Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 9341B001 » 26 Reviews

Canon Powershot Sx600 Hs 16 Megapixel Compact Camera - White - 3" Lcd - 18x Optical Zoom - Optical [is] - 4608 X 3456 Image - 1920 X 1080 Video - Hdmi - Pictbridge - Hd Movie Mode (9341b001) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 26 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

HUH?

By radrad from Undisclosed on 07/26/2015

Bought camera. Works OK. Plugged into computer and it works OK too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best P&S ever!

By KASPhoto from Chicago, Il on 07/02/2015

I have gone through several point and shoots over the last 8 years and this one optically is one the best I have had to date. Overall picture taking is Very Good to Excellent. Would I consider getting another one? Yes I would consider getting a second one as a backup. The auto-focus is also very good for this type of camera. I like the feel of the camera, and really like using the camera compared to the other P&S.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My workarounds

By NWgeek from The Great Northwest on 06/17/2015

I purchased this camera 2 days ago after having my 2-year-old Canon stolen. This is an updated version of that camera. Rating is thus based on my iniitial experiencel. In answer to some of the common complaints I've just read, and using Windows computers: Documentation: On the Canon website, you can get and download a very complete "Camera User Guide," a 163-page pdf file. It is pretty well written and so far has answers to most of my questions. It is designed to be used interactively from a laptop or PC, with hotlinks from its Tables of Contents, Index and chapter tabs, and hotlinks to internal page cross-references, with a rudimentary "go-back' feature. That's all good. But I like to work from a printed document for times when my laptop isn't handy, and that was not easy. I wanted to print most pages black & white, color only where needed, front and back, with a binding edge. The pdf file is password protected, so I could not edit the file directly. I wound up using screen shots of alternate pages and Adobe Photoshop to shift them for printing, a very tedious process. So far I am only to page 50. For downloading pictures, with my old Canon I tried using the provided software, but finally went back to the simple alternative - Take the memory card out of the camera and insert it in the card slot available on many laptops or desktops. If your computer has no card reader, you can buy one with a USB connection at most computer stores. Once the card is inserted, use Windows Explorer to quickly copy (drag & drop groups of files) from your card to a Picture folder on your computer, You can then put the card back into the camera and edit the copies of the pictures on your computer. Do NOT try to edit the pictures directly on the card - that may make the card unusable in the camera. When the card fills up and you have all your pictures backed up on your computer, you can use Windows Explorer to erase the older pictures from the card while it is attached to the computer. Leave a few of the latest ones to preserve the numbering. This all saves battery life on the camera. In the User Guide document, I did not find how to start picture numbering from an arbitrary number (like just beyond the number of my last picture from the old camera). One way that worked was to take a couple of pictures using the new camera on a new card, Then with the card in the computer, use Windows Explorer to rename those picture files using the sequence numbers you want. Subsequent pictures seem to follow that new sequence, as desired...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Honestly this is a great camera.

By Data Gill from Pearl Harbor, Hawaii on 05/18/2015

I love taking pictures and for the price and extras like Wi-fi to allow remote shooting as well as much more. Another well done job by Canon. I miss my TX-1 but this makes up for it with being able to allow remote shooting and much more. The quality of the pictures are awesome and I love taking advantage of the Hawaii's beautiful scenery to capture great pictures and great distance that your smart phone can't provide and costs more than this camera. The choice is yours and I made a good one. Keep up the good work Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am an amateur and the ...

By Anonymous from West Lebanon, NH on 05/11/2015

I am an amateur and the camera is performing very well. Yvon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrid Software

By Ernie Ernie from Minnesota on 05/07/2015

I will be courteous and not swear. I would love to us old time Navy Language to tell everyone what I think of their software but I will be polite. First, camera hooked up after some work to my desk top and I was able to transfer pictures, albeit slow as molases but it did work.] Then my hard drive crashed and had it replaced and had to re register, reload the software and for the life of me I cannot under any circumstance get the camera to connect via wifi using any method they offered. Then the camera breaks and I send it in and they replace it. Great. Now after an hour and a half this camera will not connect and I had to take the battery out to stop it from trying because none, nada zip of any button on the camera worked. It froze in trying. I would absolutely NOT BUY this or any canon product. I have there printer it works great but no thanks to thier software or directions, I figured it out myself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

terrible computer upload

By coachk from Tucson, AZ on 04/24/2015

I love the new Powershot SX 600 for taking pictures, but I am completely aggravated by the complicated, nearly impossible and confusing instructions and process for uploading my photos to my computer. Whatever happened to the KISS formula? With my previous Canon (which I lost) I received a CD which contained the software, installed it, and never had a problem. I would never recommend this camera to the average point and shoot photographer or casual photo taker.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Barb from Milwaukee, WI on 03/21/2015

I have had a series of Canon cameras, and have never been disappointed. I had a similar but larger Powershot,but unfortunately scratched the lens. This new camera is smaller, lighter, but has a better zoom and takes pictures that are just as terrific! I recommend getting a second battery, so that when yours goes out while you are at a parade, etc., you have it handy. The low battery light does not give you a lot of advance warning. A monopod or tripod is also useful when using the zoom feature, although I have used railings or walls for stability with success.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Camera

By Peach from Sanibel Island, Florida on 03/13/2015

We have used Cannon cameras for years. We were planning a trip to Florida and wanted a camera we could stick in our pocket while walking on the beach. We have been thrilled with the pictures!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera!

By Maple from NY on 03/12/2015

I love this camera especially WiFi feature! It's very easy to connect to my phone. I often take picture with this camera , right after that connect to the phone and upload to Facebook. It's fun !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon Software

By Treeman from Milwaukee, WI on 03/12/2015

I am not sure I will buy a Canon camera again. The software to link ot my computer and the iMAGE GATEWAY software is so poorly written it is not practical to use. I have spent hours trying to share an album.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my camera

By LilBit from Denver, Co on 03/07/2015

Love this little camera. I find it easy to use & love that it's wifi.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Capabilities too hard to use

By Disappointed from Undisclosed on 03/06/2015

Photos are OK, night time photos poor... but the worst part is that the claimed WiFi and communication capabilities are not well implemented and confusing. The camera will NOT connect directly to my Win8.1 PC and is way too slow sending pics via Canon's gageway (not to mention total loss of privacy). I am back to using a USB cable to move pics.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Purchased for WiFi capability, disappointed

By Patbult2 from Indiana on 03/01/2015

I purchased this for the WiFi capibility and especially for when we travel. I thought it would be better to take pics with a camera versus my phone and have them transfer to my IPad. It worked great at home, but when we traveled and I connected my iPad to the local WiFi and tried to hook up the camera and it looked like it did connect, but the transfer wouldn't work. Thankfully I had taken the adaptor for the IPad and was able to transfer the pics via the adaptor. The camera takes good pics, but I had a good one and specifically purchased this one for the wifi.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New comments

By Duesy from California on 02/26/2015

The reason for this is to explain my situation., not criticize. I've owned some digital cameras prior to just buying this one and they came for the most part complete ie, camera, battery, charger, owners manual and a CD disc to, program the computer so that photos can be transferred from a Scan Disc to a photo library. This camera has the charger, wrist strap and a very basic type manual. After reading I'm at a loss on how to set this camera up so I can when used transfer photos to storage in my computer. At age 80 I'm a bit confused, my other camera cost far less but came complete compared to tis one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this camera!

By Julie San Diego from San Diego, CA on 02/20/2015

I loved my previous Canon pocket camera PowerShot SD 1400, but it only has a 4X zoom. I wanted something more robust, and this camera is great. Pictures downloaded to my computer can be enlarged with great resolution. The screen is bright, and not difficult to use in bright light. Even macro shots are working well for me. It's now my perfect go-to pocket camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

too complicated

By kj from Texas on 02/13/2015

Really wanted to like this camera, but the instructions to get pictures loaded to computer were too complicated and too laborious! Why make it so difficult?? I will go find a simple and quick camera with a cord. This one is going back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Difficult to upload via WIFI

By Unhappy from Arizona on 02/08/2015

Extremely hard to upload pictures to computer or any other device. I purchase on vacation and only wished I could return this camera for one easier to be able to see my pictures other than on camera. So unhappy to spend hours flipping thru pages of information that does not work on this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powershot Case

By JJ from Indianapolis on 02/06/2015

Case delivered for free. Custom case with belt loop made of soft leather with magnetic catch. Excellent buy. JJ


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

video player

By jimk from Florida on 01/31/2015

the XS600HS, nice camera, I like it, lots of good features I took some short movie/videos I got them into my computer via a card reader. I saved them into a folder. I open them, played them on "Quick time player" They played all skippy very poor play back My other videos taken with a _____ play OK no problem I did get Image Browser but I can't find the folder that has the videos Image Browser did not help


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Way Too Complicated

By RickyD from Kansas on 01/31/2015

This camera is way too complicated for a simple point and shoot camera. The instruction manual is confusing and not very helpful. Illustrated picture icons are of things I've never seen. Very frustrating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quick and Sharp

By Designmaker from Central, PA on 01/29/2015

The PS SX600HS has proven itself to be the best replacement for the 3rd Lxx digital camera I've owned. My first Canon was a PowerShot A10 which was a great camera with a 1.3 Megapixel image. I bought and returned two higher priced Nxx cameras after a day or two of actual shooting - the larger one just wasn't a pocket camera anymore, and the smaller one produced some out-of-focus (blurred) photos which shouldn't have been, and its flash seemed week. The current model Lxx wasn't an acceptable replacement for the older ones as it took about 10-12 seconds from turning on, to do a quick zoom and shot the first picture. This SX600HS is repeatedly less than 3 seconds from turn-on to first shot, which is great as I don't miss the pictures I want. Also, it has a great image quality - even in night-time outdoor lighting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wireless joke

By Fenix from Austin, TX, United States on 01/28/2015

I do not like this wireless set up. My camera should not require wireless ID's in order to up load my photos. This is especially going to be annoying when I am traveling - which is what I bought it for. I am seriously considering returning it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrated- Out of focus

By E from Texarkana, TX on 01/13/2015

I got this camera for my wife for Chrsitmas. I have always had good luck with my personal canon point n shoot cameras in the past and I expected the same out of this camera. We used this camera to capture all of our daughters first christmas and our hearts sank when we went to upload them. It was hard to tell on the camera screen but almost all of the pictures are out of focus. As one other reviewer stated, I can't seem to figure out what is causing this and how to correct it. I got the camera through amazon and I am afraid it is too late to get my money back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Prints out of focus

By Rich from Lake View, NY on 01/10/2015

Having trouble when printing pictures. The prints seem to be out of focus. Cannot find a way to correct this problem. Have we missed something in the instructions?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

new camera for Christmas

By margaret from toledo ohio on 01/09/2015

I so much wanted a new digital camera since we have been doing some travels and I don't always want to use my cell phone. I have looked at this camera a few times to get familiar with it. I must say there is a lot of reading to do to learn how to use it. Lots of gadgets to figure out to use.....at this point I will say I like it but am disappointed that I have to read so much material to learn about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved