Home » Audio » Radios » Cb Radios » 148GTL » 7 Reviews

Cobra Electronics 148gtl 40 Channel Cb Radio (148-gtl) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 7 reviews)

66% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

can not find a replacement mike anywhere

By jack rabbit from Lubbock, TX, USA on 01/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

ft from Lordsburg New Mexico to Lubbock Texas for a replacement mic for the GTL 148 you cannot find one


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great cb radio

By War Wagon from Elmhurst, IL, USA on 01/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought one of the new cobra 148gtl cb's with the front mic jack in may 2011 and a cobra m75 power mic to go with it and i have been really happy with both of them i have talked to a friend 14 miles away on sideband using a 4ft firestick antenna on the roof of my van he was shocked when i told him i was using a 4ft antenna as he was using a 9ft ss whip antenna. The 148gtl has been in several vehicles of mine and at the moment serves as a base station powered by a 12 volt power supply.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Radio

By Retro from Salyersville, KY, USA on 10/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have bought 3 of the newer 148 GTLs over the course of the past couple years with the front facing mic plug and they've all 3 been outstanding radios. I have one in my pickup truck, one on my wife's car, and one in the house set up as a base station with an AC to DC power supply and a Solarcon A-99 base antenna. They have all 3 performed great and I always get good audio reports and compliments on how great it sounds. The SSB works great and the built in SWR meter is dead on with my external meter. The NB/ANL seems to work pretty good, although the radio does not seem to be terribly sensitive to interference compared to some other radios I've used, and I like the knobs a lot better than the small ones on the Cobra 29 LX. This is about as good as a CB radio gets. For those that like the newer looking digital CB radios though like the Cobra 29 LX or the newer Uniden radios, this might not be the radio for you. It has the classic chrome front face with chromed buttons and an analog meter. It doesn't have built in talkback or echo, and the clarifier (called Voicelock on Cobra radios) does not adjust your transmit frequency, only the receive(although this is because of FCC regs, not because of an intentional lack of capability). It also doesn't have channel scan, instant channel 9, or an antenna light, although it does have a built in SWR calibration/check function so if you're curious about your antenna condition you can check your SWR, and even leave the meter on that function if you want to keep an eye on your SWR while transmitting. Overall though, they don't get much better than the Cobra 148 GTL if you want a reliable, professional grade CB radio, especially considering the relatively low price. Just look up any CB radio club or forum and ask people what they think about the Cobra 148 GTL. It's a great looking classic style CB radio with good sounding audio both sent and received even on single side band, and enough major features to make anybody happy. After owning various other radios from other manufacturers, there's a reason I run nothing but these radios in both vehicles and in my house, and I would recommend them to anybody.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cobra 148GTL CB Radio

By Shawn from New Jersey on 02/20/2011


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Great Sound Quality, Good Power Output, Accurate Controls, Easy To Setup, Easy To Modify, Most Popular Ssb Cb Radio, Easy To Set Up

Cons:

Don't Have Fm Mode

Describe Yourself:

Engineer

Best Uses:

Emergency Communication

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best AM / SSB CB Radio out there. Proven over time. Easy to add Extra Channels, get More Modulation and Power. Very simple to convert to a 10 meter Amateur Radio Transceiver. The key to good working Radio transmission and reception is a good antenna. I have recommended three great antenna products below.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dont buy this radio

By Big Dirty Verified Reviewer from Tacoma, WA on 11/18/2010


Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Here is the letter I sent to Cobra..............Let me start by saying that everyone tells me that your CBs are the best. Frankly, I havent seen it. While on a road trip to California this past Sunday, I purchased a 148 GTL while I was in Southern Oregon. I brought it home and hooked it up. Low and behold it wouldnt transmit. So, I had to take a day off from work, drive 340 miles to Southern Oregon, and return it. I purchased another one closer to home, and it worked great. For about a day. Now it wont transmit. Then, I find out that there is nowhere in WA that does warranty work for Cobra. So, I drove 680 miles, burned up 70 dollars in gas to do so, and bought a radio in WA that was more expensive due to higher dealer prices and sales taxes, and IT doesnt work either. So, I cant say how disappointed I am, and extremely upset that this experience, which should be a cool one, totally sucks [*]. Sorry I had to go there, but you dont uinderstand the frustration. I am about three seconds fron throwing it through the window of the jack*ss driver that cut me off on the way home and nearly ran me off the road. But, I digress. So far this has cost me [$] for the radio, 70 dollars in gas, and 45 dollars for a shop visit. (Since there is no warranty service in WA) And, I have zip to show for it. Thanks Cobra. Im about to post this letter on facebook, and every radio review site I can find if this matter is resolved withn some degree of satisfaction on my part. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What you would expect from Cobra

By Bill Verified Purchaser from El Dorado, CA on 10/24/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Cons:

Short Range

Describe Yourself:

Casual/recreational, Casual/ Recreational

Pros:

Clear Signal, More Capability Than Most

Best Uses:

Rv Communication

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought it to use in RV caravans. Due to mounting problems in motorhome , I have to build a longer mic cord. Noticed strong bleed over from truckers on adjacent channels. Range is only 2 miles but that may be due to poor ground plane on RV roof.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I liked the first Cobra ...

By Charles J Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 09/21/2006

I liked the first Cobra 148GTL I bought from you so well I had to order a second one. It's probably the best you can buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved