Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 6609B074 » 41 Reviews

Canon 6609b074 18 Megapixel Eos M Ef-m Digital Camera Stm Kit Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 41 reviews)

67% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quick Start-up Time (13), Excellent Image Quality (34), Simple Controls/menu (16), Bright Lcd (23), Superior Build Quality (29), Solid Operation (19), Quiet (21), Easy To Use (14), Nice Features/settings (17), Lightweight/portable (30), Good Battery Life (3)

Cons:

Short Battery Life (17), Complicated Controls/menu (6), Noisy (4), Difficult To Use (3), Missing Features/settings (13), Slow Focus (3), Slow Start-up Time (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

EOS M EF-M 22mm

By High Altitude from Los Lunas, New Mexico on 10/10/2014

I have had my EOS M for about 4 weeks now. I love this little camera and the 22mm lens is great. It is tack sharp and produces excellent images. I take mostly landscapes of the desert southwest and this camera does a great job. I also purchased the M to EF adapter along with an M to FD adapter to use all my other Canon lenses. I especially like my Ultrasonic 28-80 EF and my 35mm FD when I'm not using the 22mm. This camera is probably the best bang for the buck camera that I own. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Handy

By Flicker from Hera and there on 07/14/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Nice Features/settings, Quiet, A Handy Camera, Lightweight/portable, Solid Operation

Cons:

No Camera Case, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera was bought as a backup and handy camera, which it is. I have a much larger system of lenses and camera for the primary shooting. That system is quite heavy. This camera came with the 18-55 mm lens and is able to fit into the front game pocket of my hunting vest. The vest offers some padding, but not like a camera case would. I am used to manual controls on my cameras to control all the aspects of the camera, so would like to see them on the lens as well. I know the camera can be adjusted by going into the menu and adjusting it that way. It appears to be simple, but I have not taken the time to fiddle around with it to see if it is quick at all. I am sure it won't be as quick as a manual control would be though. The camera is working well as a very portable snapshot and handy camera. I have been able to shoot Sundews in a bog and wide angle shots afar. I have a polarizer on the front of the lens, which is difficult to see the effect with the LCD view screen, but possible, particularly when the camera back has light on it. The camera size is tiny so fat fingers will have some time adjusting to using the camera. I'm getting better about that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Some features need updating.

By Larry from Wisconsin on 06/03/2014


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Quiet, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Slow Start-up Time, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Overall not a bad camera, takes good pictures, but takes a while to get used to after an older EOS comers. It has three areas I would like to see Canon improve or correct in future firmware upgrades: 1) the touch focus and shoot feature is terrible. When I carry it, it bumps against my belly, turns itself on, and takes pictures. 2) Needs a standby mode, should be able to standby and save power and then recover quickly, not have to do a full shutdown every time. 3) Need to allow for movies longer than 30 minutes. Not sure why they limit ti to 30 minutes, but it does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EOS-M Trade-Offs

By DainBramage from Athens, Tx on 04/27/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

No Remote Shooting, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Image quality is great and the auto focus has never been an issue. Super low light ability and very versatile. You do trade off the tilt screen and viewfinder for size, being able to view output on a monitor while using the camera would be a plus. I have used this camera in a lot of different shooting situations and have found it to be very capable. The only thing that I would add to the wish list is full compatibility with the EOS Utility software. I use this camera every day and there are times when remote shooting or other utilities would come in handy. The camera is built well and feels very solid. It is compact and easy to carry around but could use a little bit more compatibility with the EOS software that it ships with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome

By Long Time Canon from Undisclosed on 03/17/2014


Pros:

Pictures As Good As A 7d, Tiny And Light, Dirt Cheap As Of 3-2014

Cons:

Not A Full Size Sensor, Wide Zoom Is Pricey, Can't Burn Date Into Picture Easily, Can Be Hard To Hold No Good Grip Place

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned 6-7 Canon bodies and 5-6 EF L lenses. Love this little camera. Digic 5 processor and APS-C in a little tiny package. Great little lenses and with the adaptor can strap on my 16-35, 70-200IS2, EF 35-350, whatever. All it is is a great sensor and processor that you put on your monstor lenses, or a tiny little camera that basically takes the same pics as a 7D. Built like a tank. The only thing I don't like is you can't burn dates into the pics without going through the Canon software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It Is What It Is - and that's quite good!

By Flying Scotsman from Lake Norman, NC on 01/20/2014


Pros:

Quiet, Incredible Video, Ef Lens Adapter Available, Solid Operation, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Superior Build Quality, Bright Lcd, Quick Start-up Time

Cons:

Needs A Better Remote, Missing Features/settings, No Articulated Screen, Short Battery Life, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hate to see all of the neg reviews but industry-wide, it has helped drive prices down so low, this was just too darned good of a digi-cam to pass up! 1, with the EF lens adapter, this is a mini powerhouse! 2, simply incredible video - breath-taking color & resolution! 3, this isn't an action camera - yet. I have dSLRs for that. Sure, Canon has work to do on a newer model - but for what it is, it's a superb camera. 4, bought the EF-S 11-22mm not available in the USA (?!?!?) and with the EF-M 18-55mm, this is THE best travel camera. Ever! Don't regret grabbing one before a newer model comes out - leaves all of my PowerShots in the dust on pure image quality - just no contest!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

At least I didn't spend too much on it.

By JD from Undisclosed on 01/06/2014


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Quick Start-up Time, Good Battery Life, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Terrible Firmware Support, Noisy, Horrific Autofocus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Like many others I purchased the EOS M around Black Friday at what I figured was a steal. It's incredibly well built and has every feature one could ask for. Obviously the most glaring issue is, of course, the slow autofocus. Not sort of slow, not relatively slow to other cameras...extremely, almost throw-throw-it-in-the-garbage, slow. As big and relevant of a camera corporation as Canon is I can't imagine how this design could leave their engineering dept? I shudder to think how slow the AF was before the update. The EOS M2 will be out soon in Europe and there's no definitive answer as to it's availability in the US. Either way, Canon's quick turnaround of a new model in less than a year screams they knew this was a dud from the start. The only thing that could prove Canon actually stands behind what they sell would be to roll out more updates for the firmware. If the AF can be increased from the time it left the factory the it can be improved once again. Also, everyone should be forewarned...the 22mm f2 lens is slower and louder than the 18-55mm. It if were bigger it would make a nice coaster. You're the last major company to the mirrorless party and this is what you give us? Awful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Camera for the price. Well built

By Anonymous from Georgia on 12/21/2013


Pros:

Quick Start-up Time, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Great For Landscape Pictures, Excellent Image Quality, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Write Speed To Sd Card

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent camera for travel. Sturdy and built to last. Focus is acceptable after firmware update. Great quality pictures. Write speed to sd card slow even when using UH-1 card. Needs firmware update to speed up write transfer speed. LCD screen easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my walk around carry everyday camera

By ansel from ny ny on 12/13/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Superior Build Quality, Lightweight/portable, Quick Start-up Time, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

accurate auto focus , I keep it on me at alllll times iv eattached fd lenses to L lenses and all are beautiful. Ive owned a 5D II and a D600 and this is as good as aps-c gets. a little laggy but all mirrorles are a bit at least. wish someone would make an electric viewfinder . touch screen rules. video is gorgous. if you like the canon look in your images and you don't buy this you are an idiot. image quality is better than a 7D which ive used plenty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cudda Been So-o-o Much Better

By DC Phil from Washington, DC on 12/09/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Slow Start-up Time, Missing Features/settings, Slow Auto Focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the EOS-M on "Black Friday," in great part because I was highly encouraged by proclamations that its firmware update Ver. 2.0.2 increased auto-focus (AF) speed and accuracy. BAD NEWS: I am very disappointed in slo-o-o-w auto AF--which too often has caused me to miss great moments. The 22mm lens is slower to focus than the 18-55mm. In fact, my wife's average quality point-and-shoot focuses faster and more reliably than the EOS-M with any lens attached. Based on my personal experience, I REALLY, REALLY implore Canon to develop another firmware update that improves AF to acceptable speed & reliability, reduces the AF's major hunting for focus indoors (especially as its 18-55 STM lens is zoomed closer to 55mm), defaults to lower auto ISOs when the flash is on, and (here's the easiest one, I think) allows ISO to be set in 1/2 or 1/3 stop increments. In addition to the aforementioned shortcomings, key missing features that should have been on the EOS-M and certainly belong on the next generation model are: (1) Built-in flash is essential due to considerable noise at ISO 1600 and up; I bought the 90EX flash, which does well for its size, but you need to plan ahead by installing it "just in case" or risk missing a low-light moment; (2) longer battery duration; (3) an easily accessible button to manually lock/unlock the touch screen so contact with my chest won't change settings; and (4) either quicker start-up time or sleep mode that awakens the camera with touch of shutter release button. GOOD NEWS: Great still & video image quality (in moderate to normal light). Phenomenal large aperture pics with my EF prime lenses (85mm f/1.8 and my favorite 35mm f/1.4 L). BOTTOM LINE: Not bad for Canon's 1st attempt, but I really expected much better from the undisputed champion of photo equipment. Canon really owes current EOS-M customers the firmware updates I've begged for above and a higher capacity battery. I've been extremely loyal to Canon since 1986 and have loved all Canon products I've owned. However, I am seriously debating whether to return my EOS-M or learn to accept and work within its several unfortunate limitations. -- END --


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fill the XA - Smartphone Gap

By Bob from Undisclosed on 12/07/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We need Canon to break the mold and this camera is on the track but not the answer. Smartphones are the best camera because they are with you. Instead we need: - A small body but with this highly capable large sensor. - A high quality, fixed lens of 28 or 35-mm (35mm format equivalent). - An Electronic View Finder (EFV) besides the back screen. - Built in WiFi that can emit its own standalone WiFi field like some SD memory cards, and GPS. (Besides positioning, GPS enables highly accurate time synchronized images to the second.) - WiFi enabled remote viewing and operation by smartphone. - And most importantly, it runs on AA batteries. If you can't bring yourself to break the paradigm of small expensive, underpowered Lithium batteries, at least enable an external AA battery pack accessory. AA batteries are not only less expensive, but far more versatile. - Develop a post processing smartphone / tablet app that be continually upgraded as an accessory for Canon cameras. - Think XA


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

White screen of death

By srp7 from Boston, MA on 11/15/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Camera Freezes And Is Unusable!

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have owned this camera for less than 2 weeks. I shot more than 300 photos with it and LOVED the IQ and was not bothered by the slow auto focus. HOWEVER, the camera freezes up -- I get a white screen, the shutter won't fire, the menu button doesn't work. This has happened 3 times in less than two weeks; the first 2 times I removed the battery and waited a bit, reinserted the battery and all was OK. 4 hours ago this happened again and the 'normal' fix is no longer working. VERY DISAPPOINTED. I loved the IQ and the size and build quality of the eos m. I was looking forward to using this small but great IQ camera when backpacking and hoped to be able to carry it pretty much everywhere I go; I REALLY wanted to like this camera, but my experience has been horrible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By JGR from Texas on 10/16/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Solid Operation, Quick Start-up Time, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Superior Build Quality, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought two of these, one with the 22mm and the other with the 18-55mm. They give great photo quality and are very sturdily built. I am hoping for more lenses and even more great performance with further firmware updates!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Firmware

By Gustav from Texas on 10/07/2013


Pros:

Solid Operation, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Short Battery Life, Noisy, Difficult To Use, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After the firmware upgrade AF is somewhat faster but still very slow. Battery life is not so good. Has anyone tried to use the firmware upgrade from the Canon 7d/t4i on this? Obviously the Digic 5 processor is fast enough, so what is the problem with slow AF? Still not happy with this camera...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Dante' from Jeffersonville, IN on 10/05/2013


Pros:

Quiet, Easy To Use, Quick Start-up Time, Solid Operation, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Superior Build Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got mine about a week ago with the 22mm f2 I love it focus isn't lightning fast but I'm not trying to shoot sports with it either, I have a 5D Mark III for that!!!! Great camera, great quality highly recommend it..... I could only imagine this camera did have a faster AF and higher frame rate!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice

By ShootEOS from Texas on 10/03/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Superior Build Quality, Excellent Image Quality, Solid Operation, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall a great quality camera. Takes very nice photos. I would like to see another firmware update to add focus peaking, to add screen touch screen disabling and camera control through the USB connection like your other DSLRS. Canon, are you listening?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon EOS-M to small for my big hands

By armaniphoto from North Hollywood on 09/19/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is Quiet, Quick Start-Up Time, Excellent Image Quality,Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable,Dim LCD, Missing Features/Settings, Difficult To Use,Short Battery Life, Complicated Controls/Menu. I hop next EOS-M can have more controls and will be little bigger, and can use same batteries as a 5D mark3, 60D and exc...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2X tele-converter needed

By Ponderer from Jacksonville, Fl on 08/16/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Superior Build Quality, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would REALLY like to have an M mount automatic 2X tele-converter to add to my options since the M mount lenses are so sparse. Even though I use the adapter to attach my EF lenses, I got the M for its small walk around size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A little giant

By Jrnvarg from Fayrview PA on 08/11/2013


Pros:

Quick Start-up Time, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation, Quiet, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Slow Auto Focus Performance, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a EOS 1Ds series user, so I am accustomed to use big pro SLR with fast AF, Well this little woder was a real surprise, a great costruction for an entry level camera, solid, well designed, perhaps small but well balanced, the controls are not so intuitive for a regular EOS user but we can learn and the touch screen are superb, great really great, the only issues will be the slow AF performance, yes, for a EOS 1D user every camera behind this lineup are slow (except EOS 5D III) but this tiny camera could be very slow, the firmware 2.02 fixed a lot that, still slow for my standars but faster than previous firmware, the another issue will be the battery life, is enought but no last as my other EOS cameras, but is ok, i try to use my old FD lenses on this camera and it works!!! old lens came to a new digital life thanks to this tiny wonder Hurraaahhh!!! and the image quality is greattt what a colors, that is what i love about Canon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera

By fotobo from Montreal, Canada on 07/29/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Quick Start-up Time, Bright Lcd, Quiet, Solid Operation, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great camera. Packed with features. Excellent I.Q. Fun to use. Excellent for travel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly underrated!

By solobackcountry from Gilbert, AZ on 07/15/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Solid Operation, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Superior Build Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Quick Start-up Time, Quiet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Truly awesome compact APS-C sensor landscape camera for advance users. Advanced photographers will likely be very satisfied with this camera when used within in strengths. If your looking for a killer easy to pack EOS camera for backcountry landscape photography, look no further. All the junk and negative rants written about this camera are highly overplayed. This is a great camera for numerous reason. It's truly sad just how much bad press this camera is getting. Congratulations Canon. The EOS-M is a winner that will likely be well received over time. If your looking for an advanced compact landscape camera, please look past the negative rants and give it a try!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New Firmware Helps a LOT!

By olderdog from connecticut on 07/02/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Quick Start-up Time, Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation, Quiet

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life, Difficult To Use, Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was so negative about this camera Canon wouldn't publish my review. I've changed my opinion, not about my first nine months with the EOS M, but as a result of the Firmware upgrade. With the new firmware, it isn't perfect but it is generally good functionally or better. The focusing in particular is much improved. The image quality is very good. The camera is small, compact and built well. It works as a second camera to my Canon 5DIII (really great). It has excellent low light imaging ability. It is still my opinion that this camera should not have been sold with the original firmware. While I'm aware it worked for some people, it just produced too many unusable images from focusing problems. I've not observed any of the same focusing problems as before.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

With the firmware update, it is a great camera

By Waldemar from Hazel Crest, Illinois on 06/28/2013


Pros:

Solid Operation, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The new firmware update improves autofocus performance greatly. I just used it on a school group study trip and it worked out great. It can be a bit easy to accidentally push the buttons on the camera back, but it is a small package that'll work quite well for most photographers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine lightweight for EOS shooters

By Robert from Brookline, MA on 06/24/2013


Pros:

Solid Operation, Quiet, Excellent Image Quality, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Slow/erratic Af

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a nice little camera that's well suited as a backup or travel camera for EOS shooters, or a primary camera for someone who wants DSLR image quality in a compact form factor. I've essentially stopped using my SX1, favoring the EOS M and accepting the lack of a zoom (I have the 22 f/2 pancake). The image quality, smaller size, and much better build quality are the deciding factors. The AF is slow, as many have commented, and I certainly would not use it to shoot action -- that's what my pair of 7D's is for. It also breathes some, which is more problematic. It's no worse than any other compact. The lack of a viewfinder is a bit of an annoyance, but that's one of the reasons why the camera is as compact as it is. The lack of a flash isn't too annoying, again, as long as you understand the limitations. You can use any existing EX flash with it, although putting a 550EX on it made it a bit...unbalanced. I recently used this camera at a function to shoot video, with my 7D's for stills. It performed very nicely in that role; I filled up a 16 GB card with 40+ minutes of HD video that greatly impressed the client. I'm not quite sure about the battery life. The first time I took it out for a casual walkabout the battery died after less than 200 frames. I believe I had fully charged it. However, it had no problem with the video at the function and still showed 4 bars. I also like the fact that it doesn't scream "professional". It looks like a perfectly innocent compact, so doesn't attract attention to itself (or to me). In summary, I would not hesitate to recommend it as a backup/travel camera for serious photographers, or a primary camera for someone who just wants the image quality that comes with a large sensor and doesn't care so much about features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

everything, but an optical viewfinder

By Roger from Media, PA on 06/19/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quiet, Quick Start-up Time

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great camera with all the features yet small enough to carry easily. However, the only thing missing is a optical viewfinder. An optical viewfinder is critical for serious photography and can significantly extend battery life. Hope the next version will add an optical view finder.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best quality in a tiny package, WOW

By Bababoe from Orange count Ca. on 06/15/2013


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Superior Build Quality, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own the 5D and 5D markII, this little camera is amazing. With the wide angle lens it is super fast and in the burst mode it smokes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still a prototype, needs work

By Rog from Undisclosed on 05/04/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Slow Start-up Time, Noisy, Short Battery Life, Missing Features/settings, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great idea, but it is not fully developed. It needs: 1) Better user interface. It is WAY to easy to accidentally touch the screen and move the focus point, change menu settings, etc. It is hard to hold this small camera without touching the screen. 2) The autofocus is very poor. Slow, 'searches' and often misses the selected point. 3) Only TWO available lenses?! Obviously released early to get it to the market before the NEX locks the market share. Yes, you can use the adapter to attach a 2lb. EF lens... but doesn't that miss the point? 4) LCD only control, no viewfinder 5) non-moveable lcd. GOOD points: It is small. Good image quality if you can focus properly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice portable camera

By Terri from Los Angeles on 04/24/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Excellent Image Quality, Quiet, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Noisy, Missing Features/settings, Poor Autofocus Capability

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Love the fact that I can use my other canon L series lens with this compact camera. I also like the touchscreen and the image quality of photos and video. The only downside is it's poor autofocus capability. I hope this issue can be resolved with a firmware update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lightweight Package

By AKphoto86 from Anchorage, AK on 04/16/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Slow Focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera for my business where I review Alaskan hiking trails, to replace my 7D as a 'trail camera' because of it's weight, size, and build quality. I also shoot video for the reviews with this camera. I have found the EOS M to be a great compromise between the feature set and performance of a DSLR and the convenience, weight and size of a point and shoot camera. It fits easily into my coat pocket when I'm wearing a jacket, and when it's hanging from my neck I barely feel it. My only critique is that the AF is slower than I would like, but for most applications I don't find it to be much of an issue. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a great travel camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good start - fix the AF!

By Rob from Chicago, IL on 04/10/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Solid Operation, Superior Build Quality, Quiet, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Slow Start-up Time, Terrible Autofocus, Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm MOSTLY impressed with this camera. It's a good start. I bought it as a carry around, and because I can attach all my EF lenses, making it a great quiet theater or concert camera with no mirror flip to disturb the audience. BUT there are two problems, one major, one minor. The major problem that earns the EOS M two stars for performance is the autofocus. Most of the time it's ok on the second or third shot when the focus is already somewhere close from the first shot. But that first shot is torture! And often a moving subject makes the camera hunt and hunt. Using EF lenses makes the problem much worse. I'm pretty sure they can address this with a firmware update, but I also heard they might not do it, so that the next gen EOS M is more attractive. That would be greatly disappointing. Canon must support those who bought the first gen, and it's not just a slow type of AF, it's defective. So lease Canon, fix it. Minor problem is the lack of redundant controls. Dependence on the touch screen is a bit too much sometimes, and a front dial would have been fabulous. But I can live with the touchscreen. Mostly it's amazing. But not the AF!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better Performance Required

By Watch&Record from California on 04/04/2013


Pros:

Quick Start-up Time, Quiet, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Size, Superior Build Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Good Stationary Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Excessive Focus Time, Poor Moving Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My camera requirements: after pulling the camera out of my jacket pocket, quick camera operation resulting in crisp, detailed images. Using an auto focus setting (I do not wish to waste my time becoming/being a camera setting expert; let digital technology perform the settings), I use the camera for taking stationary long and short distant landscape photos and images shot (safely) from a moving vehicle. The EOS M with an 18mm-55mm lens does not meet my requirements. The EOS M is a point and wait camera"1 to 2 seconds for taking each still photo, 2 to 5 seconds, or not at all, for taking each photo (safely) from a moving vehicle. The camera takes forever to focus while regularly losing the desired image. Twenty to 30 percent, or more, of forward and side facing images taken (safely) from a moving vehicle are out of focus; 70 to 80 percent of rear facing images are an out-of-focus smear or white light blot out. Still photos are fine. I like, a lot, the EOS M body size"I would like Canon to produce a camera stuffed with Canon 5D Mark III features and operation in an EOS M body.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this comers!!

By heytex from Houston, TX on 03/11/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Solid Operation, Superior Build Quality, Nice Features/settings, Quiet, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my EOS M this weekend. I love this little camera. I bought the kit with the 22mm lens, the 18mm - 55mm lens , lens adapter and the 90 ex speedlite. The image quality is amazing. I took the camera to an outdoor music festival on Friday evening. The low light capabilities are awesome. I had the 90ex speedlite in my pocket, but never needed it. The images came out great in the low light. I even took some pics of people playing basketball on a near by court. I got an awesome pic of a guy dunking on his opponent. The touch screen is brilliant. It was very easy, intuitive and fun to use. I never missed a view finder. I loved both lens but, I had the most fun with the 22mm. The auto focus wasn't an issue for me. It may be slower than some other cameras, but never to the point where I couldn't get the shot. I'm thrilled with my purchase!! Canon packed a lot of great features into this camera. I suspect my 60d is going to become very lonely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good idea that needs more

By Amilcare from Texas on 03/01/2013


Pros:

Ease Of Gps Attachment, Lightweight/portable, Superior Build Quality, Bright Lcd, Quiet

Cons:

Short Battery Life, No Tether Control

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this as a "carry" companion to my long (D30, 10D, 20D, 7D) of Canon DSLRs. The ability to use my collection of Canon and Canon-ready lenses was too good to pass up. I have the full complement of accessories, including the GPS that does not require a dongle as on my 7D. My greatest disappointment is the lack of tethered control. Much of my work relies on this, and its lack here is a MAJOR disappointment. As a carry-around with even the 18-55 and GPS attached, it is a pleasure. I guess that should be enough. BTW, I have FOUR batteries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Holding on to it

By RawDogg from SF Bay Area on 02/16/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Quiet, Bright Lcd, Superior Build Quality, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Slow Focus, Short Battery Life, Slow Start-up Time

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My first impression of the Canon EOS M when I picked it up was wonderful, well built little camera, solid, strong, tight. then I started shooting with it and got a little frustrated with the focusing problems. The image quality is excellent...I love it. The video is very good. I know my expectation were really high after coming from a EOS Mark II. I knew it would have the and quality as the Mark II but it almost did. The video can't touch the Mark II but the image quality is close. All in all, I'm happy with it but I wish I would have waited for the second generation. I will not give up my EOS M. I do like it. I just can't use it for sporting events (unless I'm not too close to the subjects) & low light shooting (no night clubs). I must say that the low light video is really good! Im eagerly waiting for a firmware update that might help the focusing problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It shouldn't be this bad.....

By Photoguy from California on 01/29/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Poor Focusing In Low Light, Poor Focusing Of Fast Moving Objects, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have many Canon cameras from point and shoots to a 1D-X (which I love). Getting the EOS-M for my wife was a no-brainer when it came out. The quality of construction and features are every bit as good as I would expect from Canon, but the fatal flaw is focusing - of fast moving objects, or stationary objects in low light. I took the EOS-M to a party and the focusing in low light was so poor I had to give up in the end. My kids have Rebels of different vintages and they are vastly better than this. I strongly hope Canon's second generation EOS-M will be better, but I feel I wasted my money on this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sloooooooooooo-click-w

By Boggy from Denver, CO on 12/10/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Slow Af, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Image quality is not bad. Gets pretty noisy past ISO 1600. Touch screen interface is great, screen is awesome. Controls could use another dial, but manageable. The fact that it takes EF lenses with an adapter is fantastic. Terrible AF. I don't think I've seen a recent compact that was slower than that. iPhone is faster. Bright light, dim light, ANY lens... It's all around 1 second on non-moving subjects. WAY worse with the EF lenses. Even when the subject doesn't move and I just took a picture of it... next shot is gonna be a second later. Battery life is worse than even the specs suggested. 100 frames with scrolling through the pictures a few times adn zooming in and out on features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Good Camera that is Missing Critical Features

By Darker View from Big Island, Hawai'i on 11/22/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Superior Build Quality, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Short Battery Life, No Remote Shooting, No Shutter Release Connector, Slow Focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had been waiting for this camera a long time. A small camera offering much of the performance of a DLSR is perfect for many of my photographic needs. Keeping a camera with me and available is one of my cardinal rules, one I have held to for my entire adult life. Most recently it is a Canon G series that has been my carry camera. A G9, G11 and currently a G12. But there are times a small sensor compact just can't get the shot, and I do not have the DSLR with me. This camera looked to be the middle road that I needed. The build quality of the EOS-M is beautiful, it just feels good in the hand. The touch screen is new to me, the performance is snappy and accurate, with some useful features. The kit 22mm f/2 lens is an impressive little piece of glass, sharp and fast, creating impressive photo quality. The focus on the EOS-M is SLOW, worse than my G12 by a large margin. I expected it to be somewhere between that of the compact and a DSLR, but was surprised with what I found. Using both cameras side by side on the same subject was an informative exercise. Given a simple scene it is faster, in practice it is worse, particularly up close. Without a remote shutter release connector, why is there not an intervalometer function built into the camera? Battery life is similarly disappointing. A red flashing symbol after an hour of shooting around 100 frames? The worst surprise was yet to come, discovered when I plugged the camera into the computer and loaded the latest version of the EOS Utilities. There is no remote shooting! This little fact is not clear in the specifications, even when I go back and look for it. Why does this camera lack something that every other recent EOS camera supports? I do a lot of technical shooting... astrophotography, time lapse, etc. Without a reasonable way to control the camera, no remote shooting, no shutter release connector, a potentially great camera is crippled. It is the removal of remote shooting that is the biggest issue, something that makes no sense to me. Time to get an RMA number and send it back. Looks like my G12 will be in use a bit longer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

There are a lot of ...

By Eveningsong from Springfield,WV on 11/18/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There are a lot of features packed into this small package. Great image quality. Ease of use. Light and portable. Read the manual. Has all the features using a touch screen. M, AV, TV and all the others like portrait and macro. Easy to use as everything is accessible from the touch screen. If you use a smart phone you can use this camera. Could not be happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Power packed Mini delivering BIG results

By Tropical Photos from San Diego, CA on 11/16/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Quiet, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is a gem. I wanted a smaller body with great image quality and this camera delivers the goods! The other bonus is, with the new adapter ring, all my canon EF lenses work! That just gave me a ton of options and saved me a ton of money! The touch screen is probably my favorite part...especially when it comes to focusing. I'm hoping Canon will incorporate this feature in it's bigger bodies in the future. Image quality is quite amazing! Thank you Canon for going BIG with this little body!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Enough for the First Mirror-less from Canon

By Peter from New York, NY on 11/09/2012


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Solid Operation, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Average Focus, No Built-in Flash, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thought it is small and light weight, but it feels very solid in hand. The kit lens are very sharp. Although the Hybrid AF system is not lighting fast, but it performs quite decent. So far so good with the focusing. Good for still and static subject, but this camera has difficulty to lock on moving subjects. AF tracking is just average. IQ is no different than Rebell T4i. Low-light performance is more than average. Color rendering is wonderful, typical for most Canon cameras. The missing built-in flash is a minus point for this kind of camera. Should have a front dial like the one in G series.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Image Quality King You'll Carry Everywhere

By Racecar from Killeen, TX on 11/09/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Superior Build Quality, Adapter To Access Ef Lenses, Quick Start-up Time, Quiet, Nice Features/settings, Solid Operation, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ive only had the Canon EOS M EF-M 22mm STM Kit for a couple of days now. My first impressions are this: 1. The image quality is Excellent! 2. The white balance engine is perfect under general ambient light. (Havent had a chance to check the extreme mixes like daylight and tungsten) 3. I like grabbing a camera and not having to think about proper settings. This camera only has three modes: Total AUTO and Creative Auto CA and MOVIE which are selectable on the shutte-mounted switch. Which brings me to my only criticism so far: 4. Id like to be able to select Tv and Av " M modes. This would allow the camera to be pressed into astronomy work, creative landscape photography etc. CONCLUSION: Over all though the camera is small enough to carry in your pocket with the 22mm STM lens attached, so its a camera youll have with you all the time. It takes phenomenal photographs. The AUTO presets NAIL the image in all types of lighting and lack of lighting EVERY TIME! The adapter makes it compatible with all your EF lenses (I cant wait to try this!!!!!!!) The image quality (IQ) is EXCELLENT! This little guy is a keeper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved