Home » CDR830 » 17 Reviews

Cobra Select CDR830 Cdr 830 Gps Hd Dash Cam With 8gb Card Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 17 reviews)

21% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Ok so far. One issue that has not repeated.

By Ron Dashcam from Airdrie, AB, Canada on 09/06/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Top Mount Power Cord

Describe Yourself:

Business Owner

I use the dashcam as protection from insurance fraud on the road. I also use it for entertainment by posting stupidity I see on the road to YouTube. The online operating instructions are far better than the ones included with the product. Found that the loop recording will do what I need to do. I had one issue a few days ago when the screen would divide in to two parts with the bottom third at the top. I hit the software option to unlock all files and have not had this repeat so far. I did buy extended warranty (cheap) from my vendor who will deal with it with the factory or themselves if I need it. The video and audio clarity seem to be fine with me. The top mount for the power cord was the big selling feature for me as my last dashcam had a side mounted power connection. This loosened after a year and rendered the cam useless. (different vendor).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Waste of money !!!

By Matt from Graham,NC on 08/16/2015


Recommend:

0

Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

Poor Design, Pricey / Poor Value, Poor Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

within 1 hour of use...Image appeared to be rolled up vertically kind of like an old picture tube tv. Image doesnt appear to be "high definition" Ive tried full Hd, 1080p etc. Upgraded software in hopes that would help but didnt see any difference. The recorded gps speed is always 10mph off. If i drive 68 on the hwy it showed i was going 58. Also...Microphone seems to work when it wants to. No toll free number for customer service??? Really?? I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau. Stay away and dont buy this junk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very early beta version

By mish_mish from Columbus, OH, USA on 05/18/2015

Very poorly put together product. Constant loss of focus, with even the smallest debris on the windshield, it loses focus and concentrates on the glass. When focused, lens is so poor that no chance of capturing license plate, even few feet away. When it gets hot, camera quits and starts to reboot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HAS TO BE THE WORST THING,I EVER BOUGHT FROM COBRA. CAN'T...

By FORD GUY from BURLESON,TX on 05/11/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

HAS TO BE THE WORST THING,I EVER BOUGHT FROM COBRA. CAN'T PROGRAM IT,SO IT WILL WORK. HAD EXPERTS TRY. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING,MADE BY COBRA


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Good

By Bald Bastage from Sheffield Lake, OH, USA on 05/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have never in my life purchased an item that was so user unfriendly. I would love to get specific but it is impossible. The manual explains what the unit does but not how to do it. The unit has a mind of its own. I've owned the 830 for a month and cant tell what I have here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy, then unhappy.....

By Cobra Customer from Green Bay, WI, USA on 04/30/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this last week, had some of the same issues from Previous Comments and reviews. Downloaded the "suggested" Firmware update, followed the instructions to install the update and it bricked the camera, the LED light just flashes red and the Cam will no longer turn on or boot, or do anything, i tried plugging it back into the Computer and again nothing but a red LED light flashing and no boot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful product

By Kenmandoo from Winnipeg, MB, Canada on 04/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product over 6 months ago at a heavy truck dealer. Within days the unit would not work if the GPS was plugged in, every morning I have to spend around 5 minutes to just turn it on because once you plug it in to the power plug it immediately shuts down. Then if you do have some video that you want to save and upload later, it's unlikely that it will even be there. I have honestly lost more video clips than I have managed to save. Now the 32mb card I purchased for the unit months ago mysteriously will no longer be recognized by the unit and cannot be formatted. Now I can't even update the firmware in it. Basically now I own a completely unusable and useless camera that I may as well toss in the trash. I have never been more frustrated with a piece of electronics in my life. Never again will I buy a Cobra product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, i like it!

By truckermatt from Tampa, FL, USA on 03/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this a few days ago, just played back some video and im impressed by the quality. The instructions need a little work, and its hard to read the buttons, but im pretty happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does nothing but Lock up!!!!

By Tony P from New Jersey, USA on 03/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this Dash Cam thinking it would be a great item being from Cobra (which makes Great CB Radios) but it turns out it is nothing but a paper weight. Camera does nothing but Lock up, I even updated Firmware and now seems to be worse. Won't even connect to computer just shows Camera video on screen and can't get anything to respond except power button. Wish I had Returned it back but missed window and now stuck with useless item. I wait to see if Cobra even responds to my e-mail concerning this matter and what they will offer to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth the money

By Nicky from PA, USA on 02/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this 2 days ago and had nothing but problems... Split screen, freezing up, screen goes black!! Save your money and get something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not real thrilled with the 830

By Zetrad from Oklahoma City, OK, USA on 11/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the 810 for driving a truck. I haul fuel and see alot of things. It started messing up and video was getting corrupted and hard to view. Not sure if this was a one unit thing or not. Loop would only work from 15 seconds to 50 seconds when I did not have it on that setting. No matter what I did, (set to default, lower res, etc) still the same. I contacted Cobra, although it took a day or to between communications they recommended that I ship to the Chicago location. So I did. Few days later I received a new 830. Although I like the GPS, the 810 had a fish eye look so you can see more of your surroundings. There are mirrors on the truck hood that you can see other vehicles drive up in the video. The 830 does not have a fish eye look, and if I point to low you cant see signal lights or other important objects. I did compare the 2 videos side by side and the 830 looks zoomed in. No option to change a setting. This is my biggest complaint of the 830. ? The photo that was added both cameras are in the exact same spot. Left is the CDR-830. Right is the CDR-810. The left you can barely see the bug shield etc. The right is same view but you can see way more. 10 degrees gonna make that much difference? the 830 looks zoomed in.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks Elsewhere

By BlueFox from Virginia on 10/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The video quality is not good and constantly flashes from light to dark. Very disappointed with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this unit

By Amishman from Pennsylvania, USA on 09/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this model two weeks back and was impressed with the size, the screen, ease of use and setting the options. However I did have the split screen problem with my first unit, but Jorge at Cobra was most helpful in answering my questions and getting me a replacement for the defective unit. Kudos to Cobra, their support staff and products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

won't loop video. unit turns off when memory full.

By Kiki from San Francisco, CA, USA on 09/01/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

when the memory is full, the unit won't loop, it turns itself off.Don't buy. will return.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannot handle normal interior heat

By Pes949 from Long Island NY on 08/17/2014

My CDR 830 requires the ac to be full blast aimed at unit. The heat apparently causes the unit to lose horizontal control splitting the screen. We are not talking extreme heat. It happens when outside temps hit 75 degrees. This unit should be recalled. Software does not work on a Mac Computer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

needs firmware/software update

By bb14 from Illinois on 07/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have the same problem...video is split with top half of picture at bottom of screen. In addition, the dash cam player shows speed much lower than actual. Not much point in having GPS camera if the displayed speed is wrong. Was told it was a software issue, but so far no fix.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy!

By HappyAtCobra from Corpus Christi, TX, USA on 07/22/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this product about four months ago and the video quality is horrible. 1. The product is unable to handle the heat from direct sun light. 2. When using 1080 mode the video sometimes splits with the top part of the screen on the bottom and the bottom part on top, especially when its hot outside. 3. The camera focuses on the dings on my wind shield and not on the cars in front of me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved