Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 6558B005 » 32 Reviews

Canon 6558B005 Eos Rebel T4i Ef-s 18-135mm Is Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 32 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quick Start-up Time (18), Easy To Use (21), Quiet (10), Excellent Image Quality (29), Nice Features/settings (20), Simple Controls/menu (21), Bright Lcd (21), Lightweight/portable (16), Solid Operation (20), Superior Build Quality (16), Good Battery Life (11)

Cons:

Short Battery Life (9), Poor Build Quality (3), Missing Features/settings (7), Noisy (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Nice camera

By Chuck in AZ from Tucson, AZ on 11/18/2014

I replaced a Canon XTi with this one and I was surprised at how much sharper my images are as I mainly got it for the new features. I liked the idea of a touch screen but quickly learned that was the worst thing they ever added. After a couple of outings where I accidentally screwed up my images from resetting the camera by bumping the screen with out knowing it, I quickly disabled that feature (once from RAW to small images). I do like the live view with the multi-angle screen so I can see it from many angles. I also do not use the video so I wish that I had not purchased the STM lens as it does a great job on auto focus but that is at the expense of manual focus. You have to turn the focus ring so many revolutions that, for practical purposes, it doesn't have manual focus. A few times it has locked up for no apparent reason and the only way to reset is to remove the battery. One trivial thing, I wish the sound of the shudder release was more substantial as it sounds rather cheap. Over all, it takes great daytime pictures and some (with luck) at night but the auto focus doesn't work on stars and neither does the manual focus. One previous reviewer stated he wished he could put date on the front. I can't even imagine doing that with a serious camera and serious photos. That is what the metadata is for (or point and shoot cameras).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Upgraded from T3i

By Spencer from Lilburn, GA on 06/02/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Quick Start-up Time, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Solid Operation, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great camera for taking personal photos. Not looking be be professional but the images are spectacular. I added a battery grip for extra capacity and bought a 45 mb card. I still had to refer to website support to obtain my 5 frames p.second. The self help and reference are awesome! This camera and it's lenses are a little pricey but worth the investment. Our kids play sports and we can reach out and touch them from the sidelines. It requires a trip to the library to grasp all the functions, but it wouldn't be worth it without all the bells and whistles. I hope to purchase a 28-250 IS lens to keep me from constantly changing lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EOS Rebel T4i Body

By Steviewonder from Atlanta, Georgia on 05/27/2013


Pros:

Quick Start-up Time, Superior Build Quality, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an XTI with lenses so I did an upgrade with the T4i Body only. All lenses work very well. Bought Class 10 32GB Memory cards for the camera. Am using the camera in Manual for Video as my lenses are not STM, which is a silent focus lens. Video is really sharp. Stills snap out at you. Have not had to do much post processing except cropping so far. Build quality is very good with very good fit and finish. Using an aftermarket Battery Grip unit that holds 2 batteries. Also bought aftermarket batteries that have 1700MA capacity versus the 1100 that comes from Canon. Two of these batteries is 3X the single Canon battery


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

missing important feature

By AZ Cowboy from Sun City West, AZ on 05/03/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Quick Start-up Time, Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation

Cons:

Noisy, Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings, Heavy/bulky

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After purchasing camera I discovered it can not put "date taken' on the front of the picture. I am retired, take lots of long trips and hundreds of pics on each trip. My other camera applies 'date taken' to the front of my pics., I download them to my PC and when I view them the 'date taken' info is very helpful. With the T4i, it downloads the pics to my PC without "date taken' on front of pic. After the download I must then use Canon ImageBrowser EX software to manually add "date taken" to each pic. This is a VERY time consuming task, can often take several hours.I The Canon software developers seem to have dropped the ball, I am certain it would be simple to make this feature available. When I use my T4i I ask myself "do I really want this pic, if I do then I know in advance I am going to be hunched over my PC using Canon Imagebrowser to complete a task that should have happened when I snapped the pic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

noise on the video

By LOUIE from NEW YORK on 03/20/2013


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Solid Operation, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Superior Build Quality, Quick Start-up Time, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens makes way to much noise on the video.. It is so bad I will not take a video with it.. That is the only thing that I do not like about this camera..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smart and fast

By 1Dlover from Bucureti, Ro on 02/24/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Quick Start-up Time

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

EOS 650D is smart, fast, and has a semi pro image quality. I use it as 1Ds mk2 cropping partner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By Pilcrow from utah on 02/01/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Solid Operation, Easy To Use, Quick Start-up Time, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life, Aperture Settings Could Be Better, No Firmware Update Yet, No Digital Record On Zoom, Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was one of the first people to review this camera on here. Now after owning it sense july. I must add, I still love this camera! There is only one thing I don't like about it still. I wish you where able to record while digitally zoomed in 5x or 10x. This option is available on the canon 60D and it comes in handy a lot during distance recordings. So I hope and wish canon would release an updated firmware that will activate this option. I also wish they would update the aperture feature. I usually shoot with 5.6. leaving the background blurry. But Lately I been wanting to get the whole scene in focus. Even with the aperture at 40. There is still a large portion of the scene that is blurred and there isn't much difference between 5.6 and 40. Canon, hook us up with a firmware update already! Thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great first DSLR

By benmej from Orange County, CA on 01/16/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Solid Operation, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Touch Screen

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is perfect for beginners. It is very easy to use and is a powerful tool for the art of photography. I am learning a lot through this camera and it is preforming very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeds expectations

By g man from Houston, TX on 01/15/2013


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Superior Build Quality, Easy To Use, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

To whom it may concern: This is the best camera I've experienced using. I have to thank you for the design, it's ease of use and photographic qualities, I stretched the personal budget to optain it, it has not disapointed me, again Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lock lens?

By PalaDolphin from Saint Paul, MN on 01/11/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 18-135mm IS STM comes with no documentation. So, when I used the EOS Rebel T4i Instruction Manual to look up what the Lock button on the lens does, it is nowhere to be found. None of the other lenses I bought had it. It appeared to do nothing. I discovered its use accidentally. The button only slides when in its in its widest position. Once locked, you can no longer zoom. That's all it does. It doesn't lock in any position, only in its widest position. There is no documentation for this feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible

By Dr.D from Ridgefield, CT on 01/05/2013


Pros:

Quick Start-up Time, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Solid Operation, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Quiet

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Canon t4i 18-135mm STM kit is an incredible DSLR for anyone, Novice to Pro, who is looking for the perfect tool to compliment their love of photography and video in their personal and professional lives. I'm a novice and I bought this camera because my brother, who is an Emmy nominated Editor at NBC Universal - NYC, trusted a Canon T3i (The predecessor to the T4i) with the first photos of his newborn son and positively loved the results. That was all of the 'Rebel' line endorsement I needed. After researching, comparing and asking many questions, I decided the T4i would be the best camera to learn with, and would provide me with excellent shots after some needed practice. Before this purchase, I used my iPhone as my camera, felt comfortable using the touch screen to capture shots and was leery about making the transition to a DSLR. That concern was thankfully unfounded. The touch-screen is a joy to use and everybit as intuitive as say, an iPhone 5. I have slowly weened myself away from the touch-screen and have been taking solid shots using the standard shutter button- I'm not quite at the 'manual' stage but I'm getting there. I must admit the IS STM and the AF function make capturing brilliant images so much easier, and I'm glad I opted for the 18-135mm lens kit, because it compliments and highlights the T4i's already impressive range in the field. My friends who own a video production company have complimented the t4i over the 5D Mark III, because after test shots and a comparison of the features and results, the value of this camera became aparent. We saw virtually no difference in the image quality, and it's quite possible the T4i actually out performed its 5D Mark III competition. They said they would trust the T4i's performance on their professional shoots. That offered me evidence of the T4i's reliability, because the images and video they take home, directly relate to their business's and their family's success. I have recently completed my doctorate, and now after practice, feel confident bringing the T4i into the field and on assignment. The one 'con' is I would buy an additional battery, because you'll have so much fun shooting with the T4i, you'll want a spare battery, as so you don't miss out any of the action. I am frankly thankful that Canon has made such a wonderful product and I would gladly recommend the Canon EOS Rebel T4i 18-135mm IS STM Lens Kit to anyone and everyone. 5 Stars!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Missing Video Digital Zoom Record

By AK from Los Angeles on 12/22/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation, Excellent Image Quality, Quiet, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Missing Video Digital Zoom, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Add video digital zoom record function. This a great DSLR. Low-light performance is just superb. The faster burst rate is really useful. The steel body is quite solid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

slow operation in manual mode

By jdj309 from tularosa ,nm on 12/15/2012


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Quick Start-up Time, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Shaky Operation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

in P setting will only take 3 pics then stop and start taking pics again in jpeg or raw modes .thought it might be the memory card but put card in my t2i and worked perfectly at 31 pics without stopping.did have this problem with my t2i sent it to canon and said it was a bad shutter this unit is only 2 weeks old. in manual mode i do a 10 second exposure and will take 30 seconds to one minute to process. t2i takes only 1 to two seconds to process with same card....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Camera Investment

By Anonymous from London, ON on 12/07/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great camera for the money. The 1080p is amazing to see.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amateur user with professional results.

By Ken from Las Cruces, NM on 11/28/2012


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have purchased a number of cameras over the years, with this being my first DSLR. I am quite pleased with the quality of the pictures and ease of use. I have two young daughters who are constantly on the move. With my other cameras, those 'magic' moment shots typically result in blurred images. The T4i gave me new hope and opportunity to captures those moments with crystal clear, professional looking pictures and videos. This is a great camera and look forward to fully exploring all of its capabilities and continue to capture our family in motion through the years. The only con I have for this camera is when taking videos in AF mode, the AF noise is captured in the video. It's tolerable, but could stand to be a little quieter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Flash Control

By Chibins from Wisconsin on 11/25/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Solid Operation, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Quick Start-up Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I take it back! Since my previous review I have found that there is a way to control my 580EX2 as a master flash. The menu options to get there were different than expected, but I found it and it is a powerful interface. On my wish list would be able to directly access the External Flash setup by assigning it to the "My Menu". This is minor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Master/Slave flash control...

By Chibins from Wisconsin on 11/24/2012


Cons:

Flash Control

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned nearly every one of the Rebel Txx bodies in sequence as they have been released and I just traded in my T2i for a T4i and I an thrilled with all aspects of the camera except flash control. With the T2i I could use my 580EX2 afixed to the shoe of my T2i and use it as the master transmitter to all my other slave flashes. The T4i does not allow this and I am forced to use the internal transmitter of the T4i. This is a problem because I can't put my 580EX2 on a cord and aim it at slave flashes behind me for synch firing. Canon, please fix this in your next firmware update!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera for the price, but...

By Mike from Pennsylvania on 10/22/2012


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I waited patiently through the recall to get my hands on this camera with the STM lens and I was not disappointed. Compared to previous Rebels this one is definitely a leap ahead. Focus is greatly improved in both accuracy and speed, noise is less noticeable when shooting with higher ISO, and the menu system is generally easy to navigate. One drawback I have come across is during Live View shooting, a non-Canon compatible flash unit or remote flash trigger will not fire. You must use a device that can communicate with the camera through the hot shoe.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A powerful piece of equipment!

By Stonewall from Dallas, TX on 10/19/2012


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Quiet, Good Battery Life, Superior Build Quality, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/portable, Quick Start-up Time

Cons:

Wish It Had A Larger Buffer For Raw Bursts

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I upgraded to the T4i from a T3i. I was optimistic given the reviews, and after a few days of use am happy with the decision. Basically, Canon bred the T3i with the 60D, threw in some brand new features, and the result is a very powerful camera. The sensor has been updated to permit continuous autofocus during video. I don't have an STM lens yet, but it works just fine with my 24-105mm L. Although I rarely shoot in Live View, the ability to pick your focus point by touching the screen is great. The touchscreen is very responsive and very helpful for changing settings quickly. The T4i picks up the shutter mechanism and autofocus points from the 60D. Five fps is noticably faster than 3.7 in the T3i, and with a UHS-1 card I am getting 7-8 shots per burst in RAW. The new Digic 5 processor seems to add a lot, it has 6x the processing power as the Digic 4 chip. My low light sunset pictures have much less noise, the clarity is amazing. Best of all, all of my T3i accessories work with the T4i. My Canon battery grip and remote and wired shutter releases carry right over. I've seen some reviews online that claim the improvements over the T3i are slight, but I disagree. While outward appearances are almost identical, the guts of this camera have been significantly upgraded on all fronts. Good job, Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could of had better

By btregs from east coast on 10/06/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Excellent Image Quality, Photos, Action Shots

Cons:

Noisy, Noisy Video, Bad In Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its a great camera i love it takes great photos! However when i have it in video mode its very noisy which is one thing i do not like about it. I mainly got it as a camera to video with because all the options with the focus and dof shots its great for what i am looking for. Dslrs are great for that. I was hoping to get skate videos and ski videos but it 40%-60% the picture is noisy. I am gonna try and send it to canon and see f they can help and if that fails i might have to switch to the 60d or t3i to fix my problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect

By Don from Orlando, FL on 10/05/2012


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Quick Start-up Time, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Solid Operation

Cons:

Tracking Macro Videos, Tracking Low-light Videos

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The quality of the SD card makes a huge difference on the speed of rapid shots and image processing. It does a great job at controlling the Eye-Fi SD Card through the touch screen. You can turn on and off the Eye-Fi card or check the connection status. I've shot several hundred photos with this enabled before the battery ran out. Not sure why people says it is noisy. It sounds like any other DSLR. There are settings to turn off noise (beeps/clicks) Told by friends that it is almost exactly like the t3i except it is faster, higher quality and has a touch screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best camera for price

By Anonymous from Bozeman Montana on 10/01/2012


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Superior Build Quality, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Solid Operation, Quick Start-up Time

Cons:

Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is a very great camera. It is very reasonably priced for everything that you get along with the camera. The features of the camera are amazing the touch screen works perfectly and it isn't a light cheap feeling camera. It is very study it got dropped onto rocks the first day I had it and it only got a tiny scratch and works great still. The battery life is great even on a really cold night you get a lot of life out of it. Although the focusing of the lenses is a bit noisy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why have you abandoned video mode?

By Filmmaker from Undisclosed on 09/16/2012


Pros:

Solid Operation, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Superior Build Quality, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Not As Sharp In Video Mode, Moire And Aliasing, Not Enough Detail In Video Mode

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been a Canon user since I was a kid who fell in love with films and cinema. I used to steal my fathers 8mm Canon camcorder to make "films" with my friends. I've since progressed to Canon Super 8 camera, Canon miniDV, Canon HDV, and finally Canon HDSLR. I've never had a camera that was not Canon, and I've had every generation of Canon video cameras except for the Cinema EOS which I cannot possibly afford. I could almost make a Canon museum. I am now a fimmaker, an independent filmmaker as they tend to classify us nowadays. Recently, I bought a 650D, as soon as it came out, even before there were tests on the internet. I had a 600D and that was good but had some issues in video mode so I presumed that because of the new processor in 650D there would be no line skipping (and no moire and aliasing) and that maybe image quality would be somewhat better, especially in the details. It is a new generation of camera after all so it should be better in some ways. I have enormous trust in this company and I thought, "there's no way Canon would let the competition take over the DSLR video market. There's no way Canon is going to stand and watch while the competition is getting better and better. If others have made cameras with less moire and aliasing then Canon will certainly match that and go a few steps further as always!" When I came home I was disappointed to find out that the image quality in video mode was almost the same as 600d, if not exactly the same, minus the crop mode. Having been a Canon user for my entire life I am bitterly disappointed that Canon would launch a camera in 2012 that has no image quality improvements (in video mode) over the 550d which was launched in early 2010, especially when pocket sized mirrorless cameras now have better picture quality in video than many DSLRs, with much less moire and aliasing issues. It also hurts me to see that the new 650d got a processor from their compact line of cameras instead of getting the new Digic 5+. I was not expecting this from Canon. Yes, I understand that this is a stills camera and that if I want a video camera I should buy a Cinema EOS. But as a young independent low budget professional filmmaker who is starting out I cannot possibly afford a Cinema EOS, even the C100. So, it is of vital importance for Canon to keep up and be better than the competition who also make still cameras but in their last generation they have resolved many problems with video such as moire, aliasing and line skipping. Still, I didn't go for their products, I went for Canon out of loyalty, and what I expect is to get that loyalty from Canon too. Because if they stop being loyal to me (when I say me I mean customers like me) I'll have no reason to be loyal to them. If I, for example, have a Canon DSLR as a filmmaker who is starting out I will through time acumulate Canon lenses, and equipment and then after a while when I am able to afford a more expensive camera I'll buy the Cinema EOS because of all the lenses that I would have aIumulated by then. If however Canon decides to stop developing video in DSLRs and people like me buy another brand camera instead, the chances are then that when they progress they'll go for that brand's professional level camera and Canon will have lost them forever. So as they lose the entry level filmmaker they'll lose a potential Cinema EOS customer. Meanwhile, I will keep the 650D, but please Canon do something serious with it with a firmware update. I also understand that because the 7D is still not replaced you cannot allow an entry camera to have better video than the current 7D but at least give us video without line skipping, at least that because we know that the new processor is capable of doing that. Please! It is a very good stills camera though, I cannot argue with that. I quite enjoy it for photography!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Recommended Product

By AgentRon007 from Long Island on 09/11/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Quick Start-up Time, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Solid Operation

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my T4i for what it is. Though I do think they could've gave a little bit more in the upgrade from the T3i..it's still a great dslr...besides the short battery life there's nothing to really complain about...it takes great pics especially if you get the one with the STM lens..excellent camera for a beginner or someone who's starting to understand the logistics of photography like myself. Just another great product by Canon!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Camera for HD Video

By Jake from Florida on 09/11/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Simple Controls/menu, Superior Build Quality, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Solid Operation, Quick Start-up Time

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this to use for videography and I am extremely happy with it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Going DSLR

By Mike from Charleston,SC on 08/25/2012


Pros:

Quiet, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After of year of having to thru hurdles to use my EF lens for video. I finally decided to trade in my old xti & Cine-camcorder for a Canon DSLR. Originally I was leaning towards a 7D, but 3 gens of 5's later, I find it still quite expensive. So I compared it to the T4i. EF/EFs compatible,Faster, same sensor & custom WB,Flip touch screen,follow focus & stereo mic. I would like to see a stronger body. I always liked the Rebel's size but I wouldn't cry over a bit more armor. And it seems short on video options. For example it would be nice to have the same fps options if not more, for all video modes, a shot capability over 29.58 minutes. Altogether its pretty solid for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing

By Good Guy from Oregon on 08/18/2012


Pros:

Quick Start-up Time, Easy To Use, Quiet, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Heavy/bulky

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I upgraded from a T1 to the T4 (with the new lens as well) and the improvements are quite nice. Having used a T1 I found the transition to the T4 quite easy. The sharpness of the pictures is significantly improved. Quality can be better as well with a wider range of controls. The larger swiveling LCD is a nice add too as is touch screen. It does feel a bit heavier but on actually weighing the 18-135 lens against my former 55-250 there is only about 40 grams difference. I'm looking forward to using the T4 on an upcoming trip to SE Asia.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extraordinary Value!

By RobNY from New York on 08/15/2012


Pros:

Quick Start-up Time, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Solid Operation, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Noisy 40mm Stm Lens. Not T4i's Fault.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned many cameras over the years, Canon being my favorite for their quality and versatility, the T4i being no exception. This camera is loaded with features and offers a great bang for the buck when you compare it to other cameras similarly equipt. I was totally sold on the new swivel screen and HDR feature. Until I can afford a 5D MkIII, the T4i has practically most of the same features in a smaller, lighter package, for thousands less. True, the 5D MkIII is designed to take a better beating and is full-frame, but for my everyday, carry everywhere camera, you can't beat the T4i. Finally, continuous autofocus in video mode, even though I don't use video that often, is a nice feature to have. My only gripes are that the STM lenses are 100% electronically dependent. Unlike other EF/EF-S lenses, you cannot manully focus STM lenses without first turning the camera on. I may be old school, but I still like to walk around, put my camera to my eye, and play with the zoom and manually focus just to get a "feel" of my surroundings without snapping the shutter or wasting battery power. Also, I find that while the 18-135mm STM is quick and quiet, the 40mm STM is slower and noisy, particularly in video mode. But these are STM lens issues, not related to the T4i itself (note the 40mm STM is an EF mount lens, an indication Canon intends to add autofocus in video mode to their other lines and pro models in the future, perhaps a firmware upgrade?). The T4i may be made of plastic, but it is very tightly built. Overall, a great camera I intend to keep, even if I can ever afford a 5D MkIII.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Novel experience of a DSLR with touch screen

By Kulti from Orange County, CA on 07/24/2012


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, 3x-10x Digital Zoom On Videos

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

STM in short should be synonymous to STepper Motor. I used a 64GB SDXC Memory card, compatible with the camera and my windows 7 laptop for shooting. Touch screen, new to DSLRs is a real bonus to amateurs who want to take professional photographs. Focus using a touch and tap once, to take the snap in live view mode. Video shots in HD are an amazing treat for a DSLR camera to take videos using auto focus features. Some small delay in focus can be edited using any movie maker software, if audio is not a hindrance for the continuity of the shot. The low light photos are far better than the previous models. With the help of multiple shots in Hand Held Night Mode, it is even better than taking pictures with an external flash. The HDR mode also takes multiple shots to get results on high back lighted scenes, with superior results. Variable angle LCD screen is also a versatile feature for self portraits. I think one should get this 18-135mm STM lens kit and enjoy the benefit of carrying one lens for travel and home photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply Outstanding

By Random Rebel from Moline, IL on 07/17/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Solid Operation, Easy To Use

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently traded my T3i for the new T4i and am pleased with the T4i in almost every way possible. The only things I did not like was the 18-55 kit lens being slow and the plastic-like feel of the body.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect kit for amateur photographer

By Viktor Sv from NJ on 07/17/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Superior Build Quality, Bright Lcd, Solid Operation, Quiet, Nice Features/settings, Quick Start-up Time

Cons:

Somewhat Heavy/bulky, Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have purchased my first digital camera in 2004, and it was Canon Pro1, which was an amazing piece of equipment for amateur photographer like me. It had an articulated screen, L-grade 7x zoom lens, and tons of settings for creativity. I took thousands of great pictures with that camera, and was able to capture very memorable moments. Unfortunately Pro 1 had all the drawbacks of "point and shot" technologies - small sensor, slow processor, any ISO over 200 was not useful due to extensive noise, slow auto focus, etc. I was hoping for Pro2, but it never arrived. Since then I had owned many "point and shot" cameras, but none had the features or image quality of Pro 1, which I loved. My ideal camera should be able to operate in automated modes (with the ability to use manual modes as needed), should have articulated screen for recording videos, should have stereo microphone, should be able to deliver good pictures in low-light, should have sufficient zoom, and should have reasonable size/weight. In a nutshell, my concept of ideal camera is simple - I pay money, I press button ...and camera delivers. How it does it - I do not know, and frankly, do not care. In my "journey" for the ideal camera I had tried Canon D60, G12, G1X, as well as a few non-Canon products, but liked none due to lack of performance, convenience and/or features I was not willing to compromise on. I finally gave up, and computerized on the camera's size by buying Canon T3i, which then I had replaced with T4i. Canon T4i with 18-135 STM lens kit is the perfect for me, and has everything I need. With the 7.5x zoom it is unlikely I will ever need another lens (but it is nice to have options). This camera proved to be perfect for all types of shooting, and my wife loves it. The only true compromise is its size, but I am learning to deal with it. So, if you an amateur photographer, and need a perfect tool that can always deliver perfect quality photos and videos in "point and shot" mode, this kit is no brainier (as long as you can afford it).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I bought this camera ...

By Pilcrow from Utah on 07/15/2012


Pros:

Quiet, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Quick Start-up Time, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera today and love it! My first SLR camera was a Rebel Xti and loved that camera, But traded it in for the Canon 60D. Which I also loved, But it just didn't feel right. The knob on the left side and the noise of the shutter wasn't to pleasing for me. Then I seen the T4i came out recently and it was a mix of the rebel series with the hardware of the 60D. Some things are slightly different. But instantly I fell in love with this camera. It feels just like the XTI to me already, with the great feature of the 60D, plus some added goodies. The shutter noise isn't as loud, it dont weigh as much as the 60D. The quality is very good, specially the video. That is one of the reason I picked this camera up. The only thing I wish canon done for this camera, and I hope they read this. Is add recording of video footage while zoomed in 5x mode or 10x mode. I don't get why you can zoom in, but you cant record while your zoomed in.. I am sure this could easily be added and I hope they add this feature in a new firmware update soon. That was one of my favorite features of the 60D and I was hoping that same feature was in the T4i.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved