Home » PSS95 » 94 Reviews

Canon PSS95 Powershot S95 [4343b001] 3" Lcd, Hybrid Is, 720p Video Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 94 reviews)

87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Nice Features/settings (41), Good Low-light Performance (43), Simple Controls/menu (32), Excellent Image Quality (50), Lightweight/portable (48), Easy To Use (46), Bright Lcd (43), Durable (32), Good Battery Life (25), Fast Auto-focus (3)

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu (8), Short Battery Life (11), Missing Features/settings (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

HAPPY USER

By Happy from Undisclosed on 06/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

BEST DIGITAL CAMERA I'VE EVER USED. GREAT FOR EXTREME CLOSEUPS ALWAYS CRISP AND IN FOCUS. BEAUTIFUL LANDSCAPE AND PORTRAIT CAMERA AND WONDERFUL SUNSETS. ALL THAT I WANTED. I WISH IT HAD A FILTER OPTION. GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY, AND IT FITS IN MY POCKET.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Look no further

By alexmd2 from USA on 08/23/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Low Light Performance, Portrait Lens, Superior Build Quality, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is probably one of the best deals on a pocket point and shoot cameras out there. The lens is awesome, wide aperture lets you take shots without using flash where you never thought it was possible. Museum goers - this is great camera for you. Last year I took it to Paris and was extremely happy with natural light indoor photography. It is built like a tank and very compact - it will actually comfortably fit in a jean pocket. Had no issues with it in about 2 years of abuse. Perfect companion to my D7000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Point and Shoot Camera

By Rich from Undisclosed on 07/17/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have yet to take a decent picture using the Auto function on this camera. Every image, in all different lighting conditions, is of a low quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Realy good first camera

By Z from ND on 06/25/2012


Pros:

Fast Auto-focus, Easy To Use

Cons:

Semi-sharp Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Canon S95 for general photography and astrophotography. And i am glad i did, with a max of a 15s exposure, high ISO and super wide apeature, it makes it a perfect fit for wide field astrophotography, and night tme shooting. its picture quality is very good for a compact, and noise is fairly low as well. it is an awesome camer and my next camera will be a Canon DSLR!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've been using the Canon ...

By afarhat from Undisclosed on 06/19/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using the Canon S95 since almost 2 years now and although the new S100 has a couple of better features, I still have a bond to my S95. I am a demanding amateur in photography and the quality and versatililty that the S95 offers for its size and price cannot be easily matched. I love its German-like, minimalist design (even nicer and simpler than the S100). I recommended the S95 to many friends and confused strangers as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good choice

By Magpie from Missouri on 06/03/2012


Pros:

Super-sharp Images, Fast Auto-focus

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My last camera died, so I purchased this camera after doing little research before a big family trip and before the holidays. I have been so pleased so far with the quality of the images, how easy it was to learn the camera on the fly, and the quality of the video. Glad I spent the extra money on this device!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replaced my S90 (lost it in Vegas):

By Someone from Undisclosed on 05/15/2012


Pros:

Very Happy With It, Great Photos, Features, 95% Like An S90

Cons:

Not An S90

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had owned an S100 for 10 days, and exchanged it for the S95. Understand, I owned an S90. My review. Since it has the same components, it takes great images. I love it but still getting used to it. Great new features, super vivid kinda gives me a headache. So I don't use it much. Great macro, great images. Great S90 replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera - DSLR Companion

By Boberinni from Detroit on 04/12/2012


Pros:

Front Control Ring, F/2 Lense Is Awesome, Iso Levels <=800 Approach My 20d, Fits In My Sd550 Belt Pouch, Stereo Mics And 720p

Cons:

Pop Up Flash Seized - I Used It For A Little Fill

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this camera in two modes - manual and video. The manual controls are sweet. I bought this camera to replace my SD550 carry everywhere camera. Since CS3 cannot support S95 RAW, I currently shoot only JPG and edit in CS3 ACR using my 20D/40D RAW process flow. It works great. The f/2 lense lets me grab tons of stuff my 40D and 17-40 f/4L cannot get handheld. Handheld night shots around Detroit are great with the S95. My pop-up flash seized after about a year of ownership. This worries me about investing another $200 in a waterproof housing (thanks to my G9 being worthless after the internal strap screw fell onto the circuit board and made it a $700 paperweight with a waterproof housing...), since the S100 housing is DIFFERENT. I used the flash for fill for a few shots. Now I overexpose and bring down the highlights to compensate. Overall, this thing is well worth the $$. The S100 should be even better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just AWESOME!!

By The Ogre from Rocky River,Ohio on 02/09/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 4th canon camera and I love it!! Its small and has a ton of Features. Pics come out awesome! I use it in program mode with my custom settings and Wow!! Its small and powerful. Great job Canon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

State-of-the-art

By AccidentalTourist from Columbus, OH on 01/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received the Canon S95 as a Christmas gift. We have had several Canons in the Digital Elph series. Never had a problem with any of them. The S95 is a cut above them, but almost as compact; the lens housing protrudes a bit but it is still a "pocket-sized" camera. The display is huge and bright; all controls are intuitive. Picture quality is excellent, especially in low light when you might want to use the "cancel flash" feature. Manually adjustable but have not tried all those features yet. The image stabilizer cancels all but the most abrupt camera shake. Bought an 8G card, good for 6K+ photos! A fine small camera that should satisfy even the most discriminating photographer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Users Guide

By irrated from Va on 12/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am extremely irrated that my new camera did not come with a printed (hard copy) users guide. I printed the users guide out from the disc and its 195 pages long. Irratents: manually printed copy is cumbersome and had to read; can't take manually printed copy on trips etc in case need to consult the manual. You would think that at the cost of this camera it would at least come with a users guide.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful camera

By Beth Hancock from Port Huron, MI on 10/29/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Last year I bought a Canon S95 because I wanted a camera I could keep in my purse and always have with me. I thought I was spending a lot of money for a camera but it has proved it's worth. I just got back from a week in London and Paris where I shot 540 pictures, each one perfect, even when I was shooting out the window of a moving bus or indoors without a flash. I couldn't have been more pleased with the quality and ease of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE this camera

By raffy from Undisclosed on 10/29/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera a year ago after getting poor photos from my older camera during a baptism service. I couldn't be happier. On a recent trip to Philly, I was the only one in the group who got a clear shot of the original document of the Constitution where there is no flash allowed! My shot was perfect.!! (the room is dark). Shooting in normal conditions, they are well above average. Small enough to fit in my pocket, with a good sturdy shell, a very well made camera!! Thanks Canon!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great small camera

By TomH from Dallas on 10/26/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have a Canon semi pro SLR with many lens. This is the first small camera that fits in my pocket, that I trust to take reliably good photos in low light. The camera has excellent photo quality, great flexibility and good ergonomics.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect point and shoot

By don from Los Angeles on 10/23/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Excellent Scene Options, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Canon really did a great job with this camera. The quality is outstanding and the manual control offered is a perfect bridge between a DSLR and a point and shoot. It's the best compact camera out there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this camera

By thecityoutside from Portland, OR on 10/06/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What I really wanted was a camera that had all the compact portability of a point-and-shoot but with manual features like a DSLR. The S95 has been perfect. I take gorgeous photos in Auto mode but have the option to really dial it in by messing with shutter speed, F-stop, and ISO settings. And the LCD is better than the one on my laptop! Overall, I feel like I got a great quality camera with just the right amount of features for a very fair price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but with some initial quality issues

By Joma from Washington DC on 10/04/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Initial Sensor And Control Wheel Quality Issues.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very nice camera with good low light quality pictures. -It seems that Canon had some quality issues: The first one I got had dead sensor pixels after going through airport customs a few times, I suspect the sensor to be sensitive to X-ray.The store gave me a new camera. The second one I received had a very loose settings control wheel on the back and I returned that also and got another one. -Nevertheless I am very satisfied with the overall performance of the camera. The pocketability is great and picture quality is superb.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine camera with nice feel

By JbfPHoto from Westfield, NJ on 10/02/2011


Pros:

Durable, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera has a nice feel with the metal body. Quality of photos have been excellent, only step up would be a G series or EOS series.(No comparison to my 40D with L lens) Focus is quick without any searching. Very compact...can fit in my shirt pocket.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

lots of dead pixels, good otherwise

By Michael from New York, NY on 09/12/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Flimsy Construction, Dead Pixels On Lcd, Dead Pixels On Sensor

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The camera seems to have good physical build quality, but unfortunately and disappointingly, the quality of the electronics seems to be lacking. 1) My S95 has a great screen, but lots of dead (~10) 2) My S95's camera sensor has some dead pixels as well, leading to dark pictures being ruined by bright spots Aside from the flaws mentioned above, which appear to be commonplace, the camera would have been great. I think it would be a great camera for those looking to learn about photography since it lets you configure most of the settings on a SLR. I would highly recommend this camera if the issues were sorted out, but can't, because I would consider the issues deal breakers. I would not have bought this camera knowing that Canon would sell a camera with this many defects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Point & Shoot

By Voyles from Orlando, Fl on 09/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This takes fantastic pictures with no exceptions. If you are basically a point and shoot person then this is as good as it gets. I don't like to fool with adjustments, but the true point and shoot did not have the same quailty of pictures so I purchased the S95. The only thing I wish it had is a 7+ zoom. 95% of my pictures do not require that zoom but I would like to have it available. I will upgrade to a S95 with a larger zoom when it comes out. But picture, picture, and picture is what taking pictures is all about, and the pictures taken by this camera are great. Also, the video is vary good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awsome camera

By krispy from bellingham on 08/26/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thispower shot95 camera does everything mypower shot xs 100 did and even better!! Its so easy to use and very compact. I love it!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Greatest Point and Shoot Ever

By Jimmy C from Seattle Wa on 08/24/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Simple Controls/menu, Nice Features/settings, Nice Finish Easy To Hold, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a professional photographer of some 35 years, and this camera brings me back to the old days with the aperture ring to choose the f stop or shutter speed or ISO. It is a great tool that fits in your pocket. The slightly bigger sensor really makes a difference in shadow detail. I have owned 6 other point and shoots, this one trumps them all. I think it might be confusing for an amateur because of all the setting options, but for me it is a major hit. Love it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great pocket camera

By Brad from Miami, FL on 08/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had a S95 since April and used it on trips to the Far East, Hawaii, and Colorado in additon to around town. I looked at all of the competting cameras and remain satisfied with my decision. The camera is very well made and holds up to the abuse it gets in a pocket without a case. The feature set is excellent. The low light setting is amazing. It takes remarkably good photos for a pocket camera. Is it perfect? No. It goes through batteries pretty quickly. I carry two spares and have had a day I went through 3 completely - but that was alot of photos. It also sometimes has trouble focusing in low light condtitions, I wish it had a 24mm lens. However it is a great camera and I rarely wish that I had taken a larger camera with all of the attendant hassles involved. This is a great cameral.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not so good

By Vane from Undisclosed on 08/21/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this one to replace my SD4500 because I was looking for a beter picture quality. I just spent more money, because the picture quality is very good, but not better than the SD4500, even in low light they seem the same. No doubt that the S95 is faster thar the SD4500, which has a very, very slow focus. I liked very much the nice features of the S95, but nothing that would justify the price. I think I am going to return this one and try the SX30IS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good camera with minor annoyances

By Booma94 from Houston, TX on 08/11/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu, Button Location

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The S95 is a good camera that produces outstanding images. The control locations are somewhat cumbersome and the menus are not very intuitive to navigate, but the performance of the camera makes up for these flaws. Image quality is outstanding. Video quality is outstanding. Images in low light are outstanding. If the control knobs and buttons were better located and the menus more intuitive and easy to navigate this would be the best camera ever made. Instead it is just a very good camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it!

By Ellie from Pennsylvania on 08/10/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My mom got this camera after a long history of horrible cameras. I ended up being given the camera after she realized she didn't use it at all. I absolutely love the picture quality and all the features it comes with. I've been getting into photography as a hobby within the last 6 months and think it is a very good starter camera. My only complaint is that it is extremely fragile and sensitive. I've had to send it back twice now due to minor drops. It is easily dropped and is not durable whatsoever. I will say that I was very happy with how the camera was fixed. I would definately recommend it to people!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's Just OK

By Horton from New Jersey on 08/04/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Fragile Lens Cover, Dim Lcd

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Canon Powershot S95 as a second handy camera.The camera is fine for snaps, however it is fragile and easy to drop. The strap provided with it is an insecure wrist strap, which should have a slide to close the loop around one's wrist, which it doesn't have. So the strap is almost superfluous. Photographing on a sunny day bleaches out the image on the rear screen, which is an inconvenience on most point and shoot cameras available. But, if you want to shell out another $80 there is an optical attachment which creates a "hood" to block out the sun. Battery life? Have a second one handy. Optically, it's fine. Buttons are small and get smaller the bigger your hands are.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hundreds of people ask what camera I use

By Ezra from Miami Beach, FL on 07/22/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Great Control Of Manual Features, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So I take a lot of pictures and I have been playing with digital cameras since the first ones came out in around 1995 (and man, were they horrible). This is probably my 18th digital camera I've owned and by far my favorite. Pretty much every other day someone asks me what camera I have because they are so impressed with the pictures. So after recommending this camera to friends and strangers a few hundred times I figured I'd put my feedback here. I think at this point Canon should just give me a camera for all the advertising I've done for them. It's a little bigger than most snapshot cameras and that's my only negative comment. I carry my camera in my pocket ALL the time so I notice things like this. But It's small enough to still take everywhere - and if you don't take the camera with you, you'll miss the shot. I've only dropped it four times with no issues and hopefully I don't drop it again. It's gotten wet in the rain, sand at the beach with no issues as well. The auto modes on the camera are very nice, capturing many different light settings are very impressive and it excels in low light conditions (dinner, at a club, etc.) The color balance is much better than previous Canons (which was pretty good to begin with). My girlfriend has the same camera and she is always in auto mode and still always showing me pictures and saying "This is the best camera in the world" The manual modes can be a bit daunting as it has so much versatility. If you are professional who wants total control of everything this is your best bet and you can do some amazing things on manual mode. I'm on manual about 1/2 the time and after 4 months I'm still taking amazing shots that I didn't think were possible. The flash control lets me take very nice shots with subjects that are far away as when I crank up the flash power it really delivers. I've always been skeptical of digital zoom as it's just garbage, but I have to say the digital zoom on this has converted me. This is the first camera I haven't disabled the digital zoom because the pictures with it are actually pretty good. Setting all the manual settings is a little tricky as sometimes you use the front ring, sometimes the back and sometimes the thumb pad but considering this thing is the size of a pack of cigarettes it's completely understandable that you just don't have enough real estate to put too many knobs. Overall navigating is good. Battery life is okay, not as good as the smaller point and shoot cameras but I can get through about 500 pictures on a charge. The video seems to eat up the battery pretty quickly but not any more than other similar cameras, that's just the problem with video on a compact camera. The logic of the menus and the display of what's going on is where the camera (and all Canons) shine. You can set things quickly and change them quickly and everything is very intuitive. I do a lot of action shots so changing a lot of settings very quickly is important to me. Bottom line is that Either I have suddenly become an amazing photographer in the last four months or it's the camera. I'm pretty sure it's the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

S95 Low Light Performer

By u0043928 from Arcadia, CA on 06/30/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

S95 is the best compact camera I ever owned. It's perfect for low light conditions with it's large sensor and F2 lens. With flash off, ISO set at 800, aperture at F2.0 and 28mm wide angle and you will appreciate the quality of the images taken indoor or under low light conditions. They are sharp and natural looking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A lot for a little!

By Steffybabes from NY, NY on 06/23/2011


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Slr Quality But Small, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Nested Functions Hard To Find And Use, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since I have used the S95 I have learned to optimize it's features. But even if you use the easy to shoot functions such as automatic and SCN you still get super great pics. Very resolute. Colors very vibrant! AND! it's small. There is an advanced way to use this which takes some time to master. Also, it's difficult to find things which are nested in folders and levels hard to find. I still can't really use the macro function in spite of having read the instructions multiple times.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

flash

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 06/18/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Canon camera and I am enjoying to use it as I am still learning all the functions. My big surprise and the adjustment was the location of flash. Usually I hold a camera placing my left index finger at the left top of the camera. So flash came out unexpectedly for me, I moved the camera and I had to to reshoot the object. Now I know where the flash is, but if it moved to somewhere, it will be more convenient. Otherwise I like this camera. Sakura


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By Biker from Virginia on 06/18/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Manual Controls, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Soft At Some F Stops.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this camera for some time. I also have the S90. I keep them handy for oporunities that present themselves. I have found both camera to work well.l The S95 has better movies and the rear ring is much improved. I like the choices it gives me to change what I wish. Raw is my preferred format and I used Photoshop and Lightroom to develop. Breeze Browzer Pro does a good job too. I can correct any barrel distortion quicky in Lightroom. Noise is pretty low. I carry one even though I own two Canon DSLR's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy with my purchase

By VaRandy from Hatteras Island, NC on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Limited Value At Distance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My S95 is the best camera that fits the bill of allways being handy for use. I wear it on my belt and it documents my active life to include offshore fishing trips. The video feature is well suited for proving your catches, even if released. The sharpness is hard to believe and the autofocus is quick and quiet. I am sad for all the poor pictures I took in my past where I don't get a do over!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this camera!

By dan5382 from San Francisco, CA on 06/15/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a novice when it comes to photography but I am a designer by career. This camera makes my photos look proffessional. I could not be happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The high quality pocket camera

By D from Oxford, England on 06/09/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fabulous camera and honestly the only camera in its class. The only P&S you can pull out in a room full of DSLRs and the other photographers will envy. I am looking forward to the future for this camera. I'd like to see it be weather/dust proofed. I'd like another dial on top (just because my SLR has two dials and a focus ring) Still, the functions and ergonomics are excellent. The lens is awesome, and even if I want them to keep developing the optics with faster apertures and longer zoom, it is really excellent. I have owned other P&S, but always hated to leave my SLR behind. No longer. This has really brought the joy back into photography for me. A great little powerhouse of a camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No viewfinder

By nantucketbob from Nantucket, MA on 05/05/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got it. The large screen is nice but I would like a built-in optical viewfinder for those times when you cannot see the screen. This camera is for serious users and I like to take pictures with the camera at the eye, like an SLR. It is complex (which is why I bought it) so it takes a while to learn. It makes superb photos. I am pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Pocket Digital Camera so far

By fifotrade.com from Fountain Valley, CA on 05/03/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Feel Solid Great Texture, Nice Features/settings, Durable, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the S95 at Samys March 2011. Tell you the truth, I wasn't quite happy with the price from the beginning, but after I took it home and started playing with it...WOW. the picture quality is amazing for pocket size camera. It's so much easy to carry around. I took my daughter to Disneyland - we took boat ride into SmallWorld, the low light condition shooting amazed me. Pictures came out more than what I expected. S95 has geat features. It allows user to set Av and Tv plus much more... Another feature that I like about the S95 is 720p video. Over all. I think this is a SUPER pocket size camera. I'm using S95 so much now a day, I'm thinking selling my SLR system (70-200mm IS f2.8 lens & 24-70mm f2.8 lens, 580EX flash) - Will See. Here is what I quite not happy with S95: zoom is limited 4x and battery is doesn't last long as compared to other canon compact size cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Need Closer Macro Mode!

By Anonymous from Bay Area, CA on 04/24/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Macro Too Weak @ 5cm

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The image quality is excellent and I love the f/2.0 aperture but I take a lot of macro photos and 5cm is JUST not close enough! My old SD750 can focus as close as 3cm. It may not sound like a big difference but if you do a lot of macro shots it's a HUGE difference! At 5cm I'm constantly bumping into the blurry focus zone, it's very annoying! I have considered the alternatives. Although the G12 has a 1cm macro mode, it's body size is so large it blocks too much light when getting in close. Also, most of the cameras in SD series can focus at 3cm but their current pixel counts are too high for their sensor sizes. Please fix the macro mode for the next camera in the S series!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm a typical user who ...

By Regular Joe from Dallas, OR on 04/24/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Owners Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a typical user who has only been using SLRs and DSLRs primarily for the flexibility, quality and control that they offered. I had toyed with the idea of a point and shoot for quite a while but just couldn't get past the trade-offs. After some long deliberation I finally took the plunge and bought the S95 and I have to say that it is a fantastic little camera. Yes there are some things that it will not do when compred to the big workhorse DSLRs but I knew that going in. I wanted some flexibility in controlling the camera and most importantly I wanted the best image I could get and it delivers in both categories. The low light performance is really very good thanks to the 2.0 lens. The sensor on the camera collects a great deal of information in my opinion and will easily let me crop the image while maintaining very good clarity. Can it get a bit grainy? Yes it can but remember what you have in your hands when you start getting critical. Because I've been using other Canon products, I quickly got up and running but if I had one complaint, it would be the information poor owners manual. There are so many things you can do with this little gem yet the manual doesn't get down to the nitty gritty on how to do it. I went out on the web and found some good user references which were helpful. If you're remotely considering buying a point and shoot, take a good hard look at it and then go buy it. You'll be happy with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera with super ...

By Anonymous from Birmingham MI on 04/10/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great camera with super performance. Have been using other competitive products but this shows all of them up. Only real step up from here is a digital SLR .... just not practical given size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High quality photos from a compact camera

By BPW from Atlanta, GA on 04/04/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a compact camera that takes photos close to the quality of a single lens reflex. I've found the S95 comes close to that level of quality. Low-light images are not up to SLR quality, but the results are surprisingly good. Except for the loss of the optical viewfinder, the camera is a big step up from the S80.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sould have bought it first

By bigsteve from Pittsburgh,Pa. on 03/20/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Did I Say Great Low Light Performance, Low Light 5stars

Cons:

Only A 3.8 Zoom-wish Had More.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Now i have a few backup compacts to the S95-tried to save some $$ and got the 3d and 2d rated cameras never was completely satisfied and always wondered if the S95 was better(as you probably will too). Should have paid the$ then and got the best.-been WAY cheaper for me. This unit simply amazes me in low light,in room or average restaurant light photos are tack sharp and spot on colors even skin tones. This is where the S95 does its best work folks. Outside in good light most cameras will be almost as good-maybe better cause this only a 3.8 zoom.(only weakness)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best purchase in 2011

By Anonymous from Fresno, CA on 03/14/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Durable, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I never leave home without my camera. It's light, chic, and fast. These pictures are fantastic quality, and all the manual options make for a very high end camera quality photos for less than the price for a professional rated camera. This camera is the best purchase I have made so far in 2011.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Typical Canon Quality & Simplicity.

By Joe from Chicago, IL on 03/09/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use my Canon S95 primarily for business purposes (engine teardown analysis). Initially the menu took some time to understand, but this camera is exactly what I've been looking for: near SLR quality, PowerShot size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT CAMERA

By Chas from Perry, NY on 03/07/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Durable, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this camera since 10/2010, & it's been GREAT! Good Batt. life, & I like the rechargeable batt. I've had many diff. Canon cameras since 1970, & I'm VERY pleased with this one. Now being older I don't want to carry a Lg. camera around, & this does ALL I need. I've ALWAYS been pleased with Canon's quality. Takes excellent picts. & the color is beautiful. Nice Lg. screen too! I just can't find anything bad to say about it. I'm just amazed with the functions that Canon squeezed into this little camera! I don't understand one persons complaint that he thought it was flimsy construction, which makes no sense to me. I would think he had checked it first before buying! I think this one has a really nice heft to it, & doesn't seem at all flimsy to me, just the opposite! I would recommend this one to anyone interested in a point shoot. Thanks Canon for another great camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

S95

By Archie from Sandy, UT on 03/07/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Good Battery Life, Durable, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera takes great pictures right out of the box. The auto mode worked great on 2 cloudy ski days. Do yourself a favor and take the time to learn the more advanced features. The advanced features give this camera DSLR performace in a nice small package. The best camera is the one you have with you when the important shot arrives. This camera fits the bill.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for underwater use

By Scubafc from Upstate NY on 03/06/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you are buying the S95 and the canon housing for underwater use- don't. Camera is a great land camera. With a different housing and separate strobe, it also may be good. With the canon housing and built in flash it falls short. I had better results with my 6 year old SD500. The "nose" on the housing interferes with the flash reuslting in significant shadows on one side. You also can't access the rear dial with the canon housing. You are also limited to f8 (an unadvertised feature which really hurts on macro).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Pocket Camera I've ever owned

By Traveler from Florida on 03/05/2011


Pros:

Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I still have a lot to learn about all the neat features offered by this camera, but what I've learned to do so far has made it possible to take spectacular photos. My first use of the S95 was on a trip to Cambodia (Angkor Wat). There were 15 other travelers in my group . . . almost all with expensive, bulky SLR cameras. By the time the trip ended, all 15 were ready chuck their SLRs and buy a Powershot S95. The low light pictures were amazing - none of the SLR cameras could even come close. I was also very surprised how sharp most of the digital zoom pictures were even though I wasn't using a tripod. All the colors were bright and true. I took over 5,000 pictures at full resolution on this trip and need to boil them down to the best 200 for a vacation video. In the past, that's not been a problem because I was lucky if I had 200 really good photos. But with the S95, 80% were really good. I love this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera

By tyminit from California on 03/01/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Coming from a Canon S80 that I loved so much, this camera is a huge improvement. The S95's stats on paper did not impress me, but I was forced to upgrade to the S95. This camera is much faster and has much more features than the S80. F2.0 aperture, expanded ISO range from 80-3200 w/ a boost up to 12,800, 10% image sensor and picture stabilization makes it impossible to come away with a blurry picture. The O ring function is a god send; No more fumbling through the Menu for the O ring allows me to adjust shutter speed on the spot. In camera HDR, Miniature Effect, Color Accent & Fish Eye are all features that either require Photoshop or another specialty lense with DSLRs, but come standard on this camera. Don't let the size fool you, this camera is very advanced. If I had to do it all again, I would have upgraded sooner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great low-light, close ups

By M from PA on 02/26/2011


Pros:

Durable, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just picked up the new Canon PowerShot S95. It is a shockingly small. advanced compact digital camera that takes great low-light, close-up photos using the just the automatic settings. I am hoping the advanced manual features will make it a good bridge camera between my simple point and shoot and high-end DSLR. I take a lot of close-up product shots for my jewelry business, and this camera is fabulous for that. I also edit a magazine so I like the fact that you can save RAW files for printing. JPEGS don't reproduce well. This is a very unusual feature in a compact digital. I am so happy that this small camera can take high-quality images. I leave a big camera at home most of the time. This one easily fits in my purse so it should get a lot of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

don't bother

By unhappy from Undisclosed on 02/25/2011


Pros:

Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Over Priced, Missing Features/settings, Flimsy Construction

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

don't bother buying this so called upgrade. many features missing found on powershot S90. the only improvement is the "bigger" lcd screen. that is it. on both, the video playback sound went bust. i can no longer listen to videos when in playback mode on camera. on my S90 it lasted for about 4 months on this the S95 1 month if that...... it is by no means as user friendly, intuitive as the S90. i should have stuck with that one. not at all sure why it got such good ratings


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

sweet pocket cam w good control and image quality

By skippy from Sacramento, ca on 02/16/2011


Pros:

Easy To Control Settings, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Cant Re Focus Or Zoom In Movie Mode, No Autofocus Point Selection, Ergonomics A Bit Off

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Rocks for a pocket cam. Way better than my 850IS. I photograph my kids mostly, often in lower light, and Its easy to quickly change settings with the 2 dials and get real good images since its got the F2 and 2fps and auto iso with max control (set mine to 800). Wide angle is good for getting everyone in the frame. Video looks good and sounds good with the stero mics. Screen is nice for cheking image quality I do have a few minor gripes The ergonomics are a bit off if using it all day like me. (I may get the aftermarket grip.) I'd like to be able to control the autofocus point. battery life a bit short. For 400 they should print the maual. Can't zoom or refocus in movie mode. Could use more auto modes like sports for when sharing use with less proficient users. Despite these gripes still a 5 because its fun to shoot with and the photos look great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of bang for the buck

By David from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 02/12/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Smaller and lighter than the "G" series the S95 has a nice feel to it and combines quality construction, ample features, good low-light ability and clear images. Even if you own a DSLR (or are planning to get one) there will always be a place for your S95. The only thing that took getting used to was the pop-up flash as my finger was in the way.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very convienant

By Tanner from Davenport, IA on 02/12/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Good Battery Life, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased camera to replace older Elph. Wanted to have the slim style but give me the features of a DSLR. The great thing is I can stick this in a sleeve and no one knows its there. Great for shooting quick touristy pics in busy cities. There are a few thing I wish it could do more of but its just because I want the world. Great camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small package - big results

By fluke fotography from Studio City, CA on 02/12/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality, Durable, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Great Video, Good Battery Life

Cons:

Low Shutter Speed, No Delete In Zoom Mode, Low Optical Zoom

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having used the S-Series digital cameras from the S-40 days, step by step through the S70. (I even bought the S60 so quickly that I didn't realize it was still a 5 mp camera!) Passing on the S80 due to Canon's decision to drop RAW image processing, I was extremely happy when Canon decided to include it in the S90. I passed on the S90 hoping that Canon would finally step up the optical zoom to those of its other point and shoots, but to no avail. When my S70 finally started to show signs of fatique, I popped for the S95. To cut to the chase, I love this camera. It by no means replaces my 5D or 50D EOS bodies and lenses, it is quick on the draw and allows me to get shots that would be gone if I had to set up one of my bigger rigs. The 10 mp sensor lets me zoom in on crowds or faces taken from long distances and print large portraits of people that had no idea there was a camera snapping their photo. (One pet peeve I have with the S95 is its inability to erase an image when it has been zoomed in on; you have to zoom out to the original photo. I am not sure why Canon has set up the camera in this way, but they should change this feature.) Did I say the video rocks? I'm a still photographer by profession, but after using the video processor on a recent assignment into Mexico, I was blown away by the videos I saw on my big monitor. Because of its low shutter speed I am thinking about getting the next G-series camera for my small backup, but the S95 fits into a small shirt pocket and, sometimes taking photos at 85 mph on motorcycle, I will probably end up with both.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has almost all features I need

By Barbeta from Tallahassee, FL on 02/11/2011


Pros:

Small Enough To Put In Your Pocket, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd, Durable, Lightweight/portable, Many Features But Takes A While To Learn Them, Takes Very Good Pictures If You Know How To Use It

Cons:

The Optical Zoom Fixed When Filming Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used the S95 for more than two months already. It has pretty good low light performance, better than regular point and shoot cameras. But it is still far from the SLR cameras or the micro four thirds ones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing

By ken from Santa Barbara, CA on 02/10/2011


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Short Battery Life, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had high hopes for this camera, but I am very disappointed in it. I have several other Canon cameras I am very satisfied with, but not this one. From the first day I received it, I found that it had a lot of noise in broad daylight at ISO 100. The focus was also quite soft. I was shooting in raw, so these issues could be remedies somewhat by fiddling in ACR, but not completely. I wouldn't think this should be necessary, anyway. After two months of babying this camera, I got a "lens error" where the lens would not retract. I had to send the camera back for warranty repairs. This was really too much. For a camera this expensive, I don't think this should happen. I still have a Canon SD500 that functions flawlessly after many many years. I just can't recommend this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I needed low light -- and i got it

By chuckpete from chicago, il on 02/10/2011


Pros:

Durable, Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Good Battery Life, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu

Cons:

Missing Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the S95 to be able to shoot in low light without a flash. I shot indoors at the auto show and got better results than ever before. I've taken the camera on vacation and love it. I appreciate its small size. Downsides: Need to carry an extra charged battery, which was expected. Colors were off a little on an indoor flash, but I'm quibbling. Love the low light capability of this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Men's Camera

By Since66 from SE Washington on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Easy To Use, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Low-light Performance, Usable Digital Zoom, Nice Features/settings, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Wrist Strap Is Too Long

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you're a man and you don't want to carry a camera bag, this is the best camera yet. Women with purses can go a little larger (think G12), but for a shirt-pocket camera this absolutely cannot be beat. The photo quality, especially if you're going to PhotoShop, is amazingly noise-free. The dual IS and large sensor work wonders in low light. I added an auxiliary grip, extra battery, and a screen protector - all good ideas. The only way this camera could be better is if it went wider - to 24 or 21mm equivalent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the Go-To Pocket Camera

By StevethePoet from McLean, VA on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Good Battery Life, Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I get serious, I fit a lens to my D7000 DSLR and head out. The rest of the time my S95 is in my pocket or on my belt. I love the ease of access of the control ring and spin dial. I adjust exposure and zoom with ease. Amazing closeups, amazing quality for such a small package. I have fun with special effects, like the fish-eye. I have taken beautiful videos, our wedding vow re-affirmation, for example. The sound capture is unexpectedly good (much better than the single mike on my DSLR). It feels like a DSLR mushed into small package. Negatives? I wish it were not quite so smooth surfaced - would make it easier to hold it with a firm grip. I carry a spare battery, just in case, so I can pop it in. So far, it has given me plenty of warning before it's time to switch. This camera gets pluses all from me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it x 10

By jimr from Colorado on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Bright Lcd, Nice Features/settings, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I agree with most of the reviews - an amazing camera in a small package. And a way for me to get HDR and RAW w/o shelling out for an expensive, bulky DSLR (not that I would mind having one...). FYI, Adobe added raw support for S95 in a recent update. I'm especially pleased with indoor shots, does great in low light, flash has good range, no bad light fall-off with distance. Did great in snow mode while skiing too. Excellent color accuracy, sharpness, just very high quality images. Way better than my previous cheapo pocket camera. Agree with the nit about the popup flash location, but I just move my finger when I feel it get nudged. Lots of menus, I haven't learned all the tricks yet, this is a very feature-rich camera. The only real limitation I've had so far is that at longer zooms the lens is not fast enough for action sports that are out of flash range under indoor light (basketball). This is definitely a case where a big fast SLR lens would be an advantage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for low light

By DRC from Metuchen, NJ on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the S95 to have a compact camera I could carry with me everywhere, since I was always seeing shots I wanted to take but hadn't carried my SLR. This is just what I wanted. It is especially good with low-light shots, which has been good during the long winter nights. A perfect camera would have a longer zoom and wider exposure range, but this has worked well in a variety of situations for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MORE THAN JUST A POINT AND SHOOT

By Anonymous from NEW YORK CITY on 02/09/2011


Pros:

Excellent Image Quality, Versitile, Easy To Use, Good Low-light Performance, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Simple Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THE CAMERA i HAVE WITH ME ..i'VE HEARD THAT EXPRESSION ALL MY LIFE, FROM PHOTOGRAPHERS WHEN ASKED, " WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CAMERA?" i OWN TWO cANON dslr'S, A 40d AND AN XT. tHEY BOTH PERFORM WONDERFULY AND i LOVE 'EM.... BUT i CAN'T (AND WON'T) TAKE THEM ALMOST EVERYWHERE i GO. tHE S95 IS ON ONE HAND SOPHISTICATED ENOUGH TO ALLOW RAW FILES TO BE CAPTURED AND MANUAL SETTINGS TO USED FOR OPTIMUM PERSONALIZATION...AND ON THE OTHER HAND PERFECTLY SIMPLE WITH A FULL "AUTO" MODE...SO TIME IS NOT WASTED AND YOU GET ACCEPTABLE RESULTS...LOW LIGHT PERFORMANCE,THE STABILIZING SYSTEM,AND THE BUILD QUALITY ASSURE YOU OF YEARS OF GREAT PHOTO FUN...THAT YOU'LL ALWAYS HAVE IN YOUR POCKET!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent picture quality

By swj from North East on 02/07/2011


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

No Manual Included

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Takes great photos in auto mode. But I need a compact manual to take with me to access the other features. I printed out all 200 pages of the manual, but it is in a huge notebook and not very convenient in the field -- kind of defeats the whole idea of a super compact camera if one has to lug a huge notebook! I have a Canon SLR which takes amazing pics, but am enjoying having a tiny camera for travel. I hope I can figure out features beyond the auto mode. I rated the "features" as a three only because I haven't figured them out yet!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a great leap from my SD990is

By Scooter from NJ on 01/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

High quality, well built camera. Liked it so much I bought a retro leather case for it. Disappointed a little as the better lense didn't compensate for the drop from 14.1 to 10.1 MP. Video is much better with the S95. Satisfied with the purchase but would have like it better with a hot shoe and more optical zoom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera, but NO HARD COPY manual

By dal57 from Centennial, CO on 01/02/2011


Pros:

Good Battery Life, Bright Lcd, Lightweight/portable, Excellent Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the camera, but the fact that there is no hard copy of the manual is unbelievable. I am very upset that CANON has taken this route. Given the high price point, a printed manual should be included. Other than that, love the photo and video quality. The battery lasts, the camera is very compact, and the auto features are easy to use. However, without the manual, it is difficult to figure out the custom features. Tried to print the manual, but it is almost 200 pages!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Control Dial Problems

By Ron from Mountain View, CA on 12/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Would have liked for the pop-up flash to be integrated into the body. Most of the people who I ask to take a picture using the camera accidently hold down the flash causing problems. Also, would like to be able to optionally turn off the Control Dial feature when in "P" (Program) Mode. It is way too easy to spin it by just holding the camera causing an improperly exposed or grainy, ISO 3200 photo. The Control Ring on the front is okay but the Control Dial is too easily spun. I suppose this last thing could be added as a downloadable software upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You will love this camera!

By gin from Long Island, New York on 12/27/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Good Battery Life, Excellent Image Quality, Nice Features/settings, Easy To Use, Durable, Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera a few months ago and love it! the picture is great and easy to use. If you want a small camera that takes great pics.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had the camera for ...

By Rich from Undisclosed on 12/27/2010


Pros:

Good Low-light Performance, Lightweight/portable, Bright Lcd

Cons:

Poor Image Quality, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had the camera for two months and am disappointed. Images are fine when entire subject is of relatively uniform brightness or illumination, but when there are bright and darker areas mixed, any object or subject near the bright area is overexposed or washed out. For example, if a subject is near a lamp, there is unacceptable glare from the lamp and the subject is washed out or has low contrast. This happens even when I use the default settings on the camera. It does not happen with my Canon SLR (EOS20D) or my older Powershot camera. Maybe the S95 is too sensitive to low light and overcompensates when there is contrasting well illuminated or brighter subjects in the same image as less bright subjects. Otherwise the camera is fine.....tons of bells and whistles. Wish they had included a full manual rather than having to use the CD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent step up from my old Powershot

By MongooseNX from Medford, OR on 12/25/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Good Low-light Performance, Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality

Cons:

There Is Definitely A Lot To Learn...but I Love It, Complicated Controls/menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Upgraded from a a610 which I loved...I can't believe how far camera's have come....the s95 is AMAZING...indoor pictures that would be pure darkness with my 610, look like well lite rooms with my S95...thank you Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Upgraded my S90

By Camera Addict from Hillsboro, OR on 12/23/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Excellent Image Quality, Lightweight/portable, Durable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Good Low-light Performance

Cons:

Missing Features/settings, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One thing I have learned from upgrading to the next model, is that the quirks that bothers you do get fix like the wheel mysteriously change the ISO which results in bad pictures. The wheel mysteriously also changes the scene moods with the lightest touch which again results in bad pictures. However, a key thing I have learned is the things you enjoyed about the camera also gets taken away from you. Yes, there are 18 scene moods which 5 are new; but they took away the ones that I actually used like Night Scene, Night Snapshot and Sunset. Really, who is going to want Miniature Effect or Fish-eye Effect, and miss a beautiful SUNSET that is seconds from going down. Or want to miss taking a picture of Christmas lights with their child in it using the Night Scene. The people that want the Miniature Effect or Fish-eye are not the people that carry a point and shoot for convenience. Granted I did not use the Aquarium mood, but I would think that would come in handy rather than the Underwater when you can't put that camera underwater without an accessory. Just wish I knew this before I sold my S90 and bought a S95. I'm not saying I regret what I did because the feel of the camera is nice. The function menu is more logical than the previous model which protects the user from accidentally changing the settings. The wheel also has a mild resistance / click than the previous model also. I also want to add that there were few occasions the Night Scene mood let me down on the S90, so maybe that is why it was removed. Though I really miss the Sunset mood because it was an amazing setting. Just glad that I went to the FL Keys with the older model. I also want to add that I also own a Canon 40D with some nice lenses, so I use this when I don't want to stand out and to always have a camera handy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera... one reservation

By spudnut from Seattle on 12/14/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls/menu, Bright Lcd, Easy To Use, Nice Features/settings

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Experienced Lens Error

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great camera. I own both the G11 and the Ti SLR, but wanted a camera that was small enough to pocket while visiting European cities. The quality of image, features and flexibility (I use the lens ring for exposure compensation) are wonderful. Battery life is mediocre compared to G11 or other point and shoots. I have gotten the dreaded lens error message, which has got me worried. Camera simply refuses to extend lens. It went away, but do you trust it to be your "only" camera on a once-in-a-lifetime trip?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not quite what I was expecting

By Sam from San Diego, CA on 12/10/2010


Pros:

Bright Lcd, Excellent Image Quality, Easy To Use, Simple Controls/menu, Lightweight/portable

Cons:

Poor Low-light Performance, Short Battery Life

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've used Powershots S - SX series for years, but they are getting too chunky, so I decided to try this smaller camera. I especially wanted to use it in low light as it has an f2 lens. A friend had shown me her S90 and it seemed an interesting camera. Well, surprise, surprise - no night shot choices on SCN anymore. What an idiotic thing to do, to swap out night shots for 'minaturization effect" --??? How many people use THAT? And the aquarium setting is gone for shooting through glass. This will teach me to really research a product and not assume things transfer from one model to the next. What I do like about the camera is that the wheel is much easier to use than on past models, and I like the ring feature. I've been pleased with closeups. The LCD screen is huge and easy to see. The battery worries me, as other powershots had easy to find batteries and when travelling I can see I will need several batteries, as they last about 250 shots. I modified the camera with a small grip (hey, Canon, think about this!) so it's easier to hold. Maybe after I use this camera for awhile it will grow on me. The night shots that I did take were no better than with my past powershots. So I'm disappointed with this aspect of the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not too sure

By ruby from Undisclosed on 12/10/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera to take with me over seas. The online user guide is not at all user friendly. The volume for the videos stopped working within a month, and the battery died in less than a month too. It didn't need to be recharged. it just died. Batteries are not cheap. Battery life (on the ones that DO work) are very short. I do not like where the flash is located. However, it does take good pictures and videos, minus the sound!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

99% Amazing

By Ruskin from Undisclosed on 12/03/2010


Pros:

Nice Features/settings, Lightweight/portable, Easy To Use, Bright Lcd, Simple Controls/menu, Good Low-light Performance, Excellent Image Quality, Durable

Cons:

Short Battery Life, Flash Gets In The Way

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera not to replace, but to complement my fleet of manual film cameras. When I don't want to lug around my SLR or pay for high-end film development, I take this camera out into the field with confidence. The low-light capabilities and manual options are fun, easy to use, and deliver great results. The low-light capabilities are what originally sold me on this camera. I was delighted when I shot my first indoor and night (without the flash) pics. The image quality is amazing for a point-and-shoot, and the size and weight of the camera allow you to pack it along wherever you go. Though this camera is superb for typical snapshots, it's really designed (and priced) for more thoughtful photography. I never used this camera on the "Auto" setting--there's no point. If you just want an automatic point-and-shoot, then there's no need to buy the S95. This camera is designed for someone who knows exactly what they want out of a photograph. I'm surprised by the results I get from the preset scene options, and find myself working with them quite often. There's enough artistic flexibility in this camera that you won't need to do any doctoring of the photographs after you take them. And if you're into that, then you can shoot in RAW. I like having the option. I don't use this camera to shoot in RAW, but I love knowing that I can. There are 2 things I don't like: 1) the battery doesn't last too long (you'll definitely need to buy a backup, which isn't cheap). 2) The pop-up flash pops where your finger naturally rests (I'm afraid of breaking the flash mechanism). A very fine camera that I've recommended to many people.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it! BUT

By Lindy from South Florida on 11/27/2010


Cons:

Where Is The Complete Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After using all the big Canon bodies and lenses for years, this little fellow is so welcomed. Now I have a camera to always have with me for the fun shots of family and friends that is good quality. It seems to work like a charm and saves my back from having to haul all the heavy camera equipment. My only complaint is that I can't figure out some of the functions. In the box is a small basic manual to get you started. I mastered it quick then, I wanted to play with the other functions that is advertised and didn't have any directions. I accessed the complete manual on line but I wanted it in my hands to refer to when I was out taking pictures. I can print it but, it is 196 pages! I contacted Canon and I was told that they didn't have any but, they would print it out on 8 1/2 X 11 pages and it would take 6-8 weeks. For right now I have to be content using it as a simple point and click and it does that job very well but I could of got one much cheaper if I that is all I wanted in a small camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best pocket camera

By demerzel from California on 11/17/2010


Pros:

Excellent Images In A Pocket Camera

Cons:

No Printed Manual

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very handy easy to use camera. Good quality in a pocket camera. There are many features that I would use if there were a printed manual. This is a definite shortcoming. I don't find the CD manual at all user friendly. Despite that I like the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Upgrade

By Anonymous from Ohio on 11/17/2010


Pros:

Size Features Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I started looking for a DSLR for picture quality, but was not sure I wanted the burden of carrying such a large camera. I stumbled upon the S95 and it appeared to be a good fit. It has a large array of features in a compact body. After taking a few snapshots I was very pleased with the superior photos I obtained when compared to other point and shoots. Taking photographs has become enjoyable and nearly addictive with this camera. No regrets purchasing this camera. None.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Except Nature Macro

By MT Fotoman from Undisclosed on 11/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a S90 and tested the S95 (extensively). I love this camera EXCEPT it has limited ability to obtain focus of flowers and other "natural" macro items. It appears to be confused by objects without a significant amount of contrast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One major flaw

By JRA from Windham, NH on 11/08/2010


Cons:

Pop Up Flash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased 4 days ago and returned today for only one reason.. First of all this is my 6th canon camera. I love them. My only problem with this one is the pop up flash on left top of body. It pops up and that is where my left hand holds the camera. I could not take flash photos due to the pop up flash..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dynamite in a small package

By Sue from Southwest USA on 11/06/2010


Pros:

Compact Size, Low Light Capabilities, Professional Features

Cons:

Placement Of Flash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera right before leaving on an overseas vacation so I had little time to play with it before putting it to use. It was not a problem. This camera takes excellent pictures under a variety of different shooting conditions and the controls are not hard to figure out. I was especially impressed with its low light capabilities compared to other compact digital cameras that I have owned. It performs well on Auto but offers many more features for the photographer to explore. All of this in a small easy to carry size. My only complaint is that it takes a little getting used to the placement of the pop up flash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very pricey

By italian from Undisclosed on 11/05/2010


Pros:

The Features Inside Small Camera

Cons:

Price!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this camera is the best digital i have ever seen. Although the thing that really gets me of the roof is the price Canon should consider that because many people love it but cant afford it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth every penny!

By Wedding Pro from Bronx on 10/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very impressed! I own one for a week now and I am very happy. I am more excited about this camera than all my DSLRs (and I own 3). Great low light performance! Stabilization is amazing and makes a huge difference! The best thing is that I can have it with me everywhere I go! Smaller than I expected which is great. I also purchased PSC-900 and it fits perfectly. Wider lens would be great but that's really pushing it! When you look at the size of this camera you wonder how did they manage to squeeze all those features in?! Go buy one and you will not regret it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally...

By EW29FAN from Harrisonburg, Virginia on 10/24/2010


Pros:

Impressive Low Light Shooting, Impressive Manual Mode, Shoots In Raw, Good Looks, Impressive Features

Cons:

Slightly Noisy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a Canon DSLR and realized it does not go everywhere!! I knew the S95 was the camera I wanted due to its impressive feature list. It is truly a DSLR in a point-and-shoot's body! I did have a hard time finding the S95 locally and purchased a different Powershot model. I took it back a few hours later when I learned a local photographer who deals in Canon sold the S95. I bought it and have not looked back. Some say the price is too high, but for the features it is worth it. Buying a DSLR would cost several times the cost of this camera! Overall, if you are looking for a point-and-shoot that thinks it is a DSLR, or are, like me, a semi-professional photographer looking for a second camera, BUY THE S95!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An amazing Point & Shoot Camera

By Pete from SouthEast U.S. on 10/23/2010


Pros:

Optical/digital Zoom Exceeded Expectations, Super In Low Light, Super Flexibility In Settings, Super Images, Great Lcd Display, Easy To Use

Cons:

Pricey But Feeling More Worth It Every Day

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having used dozens of different digital and other cameras over the years...I have gotten to the point where I no longer require all the extended hardware and bulky phot equipment. After signficant research, I narrowed my search for an easy-to-use, but powerful, camera that provided excellent images and super flexibility in settings. I found it in the new Powershot S95. Many raved about the Powershot S90, and now Canon :"tweaked" that unit to product the S95 winner. I just purchased a few weeks ago, and have loved it ever since.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing little camera

By FtLauderdale37 from Florida on 10/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I never thought that this little camera would be this amazing ! Very good pictures , great auto-programs and tons of adjustments .I was a little apprehensive about the price/value factor , but after using this camera I think it's a steal ! Simply the best point and shoot out there . Almost DSLR quality pictures in a little pocket camera . Forget everything you know about point and shoot cameras , this is simply a different class of camera . Shoots almost as good as some of the EVIL cameras. I am thrilled ! Buy it , it worth the money .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

POWER IN YOUR POCKET

By tanginamo from east bay, CA on 10/06/2010


Pros:

Pocket-size Fully Manual Control Layout Finish

Cons:

Lanyard To Long

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simply amazing point and shoot. Had the G10 and finally got a DSLR 2 years after. I realized that the G10 was not as pocketable and if I was carrying something in a case it was my DSLR. Enter the S95 Specs and performance equal to the G11/G12 without the bulk and you can't forget about the price.......plus, it fits in a front pocket. Canon puts out a lot of products for photographers and I believe this to be one of those gem's that shines in every way that only comes out every couple years. Matte black, stealth, and pocketable. I would pick one of these up now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not perfect - but very good

By mscada from Seattle on 10/02/2010


Pros:

Features, Size, Great Sensor, Low Light Perfomance (f2.0)

Cons:

Control Wheel Placement, Pop-up Flash Placement, Hard To Navigate Controls

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the best cameras I ever had, but it has a number of design problems. Pop up flash gets obstructed by hand on its way up and camera locks up completely. Control wheel placement is very bad. The settings often are changed by accident during shooting. Some controls are counterintuitive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I went back to Canon

By JM from Denver, CO on 09/29/2010


Pros:

Solid Build Quality, Great Looking Shots Even In Low Light, Easy To Handle And Fits In Jeans Pocket

Cons:

No Optical Zoom During Video, Max Aperture At Full Tele Is Small, Optical Zoom Range Is Narrow (5x Would Be Perfect)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After a very disappointing experience with a travel zoom from another manufacturer (TZ5), I can honestly say that I am very happy with the S95. This time, I prioritized image quality over features and zoom range and it's been a great decision. My first digital cam was the PowerShot A80, and it still takes better quality photos than the TZ5. The S95 affords the large image sizes typical of modern compacts, but without the noise and poor low light performance that seems to the norm in so many other models. You can get great shots indoors (even in low candle-lit situations) up to about ISO 800 without the flash, thanks to the bright lens at wide angle. In Auto mode the camera will want to push that up to ISO 1600, but the wealth of manual controls means you don't have to be stuck with that situation. ISO 1600 shots and above are usable for uploading to websites, but I wouldn't use them for any prints. Outdoors, or in reasonably bright situations, pictures are fantastic, with little or no noise and very accurate colors, if perhaps a tiny bit saturated. The S95 is a solid camera with plenty of controls for a wide range of photographic situations. While it is a little pricey, and a 5x optical zoom would be ideal, these are minor quibbles and would not keep me from buying this camera. I don't even miss the 10x zoom of the TZ5! A few minor notes: The LCD is polarized to help with visibility in bright light. If you're wearing polarized sunglasses, you may notice the screen image disappear when you rotate the camera for portrait shots. Not a big deal, just take off your sunglasses! Also, the coating on the camera is great! It has a nice tactile feel, and gives you a much more confident grip.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid pocket camera

By cnick6 from Seattle, WA on 09/21/2010


Pros:

Size, User Interface, Construction/build Quality

Cons:

Price, Automatic White Balance Could Be Better, Average Image Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really excellent pocket camera that can be taken just about anywhere. Excellent construction and efficient controls are Canon hallmarks. The user interface is also extremely clean and well designed but nothing new to Canon. The image quality from the S95 could be a bit better but this is a true pocket camera and quality is a sacrifice for its size. The S95's 720p HD video recording is very, very good. Battery life was longer than the specifications indicated. Price is a tad high but expected for Canon reputation. A solid upgrade for S90 owners. First time buyers need to decide if image quality or portability is more important.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this camera!!

By Jimbob from Gresham, Oregon on 09/16/2010


Pros:

Raw Files, Tiny Size, Sharp F2.0 Lens

Cons:

Only 200 Shots Per Battery Charge, No Physical Instruction Manual To Carry With Me.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the S95 has many of the creative features of leading prosumer dslr's at a fraction of the size, weight and cost. Can't beat that with a stick. The new grippy surface makes the camera much easier to hold and handle than it's predecessor. I love the C function which allows me to select and use my own custom HDR settings. The LCD screen is brilliant and very sharp, making composition much easier on the eyes. I haven't tested the S95 at all ISO's yet, but I have done quite a bit of shooting at 400 ISO and as far as I can tell the files (raw) are noise free. Amazing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More Then Met My Expectations

By . from Texas on 09/11/2010


Pros:

Compact Size, Fast Lens, Low Light, Excellent Picture Quality, Continuous Shooting, Creative Modes

Cons:

Somewhat Narrow Range On Lens

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been waiting on the s95 since it was announced. I finally received mine and I am extremely impressed. I previously owned the s90 and loved it to death, literally. The s95 corrects all the s90's flaws. It is VERY quick. Over 1.5 frames per second at full megapixels. This really makes a difference with kids, pets, and life in general. It is slimmer, sleeker, and the control ring feels more precise. Plus, the new modes like High Dynamic Range mode, which I absolutely adore, and high definition video just complete the package. The picture quality is always superb - whether on Auto Mode or any of the wonderful customizable modes such as Aperture Priority and Shutter Priority. It is also worth mentioning that no camera I've come across before now does nearly as well in low light situations except, of course, the s90. This camera is definitely one of the best small point-and-shoots on the market right now. It is a fantastic, discreet camera of near professional quality. I am very, very satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for indoor shots!

By Dick from Rancho Mirage,CA on 09/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This new Canon S95 has a dedicated icon on the thumb dial for low-light situations--no need to go through a typical "Scene" menu in order to select "indoor" or "party", or to manually set up white balance and ISO for indoors. And, the camera works terrifically at this setting--bright, clear and color-accurate indoor shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Upgrade to S90

By Photoham from Albuquerque NM on 08/29/2010


Pros:

Fast Lens, Large Sensor

Cons:

A Little Pricey, Somewhat Narrow Range On Lens

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice upgrade to the S90. Added features are better IS, more vivid colors (optional setting), better grip finish on case. The best feature is the larger sensor resulting is better low light performance. Glad Canon did not get into the megapixel race and stayed with 10 MP. More MP, smaller cell size equals poor low light performance. The fast f/2.0 lens is another plus (better than the G11) Would like a wider range zoom (24-150?).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved