Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 9339B001 » 23 Reviews

Canon Powershot Sx700 Hs 16.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Red - 3" Lcd - 30x Optical Zoom - Optical [is] - 4608 X 3456 Image - 1920 X 1080 Video - Hdmi - Pictbridge - Hd Movie Mode (9339b001) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 23 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Excellent Image Quality (3), Durable (4), Lightweight/portable (3), Bright Lcd (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Broke on second day in Italy

By WDM from Undisclosed on 09/24/2015

I purchased this camera to take pictures on our trip to Italy for our 25th wedding anniversary. The leaves that make up the lens cover broke and would not clear from in front of the lens. I own Canon Professional photo and video gear. Very disappointed in the quality of this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice camera

By Ron from Hartford, WI on 06/11/2015

Camera has a lot of great features the 30X optical zoom really pulls in distance views to take a close picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera that is easy to use

By 2010AN from Newhall, CA on 05/05/2015

The Canon SX700 HS is easy to use, easy to hold, and easy to store in your pocket. The camera takes all kinds of pictures, from close ups, to landscapes including ocean views, mountains, sunsets and sunrises, blue and cloudy skies, trees, plants and flowers, in museums, in low light, at night, and in your house. The camera takes videos and a slide show of similar pictures. The price is more than reasonable and you are amazed each day at the quality of the pictures and how many features are offered by the camera. It is the best camera that I have ever bought.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Had to return it

By 3rdCanonCamera from Texas on 05/03/2015

After spending hours reading reviews of cameras for an upcoming trip to Alaska, I decided on the Canon PowerShot SX700 HS. Couldn't wait to get it home. Since this was my 3rd Canon camera, I was familiar with most of the features and began putting it through its paces. I ended up with unfocused, off-color, and poorly illuminated photos, concluding it must be user error. Another read through the manual and hundreds more photos made me realize that the camera was the problem. I exchanged it for a PowerShot SX520 HS, which I had also reviewed, but thought it would be too heavy to carry around on vacation. 30-40 photos into it, I can already tell it's a keeper. VERY pleased. Mount McKinley, here I come!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera - great optical zoom

By ebporte from MD on 04/27/2015

I took this camera on a trip to Europe and used it to make HD videos and high resolution still shots. The SX700 HS Power Shot has a great optical zoom with better than expected stabilization taking pictures with the 30x zoom. As a senior citizen, my hands do shake a little, but the camera is almost always able to take pictures and videos that are in focus and very sharp when using it outside during the day. I suggest purchasing a spare battery because this camera has powerful processing circuits and you do not want the battery to be discharged when you still would like to take more pictures. It is great to have a camera that can fit in my pocket and still take outstanding pictures. I would not hesitate to recommend this camera to a friend or to family members. The 1080P picture quality is great when playing videos I recorded with the SX 700 HS on my 1080P HDTV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Daylight use only

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/27/2015

while this camera delivers overall good performance in bright daylight, it is absolutely horrible indoors. Video shut at 60fps is awful (indoors), all you get is color noise and details levels are almost non-existent. Battery life is bad, I would avoid it for these reasons only.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice compact

By Leo the lion from Undisclosed on 04/17/2015

Haven't used it much but the pictures so far are great. The zoom on this camera works really well. No regrets on this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pro Results withouth Paying the Price

By Hillclimber from Edwards Plateau of SW Texas on 04/03/2015

After two weeks and one three-day intense backcountry photo session, the SX700 has me completely sold! Low light, blinding bright light, distance shots, and macros, all came out looking so clean and clear that I did little to no editing. It's been mentioned in other reviews that the battery pack doesn't hold a charge. I had two batteries with me: the Canon with 1060mAh.2.4 /wh, and a DigiPower 650mAh/2.4 Wh. The numbers tell the story. The Canon battery lasted longer because it has more goodies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powershot SX700HS review

By Amatuer guy from Chicago on 03/30/2015

Have had this camera for a while now and enjoy using it in many instances where carrying a full size SLR is not possible. Overall images and usage is fairly intuitive as well as surprisingly good battery life. Noticed in some reviews that people were complaining about bad battery life, no instructions, or instability with long zoom. Utilized the camera at times to cover all instances where they had issues, without seeing any of what they see. There are slight variations from previous versions of the camera, however operation typically follows Canons formula for use. One persons comments about not being told that you need a tripod to take pictures zoomed out to 30X is quite amusing. I liken this to buying a 20X binocular set and expecting to see anything clearly while holding them freestanding. There is no amount of IS (to date) that can stabilize your "hand shake" with that amount of geometric distance fluctuation. Tripod and maybe even remote shutter would be required. Is this overkill for this type of camera, possibly? Have used this camera just last week on a trip to a tropical destination with the family, with wife and kids all taking shots all throughout the day. For a "point and shoot" style camera this has some very good low light capabilities. Of course this does not compare to what I can do with my larger SLR and very expensive and quick lenses. Overall a good camera. Waiting for the next big step in this style camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed blurry pics.

By photo from South America on 03/02/2015

I was so excited to get my cannon sx700 for zoom pictures in the Patanal in South America for all the wildlife, but i was so so sad to find out that with the great zoom capability comes a lot of error. I could zoom in on things, but it is impossible to stay still for the shot, hence blurry images. I am sure if I had a tripod on dryland it would have been a different story, but that never came up when I spoke to the salemen. Maybe I am doing something wrong that doesnt allow me to focus, but I had a near professional try it and he too had the same problem. Any help here? I do absolutely love the bluetooth transfer of images,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By hickman from New York, NY on 01/30/2015

I bought a Power Shot SX700 HS camera and the camera takes great pictures. I had a problem downloading the photo editing software online because the downloads were in a different file format than what my computer could handle, but I had those problems corrected. I called Customer Service several times to download the software but was unable to do so. The Customer Service representatives were extremely polite and helpful but I was unable to get the software. I was told that CANON used to offer the software on a CD, but it was decided not to do so anymore. That is my only complaint.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have owned Canon ...

By quiltsilk from KY on 01/26/2015

I have owned Canon Powershots in the past and was a little doubtful about this slightly larger size, but it has turned out to be a great camera to keep in my pocket for quick use. It has quick response and super picture quality. I love the Zoooooom!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best camera ever!

By Lizzie from Mpls., MN on 01/16/2015

I love this camera and the pictures are amazingly clear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By Bud from Shelton, Wa. on 01/16/2015

Great camera. Indoors wide range of focus, good color,everything just like being there!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good camera so far

By Ed from Lakewood, CO on 01/16/2015

I bought the SX 700 HS to replace my six year old Powershot SX 110 that developed a problem that Canon told me can't be fixed. The new camera is fine so far, but I just hope it lasts better than my SX 110.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Gift

By newpic from Madison, WI on 01/16/2015

My boys got me my camera for Christmas. I wasn't expecting such an expensive gift. The next day I went to Texas to visit my daughter and used my new camera to take pictures.. I felt like a real photographer taking pictures. I then got the pictures developed, such beautiful pics from the camera. Still getting use to the zoom, but is such a wonderful camera. I couldn't have asked for a better gift. I would recommend the PowerShot S700 HS camera to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has Pros and Cons of Camera

By Rabbit from Mt. Shasta, CA on 01/14/2015

I purchased this Canon SX700 to replace my Canon A650 12 MP to achieve better quality pictures and video clips. The Canon SX 700 does all that, except the battery life is terrible. I am an avid hiker in the backcountry weeks at a time and can not rely on 2 batteries to get me through a week or two. So if you are looking for a camera that takes good quality pictures and not worried about battery life....this camera is for you. The 30X zoom is a plus. Camera manufacturers should make a battery life a concern instead of trying to make cameras so compact.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon SX700HS

By Jim from Cincinnati, OH on 01/09/2015

The Canon SX700HS is a lot of camera for not a lot of money. This camera is a Christmas gift for my wife. She loves it, and is getting really good photographs right away. It helps too that the camera offers 1080p/60 video as well. Really neat camera in a small and convenient package!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Satisfied

By galxe from Fort Collins, CO on 09/21/2014

I bought this camera a few months ago before taking a trip to Ireland. I wanted something that was as easy to use as a point and shoot but that would take comparable quality photos to a DSLR and I've been very happy with this camera. It was also easy to hand to other people to have them take my photo and have it not come out blurry or anything. It has a great zoom. The compact size is nice since I use my camera a lot on hikes and while traveling. I haven't used the flash much or taken many night photos so I can't comment on that. I was not able to set up the wifi feature on my computer because you need to have Windows 7 or later, which I don't. But I was able to get it to work with my iphone and it worked reasonably well. I did find that the wifi connection had to be pretty good or it would not connect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera.love it

By jedicas from florida on 08/31/2014


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great product for the money. bought it to replace another canon I had for many years..it finally bit the dust literally on a cave exploration vacation this past summer.Very happy so far with my new 700hd. beautiful photo quality.nice compact size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Up close and blurry

By Lazmo from Undisclosed on 07/14/2014


Pros:

Durable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Poor Low-light Performance, Poor Image Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've always owned Canon cameras, so I thought I'd upgrade to the SX700 HS.....boy was I disappointed! The picture quality in many circumstances was less than desirable, as were the pictures when cropped. I had none of these problems with my Canon PowerShot SD890 IS, which was only 10 mega pixels and 5x zoom. The 30x zoom is impressive and although I take distant shots on occasion, still leaves the camera a far cry from a quality point and shoot camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very poor manual

By Russell from Watertown, ma on 07/04/2014


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Missing Features/settings, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased this camera and it is very frustrating to figure out how to use it with a very vague 63 page manual. After one day of using the camera I do not know how to use the flash at night. I went to this site to find a more detailed manual and could not find one. This camera has many bells and whistles, but I don't know how to use them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Software issues

By Nana from PA on 06/19/2014


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is easy to use, however the wifi connections are difficult to connect and the FB capability is not able to connect. If you want a point and shoot camera it is great. The quality of the photos are wonderful but don't expect speed when transferring photos from camera to computer or other device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved