Home » 9517A002 » 28 Reviews

Canon Cameras 9517a002 Ef-s 18-85mm F/4-5.6 Is Usm Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 28 reviews)

55% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Superior Build Quality (5), Super-sharp Images (10), Fast Auto-focus (7)

Cons:

Poor Build Quality (10), Slow Auto-focus (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent for teh Price

By Bushido from New York on 08/10/2015

his lens is clearly an attempt by Canon to replicate the success of their earlier 28-135mm F3.5-5.6 IS USM, which gained a strong reputation as an excellent performer on 35mm film; and they did it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good kit lens

By Anonymous from central city, co. on 06/03/2014


Pros:

Good Lens If You Dodge A Lemon.

Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Zoom Creep

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

There seems to be a lot of quality control issues with this lens. The main problen i have with this lens is "zoom creep". Its also hard to focus manually. Other than that, the lens is good. I traded the kit lens that came with the camera for this lens, and i'm glad i did. Going by the reviews, it seems like there are a lot of lemons that get by quality control, so its a hit or miss with this lens. I would look elsewhere if i needed a reliable lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

When it works, it's great, but...

By ski from Undisclosed on 05/12/2014


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Sometimes Great Sometimes A Zero, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Excellent lens, when it works. The problem is I can't tell when it's going to work, and when it's not. It's almost moody. I stuck with Canon, and got 2 new lenses to replace it. Keeping it as a possible backup. I would not recommend it, especially at that price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Err01 - Defect in design - BAD NEWS

By Err01 from Honolulu on 04/10/2014


Pros:

Good Range

Cons:

Defective Design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Hardly used this lens but it died because of a defect with the ribbon cable in the lens. Error message - Err01


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

communications failure

By jov from Undisclosed on 01/03/2014


Pros:

Good Results For Price

Cons:

Defective After Use, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Took 11, 000 pictures with this lens, then suddenly it had a communications failure with t3i. this is a known defect with this lens -- i.e., the flexible cable inside the lens that does the electronic communication wears out and fails. The lens then stops working completely. The lens was bought in 2012 and failed after 18 months (out of warranty of course). That it failed on a trip to an african country was very disconcerting. Fortunately I had an EF 35mm 4L, an EFS 10-22mm, and an EF 70-200 mm 4L with me. Will probably either get it fixed (have Canon replace the cable) or buy an EF 24-70mm 4L for a more dependable lens...having a lens fail on a trip is untenable. Such a product with a known defect-- particularly given the fact this lens was bought 4 years after it was introduced by Canon just shouldn't happen!! The defect should have been corrected within 2 years of its introduction.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality and poor performance

By Miguel from Miami, Fl. on 12/24/2013


Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The autofocus failed during a trip at the Everglades, I had to work on manual mode all the time. The repair is a very difficult task and costly. I has the lens for over two years, Canon should stop advertising this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Defective design - do not buy

By CCW from Undisclosed on 07/10/2013


Cons:

Poor Build Quality, Fails Due To Design Flaw

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This lens failed when I went to the galapagos. Good thing I had a backup, since having no wide angle would have been a big problem. Came home to find out these lenses are simply bad and wear out. Unreliable autofocus past 18mm means the lens isn't worth much. Buy something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Burt H from King of Prussia, PA on 05/13/2013


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens for 5 years and before I bought it I was hesitant because of some bad reviews. My copy of the lens has been great. I have never had a problem and the pictures are razor sharp. I use it on a Canon 50D and T2i. It also focuses fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible lens! Don't buy!

By Thomas from USA on 04/06/2013


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lens stopped working during an important photo shoot. The quality is very bad for a Canon lens. Canon needs to recall these lenses and discontinue them. The 15-85mm USM IS is a better option/replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy Camper

By Greg from Poulsbo, WA on 09/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens in 2005 when I bought my 20D. I use it as my everyday walk around lens and it has traveled with me around the world. Never a problem. Never a hiccup. The only reason I would change this lens is if they made the same lens in an "L" series. If I can tear myself away from it I am going to send it in to be cleaned so I can use it with my new 7D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I expected better

By Thom218 from St. Louis, MO on 08/17/2012


Cons:

Intermittent Auto Focus Fails, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This should be a great lens the 17-85mm range makes it great as a primary lens and while the 4-5.6 aperture is at times a bit slow, overall I was extremely happy with it for the first year. Since then auto focus fails intermittently and it doesn't take much of an Internet search to realize that this model has that problem and Canon should be addressing it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A lot of defects, ...

By ilya from Undisclosed on 06/12/2012


Cons:

Slow Auto-focus, Poor Build Quality, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

A lot of defects, h.aberration, bad aperture, vignetting, bad colors reflecting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good working lens until ERR 99 started

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/01/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lens came as bundle with 30D (just before the 40D came out. Have had some good service for several years. A month or so it started giving intermittent "ERR 99 -- turn off/reset battery" I finally isolated it to be the Lens, not the 30D body or batteries. Now I'm without a standard zoom lens. Looking for a replacement while I see about getting this repaired or trade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all around lens - 4+ years

By Jim F from Middleton, WI on 12/15/2011


Pros:

Stays On My Camera Except When Tele Needed., Great Image Quality Excellent Is. Primary Lens

Cons:

None So Far - 4+ Yrs

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the lens with a Canon 40D purchase and more recently have used it on a Canon 7D purchased early last year. This has been a sensational all-around lens for outdoor and occasional indoor shooting. My greatest interest is for outdoor scenic capture, as a serious amateur. Functions well in all light ranges I deal with. Have had no electronic or mechanical issue mentioned elsewhere after 4 years of shooting. I took the lens without any backup lens or tripod (to cut weight) on a 100 mile trek in Nepal last year and it worked out great at over 17,000' elev. Image quality was sensational, with images as big as 16 X 20 shot hand-held with IS and no tripod. I'm very happy I purchased this gem, and at a good value. Kudos to Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens... while it works

By draknor from Madison, WI on 10/15/2011


Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I picked up this lens used a few months ago; it was in great condition & I got hundreds of great photos out of it. It's my default lens that I leave on the camera. Until the aperture started getting stuck :-( Researched on the web & yep, this is a common issue -- a flex cable inside was poorly engineered so after a few years it breaks the wires. Manual focus still works fine, but that's not what I'm looking for in my go-to lens. Will have to see what the repair quote ends up being; not sure I want to keep using a lens that will die again in a couple of years & need another repair.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

lens suddenly stuck at 17mm

By Anonymous from CA on 09/29/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lens suddenly locked near 17mm after shooting. When I checked the web, I found that I'm not the only person to encounter this problem. Lot of people have this issue. I wonder if the product itself has defect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice lens, but problematic

By Kurtis from California, USA on 03/14/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens since my 20D and have used it a lot for everyday photography. I have been very happy with the lens performance and the resulting photos I have taken. However, the lens started to malfunction recently - unable to achieve auto focus. The problem occurs in various lighting conditions and aperture settings. After searching a few forums for information, it seems that this is not an uncommon problem. I've read about several users having to have Canon replace the servo motor as the fix. So, great lens, but disappointing in what we have come to expect from Canon quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My most used lense

By DonB from Memphis on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has quickly become my most used lens. Goes from close ups (portraits) to landscape easily. Focus is very fast, and pictures are very sharp for a non-L. IS works like a charm. Good overall feel. I haven't (knock on wood) had any of the reported problems. I agree with the remark about cap replacement. Be careful. I, too, wish it was faster, but I guess that's why they make L lenses. For the money, this is one great piece of equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

17-85mm IS - Great Lens for the money

By Barry from Orange from Orange, CA on 07/21/2010


Pros:

Quick Response, Good Metering, Good Color, Good Focus From Edge To Edge

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You need to hear this as Canon makes a great product. I have been using Canon Cameras, Lenses, All-in-one printers for years and have been very happy with their products. NOTE: Like any large company, they make a mistake once in a while but they always resolve and back their products. I have been using the 17-85mm IS Lens for about 3 years and the auto-focus started giving me problems. I sent the Lens into Canon, they quoted 7 to 10 days, but turned it around in 1 day for a very fair price. The Lens focus's like it is brand new again. I am extremely happy with the quality of service Canon has provided me and with having my Work-Horse primay Lens back on my camera. I use the 30d and 2Ti Bodies, the 18-55mm, 17-85mm IS (primary lens) & 70-300mm IS Lenses. I am extremely happy with all of my Canon equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Comfortable to work with

By Joe from Kingston, Jamaica on 07/11/2010


Pros:

Fast And Accurate, Ideal Range For Most Regular Needs

Cons:

Aperture Failure

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quite a convenient and versatile lens producing sharp pictures; however, I too have had an aperture-failure in a relatively short time. I learnt this has to do with the electronic circuitry. I am prepared to try a second one but not a third.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

problems with dark photos

By Dolly from Undisclosed on 03/23/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Images Are Too Dark

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens as a primary for a few years now and I constantly have a difficult time with very dark photos under most/ many circumstances. Photos taken inside church, inside sports, outdoor sports, etc. etc. are all too dark. The only time I get good lighted photos is when the sun is bright and I am shooting in the right direction. I have to lighten every photo...even when I have had my ISO at 1600. It makes me wonder if something is wrong with my lens or my 40D. Let's see if someone from Canon has some good feedback. Thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great len foe the price

By Onefreesoul from Los Angeles on 03/11/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Come On Canon Add Len Hood

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens! I highly recommend it. It's very versatile and is probably the best walk-around lens. The images are sharp and the IS feature really works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all-purpose lens

By GreggT from Downeast Maine on 09/12/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Great Lens For The Money

Cons:

Reliability/durability

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As others have said this is a great all-purpose lens, the extra mm at the wide end over the 18-55 or 18-200 really makes a difference. The only other choice at the wide end is the 10-22mm, and that isn't as versatile. Stabilization works very well. I've had two issues requiring repair, an auto-focus failure, and an aperture iris failure. A friend who is a professional also has one, and the zoom has locked up on hers. The lens zoom barrel has little resistance, so if you're not careful to ensure the lens is zoomed in to 17mm, putting the lens cap on with the lens extended can cause the barrel to slam back into the lens body. Overall I'm very happy with the lens, however.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By camera12345 from NJ on 07/15/2009


Pros:

Great Price, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Slow Aperture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens for the money. I use it mostly for wedding photography. The nice wide 17mm end works well at the bride's home and for church interiors. The 85mm end works well for portrais. Although it isn't a fast lens, the image stabilization works very well. I often hand hold at 1/15th or even 1/8th sec with sharp results. Also as far as sharp goes, it's so sharp you can see skin pores in close ups. All for a reasonable price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good lens

By yo-yo from Undisclosed on 02/23/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Very Useful And Quick Handling, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

F4 Instead Of F2.8

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens more than any other That I have. Weddings and Family reunions and portraits for individuals. Compact, sharp and fast focusing 95% of the time. yes I like it would love it more so it was f2.8 instead of f4 ok Canon how about it ?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing picture quality, performance

By HH from Undisclosed on 02/21/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Incredible and quick focus, beautiful images. Great wide angle. Only con is 4 max aperture, should have been 3.5. Better auto-focus and sharpness than 18-200 from Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Favorite Lens

By SteveBiologist from Winter Garden, Fl on 12/31/2008


Pros:

Image Stabilization Works Great, Superior Build Quality, Sharp Images

Cons:

No Lens Hood Included, Some Barrel Distortion

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens! I highly recommend it. It's very versatile and is probably the best walk-around lens for the non-full frame cameras. I use it more than any of my other lenses. The images are sharp and the IS feature really works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By R from Illinois on 11/20/2008


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Chromatic Aberration, I Only Wish It Was An F2.8

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is a great alternative to the standard 18-55mm IS. Its extended range makes this a great all-purpose lens. Superb quality for a Non-L lens. I do wish that the green/cyan chromatic aberration weren't as apparent. I used this lens in college and for some light commercial work. It has served me well for the past 3 years, and I will sad to see it go when I make the switch to the new 5D mark II and will no longer be able to use it. I purchased it with a 20D and it has been an excellent pairing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved