Home » CDR820 » 62 Reviews

Cobra CDR820select Cdr 820 Drive Hd Professional-grade Dash Cam Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 62 reviews)

54% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Was this a gift?:

No (7)

Pros:

Easy To Install (3), High Quality Picture (3)

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good image quality but unreliable

By Rich from Los Angeles on 09/24/2015


Cons:

Not Durable, Unreliable

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

High Quality Picture

Recommend:

3

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought 2 of those. In the last 9 months I had to return one two times. The other one is loosing its setting at stop overwritting older file. I have to go back in the setting and change the length of the clip back to 3 minutes to make it work again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So good, I bought another one, but then they failed

By Rudy from Houston Texas on 09/02/2015


Cons:

Inconsistent, Faulty Os, Bad Battery Life, Resets All The Time

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Blogging, Security, Home, Vehicle

Pros:

High Quality Picture, Compact, Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up

Was this a gift?:

No

Recommend:

5

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I use this item as a dash cam. The footage is great, if you are using it on the highest setting. The second to highest settings does not give detailed videos. At first the battery would last about a minute after being unplugged, but now it shuts down completely after unplugged. When it comes back on, it asks for the date and time to be set, and can be annoying, since I have an additional camera for the rear of the vehicle, and it makes me have to adjust it every time, instead of just start recording as it has power. When I purchased this item it was a great dash cam, that I actually bought another one, when it went on sale at a local electronic store. I have used many dash cams before and after, and the video quality is not as great as this one. The sound is great. The features that is has are usually what I expect on a dash cam and work as they should.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Confusing interface

By voisj from San Luis Obispo on 08/09/2015


Recommend:

5

Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

Difficult To Set Up, Difficult To Use

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

locks files at random, using confusing manual,i cant figure out how to unlock a file.very confusing user interface that is not intuitive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Acting up after a year's use

By maverick697 from Houston, TX on 08/06/2015


Cons:

Inconsistent

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Car

Pros:

High Quality Picture, Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Compact

Was this a gift?:

No

Recommend:

7

After owning the camera for about year, it suddenly has decided to restart the Date/Time menu upon every vehicle start up. It has gotten to the point of ridiculous so I just exit out of the prompt every time. If I would need video evidence in the future it would show the incorrect date/time which is not the best solution. Another thing I have noticed is when I disconnect the camera from my car charger it does not remain on as if was charged but immediately shuts off like it never charged to begin with. In the beginning the camera would at least stay on for another 30-45 minutes charged but nothing now. The long term reliability of the camera is making me wonder if I got what I paid for in such an attractive price and feature set.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor video quality, very poor cust service

By Rocky S from Irvine, CA on 07/14/2015


Pros:

Easy To Install

Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

Poor Picture

Describe Yourself:

Commuter

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit is garbage. The video quality is very poor. If a vehicle is more than 5 feet away, you cannot read the license plate, and the picture is very grainy. I contacted Cobra Cust Service and they said to send in the camera for diagnostic. I sent it in three weeks ago and have not heard anything back from them. I have sent emails to Christine, (Cust Service rep) and there is no response form her. When I try to call the phone number it is either busy all the time, or I will be on hold for over an hour and then I have to do something else. Garbage product from a garbage company. Looks like I just lost $90, because I made the mistake of buying a piece of junk from this company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Box says "wide angle" but feature only works on still pix

By Commercial Driver from California on 07/07/2015


Cons:

No Wide Angle Video, Not Cordless

Describe Yourself:

Commercial Driver

Best Uses:

Dash Cam

Pros:

Free Mount, Easy Controls, Sd Card Included, Hides Behind Mirror, Easy To Install, Great Picture, Nice And Small, Mount Included

Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Neat little camera comes with SD card and mount. The picture quality is a huge upgrade from my old 871HD DashCam. I got this to replace my current camera because it said wide angle on the box. The still picture mode has a great wide angle fisheye view. Once I put it in video mode it vastly crops the sides loosing that great big field of view. Its a pain trying to free up room on a dashcam so its a real time saver that this camera automatically deletes old recordings. Overall neat camera that works and records plenty, just no wide angle like I needed


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I bought 3 of them!

By Nate from Toronto, On on 07/06/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

High Quality Video, Easy To Install, Durable, Great Picture

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Commuter, Tuner, Auto Professional

Best Uses:

In-dash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is so awesome, I bought it for my dad and my brother to use on their cars. I'm a little confused because on my car, the ignition turns the camera off and my camera loops the video, however, on their domestic cars, they have a continuous 12v power - the camera does not loop and the memory fills up. I'm a little disappointed with that, but maybe its defective. I'll try updating it again. To sum it up, when it works, it works amazing !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Camera turns off randomly

By Tanker87 from Undisclosed on 06/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera a month ago. As soon as I started using it, it would power down arbitrarily while plugged in. This also resulted in corrupted video files, so if an incident had occurred, the purpose of the camera would have been lost. An internet query of the problem indicated that the charger is not powerful enough to keep the camera charged. A customer should not have to purchase another charger in order to keep the camera running. The camera does not function as advertised and shuts off after a few minutes. Simply turning the camera back on does not work as it immediately turns off again. For $100, this is a waste of money. The video quality is great, however, and the features seem to be fully customizable. But the prior issue overshadows all of the positives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cobra CDR 820

By driver boy from Tacoma, WA, USA on 06/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really the dash cam for my everyday drives. Compact and has a good picture. However the power adapter the comes with the unit , I feel is lacking in quality. Because, the cord itself is so long, it hangs down and finally broke the wires. I had to splice the wires together. I will now have to buy a new adapter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Difficult to comprehend menu

By herm from Lakeville, IN, USA on 05/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased for personal/professional use. Found it on sale and snatched it right away. Okay: #1 The operators manual if inept (if you can call an inanimate object inept) at best. Difficult to glean proper settings. #2 Some of the menu selections on the itty-bitty screen are hard to comprehend. Instead of the usual Y or yes and N for no, I presume an X for no and a O for yes when selecting various options in the menu? Example: screen timeout; X, 1, 3, 10. So 3 means it will time-out in 3 minutes? I suspect so. X means it will stay on??? #3 You cannot edit/alter menu selections while plugged into USB or 12v car. Since the battery only lasts 5 minutes or less, you must know what you want; (see #1 above) before unplugging from charging cord. Unless I am doing something incorrect, I cannot select my personal preferences unless un-plugged from charge. NOW, on the plus: The video playback is awesome! No complaints at all about that. Much better than my old hand-held video camcorder. Date and Time stamp a BIG plus on playback. Recommendations: a newer model should allow you to record in one long video instead a bunch of short ones. I selected recording time/segment for 10 minutes and I will see if that helps. I hope this review helps. I will recommend this little gizmo. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Keeps turning off!!

By Mezman from Winchester, VA 22601, USA on 05/22/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this at Radio Shack 5 months ago and I spend more time messing with it then it does recording. I guess this is what you get when you don't spend the money on a more reliable device. I have several other Cobra devices that work great but very disappointed with this choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Keeps Shutting Off

By lmay27 from Cumming, GA, USA on 05/19/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased a refurb unit from Fry's last week. Liked what I saw and at first it ran well for the first 5 minutes. It started to shut off. I would have to cycle the power and it would start up again then shut off again. I came to the Cobra page and saw similar reviews and the recommendation was to install the firmware update and I did. I put it in my wife's car for a ride to the airport (50 miles) and it shut off 5 times. At the end cycling the power wouldn't bring it back to life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great video quality terrible software

By mjdindc from Washington, DC, USA on 05/04/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The video quality you get is fantastic, however the software menu system will make you want to throw the device across the room. Once you figure it out, it will be a bit better, but it will always be confusing and maddening to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera for the price

By JFO jr from Sunny So Cal on 05/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the CDR 820 the other day. It's small and fairly easy to learn the features. I like the auto turn on/off feature because I hard wired it in the car and I don't ever have to think about it unless there's a reason. I liked it so much that I bought a second one for my other car. Video quality is good but the screen is pretty small, it needs to be plugged into a computer to really view the video. The only issue I have is with the record light, I can't see it with the sky in the background. All in all it's a great camera for the price. All I need is a basic camera, no GPS or WiFi.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CDR-820 dash cam

By Pollag from Texas, USA on 04/29/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Has memory card errors Shuts off won't stay on Runs very hot Disappointed with Cobra


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Oh dear!

By Alfred2014 from Bedfordshire, England. on 04/26/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased one that froze after three weeks, no help from Cobra. Exchanged it for another, developed the same fault after two weeks. Getting a refund tomorrow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It is a good little camera. Mic is iffy though...

By Wrecked911 from Orlando, FL, USA on 04/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: -Small and Discreet -Automatically starts recording when the vehicle is started (most times) -Plenty of video options to optimize space. (I run the 720p 60fps setting. It's really good) -Quickly starts -Build in LCD with options to turn off input audio and output video during recording -Light to indicate usage and charging. Cons: -When plugged into a computer that is powered off, it thinks it is in a vehicle and will start recording on its own. -Very noticeable microphone rattle in cars that shake in mid to high RPMs making audio completely shot. I'm hoping mine is just broken and they aren't all like this. Things I am indifferent about: -The car cable could be longer. I tried to run mine to the right and down under the dash, but the best I could do is let it hang diagonally from the window to my lighter. -File format isn't readable on Mac without a video player like VLC. Easy fix, but isn't convenient. -Battery life is ~5 minutes. It is made to work off of the car adapter. Overall I am for the most part happy about my camera. It was easy to mount and set up and the video quality is pretty good for the size of it. The microphone rattle is the only thing that bothers me. I have listened around the area and couldn't find a source, dismount it and mount it every time I use my car, and even tried saving the file out in a different format, but the rattle is still present. I also have a demo video of me using it in my car. Fair warning, like I said, there is a really bad rattle, so check your volume.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor

By regan from Undisclosed on 04/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought it in january, ate 2 32 gig cards, those are nit cheap, awaiting from cobra what's next, no warrenty info in booklet


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good camera

By safe driver from Rockland County, NY, USA on 04/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought camera 8 months ago use it every time I drive. OK so far had to call Cobra about 3 months ago power cord had to be replaced, it over heated and started to burn. control buttons are hard to set if you have big hands.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good camera for the money

By Shmedly from Las Vegas, NV, USA on 03/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

got for my truck at X-mas, and finally got it installed. it works good for the money. I even took it off-road for a test of video clarity. The only issue I came across was every time I hit a bump it would save the file and start a new one. That is what it is supposed to do incase of an accident. Not good for off-road video. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Affordable, Easy to Use, Records Quality Images.

By solarpm from Rockford, IL, USA on 03/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

[ Cobra CDR-820 dash cam Review ] *********** * PROS * *********** - Product is affordable. Purchased my Cobra CDR-820 dash cam from a TV shopping show around Christmas 2014. At that time, the dash cam was priced at $94, which is just about the same sale price it is listed for on Cobra.com as of 03/18/2015. - Product is easy to use, rite out of the box. - Product records quality images in day/night. Able to read plate numbers on a vehicle passing by my car by about 1.5 car lengths. - Great customer support. - Product comes with 8GB Micro SD card. I use the 8GB Micro SD card that came with the dash cam in a standard micro SD card adapter to store copies of the website reviews. I update the file about once a month and still have plenty of extra space for recording videos. - Product supports 32GB micro SDHC cards. Upgraded my Micro SD card to the 32GB SanDisk Ultra Plus. This particular micro SD card is available at B e s t B u y. Has up to 48MB/s read speed, is water proof, temperature proof, shock proof, and x-ray proof yet was recommended to purchase a SDHC UHS-1 class 4 micro SD card by Cobra customer support but the SanDisk micro SD card works perfectly fine and is SDHC UHS-1 class 1. *********** * CONS * *********** - The product manual print is too small. - The product manual lacks descriptive information in regards to specific icons that appear on the device whenever there is an issue with SD card compatability, formatting, modes etc. - Some trouble shooting issue are quite complex and require Internet use as the product manual does not provide any trouble shooting tips. - Audio recording quality is not very loud. Though clarity is good (no fuzz or static interfereance) the device can only record basic interior of car conversations at low to moderate volume. Playback requires 100% volume turned up to max on pc + 100% max setting on media applications like Windows Media player. - Cobra.com does not provide micro SD cards larger than 8GB as of 03/17/2015 of type SDHC UHS-1 class 1.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Clear video and very easy to use.

By Danchesterp from Sioux Falls, SD, USA on 03/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought two of these last month and got a lighter to USB adapter for my car along with a 10ft usb to mini USB cord so the power supply can be hidden inside the trim of my cars. The menu is easy to use and set up. I downloaded the software update online. These things seem to work quite well and the image of the video is great. I did a lot of research and found this to be the best operating unit for the price. I seen where a couple of people had a problem with theirs and cobra helped them out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Seems to work well.

By BarNee from Shreveport, LA, USA on 03/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchase at the end of February via Amazon after reading the reviews of these and many others along with a 32GB Transcend card. Installed the card then downloaded the FW update and installed it. Powered the unit and did a factory reset and then made adjustments. Went for a couple of drives and seems to work well. The field of view could be a little more wide, but so far the video seems great during the day. Night time runs to follow. Camera does operate warm to the touch as described. No issues to report.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really Surprised Me

By Bmanlf23 from Fond du Lac, WI, USA on 03/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was really worried when I pulled it out of the box and turned it on with how small it is and it seemed like it didn't view very wide. I tried it anyways, took it home and viewed the footage. Wow amazing hd clarity and wide enough for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expected Wireless Use!

By KRLoving from Carlsbad, NM, USA on 02/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit from Radio Shack and read on the box unit has a rechargeable LION battery. I let the unit charge over night for use the next day. I turned the unit on, and it immediately shut off. I went to return the unit to Radio Shack for a refund and they wouldn't issue a refund. The unit was taken out of the box and put back in. All they could do was trade it for another unit, that's not what I wanted. I didn't have success with the first one, why would I want a replacement? I took it, probably going to end up in the trash. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it but it freezes a lot

By Famvaules1 from Colonie, NY, USA on 02/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this product for Christmas and it worked great for about 2 weeks then it reset the setting and now it freezes all the time, I don't like sending things back but I might have to with this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By Danbo30 from Niagara Falls, NY on 02/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought one last year and put that one in the car that is driven every day, great Quality video...Just bought my second one for the second car.I rally like the fact I can move the camera to face anything to record. And if your plug in in the car does not turn off it continues to record...I love great security, and proof you it didn't happen the way they said it did. Also I was worried about the sub zero weather here and it never froze in the car. I recommend this to they every day driver you will not regret it. Thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Peace of Mind!

By KimH from Pittsburgh, PA, USA on 02/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this about a month or so ago. I like having the peace of mind knowing that my driving is being captured on video. I'm concerned that it gets very hot and that's only about one hour of driving. I wish the battery life was longer and it would charge as it's plugged in while driving.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little dash cam

By Petlew from Hertfordshire UK on 02/14/2015

This cam is available here in the UK as the CDR 820e. I've dabbled with a number of "cheap" Chinese dash cams, all have them have had quite serious quality problems from cracked screens to being obviously used previously through micro cards that were continuously thrown out of the holder. The first plus to Cobra is that the Quick Start guide is refreshingly in readable English and a pdf manual as well, that admittedly needs a fair amount of zoom to make it readable, but is fine and reasonably comprehensive then. The tiny size of the device is a two edged sword; Mounted on the windscreen on the shaded area behind the mirror it is almost unnoticeable, on the other hand the small size can be a handicap with its equally small buttons if you are blessed with large hands. Suggest you make all adjustments and setting off mount as they can be a trial on the windscreen. Can the the 820 be run from a USB charger outlet rather than the cigar lighter fitting as supplied with the UK version at least? I run my sat nav from a twin USB charger so have a spare slot for this. Well that's all the good bits, sorry, I can't find any bad bits to review... In use, it does tend to run hot, but Cobra have taken pains in these reviews to say this is not a problem, I do hope so, I guess its one of the prices to pay for such a compact device with little room inside for air to move around. Does it work well? oh yes it does...enough said!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great first dash cam

By Nieg1234 from Huntington Beach, CA, USA on 02/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this a month ago and are already glad we did. We did not realize how many close calls happen in traffic until we knew we had them recorded! Already we recorded a couple girls not paying attention, at night, in dark clothes, running right out in front of us a hundred feet from an intersection. You should see the shocked look on their faces as we stopped with our headlights on them only 3 feet away! Thank goodness we were slowing for the red light ahead. But how would you explain what happened to police and those girls' parents (and attorneys) if we had not been able to stop? The camera has performed as advertised except for a couple clips that somehow were corrupted. We hope that was a one-time anomaly. All other clips have downloaded to our computer perfectly. The camera has good settings options, although the buttons are really small to use them. Price you pay I guess to have a rather inconspicuous camera in your windshield. One improvement would be a quick release so it could be taken down more easily when the car is parked. If you're running errands, it's just too much hassle, but also a bit obvious to those walking by your parked car. No break-ins net, knock on wood.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Potential, if it would keep running.

By RVHAULER from Western NY and all over on 02/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the size and quality of the recorded video. The only problem I have is that the unit seems to power off for no reason at all. I drive for a living and will put in 11hrs behind the wheel. I look up at the camera and it is not working, I push the power button and the unit will power on. I have also noticed a large yellow horizontal bar across the screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Double whammy

By Willie W from Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa on 02/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought 2 units within 24 hrs. 2 days later the one unit started switching off every 45 minutes or so. Referred to this (Cobras) webpage and did the software upgrade and 'resetting' of the unit. No luck. The 2nd unit I purchased for my wife failed on day 4, as this unit seemed to get extremely hot. Not what I expected from Cobra, as I have another product by this manufacturer. Disappointed I returned both - and opted for the make that starts with 'G'.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Issues????

By MADMAC from South Carolina, USA on 02/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased several months ago. After about a month it started just shutting down by itself, turning on and off. Also says SD card is full. Device gets very HOT. Reset it numerous times. Lot of money spent on this little device for it not to work. Looking at other reviews, lots of other people having the same issues. I am willing to give Cobra the benefit of the doubt to make this right and I will change my review.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

On off Off on

By BigGallu from Rochester NY on 02/03/2015

Bought the CDR 820 2 weeks ago. I was having issues with it with not staying on. I read the reviews and I seen I needed to do an update on the firmware. I did that and now the camera just turns on and off. I can't record. Is there anything I need to do or what would you suggest? Your time is appreciated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't stay on

By Chr1s85 from San Diego, on 01/24/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this dash cam about 3 months ago and is been a good camera until recently. I use the camera everyday when I drive and it recently started to randomly shut off and restart every 30 - 60 seconds. When you think it's recording, it's not or it shut itself off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not very happy with it

By not a happy customer from Berkeley Springs, WV, USA on 01/22/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the unit will not work as described ,it locks up and will not shut off ,you have to unplug the unit and let the battery go dead to shut it off , it wiil not record on to the sd card , about half of the thumbnails are blank you also have to reset the time every time you use it , i would return it to shop hq but my paperwork has been misplaced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not worth it

By hreeves94 from Undisclosed on 01/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

had trouble from the start. camera shuts off randomly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't let it size fool you.

By JoeS from Armada, MI, USA on 01/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received my dash cam for a Christmas present and hooked it up the next day. I had it up and running in less then 5 minutes. I turn it on every time I get in the car and the quality looks great on playback on my PC's 24" monitor by just inserting the mini SD card into my 5.25 memory card reader or right into my tablet. The wide angle picture gives you a huge amount of field of view. I liked it so much I bought one for my daughter and my grandson and they love it. It can also be used as a cam for your PC via a USB. Their customer service department is outstanding and one of the best I have dealt with. For the price and the service you can't beat it, believe me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Short Battery Life

By VideoKen from King George on 01/17/2015

I bought this camera today with primary intention to video model railroad layouts from an engineers perspective. The owners manual says the battery life is "very short". Yes, this mini cam is designed to work in a vehicle with a power line plugged into a 12VDC power source. If the power is interrupted as the result of a crash, the camera will continue to record for a few minutes. This camera may be suited for application in a vehicle but without a power source, it doesn't run long enough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only 1 complaint

By Andrew0329 from Toronto, ON, Canada on 01/16/2015

I installed the camera and noticed one thing, I hate having things crossing my windshied, so I tried to run the cable around the dash and what not to hide it. There is not enough cable. I feel like there should be at least another 4ft. I'd even be willing to buy a cord that's longer. Other then that great item.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

junk

By jimm27 from sacramento ca on 01/15/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

buy from frys electronics, destroyed in 1 week. not recommended to a friends.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera

By RalphV from New Jersey, USA on 01/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bottom line, this dash cam works as advertised. The setup is extremely easy and if you want you can use it right out of the box. Great price and the HD video output is outstanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cobra CDR 820

By Blackjack from Richmond, VA, USA on 12/29/2014

I got this for Christmas 2014 and it was dead when I took it out of the box. It's sad that quality control could not prevent someone buying a product that does not work. No I have to go through the trouble of sending it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do Not Waste Your Money

By Regi C from Olympia, WA, USA on 12/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought two. The first went bust on the second day. The second took a little longer - a week. Very poor reliability for a Cobra product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

instructions are bad

By sickasadog from ny on 12/22/2014

I recently received the 820 dash cam and it seems to work fine but I can not understanding what the different settings do. for example the first choice in the scene selection is "P". I can't locate the auto setting. also is this only for stills or for video also?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good, when it works

By bdub323 from Los Angeles, Cali on 12/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought mines from RadioShack 3 weeks ago. My equipment turns off for no apparent reason and has to be manually turned back on. I've tried multiple setting arrangements to fix to issue but it continues to shut down unprompted.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good video quality

By Rick6548 from Michigan, USA on 12/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am a truck driver. OK for the price. It has good video quality in day. Not very good at night. Screen freezes a lot. Have to hold power botton for 20-30 seconds to turn off, then wait 15-20 second to turn on again. Not really safe to do that driving down the road. Will try gopro next


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should've read the reviews first.......

By Robbbbbbbbbb from Avondale, AZ, USA on 12/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Got mine a little over a week ago. First day I ran it, it worked ok, except it wouldn't remember the presets I entered. I fixed the time/day stamp info and ran it on day two. Same issue, plus, it would power off and on intermittently. I looked up other owners issues and these were two of them. One suggestion was that the unit got too hot and would power itself off. It's been mid 70's here the last couple weeks, so I decided to run my A/C with the vents on defrost. Nice cold air blowing on the camera. Didn't remedy the problem. Day three, reset my presets and tried again. Not a bit better. in fact, it's worse. I thought I would look at the movie files on my computer to see what kind of length each file was. NO file smaller than the max file size (327 mb I think) would play. Every subsequent attempt had the same result. The camera has decent video and audio, the footprint is small, which is a good thing and it's easy to operate. One sentence for positives. Can't recommend this camera. An earlier reviewer got a response from Cobra that his cam had an internal problem and needed to be replaced. Sounds like the whole lot of them maybe. Cutting bait while I still have a chance. Heading to Radio Shack to return and seek out another brand. P.S. Also no information whatsoever on how to redeem the $20 rebate. Probably a RatShack thing, but worth mentioning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great video from the window

By Nitrousman from Trinity, Alabama, USA on 12/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought it on Black Friday and have loved taping my driving everyday with 8gb it will take a little while to use of all the space


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works nice

By ronn from seattle wa on 12/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works ok but manual is hard to read writing too small


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More Self Aware

By ddh58 from Florham Park, NJ, USA on 12/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been searching for a for a dash cam for the past 6 months. In the beginning I got "What's a dash cam?" I knew then, I needed to take a different approach. I looked and read reviews. Some odd, but most were helpful. After gathering the information, I did not need GPS, chose the 820 version. Set it up and ready to go, right out of the box. I found the set up to be intuitive. When I got stuck I asked my daughter. :) I am mindful of others. Staying clear of that death defying speeding teen. I try not to get upset when you cut me off to get to the same place I was going. Maybe they needed to get home quickly, someone is ill or they could be late picking up child from daycare. There are so many reasons. I know how exactly those scenarios feel. I purchased this camera for the monitoring of others. More importantly, it has reminded me to being aware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Used for equipment monitoring

By BillyG from Chaska, MN, USA on 12/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera not for driving but for monitoring manufacturing equipment that have the occasional malfunction. I needed the looping recording so no one had to replace tapes every hour or we had to pay our maintenance people to stand and watch a machine. Since the camera loops we just start recording and once the machine errors and alarms, we stop the camera and review the video to see what it did. Yes, I did need to by a 120vac to 12 vdc convertor. This camera paid for itself the first day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Resets/Stops Recording

By joerockt from San Diego, CA, USA on 12/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

So I bought 2 of these from Radio Shack on a Black Friday sale. I unboxed one and used it the morning. Immedeatly it started to reset. It would show video and indicate it was recording, then it would go dark, show the Cobra logo, then started to record again, probably did this about 4 times before I pulled the plug and reinserted. Worked for maybe 10 mins after that, then just went dark until I arrived at work. Extremely disappointing, and I see others here have had this issue. Horrible quality. Will be returning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cobra CDR 820 dash cam

By Lawrence from New Brunswick , NJ on 11/28/2014

I bought this cam from Amazon on Nov. 24th 2014, I love the cam but one problem while I am driving and recording the cam will shut off about 4 to 5 minutes into recording and I have to push the power button to restart the cam, this doesn't sound normal to me. What should I do? Would give this product 5 stars if you can get it to work right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera but turns off after running for a whi

By JoeJ from Fort Oglethorpe, GA, USA on 11/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great camera but turns off after running for a while. Have to hit the power button to restart the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp quality. Sharp Product.

By The RobMeister from Sunny Florida on 11/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good camera, with high-quality output and night vision. Compared to the CDR 810, the power cord is indeed shorter. In the microphone sensitivity settings, users are presented with a big and little microphone icon, but the manual does not say what the difference is, so you?re on your own. In addition, I also found the audio, on playback, to be too low - even when set to full volume. I bought a Toshiba 32GB microSD card, and discovered the CDR 820 does not have a FORMAT function for the microSD card - so I had to trust the manufacturer did format it, since the camera wasn?t telling me anything. The CDR 820 kept throwing itself in and out of the record mode. I found that the motion detector MAY have caused it, so I turned it off. Haven?t tested it yet to see if acts better with the motion sensor completely off. Or, Toshiba may make lousy microSD cards. Unlike the CDR 810, the CDR 820 instruction manual does tell you where to place the dash cam, which is a great help for newbies. Lots of folks are Googling for where to put it, and there are some weird answers out there. I can also tell you that you should NOT put in on any of those ?dots? inside your windshield that have to do with defrosting. The suction cup won?t hold its grip. New owners should also be aware that the unit gets really HOT, so be careful handling it after a long drive. As for battery life, I agree it should be extended, to allow you (perhaps injured) time to go around your car and take photos before authorities arrive. It may be hard to find your cellphone in a car in which objects have been ?rearranged?, you know. Looking at several compilations on YouTube, it seems that the dash cams stay put. Yay ! In sum, Cobra has done a good job for a reasonable price. I haven?t seen the first poor review on the CDR 820 in any of my Internet travels. And a suggestion: How about a manual with larger print. The font size (I?m an old newspaper man) is smaller than legal print in your ordinary newspaper. I don?t need a large-print Bible yet, but the print size in the manual is taxing what eyesight I have left. Finally, to its credit, Cobra has offered PDF versions of its manuals - which CAN be magnified. All in all, a robust and well-satisfying entry from the Cobra Team. And, oh yeah - thanks to them for listening to our feedback.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My first dashcam

By TLAdams55 from Overland Park, KS, USA on 09/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first dashcam and I did considerable research before settling on the Cobra CDR 820. I found one on Amazon for $73 + $5 shipping. I have only had it a week but so far I am very pleased with the performance and quality of HD video captured. My only complaint is that the power cord is too short to hide effectively. I finally bought a car power charger extension cable from Auto Zone for $8 and that fixed that little problem. This unit is smaller than expected and is fairly unobtrusive when mounted on the windshield behind the rearview mirror. All in all, very pleased with my Cobra purchase so far!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Choice!

By patrick41 from Kennesaw, GA, USA on 09/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After looking at the under $500 options for dash cams (using a phone as one too), reading reviews and asking around I bought a cdr-810. Well made, well thought out product. Cobra did its homework in designing their dashcams. The cdr-820 is no exception. Video quality seems to be improved and I like the smaller unit. The 810 records the rear view now. The Cobra units were the only ones that recorded seamlessly from one video to the next. All the other dashcams I tried would drop some time between recordings. Not good if you get hit while your dashcam is not recording (for whatever reason). That alone is worth buying a Cobra. The peace of mind that you've got a silent, reliable witness is worth way more than what these cost. After using them for awhile, you appreciate them more. The quality of the time-stamped video is great. Great products!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great!

By JT55 from Georgia, USA on 08/26/2014

I recently purchased the CDR 820 after looking around at different design's and companies for about two weeks, I realized very quickly you had three options. You could buy a cheap unit from a no name company on Amazon that would be shipped from China and may or may not be a knock off with buyers reporting no customer service and many faulty units. You could buy a Garmin, all of which are double the price with almost the same features, or you could buy a Cobra. I went with the Cobra and have no regrets at this point. It's a small unit, and fits nicely behind your rear view mirror while not obstructing your view in any way. The suction cup does it's job very well and was a big concern of mine dealing with GPS unit suction cups from other companies in the past not holding a seal. You can adjust the position of the unit with ease, and you can spin it in any direction you feel appropriate to monitor at a moments notice. The video quality is great, and works as well as you could expect at night. The 8GB memory stick that comes with it is sufficient, I get about two hours of recording out of it at it's highest quality before it starts to loop. Unless you want to monitor an employee's driving and need it from start to finish 8GB is more than sufficient for the purpose of protecting yourself from an accident or etc. Watching what you recorded is as simple as plugging the unit into your computer and opening it, you can choose the amount of time you want each video section, with the max being ten minutes and I believe the smallest being three, with other options in the middle. Overall for the price this unit is excellent, and if the unit continues to exceed my expectations for the next month or so I will be purchasing another unit for my wife's vehicle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best value camera out there!

By BeardySteve from Virginia, USA on 08/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera a week ago and so far I'm very pleased with it. The first thing I noticed was the incredibly small size. It tucks right up behind the rear view mirror of my Ford Escape. You will literally forget it is there when you are driving! It was easy to install and set up, I managed to set the date and time and also adjust a few settings like how long the screen stays on after a quick look at the instructions (all available online too). I found that the standard setting for the mic sensitivity was causing some feedback or echoing so I turned it down a notch and it seems to have fixed it. I cleaned the inside of the windscreen with an alcohol wipe before attaching the sucker and it hasn't moved since installation. I have had to clean the window in front of the camera again since as dust and dirt show up on the recording. I've downloaded VLC player in order to watch footage on my Macbook and the video quality is absolutely fantastic. I haven't done any night driving this week so I can't tell you how it performs in the dark unfortunately. I have noticed that the camera gets very hot when charging or in direct sunlight but so far it hasn't affected the performance. I bought a 32GB MicroSD card and a weeks worth of driving to and from work haven't filled it. Overall, I'm glad I didn't spend any more than $99 on this camera, anything else would have been a waste. In fact, I have another 12v socket in the trunk of my car so I'm considering getting another camera to face out the rear. If I do end up doing this, it would still be cheaper than the $250 Garmin Dashcam10 and I would be able to cover both ends of my car!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small size, big features.

By Buck 902 from San Diego, CA, USA on 08/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great dash cam, and works well at night. Video and audio quality are excellent. I wish the battery life was a little better. It's only 5 minutes after the power goes out. I realize it's designed to work plugged in, but even 15 minutes would be an improvement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'd probably like this camera except for the fact it does...

By EODDave from New Jersey, USA on 07/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'd probably like this camera except for the fact it does not hold its memory and clears the presets every time my vehicle is shut off. I will not be buying another one of these cameras for my other vehicles because I've had a better experiance with the $20 dash cams I've purchased from Amazon. (Maybe mine is defective.) Also only being able to the supplied power cord to run the camera in the car is very restrictive. The wire is not long enough to put the camera where I want it. I would like the option to use any USB power cord to power it up when my vehicle is switched on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved