Home » Communications » Radar Detectors/scanners » SPX5500 » 13 Reviews

Cobra Spx 5500 Radar Detector - Ku Band, X-band, Ka Band, Ku Band, Ka Superwide, Laser, Vg-2 - Vg-2 Alert, Spectre Alert, Spectre Iv+ - City, Highway, Dim - 360 Detection (spx5500) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 13 reviews)

25% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Recommend:

0 (3)

Was this a gift?:

No (3)

Describe Yourself:

Commuter (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Useless!

By Jwalker from Indianapolis on 10/12/2015


Cons:

Gives False Reads, Inaccurate

Describe Yourself:

Commuter

Best Uses:

Paper Weight

Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Looks Good

Recommend:

0

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have previously owned another Cobra radar detector, and I was very pleased. I thought I would upgrade... Bad decision. The SPX 5500 is a useless detector. I have seen cops on the side of the road, and point their radar guns directly at me, and not a peep from this detector. Yet, on open highways, always that train warning. Junk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Save your MONEY

By Bear from Carrizo Springs Texas on 09/02/2015


Recommend:

1

Pros:

Easy To Mount

Cons:

Gives False Reads, Inaccurate

Describe Yourself:

Commuter

Best Uses:

Highway Driving

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

In the past 15 years I've had four Cobra Radar Detectors and this was the only one that let me down with a Ticket. It's been two weeks and Customer Service still hasn't gotten back with me. Not to mention the hard time it gave me with False readings and "Train Approaching" so when I'd be out on those long stretches of Texas Oil Field Highways it would light up but when a Trooper would be out with a radar gun it was SILENT. Maybe it didn't want to alert the trooper that I was there. Anyway, DON'T buy this Detector. Sorry Cobra I cant be loyal when its costing me money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work

By bug eye from atlanta metro on 07/28/2015


Recommend:

0

Was this a gift?:

No

Describe Yourself:

Commuter

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

n/a


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no good on laser gun

By Harun from Allen , TX on 07/18/2015


Recommend:

0

Pros:

Versatile

Was this a gift?:

No

Best Uses:

Small Cars, Highway Driving, City Driving

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I passed different times , different ways police was checking speed with laser gun , my radar/laser detector did not give any alert :/ don't waste your money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs more testing.

By silverkx from San Jose, CA, USA on 06/06/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm writing this review as the first day of testing, so please heed my review with warning. (I may report back to write an updated review) First and foremost, this isn't the worst radar on the market, there are way way worse from what I've read. Don't buy into the hype. For about $150 dollars, you really can't go wrong with this product. It's easy to set up and comes with a detailed instruction guide, the packaging could be a bit better rather than plastic but hey! who cares right? If you live in California like I do, you may have trouble sticking this on your dash with the adhesive that comes with this, I had to buy some velcro to make the dang thing stick to my dash. (You know CA Laws, nothing on the windshield) On to my actual experience, After getting excited and setting it up, the product went to work like it should. I drove on I-680 and the 5500 picked up a Ka Detection but quickly went away. I think the cop was below me on the streets. I did come to one intersection where a K- Band went nuts! But I didn't see any cops around, I came back to same intersection about 30 mins. later and I did see a police officer with his lights on (the test on that in inconclusive). The 5500 does however pick up speed signs (those signs that say slow down if you go too fast) about 1000 feet away. I will continue to test out the product and If it doesn't live up to it's standards, I will be returning the product to Frys, other than that, the product is doing fairly decent at the of posting this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not too good, stay away.

By frustrated in MI from Dryden,MI on 04/21/2015

I bought this 2 months ago and it doesn't work anywhere close as good as my old Cobra does. In a matter of fact I don't think it works at all other then giving false alerts. I've tested it against my old dectector, when my old one detects radar I would immediately exchange dectectors and this new one would detect nothing and low and behold 1/2 mile down the road I pass a cop. I've contacted this outlet store that billed me and shipped me the new one and got a run around from them as far as exchanging/refund....no original packing no return is what they said. If I would've known I this hassle I'm now getting I never would've bought it online, only reason I did was because I thought I was buying directly from Cobra and not this "factory outlet store online". My advice is do not buy it online because you'll get a run around if you a have situation like me....my 2 cents. NOT IMPRESSED AT ALL! So I guess my recourse is to see what my credit card issuer will do about this defective item or take a hit a lose my hard earned cash I've paid for this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

false reading

By john c from Largo, FL, USA on 03/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

driving across tampa bay and tells me a train is comming ! this happen in alot of times where there is no train


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect Detector For Amazing Price!

By Speedy1327 from Detroit, MI, USA on 01/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product back in may 2014. I am one to say I never drive the speed limit, and ive never been pulled over till this day (1/29/15) Detector has givin me almost 3/4 mile warning for cops, and half mile for red light cameras! it is amazing! It does not actually set off for false signals, it gets set off by some security systems and automatic doors, but when you go past them enough you can automatically set the detector to ignore it. Its never left my car and I bought a second one when it was on sale for my friend. EXCELLENT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOVE IT!

By SPIFFY from ARIZONA on 12/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the perfect XMAS gift. Yes I agree you sometimes get false signals; but it isn't really a false signal when its detecting something. The user guide tells you this will happen, and there are several things you can change to make it more quiet. The fact that someone would rely 100% on an electronic device to stay out of a ticket is absurd. 85% of the time that I have used it over the last 4 days it has been extremely accurate, with plenty of notice, even up in the mountains. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. A+++++++


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Radar Detector for the price

By Corner from Edmonton, AB, Canada on 11/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Detector works great, had it for a few weeks and picked up 5 cops on the highway on one 350 mile trip. It gives you lots of warning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but no so good

By schnee48 from Undisclosed on 10/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this product two months ago and was totally fine until recently, kept giving me ridiculous false signals. But when I did contact customer support the lady wasn't very nice or seemed willing to help, but the worst part is I have to pay my own way to ship it out to them to fix it if thats even possible. I most likely just going to sell this one and buy a different companies product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sorry Awfull, the worst Unit i ever purchased

By nmto0777 from Houston, TX, USA on 10/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I would not recommend that unit. If i could find my receipt i would return it immediatly. Less than a month of owning that unit. Yes it does give you real alarms when you approaching a radar however it also gave you 3 times more alarms for no valid reasons. Mine goes off randomly for no reason in totally remote area, react to Audi car around me ( Suspect it may be trigger from their blind spot transmitter but very specific to most Audi cars surrounding me on the road) and the most annoying is that it gives me on a regular daily basis at different locations the "train" alarm when there is not a train track within more than 10 miles... so because so many faulse alarms, (even in city mode to attenuate the quantity of faulse alarm) you do not pay attention to it anymore and will be caught. My previous 5 years old , cheapest unit bought for $59 at a different company did gave me so much better results than this one... i will stay away from a cobra product any more as it relate to Radar detector.. And i did pay more (as i my credit card statement show as i did not keep the receipt) at an approved distributor (best buy) that it show on the manufacture web site to top it off. not very happy....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too much False alerts

By Mike6588 from Memphis, TN, USA on 08/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this almost a month ago, and so far it has only given me mainly False Alerts!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved