Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 5035B001 » 20 Reviews

Canon PowerShot A3300 IS 16 Megapixel Compact Camera - Black - 3" LCD - 5x Optical Zoom - Optical (IS) - 4608 x 3456 Image - 1280 x 720 Video - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 20 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Nice Features/settings (6), Good Battery Life (10), Excellent Image Quality (11), Bright Lcd (6), Good Low-light Performance (5), Easy To Use (13), Lightweight/portable (9), Durable (7), Simple Controls/menu (7)

Cons:

Missing Features/settings (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Best Camera ever!!

By firefighter_10 from Florida on 12/01/2012


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Capturing Moving Objects, Durable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used several other Cannon cameras in the past. The A3300 is by far my favorite!! I LOVE the kids & pets setting~I can get photos of my pets and sibilings like never before!! The portrait setting gets the best photo~EVERY time!! Landscape takes beautiful images of the sunrise/sunset! The video quality is fantastic~if your computer can run Quicktime~my computer has a hard time processing the videos~I had to install a program to convert the videos to WMP. Otherwise it is a fantastic camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a terrible option

By Erick from miami on 10/19/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the pics whit this camera will show modified the colors specially the red. Also ,and more relevant, at the corners there were always be a distortion in any pics that you take and whit all powershot A3300IS that you use. don't get this camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Birthday present!

By ABP from Maryland on 09/25/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Features Where More Detailed., I Wish Some Of The Explications Of Controls And

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received my Power shot A3300is for my birthday to replace my wonderful powershot A2200 which took a dive to the floor and ended up with a lens which will not retract. I am very happy with my new camera which is silver, I love the better optical zoom since I shoot pictures of art work and the larger viewing screen on the back is great . I also like the design of the camera body. The pictures I have taken so far have been better then the ones I was getting from my old camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A3300 IS Like All Other Powershots

By Darkiris from Quad Cities, IA on 09/13/2012


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Not Durable, Short Battery Life, Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned 3 other Powershots aside from the A3300. Generally I have upgraded to the next MP. If you need this camera to be durable, it is not. Its a very delicate camera that takes very little light abuse before it no longer works properly. The features are however great. The point to shoot is a learning tool which has never failed to find exactly what I am shooting at. The LCD is big enough and very bright. The battery life, so long as you are shooting the smallest medium sized photo and under will last 4 hrs. If you shoot larger photos or video it eats the battery up within 1-2 hrs. The image quality is generally crisp. Low-light is fair, oftentimes the shots are pixelated. This camera is versatile for beginning to intermediate users with settings to accommodate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have owed three canon ...

By Mamaw Gicky from Undisclosed on 05/10/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owed three canon cameras. I find this one is slow to focus. The colors are very good, but is slow, causing me to Miss several good pictures because they are blurred. I am not very happen with this one. Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Threading the Strap

By TucsonJoe from Tucson, AZ on 02/14/2012


Pros:

16 Mp, Hd Video, Most Camera In Smallest Case., Really Close Macro, Rechargable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

To thread the strap I first ran sewing thread through the attachment point (pulling thread through with tweezers) then used thread to pull strap through attachment point.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

overall good camera

By littlevally from Undisclosed on 02/09/2012


Pros:

Good Quality Image

Cons:

Microphone

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i got this camera this christmas and its my first actualy camera of my own and i love taking pictures and this is great for photography. i am kind of a beginner and this is easy to use and perfect me. the only problem i have is with the microphone. when i record, there is no sound. i only was able to make one recording with sound and then it didnt work. i heard it could of been from dropping it but im not entirely sure. over all though i love using it for snapping pictures


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad design

By lester from Undisclosed on 01/20/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It is impossible to attach the wrist strap to the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Bang for the Buck!"

By Thephonyphoto from Hampton Roads on 12/02/2011


Pros:

Price, Size, Endurance

Cons:

Sound Quality On Video

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the A3300 for almost a year now and this little camera has served me well. I have recently upgraded for the sake of more features and size, but I have never regretted buying the A3300. It is great for fun with friends, travel with a camera in the pocket, and for a starter. My camera has not had an issue yet! It's been to Disneyworld and various local themeparks and hasn't failed me yet. Why upgrade then? I wanted more zoom and I was willing to pay for it. But to have a small camera in your pocket, you can't go wrong with the A3300! When I was with a large group of friends at one of those theme parks I mentioned, I took a group picture and one of those in the photo saw the picture and declared, "That camera is a bang for the buck!"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice shot with nice feature

By phrairin from Indonesia on 11/20/2011


Pros:

Very Nice Design, Ccd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice image quality in outdoor and indoor, best shot in low light even use CCD, nice macro


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very satisfied customer

By vikki560 from San Jose, CA on 10/18/2011


Pros:

Doesn't Feel Cheap, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Average Picture Quality For Farther Away Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really was impressed with this camera. This has a 16.0 megapixels, which is great for this price and size. It was easy to use, and it doesn't take up too much space. I found out that it takes more quality pictures that are closer, even though if you set it on "infinity mode" you have good quality pictures that were farther away. I dropped this once when the lens was open and sadly it had to go to repairs, so keep the wrist strap on. Another quick pro is that it doesn't feel cheap, like some other compact cameras can feel too plastic-y, which I liked a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CAMERA TAKES A VERY CLEAR ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/06/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

CAMERA TAKES A VERY CLEAR PICTURE. VIDEOS ARE EASY TO TAKE AND DOWNLOAD. THIS CAMERA REPLACES OLDER STYLE CANON.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice camera but still ...

By Exia from Rodrigues on 10/02/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice camera but still could have added a few more features Takes nice image quality, Solid build, Superb battery life. Its 2 months i've bought, Video quality is great for a compact camera BUT the focus when recording a video is very bad when changing from a close shot to a reasonable distanced shot. Overall good camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this camera

By Cascadia from South Dakota on 08/29/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used the auto, easy and video modes so far and the pictures and video are very good. The camera has a lot of features for the price but it is not a complicated camera to use. What I'm doing is reading a section at a time about a certain mode and then I practice using this mode. That way I understand and can master the different modes the camera has to offer. I keep my camera in a case so that it doesn't get scratched or broken when I'm not using it. This should prolong the life of the camera. The software did take me a while to master but it is not overly complicated either. I take my camera with me all the time because I don't want to miss an opportunity to take an awesome picture or video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE this camera!!!

By Chonkla from Central Texas on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this camera as a birthday gift--one of the best gifts I've ever received! This camera is very user-friendly--easy to use, learn, navigate through the menu and function keys. Takes incredible pictures and videos! It's so easy to upload pics to your computer--just download the software on your computer, remove the card from the camera, plug into your computer and edit/publish pictures. It doesn't get any easier than that! It's lightweight and fits easily in my purse. I am SO happy with this camera! I now carry it with me everywhere I go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent cmera

By E from New Kensington, PA on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera right before my recent vacation. I was pleasantly surprised with the ease of its use. We visited a number of churches in Italy that had little ambient light and the pictures came out quite well. This is my first Canon camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my Canon

By Abaremasu from Las Vegas Nv on 06/13/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Good Battery Life, Durable, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Need More Colors

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

once again I have bought a great camera, loved the last one and this one is even better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Missing Viewfinder

By qgfine from Missouri on 06/10/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Durable, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Missing Viewfinder, Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Camera is great ... except for one thing - no view finder. I also own a SD900 which has a view finder and wouldn't trade it for anything. Outside in the sun, it is impossible to see to take a picture on the screen. Also, it is very difficult to steady a camera at arm's length compared to one placed against you cheek. I like the camera because of it's compactness, but I really find the missing viewfinder is a problem. I think you made a mistake removing it. I don't want to buy a larger SLR type to get the view finder as traveling is much simpler with the compact camera. Go back to the original and add the viewfinder and I would buy another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Camera!!!!

By Anonymous from Arizona on 06/04/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Durable, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The auto mode picks the best pictures for me! I am no expert and this camera makes it easy for me to take pictures! The Canon company even gave me a 1year warranty with this camera and replaced my first one after I had difficulties with buttons not working. This camera is a neat one and the battery last days! I bought 2 extra batteries and the original battery has been going for more than 4 days already. Good bye AA batteries of the past! Furthermore, I have noticed this camera takes excellent daylight pictures. The way the camera is structured, it is definitely quality made. Its durable! The 16mp enables me to crop my pictures with ease and makes the pictures still crisp and as perfect as can be! The 5x optical zoom works great and the digital zoom helps me reach farther objects that I want to photograph. This is my first canon camera and is far superior to any other brands (in my opinion). The HD video component of this camera is awesome once you adjust the light settings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good little cam

By pappy from Undisclosed on 06/04/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Durable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very easy to learn how to use. the pictures come out very sharp al the time. i really love all the special features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved