Home » Mobile Electronics » Wiring & Installation » Cables & Parts » 509U » 9 Reviews

Directed Electronics 509u Ultrasonic Sensor Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

77% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Can be used by everyone

By brentbeme from Undisclosed on 02/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well priced for what you can do with it. You can use it to avoid your robot from banging into walls, but can also be used as a "motion sensor".


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A must have for Mindstorms!

By Jay66 from manchester on 08/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The best sensor ever! It totally works! If you don't have one get it for your NXT ! It really can tell distance!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD

By HPPP from Undisclosed on 05/11/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I thought this was a pretty good senser. I don't have much to say on it. But it is a good thing to have for your NXT, Like MIne. It is usful for getting around walls and stuff like that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lego NXT Has Sight!

By tahubird from FL on 04/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a great sensor for measureing distance (duh). It is very useful when making robots that drive around on thier own so they dont run into anything. but it does have some bugs. it does not get great readings from anything soft and it rarely detects things like chair legs etc. that are real thin. but all in all a great adition to the lego Mindstorms kit!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Whoa!

By Nileman3177 from Battleground, WA on 01/05/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It really works! It takes very little time and it can really measure distance! Don`t poke its eyes though, or it won`t work. You should calibrate it to keep it working properly too. Use this sensor to do many cool things. Don`t worry about the price separately. I have to say it is a bit dumb. But if you want it, buy the NXT set, you will get this and the rest of the city.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Vision for NXT!

By doddy from England, UK on 10/31/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This sensor is exelent! and is very good for creating 'robots with vision'. It is very usefull and can detect objects very well. I got mine with the NXT base mindstorms set, and would probably not pay 22 for another one, because there is not much use for two, but as a replacement part mabe. Overall a great sensor for NXT.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY BAD Value

By UnhappyBuilder from California on 10/23/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is not a good value at all! First my Ultrasonic sensor that my set came with was defective, and the replacement has not come. Do they really expect us to pay this much? -Unhappy Customer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good

By billy259 from Undisclosed on 07/04/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The idea behind it is great and the sensor itself gets the job done well. However, it is not the most accurate in measurement, usually saying the object is a little farther away than it actually is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sonic Vision

By nxtium from Portland, OR on 01/11/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very much like a bat, the Ultrasonic Sensor uses a unique way to sense objects in the way. This is the best addition of Mindstorms yet, as it is one of the most frequently used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved