Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Household Cleaning » Vacuum Cleaners » BD10045RED » 39 Reviews

Dirt Devil Accucharge Technology Bd10045red Hand Vacuum Cleaner Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 39 reviews)

51% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Battery life is a joke.

By Ruselina from Alaska, United States on 10/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Replaced a tried and true brand with a Dirt Devil Model BD10045. Battery pack lasted about 2 months. Now I can't find replacement batteries so entire unit will be thrown out as I am told batteries are not covered under warranty. Will never buy another Dirt Devil product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dirt Devil Accucharge

By Branch903 from Allyn, Allyn-Grapeview, WA, United States on 09/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only had this only about a month and so far it is working well. My previous dirt devil was very much like this Accu charge. I expect the accu charge will last as long as my other one did. The old one I had for around 10yrs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low suction, battery would not take full charge... Unit < 1yr old !

By jerseyjoan from New Jersey, United States on 09/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Contacted Dirt Devil via phone and email. Happy to report quick response and action. After completing the sequence of testing the unit as requested by Rep -- which involved 2 cycles of unplugging the unit, then recharge x6 hrs, then try it -- I still had low suction and little lasting power. A new unit was sent out after reporting results. I do like the unit and appreciate the assistance in replacing it. They totally stood by their product. IN follow up, it was suggested to not let your unit stay on the charger for long periods without using it.... also, occasionally to let the unit run down completely and then recharge ( reset first by unplugging charging unit before doing this).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Won't hold a charge

By jacksm from Santa Maria, CA, United States on 09/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had it for 8 months, the last 4 of which it hasn't worked. Keep it plugged in always, yet it won't even run for 1 minute. Definitely something wrong here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not recommended

By Andy Nguyen from Houston, TX, United States on 08/10/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this for a couple of year but never have it worked like it should! After 3 months, the batter started getting bad. Can only run for 30 seconds after a full charge. Just bought a B&D and thinking about changing the battery, but found out it just out of waranty (Jun 2012). Nor recommended this product at all!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Handy Machine

By Fergie from La Mirada, California on 08/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my Dirt Devil. Handy to use and easy to clean. Great suction and the wall mount was so easy to install and to use. Very satisfied overall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powerful!

By speakerdoc from Fort Worth, TX on 07/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Doesn't take up much space, and totally portable. Cannot imagine a home without one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful for quick clean ups!

By Jadieluv from Undisclosed on 06/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Dirt Devil we have is the newest out there. I am eager to see how long this one last. I have to agree, it would be wonderful if the battery didn't just "poop out" like it did in the last one. It works so well and is so convenient for those quick jobs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked great the first two months

By rosem from Princeton, NJ, United States on 06/20/2015

I bought this in Sept to replace an older model which I had been satisfied with. I was impressed with the power of this new machine, and the charge lasted a reasonable amount of time. However, after about five or six months, the recharge started weakening noticeably and quickly moved to not recharging at all. This may be an aberration, but, at the moment, I am not very happy with the product. I am hoping that the warranty process improves my mood. That could change the overall rating. Another problem with this product is that the exhaust vent is angled so that it blows into the users face. That is annoying, unnecessary, and a deal breaker for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By J A Brony from Colorado on 06/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Junk - Battery goes to half power within 2 minutes - at half power it useless. Somewhere I read that even though the manual says you can leave the unit in it's base plugged in it is not advised as it may damage the battery - doh.... Never ANY dirt Devil product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite hand vac

By Happy Vacuumer from Undisclosed on 06/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this hand vac. When I had an issue with the battery's ability to hold a charge after a few years, customer service was exceptional and replaced my hand vac very quickly. Tip: when you're utilizing the pull-out crevice tool, pull it out with care...meaning don't jerk it roughly each time or after a few years you'll ruin the flip-out mechanism.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

POWERFUL/ HOLDS CHARGE

By Leery No More from California, United States on 05/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had to replace another unit which was terrible so was very leery but this unit is way more powerful , collection cup need to be dumped more often


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nozzle angle

By MikeNeatnick from Los Gatos, CA, United States on 05/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The angle of the nozzle requires it to be held in an awkward position for vacuuming to be effective. This is a flaw in the basic design of the unit. However, on the plus side, I think the "built in" accessories/features, such as the fold-down nozzle, and the push-out brush, are great ideas that are a convenience. The feature that caused me to purchase the unit is the "Accucharge" feature. However, the red charging light on mine NEVER goes out, even when in use. Is that how it is supposed to work?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Its ok.

By mcleanp from West Orange, NJ, United States on 05/03/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

we had ours for over 2 years, and using it less than once a month, and the unit failed to work. It was replaced by DD, but I can only see that happening again...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good so far

By rogoman from Mickleton, NJ, United States on 05/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This model that we bought is the successor and almost identical to the Model M0924 that we had previously which would no longer hold a charge. This new vacuum is so much more powerful. When on a full charge, we don't keep the vacuum in the charger cradle when not in use; after it starts to slow down a lot, then it gets put into the cradle for a recharge. This was something recommended to us by the Dirt-Devil support folks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

battery

By gmaq from Undisclosed on 04/26/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had 2 of these. First was a gift,. lasted 6 months, then the battery would not charge. Was returned for replacement. 2nd one lasted 4 months and now does not charge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had a Dirt Devil for many years.

By Bumps from Naples, FL, United States on 04/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this model about 9 months ago and it truly exceeds my expectations. My wife and I would not in any way want any thing but a Dirt Devil.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Obsolete Product; Do Not Buy

By HenryP from Houston, TX on 03/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This hand vac worked well for us for the last year or two, until we accidently discarded the filter. It turns out we need to purchase not only the filter, but also a filter adapter part. Trouble is, Dirty Devil does not seem to make or sell the filter adapter part any more. Thanks for standing behind your product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does the job

By MarylandShopper from Washington, D.C., DC, United States on 03/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Powerful with useful features that add to its versatility. Don't expect this to do big jobs. It is a hand-help vacuum for small/modest pickups and cleanups. Keep it charged, use it reasonably and it should satisfy. Much better than previous rechargeable hand vacs I have had. And it can store in its cradle very nicely on a shelf. Just bought second one for upstairs; original is downstairs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent

By tzirel1 from Lakewood Township, NJ, United States on 03/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very happy with it . works great and you were really good about sending me a new one without charge


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good customer service

By pdbrown170b from Anchorage, AK, United States on 02/18/2015

My DD batteries failed within a few months of service. I was more than disappointed because I had paid up for the advanced charging features of this model. However, the company was very prompt in sending a new unit which has been performing as advertised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Most Powerful Cordless Vac

By Isenburg from Atlanta, GA, United States on 02/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this machine; it's all I need to clean up even the most stubborn difficult-to-reach dirt spots in my house. Am also more than impressed about their customer service staff - these guys rock - AT&T, Comcast you listen? We had a little warranty issue and were able to talk to a very nice woman, no wait, and she took care of everything in no time. Highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's the Batteries !

By Gotorah from Undisclosed on 02/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

NiCd batteries develop a memory. This Vac starts out fine, then the batteries develop a memory of 'Full Charge' after a few weeks, and then as soon as it's turned on the voltage drops a little and then the Vac bites the dirt it is supposed to vacuum up. It works wonderful new, but doesn't last over 60 days if it is left plugged into the Accu-Charge Charger. Do not keep it plugged in. Set it on the counter and after many uses and the motor slows, charge it. About every third time, discharge it before charging and it will last a long time. It's a hassle, but keeps it working. I cannot recommend it until they put Lithium batteries in.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of Power !!

By Thom from Vassar MI on 02/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this a month ago because the original unit I bought 6 months ago had a power problem. It was replaced quickly by Dirt Devil. I have one of these at home, and one at our cottage and they both work great ! My cat sheds and leaves little gifts all over the house and it is so easy to just grab the DD off the wall and clean up the hair. The motor sounds like a jet engine and has plenty of power. Also easy to empty the dust trap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great suction while it lasts

By aokvw from Machipongo, VA on 01/10/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Dirt Devil replaced my original vacuum under warranty, when the battery failed to charge within a year of ownership. The replacement process was easy enough and they were very accommodating. The unit does a very good job while it works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I thought it would be better

By Gotorah from Chama, NM, United States on 01/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace an 8 year old B&D. My Accucharge lasted 4 months and won't accept a charge. The charger gets warm but the vac will hardly run, never for more than a minute. I bought Royal products years ago and thought they were junk and had great hopes for this one, but they let me down again. It ran great for awhile, a very short while.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it but have major concern.

By Linnylou from Royal Oak, Michigan on 01/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 2nd Accucharge we have purchased. The first one lasted a little over 2 years, which is fine for the Amazon price we paid. We accept the flaws as stated in other reviews but have a major concern with the new purchase. The red "charging" light has not gone out since it was plugged in 2 days ago. An email to Customer Service was replied to promptly but we are not sure we believe the reply which was, "For the new 2013 models, the charger will turn off once the unit is done charging. THE LIGHT WILL CONTINUE TO GLOW AS LONG AS THE UNIT IS CONNECTED TO THE CHARGER". The Instruction Manual which came with the unit and the one available on the Dirt Devil website states "Charging light turns off when Hand Vac is fully charged". We are afraid the unit is overcharging and may cause a FIRE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

didn't last 8 months

By kappy from Wilmington, Delaware, United States on 12/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used this in a perfectly average way; minor dry spills (cereal) and dust. This does not hold its charge 8 months later. Is it built to not even last a year? At close to $60, I expect at least a year's use. Now I see there are many, many reviews saying the same thing. I will be more careful next time. If all Dirt Devil products are made this poorly, I will find another brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product with a short lifetime

By Dick from Bayfield, CO, United States on 09/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this tool on Amazon in January. It worked wonderfully for a few months and then began to weaken. The battery died completely in September after about 8 months of occasional light use. I expected better quality than this and am afraid to buy another Dirt Devil product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So disappointed

By Nana from Bloomfield Hills, MI, United States on 09/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

In order to have the crevice tool feature, the main suction part has been compromised. You have to have it at just the right angle to pick anything up...and the area is not much. Takes forever to get everything picked up. Also, the unit frequently falls out of the wall bracket. This entire vac is very poorly designed. Sorry I ever bought this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Product

By PGB87 from Minneapolis on 08/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This little vacccum works great. I really like the built in crevice tool. I've had it for six months and it's worked perfectly for me. The other reviewer didn't understand how the wall mount works - you push it straight back onto the holder, you don't "hook" it on. If you do that, it is very secure. The three year warranty will take care of any battery life problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Vacuum life too short, but works great otherwise

By LaurelSTX from USVI on 07/13/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It worked great for me for about a year, then lost it's oomph. You can't buy a replacement battery pack, so when the battery dies, that's it. If you purchase this knowing it won't last that long, then you will be able to enjoy it while you have it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really sucks good!

By Evelyne from Elk Grove Village, IL, United States on 07/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought it for cleaning up cat litter that was on the floor. After the initial charge, I was pleasantly surprised at how powerful it picked up the liter the cTs left on the floor. The charge has lated for weeks with no loss of suction.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great while it lasted.

By zooks4 from Undisclosed on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The vacuum stop charging because a diode blow-out. Can I get a new circuit board I don't think so. The only thing I'm sure of is that I'm not going to buy another one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powerful/Reliable

By countrycleaner from Western Colorado on 03/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For years I only purchased the Kirby rechargeable hand vac. Then they changed something in the switch and they would only last a few months. I decided to quit wasting my money and to try Dirt Devil. I am SO glad I did. It has been a workhorse for me with no problems! I use it several times a day for a minimum of five minutes a time. It is invaluable if you have cats which I do. It will pick up hair on the thickest of carpets and furniture. I especially like the fold down nozzle for tight spots (I keep it down all the time). The only criticism I have is that it is heavier and louder than I would like, but this is not enough of a problem that I would change it's rating. I will be buying another one for use in my garage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great, but......

By Snowman from Orange County, CA, United States on 01/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This model is the successor (and nearly identical) to a Model M0924. Worked great for a couple of years, but batteries eventually stopped charging. There is no economically feasible way to change the battery pack! It's actually a 'custom' build of an array of NiCad batteries to replace the internal pack, and would cost nearly twice as much as simply buying a new one. What a waste of resources, and an example of poor engineering design. Again, if this doesn't bother you, this is a terrific product, other than the above.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

much better than my old Dust Buster vacuum

By njkg55 from Brick, NJ on 10/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was very surprised to see the 2 negative reviews for this product. I have had it a year and have none of the problems described in these reviews. The power charge lasts much longer than my old dust buster. I especially love the fact that the tools are part of the vacuum. So handy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Some good, some not so good

By DonT from Wilmington, DE on 08/21/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We've had this product for almost a year. I like the way the tools (crevice and brush) are built in, making them instantly available when needed. Also like the design and ease of emptying of the filter. Have no idea whether the Accucharge feature will increase the battery's life, but DD does give you a 3 yr. warranty, which is long for products like this. The not-so-good part is the angle of the nozzle. The vacuum must be positioned at a 60-degree angle to what you're vacuuming in order to maximize the suction. Most competitive hand vacs require that you hold it at only ~30 degrees, making it easier to push and pull across the surface. IMO, it's a major design flaw and unless corrected, I would not buy another one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Design Flaw

By Paul007 from California on 06/07/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased March 13, 2013 on Amazon. When I mounted the wall unit I was surprised, upon installing the anchors, how hard the unit was to insert and remove from the wall mount. My thought was that it would not likely hold. Sure enough the wall mount eventually failed, my vac fell and broke. It no longer charges. This interface issue, the force necessary to remove and insert the vac, is a design flaw IMO. I noted it right off the bat so I assume the company knows. Even is mine was an outlier it is still unacceptable. Plenty of other products out there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved