Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 9321A002 » 15 Reviews

Canon Cameras 9321a002 Ef70-300mm F4.5 -5.6 Do Is Us Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Auto-focus (5), Super-sharp Images (3), Superior Build Quality (4)

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Not happy

By Ggforce from Undisclosed on 04/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Maybe it was my mistake but I had high expectations on this lens. I had the opportunity of taking the EF 400 F4 DO IS on a couple of air shows. The Diffractive Lens technology works great on this lens but its not the same with the 70-300. It is a light wight lens and that makes it nice for traveling and not being very flashy as the big white L's. But unfortunately it is not a very sharp lens. Not hapy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost good enough

By howiez from Wading River, NY on 03/27/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I really wanted to love this lens - small form factor, cool diffractive optics tech, and decent IS - but in the end the image quality just wasn't there. Sharpness and contrast on the long end of the range was routinely disappointing on my 7D. I have high hopes for the 70-300 L IS USM I just purchased to replace the DO lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as sharp as expected

By Pf456 from Indiana on 02/03/2013


Pros:

Versatility

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This makes a good travel lens. It is versatile, relatively low weight and not too flashy. If you are looking for a sharp tele-zoom this is not the lens you need.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small but hazy

By kmcmurtrie from Undisclosed on 06/18/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Small

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you really need a small and lightweight lens, this is probably the best one you'll find. The rapid focus, small size, and solid IS is nothing short of amazing. I've successfully taken some pictures handheld at night and bumping around in crowds. On the downside, the images are hazy. A large diameter unsharp-mask and black level adjustment are needed in post processing, which about doubles the noise level. Closing the aperture too much while zoomed in causes the front fresnel lens to appear in the photo. After a few years of light use, I've accumulated quite a bit of dust inside the lens. The internal electronics also needed to be replaced out of warranty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice travel Tele but lacks sharpness

By pabs from Undisclosed on 04/19/2012


Pros:

Lock Button, Relatively Light

Cons:

Not A Very Sharp Lens

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens a couple of years ago and have used it significantly while traveling. It is a nice lens, relatively light for the range and convenient in size. Pictures lack the sharpness that i was expecting from an expensive lens. in my case I don't think the convenience in size compensates for the average quality of the images in the far end of the range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Non Better

By Napoleon from Niagara Falls, NY on 02/16/2012


Pros:

Quick Focus, Focal Length Range, Image Stablilization, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens for over 3 years and I have found that the Canon 70-300mm DO IS lens to be real work horse in photographing historical and battle reenactments and on my travels. I can use the short end to set up the scene and the 300mm for close in and detail pictures. I bought this lens as a step up from the 100-300mm USM and have been extremely pleased with the results. This lens is sharp, the build quality and light weight of the lens holds up well when running around the battlefield, it encompasses the needed focal lengths and it is reliable! It might not be an L series lens but I wouldnt replace it for anything. Keeping in mind the demands of the consumer, product quality, price point and intended use, Canon has done an excellent job with this lens. I have owned and used Canon cameras and lenses for over 40 years. I am one of those old fashion photographers that still uses film, I even use my old Canon AT-1 with the 28-85mm FD lens, so I dont just rattle off a dozen pictures without thinking. Would I recommend the Canon 70-300mm DO IS lens to anybody, you can bet on it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Spy Lens

By Spy Lens Lover from Portland, OR on 02/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is for someone who... ...doesn't need L quality ...can afford up to $1000 ...wants a small lens for travel and/or candids . My wife and I call this the spy lens. We do a lot of traveling, and only take carry-ons so size does matter. More importantly (as others have said), people get uncomfortable when you point a huge lens at them. I get great candids with both this and my 85mm 1.8 without subjects realizing they're being shot. I've actually had people get out of my way because they thought I was shooting a building or statue behind them. The IS is also great when the light fades. . I have also shot auto races with this lens. The USM is fast and steady. It keeps up with the 6 fps of my 50D nicely. . I have limited experience with other Canon zooms. This seems slightly better than the other 70-300, same or better IQ and a bit faster USM. It isn't as sharp as the 70-200 2.8 L, however. . The MSRP is too high for a non-L lens. I bought it used for just under $900. If you can get it for under $1000, it's worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Waste Your Money

By PJDsr from Dallas TX on 10/03/2011


Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Never could get a decent photo out of this lens, photos always slightly out of focus, couldn't handle high light conditions at all. NOT the all around lens I expected. Replaced it with the 38-300 L lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great travel lens!

By BillWSW from Cape Cod, MA on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Image Stabilzation, Fast Auto-focus, Small For Ease Of Travel

Cons:

Cannot Add An Tele Extender

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens on a trip to South Africa and the quality of shots I got were amazing especially the numerous birds using 250mm to 300mm tele range settings. The big five and other animal shots that this lens helped me get just made my trip. The cost of this lens really gives you a bang for your buck. The only con I have for this lens is that you cannot add a tele extender.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite lens

By Big Bad John from Phoenix, Az on 12/28/2010


Pros:

Easy To Carry, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for three years and have photographed with it in India, Africa, and Europe. I wouldn't travel without it. It is light and easy to carry and the pictures are sharp and clear. This is a must have for traveling.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Lens But Not The Sharpest

By FotoFreak from Honolulu, Hawaii on 01/26/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Great Portability For Such Focal Lengths

Cons:

Could Be Sharper.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great if you don't want everybody to know you're shooting them. The pics come out pretty sharp but not the sharpest I've seen. No doubt this lens flares I guess because of all the optics that Canon had to use to keep the size down. The lens balances nicely on the camera body. The range is nice (70-300mm but because of the factor of 1.6 you actually get 112-480mm) and can zoom in from amazing distances. I use it to shoot action sports, people at the beach, scenery, sunsets and sunrises. I have had some great results and I am very happy with the portability of this lens (very short although the focal length is long.) Great for all round shooting while just wandering the earth. Combined with a say a 15-85mm (crop factor being 24-136mm) lens it's all you need to cover the entire shooting range. Only one extra lens to carry around what a concept ! This would be my combination for a trip around the world !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great portrait and wedding lens

By jwk305 from Portland, Or on 10/15/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Images Sharp Enough Inconspicous, Excellent Range For 40-50d, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fjor shooting face shots at weddings or other interiors, this is without peer. Fills the frame , works v. well with flash, iso at 1000-1500. Clients love output. Have had/traded several of these, sharpness varies, good to very good, sharpen in post-production. On the other hand, comparable to old canon 135 soft focus if lose focus. Have read other comments, have 70-200 f4 is, v. sharp lens but lacks reach and is conspicuous. Sim, have 100-400 is, great birding lens, but way to heavy and conspicuous for weddings and indoor photos, and it's not that sharp really, is it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Compact

By Randy from Riverside ca on 09/06/2009


Pros:

Image Stabilization, Light, Compact, Zoom Lock

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a short and relatively light-weight lens that went out to 300mm. It had to fit in my regular camera bag. This lens was perfect. Originally purchased for a Rebel XT it worked great. Since then I've purchased a 5D mkII and, quite frankly, I'm going to let my wife keep this lens with the XT she inherited as the image isn't as sharp as my "L" series lenses and the lense is a bit sloe for concert photography. Saving my pennies for a 100-400mm or maybe even the 400 f4 prime. Nevetheless, this is a very goods lens on a 1.6x sensor. If you need compactness and light weight with a far reach on a 1.6, this is the way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small yet sharp and practical

By pro photographer from Bristol, NH on 06/02/2009


Pros:

The Size And Weight, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this for newspaper concert coverage in very low light situations and for freelance work for winter sports and it has performed well even at 20 below zero. The size of the lense is an added plus while photographing concerts in varying light conditions. Not as sharp as fixed lenses, but for newspaper coverage and sports photography the quality of the images is excellent. A very useful lense. The autofocus has performed well for alpine ski racing in very harsh conditions. I have used a tripod with a 2 second delay for low light concert photography with very good results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A fantastic, versatile lens.

By Bob from Frederick, MD on 05/02/2009


Pros:

Easily Deployable For A Long Lens, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There are two kinds of wildlife photography - setting up with a long lens on a tripod and waiting and those shots where you have to move and shoot quickly before the subject disappears. This lens is absolutely perfect for the second kind where you have to be ready to react and shoot in an instant. The sharpness is very good; color rendition excellent; and the size makes it virtually instantly deployable. Combined with an SLR with the smaller sensor ( a 1.6x effective focal length boost), you can have, in effect, up to a 480mm magnification. Yet, because of the IS, it is very steady and camera motion is quite effectively dampened. Its only two slight drawbacks are that the IS is somewhat noisy and that the lens barrel is slightly loose...even after I sent it back to Canon for adjustment. It does not seem to affect the crispness or clarity of the shots, however. This is one lens I would not be without.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved