Home » Communications » Handeld Devices » Portable Gps Navigators » 8200PROHD » 20 Reviews

Cobra 8200 Pro Hd Automobile Portable Gps Navigator - 7" - Touchscreen - Speaker - Secure Digital [sd] Card, Multimediacard [mmc] - Lane Assist, Junction View, Speed Assist - Usb - 2 Hour (8200prohd) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 20 reviews)

21% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Was this a gift?:

No (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

bad software ,.. frozen screen

By visionsseer from Arkansas on 08/07/2015


Cons:

Not Durable, Power To Unit Broke, Freezes Up On Screen

Describe Yourself:

Practical, Tech Savvy

Best Uses:

Trucking

Pros:

Has All The Truck Stops A

Was this a gift?:

No

Recommend:

1

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

screen freezes up after only 2 months of use .. bought anther brand.. wasted valuable Money .. with high hopes for the product..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Constantly freezing up?!?!?!

By shelz65 from Eaton, OHIO on 07/05/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

Freezes Up

Best Uses:

None At The Moment

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this device since December. Went on Vacation in Early June. When I got back the GPS has frozen up completely. Turns on but the map shows me over in a field. Coworker has a 5600 and his froze up at the same time. Not sure if there is an issue with updating via Cobra or what but if there is it would be nice to know what to do. We rely on these obviously to do our job. Do we send it back, is there an update or what is the problem? I see lots of reviews on here lately with the same issue. Tell us Cobra, is the product junk or is there a simple fix? Not all of us got time to be calling customer service and returning stuff. I have 200 locations loaded in this thing that I use all the time, I don't wanna have to start over. HELP?!?!?!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

need speed

By inkedrob from iowa on 06/29/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

No Speed On Main Screen

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like this 8200 but needs the speed on the main screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i have alot of problems with this device.

By prince from New York, NY on 06/24/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

nothing is great. it only works 50 % of the time. it takes 30 mins to an hr to get through to tech support. this sucks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not happy

By debitindall from Tennessee, USA on 05/29/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the cobra 8200 hd pro a couple months ago for our truck. It keeps freezing up. We depend on our g p s to get us to our destinations. How can i return this and buy a different one? This one has left us calling the companies to get directions how to get there. This isnt exceptable...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not at all reliable.

By DS87 from Northern Virginia on 05/27/2015

I have used this GPS for around 6 months and have not had the best experience with it. I run local flatbed deliveries so I frequently go into areas that are both rural or downtown urban in nature, so my GPS is very important. Unfortunately I find myself having to use my phone more often than not for my routing as this unit is too unreliable. Oftentimes I will follow the GPS's guidance and go down four or five "NO THRU TRUCK" residential roads only to find that my destination is right off of a major highway that was SHORTER MILEAGE than the route that I took! Sometimes I think this unit purposely tries to waste my time and make my routes more difficult, so I find myself checking every route with my phone to make sure that it makes sense. On a related note even totally novice rookie drivers know that in the D.C. area you cannot take a truck on rt 66 east of the beltway (495). Apparently no one told the Cobra because it thinks that you can, and that makes it basically worthless when routing anywhere near the capital, to include Arlington, Alexandria, Crystal City, etc. If you follow this GPS around that area you will find yourself pulled over in a hurry. So again, you must have a phone as a backup to the GPS if you go into D.C. at all, which for me is daily. Probably worse than the terrible routing is the unreliability. My Cobra had issues with freezing and resetting around once a month, but they were usually remedied by updating the software. Recently my Cobra simply freezes as soon as I turn it on. The time still works and all of the features still work but the map won't move from the starting location. I have currently been on hold for 20 minutes to try and remedy the problem. My boss has a Garmin Dezl and it feels like a solid and high-tech device, very modern and seems dead on reliable. My Cobra looks like a cheap 90's GPS by comparison, and for something that I need to rely on every day it has NOT left a good impression.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

unbelievable!!

By csevy from Grandville, MI, USA on 05/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I can't believe how worthless this is. It can't find the shortest or best route ever.....I freezes up constantly........Going from Detroit to Chicago anyone would take I 94.....a direct route....this junk routes you to Toledo Oh....usually 25% longer than my $79 . Tom Tom GPS


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, but flawed

By Curbrunner from Western Massachusetts on 05/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I started out with the 8000, upgraded to the 8200. All and all, I've been using this for a little over a year now. The good; Large, clear screen Lane assist is on the money and gives me plenty of warning. Traffic works in the areas that utilize it. The bad; It takes FOREVER to recalculate a route. Usually I'll go pass the next turn it is calculating before it is done, then it has to recalculate all over again. I previously had a PC Miler GPS and it was extremely fast with rerouting. Speaker can get distorted at max volume and max volume is not that loud. Only one voice option? It would be nice to have other voices to choose from. Some people hear better at different frequency ranges. It will try to send me down streets that have been clearly marked "NO Commercial Vehicles" for years. Weigh Station listings are extremely out dated. (The super-coop on 65 North coming into Tennessee has been open for over a year, still not on my maps. Along with many others. Some are open and not there, others have been closed for years and still are.) Also, the GPS doesn't differentiate between direction of travel and the weigh station ( I'll be headed south and it will warn of a weigh station, but it is Northbound) Low clearance is out of date (Example; US 202, traveling thru the town of Westfield, Ma., the 8200 goes crazy warning of Low clearance bridges that were replaced 3-4 years ago.) Unable to adjust average speeds for calculating ETA. Again, on my older PC Miler, I could set average speed for interstate, highway and city. Making my ETA much more reliable. With this, if you are not traveling at the maximum posted speed, you will be later than the ETA from when you started.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You Call This "Professional" Navigation?

By NoLongeraCobraFan from Missouri, USA on 05/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just received the 8200 Pro HD a couple days ago. So far, I haven't been able to update the software or maps, after several hours of trying to do so. The navigation keeps recalculating after turns. It has routed me into weight restricted areas even when I told it I was 80,000 pounds. It does NOT notify of weigh stations until I am already at them, even though I set it to notify me 15 miles in advance. That's a real joke. It doesn't tell you exit numbers and usually says to "keep right" instead of exit or turn right. This is a poor excuse for trucking navigation so far. It would serve better as a boat anchor. What a waste of money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dissapointed

By frankie from Bethlehem, PA, USA on 05/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i bought the 8200 about three weeks ago through Groupon. can't return it... speaker system lousy. always recalculating, showing radical routes. not a happy camper.. will stick with my garmin.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great GPS

By Bobz from Myrtle Beach, SC, USA on 04/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this GPS about a week ago and there has been a learning curve based on all it's features. Love the motorhome icon, as I purchased this to replace very old outdated GPS used there. Practicing with this unit around town enlightens me daily on all its many features. Great Product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappointed

By Zero from NC, USA on 03/29/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this GPS with a lot of expectations about reliability and performance; I didn't get much. It took a while to get the thing working at all and after many many hours it is still showing that it is charging. By the way, I did not get the 120 volt AC connector. The voice on the thing goes on a off when it wishes and regardless of how I have tried I cannot get any updates whatever. Don't do it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Over all....not on the professional driver level!!

By jaftd from Chicago, IL, USA on 03/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i brought this a week ago on ebay got a really good deal or at least i thought.i already have a cobra with a 7 inch screen (i dont know model off hand) but it doesn't have live traffic.graphically this unit looks alot better but it is lacking some features that i have to agree with the other reviews,no current speed on map screen is unacceptable if this was designed by a pro driver you wouldn't have left this out.traffic isn't as accurate as i thought it would be,unit doesn't have different setting for brightness for night and day colors just one master setting,so everynight i have to darken the screen.intersection displays are to small,some weight data is not up to date.no way to personalize what displays on screen during regular map and navigation.i am a little disapointed in this new unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cant Get On Server

By dmajor74 from Denver, CO, USA on 03/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i cant get on server to update my nave 8000 to 8200 great product but they seem to b having server problems, maybe because milliond of people are trying to upgrade at the same time, Maybe????


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Purchase

By rwr74 from Waukesha, WI, USA on 03/19/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Nothing but problems. Navigation cuts out and resets, voice direction starts to talk then stops, rerouting takes forever, sent in for service and 2 days after getting back can't use cause it keeps shutting down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cobra 8200 pro lost more than I am

By tirescrap from MD, USA on 03/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

8200 takes me thought towns and back out to highway can not belive what it tells you. sent back but its no better


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

trouble with multi route.

By shawncan4u from Marshall, NC, USA on 02/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not at all what I expected from such a reputable company. Tried the multi route since I do deliveries with an 18 wheeler. The unit will not let me skip a stop and go to the next. Maybe if you guys gave a detailed manual on how to use the device, then maybe the reviews would be better. Ended up tossing onto the bunk and using my 520. Since all I have to do is select address out of the multi route screen an go to that location. With cobra it will not do this. Taking it back and getting something else I guess


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk from the word go

By mrwizard from Just above Paradise, Ca. on 12/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got the 8000 PRO HD and had some trouble with it, then I upgraded it to the 8200 PRO HD, now I have more problems. It freezes up everytime I go off the route, truck stop, rest area, weight station.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

8500 PRO HD

By nbfctex365 from New York, NY, USA on 08/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this unit & tried it for a week. Ended up returning it because of several factors. The thing that turned me off the most was that the current speed was not displayed in the normal running mode. The speaker sounded horrible & the volume didn't go high enough. The maps themselves were clearer but the split screen exit screen was too small. The weather didn't work at all. The traffic wasn't up to date. I have a 7750 PLT. that I love & will be keeping it even though the map updates don't seem to be going through. I'm also currently trying out the 8000 Pro HD & like it so far. I will not upgrade it to the 8200 PRO HD because to me, it's the same as the 8500.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Upgraded from 8000 pro hd

By Craig54 from Marion, OH, USA on 08/13/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The 8200 pro has more bells and whistles than the 8000 but less features. Does not display MPH. On split screen for exits the exit sign is so small you can't read it. The traffic update is a nice feature. I am going to contact tech support to see if I can downgrade back to the 8000 pro hd


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved