Home » Communications » Handeld Devices » Portable Gps Navigators » 6500PROHD » 34 Reviews

Cobra 6500 Pro Hd Automobile Portable Gps Navigator - 5" - Touchscreen - Speaker - Secure Digital [sd] Card, Multimediacard [mmc] - Lane Assist, Junction View - 1 Hour - Lifetime Map (6500prohd) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 34 reviews)

13% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Was this a gift?:

No (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Freeze up faster than a ice cube

By Torrie from Detroit, MI on 08/29/2015


Recommend:

0

Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Seems to be a good device but it doesn't work! Device keeps freezing up which is a common problem with this product! Purchased this device new for a little over $300 and I never got a chance to use it cause it always freeze up! BAD experience, I would recommend trying a different brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke again

By Josh from Ringtown PA on 07/05/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My GPS 6500 is once again not recieving signal. I sent it in last month it needed to be reset. Ill be sending it back in on Monday (7/6). This time I am not even calling. Both times I called Cobra I waited well over 30 minutes before someone picked up on the other end. It's getting really hard for me to want to stay with Cobra. I love their CB's but it seems like with the reviews of the GPS and the problems I am having it's time to go with Rand McNally


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not deliver what is promised.

By Booth from OHIO on 06/30/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this GPS to replace another product line I had in a second truck I just bought. I liked the features but since have regretted the decision. I have had the same problems a lot of people have had with freezing up. I reprogrammed, rebooted, and even tried a factory reset to clear all data. None of this has worked. I have sent now approximately 5-6 emails via cobra's system with only on answer to the first one. I am now trying the phone line as I am writing this for the fourth day. Each time I have been on hold for 15-20 minutes with no answer. I find this to be unsettling seeing how I spent over $300 for top notch quality in which I did not receive. I look forward to discussing the problem with Cobra, if they ever answer the phone. I am determined to hold Cobra to the one year warranty period. Either refund me my money or fix the product that you have out on the market to HARD WORKING TRUCK DRIVERS that you make your living on!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

its broken!

By chris loew from racine wi on 06/14/2015

I bought my Cobra hd 6000 pro a couple years ago. I hardly used it due to it falling from windshield so much because the suction cup/mount it came with was garbage. N e way the stupid socket that the power adapter plugged into the back of the gps broke... not the cord but the actuall socket piece that is on the back of the unit itself!!!! so now what can i do!!! this thing was 350$ and i still wish to use it and cant when i cant bring it any power!!!!! Please tell me how much a repair like this will cost cuz i dont want to have to take it apart and solder it on my own!!! ill void a warranty that already expired anyways but i dont want to tamper n ruin it more than it already is!!! i want a new adapter cord and pc solderd on to unit along with a nice mount!!!! let me know what i gotto pay please and ty by the way everyone who is having issues with freezing and speed of unit do this !! Take off the setting of where things are like upcoming resturants and gas stations along with speed traps! it will speed ur unit up way better and u will not have those issues anymore!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not what i was expecting

By firerescue72501 from Undisclosed on 06/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just bought this unit today and spent 5 hours trying to connect to a server to update software...adds more time and miles to my routes then my company qualcomm/gps in my big rig...its useless if it doesnt work right....may sell it and get a magellan or rand mcnally if i need to


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

horrible

By nightstalker from Undisclosed on 06/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this unit 5 days ago updated it it freezes like I have no gps signal waste of money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

never works

By truck driver 86 from Berea, KY, USA on 06/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this two months ago ordered new power cord cause they said it would fix the freezing up. Still don't work. Nothing but a $300 piece of junk..... I want my money back...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

limited life

By Barry from tennessee on 06/06/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

have had 2 professional GPS units 1st 6000, second 6500 . neither lasted over aprox 1 year. the 6500 was in glove compartment most of a year. both units lost satellite tracking ability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Something aint right

By littledoc from Ringtown, PA, USA on 06/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Last weekend I downloaded the software from when I first got it back in December. Everytime I would go threw a scale in VA. the GOGO.EXE would pop up. This week going down 81 in Va I stopped for fuel it rerouted me. After I got fuel and started going again the GPS was frozen. I turned it off turned it back on a few miles later. It showed where I was at then froze. Same thing happened on Tuesday. I pressed the button to reset it and it turned off and turned back on went looking into the sat and it was gray with a X. Wednesday out in Virginia Beach it was raining and still had no sat..... This went on the whole week. WHY???? My phone has GPS and works except that is for a car not a truck. The truck also has a built in GPS and that works also but I tend to like the Cobra..... So what is the problem that I can not keep a sat connection for more then a mile?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not happy

By Ray2cool from New York, USA on 06/04/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought my 6500 Hd a month ago and have had nothing but bad luck ranging from freezing up while driving and rebooting and the battery life stinks and constant recalculate


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

aarrggghhh

By maggi from Texas, USA on 06/03/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this GPS in December....been good up until a week ago....now it just freezes up....and the problems as everyone else......


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love it

By Mark bennett from sulphur springs tx on 06/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought a month ago had a couple issues with freezing but as soon as I updated it no problems since. I would recommend this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Proline from USA on 06/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this gps few weeks ago and never had a problem until the satellite when down it works way better then the rand McNally gps witch trys to put u on roads that make no sense


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By dont worry bout it from Undisclosed on 05/30/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this product sends me on wrong routes, take too long to give directions, doesnt stay charged and i can't even get the software to update my GPS to work. will be trying to get a refund soon!, do not buy!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pro 6500

By Peteg26 from Undisclosed on 05/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pro 6500 is the worst product on the market do not buy this product I have two of them and they have never worked properly since I bought them they are pieces of junk so be warned


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very disappointed with it

By mark601 from meridian, ms on 05/25/2015

I brought this system about 6 months ago. Since the second the system started to freeze. Long delays when making a turn. The power cord is cheap it went out the first week. Now the system just completely freeze for hours.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Now I see why it was on sale

By the green mile from Mooresville, NC, USA on 05/08/2015

went to get Rand Mcnally but saw the sale price of 169.00 SOLD i said... now i want to SELL this one ... can hardly hear the voice and it reset in the middle of a trip took me 45 min out of my way


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

so far not happy

By RogerT1985 from New Brunswick, Canada on 05/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've only had the junk for 4 hours and I hate it already. I'm a Canadian long haul driver and it's always trying to reroute me to the states and I don't even cross the border. The route I'm on right now it wants me to turn and go 900 km out of the way just to cross the border ,should have an option for international border crossings..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

garbage

By big tom from Undisclosed on 05/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

my wife has this garbage, got it a month ago,was working ok for a few weeks. then she got home and we plugged it in and did all the updates. now the thing keeps locking up, i'st not even a good paper weight at this point. and ive got receipts and box at home now so she cant even try to return it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst GPS ever if I could give negative stars i wo

By acesaire from Seattle, WA, USA on 04/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the 6500 pro , a few weeks ago. Right out of the box the thing did not work so I called and a cust. serv. agent tells me she can ship a sd card to reprogram it. She wouldnt ship express even though I needed to use it when I purchased it. Then I get the sd card and it finally can tell what state I am in. But compared to Garmin and others it is slow , clunky and does not get directions right half the time which makes this thing useless to me. I do not see how they can get away with stealing money for this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't work well

By TM2011 from Newark, NJ, USA on 04/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my spouse about 5 months ago. I always update it but it still seems to give issues. Re-routes all the time, says he's on a no-truck road, turns off alot, very in dependable since it's used for work purposes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Soooo disappointed!!!!

By BlackIce77 from Winston-Salem, NC, USA on 04/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used my Cobra 7700 for quite some time and figured it was time to upgrade! Ha!!! Big mistake purchasing this thing! I hate I sold my old gps for this! Can you explain to my how it recalculates while on a straight stretch of highway or shows the exit im to take and recalculates as soon as I hit the exit??? Returning tomorrow and going with Rand McNally! Im so disappointed in the quality of this unit!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By Jim1973 from Alexandria, KY, USA on 04/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The Battery life on this thing stinks, it will randomly shut off and reboot itself multiple times. You also better have some common sense or you'll be in big trouble it will try to send you down residential streets and even one way streets the wrong way. Wasted my money. Once it is setup for a truck you would think it wouldn't try to send you down residential streets. Also Cobra before you reply to update the software and maps I have already done this multiple times just to be told I have the latest versions. Not happy at all and the stupid thing is only about 3 months old.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A waste of money

By Don Won from Georgia, USA on 04/06/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This thing will shut off, freeze up, and the voice command stutters. battery life is as short as a tooth pick and the routing will get you a ticket. Buy an atlas!!!!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Good

By Countryboi from Cruger Ms on 03/26/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

A piece of junk it worked good for a while then it started to act up and freezes up when start moving do not buy the GPS


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this GPS is a Junk

By Richard EZ from Miami, FL, USA on 02/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this GPS do not connect with the pc for update the information is super slow recalculate many time when you driving and the recalculation is super slow battery do not last I am berry sad with this product expensive and bat quality


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

JUNK

By disappointed truck driver from Shenandoah, IA, USA on 01/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit thinking that it was going to be awesome. But I am very disappointed. It shuts itself off. Doesn't keep charge. Tries to take me through non truck routes. Spent almost 300.00 and its junk... I am NOT happy and WILL NOT recommend your product to ANYONE. Would like some sort of refund of some sort or a way to make this right. GPS is NOT worth my hard earned money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

junk

By bob52 from Beckley W.V. on 11/05/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i bought this 2 months ago and it has sent me out of my way more than once and then on my way home from my last outing it just shut down little blue screen said major failer unit needs to shut down and i pressed ok and now it wont even power up past the initail screen like theres nothing there. big piece of garbage big waste of $300.00. junk junk junk junk junk


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I replaced my garman an wish I hadn't!

By Collenwalker from Statesville, NC, USA on 10/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I don't like the way the 6500 routes. When leaving a store and the interstate is what I wanted to take. (I did anyway) it routes me pass the interstate to another street instead..the routing on this product leaves a lot to be desired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

horrible

By OTR driver from Burlington, NC, USA on 09/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this gps likes to try and route me on a rte that is 200 miles LONGER than what my garmin or peoplenet is saying. the battery is junk. it wil not keep a charge very long so keeping it on the charger 100% of the time is a must. i wish i had gotten the 8500 cuz other drivers have given far better reveiws about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless. id rate it a 0 but at least it turns on

By roadkilltrucker from Milwaukee, WI, USA on 09/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this unit as a gift a month ago. since then it has frozen multiple times. will randomly shut down and will reboot several times before it thinks about working again. the battery life is junk. i always have to leave it plugged in which leads to the next problem. the charging cord is so cheap and loose that it pops out of the socket constantly while running down the road. as far as the commercial routing. forget about it. it tries to route me 20 miles out of the way to my shop because it doesn't like standard 53' settings. once tried to re-route me because it thought that the interstate had a 6000 lb. weight restriction. don't waste your money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Freezes up all the time

By Shayne from Undisclosed on 08/12/2014

I bought this unit cause of the features all it does now for the past two days is freeze up completly useless. I check for updates every weekend im home. Now im on the road and i have a useless piece of plastic. Very disspointed in cobras product quality now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

slow to recalculate. .constantly recalculating.

By lonestar from all 48 on 07/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit 2 months ago..I updated this unit and the only updates available were for the red light camera and speed trap warnings. .no map updates..I like many drivers do not just travel interstate routes. I use alot of u.s. hwys state routes.county/state roads. This unit doent even reconize interstates. It gives you the old u.s. hwy names.it doesnt know the I-10 / I-20 split. I constantly have to reroute it using waypoints.which takes forever. I sure do miss my P.C. Miler. I bought this unit so I could relax and enjoy my ride. 17 yrs otr and Im looking at my map more than I did as a roukie..ive had to reduce the weight setting down to 50,000 lbs because the unit alerts me that im over weight even on interstate hwys.. Cobra. I spent my hard eard money on your product. .I love your c.b.radios but your gps is a total failure. P.s. I will discuss the quality of your radar detector thats in my little truck later..I expect a reply from cobra corp. On this matter.as of now I honestly can not recomend your gps to anyone. It is slow. A headache im better off with a compass and my old driver skills..not how I intended to spend $270.00 of my hard earned money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cobra 6500

By LASNI from Jacksonville,Fl on 07/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

looks to have alot of really nice features. If it would work I might see what those features are. had this piece of junk for 2 months and it might have worked 20 minutes. Set it and rotate the wheels about 5 inches then the screen freeze. Have reset this thing so many times, Ive lost count!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved