Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 9518A002 » 42 Reviews

Canon 9518a002 Ef-s 10-22mm F3.5-4.5 Usm Ultra-wide-angle Zoom Lens (9518a002aa) Reviews
Canon 9518a002 Ef-s 10-22mm F3.5-4.5 Usm Ultra-wide-angle Zoom Lens (9518a002aa)

Canon 9518a002 Ef-s 10-22mm F3.5-4.5 Usm Ultra-wide-angle Zoom Lens (9518a002aa)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

This exciting new zoom lens provides ultra wide-angle coverage to the EOS 20D and Digital Rebel shooter. Equivalent to a 16-35mm zoom, it offers excellent performance and optics designed from the ground-up for digital SLR use. Three Aspherical lens elements, plus a Super-UD element, assure image qua... <more> 

Canon Model: 9518A002

$773.44

4 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 42 reviews)

92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Super-sharp Images (23), Superior Build Quality (16), Fast Auto-focus (21)

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images (3), Price (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

My Go2 Lens

By Waddizzle from New York, NY. on 06/23/2015

I'm an amateur, and I have loved this lens from the first shot. I enjoy walking and taking in the sites, in both urban and nature settings.. This lens takes it all in. It is my first lens of choice, so that I can get the big picture, and then zoom in on details later. This lens was my first purchase to add to my Rebel T5, which I love despite what some reviews from experts might say. The camera is great for those who are new, or on a budget. I use a Rebel T5, APS-C sensor, camera, which makes the rated 10-22mm focal lengths range effectively a focal length range of 16-32mm. At the 22mm setting this lens gives you a very wide field of view without much in the way of distortion, or fish-eye effect. The images look like they were taken with a regular prime lens to me. But, at the 10mm setting you will not only get a much wider viewing angle, you will also get some subtle fish-eye effects, which I happen to like, and the picture remains sharp. I love taking pictures of classic architecture styles, art deco is everywhere in New York City, and larger than life statues, which we also have in abundance. This lens is great for capturing it all creative angles. No need for a helicopter ride to take it all in.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase Ever

By Holmesy from Fort Collins, CO on 01/16/2015

I left my Canon outside during a rainstorm for six hours or more and this lens was attached to the camera. I separated the lens and body and dried them of the condensation. This lens still works beautifully as does the body (7d). I definitely recommend this lens to anyone considering it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Winner!

By columbiariverlee from Wyoming on 11/07/2014

Canon has been my favorite tool for the photography I've done throughout the past 50 years. I started with the FTb, graduated into a full F1 system, and when digital came along used the XTi and then a 1D, and now have a 60D, which I mainly use for scenic HDR panoramas. I had been using the EFS 18-135 lens for these, and wanted a larger angle of view, but on my limited retirement income could not afford the "L" series class. I purchased the 10-18mm lens, and am very happy with the results it renders. I don't find any problem with it having the plastic (instead of metal) rear housing. The optics are excellent, as I have come to expect from Canon, and I am very happy with the value I have received for my money - Thanks, Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing lens, amazing photos

By Fotosdenada from Undisclosed on 05/29/2014


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best lenses I've owned. It's indcredibly sharp and the color quality is first-rate. Even the lens flare is well handled, which is rare in an ultra-wide lens. As it is so wide, the photographer has to be prepared for the distortion. For landscapes and architecture on a cropped sensor, this lens is perfect. The only complaint I have is that it didn't come with a hood. Well, it was a tad pricey, too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible

By Jeff from Galena, OH on 04/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

O.K., I was already blown away with the quality of the lens itself and with the pictures I took with it, but nothing compares to what happened to the lens over the winter. I was out shooting some nature shots here in Central Ohio where there was quite a bit of snow on the ground; somehow the lens fell out of my bag and I didn't realize it until I got back to my car. I retraced my steps all to no avail. I notified the park ranger that I had lost the lens and, still having the lens booklet in my bag, was able to give him the lens information. Well, 3 months later I get a call from the ranger. Yes, they had found my lens! Although I was happy to get it back I knew it couldn't possibly be functional after 3 months buried in the snow. I was wrong. Not only was it functional, but the picture quality was diminished in no way! No fogging, no condensation, nothing; it just works. This is just one of the reasons why I have never owned any camera or camera accessory other than a Canon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful ultra wide angle EF-S lens

By Steve from South Eastern US on 04/25/2014


Pros:

Nice Contrast, Sharp Images

Cons:

Not Wide Aperture, Some Chromatic Aberration

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM mainly for waterfalls and small cascades in the mountains of the south east US. With a APS-C camera sensor this focal length is superb. While there is some distortion at the 10mm end for my purposes it is not objectionable. However, there is a fair amount of chromatic aberration. The lens produces fairly sharp images. The corners are less sharp. However, at this scale of image size details are small and it is not objectionable. The lens is not overly heavy, but it does have a nice quality feel and weight to it. The focus ring is nicely balanced, not too stiff nor too loose. I would have rated the lens higher for Features, but it does not come with a lens hood, and should. I would like to rate the quality higher, but the lens is not weather sealed. For my shooting near water spray, this would be great. However, the quality of the images, the size of the lens, and the price make this lens an excellent product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Chromatic Abberration

By Len from WI on 11/06/2013


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Range, Fast Auto-focus

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images, Chromatic Abberration

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I really do love the range of this lens and sharpness is pretty nice. I just cannot get over how horrible the chromatic aberration is. Even with advanced post-production it is still evident.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

L type glass

By Mr. sharp from Licoln Ne on 05/14/2013


Pros:

Close Focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens to capture lightning, and landscapes. And wow, it has done all of this and more, it is the sharpest lens I own, and I love the wide angle. It is a little exspensive for a non L lens, but is makes up for it in performance. The wide angle comes in handy when taking photos of unpredictable lightning. The close focus is also good for photos of flowers. All in all I am super happy with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice lens

By Russ from Santa Fe. NM on 04/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are shooting on a crop body in RAW, this is your wide angle lens. Not just for the obvious reason that it's the only EF-S, non-L series lens in the ultra-wide line up, but it is specifically designed to match the performance of a full frame with the 16-35mm L or 17-40mm L lenses. It's true! Compared to a full frame with an ultra-wide you get a similarly wide shot on a crop body, minimal distortion (warping), and a very compact and sturdy build for a dang good price. I know that for EF-S it seems expensive, but you'll feel differently after your first National Park tour with it. There are, of course, some adjustments needed in processing. I typically set the chromatic aberration correction at -33 red/cyan in camera raw when I shoot at 10mm. The glow is obvious, especially in high contrast scenes but you can tone it down as you zoom in. The quality of the shots and the build alone are worth the high price for this EF-S lens. The only reasons Canon isn't calling this an L series lens is the glass (obviously) and that it has "s" in the title. If Canon made an "EF-S L" lens, this would be it... again, with the L glass. The build quality, sharpness, focus speed, inner focusing system (that means "polarizer-friendly"), and the USM motor and focus depth window make this a steal! For outdoor/landscape shots (mainly my thing) I rarely take this lens off my 7D and almost always shoot with it wide at 10mm. If you're going to use it with a flash you're internal will cast a shadow. You must, if you use a flash at all, use an external flash with this lens. The optional hood seems silly when you first see it, but it's useful. If you go with the ball-cap-sun-shield you will almost always get a little sweatband/tattered brim in the shot... it's wicked-wide. The hood helps a great deal in most situations. The added bonus is that you won't bang your front element on all kids of stuff with the hood attached (which, if you're outside where you should be, then you'll probably do a great deal). If you spend ANY time outside, can't stand changing lenses all the time, value... value, use a polarizer, and are at all savvy with shooting and editing RAW files... this, again, is your lens. Buy it and enjoy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Truly astonishing lens!!!

By Flying Scotsman from Charlotte, NC on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My every-day digital imaging requirements are better suited to APS-C format sensors ... but that doesn't mean I want to get locked out of the "normal" 17-28mm wide angle shooting opportunities ... Tried a Tokina 12-24mm AT-X several years ago and it was worthless, marshmallow-soft and chromatic edge-discoloured beyond correction. Enter a truly astonishing lens, the amazing EF-S 10-22mm!!! Not enough "w's" and "o's" in the alphabet to spell the number of "WOW's!" this incredble lens deserves! Yes, at 10mm, there's no mistaking this is anything short of an ultra-wide but the actual distortion is well-corrected and I can find absolutely minimal purple-fringe chromatic aberration - even when I pixel-peep. Thought it was a wee bit expensive for a lens w/o a red stripe on the front ... but it most certainly performs every bit like one!!! No questions here: TWO THUMBS UP!!! This lens is a treat to use and to a 1.6x factor body, a real "game changer"!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow a EF-S worth having

By FanboyC from Undisclosed on 07/16/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I took it oct of the box I was taken back by the appearance. The front is so large compared to the body of the lens and it felt light and out of place compared to my Lens. The lens hood (optional) only adds to the awkwardness. Then I took some images with both my 7d and 20d, they were amazingly sharp. This lens is a joy to use and has replaced my 24-70 L as my short lens of choice when walking around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

qaulity short lived

By daytripper from durango, co on 07/13/2012


Pros:

Very Light Weight

Cons:

Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the 4th Canon lens I have owned. I never had any trouble with my previous Canon products. After 7 months of normal use the len became very loose in the mid section. This problem is not coverd by the warranty. I don't know how often this happens or what caused problem. I was always very careful with this lens as with all my lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The standard for crop-sensor Canon Cameras

By PVL from Bangor, ME on 06/21/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Cons:

A Little Slow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The standard for crop-sensor cameras. I've had this lens for 3 years now. It's a little slow, but since it's used mostly outside, that doesn't really matter. And since you're likely to use it with slow shutter speeds and high ISO, also not a factor . it's sharp, internal focusing and internal zooming. No more to say. If you have 60D, 7D, Rebel xxx and want a wide angle lens, this is it. no need to get anything else. If you want anything bigger or faster, you need to get a full frame Canon and some primes or 16-35 zoom. mucho dinero. If you're a pro, this ain't your lens. If you're a shmo, this is your wide-angle zoom, baby!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

L series optics in EF-S dress

By Donnie G from Chicago, IL. on 06/17/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images, All Purpose Workhorse

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutely love this lens. I've owned this lens for three years now and I use it to shoot over ninety percent of my photos. With its 16-35mm equivalent coverage on APS-C Canon bodies, versatile doesn't even begin to describe how useful this lens is. I shoot lots of christenings, baptisms, birthday parties, small weddings, etc., in homes and churches where often the reception or family gathering is held in a small and crowded room with lots of activity going on. The long end of this wide angle zoom is perfect for natural looking portraits and the wide end allows me to capture practically any size group that my customers might spring on me. With its 77mm front and the lens shade attached, it gives the camera a proper professional look that makes my subjects perk up when they see it pointed their way. Even kids and pets are impressed, and that certainly makes my job easier. Additionally, the lens is tack sharp, lightweight, durable and compact for its focal length and worth every penny of its asking price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Value is not based on price!

By Canonfodder from Coconut Creek FL (SE FL) on 02/24/2012


Pros:

Fantastic Coverage, Great Value, Excellent Close Ups, Very Low Distortion

Cons:

Lens Hood Overpriced

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens in 2006 (for 20D) to take photos in Alaska as my 20mm 2.8 would yeild 32mm eqiv this would produce 16mm eqiv. Purchased slightly used, had to purchase lens hood which was overpriced. This lens is tack sharp very little barrel distortion. Low lighting does not seem to bother it especially for landscape. Like the 20mm 2.8 you can stick it in someones face and not make them look like a clown with great depth of field. The coverage is so wide you can set it near 10mm and not even look into the view finder if the subjects are close enough. Purchased a 5DMKll and wondering if I could use it? Removed the back guard (finger will do) and shot away, Don't go beyond 12mm or use live view. Remember: do this only at your wallet's or camera's own risk Sure vignetting occured however with a full frame and 21mp you can crop your heart out. This is one of the most useful lenses in Canon's massive array of glass. I do not believe this lens is pricey considering what it can do and the quality of the results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Creative Lens

By fotopro from alabama on 02/15/2012


Pros:

Image Quality

Cons:

Expensive, Not Weather Sealed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was on the fence with this lens because so many people said its just good for landscapes. After getting the lens, I have to say the up close shots are amazing. The perspective your able to get with this lens makes it one of the more versatile lenses you can buy. I only regret not buying it sooner. The only thing I have a problem with is the maximum aperture of 3.5, so low light is a little tough. Aside from that, its built tough, has very fast and quiet focus and is great for video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Non-L lens

By NinjaPlease from Washington, DC on 10/03/2011


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Size, Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After reading numerous positive reviews about this lens I managed to pick one up used for a great price. To date, I've only been using noob lenses (kit lens, 55-250, 50mm 1.8) so this was my first major lens purchase and I couldn't be more pleased with it. I shot lots of landscapes so my kit lens wasn't quite wide enough for that but this thing is perfect as it captures more and it has great quality. Even for use indoors this thing is superb as you're able to get wider angle shots within relatively tight quarters...no more having to scrunch everyone together for a group pic using this lens. In low light, this thing isn't too bad however the AF could be a smidge faster. While not being an L lens, this lens nonetheless does a great job capturing crystal clear pics in ample lit situations. With a flash, this thing works pretty well indoors as well. The price is a bit steep for a non L lens however my used price for this made it too hard to pass up. Overall, this is a great lens for landscape/indoor use and I'm really digging this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love It!

By Dinosaur Jr. from Undisclosed on 09/08/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Great Range

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Short and Sweet - this is one of my favorite lenses. i use this lens to shoot landscapes and the results are breathtaking. one of my best investments. my only gripe is that is a white dot. i shoot with an xti right now, but when i move up (and that would be only when my xti totally bites the dust) i'm hoping i can get an adapter for use with a full frame camera body. it will be a sad day otherwise!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good lens but use with care

By canonfan from Dayton, OH on 08/14/2011


Pros:

Good Central Sharpness, Fast Auto-focus, Good Contrast

Cons:

Restricted Useable Aperture Range, Poor Sharpness At Edges, Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very nice lens, capable of delivering spectacular images. The contrast and color saturation are excellent. However, the lens needs to be used with some care, if you want to get the best quality images. The image quality tends to be rather soft at wider apertures, especially at the edges but also in the middle of the frame. Images become sharp across the whole frame at f/8 and f/11. The general sharpness and contrast begin to decrease at f/16 and smaller aperture sizes (f/22, etc.) due to increased diffraction. These issues are accentuated at the widest focal lengths of 10-12mm, and become less pronounced at 14-22mm. The ideal aperture setting, almost universally, is f/11, which will give edge-to-edge sharpness at all focal lengths. Restricting use to f/11 can be a bit cumbersome, especially in low light, but the short focal lengths mean that sharp images can be obtained hand-held at quite low shutter speeds (for me, down to 1/15 sec). The depth of field is exceptional with this lens, but this does mean that the front lens element has to be kept scrupulously clean; at f/11 ANY dust will become visible as soft low contrast spots on the image. Adding a lens protection filter actually makes this problem worse as dust spots are brought closer into focus. I don't recommend any filters for this lens for this reason, and because vignetting can be a real problem at 10mm focal length, regardless of how thin your filter mount is. But overall, I really like this lens. If you can accept soft edges at wider apertures, or be willing to use f/11 for ultimate edge-to-edge sharpness, you'll love this lens. It adds a dramatic feel to landscape photography, giving a tremendous feeling of presence.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best all around UW lens

By BL from Princeton, NJ on 08/09/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Slow Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens for my 60D and it is one of my best performer for Video. It is sharp and versatile in many situation for a crop body.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE IT !

By Lilyn from New york, ny on 07/14/2011


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome camera, but too expensive for someone poor !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fantastic super wide angle for APS cameras

By chopinlover49 from upstate New York state on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Lightweight, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you have a non-full frame Canon camera body, this lense is a must! I have taken it on historical tours inside and it provides the widest, clearest shot possible. It will not work on a full-frame camera, however! I have been so impressed with the image quality and ease of use, that I would have compared it with Canon's L lenses, but none of the APS lenses are L's. There are technical test sites that can give you the pluses and minuses, but all of the sites I have checked give this lense a high rating, too. You can get non-Canon lenses with similar range, but I have stuck to Canon only and have never been sorry. They really put out a quality lense if you go for the L's. But to get to 10-22 for APS, you have only one lense outside of fisheyes, and this is it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Landscape Lense!

By RXTravel from Boston, MA on 03/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lense is fantastic for landscape shots! I am very satisfied with this lense in built and image. I am not sure why people complain about the price, personally I think it is a great value for a ultra wide angle lense with sharp images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tunnel Vision

By 9mmpizza from Charlotte, NC. on 01/15/2011


Pros:

Ultra Wide Angle, Autofocus Speed, Build Quality

Cons:

Barrel Distortion, Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Canon EF-S 10-22mm is a lot of fun! The expansive field of view is great for use indoors and it will give you the feeling of really being there when used for landscapes. Just keep your friends away from the edge of the frame when using the 10mm focal length! Barrel distortion is a real factor with this lens. -----FOCUS----- Autofocus is fast and silent as a ninja. The full time availability of manual focus is also nice. The focusing ring moves smoothly with a comfortable abount of resistance, and focusing the lens does not change its overall length nor does it rotate the lens filter (delight for polarizer fans!) -----ZOOM----- There is no lens creep to speak of so if you point the lens straight up or straight down it will not try to zoom on its own. The zoom action is smooth with good resistance, and zooming this lens does not change its overall length. The front element is contained behind the lens filter and moves independently of it, no rotation or extension of the filter when zooming. The entire focal length is accessible with roughly a 60 degree rotation of the zoom ring. -----IMAGE QUALITY----- Subjects in the center of the image are always sharp and true to color with absolute minimal aberration. At a focal length of 10mm there is considerable barrel distortion and aberration becomes noticeable too around the edges of the frame. Be careful if taking group photos at 10mm focal length, your friends at the far edge of the frame will look significantly wider! -----WRAP IT UP ! ----- I like this lens. Its built well, works well, and looks good! There are two things prevented me from rating 5*, first is the amount of barrel distortion and aberration at 10mm. Most people probably intend to use the 10mm focal length for the majority of their shooting with this lens- as I do. You just have to do it carefully, compose your shot with the utomst attention to all subjects near the edges. Second, the price/ value. This is a great lens yes, but its not "L" quality, and no IS tell me the price could be less than what it is. I still highly recommend this lens! Hope this has helped. Happy shooting!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic for Landscape

By Seth from Pennsylvania on 08/21/2010


Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this lens and brought it along on a backpacking trip in colorado. I can only say great things about image quality and build quality, although the price is a bit steep. This lens excelled at taking landscapes as well as taking great pictures of architecture before and after the hike. I kept it in a plastic ziplock and it held up great to hail, rain and temp changes while in the plastic bag which was tucked safely inside my backpack. All in all, this is a great lens that gives you a professional uber-wide angle look (if you are willing to shell out the money).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost, but not quite there

By Mr. Cong from East Orange, N.J. on 08/17/2010


Pros:

Very Good Image Quality, Excellent Focal Range

Cons:

'ef-s' Configuration, Plastic Contruction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No question about it, the satisfaction factor stemming from this lens is primarily due to its focal length range and image quality. The construction , though adequate, could be better ( too much plastic not nearly enough metal ) for the price. The weight of this lens is primarily from the glass elements, not the overall build quality. Would love to see this lens in a 'L' configuration - it would be nothing less than awesome, desired by ametures and professionals alike. For now, this lens is restricted in its present 'EF-S' configuration.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens

By theCuban from Undisclosed on 03/05/2010


Pros:

Superior Build Quality

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the lens that spends the most time on my camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Wide Zoom

By Kyle from St Louis, MO on 02/24/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Equal To A 16mm On A Full Frame

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for a couple of years. I just love the fact that this lens wide open is 10mm (equiv of a 16mm on full frame). The images with this lens are sharp. It is in my experience the best EFS lens. If the lens has a con at all it is the fact that it only zooms to 22mm not 24mm, but this is a minor issue at best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT LENS! sharpest I got!

By SaberJ2X from Mayaguez on 02/08/2010


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just get this lens :D it's a life saver in parties, the ambiance it creates with the super wide angle look.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible Lens !

By FotoFreak from Honolulu on 01/26/2010


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Perfect Focal Length, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can't say enough about this lens. The pictures are as sharp as a knife. With this lens you will have a great time with your friends and family shooting all those memories. Pull in the entire room of people without them having to gather together for a shot. Great for candid shots indoors. Take pictures of your pets indoors jumping around. This lens is easily a keeper ! I just wish it was an EF lens and not an EF-S lens so I won't have to get rid of it in the future when full frame cameras come down in price. In the meantime I know this lens will see lots and lots of use. If you like to shoot scenery and need to get it all into the frame then this is the lens for you. With the crop factor it shoots 16-35mm which is plenty wide for nearly anything you can think of. I love this lens ! Oh and did I say it's built like a tank? Well it is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best in class, no regrets

By Voyager13b from Central N.J. on 12/14/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for several years now. It has been lovingly abused regularly during that time, as shooting interiors for the real estate industry accounts for a significant portion of my field time. I have also had the opportunity to shoot with the various contender lenses over time, and I simply love this 10-22 Canon lens. It takes a beating without denting, cracking, or developing worn areas in it's finish. It's optical performance was eye opening on my first 30D, and it still delivers fantastic images on my current 40D, and 50D bodies. Even in the Everglades on a bright summer day, and from all compass points, the lens delivers very pleasing sharpness, contrast, and detail. It also delivers very low levels of distortion for an ultra wide zoom at any price point, and even that is easily tweaked in post processing. My lens has untold miles of use (it is number two of the two most often used lenses for me out of the studio), yet it still cleans up to look as new, it still performs optical magic as it did on day one, and it still has the sound, smooth, mechanical feel it had when new. I absolutely love this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT true wide angle lens for CANON *0D series

By Pellix guy from Tampa, FL on 12/06/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All-around great lens for those digital photogs using either the *0D series or (digital) REBEL series bodies. It offers very good resolution, etc. It almost merits a "red ring" on the lens barrel!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens! Merrits a little red ring...

By Tucsanrob from Ypsilanti, MI on 10/23/2009


Pros:

Superior Build Quality, Versitile, Fast Auto-focus, Reliable, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although the lens doesn't offer the faster f/2.8 that you can get with 'off brand' lenses, the Canon quality is unbeatable. The glass seems superior, yielding sharp images at all f stops that I shoot at (3.5-11) and also delivers some eye popping bokeh around f/3.5. In over all quality it beats the pants off of most of the other wide angle lenses. I lug this lens around as almost a standard on my 40D (other than my 35mm f/2 it's never seen off that body). One problem that may come up for the potential buyer is the amount of distortion along the edges of the frame at 10mm, but at that length anyone should know that you're flirting pretty close to fish-eye. And if it really bothers you... you still don't need 10mm to grab a really beautiful wide angle capture with this lens. The only true down side to this lens is that it's EF-S, but since the 7D was recently unveiled... I won't have to worry about having to trade it in for the actual L series glass (not saying that it isn't of near-L series quality...because it is). Get this lens, it's worth every penny.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"L" Lens performance for APS-c

By Donnie G. from Chicago, IL on 09/23/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Superior Build Quality, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No, it doesn't have an f-2.8 aperture, or metal lens barrel. So what? The lens is lightweight, compact, sharp, very comfortable to operate, with smooth turning zoom and focus rings. It balances very well on my 40D camera body, and only draws undo attention when I have the accessary lens hood attached. Most importantly, this 10-22 wide angle zoom delivers image quality every bit as good as what can be attained with it's full frame 16-35, and 17-40 L series cousins. Add to that the very useful 77mm front filter diameter that allows me to mount my pro sized filters and polarizers, and well, I don't see a down side. Love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Super-wide

By Brandon from Pitman, NJ on 08/06/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is just fantastic. The USM focuses instantly, even in an almost dark room. Colors come out amazingly vibrant and super sharp. It has a very nice minimum focusing distance and very smooth bokeh when do you get really close to a subject (just be aware of the heavy distortion on the wide end). Build quality is good for a EF-S lens and it is internal focusing. The only thing I wish this lens had was a little bit larger aperture. Very happy with my purchase and I think this is a good tool on any crop camera today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Review

By Nick from Chicago on 07/05/2009


Pros:

Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The best lens I ever found. It is the best available in the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Sharp

By Canon Shooter from Undisclosed on 07/02/2009


Cons:

Not Sharp, Semi-sharp Images, Poor Build Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is one of the worst L lens in Canon's line. It is not sharp at all. I have been shooting Canon for 10 years now and this lens just doesn't cut it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent purchase

By Toots from Naples, Maine on 05/06/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens for a trip to Hawaii. I used it on a sailing trip to the Napali coast. It performed magnificently. I couldn't be happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ist Class Ultra Wide Angle Zoom

By Fotomatt from Los Angeles on 02/24/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images

Cons:

No Lens Hood

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I must second all of the comments made by Digital Seeker. Many of the most spectacular images I have ever taken have been with this lens. No need to stitch 3 or 4 images to create a panoramic scene; just crop a single image made at 10mm. Images are sharp and well defined. My only minor reservation is that the lens should have come with a lens hood in the box, not as an extra (and much needed) accessory.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SUPERB SUPER-WIDE LENS

By Digital Seeker from Washington state on 01/25/2009


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Super-sharp Images, Superior Build Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I buy only L lenses for my Canon cameras -- whether digital or film. There is one exception. I bought this 10-22mm for use with my EOS 40D. This lens, in my experience (a serious photographer for more than 50 years) is the equivalent to an L lens in every respect. It is a "must have" for anyone shooting an APS-C sensor digital body and desiring absolutely superb wide-angle performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great wide angle lens

By chef from Louisiana on 12/13/2008


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, "l" Series Glass, Super-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As far as I can tell this is "L" series lens without the price. The glass is great, haven't been disapointed with any shots made with lens. Thanks Canon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Ultra Wide

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/20/2008


Pros:

Best Wide Range, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nothing comes close to this lens for your crop sensor Canon. Very well put together, very good IQ, and a fairly small and light package. I use mine for landscapes and travel and it works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved