Home » Photography » Camcorders » CDR810 » 23 Reviews

Cobra Cdr 810 Digital Camcorder - 2" Lcd - Full Hd - 16:9 - 12 Megapixel Image - Electronic [is] - 8 Gb Microsd Card Included - Microphone, Speaker - Usb - Microsd Card - Memory Card (cdr810) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 23 reviews)

38% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Was this a gift?:

No (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Won't recognize data card

By Gary from Northern Virginia on 10/19/2015


Cons:

Unreliable

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

In The Car

Was this a gift?:

No

Recommend:

0

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worked okay for about a year, but then a message to insert data card appeared. I re-inseerted the data card a couple of times, but it still gave me the same message. Unit will not record "without a data card."


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality mount

By Rick James from Kansas on 08/26/2015


Cons:

Unreliable, Not Durable, Poor Materials, Poor Design

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Was this a gift?:

No

Recommend:

0

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The camera itself seems to work okay, though the specs are lacking in comparison to the competition. Recording in maximum resolution results in jerky video, 720p seems to be okay. The mount is lacking in quality. After 8 months' use, the plastic has deteriorated inside the suction cup. Cobra customer service hold times are very long, and the online chat seems to be perpetually closed. With the amount of money I have lost in time wasted waiting on hold, I could have purchased a superior product from one of many competitors. I still have not been able to get through to customer service, and will make no further attempts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

suction cup

By bill from Quarryville, pa on 07/07/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

Suction Cup Broke

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Suction broke from holder only after 6 months. Poor design


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy, this dashcam is a junk!!!

By Kyrac from Ohio, USA on 06/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this dashcam because I thought Cobra would be a decent product but I was wrong, don't waste your money on this!!! It doesn't work anyway like it says, a few examples: Daytime recording is OK at best, last time I looked trees were green but on playback they are purple and image quality is garbage, even on 1080 setting... (tried them all, just as bad) The camera records anywhere from 1 minute to maybe 2, then saves that file and starts another, doesn't matter whether you are on cyclic or a set time (1,2, or 3 minute)... I did manage to get it to record about 3 minutes once but when you play it back, it is normal for about 2 seconds then goes into stutter mode for 2-3 seconds (with loss of sound) then back to normal for 2 seconds and repeat... Try watching a video playback and you give up after a few minutes because it is so bad... Nighttime recording, in town with a little light is barely OK but as soon as you get into the country with only headlights you might as well shut it off, it's that bad!!! But don't worry because if you have motion sensor on, it won't record anything anyway because it doesn't sense movement at night (and the little infrared light don't work either)... And when I have to go to your webpage to find out how to operate because the instruction book is worthless, well need I say more!!! I wouldn't recommend this camera to my worst enemy, that's how bad it is!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works, but struggles to get to medium quality.

By Mikeeee from Chicago, IL, USA on 05/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have mine set up to record 2 minute segments saving four at a time. When I hit the orange "save" button it does not always save. Also it is saving about 20 segments instead of the four. The video may be 1080P, but the frame rate is slow which makes videos seem to be slightly slow motion. I have to bump speed to 1.2 or more when editing to simulate real speed. The instruction card provided is very limited. A purchaser should not have to search online to find the full details of how to operate the product. I paid about $80 and got no more than I expected after research and comparing to higher end products in the $200-300 range. Will upgrade in the near future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NICE DASH CAM

By CHIVAEXPLORER from Vallejo, CA, USA on 05/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I USE MY CDR 810 EVERYDAY BUT NOW I HAVE SOME TROUBLES WITH THIS MY COBRA CAM.....SINCE THE LAST SUNDAY 05/03/2015 IN MY CDR 810 I JUST SEE IN THE LCD SCREEN THE COBRA AND THE BLUE AN RED LIGTHS ITS ON,BUT DO NOT LET CHANCE TO SEE OR DO NOTHING, WE TRY TO CHECK WITH THE PC,BUT DO NOT LET CHANCE TO DO NOTHING


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall

By FireHawk from High Desert, Nevada on 04/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Video recording during the day +5; video recording at night in the city +2.5 (could be better); video recording at night with just available lighting from the vehicle -5; mounting system +1 (suction cup comes part from the base, the "tab" to hold the camcorder is too thin and poorly built and breaks off - order 2 more replacement holders); audio recording +5; motion detection +5; unit lighting system for recording -5; price for the unit (shop around at truck stops for best deal) +5; would I buy another unit - probably +4. Overall average rating +1.9


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too Cheap

By mattie from Vancouver, BC, Canada on 02/25/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The video is grainy and I can not read license plates on vehicles coming at me, or in front. In 1080 the highest setting the clarity is grainy and the color is not good. Road signs also are not legible with small letters like street signs to large bilboard type signs which are blurry and without good color clarity. In court one of these vids may not be good enough without distinguishing the plate number, and to see if the driver is male or female or to positively id the driver. An absolute positive id is not possible with this cam. A prosecutor would most likely not want to use one of these vids to prosecute a road rage or other incident. All the vehicles in the vids are either dark or light color. Exact color identification is not possible. I will be returning it and will try something else. I need to read license plate numbers. Without that I may as well not bother with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expected better from Cobra

By Joe Jones from Newnan, GA, USA on 02/10/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit at a love's truck stop. I choose this unit because it was a cobra and have had good experiences with their products. The price was very reasonable compared to other brands. Easy to set up, instructions were lacking a bit. I finally figured out how to set the basic settings such as time, date, etc. Great video picture! My biggest complaint is how it records. I chose to have it record in 3 minute segments. If i'm lucky if it records two full segments. i may get one that is 30 seconds and then it skips a good five minutes of record time,what if something really happened in the time it fails to record! I drive local in Atlanta,Georgia and was counting on this product to deliver as promised. Next time I will look to a different brand. Very disappointed Cobra!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a Functioning Camera

By TomENG from Canada on 02/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not functioning properly out of the box. Camera tends to shut off after 30 seconds for no reason at all. Sometimes the camera freezes, and sometimes it has a drop in frame rate. The only good thing is the picture quality it provides, and it's size. I also think the price range is perfect...if the camera worked properly. Overall I am not happy with this product, though I do see potential in this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So so if you can keep it on the windshield

By Francis from Oakland on 02/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had to replace the mount twice. It is made of plasic and does'nt handle much especially the little tugs on the power cord. The image is just ok, although I am a very picky photographer. If you think photos with a smart phone are good, then you'll be fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy it.

By tech87 from PA on 01/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Instructions are vague. I can't get it to play back video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of Junk

By lolaflores from MS, USA on 12/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

You'll waist your money! Files corrupt VERY often.. it's just not worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The worst dachcam out there

By Jake from Sweetgrass, MT, USA on 12/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought my unit an put in windshield. The battery lasted a week but kept it on plug. Now 6 months an shows install sd card an wont do anything else. Will not buy another or recommend to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent dash cm for the price

By Christian P from Chicago, IL, USA on 11/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had a lot of cheap dash cams but they froze up and died. This is only one that's lasted - 4 months so far. It works without me having to do anything. The suction cup holder works well even though it's always in the picture. The cord is nice and long, too. I got this at a Love's truck stop figuring that if truckers bought them, they ought to work. And it does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy To Use

By JHen from Wenatchee, WA, USA on 11/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Small and easy to use. I love that it turns on and starts recording when I start my car but the auto shut off feature is not consistent. I have it set for 5 minutes but sometimes it doesn't shutoff at all and drains the units battery which resets all the settings (time/date, functions).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CDR 810 Dash Cams do not hold/retain the settings

By SC2014 from Florida, USA on 11/15/2014

I purchased three Cobra dash cams, 2 CDR 810's for my 4Runner and 1 CDR 830 for my 370Z. All is great, however the CDR 810 Dash Cams do not hold/retain the settings I configure when turned off then back on. This is very frustrating as I need to setup again every time I go on a road trip. I have spent a lot of money on the dash cams with extra mounts and such that it has become a huge inconvenience having to readjust the settings every day for the money I invested. Please advise if there is an internal battery that needs to be replaced or such. Your help is very much appreciated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor power connection

By freight train from nichols sc on 10/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i purchased this dash cam from a wilco hess truck stop. it worked fine for a while. great resolution, wide angel, easy to operate,. it is mounted in the windshield of a commercial truck. I think that the vibration has caused for the cable to unit connection to become weak. it want charge the unit. now I have something useless. I have to rate it as poor because it no longer will serve the need.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By Hootie from Texas on 09/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My husband made fun of me for buying this dash cam, but after an awful wreck with a semi truck, he is singing a different tune. It shows the truck's second trailer coming into our lane and totalling our pickup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does what it needs to do

By EyeSpy from Edmonton, AB, Canada on 08/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit 6 months ago after getting in a wreck with another driver who tailored his story to make it a 50/50 collision. It won't happen again now that I have this silent witness. I loved the price and the look of it especially the small size. The unit works great out of the box. It was nice to have a 8 Mb chip already included. I upgraded my chip to a 32 Mb so that I could have 4 hours looping at high res due to my lengthy commute. I've viewed the video on a 50+" TV and found on a high quality recording it provides an excellent image. I had mine hardwired so that I didn't have cables all over so I cannot speak for the battery life. I have mine mounted with the camera rotated looking out the bottom of the unit laying flat to make it more discrete. I don't need to see the screen once past the initial setup phase. This unit does have some shortcomings in that the timed shut off settings (3/5/10 minutes after power loss) do not work. Despite what you set it for it always shuts down at 15 seconds after power loss. Not a great feature when you want to catch any audio (i.e. verbal exchange) should you pull over after a wreck. You'd need to leave your car running for that to happen. The menus are somewhat confusing but can be figured out if you play with it for a bit. The unit does make a VERY faint "click" sound from the speaker sporadically for some reason. The mount being proprietary means you are forced to stick it to the windshield. It's fairly small and the suction cup is strong even holding onto the black sun shade speckled on my upper windshield. It would be nice to have a rear view mirror mount available for a more discrete install. If you accidentally break your mount (or just the nut let's say. Grrr) they do not ship to Canada so be nice to your dealer. It views on a Mac which is also nice. A software update (useable from a Mac) would be ideal for fixing the shut off problem and whatever causes the audio sound. I returned one for these same reasons and the second one is exactly the same. These are not reasons to avoid this unit just my experience. Semi-pro Tip: Shut off the impact sensor. Even on a high tolerance setting it will save all your pothole contacts eventually eating up your recording time. If you need to save sections they can be done directly from the unit later. Chances are if you get hit severely your car will be off and it will shut down in 15 seconds anyway avoiding any overwriting. Overall this unit works great. I find it's amazing what you catch on tape while travelling with the herd.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic buy and value for truckers and others

By Rambling Russ from Liberty, SC on 08/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a trucker, a dash cam is to me an absolute necessity. I had an el cheapo made in China dash cam and ended up hugely disappointed. Decided to go with a company where I've had good experience, and was happy to see that Cobra had a dash cam. I've had mine for about three months now, and have had zero problems with it. Easy to use and really simple to move from one truck to another. I love all the features. Only downside is the lack of good documentation, and going through the menu features is not intuitive, at least to me. And, there are lots of symbols on the display which some I can guess at, others I have not a clue, and they are not documented anywhere that I can find. These are minor annoyances that I can live with considering the dependability and ease (and automatic) use of the unit. Frankly, I could not ask for more in a dash cam.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Its okay

By milehigh11 from Denver, CO, USA on 07/28/2014

Wide angel is a plus as it looks much better on a PC/TV vs the screen you see in your vehicle of course. the battery for this thing is a joke as it doesnt hold a charge.. No problem as i just plug it into my USB port on my TV/DVD radio. However when i press the menu button i get no menu so i cant change any settings anymore. So right now its stuck on Night mode and the wrong time. Im sure there are better ones out there.. I got this for Xmas a year ago and still records just fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

only last bout 6 months

By scooter from Kansas City, MO, USA on 07/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought my unit an put in windshield. The battery lasted a week but kept it on plug. Now 6 months an shows install sd card an wont do anything else. Will not buy another or recommend to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved