Home » Communications » Handeld Devices » Portable Gps Navigators » 8500PROHD » 30 Reviews

Cobra 8500 Pro Hd Automobile Portable Gps Navigator - 7" - Touchscreen - Speaker - Secure Digital [sd] Card, Multimediacard [mmc] - Lane Assist, Junction View - 1 Hour - Lifetime Map (8500prohd) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 30 reviews)

22% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:

Professional (5)

Was this a gift?:

No (11)

Recommend:

0 (5)

Primary use:

Business (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

NOT POWERING ON

By KING TUT from NEWPORT NEWS ,VIRGINIA on 09/29/2015


Recommend:

3

Was this a gift?:

No

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When you and it is on it works fine but when it crashed it crashed really hard we have cobra8500 gps,trouble getting in touch with customer service if they just respond in a timely manner this would be ok


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Features, Voice and Shortest or fastest route not fast

By Sprice from Traverse City MI on 09/29/2015


Cons:

Poor Voice Cannot Hear, Maps Takes Long Way

Describe Yourself:

Professional, Professional Driver

Best Uses:

Ramp Exits

Pros:

Easy Controls, Clear Reception, Durable

Was this a gift?:

No

Recommend:

4

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like the features, address do come up nicely, poor female voice, would love more options to hange voice. When you put in the address, it finds it ok, but takes a longer route. Not sure why when the shorter route is via a free way or highway with no restrictions, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no need to purschase

By chris from greensboro, nc on 09/25/2015


Cons:

Nothing Works

Describe Yourself:

Professional

Best Uses:

No Good Use

Was this a gift?:

No

Recommend:

0

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I use this product for my job ,I drive truck and since I had this thing it haven't work wish I could get my money back


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a tool recommended to any driver

By Mike midwest carriers from green bay wi on 09/16/2015


Recommend:

0

Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

Bad Routing, Not Efficient Routs, Map Up Date Is A Joke, Horrible Trip Planning

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit has led me into low bridges on more then one occasion. It takes only interstate routing usually claiming state highways with high truck traffic are non-truck routs. A gps is a tool to be used to help drivers how ever this tool will lead you to the unemployment line. I wouldn't give mine away because wouldn't wish this pile on anyone. I full regret the money I wasted on this unit. Today it told me to make a U turn in semi farmers drive way to avoid hwy 35 in ohio.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Cobra 8500 GPS

By Montana Cowboy from Montana on 08/28/2015


Cons:

Very Very Sorry Gps, System Error, No Change Start Position, Gps Wont Charge And Keeps

Describe Yourself:

Professional, Tech Savvy

Was this a gift?:

No

Recommend:

0

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this Cobra 8500 2 months ago and the last month I have had nothing but problems with this unit it wont charge keeps shutting off. I used to like Cobra products but they have gone downhill the last few years Had a cobra 29 chrome I had it 3 months and it stopped working and I bought that 3 years aago the only thing in the last 6 years that worked was the cobra 8000 gps I had and sold to a friend who still uses it. Don't think I will buy another Cobra product as long as I am driving


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM

By HyJacker and Skittles from N Little Rock, AR on 07/25/2015


Cons:

Routing, Doesn't Pick Up Addresses

Describe Yourself:

Oo Otr Driver, Professional

Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Easy Controls

Recommend:

0

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My wife and I use this GPS "Navigation" system and it sucks! This GPS tries to get us to make u-turns, tries to get us to turn into mobile home parks and can't find addresses that meet Cobra guidelines ie...not fenced areas or military bases. We've been told several times to wait for a "major" update only to have our 30 day return policy expire. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone! This is the worse money we've ever spent!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy

By witchdoctor from fairhope al on 07/17/2015


Cons:

Crashes Alot, No Speed, Hard To Hear, Customer Service, Bad Choice On Routes, Battery Life, No Compare Routes

Describe Yourself:

Otr Driver

Recommend:

0

Pros:

Stylus, Traffic Light Cams

Was this a gift?:

No

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had bought the 5 inch first it locked up called cuatomer service and emailed never a response. So took it back and bought the 7inch no better. Directions are horrible and wrong it will ask you to turn on a road with a no truck sign or it will tell you to get off of the exit just to get righf back on the interstate.Cobra used to be a good company with good customer service bu will never buy another Cobra anything


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WAS so excited

By KV from Dallas Texas on 07/11/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Large Screen

Cons:

Directions Poor, Street Names Incorrect, No Mph Posted On Screen, Car Charger Poor

Describe Yourself:

Professional

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Poor connection to the car charger. Street names were incorrect. It would NOT find the directions from one north Texas city to a southern Texas city without me breaking the trip directions up into smaller destinations. No mph on the screen. Voice can be difficult to understand. Wished I had looked at it closer before spending the money on a device that is not user-friendly. Wish I could return for another device!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got it on sale...Bad product

By Watersby from Ohio on 06/29/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Big Display

Cons:

Bad Unit

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had it for 1 month 2 weeks and something inside went wrong. Charger flickers on and off. With a full battery i hit a bump in road and it shuts off and says low battery. Customer service is a joke. I've tried to call twice and been on hold for over an hour and get disconnected. I will not buy another Cobra product again if this is how they treat there customers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Updates

By Bonez from Nova Scotia, Canada on 06/28/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Server error all the time ... can't update software or maps. Have sent numerous notifications to Cobra with no response. This is very poor customer service!! I expect someone to contact me ASAP with a solution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By JR from Chicago, IL on 06/19/2015


Pros:

Works As Expected

Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

Does Not Show Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product. Works as expected and is extremely user friendly. Updates are easy to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I was expecting much better quality.

By Andrii Famuliak from Chicago, IL, USA on 06/06/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The voice of woman are quiet and hoarse. Screen film just peels of. Getting Windows like error message about ieie.exe stop running, every week. Only one good thing is Information windows, but there also, text are too small, and it hides after each junction view.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY

By jenbo from Green Forest, AR, USA on 05/25/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I drove 80 miles to get one for my husband I had to take it back to another store that was over 100 miles away because it had a red screen. Got the second one he took it out for his trip wouldn't stay on kept shutting off and giving him an error code not even a day in the trip he took that one back and is on the third one well let's just say cobra will be getting a call from me in the morning I can not believe all the money we spent on this GPS and its not good at all. I buy cobra everything but cobra GPS will never buy again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big screen

By hvyeqop69 from St Joseph, MO, USA on 05/19/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just bought it and I am not impressed at all. There no speed limits on it which can be very helpful going from town to town. I just upgraded the map and now when I turn it on it says the license isn't valid and wont come on. Yesterday it had me going down narrow lane streets in housing editions which isn't safe with a tractor trailer. It doesn't show any hard corners like the garmins do either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just got so far not impressed

By buck35043 from Undisclosed on 05/16/2015

I just got this unit this week. Cant't hear the spoken directions well at all. It is a truck GPS needs to be loud enough to hear over road noise and engine. And yes I have the volume set to 100%


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Had mine for about 3 weeks have nothing but trouble

By devans60 from West Virginia, USA on 05/10/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had mine for about 3 weeks have nothing but trouble


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

8500 pro hd

By Beast32 from Cuero, TX, USA on 03/17/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this and at first it would freeze up! Kept having to reset it! Now the power cord went out and wont charge! Used a different cord now it shuts off every 10-15 minutes and will not come back on. I highly recommend the 7500 series. I had one of those but it was stolen so i went to the 8500. Big mistake


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Used as a 2nd GPS

By Mostlee from Central Point, OR, USA on 03/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had the 6000 Pro HD for 2 years now and customer service is great, even when I killed it on an upgrade, Cobra sent me a SD card to fix it at no cost... I wish it did have the MPH or a dashboard like Garmin to add more features. I do like that it has a quick look for rest stops and truck stops on your route , not just everything by me


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not so good

By seth S from Illinois, USA on 03/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought it. Took it home. After over 24 hours of trying to update it, it finally did. This has to be the worst GPS I have ever used. I put in my truck and set it all up and it still took me on restricted roads. I feel ashamed to even take it back to the store to get my money back or exchange for a different brand


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

horrible unit!!!

By time traveler from Fort Worth, TX, USA on 02/24/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had the 8500 for several months now and this isn't good for anything much more than a paperweight. it locks up constantly, gives wrong routes, won't display truckstops or rest areas for more than 220 mi., which is useless when trying to plan your trip and decide where to stop for your breaks. the detour function doesn't work. the 3d function doesn't work. shows incorrect routes and road names. routed me 1149 mi for a 629 mi trip. wont take the loops where REQUIRED BY LAW!!! turns off by itself and wont turn back on for 10-30 mins. cant adjust the position of your vehicle when you calibrate even tho' you're 200 ft away from the intersection. even with the updated maps, it still gives wrong street names. bottom line, JUNK!!! if I could get my money back, I would. the 8000 worked better even tho it needed maps updated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It it a good unit

By Dkenzie1 from Grass Lake Michigan on 02/21/2015

Let me start off by saying if you are looking for the "perfect" GPS unit you will never find it but this one is as close as I have found.I bought mine about 4 weeks ago and held off writing this until I could update it. The dashboard program would not work for me on my computer so Cobra sent me a micro sd card with the update on it. The unit itself is about 99% accurate on locations still does not find my house accurately but neither does any other gps unit. the features of the unit are great! and so far just like the unit are 99% accurate. Will it warn you about every scale that is approaching, no, it still does not warn me about the local scale that has been there for as long as I can remember. The rest of the features are spot on. The volume of the unit is a bit quite and it does have a bit of a problem with screen glare during the day. On the whole if I had to recommend a gps unit to someone this is the one that I would tell them to get. Two things that I might suggest to Cobra is 1. Try to do something about the glare. 2. on the next unit it would help greatly if you could put an aux speaker outlet on it, that way it could be used with an external power speaker.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just buy it and it don't find any satellite?......

By Juan from Ohio, USA on 01/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Brand new wont find satellites he thinks isin Illinois


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Totally awesome product

By DOITMOVIN from CONUS on 12/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had my eye on this model for some time and found a great deal on it for Christmas. My ONLY complaint is that the MPH is not displayed unless you switch to another screen, taking you away from the selected screen. Please update and send out a notification that it has been completed. THANX!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Additional Critique

By Bones from Halifax, NS, Canada on 12/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

3 more issues that I forgot to list in my previous review: 1. Unit does not recognize locations of Canadian weigh scales 2. No kilometre markers 3. Truck POI icons need to be added and in 3D so they are readily distinguishable to the driver


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should have kept my 7750

By Pilot Bob from Brighton, Michigan, USA on 12/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The 8500 has good maps and routing. But, it doesn't give you direction of travel, or current speed. It doesn't alert you of upcoming weight stations...yes, it is set for 10 mile notification. If you want to know where a truck stop is on your route. Good luck. Click the travel center button. You will see about 20% of the truck stops on route. Mixed in with doctors, lawyers, auto repair, insurance, jewelry, Even child foundations. I hope they come up with an update SOON!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO MPH

By JKPayne from West, Texas, USA on 11/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

does not provide speed limit or MPH why would you spend this amount of money and not get these 2 features . I will be returning .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By BernMich from Toronto, ON, Canada on 11/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Cobra 8500 has excellent features. I love the 7? screen. The unit comes with its own mini pointer attached to the back of it. The search engine is very efficient due to the high speed processor. So far I?ve used it in CAR mode only. Until now I have been using my two Nuvi 3490 both of which freezes the screen at the most inopportune time. However the Nuvi?s TRIP PLANNER allows 100?s of routes with unlimited WAY Points. The Cobra is very deficient in this respect with 1 Route with 16 way points or 2 Routes with 8 way points each or 4 Routes with 4 way points each etc. Only 16 total way points are available for all functions. The more WAY POINTS you can add to your route the less chances there is for the GPS to deviate from the main route. That is not acceptable for a quality unit. Another area that could be improved in future updates is the option of creating categories in FAVORITES to shorten the search. This is like FOLDERS on a PC. The Cobra 8500 has no folders (categories). Other than that the Cobra 8500 is a terrific GPS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

8500 pro hd

By TruckerDemon from Chicago, IL, USA on 10/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got my 8500 and I like it it has everything you want in gps and more but NO MPH


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT FOR USE IN NEW YORK CITY!!!!!!!!!

By Frank from New Hyde Park, NY, USA on 10/24/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Sends you on wild goose chases. Making you get off and on highway exits for no reason. Has restrictions that don't exist. Show's low clearance where there's no overpass. Has weight restrictions that aren't on any NYC DOT map. Very disappointed!! Bought Cobra CB's all my life, this GPS really turned me off!! Should have been beta tested before release. We have a lot of arched bridges in NYC should give you overpass heights by lane!.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

don't listen to this guy^

By doctordiesel from Calhoun, GA, USA on 10/07/2014

At first, I was leary about buying a navigation system from a company who makes CB radios. I owned a Rand McNally unit first. It got stolen. It was "ok". After that, I decided to go with a Garmin 7 inch DZL. The Garmin kept freezing up at the most unopportune times. I found it to not be as user friendly. I ended up selling my Garmin at a garage sale for like 10% of the $399 I paid for it. This last time around, I went with a Cobra 7 inch 8500 series. I want to make clear, cobra is NOT compensating me for this review. I found the cobra to be a bit intimidating in the beginning, only because it has so many features and does so much. but now, it is BY FAR my favorite. This thing let's you know when the next truck stop is coming up, and you can even ask it to be store specific (for example LOVES, TA, PETRO, FJ, PILOT) that's very important to me, because I only like stopping at certain places. This unit tells you when the next rest area is, the next upcoming weigh station, you can even search for motels with truck parking. This unit can also tell you how much fuel prices are (for all you owner operators) so you can get a better fuel price. This thing also gives you traffic updates due to congestion due to wrecks, construction, or just normal rush-hour. Live real time weather updates as well. I've owned all 3: Garmin, Rand, and cobra. And by far, the cobra has been my favorite. My suggestion: if u get one, and feel "overwhelmed", study the owners manual a bit more, but mainly give it time. I'd say after using it for 6 months or so, you will love yours as much as I love mine. I'll never own any GPS but a cobra again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved