Home » 7920A001 » 18 Reviews

Canon Camcorders 7920a001 Canon Gl2 Digital Camcorder Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)

88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Compact Design (8), Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold (9), Easy Computer Connectivity (8), Easy To Use (9), Durable (6), Accurate, Vivid Colors (10), Good Battery Life (8), Easy Tv Connectivity (4), Excellent Image Quality (12), Great Sound/audio (11), Good Software Compatibility (5), Good Low-light Performance (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I have been using this ...

By CamBug from US on 04/17/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this camera for about 7 years and it still keeps giving the needed quality for my articles on the internet for some of the top major magazines. It's light and compact and with the remote, I can do everything I need to get excellent video. I added a remote servo and have a remote turning range of about 270 degrees.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera

By Bob from West New York, New Jersey on 01/12/2014


Pros:

Good Software Compatibility, Excellent Image Quality, Compact Design, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great Sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used the XL-2 to record 3 New York 9/11 Truth meetings and a number of other similar functions; the GL-2 is also very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would only buy another Canon

By Horst from Carmichael on 12/24/2011


Pros:

Only Pros

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't know what is wrong with the people who write a negative report. I have the GL 2 for 5 years now. During that time I dropped it several times on concrete decks and floors. One time, I fell off a cliff on the coast. The GL 2 landed on some boulders 100 feed away; I had to be taken to the hospital ! Another time, I taped an event and then forgot to turn the thing off and put it in the bag. Days later, I wanted to check my work. when I opened the bag, the camcorder was boiling hot; it had recorded the rest of 45 minutes,stoped running but was still on. I figured the thing and the tape was shut. I was besides myself since the recording was part of a 90. birthday party and could not be duplicated. But to my surprize, every thing was fine. the tape was ok and so was the corder. By the way, that was several month ago and I used it since. So... what I want to say is: even if the GL 2 breaks down now, I would only buy another Canon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had my GL-2 for ...

By Herbmia from Miami, Florida on 12/11/2011


Pros:

Great Color, The Best Zoom Range, Stabilizer Works Well, Internal Color Bar Generator

Cons:

Will Easily Damage With Mishandling., Must Not Allow Strain On Connectors

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my GL-2 for over 3 years. I have mostly used it for weddings and travel videos. I have taught prior to retiring, "TV Production classes" in High school. We had 8 GL-2s in the class which we used almost daily. Each school year there was a 30 to 40 percent failure and need to repair. My personal GL-2 was handled with care and not abused. Most failures in the school were probably due to mishandling by the students. I have only had the best quality SD videos. I have 2 BP945 batteries and each last me well over 90 minutes. I found easy setup to computer (using firewire) or television. Capture and editing worked easily with Adobe Premier Pro.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best of the Best

By Ed-Mo from Home. California on 03/30/2011


Pros:

Durable, Good Software Compatibility, Easy Computer Connectivity, Easy Tv Connectivity, Good Low-light Performance, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great Sound/audio

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

May be is a little bit big but where ever I take my GL2, everybody thinks that I am a pro. Pristine pictures and video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problems with tape mechanism

By pink_flea from Undisclosed on 01/05/2011


Pros:

Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Easy Computer Connectivity, Easy To Use

Cons:

Certain Replacement Parts No Longer Available, Flimsy Construction, Poor Tape Mechanism Design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned this camera for 8 years. At first this camera was the best thing I had ever purchased. I took great care with this camera and only used a single brand of tape in it from day 1. The recording quality and features are great for the price. The main problem I have with this camera is the tape deck and playback. I would say about 3 years into ownership I started getting the "Remove the Cassette" error when rewinding the tape. I had the camera serviced and cleaned recently, but the problem still persists. After much research it appears that this is not an uncommon problem with this camcorder. Much to my dismay they no longer make the replacement part for a new tape mechanism. I feel that this camera is worth repairing, but the option is no longer available. Before making a final decision to purchase a GL2 be aware of the "Remove the Cassette" issue with the camcorder and be sure that replacement parts are still made available through Canon. Otherwise you are spending a lot of money for an item that may not perform in the long term.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good camera not sure on build quality

By Educate from Guntersville, AL on 11/30/2010


Pros:

Picture Quaility, Ease Of Use, Feature Set

Cons:

Build Quality, Lack Of Stress Relief Points For Cables, Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 2 GL2s. One unit has lead a hard life in the High School production Department. It gets used everyday for about 3 hours per day directly connected to a recording computer. This unit has been repaired 3 times in a year and a half. All internal issues. It needs repair now due to a CCD issue I believe. The second unit lives at the elementary school and is babied by it's user. Again, hooked directly to a computer using firewire, about the same usage as the first unit. The firewire is strapped to the tripod to help with cable and firewire port stress relief. However, it too now needs repairs for the second time due to firewire port failure. Outside of the build quaility issues they have been good camera's from a picture quality and feature set stand point. We had been using another brand for several years in the same settings. This brand, while not as feature rich were significatly more durable. This is why I believe it is a build quality issue not so much an abuse issue. Would I spend my money on one of these cameras? Yes, because of the features but with the knowledge that I would need to treat it very gently.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Quality!!!

By videopro from Los Angeles, California on 12/26/2009


Pros:

Durable, Great Sound/audio, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this camera! It's so easy to use yet it has all the features that I need for my biz. Hight quality construction and workmanship. The video image quality is just like a HD!! I can't even tell the difference when both are compared. What's good about this camera is you can also select either 4:3 aspect ratio or widescreen. I would recommend this cam for those who like quality with a budget not as big as Hollywood.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

who ever said the camcorder wasnt strong was wrong

By bean from Baker City, OR on 03/22/2009


Pros:

Compact Design, Excellent Image Quality, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Software Compatibility, Easy Tv Connectivity, Durable, Easy To Use, Great Sound/audio, Easy Computer Connectivity

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have had mine for 4 years and it is used in the mountains for hunting an backpacking an other filming and it has been through war an never had any problems with it any damage was caused by me they dont like moisture


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great video damera

By Tacoma guy from Tacoma, WA on 03/05/2009


Pros:

Accurate, Vivid Colors, Easy To Use, Compact Design, Great Sound/audio, Good Low-light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Excellent Image Quality, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used the GL-2 for several years now. Most of it's use has been shooting video of our church's worship services. Using a firewire cable and VeescopeLive software, I record directly to the hard drive of my MacBook laptop. Our pastors use the resulting DVDs to self-critique their sermons and the overall feel of the service. I also burn extra DVDs for members who might be absent and wish to view a service. They comment, "It's just like being there." I've found the GL-2 very easy to use and well worth it's cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Pro DV Camera

By VideoMaster from Las Vegas, Nv. on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Accurate, Vivid Colors, Excellent Image Quality, Great Sound/audio, Good Battery Life, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this camera, including its cousin the GL-1 for about 10 years in my business. It is such a great camera to keep for productions, I have had it repaired a few times to continue its use for my company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great standard def vcamera

By rwcinsc from Columbia, SC on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Good Software Compatibility, Easy Computer Connectivity, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Poor Sound/audio

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product. I have used it across many different types of recording from interviews, to weddings, to commercials, to documentaries and it has not disappointed me yet. I will someday step up to a High-def camera but for now this is just fine. A downside to this model is the battery. It is horrible and you will need to purchase a couple xtra if you are doing weddings or a documentary. I have never overcharged my battery and I get about 40 mins of recording time. Lame but I knew this going into the purchase. Don't misunderstand - I love this camera and gave it very high ratings across the board. It only fault is the battery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon GL2---excellent!

By kingcobrafan from Minneapolis, MN on 02/14/2009


Pros:

Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Easy Tv Connectivity, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Compact Design, Excellent Image Quality, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Great Sound/audio

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After using a bulky two-piece camera /portable VCR setup for several years, I'm delighted with the compactness, ease of use, and performance of my Canon GL2. The only drawback, if you can call it that, is having to use a head-cleaning cassette on occasion in the field, but this is only after much continuous use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing quality

By D.A. film Student from Jacksonville FL. on 02/03/2009


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Software Compatibility, Great Sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Good Battery Life, Compact Design, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use

Cons:

Difficult Tv Connectivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera was used during the Extravaganza 4 camera live production that i was a P.A. on. this camera worked exellent in the low lighting of the Jacksonville FL. times union center Moran theatre and was easly moved from the school to the Moran. D.A. has in no way a minor film program we use everything from GL2's to panasonic HD's and edit on Finalcut pro software so we are of professional quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I use mostly for taping ...

By Waldo from NJ on 01/20/2009


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Easy Computer Connectivity, Excellent Image Quality, Great Sound/audio, Easy To Use, Compact Design

Cons:

Need Bright Lights

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use mostly for taping golf swings and it works great. The high shutter speed is great for the golf swing and the clearity is superb. I purchased the bigger battery for longer use on hte range. PGA PRO


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By pro user from Sacramento, California on 01/01/2009


Pros:

Durable, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Battery Life, Easy Tv Connectivity, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great Sound/audio

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The guy who said his GL2 broke all the time must have got the only lemon because I have had mine for a couple years and it has worked perfect! I love this camera. It is easy to use, hooks up to my computer with no problems and is just an all around awesome video camera! I use it for a T.V. show and I would highly recommend it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice camera, breaks too easily

By jimmya57 from Philadelphia, PA on 12/30/2008


Pros:

Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable To Hold, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Great Sound/audio

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Difficult To Use, Poor Low-light Performance, Limited Software Compatibility, Difficult Tv Connectivity, Difficult Computer Connectivity

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had a GL2 for 4 years now, and every year I have had to send it back for repairs. I have now spent more on repairs than I did for the camera itself. The camera itself it great when it works, however downloading to a computer is very difficult


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"This is top of the line ...

By Nothng55 Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 02/03/2005

This is top of the line in cams. if you are into fliming like i am this is a must have! its easy to work and not over the top to use, but at a pro level of flim making! i give it a 10/10 !!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved