Home » Communications » Radar Detectors/scanners » SPX7800BT » 16 Reviews

Cobra Spx 7800bt Radar Detector - X-band, K-band, Ku Band - Vg-2 Alert, Spectre Iv+ - Dim, City - 360 Detection (spx7800bt) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 16 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By JR from Chicago, IL on 06/18/2015


Pros:

Works As It Should

Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought about 6 months ago, does everything it said it would. Bluetooth connection to my smartphone was easy and fast. This unit is by far the one best out there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never connects to your phones blu tooth

By ScyberE from Palm Desert, CA 92260, USA on 05/16/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Over all Ka band works great but I've tried 5 different phones and i get the same result where the phone connects via blu tooth but it thinks its a "head set" device so it never transmit the data it was programmed too. Spend $250 for the best but got the worst.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PRODUCT! Tired of seeing bad reviews!

By Jason49 from Austin, TX, USA on 05/06/2015

I have read a lot of reviews on here that are right on and I have read some that are way off. I want to start with telling you that with anything you need to learn your equipment. You can't detect a cops radar if you don't know what to look for. With a little research you can learn a lot of useful tips. I have had my radar detector for a couple months now and it has saved me a couple times from tickets. I hear a lot about false signals. There is a lot of radar on the roads. There are certain ones that you need to watch for. If you are connected with the app anytime you see a alert that you know isn't a cop you need to mark it on your phone. If you drive by the same spot everyday and see the same X band radar mark as not cop and your detector will not go crazy when you drive by. This will help a little but when you have a detector in your car it is going to detect radar. Not always a cop, just part of having one. Most cops that are actively using radar are on Ka band. Ka band that cops use has been hard for a good while now to detect. There was a couple radar detectors out there that would pick them up but not many. The ones that would were $500.00 plus. The Technoligy needed to detect this was very expensive. Now there is two "big dogs" in the business that now offer a detector under $500.00 That actually work and this is one. X band isn't police K bad 9 out of 10 isn't one neither. Ka is the one to watch for but you have to look for the MHz. If it just says "Ka" then more than likely it is NOT police. I live in Austin tx and Since I have had this detector I've been all over Tx and Ok. I can tell you for sure that if you see Ka 34.7 MHz that IS police. Ka 35.5 is very common, usually not police but still good to slow and make sure. These are good detectors so you might not see anything when you first hear it but there is a cop around that area. Ka 37.7 MHz usually is the cops. Really you just need to do your research and learn your equipment. Most complaints are user error. Pay attention to the MHz on the screen because that is how you tell if you are looking at a cop or not! I saw a review on here about laser and some guy saying that this detector isn't any good because he got a ticket. Well first of all it is very nice to have a radar detector that can detect laser. The problem you will have is that when scanning for radar your better off having your detector as high up by the rear view mirror as possible. When cops are using laser they are instructed to aim and shoot at your front license plate which makes it very hard to be setup good for laser and radar. Myself I am actually getting another laser detector and mounting it in the bottom of my grill on my truck. Well I hope this has helped you in your search for a good detector. This cobra radar detector is a great deal and a great product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

having trouble with device

By UtPo from Wyoming, USA on 03/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

bought 3 month ago and used it twice last month on my road trip...it is not detecting radar signals at all...sometimes it only detects when the signal is right in front of you..i thought may be it was coincidence that they happened to turn on the radar when i approached them but it happened quite a few times...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ignore the negative. reviews

By relkins from Price, UT, USA on 01/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchases this radar with hesitation when I started using this at first there were quite a few false detetections but as I kept goin by the same area day after day the detector. Would detect once and stop as if it learned the area now it very seldom comes on in those areas, this detector has awesome range and gives you plenty time to slow down I recommend detector. Read the instructions. I believe that the people having problems did not read them


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Feature packed, great value reliable unit

By DeepSouth from Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand on 01/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my SPX for about 6 months now. I love the Bluetooth link with my iPhone, connects automatically when I get in the car. The screen is great and I love been able to select different colours. I have the display on all the time The GPS speed on the detector screen is awesome, this data comes from the iPhone and is accurate (same as my TomTom GPS unit). In in NZ the Police only use Ka band so I have turned all other bands off - so minimal false alerts in town - really handy feature. If the police radar is constantly on getting warnings if on straight roads from about 2 kilometres away. Get quite good alerts as approach a straight on corners as well. It's great having the USB connector on the power supply to plug iPhone into while driving. For the price it performs well, give me enough of a heads up when it alerts to check speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got a speeding ticket today...

By gomite from Chicago, IL, USA on 12/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is my first radar/laser detector. I have been getting used to the beeping here and there. Unfortunately, I got stopped and cited for speeding today while using this detector. I saw the squad car, and proceeded to slow down, THEN the detector went off citing laser signal. Admittedly, I am naive about the utility of these products and decidedly disappointed. I'd rather have my money back. I didn't even manage to drive but 2000 miles before I was cited with this in use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bees knees 10 out of 9!

By A CAZ from Florida, USA on 12/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It certainly comes with its subtle quirks but hands down the funnest and most reliable experience I have had with any detector device. Took it on a 10 hour, round trip, drive for the first time and within no time, I found a cobra buddy! The user was 2 hours ahead leaving their mark and I was able to track and confirm their sightings. This product has inspired me with many ideas on how it can be improved. I look forward to seeing what future software updates reveal! 4 stars - if I have nav or traffic view on and switch apps I have to re enter the address it was taking me too and I have to re activate the traffic view. UI needs improvement, simplify icons, there is no need to have a bulky gradient / partial frame on a map for a phone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm really not happy with this product

By bart from Mississauga, Ontario, Kanada on 11/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

go past the police and even beeps,a lot of false alarms,does not respond to even police vehicles driving on the signal.I tried all the settings and nothing helps


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works well

By mike518 from upstate New York on 11/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my SPX 780 for one year. It does every thing the ads said it would. mounted to my rear-view mirror and hard wire to my car, It comes on when the car is running. Bluetooth connection to my Galaxy S5 was easy and fast. I have had detectors as far back as 1982 and all the top names. This one is by far the one best. The only thing is the documentation is a little week and you have to go to third parties retailer for mounting options. I use it all the time as an outside salesman.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

too many false alerts

By mikeinin from Evansville, IN, USA on 11/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Way too many false alerts,.. I get a train alert when I'm no where even close to anything that would set it off,.. or a train even in a 10 miles radius!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Nifty Device!

By Robert Yeager from Portland, OR on 11/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I decided that I needed a good radar detector since I moved from a Honda Civic Hybrid to a BMW 750LI. I always have my iPhone with me and it is on and plugged in, so the complaints I have seen elsewhere that this "needs to be connected to a phone to work well" are irrelevant. I specifically like the data sharing feature. I have only had it for 2 weeks so not enough time to get lots of radar hits. I don't see very much noise. I like the digital speed readout (linked to my phone GPS). The only complaint is that the manual doesn't specify the power plug specifications. I would like to purchase a spare cable so I'll have to measure it to find the right type.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Worst !!

By workharddieproud from Kentucky, USA on 10/22/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had numerous detectors, from high end to low end, and this one by far is the worst I've ever owned. Mounds of false alarms and the range is horrible. Plus side is I love the features and thats about it. To bad I spent 230.00 on a unit that should have been priced around 50.00 for the performance valve. So much for the saying, "you get what you pay for" And I've owned this unit now for at least 4 months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Picks Up Everything!

By 08 JJ from Ohio on 10/21/2014

When I have seen cruisers most of them are taking a nap. I did pick up one legitimate from a very good distance. On the other side, this picks up everything, maybe I have a bad unit and have contacted Cobra customer service. I pick up railroads when one is over five miles away. I pick up laser detection on a beach in the Outer Banks of NC and every car that has car detection (mainly every Audi on the road) it picks up. My drive to work in the morning is nothing but beeps for 45 minutes into Cleveland. This unit has some great features but lacks the ability to reduce false reports. While this is the powerhouse of thier latest models I had better luck with previous models and they were much quieter. For the price I would not recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

mint

By daniel from Auckland, New Zealand on 10/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have had this for a month and have loved it would recommend it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst radar I have ever owned!

By Anthony from New York, NY, USA on 09/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned several radars. I purchased this one because it was supposed to be the next best thing from Cobra. It would go off after I drove by a trooper. Or I would see the cop first and than the radar would go off. After two speeding tickets I have decided to get a different one. I still trust the Cobra brand. Just not this one. Don't waste your money on this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved