Home » Audio » Radios » Cb Radios » HH38WXST » 9 Reviews

Cobra Hh-38wxst 40-channel Handheld Cb Radio With 10 Weather Channels (hh38wxst) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

57% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent Portable/Mobile Handheld CB

By Securityman from Virginia on 08/17/2015


Recommend:

10

Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight, Good Reception, Good Range, Rugged

Was this a gift?:

No

Best Uses:

Off Roading, Road Travel, Emergencies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit is quite good. I have it because it's portable. I carry it hunting, fishing, hiking, highway long distance, about town and at home. Great if you happen to be somewhere there is no cell service. Very handy. For highway use, to get better range, Cobra sells outside magnetic 42" antennas under accessories on their product page. Works great! I like the face I can plug it into 12v vehicle outlet or use mobile with batteries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Real happy

By Paulski1 from Redlands, CA, USA on 06/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has worked pretty decently for me. Beats having to lug around a larger set, fits in a travel bag nicely. Decently priced also.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Falls Short Of What I Expect From Cobra

By smitty03281964 from Yeadon, PA, USA on 05/15/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned this unit since 2003. Just recently tried using it. Really no reception at home with the supplied antenna. Went out on interstate with it and still really no reception. The weather feature works great. Maybe a better antenna is needed. I will get one and post the results. Also I don't think a owners manual came with the unit and I looked in the box


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Basic Radio

By Gill from San Diego on 05/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this for years (maybe since 2003 timeframe?) I kept in in my car mostly, and in moving vans over several cross country moves. I have only had reason to use it twice. Once when being overtaken by a large truck at a high Appalachian pass in thick snow. I saw him coming from a couple miles back and coordinated passage. The other was during a New Mexico high country snowstorm when they were shutting the highway down and I radioed for some guidance. I think I paid around $50. I never expected a 20 mile radio, for god sakes, it's a handheld radio - if you're a trucker, buy a real system, otherwise quit your griping! For a handheld it did it's job. Once was enough to pay off, twice is a bonus, now I keep it plugged in the center console of my Jeep just in case. And it has been (accidentally) slammed in car doors, launched about the cabin during hard stops, dropped in slush, rain, snow, mud, and on pavement. Durable little sucker. I only thought to look it up online to get a manual (after a decade I just figured out how to use the DW button!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very convenient handheld

By C Newton from Owensboro, KY, USA on 04/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this radio about a week ago, mainly for being out and about (camping, etc.) and as a convenient way to test my other transcievers. It is set up with the stock rubber antenna and equipped with standard alkaline batteries. As can be expected, the range is not "great" with this setup, but is better than I expected. The built in weather function is very nice and receives well, very handy to have around the house in case of an emergency. Very pleased with this product myself, but would definitely recommend an actual mobile transciever for use in a vehicle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor reception

By John Robert from West Lafayette, IN, USA on 02/11/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this radio when traveling a year ago at a truck stop. The unit rarely picks up anything on any channel even when traveling in or near highly contested traffic. I would not recommend this product. Unfortunately ther was no option to return this product so we are out about $100.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The radio is decent

By transporter from pennsylvania on 05/30/2008


Cons:

Drains Battery, Short Range, Batterys Dont Last Long

Describe Yourself:

Professional Guide

Pros:

Easy To Use, Lightweight, Seemstohavesomequality

Best Uses:

Camping, Emergencies

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i use this radio in transportation of tractor n trailers . i purchased this radio hoping the thing will work decently but it only works about three quarters of a mile with supplied antenna. on the other hand if u buy a little wil or a large antenna and buy the bnc connector to go on where the antenna goes to hook it up to a regular cb antenna i got about 2 miles and it was a little staticy . the only thing this radio is good for would be if your planning a road trip with other cars that your all traveling in a group it will work out great with the supplied antenna and the cig plug is great so u dont smoke $20 in batts a day. i think this radio should be a last resort unless like i said u r running in a group on the highway and there great when the cells dont work to contact the car in front of u. if u are thinking of getting this radio for your vehicle instead of a regular cb for every day use dont go take the time and buy a regular cb with good coax and good antenna and just hook it up right because if u like quality u will be much happier with a regular cb i hpe this info helps some people out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The radio might be ok ...

By William B Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 08/30/2005

The radio might be ok outside the car but the receiver is very weak with the rubber duck antennae. It was defintely worse then my scanner on WX band. ON CB I heard very little. Either the trucks are talking on cell phones or the radio isn't very good. I used it sporatically between Ft. Worth and Colorado. I really expected to hear a lot of trucker chatter for instance when going through Amarillo on I-40 and during a traffic backup. Nada. My scanner picked up weather and trains just fine so I don't think it was the car. I'd recommend only using this with an outside anteanne - which I didn't have installed. It might be ok like that. At this point it was a waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"My initial impression of ...

By Gary L Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 08/02/2005

My initial impression of the radio was good. Not too big, nor too heavy... until I put the 9 batteries in the rear. It was still not too unwieldy, but I would have loved it if Cobra could have done more with the electronics portion to preclude the large number of batteries required. Having purchased 2 radios for inter-motorcycle communications with my wife on other bike club members, I paid over $60 for the rechargable batteries and I had to wait a few days to get the Cobra recharging adapter from the factory. Oh well. Still the radios work reasonably well. I had some problems with their use in conjunction with helmet headsets, but the problems are apparently not with radios. High volume on the radio brings a distorted output. I have not been able to test the power over distance with the rubber duck antenna yet, but I am sure I will get at least a mile or so.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved