Home » HR23 » 25 Reviews

Directv Hr23 Hd/dvr Receiver With Built In B-band Converter Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 25 reviews)

95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Set Up (19), Great Picture (17), Attractive Design (16), Easy To Use (3)

Describe Yourself:

Power User (4), Enthusiast (18), Casual User (3)

Best Uses:

Works W/high Def (18), Movies (18), Sports (13), Video Games (3), Television (3), Home (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

works like it says it should

By bobby c Verified Reviewer from croton on hudson ny on 04/11/2010


Pros:

Easy To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Home, Television

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

home entertainment center


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PRODUCT

By Alonso Verified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 03/27/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Set Up, High Capacity, Sleek Design

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Home, Movies, Television

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product and very reliable if you don't have time to watch tv when shows are showing..Simply record and let the magic happen... [...] I will recommend beach audio to all of my friends. Beach audio's prices are very much competitive and I am very satisfied with their service. A+


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EASY AS PIE

By DENNIS from PALM BEACH COUNTY FL on 03/24/2010


Pros:

High Capacity, Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up, Sleek Design

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Television, Dorm Room, Movies, Office, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

EASY TO USE NO MORE DIFICULT TO USE THAN DIRECT TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the best Direct TV has to offer?

By Josh from Chandler AZ on 03/10/2010


Pros:

Great Picture, Easy To Use

Cons:

Slow, Network Capabilities

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Movies, Works W/high Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not a fan of Direct TV's policy having to purchase a box in order to use their service. I switched over to Dish Network, after all that was said and done, I am content with the switch but not thrilled. This receiver is slow to the touch. The networking capabilities that they promote are a joke. VOD is horrible. I was spoiled with Dish Networks VIP model receiver. I was hoping the HR-23 would be on the same level seeing how it's their top of the line model.Bottom line, this receiver is not bad, it's not great but it does the job. I did lots of research.[...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Jen Verified Reviewer from Fort Collins, CO on 03/09/2010


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Great Picture

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Sports, Movies, Video Games, Works W/high Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Price and product are great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would buy this product again and again

By Desert Eagle from Cabot, AR on 03/02/2010


Pros:

Attractive Design, Great Picture

Cons:

Difficult To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Sports, Movies, Works W/high Def

The HD recordings on the DVR during playback have some video quality issues, but otherwise a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would buy this again.

By Steelerfanmike from NJ on 02/25/2010


Pros:

Attractive Design, Great Picture, Easy To Set Up

Cons:

No Over The Air Tuner

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Works W/high Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

its all in the software from Directv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great unit

By Doberman Verified Reviewer from Ohio on 02/11/2010


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Great Picture, Attractive Design

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great unit. [...] Took no time to set up if you know what you're doing. Great picture. I even have unit streaming pics, videos, and music from my computer....awesome. Only negative (yet minor)... on occasion unit lags slightly after pushing remote buttons.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DVR

By rock from Dallas/FtWorth Texas on 01/27/2010


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Attractive Design, Great Picture

Cons:

No Cons

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Sports, Video Games, Works W/high Def, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The HR23 provides a fantastic HD picture & it is very easy to use,very simple to setup.The best is that I can record two different programs at the same time.I recomend that if you are intrested in buying a DVR buy the HR23 I have two of them & have no problems. beachaudio.com has the very best price on the web for the HR23 DVR.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would buy this product again.

By Steel City Guy Verified Reviewer from Pittsburgh PA on 01/22/2010


Pros:

Great Picture, Attractive Design, Easy To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Sports, Works W/high Def, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

[...] It was very easy to setup right out of the box. Just had to connect the cables and it was ready to go. After a brief call to directv, everything was perfect. Excelent HD picture quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Picture and performance better than HR21

By HDIRECTVFAN Verified Reviewer from Ohio on 01/12/2010


Pros:

Attractive Design, Easy To Set Up, Great Picture

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Sports, Works W/high Def, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think that the menus and screen is brighter with this new model. I like the extra HDD space as well since I can now record more hours worth of HD goodness.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellant Product

By Scott Verified Reviewer from Millbury, OH on 12/30/2009


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Attractive Design, Great Picture

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Sports, Works W/high Def, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I hooked it to my Vizio LCD 55" and it looks great easy to setup. This is my first HD and I am very impressed. I have recorded Movies on it as well as some tv shows and the quality is great as well as a lot of space for the recordings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blows It's Predecessor Away!

By HD Junkie Verified Reviewer from Chicago on 12/23/2009


Pros:

Attractive Design, Bigger Hard Drive, Great Picture, Easy To Set Up

Cons:

None What-so-ever

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Works W/high Def, Sports, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutley love this version of Directv's HD-DVR. The bigger hard drive allows for much more storage of recorded programs, especially in HD format as compared to the two (2) older HD-Dvr's I own. I use this DVR in my bedroom - the "better half" loves being able to watch all her recorded programs in HD while relaxing before going to sleep.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HR23 - Great Product, easy set up.

By George Verified Reviewer from Miami, Florida on 12/22/2009


Pros:

Attractive Design, Easy To Set Up, Great Picture

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Movies, Sports, Works W/high Def, Video Games

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent picture, easy set up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Accurate Description-exactly as promised

By Nort Verified Reviewer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/18/2009


Pros:

Accurate Description

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Works W/high Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy set up. Better than Tivo. [...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture And Lots of HDD Space

By Robert Verified Reviewer from El Paso, TX on 12/15/2009


Pros:

Attractive Design

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Works W/high Def, Movies

The resolution and easy of use are great. So far I havent had any issues or problems. I would recommend this model to anyone who wants a Directv HD DVR!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Well

By tep6655 Verified Reviewer from Albany, NY on 12/15/2009


Pros:

Great Picture, Attractive Design, Easy To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Movies, Sports, Works W/high Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Upgrade from my HR20 DVR. Much more storage space. Other than that, works as expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slow response

By Merkin from Atlanta, GA on 12/08/2009


Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Response to the remote is very slow even after powering down or resetting. Don't know if it needs more RAM, or a faster HDD, whatever It also lacks the external off-air coax connection found on the HR20. They did away with the B-band dongle things, but overall it's frustrating to use. Maybe the next software update will help.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Quality and low priced!

By Steve the avid Vikings football watcher! from Washington State on 12/05/2009


Pros:

Great Picture, Easy To Set Up, Attractive Design

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Cuse Bball Looks Amazing, Works W/high Def, Sports, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

best picture ever!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sweet deal

By Jim Jupiter Verified Reviewer from Long Beach, CA on 12/01/2009


Pros:

Easy To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Movies, Works W/high Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The same receiver that I got from DirectTV at a fraction of the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Directv Hd/dvr HR23

By ultrasupaman from Michigan on 11/30/2009


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Attractive Design, Great Picture

Cons:

Slow Guide Scrolling

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Sports, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Dual built in tuner


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product[...]

By jlb from seneca, sc on 11/25/2009


Pros:

Attractive Design, Easy To Set Up, Great Picture

Cons:

Tivo Mmi Is Better

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

On-demand Downloads Good, Sports, Works W/high Def, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall the HR23 is a great DVR. Dual tuner capability works perfectly with DirectTV single wire multiswitch (SWM).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Latest Cutting Edge Technology Plus

By Terry Verified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 11/02/2009


Pros:

Great Picture, Attractive Design

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Works W/high Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While it comes with a bigger hard drive, I bought an external 2 TB hard drive for greater capacity. All I had to do was plug in the external drive to the receiver with an external eSata cable and power the drive on before I powered on the new HR23. The HR23 did the rest of the setup. Amazing quality in increased audio and video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First DVR and loving it

By Jerry Verified Reviewer from Forsyth, Ga on 09/23/2009


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Great Picture, Attractive Design

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Works W/high Def, Movies, Sports

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was my first DVR. I have been waiting until the bugs were worked out which for the most part have been. I also wanted the HR23 because the band converters were not necessary since it has broadband tuners. I have also hooked it up to my broadband router through the hardwired LAN connection for VOD. This works as advertised. So far I have not found any negatives but remember this is my first. I would highly recommend this DVR.[...] Thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DirecTV HR23 HD DVR

By jwciv Verified Purchaser from New England on 08/27/2009


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Easily Upgradeable Drive

Cons:

I'm Used To Tivo

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a replacement for an HR10-250 due to the MPEG-4 switchover by DirecTV. I've been using Tivo based devices for 6+ years on DirecTV and am having a bit of a hard time getting used to this UI and slightly different feature set. It is a slower UI, but upconversion is better than average. DirecTV had me very close to returning this unit until they realized it was an eoor on their side - - they dropped my HD package.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved