Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 8806A002 » 53 Reviews

Canon Ef 17-40mm F/4l Usm Ultra Wide Zoom Lens - 2.3x - 17mm To 40mm - F/4 (8806a002) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 53 reviews)

86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Auto-focus (35), Super-sharp Images (33), Superior Build Quality (39)

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Fantastic Little Lens

By Sirquack from Des Moines, IA on 07/10/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Aperture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this lens. I needed a higher quality wide angle lens that the kit EF-S lens that came with my Crop camera as I knew I was going to go FF eventually. The kit was slow to focus and the images were just not that sharp. Once I put the 17-40 L on my cam body I knew I had the right lens. It has great image quality and focuses extremely quickly. The L build quality has stood up to one accidental drop with absolutely no issues aftwards. My only issue is the not great aperture of F4. I knew that going in and expected it, but one more stop would have made this the perfect lens. For the price, you just can not beat it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Affordable high quality landscape lens

By PhotoDoc from Cincinnati, OH on 06/03/2014


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this for 2 years now and I have loved every second of it. It was my first L series lens and was my only lens for a while. You just can't beat the quality at the price point. Focusing is silent and fast, build quality is great. It is a little soft wide open in the corners, but that is expected with an ultra wide lens. It can easily still be used wide open without loss of image quality. The distortion is well controlled and what remains can be corrected easily in LR. I think it has the perfect amount of distortion that can either be used as an advantage or corrected. One of the things that attracted me to the lens was the weight or how light it is. When you hike in the woods every ounce counts. Comparing it to the 16-35 it is significantly lighter. The close focusing distance has made the f/4 max aperture a non issues outdoors with depth of field. The extra stop could be helpful for wedding or indoor shooting. If you are doing outdoor shooting and want ultra wide angle this is a great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great price, great lens

By AlexOK from Oklahoma on 01/23/2014


Pros:

Sharpness, Weight, Fast Af, Quality, Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have carried this lens for little over a year now, using it mainly for real estate photography and landscapes. For this purpose, there was no need to opt for the 16-35 f/2.8, which is double the price. The lens is also great for party shots, when you need to get a big group in the picture. Although there is some distortion, thats what you get at 17mm, with any lens. Between the weight, price, build, and sharpness, this is one of the best "L" lenses that Canon makes. I would suggest this lens to anyone interested in landscape photography, or simply want a wide angle to add to their kit. In my opinion, f/4 is plenty on an ultra wide angle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lord Of Land Scapes

By Azankino from New York, NY on 11/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is sharp from front to back and is one of the sharpest in its class, its the only super wide I have used for years and still is my go to lens for the shot. The quality is well build and weather sealed. It never looked faded or used, flare is under controlled F4 is very sharp and can be used as a macro lens as well, great for portraits. You will not be disappointed with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Inexpensive Trick

By thetechhimself from San Jose, CA on 07/16/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After reading an article about what lenses to carry I noticed a pattern regarding my shooting habits and the habits of the author, I am constantly pushing the wide side of my kit lens (18-55) when I had my crop frame for those get everyone in the picture or get the whole landscape shots. Recently moved to full frame and decided I'd pick up a 17-40 and use my 50mm nifty (1.8) to cover slightly tighter but shallow DOF. Can't say I'm unhappy with the lens. Slight distortion which I noticed even with my kit lens, simply put any zoom lens will give you some distortion of images which require post processing, but no complaints outside of the ordinary like another review recently posted. Definately a must have, you need your fast prime, your wide, maybe your regular zoom, and your telephoto something. Fits the bill without as large of a bill as the 16-35 2.8 variant. Cons: No IS at F4. At F4 even with my 5DIII, it could use it in low light, I can see where the 2.8 would be nice but I can't justify the price difference for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

17-40

By Celt43 from Sydney Australia on 06/21/2013


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Very Soft At F4, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very soft at F4, only ok at 5.6, sharp at F8, F11. For the L Lens hype and the price I expected better. My 18-55 kit lens is as sharp and in some cases as at F4 sharper. The lens was replaced the same week I bought it and the second one was the same. I got the money back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not that sharp

By jim from NorCal on 05/06/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for a few years and have used it on both crop and full frame bodies. I don't think the lens is that sharp. Maybe F/8 and 11? Wider is too soft, and narrower suffers from defraction. I find that people who like this lens are generally coming from kit zooms. I came from medium format primes and had higher expectations. Other than IQ, the lens is built quite well made and no complaints there. It does tend to vignette a bit on a FF body, but generally that's fixable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A beast

By Hobare from Columbus, OH on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Wide Angled On A Full Frame, Light Weight, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is extremely fast in focusing. Beautiful colors, and super-sharp images. I use it for landscape photography and absolutely love it. It is relatively light weight and one to-go lens that I carry with me all the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By Big Rez from Hampton,VA on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great affordable L series lens. It is wide enough for a full frame or crop body. It is built like a tank and a very reliable lense @ f/4. No need for 2.8 if you use a flash or light your subject correctly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Investment

By Big Daddy Canon from Undisclosed on 10/26/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

I Don't Know

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very sharp images low price, great build quality, and super fast autofocus. definitely would recommend this to a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

extremely happy!!

By ric from huntington n.y. on 08/17/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

extremely sharp lens. light weight. easy to use. love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Lens

By Don from NE Florida on 06/23/2012


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

many of my shots utilize this fantastic lens. It is perfect for indoor gatherings and that's when I use it the most. All of the photos I have takken with it are, in my opinion, suburb.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best L Value

By ABQ.Joe from Albuquerque, NM on 12/01/2011


Pros:

Fast, Sharp, Rich Colors, Great Contrast, Lightweight

Cons:

Limited In Low Light

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the 17-40 f/4L on a 7D body for landscapes and perspective shots. The 17-40 is lightweight, fast-focusing, sharp, and has great color and contrast. The only area where the 16-35 f/2.8L wins is aperature. Bokeh isn't that much of an issue in this focal length, but you can get some decent results wide open and close up at 40mm. At half the price of a 16-35, it's hard to beat this lens. Bring a tripod along for Blue Hour, and add a slim polarizer to really knock some socks off. If you're having that 16/17 debate in your head, put your savings towards more L glass. The 17-40 can't shoot handheld in really low light, but it's lighter and artistically identical in every other way. If budget or weight aren't even a slight consideration, or if you "live" in low light, get the 16 of course.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well Worth The price

By Tc from Tampa fl on 09/03/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

A Little Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this lens and it was totally worth it. This lens produces sharp images. The lens feels sturdy and it is very well built. This lens works ok in low light conditions but if you don't have a wide angle lens definitely buy this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You Will Not Regret The 17-40L

By LIfe In Still from Toronto, Ontario - CANADA FOLKS. on 07/28/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Minimum Focus Distance, Fast Auto-focus, High Iq

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 17-40L lens is an amazing lens to own. Don't just think landscapes, portraits, action photography...this lens allows you to get right up in the mix. The contrast and colors produced by this lens are perfect. Throw on a circular polorizer or neutral density filter and you'll find yourself shooting outdoors for hours. Combined with a decent body (7D) for example, F4 should not be an issue. AF is quick, lens is light and feels nice in your hands and well weighted in comparison to the camera body. What else can I say.....oh ya it's affordable. P.S. - Take a look at the Canon 85mm 1.8 if you haven't already....it's a great kept secret!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful Landscapes

By Fort Worth Photo from Fort Worth Photo on 05/23/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens delivers great outdoor photos. Colors are magnificent and contrast very good. I shoot with a 50D, and the range is very nice. I can't comment on any the brightness in the corners when shooting wide on a full frame. This lens delivered amazing photos in Alaska. This was the first L series lens that I purchased. If shoot with a smaller sensor, try the EF-S 10-22mm. I haven't, but that range would be a nice complement to a general purpose lens. As it is, I have a lot of overlap for the money with my 24-105mm L and 28-135. With a full frame sensor, you get more extra wide angle, if that makes sense. Although it may overlap the focal range of other lenses, it is relatively small for an L zoom, which makes travel with it relatively easy. For the money, I would take the 17-40mm over the 16-35mm for landscapes. Inside photos of family gatherings, however, beg for the speedier lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Surprisingly good lens!

By Jzzman from NYC on 04/19/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this len as a back-up to the 16-35 mm 2.8 and was greatly suprised at the overly sharpness and image quality. Not as fast as the 2.8 but still a good lens for shooting group shots and 'scapes. Not disappointed with this purchase at all!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent wide angle AND it's a zoom

By Bob from Austin, TX on 04/09/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Relatively Lightweight, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Included Lens Bag Is Too Small With Hood Attached, Canon L Glass Is Too Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You'll not go wrong with this lens; it's fast, accurate and sharp throughout its range. I'm so sold on "L" glass, it's all I use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Lens!

By grandpawrichard from Burlington, WA. on 03/22/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Wonderful Tack Sharp Lens!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens in December of 2010 and I absolutely Love it! What can I say, It's a Canon L series lens! The build is substantial in weight and the Glass is Superb! This lens will take you from Ho-hum photos to SPECTACULAR Photos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite

By sy from colorado on 12/27/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Ultra-wide Angle, Sharp Images

Cons:

Built Quality?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't know about yours but my copy is very sharp! You get heavy distortion on the corner especially FF sensor cameras but that's something you expect from this type of lens. This lens usually stays on my camera. It's supposed to have dust and moisture resistant, but somehow one tiny tiny dust got into the back of the front lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

distortion at 17-20mm range

By kmggdc from St. Louis on 10/03/2010


Pros:

Good Quality Build

Cons:

Have To Avoid The Widest Angle.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for several years and use it to shoot kitchen interiors. Shots are often tight with the need for wide angle. I bought this over the 16-35mm due to the price. However kitchens are full of linear / vertical geometry and we shoot parallel and level. Unfortunately this lens has tremendous distortion along the perimeter of the shots. It is especially noticeable in our work since we are always aligning our shots with vertical lines in the room. If there is a vertical object such as a wall or cabinet edge, it will show tremendous distortion in the mid section of the shot. I has to cropped out on the final edit or corrected in software (not always possible since we use HDR photography). To compensate we shoot at 20mm; but that defeats the purpose of owning the 17mm. If I had to do it over I'd get the 16-35mm. Hopefully that does not have this issue. This lens is likely great for someone not shooting subjects with geometry, so my complaint is specific; but it is a real issue with this lens. I am dissappointed in that this carries the L designation, I don't think it is Canon's best to say the least.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Soft!!!

By Pesto from USA on 09/04/2010


Pros:

Great Focal Range

Cons:

Soft

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I owned this lens for quite a while, but rarely used it because the image quality was not acceptable. This would be a very useful focal length / range and it is too bad that it is not at all sharp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Affordable full frame wideangle

By George from Undisclosed on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's the best, afforable wide-angle for full frame. No sense to use it on APS-C as there are better alternatives. I actually liked the 10-22 on crop better than this. Nice and sharp, good saturation, some vignetting - especially at large apertures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens at a bargain price

By Melo from Undisclosed on 06/27/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is probably Canon's best value per dollar lens. Combined with the optically-sound EF-S 10-22mm the pair costs about the same as a single 16-35/2.8L. This is a great general purpose lens for both full frame and cropped sensors. It comes with a very nice hood and a lens pouch. It handles extremely well and optical quality is excellent even at f/4. Its one of the very few lenses that I can't really think of anything to criticize.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never off my 7D

By fruitytooty from Fort Collins, CO on 05/12/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great build quality. Not as wide as I was hoping for my 7D but I couldn't afford the 16-35 2.8L. This is on my camera 90% of the time. The other 10% goes to my 50mm 1.4 (another awesome lens!). If you want a wide angle that doesn't give any distortion go with this lens. I am probably going to buy the 15mm Fisheye lens as well for all my artsy-fartsy shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Capable lens

By rhc7 from Flint Hills of Kansas on 05/05/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used initially on RebelXT. lens sharpness/clarity expanded XT capabilities..Lens always on camera. Now with 40D, see true capabilities of the lense. even shot in low light with monopod/tripod...get great results. Great started "L" lense to get feet wet... Performance is at 4, wish it was f2.8...great overall lense, need to get a UV filter with threads for another filter (polarizar), can not use at current time. Yet, using 40d capable of bringing out the differnt green grass colors without photoshop...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Utility lens

By Z Man from San Diego, CA on 04/13/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Excellent Lens Hood, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great all around lens. When compared to the 24-70mm F2.8, I felt it was much more useful on a camera, a 40D to be exact, with a crop sensor. Unlike the 24-70, with the 17-40, I dont find myself trying to cramp my head into the corner of the room in order to be able to fit everyone in the photo. Extremely clear photos paired with ultra fast focusing speed makes this lens a knockout for just about any photo job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loving my first L

By Diabolical from Boulder, CO on 03/30/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the first lens I bought for my new 50D (came with 28-135) and I couldn't be happier. I thought about going with the 10-22mm so I could get really wide shots with the APS-C sensor but after only a few uses I was glad I went with this one. Image quality is wonderful and I really appreciate the build quality of the L series. Ill take the extra time to save for every lens to make sure it's and 'L'


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Solide UWA

By C Blank from California (all over) on 03/04/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Close Focus For Non Macro, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picked this lens up to be my main less for Landscape, Night Club, and Architecture. Super solid build and the USM is ultra fast in low light, only has trouble is SUPER dark times, but the AF assist beams on my 430exII takes care of that. Amazingly well on flaring. The only time I've seen it is shooting almost directly into the sun and there was a TINY bit of it. For people who don't NEED the f2.8 (anything I would need a f2.8 on I have my flash) this would be the lens to get. The only reason I would see to get the f2.8 would be if your regularly shot places you can't use flash...since if you are doing landscape you are going to close up the aperture anyways, and at this focal range you can take care of anything with flash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb L Lens Performer

By Bobby from Undisclosed on 02/23/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you need to pair up your Canon 50d or any of the EOS Mark series this lens along with the L Lens line is superb. I have nothing bad to say about this lens at all. I hope in the future that all L Lenses will have Image Stability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Landscape Photography

By Turbokuni from Anaheim Hills, CA on 01/23/2010


Pros:

Great Wide-angle, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Shot some family portraits and the images are tack-sharp. Of course, you can't go wrong with all the L lens from Canon. Just wish I had more money to spend on a faster wide-angle lense. The great thing about this lens is that it's lighter than the other wide angle lenses I own. Also, I found out to make it dust-proof, you have to purchase a filter to protect the lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First L lens

By dan from Southeastern United States on 01/20/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens thinking I was entering a new class of quality. The build quality of the lens was great, as was the auto-focus. The problem is that at 40mm the corner sharpness is so bad I don't even want to use the lens at that focal length. I took a shot of fall color on the far side of a canyon at infinity focus. The trees in the center looked like trees, the trees in the corners looked like smeared blobs of color, sort of like a watercolor painting. This was at an aperture of f8. My camera is a digital full frame model, so I could go with a smaller format camera to crop out the corners, or sell the lens at a loss. I am now reluctant to purchase another L lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!Love IT!!!!!

By Roman L from Brooklyn NY on 01/03/2010


Pros:

Only 500g., Dust And Water Resistant!, Fast Auto-focus, Durable And Compact!!!, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Lens perfectly Sharp images,fast focusing and nice colors!!!! Extremely sharp!!!! Weight is only half Kg. and well protected from dust and water, metal construction gives you more durability!!! Great wide and lens!!!! For me works better than 16-35mm for sure 17-40 gives you much sharper images!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb Glass

By ronin from Seattle on 11/07/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Excellent Value, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is an all-around excellent value. The only drawback is that I cannot give it a 100% rating on sharpness, as it falls off slightly at higher f-stops. However, with a little work one can still get incredible shots that are sharp enough for professional results. Having said that, I'd definitely rate sharpness at 95% or higher. When I purchased this lens, I was concerned about vignetting, as I heard others report issues with this lens at 17mm. I'm happy to report that I have not had this problem with APS-C sensors. It may have issues on full-frame sensors, but it would not be very much. The lens is a winner in all other categories: Color is superb; its USM motor is quick and quiet; the build quality is nothing less than what one would expect from Canon "L" glass; and the price is very good compared to the overall performance of the lens. When it comes to wide-angle shooting in a variety of conditions, I found that this lens works brilliantly on my 1D. It'll be in my kit bag for a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An outstanding value

By jw from Montana on 10/11/2009


Pros:

Compact And Light., Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this lens for about 2 years now and am extremely happy with the results. CAs are a bit of an issue in strongly backlit areas (trees against light skies), but nothing software can't easliy fix. I use it mostly for scenics and even at apertures around f-16, where sharpness in many lenses starts to fall, it is still critically sharp. Also nice is the light weight and tough, L build. My only gripe is the big hood, but it's not such a big deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

affordable quality

By jphoto from houston tx on 09/23/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've recently purchased this lens to add to my 24-105L lens. From everthing I've seen so far, Its a wonderful lens. Very sharp images and quick focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Execllent Value

By Bob from Austin, TX on 08/18/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens on a 5D MK II. This lens is an excellent value. It is not as sharp as my 70-200 f/4 L-series, but then nothing is. It is sharp, especially after processing with DXO, and the build quality is excellent. AF is smooth, quiet and accurate, especially if you micro-correct it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for the Amateurs

By Mike from Rockville, MD from Rockville, Maryland on 08/04/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

By no means am I an expert at photography although I love to take photos. I've always dreamed about owning a super high quality camera and lens kit. Last year I took the plunge. I purchased a Canon 5D (well discounted after the Mark II release), Canon 70-300MM IS USM lens, Canon 28-138MM IS USM and the Canon 17-40MM USM I'm writing this review on. I read many of the reviews users have posted and from an amateurs perspective this lens is fantastic. It works very well with my 5D producing very high quality photos both indoors and out. I use it all the time for indoor shooting with my 5D and an attached Canon 580 Flash. The results are terrific. Outside the photos are crisp although, and I apologize I don't know the right term, the edges seem to compress in. It doesn't bother me one bit since overall the photos are gorgeous. I know what I purchased is more than what the average person would invest in but I wanted a fantastic kit that I could use for years to come. The 17-40MM lens has worked perfectly from the heat of the beach to the glaciers of Alaska. I really love this lens and would highly recommend it. Thanks for reading...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW!!!

By Nature's Lens from South Bend, IN on 07/24/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For a while I was debating which wide angle zoom to purchase the 16-35mm or the 17-40mm. Since I would be shooting mostly landscapes with this lens at f/8-11, I opted with the cheaper of the two - the 17-40mm. The images are TACK SHARP! Paired with a 5D2 and this lens produces wonderful landscape images and if paired with a 40D this lens produces high quality portrait shots as well! It is a very versatile lens and I would recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing Image Quality

By JamesG from Northeastern Ohio on 07/15/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been quite disappointed in the quality of images produced by the 17-40mm L USM lens. With the L designation, wide-angle optics, and the lofty price, I'd expected tack-sharp image quality. Instead I receive fair to poor results whether focused manually or automatically and over the full range of zoom focal length. Making matters worse, I cannot locate ANY reference to Canon Warranty support on this Web site. Now both disappointed and angry.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1.6 body ideal wide angle lens!

By Kull from Aurora, IL on 06/01/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love this lens! This is one lens that you get the traditional "L" color quality and perfect for your 1.6 body frame! It gives you a WIDE 24mm shot on a crop frame body! I was debating between this lens, the 16-35 f/2.8L, and the 17-55IS. I am glad I had made this choice and save some major bucks! I also pair this lens with my prime 50mm f/1.4 and my 70-200mm f/4L lens which sums up an excellent trio! I Strongly recommend this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for indoor/night shots

By Lucy from california and Virginia on 05/19/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens for low light conditions when you can not use flash. I have used it for numerous photo stories and it has worked in many lighting conditions great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

color is key!

By J from Bellingham on 04/21/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the 17-40 is arguably one of the best zooms you can buy as a canon user. yes, the 16-35 is 2.8, but it's also a grand more expensive. not quite sure if that's worth it to me yet. my favorite parts about this lens are the sharpness (especially above 5.6!) and the eyepopping color/contrast mix. i shoot with a 40D, and the 1.6x crop turns the wide end of 17mm into about a 24mm, which is surprisingly wider than i thought it would be. pllllllenty wide for all sorts of uses. built like a tank! remember to get a slim UV filter though, or you might run into some more vignetting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens... But...

By DUSCRAFT from Southern Region of Texas on 03/05/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Great Color, Light Weight

Cons:

Strong Stretched Vignette, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Okay, I gave this lens a 5 Overall Rating and yet I say "But..." in my title... Hear me out... This is a great lens if you are going by sharp images at a tighter zoom and for color capture. I've used this lens for a few of my newer shoots and have been very happy with the results. The only problems with this lens is the strong vignette that occurs around the outer edges of the image and jumpy autofocus. The vignette is really only a problem when the lens is at widest. There is not a lot of light fall off accompanied by the strong vignette. This is a great thing. The only downside is the stretched appearance of the photos edges. I don't feel that the auto focus is as superior as some of the other L lenses in the lineup. But apart from these two minor glitches I would have to say that this lens is a great buy for the dollar. I'm very happy with it and have captured some beautiful images with it. I would recommend this lens to anyone who is doing wide landscapes as well as fashion (if you keep to the 40mm side of the zoom). Great stuff as usual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

color beauty

By Jake from Undisclosed on 03/04/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. It captures the most amazing colors in my images. I do not even have to use photoshop to increase saturation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good bargain for asked ...

By Andante from Mountain View, CA on 02/16/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Vignetting Wide Open

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good bargain for asked price. Fits to landscape photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Value for money; but know its limitations

By CRex from New York, NY on 01/21/2009


Pros:

Built Like A Tank, Affordable

Cons:

Second-rate Af, Very Serious Vignetting

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens in my gear bag and used it extensively in the past two years. I'm generally happy with its performance vis-a-vis price paid, but buyers should be aware of what this lens is and isn't. This lens does offer solid, L-caliber optical quality. Like most "red-ring" lenses this is built like a tank and performed in snow and desert alike. On the minus side, the aperture is a bit slow and so is the AF compared to other benchmark L lenses such as the 24-70 or the 70-200/2.8. The biggest problem for me is the serious vignetting towards the 17mm range on full-frame cameras (with or without the supplied hood). Which kind of defeats the purpose of having a wide-angle lens. I'm ditching this for the 16-35. Net-net, this is a good piece of glass for the price paid but I wouldn't get this if you're serious about image quality and plan to use the short end of the zoom range a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The perfect field lens

By apachecraig from washington state on 01/09/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens in May 2008 to replace my prime lens the 28mm 2,8 & 50mm 1.8 lens range. Although it is stop slower then my 28mm version- the sharpness,weight and quality of this lens is fantastic for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Way better value than I purchased

By doug from MN on 01/08/2009


Pros:

77mm Filters, Light Weight Great Coverage On 1.6 Crop Body

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a wide to cover group shots my 24-70mm f/2.8L could not get on a crop body. I didn't want/need to get into thousands for the 16-35 f/2.8L II. Well as my luck runs, my 24-70 suddenly lost its sharpness and I had my 17-40mm f/4.0L with me as a back up and it performed flawlessly. Crisp, great color, and light weight to boot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Maybe the perfect lens?

By The Flying Scotsman from Lake Norman, North Carolina on 12/11/2008


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Huge "waffle" Lens Hood Really Attracts Attention

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Canon EF 17-40mm f/4 "L" lens and the 50D body: WOW!!! With the 1.6 crop factor, this becomes a ~28-65mm "walk-around" lens. Is *that* simply perfect for shooting HUGE 15.1MP RAW files in a big city or what? The Canon EF 17-40mm f/4 "L" is better than anything else in photography in a similar zoom range. Period. Sure, I wish it was a fixed 2.8 or something but that's all irrrelevent since it's an "L". Shot wide open, the color, contrast and overall fidelity will astound anyone. Drop a stop or two and the images will simply take your breath away!!! Built like a tank and not overly heavy - it *does* balance better with non-Rebel dSLR bodies however - and it's simply the dawn of a new day every time I shoot with it. Make no mistake: You really *DO* get what you pay for. Ths **IS** a professional-quality optic in every respect. Impossible to over-rate this lens and recommend it beyond ANY questions whatsoever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great ZWA Lens!

By Theo from S.E. La. on 11/27/2008


Pros:

Wonderful Balance On The 30d, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Excellent Color Rendetion, Very Pleasing And Fine Bokeh

Cons:

Not Is

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As my first "L" glass purchase, I was extremely pleased at the large step-up the 17-40f/4 L provided over the kit lens (on original D-Rebel). Sharpness, Color, Clarity and Bokeh far exceeded it in performance, and of course, Quality! I find the f/4 to be very fast and for me, it was well worth the additional cost!! Complimenting this, my walk around is the 24-105 f/4 L IS and on the long end, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS... what a Great Trio set for the investment. I've researched long and hard and haven't found any to be better. Great job, Canon!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't miss

By Linebore from New Hampshire, USA on 11/11/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Colors Are Brilliant, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

The Lens Shade Could Use Improvement

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens now for a few months and have shot a few thousand images on a 40D. Most of my photos are of work related industrial machinery shot a close range indoors with a flash. However the real capability of this lens was apparent when I was shooting some fall foliage colors in the Northeastern USA. Colors were vivid and the images sharp, saving time in post processing. I have it paired with a 24-105 f4L and find that this pair is perfect for all of my close to medium range work. The build quality is superb


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent quality / Value

By BPS from Fishers, IN on 10/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I could not be more satisfied with this lens. I have used it on countless photo shoots, mostly landscape and outdoor shots. The weather has been poor on several occasions, both rain and snow, with no failure in the weather sealing. Excellent quality and well worth the cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved