1 with impressive zoom lenses. the comfort, ease of use,reliability and impressive images have always been present in all Canon photo products, and have consistently justified my continued investment in these quality products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

two thumbs up

By stacey from Greenville, Michigan on 01/16/2015

Easy to use and takes great distant photos. Go addition to my buisness.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Solid Startup Telephoto

By Boin Loin from Ohio on 12/16/2014

I purchased this lens at the same time I bought my first Canon DSLR, the 60D. It has served me well as a starting point for telephoto shots. The build and auto-focus are the most noticeably quality elements of this lens; the lens has a good weight to it and is metal rather than plastic which has caused it to hold up well. In addition, the auto-focus is completely silent and speedy - very helpful when photographing sports. However, if you're using this lens in anything less than broad daylight, you will be disappointed: despite the impressive focal range (especially on a half-frame DSLR), the 5.6 aperture that comes with the full 300mm focal length is a deal-breaker, namely for nighttime sports events. Other than that, I would recommend this lens to a friend because of the sheer solid build and noticeably sharp image quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good lens

By kat from Virginia on 12/12/2014

I have been using this lens since I bought my camera over 2 years ago. Light weight, easy to use and takes the abuse that I give it. As of today it is still in the same working order as when I took it out of the box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good beginner lens

By bwcxiii from Annapolis MD. on 10/06/2014

This lens is great for beginners. Simple and easy to use while still being a lens that does what you need be it day fast shutter speed close ups or night slow shutter speed crisp shots


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For the $ best lense I've bought

By Old Timer from WaSHINGTON on 09/09/2014

I bought this lens in about 2007. Taken probably 12000 pictures with it. 50% of them at Walt Disney World. From reading other reviews I had none of those problems. Not much of a nigh shoot person, daytime pictures very few out of focus. Some times even use a 2x multiplier. Last trip to Disney bought and used EFS55-250mm. I had all the problems with that len that people described with this lens. I put the 75-300 back on my Rebel XT and will leave it there. The rebel XT is old and a little slow, might up-date it someday.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good budget lens

By yam8310 from Undisclosed on 12/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I have used the lens in a less than great conditions. It is tough to use AF in low light conditions but manual works fine for that. I intend to use it in low light mounted on a stable platform for long exposure imaging. Haven't had the chance yet. Without a distance scale on these budget lenses, an infinity mark or detente would be a real plus. But that would be my only wish. The lens works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good to have for occasional use

By 1492tc from MT on 10/31/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens for occasional use on a crop sensor EOS camera. It is easy to use, not bulky, and has good build quality for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By Leather from St Pete fl on 06/14/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Light Weight, True And Beautiful Colors

Cons:

Very Evident Ca

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

By reading the other reviews I believe I got an exceptionally good one. No problems with auto focus (unless I try to get to close to the subject) and I do not miss the IS at all even at full zoom hand held all my pictures come out just beautiful ! The only issue I have found is in high contrast you do get a lot of CA even with a CPL filter, but this is my only complaint. For the price you pay you get a really great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for the price.

By Jewels from Buffalo, NY on 06/13/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Would Love To See A 2.8 On This.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great for the price. I read a lot of reviews of people complaining that there is no IS on it. First of all you don't use an IS with a tripod. Secondly, using AF really doesn't give you the sharpest photos. That is what manual focal ring is for. Over all the lens MTP chart has a high rating at 75-200mm. If you want to have a good telephoto lens for a great price then this is a good buy. If you can't afford a more expensive lens and worry about possible camera shake, because there is no IS on this lens, remember you can always use mirror lock up on your camera or live view.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good beginner lens, nothing special.

By dhalb from North Dakota on 05/20/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Range

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Needs To Be Stopped Down., Slow Auto-focus, Chromatic Aberration, No Image Stabilizer, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great lens for beginners because of its low price. It's also fairly light for its focal length. It can produce a few nice photos provided you know what you're doing. But that's about where the pros end. If you're looking for super-sharp professional quality images, you're going to have to look somewhere else. The focus is soft to begin with, but once you go over 200mm it gets dramatically worse. The Auto Focus has a lot of trouble with low-light situations, and is fairly picky while in AI Servo. Not to mention slow. I've had a couple instances where it took nearly 10 (ten) seconds to focus. There's also an issue with Chromatic Aberration. Everyone loves pincushioning and purple fraying around their subject, right? Anyway, aside from the soft focus, slow AF, and CA problems, the lack of the Image Stabilizer is truly the major downfall to this lens. I recommend using a tripod above 135mm, and I don't even attempt hand-shooting over 200mm after dozens of failed shots. For a superior quality lens with a similar focal length that doesn't break your bank, I recommend picking up the 55-250mm IS II instead.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Infinity focus is blurry

By mkt from Arizona on 03/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased December 2012 with bundled T3i. Nice lens with wide zoom range. Manual focus at the infinity setting is blurry, you have to back it off just a tad. Internal focusing mechanism just not up to old standards. You can not just set it to infinity and shoot. Many posts on web about the out of focus at infinity issue. It is a problem I did not expect to have. Not critical but really annoying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great starter

By Big Ro from New york, NY on 01/04/2013


Pros:

Great For Beginners

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this with my T3 kit in a bundle for Black Friday. First foray stepping away from point and shoot. Read a lot of reviews and complaints. First off, it's not an L lens so people need to stop comparing. If you realize what you have, then you are good to go. As far as the 200mm to 300mm zoom goes, it's imperative to use a tripod or you will get nothing but blur. I tried this and was disappointed until I used a tripod/monopod. The zoom, with manual focus, can get you that good to sometimes great shot all the time. Until you are ready to step your game up, this is a very good lens to learn the basics. Just remember what you have and your expectations will be reached.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not much to say... it's ...

By D.T. from Twentynine Palms, CA on 12/09/2012


Pros:

Great Range, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus, No Is, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not much to say... it's average lens all-around. Not a bad lens, but not really good. It has great range, but you will need a tripod, for sure. Images are nice, but not perfect. Great lens for beginners because of price. No USM, and no IS make it pretty plain. I bought a 55-250mm IS lens to replace this one. If I know I'm going somewhere where I'll need the extra zoom, and I plan on bringing a tripod, I will bring this one out of the closet for a bit. If you're looking to buy a telephoto zoom, save up for a couple more months and get the 55-250mm IS lens. For what it's worth, you absolutely can't argue with the value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for beginners

By Harlem knight from New York, NY on 12/07/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this extra with my rebel t3 kit, my first foray away from the point and shoot. So far so good. While I'm not a professional, I take the occasional shots whenever something catches my eye. As I've been playing with the lenses, I've noticed that if you follow the parameters of the lens, it will give you good to great results. Tried to take a picture of the big and little dipper, guess it wasn't enough light as the camera just wouldn't focus. On some subjects, it just keeps focusing, found out a couple of steps taken backward can alleviate that issue. Overall, so far, its a good lens and can give you great shots. Being that it doesn't have IS, if you zoom to the max, you'll get nothing but blur so invest in a tripod. Anything closer and the focus is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor performer at best.

By ChatRoomKiller from Houston, TX on 11/03/2012


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Out of the box, my focus ring sticks before getting to infinity when on autofocus. It canl not take a distant object in focus while set over 200mm on any setting. In over 100 attempts ZERO pictures are in focus. Even on landscape mode or manual with focus set on infinity and the Fstop raised to f16 are still blurry at 200mm - 300mm. This lens is simply no good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sad

By Q from WA state on 09/22/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used to be a serious amateur and loved my FTb, A1 and EF bodies for 35mm. Canon FD lenses were known for their sharpness; the difference between lower priced Canon glass and the upper end lenses was the speed of the lens. The faster lenses were more expensive, but even the less expensive models were sharp. After relying on my G9 for a few years, I am getting back into SLRs. This lens has none of the old quality. Even in-focus photos are soft and I doubt it's because of my 50D body. This lens is a huge disappointment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent quality for the price.

By Corbittstudios from Undisclosed on 08/23/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a good lens if you are just starting out in wildlife or sports I always have it with me good build quality but realize that it is not a pro lens but you can still accomplish amazing shots from it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Eh...Good price, not quality

By Jomaque from Barstow, CA on 06/28/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Lightweight

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus, Chromatic Aberration

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens back in November, and it's a starter telephoto. After some shots later on, however, there was noticeable problems with the lens and photos. The lens' autofocus is very slow, even my 18-55 is faster. The 75-300 is also prone to chromatic aberration, which leads to purple fringing on edges of subjects, which are a problem. I do recommend this lens, however, to someone on a tight budget. But, overall, as a photographer, I'm not exactly pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's ok...

By Brenna1227 from Uniontown, Ohio on 06/18/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is ok. It produces really sharp images and the auto-focus is average speed. What I don't like is, it is really cheaply made. When I got it, some of the metal around the lens was chipped, the plastic was faded, etc. If you are looking for a lens that performs well that is well priced, then I would get this lens. If you are willing to spend more, don't get it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great air shots

By sam i am from Gainesville, FL on 05/25/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used this lens with my new camera at the Sun N Fun air show in Lakeland FL in April of 2012. I found it easy for my spouse and I to use. We were taking shots of fast moving FA18 as well as older bi-planes. The lens did very well with night shots of the air show.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed with the lens

By Mit from San Mateo, California on 03/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used this lens at the 2012 Indian Wells Professional Tennis Tournament. Inside stadium shooting at night was very disappointing as I could not used a flash. With courtside seats costing $100.00 a piece, I had expected to get very sharp pictures of the greats. Not so. the focus was very uneven and blurry around the immediate subject matter causing distraction to the eye. The highest shutter speed I could attain was 70/sec. I used the sport shooting mode and the manual mode. I also used a monopod to improve steadiness but this still did not achieve the result I was looking for. The lens performed better in bright daylight but late afternoon light once again degraded sharpness. It was too bad because the compostion of my pictures was good. I welcome any advice as to how to improve my technique using this lens from more experienced and better photographers. My email is attached.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for Beginners

By Jweavercma from Boise, Idaho on 02/13/2012


Pros:

Fairly Sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Autofocus, External Focusing Mechanism

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I first used this lens I was a rank amateur so I had no idea what I was doing. Now that I have advanced beyond my kit lenses, the limitations of this lens are glaringly apparent. My major problem with is the fact that you cant use a polarizer or split ND filter with it due to the external focusing mechanism.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Lense

By Wolfman from Bismarck ND on 01/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good lense for the price. I take lots of sport action shots and it works very well. I have looked at other lenses that are over $1000 and they offer more quality but when viewing pictures from both, you can't really tell a difference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

first slr and i am very satisfied

By rip red from Sandwich, IL on 09/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is amazing and great for beginers. It is unbelievable how well you can zoom in and auto focus or do it manually.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very good lens for the money!

By pslake from North Carolina on 07/09/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a Canon D-50, I bought from canon.com and added this lens for sport photography. It far exceeded my expectations. It is a quality lens that is well contructed, works very well and takes great pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice lens

By Photo dude from Reno, Nevada on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great images, easy to use, well constructed. I prefer to use a lens hood to eliminate stray light.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Follow up...

By Big Juicy from Jacksonville, FL on 03/30/2011


Pros:

Sharp Images If Used Correctly, Great Zoom

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Shoots Dark

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a follow up to my post/review from a few months back. I've been using this lens now for quite a bit of time and have shot around a lot with it. One thing I've noticed and had read before is that the lens tends to shoot dark. I've found this to be true so adequate lighting (natural or via flash) is critical to compensate for this. I love the Canon Speedlite 430 II flash and it's exposure compensation feature which helps immensely. This lens can also generate quite a bit of noise so be sure to have the ISO set correctly for the conditions on your camera. Also, you'll need to shoot on "P" mode or "TV/SV" mode so you can align the focal length with the lens size; example, 300mm lens, 300 or more shutter speed to eliminate camera shake. A lot to remember but if you do these things you'll be happy with this lens. Still a thumbs up for price/value! Enjoy and shoot well...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well worth the money spend

By Photo Man from DETROIT, MICHIGAN on 01/19/2011


Pros:

Just About Everything, Amature

Cons:

Auto Focus A Little Slow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I BOUGHT THIS LENS TO PUT ON MY OLD CANON EOS REBEL TO TAKE WITH ME WHILE DRIVING AROUND. I WASN'T SURE IT WOULD LIVE UP MY EXPECTATIONS, BUT WAS WILLING TO SETTLE FOR A LITTLE LESS. BOY, WAS I SUIRPRISED. IT HAS GOOD QUALITY, IS WELL MADE, AND TAKES BEAUTIFUL PICTURES FOR REAL. THE AUTO FOCUS IS A LITTLE SLOW, BUT WHEN IT LOCKES IN, YOU HAVE A BEAUTIFUL PICTURE. THE AUTO FOCUS IS A LITTLE STIFF, BUT I THINK IT WILL NEVER HAVE ANY LENS CREEP. I CARANKED IT UP TO 300MM AND CAUGHT A HAWK IN FLIGHT. IT TOOK ON OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PICTURES EVER. IF YOU LEARN TO USE THE LENS PROPERLY, LIKE EVERYTING ELSE, YOU WILL FIND NO FAULT WITH IT. I HAVE A 70-300 IS USM, AND IT TOO IS KING OF THE ROAD. I HOPE CANON STAYS ON THE RIGHT PATH, AS RIGHT NOW THEY PRODUCE THE BEST LENS FOR THE MONEY, PERIOD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's great for it's price

By Stone Man from Wilbraham, Ma. on 10/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For starters this is not a lens for professionals and I'm not one anyway so..., knowing that this is a great lens. It has the features you'll need to take it into the field and get some really good photos under your belt while getting use to the handling and functions of a telephoto lens. After you master this one and chose to use your camera rather then park it in the closet you may end up buying the next level up but for starting out or even for a an everyday knock around lens this one is perfect and can handle some abuse with no trouble. For the cost you really can't beat it. Overall the images will be some you can take a level of pride in. I have taken some longer shots (around 50 to 70 yards) of birds which came out pretty darn good. After printing them I was fairly satified with it and I'm happy enough with it to say "I would" buy it again for the price. After all the cost is nothing compared to other high end lens's and it's a little toughy that will not make you worry to take it in the woods or the city and get a few bumps, it can handle it. If you buy one for non-professional work you'll have some really neat photos that people will admire including you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice lens

By qantas airways from New York on 09/26/2010


Pros:

Not Heavy, Excellent Price, Good Size, Fast

Cons:

No Image Stabilizer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have not had this lens for very long, but it is VERY good for the price. i use it mostly for airplane photography and it performs very well. even though it has no IS it doubles for that with fast AF. my only complaint is that it did not zoom as far as i thought, but it does the job, espacilly for the suprisingly low price. i will most likely buy the 100-400mm IS in the future though to zoom further and have IS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good so far; early yet...

By Big Juicy from Jacksonville, FL on 09/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just picked up this lens yesterday. Took it to my son's picture day for football and enjoyed using it. I am what I'd call an advanced amateur and this was my first lens purchase. I primarily shoot people so I find the depth of field this lens offers nice. Can't complain about the zoom either as I can now take photos of my kid on the field and get a lot closer to the action. I've read complaints about this lens being a bit slow to focus and I concur in isolated instances like lower light conditions and really close subjects. Be reminded that different lenses provide very different benefits and advantages. I've taken amazing photos with the simplest of equipment and have screwed up a lot photos with top of the line equipment used improperly. All and all, this lens was a great value and should be a staple in every novices bag ---


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Football Mom from Undisclosed on 09/03/2010


Pros:

Add A Pro

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens to take pictures for all my son's football games. The pictures turn out so well that all the other parents want to pay me to take pictures of their children. This is my first camera and lens no I am so pro and this lens is easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It was an ok lens, until...

By FotoGuru from Undisclosed on 08/09/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was out shooting nature yesterday and the AF/MF button popped off. Looked like there was a dab of glue that had held it on, I was unable to find the part that feel off. Now when you try to move it to focus or zoom it makes strange sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great First Time experience

By Nailapy from NY on 04/18/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was included with my Canon 1000D when i bought it. The EF 75-300mm is exceptionally good for beginners just like me and you. The AF take llittle time but overall bulit, design and performance is superb and great value for the investment. I would definetely reccomend this accessory to my friends.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

use a tripod!

By adams from Indiana on 04/13/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While the build quality is pretty good, do not use this lens without a tripod! I have been overly disappointed every time I've used this lens without a tripod attached to the bum of my camera. I highly recommend using a tripod. Other than that, it's a good, cheap lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Pro-Quality lens!

By Photo Pro from NJ on 12/08/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Small Enough To Pack, Lightweight, Superior Build Quality, Keeps Dust Out, Fast Auto-focus, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pretty amazed by this lens!! It's ultra fast to focus, super quiet which is helpful in churches or for wild life. It has always taken crisp, sharp pictures for me. Even in low light it's aperture if large enough to allow for fast shutter times, thereby producing great pictures of weddings, etc. The Zoom is amazing, at 300mm - you can get close up images of rings going onto fingers from half way back in the church! Really nice lens, light weight, and reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had this lens for ...

By cheatham from Undisclosed on 10/09/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for years. It was actually given to me by a friend. I do not use it very often but when I do use it I'm always surprised for the bum rap this lens gets. For the money it takes fine images and coupled with some photoshopping it can deliver fine, fine images. I typically use this lens in music festival situations when I'm a hundred or so yards from the stages. With a steady hand the shots can be surprisingly good. I still hold this lens to be great for beginners. And, yeah, the auto-focus could be faster but this is not a USM lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good If used right

By 1995billy from Hornell NY on 10/04/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Noise, Cant Really Add Extra Len's

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had recieved this as a birthday present with my t1i i also had gotten the 28-90mm but i use this at football game it is great if you are at the right distance away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CANON'S DECENT TELEPHOTO

By FIJIMAN from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NEVADA on 08/23/2009


Pros:

Low Cost, Lightweight

Cons:

Good In Daylight Shots, No Usm, Has A Dc Motor, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

LOW COST TELEPHOTO LIGHTWEIGHT DECENT IMAGES DC MOTOR INSTEAD OF USM.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not my favorite.

By Amateur from Poughkeepsie, NY on 07/12/2009


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Blue Effect When Zoomed In, Noise, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this lens with my Rebel XS kit. I have only used it twice, due to my extreme dislike of it. When zoomed in, anything that's white gets a blue ora around it. Not something I would recommend to a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great With Understanding

By Good left eye from Bloomington, MN on 03/26/2009


Pros:

Light Weight, Same Size Filter 58mm, Low Price, Simple Efficient Operation, Small Size

Cons:

Noise

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once I got to understand the lens, it worked very well. For fast focus I do my best manually, spending less than a second. At the same time I can adjust the camera settings w/ my other hand. Then I flip the AF switch on, 1/2 press shutter and away I go. If the shot is far away or the aperture is higher than 11, I can just turn the AF off again. The Subject can move a fair distance without loosing focus. This is a great lens for the price. Be warned, many shots will only work with a tripod. I have the best results if the Sun or its reflections are not in the front of the lens. I would recommend using a lens shade and a polarizer when shooting outdoors. P.S. If the user is not fast, the camera never will be, you must conceive of what might come next. Always be prepared.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for beginners

By 3p from scottsdale on 02/15/2009


Pros:

Reach Is Fairly Well, Convienient

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

ive had this lens for quite some time now and use it mostly for shooting wildlife. for a first telephoto lens its great to practice with, you really can get good sharp images with this product. one thing however, is the auto-focus. i have missed plenty of great shots because of how slow and sometimes inaccurate the lens is. i would recommend using the manual focus and learn to focus accurately and quickly. now this is no pro lens unlike the canon L lenses that ill soon be upgrading to. its also important to note that this lens should not be used in extreme weather conditions as dust and water are easily accessible to the interior of the lens. if your looking for a manageable low priced telephoto this is something you might consider. i love canon products but if you want to really get serious into photography and telephoto zoom, their L series lenses are the only way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great starter lens

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/13/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the second lens I got for my rebel XT, i've using it for a year now and have to say i do love it.... i'm looking into upgrading now because i've outgrown what it offers, but as a starting lens,it's great. for it's price, i couldn't ask for better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT value

By stratman from Undisclosed on 01/12/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Value, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lense! I just bought it with my first DSLR in a package. i got the Rebel XS. I love the lense. I gave it four stars for features because it is not IS. I dont think that this is a big deal considering the price. I have been able to obtain some great pictures with it and i have no complaints. I have had it for about a month or so and have used it a lot. I have heard complaints about the autofocus but it is plenty fast enough for me, even fast enough to keep up with my 1.5 year old yellow lab puppy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved