Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » PRO9000MKII » 82 Reviews

Canon Pro9000mrkii Pimxa® Pro9000 Mark Ii Photo Printer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 82 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Difficult Setup (4), Difficult To Use (3), Large Footprint (19), High Running Cost (5), Unreliable (3), Low Quality Output (3), Slow Print Speed (3)

Pros:

Fast Print Speed (16), Durable (33), Easy To Use (45), High Quality Output (62), Reliable (41), Small Footprint (4), Easy Setup (47), Good Media Handling (25), Low Running Cost (11), High Productivity (17)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Images are impressive

By SteveO from Cedar Rapids, IA on 07/10/2015

As a pro photographer, having a print look like the image I see on my calibrated monitor is essential and that is what I experience with the PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II. That's it in a nutshell. I would not want more from a printer. I might have to wait a few minutes for the first print of the day as the printer goes through its own start up cycle, but it doesn't really matter when you can get prints this good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PIXMA Pro9000 MKII

By Indiana from Wash DC on 04/04/2015

Quality of print is outstanding except for the background edging which is not centered exactly on the photo paper (this means that the photo centering is off ... so if this is important to you then you need to be aware of it). Ink is expensive. Is versatile in that it can print small photo and all the way to 13 x 19 and 14 x17.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have older op system

By Stick Chickie from Tacoma WA on 03/20/2014


Pros:

Ease Of Install, Ease Of Operation, Great Customer Service

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using a Canon I9900 for almost 10 years and it finally started having problems and wouldn't print properly. So I was forced to make a change. Looked at all the pro printers out there. Called a different company's customer service (two different times) to ask some questions and both call conversations with them were terrible. The other company's customer service people didn't know their own products and didn't speak very good English. When I called Canon customer service, I got a friendly and very informed person who answered my questions easily, confidently and indeed correctly. Wow! What a difference! Bought the product, read the instructions and did the complete install by myself ( I have never done a install before) with zero problems! Furthermore, my first test print matched the screen! And I am exceedingly picky about colors and rendition. Beyond that, it works with my OLD photoshop so everything is very familiar. Almost like not skipping a beat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pro 9000

By kjz from commack, new york on 09/29/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Reliable

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great printer and service. Canon is great with telephone service. They have stayed on the phone until my question was answered.I also just purchased the canon SL1. What a great camera. People who see the pictures think im a pro.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic

By sebutler from Undisclosed on 09/27/2013


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Reliable, Small Footprint, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this printer for a year and its the best printer I have ever owned


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer!

By WahoGT from Knoxville, TN on 06/17/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just like the some of the other reviewers, I say if you're not getting amazing prints from this printer, then you need to check your settings. It takes a little time matching your printer profiles to your paper, turning color management off (why this is buried in the second tab of a submenu I have no idea), and making sure your monitor is calibrated... but if you make sure these few things are done, this printer will print some wonderful prints. I have printed a bunch of medium/smaller prints on this printer, but recently printed my first 13x19 on Canon's Pro Platinum paper. I couldn't stop smiling for about 5 minutes after viewing the print. The colors match my calibrated screen perfectly, the sharpness/print quality is outstanding. I couldn't be happier with this printer and the images that it produces from my EOS 60D and 5D Mark III.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Earned it's keep

By weldr from West Virginia on 06/05/2013


Pros:

Reliable, Built Like A Tank, High Quality Output, Durable, Easy Setup

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Now that I have had this printer for awhile and used it allot, I felt a longer term review was in order. First off, if you own this printer and are getting anything less than wonderful results there has to be a reason. You owe it to yourself to double check your settings and your setup. If that doesn't help contact Canon for some help. I have owned 4 different photo printers over the years and each and every one has it's little quirks that have to be worked out with trial and error. If your only interested in making "average " images this is probably not the printer for you. With a little adjustment you can get excellent results from this printer. As far as ink use goes I have to say this is the best photo printer I have used. And the cartridges are reasonably priced. Once again if your not willing to spend some money for ink to get excellent results, then you may be better off getting your pictures printed at a store. One thing I must say, is if you want a top shelf black and white printer look elsewhere. Other than that I have to give it 5 stars all around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You're kidding right?

By mimi from Boston, MA on 05/27/2013


Cons:

Difficult Setup, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been a designer for nearly 20 years and this is the worst, most difficult to use printer I have ever found. Give me back my old clunky printers with LABELED controls, so I don't have to go back to the manual over and over. If I could throw it out the window without killing someone I gladly would!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Canon Printer Ever!

By Jeepssmith from Crossville, TN on 04/25/2013


Cons:

Unreliable, Low Quality Output, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Canon 9000 Mark II is horrible. Print quality is the worst of any Canon printer I have owned. It prints with blotches and bands. I have cleaned the head and cleaned the head and cleaned the head. Still prints with blotches and bands. Would not recommend this printer. Other Canon printers that cost way less give better quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By craftsman from West Virginia on 03/08/2013


Pros:

Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Durable, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Totally satisfied with this printer. It seems to use a bit less ink than my last printer from another company. And the ink cartridges are some of the cheapest around. Stunning images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing quality

By Mikey from Boston, MA on 02/26/2013


Pros:

Reliable, High Quality Output

Cons:

High Expense, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this printer for 8 mos. and I am surprised (in a good way) every time I use it. Both B & W, and color rendition are superb. Inks are expensive, and certain colors always run out quickly, not sure why. That aside, this printer is all that you need for pro quality prints, unless you need to print larger than 13" x 19". And to answer another reviewers complaint, yes, you can print 11" x 14" or 11" x 17", when you go through Adobe LightRoom, in their print module. EASY! Certain papers are hard to find profiles for, but you experiment, and you get the results. LOVE it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easiest setup ever

By yamahumper2 from Undisclosed on 12/31/2012


Pros:

Durable, High Quality Output, Small Footprint, Easy Setup, Fast Print Speed, Reliable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Pixma pro9000mark II is the easiest setup I ever had using the software , it took only five minutes to set it up! The prints are fantastic, I tried several different canon paper types and they all work great, although the pro platinum seems about the best. I would highly recommend this printer to anyone .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Calibration is a nightmare

By Steve W from Fort Worth, Texas on 12/20/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output

Cons:

Difficult Setup, Expensive To Calibrate

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm a professional photog, and although most of my clients just want the digital files, some times I need prints. I suppose if you use Canon paper, it probably works out of the box, but I like a particular paper made by another company and I spent a fortune trying to get the prints looking right. Each time I thought I was close, I printed a different photo and it was way off. So here's the secret: Rent a calibrator from one of the places that rents camera lenses. One of the calibrators that is commonly available from any rental house will calibrate your monitor first, then you run it over the printed test sheets. Save the profile. Well worth the price, but you shouldn't have to go through this just to use a printer that costs this much. With that profile you are good as long as you use that same paper every time. Switch to a new paper you will need to recalibrate. The prints are incredible, once you get it dialed in. Also, I have to reset my print spooler every single page I print. I made a batch file to do it, but I only have to do it for the two canon printers I own. It hangs like the printer is offline until start and stop the spooler service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blows me away

By Terri from Ohio on 12/04/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Incredible printer for photos. The color, depth, and sharpness of printed photos are just amazing. If you're looking to make the step up to a great photo printer, this is the one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be prepared to spend major money on ink

By Jessie from Reading, PA on 11/23/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Low Quality Output, Unreliable, Large Footprint, Ink! Ink! Ink!, Slow Print Speed

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer is a money pit. It seems like I replace ink cartridges as often as I use the printer. Also, the ink cartridges that it says need to be replaced look half full when I take them out. Furthermore, you cannot print anything, even in grayscale, when one color runs out. I am extremely disappointed with this purchase, and surprised more people have not mentioned the exorbitant cost of ink.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great printer

By jerome from Webb, Al on 10/21/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Reliable, High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 5th photo printer that I have purchased. It is by far the the best one so far.. It give me high quality prints that are as good as those done by the pros... The price was right and I am telling my friends about my Canon Pro9000 mark11.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Large Format Printer and Best Value

By Ric from Phoenix, AZ on 10/18/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Great Documentation, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haven't been a partner to Canon too long but long enough to see that they care about their products and customer satisfaction. The design and operation of the 9000 Mark II is exceptional and the value is almost unimaginable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By G. from Undisclosed on 10/18/2012


Pros:

High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Durable, Easy Setup, Reliable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a digital Imaging artist, I need a printer that will accurately reproduce my work and produce a high quality product. I am very pleased with the prints that this machine turns out. It seems to be durably constructed. My only real displeasure with this machine is that it drinks ink and the ink is rather costly. The ink drinking issue aside, this machine is abso-amazing and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone looking to produce their own in house professional looking documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

useless for me

By unhappy camper from Jacksonville, FL. on 10/13/2012


Pros:

High Quality Output

Cons:

Does Not Print 11"x14"

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer so that I could enter good quality print for competition at my camera club. Our competitions require 11"x14" prints and this printer does NOT print that size. I should have checked the specs more thoroughly because it did say 11x14 on 13x19 papers, what a waste. I have been using printers for more years than I can remember and in my wildest dreams could not have imagined that this printer would not print 11x14 pictures. For this reason I cannot give it more than one star. If I could, I would it no stars at all. This printer is pretty useless for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Enough to Buy Two

By bp from Florida and N.C. on 10/11/2012


Pros:

High Quality Output, Reliable, Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, Durable

Cons:

Ink Cost Could Be Better

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is superb. I used one for a year and just bought a second for another location. I can't imagine spending any more for another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Enjoying my new printer

By Photo Enthusiast from Chicago, IL on 10/11/2012


Pros:

Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output

Cons:

Haven't Found One Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is easy to set up and use. That is the first plus as I am not a computer savy person. The quality of the pictures are great. It beats the quality of the locations I use to have them printed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The printer to buy

By Tamarin Tracker from Georgia on 10/09/2012


Pros:

Reliable, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is but one word for the images this printer puts out- AWESOME


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pro 9000 Printer

By Don from California on 10/04/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Reliable, High Quality Output, Durable, Fast Print Speed

Cons:

Need Roll Paper Feeder

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a Canon User sine 1970 with Cameras and Printers the quality of the PRO 9000 is right up with want I needed it provides exceptional quality and versatility that is needed for the work I do. I only wish it had the ability to use roll material which would make the printer the ultimate solution. As always Canon Products are exceptional.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By Nicole from Central NY on 09/10/2012


Pros:

Reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Fast Print Speed, Durable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Not Wireless

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this printer. The photos are beautiful on a low gloss paper. Ink consumption is acceptable. Professional quality prints for a good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best purchase ever

By kk007 from Des Moines, Iowa on 08/30/2012


Pros:

Easy Setup, Reliable, Durable, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy To Use

Cons:

B & W Not Ideal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Briefly, I am quite pleased with this printer's lab quality output. I should add that Canon's paper is highly essential for quality output. Set up was very easy, approx. 20 minutes. I use photoshop which easily integrates with all Canon printers. I'd like to upgrade to a B & W pro printer but the price can come down. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pixma Pro 9000 Markii

By photo friend from Pittsford, Ny on 08/25/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Good Monitor Image Matchpittsford Nyless Tha 2 Mo, Reliable, Easy Setup

Cons:

Noisey On Statup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Pixma Pro 9000 Mark ii has in my short time of use performed very well to give me prints that closely match my edited monitor image with easy to use instructions and very good color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice printer

By Budaman1010 from California on 08/16/2012


Pros:

Fast Print Speed, Easy To Use, High Quality Output

Cons:

Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good printer. Pros: Nice prints Reasonable cost and usage of ink with a caution. Cons: Careful not to set up double profiling because if will gulp photo magenta and turn out redish photos. Under CMS choose nothing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Set up EASY

By K from Undisclosed on 07/22/2012


Pros:

Durable, Fast Print Speed, High Quality Output, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Pixma 9000 for my daughter who has been interested in photography for a couple of years but has not been able to print her pics. We read the reviews and decided to go with this printer. The only con in the reviews that worried us were the comments regarding difficulty setting up the printer. I even asked the salesperson about this and he suggested we go to the Canon website and download the latest software for setup. I couldn't figure out how to do this so I just decided to go with the install software that came with the computer. IT WAS SO EASY and install was complete in about 5 mnutes. I never made it through the entire EXECUTE and ALIGN THE PRINTER process. I don't know what happened, but on a whim I thought I would print a pic anyway to see if the printer was working and it was perfect. So INSTALL was a breeze. We gave the product ratings a high score even though we just go it yesterday. The test picture that we printed was stunning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this printer

By MID12 from Indiana on 05/24/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Durable, Reliable, High Quality Output

Cons:

Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is the best thing to happen to my business, it does not have its own wireless hook-up but with a USB cord to my router I am able to use this printer wireless which is awesome since it is pretty large. Setting it up was simple for my MAC, I started printing and noticed a great difference from this to my old printer, the quality was so much better! For the price this is a great printer to own!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

If you own an ink factory, buy it

By jmg from Louisiana on 03/30/2012


Pros:

Nice Photos

Cons:

Ink Leech

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Even setting it to print black & white it sucks up ink and I mean lots of it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really is 5 star worthy!

By GMan from San Diego on 03/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Printer really is 5 star worthy! * Easy to set ** Not too big *** Versatile paper size capabilities up to 13x19 **** Speed is shockingly fast ***** Color is excellent The only reason I didn't go all 5 stars, is that, in this day and age it is not wireless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Maureen from Undisclosed on 02/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The photos last, quality is incredible. No maintenance complaints, have had for 2 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible color saturation!

By Anonymous from Lake George, New York on 01/28/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this printer for a few weeks now and couldn't ask for anything more. The Pro 9000 Mark II is an upgrade from my very worthy i960. The i960 served me and will continue to serve me well. The colors produced by the PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II are spot on. Here's the odd thing though, at least for me. To get the great colors printed out I have to use the "Let Printer Determine Colors" option. When I chose any of the paper driver options for any of the particular papers, the colors are off. Obviously I'll chose the first mentioned option as long as the colors are spot on, which they are. The size and weight of this particular printer are most definitely a plus. That tells me it's solidly built, worth every penny. The only thing I wish now though is that canon would get some more Platinum 13"x19" paper in stock. Seems to be quite the popular paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely substandard website

By Patrick from Detroit, MI on 10/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Extremely difficult, if not impossible to find out if my printer has any software updates. Company site is useless. Size and price of ink is rediculus. Price per tank should be less or size of tank larger.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Printer

By Anonymous from Indiana on 10/18/2011


Pros:

High Quality Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy set-up. Quality printing. Disappointed that the Easy Photo Pro does not work with Photoshop Elements 7 or beyond.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Output Is FABULOUS

By Anonymous from Arizona on 08/16/2011


Pros:

High Productivity, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Media Handling, Difficult Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The output from tis printer is amazing. If you are doing high quality photo prints, that is all that matters. At the largest size, 13X19, my prints are pure and crisp and glowing. The smaller sizes are just as good. The ink usage is also amazing. I have not yet figured out the order of the colors and how they slowly run out, but I am impressed. This seems to be the next generation of printers, since the ink is long lasting. It also seems to be fairly fast, but that is not a high priority for me. On the downside, this machine is not intuitive - nor does it arrive with useful instructions. It is "clunky" when starting a print job. It took me way too long to figure out where the rear tray opens and I still can't get the front tray to work. Finally, for reasons I don't understand - see above concerning instructions - when printing in large format the first print is always off size. Once it gets used to my preferences, the prints are truly amazing. If you want high quality prints of awesome clarity and definition, get this one. If you want to do post cards for Grandma, there are others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer

By Neen from Connecticut on 08/05/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Reliable, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have never written a review of any product that I have ever purchased, but I am so far very, very pleased with this printer. The quality and dependability are excellent. I have been using this printer for approximately two months and I couldn't be happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality prints from an amazing printer

By Tim from Cleveland, OH on 08/04/2011


Pros:

High Productivity, High Quality Output, Easy To Use, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, Reliable

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up. Printed a test 8x10 to see the quality and was blown away. Will continue to support Canon and their awesome gear!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional performance

By Stan1 from Albany, Ga on 07/28/2011


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Durable, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first large format Canon printer I have purchased. The vivid color reproduction exceeded my expectations. I have show the resulting prints to two of my friends who were impressed as I am.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent value

By Anonymous from Central Ohio on 06/17/2011


Pros:

High Productivity, Reliable, Low Running Cost, High Quality Output

Cons:

Instructions Not Always Clear, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I indicated this printer "replaced" another. Actually, I added this printer to a Canon IP5000 I have had for many years. I continue to use the IP5000 for general document printing and ocasional "snap-shot" photo printing. The Pro 9000 Mk II now gets the vast majority of my photo printing. The older Canon printer does great, the new one is outstanding. I first used this new printer with some basic good quality glossy and matte paper, mostly Canon brand. Same paper that I have used for years, but the prints were greatly improved. I then got a pack of 13"x19" Canon Matte to experiment with the large formate capabilities of the Mk II. Earliest efforts produced brilliant but poorly cropped prints while I learned how to prepare photos for such large prints. Each new print looks better than the last so I am learnig. Finally, I bought a package of Canon's letter size "Fine Rag" a month ago. WOW! This is what the Pro 9000 MkII is all about. I can't wait to get 13"x19" Fine Art paper. And of course, there are even better papers to use going forward. I do list two "Cons", allthough not necessarily major. It is large, and needs the room behind it to feed the large paper. I ended up rearranging my work area and adding an "L". Probably needed it anyway but added to the "set-up" time. I also indicate that I found some of the instructions frustrating. This printer does not come with a hardcopy manual and the CD manual is very large. I found navigation through the CD difficult and some of the instruction vague. Finally, I would have really liked to have had roll paper, capability, but given the price of this unit, I decided to forego that option at the time of purchase. As you can tell, I am very pleased anyway.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Print Quality

By Mark from Akron, OH on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Good Media Handling, Low Running Cost, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There's nothing not to like about this printer. Prints lab quality prints on 13 x19 paper quickly and affordably. I'm actually surprised at the number of prints I get out of the ink cartridges, even at high quality setting. I've used other brand photo printers and Canon tops my list. I'm only sorry I waited so long to buy a larger format printer. Use Canon ink tanks and Canon papers for truly professional results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So So

By Pappyz from Michigan on 05/14/2011


Pros:

High Quality Output, Easy Setup

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Beautiful pictures, when it works I have been trying to print 4 X 6 prints for a week now. Used multiple graphics programs,searched through all options and Help files, this is the most frustrating printer I ever owned. Hooked up to 2 different computers..same result 4 X 6s come out at about 2 X 2.5 no matter what you set for paper or print size Have printed many 8.5 X 11s and they are perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Printer

By Hans from Fredericksburg, VA on 04/06/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Media Handling, Durable, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this printer in December and was instantly impressed with everything about it. A friend, who saw the photos I printed with it, went out and purchased one too! Two weeks ago, I purchased another that will be given to my brother when his birthday rolls around. Heck, I should work for Canon!!! Not too big; not too slow and very, very easy to set up. I use it with an i-mac running Lightroom 3 and I could not possibly ask for more. I use my old Canon i950 for everyday printing and it still works perfectly after about ten years of use. Highly recommend this fantastic printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Max print 14" x 23" or 12.95" x 26.61"

By SturgeonGeneral from Omaha, NE on 03/29/2011


Pros:

High Productivity, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Good Media Handling

Cons:

Large Footprint, High Running Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Max size: 12.95" x 26.61" 329.0 x 676.0 mm (Rear tray) 14.00" x 23.00" 355.6 x 584.2 mm (Front tray) Rear tray will take 13" wide paper up to at least 19" long but at some point in length it stops accepting 13" wide over 19" - I haven't figured out where yet. My test pages were 14"x23" (actually using a piece 14"x 26.5" - it fed but driver wouldn't let me assign a custom length over 23") and 12.95" x 26.5" (using a piece 13" x 26.5" - physical mechanical limits of this feed keeps you from using paper wider than about 13.25" and like I said 13" is addressable up to 19" [maybe more] and drops to 12.95" by the time you get to 26.5") Make sure you have "borderless" OFF for large custom sizes. Cons: -Huge footprint -Slight learning curve Front feed is a bit of a misnomer. Read the manual and PAY CLOSE ATTENTION to the instructions onscreen. In this straight path mode, to set up you move the front tray up to flush with the output path. When you submit the print job, you leave paper OUT of the machine and it starts walking you through the process. It does some internal mechanical reconfiguration (think transformers) so you can insert the media freely from either direction - and index it on a mark on the front tray. You actually nearly center the media inside the printer. When printing starts, the media is "sucked back in" to the print heads to print at the top of the page and fed back out to the front of the printer again. I didn't follow the instructions perfectly the first time and mangled the first piece of paper using this method because I didn't insert it far enough. I also had to "make" 14"x23" out of other paper and scotch tape to try it out. Other Thoughts: I finally have found sources of relatively cheap paper to take advantage of the oversize capabilities of the printer. Look for PACON brand construction papers 12"x18" online. Cream colored - good for targets and misc wide format printing. Cheap. Exam table paper didn't work out - too much like tissue paper and the moisture from the ink makes it curl, tear, and misfeed. To take full advantage of resolution you'll have to settle for *expensive* custom size photo paper and trim that down if you can't find it sold in the size you want. The sheet size with the least waste I have found is 24"x36" - cutting yields two sheets of 14"x 23" and two sheets of 8"x12" and only a scrap strip of 28"x1" The only cheap construction paper I found this big is: Riverside Paper 103479 Construction Paper, 24 x 36, Bright White 76# Cutting it by hand is a pain so I have also bought a 24" paper trimmer for another $140 You do NOT need the full space behind the printer for the "flat feed/front feed" if your media is flexible enough to make the curve. To fully extend the rear feed tray support without touching the wall takes only about 7.5" clearance behind. Extending the front feed path tray support in back takes more space, but my 14" x 23" test sheet of construction paper was flexible enough to take the curve in the abbreviated space. I hope I answered for you all of the questions *I* had before purchasing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My new 9000 Mark II

By obnoth from New York on 03/28/2011


Pros:

I950 Has Been Very Reliable, Durable, Easy To Use, Low Running Cost, Good Media Handling, High Productivity, Been A Canon Fan For Years, High Quality Output, Reliable, Easy Setup

Cons:

No Con's Just Make Room

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got my new Canon Pro9000 Mark II last week and got to install it today. For me it was a no brainer as I had an I950 for about 8-10 years and it performed perfectly all that time. I really wanted a large format printer anyway and when the price became reasonable, I went for it. Set-up was a snap and print test went flawlessly. I'm getting ready to print my first picture when I finish this note, and really don't expect anything to go wrong. The printer looks very similar to my old I950 and I expect it will perform well. Yes, there are two additional ink tanks, but that should improve picture quality, and it was already great on the I950. I can't wait and won't wait, so this is the end! Obnoth


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the output

By Daboggey from SC on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Reliable, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Good Media Handling, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was my first wide printer. I have used the Canon S750 for years and liked its output and the ink consumption was very reasonable. I enjoy printing 11x14 prints and stand amazed at how they look. The printer does use ink, but what do you expect when you are laying down full coverage on large area of paper. I have since retired my S750, though it still prints


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Bud from Palmetto, FL on 03/04/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Low Running Cost, Reliable, Durable

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer in January to replace an older Canon printer. I was extremely pleased with how easy it was to install. The colors that it reproduces are accurate and vibrant. The prints are sharp and clear of all detail. I am very happy with the purchase of this printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By megs from Port Huron MI on 02/11/2011


Pros:

Easy Setup, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, Awesome, Durable, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutely love this printer. It prints in "true" color. what you see in real life is what you get when you print the photo. It prints excellent. It is a little slow to start up, but what do you except when it has to print in such detail. I wouldnt change anything about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer

By Anonymous from New Jersey on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Reliable

Cons:

High Running Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received the pro 9000 as a birthday gift. It is just what I was looking for. It was easy to set up,and it is easy to use.It produces professional quality photos.The software that comes with it gives you access to the Canon creative park website where you can download endless crafts, templets,calendars,greeting cards photo albums etc.All that you can print out with the pro 9000. The only downside is the ink and paper are a bit pricey. But if you are into printing your own photos and creating your own greeting cards and just being creative,this is the printer to have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Artist Loves It!

By Levi from Idaho on 02/06/2011


Pros:

Durable, Easy Setup, Reliable, Easy To Use, Good Media Handling, High Quality Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a professional artist and my wife is a serious photographer. I make prints of both paintings on rag paper and photo prints on glossy or mat finish. We could not wish for better results at this price and ease. Not to put down the few who have rated this printer poorly for whatever reason, but we would say that something else must be wrong with their whole system. We cannot imagine what could be causing problems with over ink use, poor quality and so forth. For us, a great machine, doing a super job!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine printer

By Slave from Denver on 12/21/2010


Pros:

High Quality Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup

Cons:

High Running Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent print quality. Fine definition. Easy to use and calibrate. Costly to operate. Always buying ink.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Image Is Everything

By Mere Image from Boone, Iowa on 12/14/2010


Pros:

Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Durable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Media Handling

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this printer today, and within an hour had it unpacked and installed. I pulled up a RAW of a favorite newphew I took with my T2i, cropped it and printed an 8 X 10 on some generic glossy and compared it to some store prints of the same file and crop. The colors were strong and realistic with exceptional detail. I was not at all impressed with the print speed from my laptop, but I then printed another 8 X 10 with a different subject and the print time was roughly half that of the first so I have to assume I need to tweak the settings, but all in all out of the box, I have to say this will be replacing my local lab. Remind me to send them a card.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've always used CANON ...

By ANDREW from OMAHA on 11/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've always used CANON printers because I've never encountered any problems with them. Their customer support is the best !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Photo Printer

By jpb from Hoffman Estates, IL on 09/11/2010


Pros:

Paper Handling, Quality, Seems To Perform Well In Ink Consumption

Cons:

Print Interface Is A Little Awkward, Very Large (understandable)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent Photo Printer. Provides prints which meet or exceed those from labs. The paper handling is wonderful with the canvas working great from the front and the regular weight paper from the back. The front paper feed is a little awkward, but it is easy to understand why if you think about it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a great home photo printer which provides professional quality prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer I've owned

By Tom--Minnesota from Minnesota on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I consider myself in the "advanced amateur" category. I worked with a well known brand for the past five years ($700): "muddy" prints, poor blacks, lackluster color, very inconsistent results, poor black and white. The Mark 9000 has been better than expected and light years ahead of my previous printer. Great, vibrant colors, black is black, black & whites are good---all in a very fast print time. Why did I wait so long?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Photo Printer Ever!!!

By Basswoman from Fort Worth, Texas on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As an anniversary present, my husband bought me the Pro2000. We had just returned from a photo safari to Africa and I had taken 2414 photos on the trip. I printed out a few on my older printer and was lukewarm about the results. After setting up the Pro 2000 and printing out a few photos, I was astounded at the difference. The clarity and color were superb. My son even remarked that they didn't really look like photos, they looked like high quality paintings. Thank you Canon. I have the printer of my dreams!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pixma pro 9000 mark ll

By mox nix from Clarkdale, AZ on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used another companies printers for several years with good results. This Canon printer is without doubt the best one I have ever used. Photo results are without doubt as good as any photo shops and may even be better. Colors are vibrant and true to original camera image. No cons experienced so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy !

By "whitey" from East Central Florida on 07/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm not real knowledgeable about things like this but as long as I make good images this printer makes beautiful prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer, but bad on ink use

By alsupershopper from Newport News on 07/03/2010


Pros:

Good Media Handling, High Quality Output, Reliable, Durable

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer paired up with the canon papers make remarkable prints. They are vibrant, fine resolution, and are customizable for your preferences. The unit is built like a rock and weighs like one too. It uses too much ink when it goes through it recycling mode. Other than that, its a fine printer for the money. You could use other inkjet papers on this printer but it is easier to make really good looking prints right out of the box, when you match it up with canon photo paper. This combination makes the best use of canons ink formulation. You have enough choices to select from to create beautiful high resolution prints. And you can put it on economy mode to review the output of what it will look like on paper. This printer looks like it was built to last. They did not skimp on construction with this printer. Plan on a giving this print it proper space, like 2.5 ft. by 2 ft. In comparison to some of the other printers Ive used, this one uses up way to much ink. I dont know if the sensors are a little too sensitive because it is constantly asking to change the ink tanks. Even when printing only Black and White documents, it still asks me to change some of the color ink tanks. I have managed to get about ten 8x10 prints more, even after it says the ink tank is empty. I think there needs to be a way for them to correct that amount of wasted ink, especially if youre not printing color prints or documents. Then again, thats how they make their money, selling you ink. Overall this is a fine printer for those who want to be in control of the print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Uses ink unnecessarily

By Joe Consumer from Undisclosed on 06/22/2010


Pros:

Good Media Handling, Durable, High Quality Output

Cons:

High Running Cost

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have 3 printers. The output on color is the best of the three. However the excessive re-calibration of the printer causes excessive use of ink. I am happy with the finished product, but the ink usage is way out of line. On average it consumes twice as much ink (if not more) as my other machines. This could be due to the ink formula.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Printer I've ever had

By pierre from Undisclosed on 06/10/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I replace an ink tank every other print. If you have infinite inks and infinite patience it does the job good enough i guess. I would not recommend it to anyone with work to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful prints and FAST!!!

By dwmtractor from Silicon Valley, CA on 04/23/2010


Pros:

High Quality Output, Eight Single-color Ink Cartridges, High Productivity, Good Media Handling, Easy To Use, Easy Setup

Cons:

No Closed Storage For Paper, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer to replace my beloved Canon i900D which had finally given up the ghost after (I'm guessing) seven years or so of faithful service and I don't know how many thousand photos printed. Because Canon doesn't have a good six-ink printer in the i900D price range any more (all the inexpensive printers are four-ink only), I actually tried a competitor's product first, but as was the case years before, was seriously disappointed by the mottled flesh tones in that brand's output, so I decided to cough up the $$$ and go for the Canon I wanted (well, I'd love the 9500 but I have some price constraints!). This printer is a beauty! The print quality is at least as good as I had hoped: brilliant, life-like colors, razor-sharp resolution, no discernible dithering or spottiness in my prints, and just an all-round beauty to the finished output. And with a printhead that's nearly 3/4" wide, my prints just fly out. I haven't timed them yet, but I'd estimate 4 x 6 borderless prints come out in under 10 seconds, and my first 13 x 19 print yesterday zipped out in about a minute (possibly less)! Oh, and a 13 x 19 from a good 8MP image off my Canon 20d is a joy to behold! Fine resolution, rich color, and plenty of basic WOW! factor. That printhead, by the way, is removable and replaceable. I don't imagine I'll need to do so any time soon, but the fact of a replaceable head should significantly extend the lifetime of the printer, I would guess. Setup was easy and instructions were clear. The printhead alignment is fully automatic thanks to an in-printer sensor that "reads" the test patterns and adjusts accordingly, so there's no guesswork to it--just start the alignment and let it do its thing. Separate ink cartridges--8 now instead of 6--mean you only change what you need. I haven't had it long enough to check, but if past experience is any indication, prints are very durable as long as protected from UV light (such as fluorescent or sunlight) by being displayed behind glass. My one wish is that Canon would have bundled (or made available at lower cost) a sample pack of some of their hotshot premium/fine-art papers as I'm not sure what some of them even are and would hate to spend the $$$ for a sample pack and decide they just weren't worth it. I also miss the closed tray for 4x6 paper in the i900D. With the Pro9000 you really want to keep your paper stored out of the printer so you can close the lid, to keep dust out of both printer and paper. I wish I could keep paper in an enclosed bin. But that's a nit on an otherwise excellent product. Be warned, though, this printer is BIG. At 26.0" (W) x 13.9" (D) x 7.6" (H), be sure you have the real estate for this behemoth!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW

By mmmarkmm from Arizona on 04/19/2010


Pros:

Good Media Handling, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, High Productivity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Popped this puppy out of the box and 30 minutes later I was printing 13 X 19 beautiful photographs. I used Canon's Pro Platinum PT101 paper and the quality is just outstanding. Wow!!! I would not be afraid to enter these photographs in any contest. I shot an HDR portrait and the resultant photograph was a perfect match to my CS4 output. I also printed 6 6 X 4's on Ilford premium photo paper I had laying around. I downloaded and installed the proper icc profile from Ilford's web site. These 4 X 6's were awesome. I had problems with my old printer printing borderless prints without clipping some of the edges. I set up my CS4 image size to 4 X 6 and used the borderless option in the print menu and Walla perfect borderless prints even on the 13 X 19. These 4 X 6 prints look like expensive post cards. I am an amateur who now can print like a pro. I have a Canon 5d mk2 with L glass and this printer rounds out a total package for very little money in comparison to the rest of my gear. Cons: It's big, but so is 13 X 19.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

okay

By jmgoodrich from Baton Rouge on 04/08/2010


Pros:

Easy Setup

Cons:

Low Quality Output

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Noisy printing and paper delivery but quiet on stand-by inconsistent print quality, no auto duplex,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Uhmazing printer! There is a reason its big!

By Paul from Portland, OR on 03/27/2010


Pros:

High Productivity, High Quality Output

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE the Pro9000 Mark II. OMG the quality is outstanding. All of my prints look like heaven compared to how they look on my LCD screen. I cannot stop printing EVERYTHING! Ordering more paper from Canon already lol. The Pro 9000 Mark II prints very fast (13x19 in about two and a half minutes). Also the Canon Easy-PhotoPrint EX software is top notch, it makes sure you print your pictures right the first time. I've printed dozens of pictures already, and haven't messed up even one yet. Also I very highly recommend the Canon Photo Paper Pro II, and Canon Photo Paper Pro Platinum to make sure this printer lives up to its full potential. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completely Pleased....and then some!

By HurleyByrd from North Central West Virginia on 01/31/2010


Pros:

Reliable, Easy Setup, Low Running Cost, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its been 14 months since I hooked up the Canon Pixma Pro 9000 and to date, not a single negative issue has been encountered. Upon arrival, the packaging was perfect and the set up a breeze. Integrating it into the PC was just as easy and I have found the interface to be very simple and intuitive. As for actual photo output. I produce everything from nature photography in B&W to full color renderings throughout the color spectrum. I also do art photography that has consisted of pitch black backgrounds behind large fires to macro abstracts in near pure whites. Plus, this printer produces business documents, sales brochures, catalogs, etc... All the papers used have been Canon Photo papers including rags, museum etch and mattes. I also run some daily business docs on third party papers. The results for me have been nothing but spectacular and have surpassed my expectations. Blacks are pure, whites are clear and all colors surpass what I manipulate on the computer screen. Green tonals are amazing and fall trees pop beautifully in yellows, reds, etc... My business docs and catalogs refer to my business wood products and the subtle tones of our finished lumber products are rendered extremely well. Even a simple spreadsheet contains ultra fine lines that are crisp, clear and every single letter, number and punctuation is clear and concise. As many reviewers have noted, they thought the ink consumption was going to be an issue prior to buying this printer. And, like most, I had the same concern. Yet, I find this is a reasonable printer to operate in the ink department. If you print a 13x19 of the night sky, expect to use a LOT of black. BUT, you only need to replace one tank at a time and I find each tank actually lasts for an acceptable number of printings and then some. Keep in mind, you cannot have a professional quality print without laying out ink yet I feel this Canon does so without oversaturation. Others have mentioned this printer has a large footprint. Yes, its a large printer but it also prints 13 wide. It has rollers on the backside of the printer allowing you to tip the front up and roll it back against the wall. I have no issues with the overall size and it actually has a pleasant appearance that suits my office well and is not taking up floor space on a stand. In summary, I was a little freaked out spending this kind of money on a printer but I am sooooo happy I took the step up to the Canon Pixma Pro 9000. I have no regrets and will never go down in size again or to a lesser printer, even for running business documents. I cannot find one issue to rate a negative against this machine. It has far exceeded all my photographic and daily printing needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow, simply wow!

By 703 from Baltimore on 01/07/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Durable, Wow, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, Reliable

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WOW, Big printer, but big quality. Nothing beats Canon color and Canon lenses for accuracy. Did I say WOW?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great 'Big' Printer

By Wayne from Orchard Park ny on 12/31/2009


Pros:

Reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Easy To Use

Cons:

No Wifi, Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great quality prints. I was really amazed at the quality of the photos i've printed so far. Goes though ink fairly fast but is to be expected. The biggest Con is it doesn't have Wifi. With a footprint as big as this printer has it would have made it easier finding a place in my home with WiFi.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice!!

By Stroke from Mobile, Alabama on 12/07/2009


Pros:

High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, High Productivity, Easy Setup, Low Running Cost, Small Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very nice printer. Handles a wide variety of media. Cost of operation is not as bad as I was lead to believe. Easy set up for location printing. Decent footprint for table top printing. The printer is somewhat heavy. Excellent auto color matching. Very quick print speed for 81/2 x 11's. Borderless prints are great. The printing software that comes with the package is o.k. The only short coming is printing indexed proofs. If you have more than three pages of proofs, then you will wait approximately 3-4 minuets before it prints the proofs. All in all, I am very pleased with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

9000 mkII

By jwp from ky on 12/02/2009


Pros:

Good Media Handling, Quite, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

got the mkII as i was looking for a 13x19 printer to do 13x19 prints setup was easy and using canon glossy II paper produced great prints out of the box it is big, but QUIET versus epson, it does not require ink flushing to make different things - i'm sold and will look at the larger canons when i start doing 16x20 or larger


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Living with the Pro 9000 Mark II

By notlaw99 from Raymond, New Hampshire on 10/16/2009


Pros:

Good Media Handling, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, Ease Of Changing Ink, Easy Setup, High Productivity, Durable, Reliable, Does Not Double Feed Photo Paper, Easy To Use

Cons:

Large Footprint

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a retired military officer and an armature photographer. I take a lot of event, landscape and nature photography. I have been using Canon Pro 9000 Mark II for about four months, dominant application printing borderless color photos on 4 Star and 5 Star Photo Papers, 8.5 x 11 size and occasional photos on 4 x 6 paper, some correspondence and making CD / DVD labels for the slide shows I make. I dominantly use the top feed option. I Use the my computer which is a desk top with a 24 inch digital monitor and the computer on top of the computer with two external DVD Burners and the Pro 9000 Mark II on a computer desk that is 51 inches wide and 24 inches deep and the desk is about 2 inches from a walls on two sides in the corner of a small room in a mobile home. When not using the printer I keep all the cover closed [Three cats that shead]. People have complain about the large foot print of the printer. I need to be able to clean behind it, have cable access, and retrieve objects dropped behind it. I went to hardware vendor and bought some 10 inch metal ball barring races for uses to make Lazy Susan's [under $10.00 each] that are about 5/16 of an inch thick and I put one under the printer and the desk top computer. They are large enough to not interfere with the operation of the printer both I can rote it 90 degrees or more if I need to get behind it for cable access or clean behind it with not moving it from the desk top. Previous reviewers complained about the 4x6 default. I used the printer set up options to define the configuration I desire. I mostly print photos 11 x 8.5 high quality so that is full out [no borders] and I change the set up for anything else. My computer is running Vista 64 Home Edition and I also use word processing and spread sheets. On Business documents the Canon Pro 9000 Mark II will default to a Business document configuration that I defined. If Printing photos From a Windows Photo Application the printer will default to my defined Photo configuration. So I really don't have to make a lot of changes unless I am changing paper size and I can control that from the printer menu with ease. Operating cost, I consider reasonable you tend to use some colors tanks for photography more than others I previously used to use a 13 x 19 printer with two tri color tanks for photo printing, when one color goes dry you have to replace the tank. The Canon Pro 9000 II is a lot more economical to operate when it come to ink. My previous printer had a bad problem with double feeding photo paper and label paper. The gravity feed mechanism on the Canon Pro 900 Mark II is significantly more reliable; I have a lot less spoilage of photo paper and CD/DVD labels. The Pro 9000 Mark II ink change is easier then my former printer, it flashes fast when an ink color is empty and slower when a color is getting low telling you the exact color to replace. I find the Canon Pro 9000 Mark II to be the far superior printer from the stand point of ink utilization and spoilage due to paper miss feeds. The Canon is superior in operating cost ease of user maintenance and cleaning and superior support software from Canon. And of course the excellent quality color photos it prints. I hope you have enjoyed this review.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get to know your driver

By it's me the princess from Stamford, CT on 09/29/2009


Pros:

High Productivity, Excellent Printer Driver And Utility, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, Reliable, Good Options For High-end Print Media, Easy To Use, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Canon Pro9000 was an upgrade to an I9900 a little over a year ago. I was so used to defaulting to photo paper pro that upon first use everything had a green cast. The page setup interface for Macintosh is a great driver. It is important to try out all the print settings on quality and media, and even more important to use fine quality papers. The results can be outstanding. Canon provides some good quality photo and fine art papers, but do not be afraid to try some other fine papers. Canon Pro II, Platinum and Fine Art Museum Etching (FAME) are well worth the slight additional cost for a great product. As a photographer, almost all my prints come through Photoshop CS2, and my clients continue to be amazed at the output on studio prints as well as candids. I could not be happier. I cannot wait to learn some of the undiscovered features. To my surprise, it prints much faster than my multi-function machine on every setting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisfied and Then Some

By Satisfied from Undisclosed on 09/23/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, Reliable, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I print works of nature and art in all ranges of color, including B&W. This is my first large format printer and I could not be happier. It has not failed to print exactly what I want and the way I want it. Like anything, it takes time to iron out this printerm but not a lot. To date, nearly one year, my printer has not caused me one issue. None, zero, nada. Buy this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice Printer

By djtkdmaster1 from California on 08/27/2009


Pros:

High Productivity, Reliable, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an amature photographer but I print calendars, and large prints for friends. I had the i9900 for the past 3 - 4 years. This printer also carries the 8 print cartriges. It started smudging so I decided to upgrade to the new printer. The pro9000 Mark II I printed about 60 letter sized (8 1/2 X 11 inch) pictures last night and the color was what I am use to seeing from my old printer. I was impressed with the speed and how quite it printed. I have not used all the features but I plan on it in the near future. I love the printer and I plan on it being the work horse like my i9900.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By wlc from Kansas on 08/26/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, Reliable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used our I9900 for about three years and hundreds of pictures. I am not a picky person but when we show our pictures our friends say "Great picture can I have one " Print quality is excellent. Had one problem and a quick call to Canon help and were ready to go. We have another printer but when we want a professional letter we use the 9900..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Printer

By babs from Undisclosed on 08/22/2009


Pros:

Durable, Reliable, Good Media Handling, High Productivity, Easy To Use, Easy Setup

Cons:

Large Footprint, High Running Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the printer but I have a complaint. I had an i9900 which I had to replace, because you cannot get parts. The i9900 had better ink color quality, for printing invitations etc. much sharper colors. I put in a color formula and the sharpness of the color is not there -- much duller in comparison to what I would get from the same formula on my i9900. Miss my old printer. No comparison with the ink colors for printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canon is the Best

By stiz2009 from Cleveland, Ohio on 08/07/2009


Pros:

High Quality Output, High Productivity, Great Customer Service, Easy To Use, Good Media Handling

Cons:

Default Format 4x6

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After my trusted i9900 perished and the parts were obsolete I had to purchase another one and had no trouble choosing Canon. My last printer produced 14000 copies!. I work from home but also wanted a printer that produced quality photographs. This one does the job. The only reason I did not give it a perfect rating is because it defaults to 4x6 format no matter what you are doing. I find this annoying to constantly change the properties. If working in a document it automatically previews in 4x6 instead of the normal 8 1/2 x11. If canon would change this one simple thing, this is the perfect printer. The print quality is outstanding. I have only had the printer a few months but no complaints other than the default format.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy as ever

By Anonymous from Marysville, Ca. on 07/09/2009


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality Output, High Productivity, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pro 9000 set up was easy to follow and set up was fast on my Mac !! The first print came out with no color problems matching my on screen color view perfectly just with the simple Canon built in program. Thanks Canon !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing

By tbnjazz from Boise on 07/07/2009


Pros:

High Quality Output

Cons:

Will Not Accommodate 13x19 Photo Paper, Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While this printer, which I've had for close to a year, yields excellent quality for normal size photo prints, it will not accept 13x19 paper - the prime reason I bought it. I was able to get one - and only one - 13x19 photo print. Excellent quality, but......... I'm highly disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic printer

By Anonymous from Pomton Plains,New Jersey,USA on 05/17/2009


Pros:

Good Media Handling, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, Small Footprint, High Productivity, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Reliable, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had been using Canon with lower quality Inkjet. but this Pixma Pro 9000 Mark II Profssional quality photo ,beatifal prints And professional levels. Windows Xp with my Pixma pro9000 II Canon 40D camera, I am redy to go ? Thank you Canon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By Pam from Maine on 05/04/2009


Pros:

High Quality Output, Reliable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had been using a lower quality inkjet printer for photos, and now that I am selling my photos I spent a good deal of time researching for a new printer. Very happy with the Canon Pixma 9000, and having a great deal of fun with it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Large Prints

By Inovative Guy from Mantua, NJ on 05/04/2009


Pros:

High Quality Output, Durable, Low Running Cost, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Productivity, Easy Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use. The only heartburn I had with it was getting it to front load thich stuff. I should be able to press one button and everything goes instead there is a series of steps with time outs. It can get very frustrating. From the rear - no problem. Also I would have liked to see an overall glossy finish instead of a series of individuals high and low spots. When I look at a photo developed at some drug store the finish product has an even overall glossy look. This printer doesn't do that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved