Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 8158B001 » 38 Reviews

Canon 8158b001 16 Megapixel Powershot A2600 Digital Camera [silver] Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 38 reviews)

71% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Bright Lcd (21), Good Battery Life (19), Good Low-light Performance (19), Easy To Use (29), Simple Controls/menu (26), Nice Features/settings (24), Lightweight/portable (26), Durable (16), Excellent Image Quality (26)

Cons:

Dim Lcd (3), Poor Image Quality (6), Poor Low-light Performance (8), Short Battery Life (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Worst ever purchased

By Dee from Southampton, NY on 06/04/2014


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

A plastic piece around the lens is only glued in and when you take the lens cover off the plastic piece is stuck in the lens cover. Now the plastic piece is completely gone and the cover will not go on the lens. The camera freezes all the time and will not take pictures. The word busy is constantly being displayed. I have had other Canon power shots and loved them. This model I totally dislike and am frustrated every time I use it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon SX 50

By Stevehoutx from Houston, Tx on 01/13/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Incredible Zoom, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I compared this camera side-by-side with another Canon SX 50 and from that we found the image stabilizer and the auto focus were not working correctly. We compared the photo image at a 100 times and 200 times. My Canon SX 50 would not stay focused. The image stabilizer was very unstable. I am sending this camera back to Canon for a replacement. This is a great camera. Mine may somehow have missed the quality inspections. Hopefully I can change my review when I get my replacement


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This camera was such a ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/12/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera was such a disappointment after spending two weeks on vacation and taking tons of great photos I came home and downloaded the pics to my computer to find out that there is a time and date stamp on every photo that you can't remove! Who wants a time and date stamp on their pictures? the worst part is that the photos never show the date on them when you view them through the camera they only showed up after I downloaded them. What a horrible piece of garbage cannon! Nobody wants that stupid feature or option anyway! thanks for ruining all my photos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love my camera!

By zann from Undisclosed on 12/26/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this camera as a Christmas gift in 2012 and just love everything about it! Easy settings, nice quality photos every time! The only problem i can think of is that sometimes it gets finiky with low light and doesnt want to take the photo.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome picture quality, and excellent product.

By Sach from Dar es Salaam on 11/03/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera Canon SX500IS on 2nd Nov 2013, It very good I would recommend to my friends. Excellent quality product, awesome pictures . Easy to use. Probably Canon would have provided soft case with it, would have have appreciated. Thanks canon. I did not fond any Cons, because it is perfect for my use specially outings, travelling and short safari.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera

By Ktana234 from NY on 11/03/2013


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the many cameras that I have but the canon powershot sx500 is is the best. Not only is it portable and small but it also has a 30x zoom and 60x super zoom. This camera has a number of scene modes and effects which make my photos clear and vibrant. I would recommend this product because it is easy to use and has a long battery life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wish I had my money back

By SandyN from Undisclosed on 10/13/2013


Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Difficult To Use, Heavy/bulky, Short Battery Life, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Every time I have used this camera for one single occasion (no more than a couple of hours each time), I have had to recharge the battery. Fortunately (?) the guy at store recommended that I get a second battery. Since one battery is always charged, that helps. I do not like that the lens doesn't close up (prone to scratches); I do not like the short battery life; it does not indicate on the screen which setting I'm using; it does not fit in my purse. In short, I regret buying the camera. I will buy another camera but will do a LOT more homework. The reviews on this one did not indicate the problems I am experiencing. I can't even think of anyone I want to pass this camera along to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOVE my Canon camera

By kdldreamer from Morganton, GA on 09/16/2013


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Durable, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Great Stablization; No Blurred Photos, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd

Cons:

There Are No Cons.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my camera (Canon Powershot SX500IS) because of the 50 X zoom. It enable me to take pictures of the moon and the detail was incredible. A friend has a DSLR high end camera and lens that couldn't get the close up shot that I did. Canon will always be my camera of choice because I have never had to replace one. I only buy a new camera when Canon has developed a camera with features that my other Canon cameras don't have (example 50X zoom). Canon cameras enable me to always take beautiful unblurred photos. I LOVE my Canon cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expected better.

By asinate from Hawaii on 09/13/2013


Cons:

Poor Video Quality, Poor Low-light Performance, Poor Image Quality, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera brand new. I was a little bummed because at first I wanted the Canon Elph 110 for vlogging purposes, but the store I went to had sold out of the Elph so I had to pull out a little extra cash for this camera. As it was $90 more. I know the capabilities of the Elph because my friend has one, and this camera although more expensive and quoted to take crisp photos, does not amount to the elph *digital* camera! The video quality on the Canon SX500 IS is grainy and performs horribly in all lighting except outdoors. The best photos are taken on auto if the object is still. I shouldn't have wasted my money, and my warranty is up. Canon you let me down, for the very first time. But I do love my 60D!!!! I just wish I could get my hands on the Canon Elph 110.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera but...

By Hector from Undisclosed on 08/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After owning a Rebel ET for years decided to go smaller. It fits my needs totally. Really wanted a camera with video. Although I am satisfied with the camera I was a bit disappointed that the soft carrying case, PSC-4050, would not accept my camera because it was too small. Other than that I love all your canon cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Picture Quality

By Boomer918 from Plattsburgh NY on 08/03/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been using Canon cameras for some time. I deceided to move to a bit larger camera for the 30x zoom feature which is great. Problem is my pictures are rarely if ever clear and sharp with this model. Very disappointed with this model. Can only guess the lens is low quality. Will buy Canon again but will check lens quality closely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely impressed

By Big Guy from Orange County Ca. on 07/21/2013


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using a cheaper 10 megapixel point and shoot camera for a few years now but really wanted a high end Cannon Rebel or better but was just not affordable for me yet so I thought I would at least upgrade to this SX 500 IS and WOW! I am Blown Away with this Camera. For the money this Camera Performs beyond my expectations. The Zoom feature is fantastic and the picture quality is amazing. I highly recommend this Camera and with a little patience and study of the more detailed manual available on-line the results are quite incredible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By JJ from New York on 07/03/2013


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera was a Christmas present to my wife and myself. I used this camera at several concerts in an arena. I was able to take photos, from the middle seating level near the back of the arena. I used the optical zoom without the flash, just using the concert lighting. The photographs are incredible, beautiful quality, the close ups were almost like a portrait shot. The video is also incredible, I would not hesitate to buy this camera if I had to do it over.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

professional results

By hidee from Savannah Ga on 07/02/2013


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife and I purchased this as a Christmas gift to our selves. At first I used it in auto mode. I then began exploring manual mode photos. I was shocked at the quality images the SX 500 IS produces. I only wish I could attach a photo to this review.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera!

By Mr. B from Undisclosed on 06/27/2013


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Would Like A Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used to own a nice Minolta with 3 lenses; weighed about 15 pounds total; moved up to small digital, pocket sized; bought this for a trip to California - what a great buy! I've never taken such nice shots so easily, and the zoom and wide angle capabilities made the trip to Yosemite something we'll never forget; the pictures are amazing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this camera

By michlong from Prairie du Chien, Wi on 06/24/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this camera for a couple of weeks and i have falling in love with this camera. I love the pictures it takes, I take pics of flowers and birds the most. The camera brings the birds right in.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOOOVE IT

By Anonymous from peabody, MA on 06/17/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

all i wanted to say is last time i checked this was 130$ bucks cheaper and the price is saying i SAVED money. well anyways i love this camera one of the best point and shoots and if you know how to use the setting ou can get pro results


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By spikynanna from North Carolina on 06/11/2013


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great little camera, easy to hold and use. Very nice features, great quality of pictures


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By SOFFEFDL from Charlotte, NC on 05/23/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Slow, Dim Lcd, Poor Image Quality, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera because of the great features and compact size. Performance in terms of picture quality was very disappointing. The LCD was very grainy/pixelated. Good light, low light, stills, motion...nothing looked crisp. Performance seemed sluggish. Hoping that it was the particular camera I had...I returned it and got another. Unfortunately, the image quality was just as poor...the LCD was just as blurry...and it seemed just as slow...so it must be the nature of the product. I have returned it and will invest in something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I really like this ...

By DJ from Sebring, FL on 05/03/2013


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this camera. The only problem is that it would be nice if there was a page I could print out the would show "all" the icons with their purpose instead of having to keep going back to my computer to try and look it up in the guide I downloaded. It is hard to see some of the images on my computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SO disapointed

By wishes4kissez from Undisclosed on 04/20/2013


Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Poor Image Quality, Difficult To Use, Missing Features/settings, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this camera as a gift for Christmas. I am barrel racer, and I run a web page/ advertise for a horse business. The camera was intended to be used to capture awesome action shots while racing, as well as video, and take photos of the horses for the sale ads. Major problem with this is that if anything in the frame moves AT ALL its blurry! I cant even take pictures of a horse standing still because if he breaths or swishes his tail or moves his head a little its blurry! And forget the action shots altogether! The video is ok and I tried taking still shots off of the video but they were blurry as well. I tried all different settings and got super frustrated. This camera is hard to use and hard to program and the instructions are long and confusing and not helpful at all. I even had my friend who is a professional photographer try to help me find a setting that could take a clear image and even she couldn't. Then I went to the store and had them try to help me, no luck there either. It really should have an action setting. I mean it has a freaking fireworks setting, but not a sports or action of some type? How often does an average person take a photo of fireworks compared to how often they would use a sports or action setting!!! I can see that if you take photos of things that dont move at all, like maybe a statue, it takes really nice images. Just dont try to use it for anything that might move, at all. I cant use this camera for anything that I wanted a camera for and I ended up just using the iphone which does a much better job, which is really sad! I really wish I could make this camera work for me, but I am beyond frustrated with it at this point.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Birthday Gift

By M from Western NY on 04/07/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received this for my birthday and I couldn't be happier. I have another Canon camera ( SX120 IS ) and I really like it but this camera with the 30X zoom is amazing in a small package. I take a lot of wildlife shots and this camera fills the bill. I also like the fact that I can do everything with a point and shoot and not have to carry extra lenses. I would amd have recommended Canon to family and friends.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this for videos and daylight pics

By E from RI on 03/25/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Automatic Macro Setting, Simple Controls/menu, Hd Quality Video, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Hard To Focus In Low-light Situations, Must Be Patient With Focus, No Viewfinder

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera over Christmas break because I wanted a digital camera that was not quite as heavy-duty as a DSLR, but still had very good specs (I had been stalking this camera and another one for a few months before purchasing). I was surprised at first at how light and compact this camera is. It is smaller than I had expected it to be. I use this camera to record many functions and concerts at our high school to upload to youtube. I saw another reviewer had an issue with the audio and video not lining up and I have not encountered this problem (I have a mac and use imovie to edit all the clips). I am thinking about getting a spare battery though as that has been my only issue when recording. The battery lasted over an hour while recording in HD, but I did not realize that I should have had a spare in order to record the whole event. The zoom on this camera -for both stills and video- is amazing (especially when using a tripod). I stood 10+ feet away from a ping pong ball and on the mechanical zoom alone was able to clearly focus in on the company label on the ball. With the digital zoom, the camera zeroed in on one letter of said label while maintaining crisp quality. I love the automatic macro setting. Initially my brother and I thought that you had to be on a specific setting in order to be in macro mode, but the camera focuses automatically. You just have to have a little patience in order to focus it properly for the light/which object you want to focus on. It may take a couple times of half-way releasing the shutter and re-depressing it in order to get the proper focus. My friend and I played around with the manual settings and they were fairly easy to figure out... you can't be scared to try adjusting settings and realize that you can undo almost anything if you click the wrong button. For manual shooting, I would go to my 35mm every time and use this digital as more of an automatic though. My only qualms with this camera is using it in low-light conditions, camera to computer quality, and no viewfinder. It is iffy about whether a good picture comes out or not and the flash is very good for indoor situations, but sometimes does not help with outdoor, low light situations. I literally had taken two pictures with the same exact settings and focus; one came out gorgeous and the other was grainy and unfocused (even though it appeared fine as I was focusing it). The camera to computer quality is odd with some images. It seems like for some of the images, the camera has too high of a megapixel rate. There are pictures I've taken with this camera that look fine on the camera body itself, but once it's transferred to the computer, it is a little grainy and appears like it is worse quality (as desktop wallpaper) than pictures taken with my very old 4mp camera. I would LOVE a viewfinder on this camera, but for all the other brilliant things about this camera, I would willingly let that little detail go. The price of this camera is excellent especially considering what it is capable of. Even if you forgo the picture-taking aspects of it and use it primarily as a video camera, I believe it is still easily worth the price (though I do not know why you wouldn't take advantage of the wonderful pictures it can take). Overall, I do love this camera and it is extremely easy to use and carry, but there are a couple of features that could have been a little bit better or just more consistent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ehh.

By C-dawg from Bellingham, WA on 03/13/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Dim Lcd, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Ok so I got this camera for christmas and had been wanting a nice camera to photograph nature, self portraits and all that and just so i could get a good quality out of it. But this camera doesn't really satisfy me to be honest. The pictures are never grain free and I can't learn how to use it manually anywhere, they way i learned in photography class must not have been right because everytime i do it the lighting is just horrible. I really have a lot of sadness some times just because it kind of sucks compared to what I thought it was going to be, and I still can't figure out if I can find a detachable lense to go with it which would probably help a lot with the bloody focusing it has. This camera just adjitates me every time i talk about it lol


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Young Photographer

By Pa from Florida on 03/03/2013


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera for my teenage grandson and he loves it. He quickly was taking quality pictures with almost no trouble understanding the controls and settings. I would recommend this camera for new photographers. It is affordable and takes high quality pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent camera

By Steven p. from Pompano beach,FL on 03/02/2013


Pros:

Durable, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best camera I have ever purchased, excellent zoom, excelent flash, focus,design, quality pictures etc etce


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Pleased

By Sir2fyablyNutz from West Virginia on 02/20/2013


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

No Printed Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very pleased with the purchase. I was looking for a point and shoot with a decent zoom and this camera fits the bill. An added bonus is the camera size as it fits in a coat pocket for easy carry, unlike the bulkier SLR model cameras. The software for picture enhancement, "Image Browser EX" is an excellent tool. No printed manual for all the bells and whistles on the camera was a problem as I didn't care for the PDF download of the manual. I did an internet search for printed Canon manuals and found one at a reasonable price (cheaper and better quality than if I had printed the PDF). Doing this makes it much easier than trying to scroll through the PDF on the computer, and I can take the manual with me. All in all very satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very disappointed with this camera

By NaturePhotographe from San Diego, CA on 01/30/2013


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Short Battery Life, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I so wanted to like this camera but my heart is crushed. I needed to replace an old Canon Powershot model that I love, but somehow it doesn't turn on if the batteries are not fully charged, so it's unreliable. I also have a Canon G1X that I love, but I needed another camera for macro and zoom options. The 30x zoom, macro capabilities and the 16MP sold me. I mostly use my cameras in manual mode, to control the settings. This camera works like any other Powershot, menus are the same and easy to set up. The image quality is simply unacceptable. Even is broad daylight and ISO of 100, there is a lot of noise. Zoom in at 100% and you'll see the grainy picture. Atrocious. The worst part? Chromatic abberation is visible on almost every single picture. Just zoom in and you'll see purple and green where they are not supposed to be. My other Powershot cameras don't do that, so why this one does, I don't get it. I read somewhere that Canon has software within its cameras to correct chromatic abberation, but this camera doesn't include it. Big mistake. The zoom does a terrible job at focusing, even on a tripod. I've tried to take photos of the moon, but none of them turned out well. The chromatic abberation also gave the moon a green border. Not cool. I bought this camera on Amazon a few weeks ago and I'm returning it. It's simply junk and give me useless photos. I sell the photos that I take and I can't sell anything I captured with this one. If you're looking for a camera easy to use and don't care about the quality of your photos, this is a good choice. If you care about the end result, stay away. Canon failed with this model release.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Video Quality

By Mandi from Houston, TX on 01/01/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Video And Audio Don't Align, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

On Videos the Visual and Audio don't line up. It's really frustrating because on the actual camera they do but once you upload them to the computer they're completely separate. Also the videos upload as a .MOV file instead of a .WMV so therefore you can't edit the videos in movie maker. The picture quality is excellent although the low light isn't but that's not really what I wanted to use the camera for. Usually I love Canon but this purchase I am really upset with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice camera

By Erin from MASS on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Poor Action Shots

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My husband just purchased this as a Christmas Gift for me and I love it. We have a little one on the way and it will be great for baby shots. However the previous review was correct, this is not good for action shots. I will have to read the manual further, but so far playing with the settings I cannot get a good action shot. So if that is important to you choose a different model. HOWEVER the picture quality is WONDERFUL and can shoot so far and still show great quality. I know I will enjoy this camera. Thanks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Happy With The Canon Power Shot SX500IS

By AR Traveler from NW Arkansas on 12/28/2012


Pros:

Good Battery Life

Cons:

Picture Distortion

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After looking at compact cameras, we purchased the Power Shot SX500IS, just before Christmas. What a disapointment, some of the pictures have a curvature to the picture, distorting the people and ruining the pictures of family! These can never be redone! I am returning this Canon SX500IS! I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS CAMERA!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME CAMERA

By CAJUNLADY from Louisiana on 12/19/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought me this camera a few days ago. I returned 2 others before deciding on this one. I am very happy with my purchase. The only thing I would change would be to add a viewfinder.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great still pictures, but not sports action

By Sports mom from Ohio on 12/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera as an upgrade to another Canon camera to take pictures of my daughter's volleyball and basketball games. As this camera does not have a "sports" mode, I thought I would be able to make adjustments to settings (aperature, ISO and shutter speed) and get the quality of action shots I wanted. However, after two weeks of experimentation and endless adjustments to settings, I was unhappy with my pictures. I returned the camera and am looking for a point and shoot camera to take sports pictures with. I would recommend this camera for still shots as the pictures turned out great. But not the action shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it so far

By reload from Undisclosed on 12/12/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This will make my second Canon digital camera. I decided to upgrade, to get higher quality pictures, mostly long distance. I have only had it 2 days, and this Camera has lived up to my expectations. Don't know what else to say other than Canon has quality products!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best digital for the money

By Markie from Apple Valley, CA. on 11/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

replaced my Canon PRO1(8mp) with the SX500 IS. Love how lightweight it is, the size of body and the controls. If you are familiar with Canon, you will , right out of the box, be able to set up and use this camera. It has great low light features, excellent image stabilization, the best zoom(you do not need to change or buy lenses). The images are spectacular and movies are without a doubt, incredible. Nice to be able to zoom in/out while shooting movies now. If you do shoot alot of movies, buy a bigger sd card and spare batteries. I would highly recommend this camera to any novice or semi pro shooter. there is no hot shoe for optional flash and no thru the lens viewing as with my old Pro1.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best camera with all the features and cost wanted

By Rod from Texas on 11/20/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best camera with all the features and cost I wanted. Superior performance and easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low Light Perfection

By KittyMama from Kentuckiana on 09/21/2012


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

None So Far!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As an early birthday gift to myself, I purchased this camera. I was looking for something to take close ups of my art work and also something that works good in low light situations. I have found it! Granted, I've only been playing with it 2 days but I could not be more pleased. I've taken low light pictures of some of my figurative sculpts and they look AMAZING! I've even been able to FINALLY capture a portrait of my ever-moving cat. I researched and looked and was about to buy a competitors camera when I spotted this one. It had the same features - for a lot less money. I don't think you can find a better value. Signed: One Happy Customer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am a novice ...

By Perch Lake John from Michigan's UP on 09/07/2012


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Durable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a novice photographer, point and shoot. I wanted a camera that would allow me to grow my photography skills without killing my wallet. The Power Shot SX500 IS is the best camera for my needs, a bridge camera between professional grade and my older shirt pocket camera. The camera is small enough to fit in a larger size fanny pack, so no Sherpa is needed to carry gear. It has a 30X lens that will reach out far into the landscape. Plus, it can easily be used as a point and shoot camera. It also has enough programmable modes / features to be a fully manual camera if desired. The Digic 4 image processor has been used by Canon in its professional grade cameras. At 16 megapixels, an 8 X 12 photo will be clear and sharp. Pros: Canon quality lens, The price is right, There are no extra lenses to buy " it is a single unit. It has an excellent image processor, with image stabilization for those distant shots. It has excellent low light capability Cons: If you do a lot of close-up shots, i.e. a bee on a flower, you will not capture the hair on the bees back. The camera does not come with a paper manual, just a disc. So field references are more difficult. The camera does not come with a flash memory card. You will need to come up with one to make the camera work. The battery is not pre-charged, so one must plug in the charger to start enjoying the camera. Overall: This is an excellent value in a camera, rich in features, quality, and capability. You should plan on buying a carry case for transport or a stroll in the woods, a tripod for those distant shots, and a flash memory card.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved