Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Household Cleaning » Vacuum Cleaners » BD10175 » 31 Reviews

Dirt Devil Gator Bd10175 Portable Vacuum Cleaner Bagless Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 31 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Stinks !!! No power ! No suction hardly!

By Mell from Deer Park, NY, United States on 09/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have purchased 2 of these in the last 5 years. (One about 6 months ago) I don't know why I was stupid enough to buy another one. It has loss of power soon after purchase, the same thing both times! And it just doesn't get evendors the smallestimate job done because of that !!!! Seriously..for that price, I expect a heck allot better !!! WILL NEVER EVER BUY AGAIN! EVERRRRRR


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dirt Devil 18 volt portable vacuum cleaner and warranty replacement /customer service

By Dell2657 from Philadelphia, PA on 09/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this product since October 2014. About 2 months ago it started not holding a charge. It came with a 3 year manufacturer warranty...... I contacted the company, explained the problem, followed their specific instructions and procedures. In a few days, I was sent a new replacement unit. The replacement unit works perfectly. I commend the customer service staff for their professionalism and courtesy. I am happy to recommend Dirt Devil products to any and every body who seeks an opinion about the company or their products. I am a VERY HAPPY AND SATISFIED CUSTOMER!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BATTERY DOES NOT HOLD A CHARGE

By PAULYD from Fairport, NY, United States on 08/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I THOUGHT DIRT DEVIL HAD A GOOD REPUTATION, SO I BOUGHT THE 18V HAND HELD VAC.. I SHOULD OF LISTENED TO THE REVIEWS. AFTER 5 SHORT USES THE BATTERY HOLDS A WEAK CHARGE FOR ABOUT 3 SECONDS, THEN DIES. VERY DISAPPOINTED.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it.

By annieb from South Carolina, United States on 08/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a very old dirt devil which finally gave out. I bought this one because: 1) I loved my old one and 2) it's cordless!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PICKUP, super for quick use

By LulusMom from SE Michigan on 08/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This little, powerful guy is a must have in my house. I have one lightweight upright that only does floors, and another little bullet shape tank type for everything else. I've always had a handheld vac for kitchen crumbs, bathroom hair, tiny bugs on the window ledges and AC and air cleaner tower filters (rather than washing every time). The little brush attachment is great for mini-messes on the carpet. Only had this one less than a month and, so far, it works very well. I've read over a dozen customer reviews and it looks like the Dirt Devil people will back me up if I have a problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Two Years And Running Strong

By CMSgt Lou from Cypress Cove Nudist Resort, Kissimmee on 08/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The frist one I owned was given to my by my employer as a reward from longevity. (I chose the reward from a list of choices) It remained in a box for a couple years. I took it out and put it into use two years ago. My wife and I use it every day, almost without exception. It has held up better than five other brands we've used in the past. I honestly purchased another a few weeks ago for our vacation house. That's how good we feel it is. Good price. Good quality. Good name with a good reputation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Will Not Hold a Charge

By Victor_ from Undisclosed on 07/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The title of the review pretty much says it all. If you want a quality product that will last, save up & buy a Dyson.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this little vac!!!

By Frank85 from Calgary, AB, Canada on 06/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this unit for about two weeks, and so far it is performing great. I'm surprised at all of the negative reviews here....I was comforted by the fact that your warranty seems to have satisfied most of their problems ( mostly battery concerns). I followed the instruction to charge the unit for 24 hours, and so far it's great. When it starts to slow down, I charge it until the light goes out, then it works like a charm. One thing I noticed about all of the reviews....people seem to think they can vacuum the whole house and expect it to run for long periods of time.....come on.....get a full size unit for the floors and stairs, and use this little baby for small quick clean-ups for two or three minutes, and it will perform perfectly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

low suction

By doc1 from Sayreville, NJ, United States on 06/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

does not work well when trying to vacuum car,very low scution


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Much better than the lower volts!

By KC10 from Undisclosed on 04/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Dirt Devil sent this to me free of charge as a replacement for my 15.6 volt one. So far it has been an extraordinary improvement. I'm still in fear of it not keeping a charge in the near future, but... yep, just tried it again after 3 days of not charging it... works like a charm!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3-5 minutes after a 24 hour charge!

By Joel A Davis from Palm Springs, CA, United States on 04/07/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received this cordless vacuum about 3 months ago and it worked well for the first month, giving me 10-15 minutes of good vacuum performance. Since then it does not recharge well, giving me 3-5 minutes of full power then next to nothing for performance. I've done all the recommended maintenance and cleaning to maintain performance to no avail. Don't let them tell you to let it charge for 24 hours...it still doesn't last. This is more a design error on the part of this vacuum company. Prove me wrong Dirt Devil, I wish you would, nice product if it would perform more than 5 minutes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not very happy with this product!

By Rich from Manhattan, NYC, NY, United States on 04/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

purchased this from Hsn back in June of 2014 .Use approx. 3 times a week. But now I notice it isn't holding its charge very long any more!! I followed the book and let it drain out fully and recharged for 24 hours! but now i'm finding I have to do this every time I use it.Not very happy with this product! Is their any solution?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dirt Devil, way to go!

By Aartstaart from BC, Canada on 03/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far quite satisfied, suction not as powerful as I had hoped, but good enough. Beaterbar work very well. In general, it is a handy and easily accessible tool with enough suction to actually do a good cleaning job for which you otherwise have to get a vacuum cleaner, central vacuum or broom. It holds its power quite well also.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So easy for quick pick ups

By Beckyy from Tallahassee, FL, United States on 03/20/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had problems with my original one not keeping a charge after a few months and only running for a few seconds. After speaking w/ customer service they have replace it and indicated not to leave in on the charger continuously. This new one is working well and once the red light goes out I disconnect it from the charger and it has been working fine so far. This instruction apparently needs to be added to the manual sent with the Gator so people will know how to maintain the battery life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth it

By Unimpressed2 from Undisclosed on 03/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the first review I've ever written because I dislike this product that much. I liked this small vac for the first 2 minutes of owning it, But since then it has not held charge or had good suction AT ALL!If you want to vacuum two stairs before it dies, go ahead and purchase it butI would NOT buy this and feel it's not worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great little vacuum

By rcsx3b from so charleston on 02/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

needed small vacuum to clean up small messes. this one is a keeper


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dirt Devil - Gator 18V

By diamondjim from Annapolis, MD, United States on 02/07/2015

Your customer service was the highest that I've ever had from any company---Keep up the good work!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice when it's working

By Howie from New York on 02/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had this vacume for 1 1/2 yrs when the battery gave out , like the other person I tried to locate the battery so I could replace it. I contacted the Dirt Devil people & they told me to put it on charge for 24 hrs. which I did. They asked me to remove the information sticker from the bottom of the vacume & send it to them at wich point they replaced the vacume free.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor power and pick up

By Maxwell from Marietta, GA, United States on 01/30/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was working fine for a few months. Now it will not hold the charge and does not pick up well. I followed the suggestion to use it till it stops and do a full charge. Still will not work normally. I called customer service and received a call back 6 hours later and missed the call. Will call again to see about a solution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent design, horrible battery.

By Anonymous from San antonio, on 01/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I give it 2 stars really loved the brush attachment, as well as the telescoping nozzle. Pretty cool design. The dirt compartment could be a little bigger, but it wouldn't matter because the battery will run out of juice before it is filled. I had my last hand vacuum for 3+ years and replaced it with this one because it wasn't holding a charge well anymore. I've had this one just over a year and it's in worst shape than the last was. If you plan to buy this plan to buy something else one year from now. The 3 year parts and warranty is a trick because they know the battery won't last that long and isn't covered. My $0.02 would be to pass on this model... and it's left me to question the brand all together.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works like a charm!!

By SidSey39 from Chicago, IL, United States on 01/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received a replacement unit for my defective product, and it works great.Keep it clean an you'r good to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

READ REVIEWS!!!!!! The battery dies and there is no replacement. Bad design job!!!

By Nelson from Seymour, CT, United States on 01/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought this Dirty Devil because of what it said it can do. For the most part, for the first few months, it did. Great suction, gets into hard to get places & attachments are great. What they do not tell you is that your battery will last, at most, 6 months. It won't hold a charge, nor can the batteries be replaced.... Basically useless... No lie my wife and I noticed that it wasn't holding a charge so we moved the charger to 3 different outlets. We charged for over 24 hours like they tell you and still nothing. It's good now if you have a simple pick-up that won't take longer than 60 seconds, then it dies. If it was up to me I wouldn't even give this thing a star... The rating Poor is to good for it. We should have known better, this is the second Dirt Devil that has done this to us, battery sucks & cannot be replaced. I have to question whether the designers of this machine ever actually cleaned or living the good life on the money they have made off this quality product (sarcasm)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

still has some suction but sounds like a hacking smoker

By CTon from Dutchess County, NY, United States on 11/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have always purchased dirt devil products to clean up after my three cats. When my "purpose" died, I ran out to a local store and picked up the gator. At first it was working fine, within 2 months the battery started to die faster than I could get my cleaning done, and within 3 months it started making noises that I have never heard before. I am waiting for this to die, which will be soon. I am sorry that I purchased this particular product. It was not worth what I spent. I will stick with my corded models, which seem to be much more reliable and sturdy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good vacume for pet hair

By Mickey from Chattanooga, TN, United States on 07/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I looked for a handheld vacuum to get pet hair off furniture. The Dirt Devil does a great job. It holds it's charge and has good suction power. I would recommend this for anyone that wanted to clean up pet hair and did not want to pull out the main vacuum cleaner. I am very pleased with the performance - battery life, suction overall performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Vacation at the Beach!

By abrown from Cleveland, OH, United States on 06/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this shortly before I was going on vacation because I knew taking two dogs to the beach and loading them in and out of the car after some fun at the beach was going to be a sand disaster! I waited until the end of the week to vacuum out my car and I was amazed at how much it picked up. Along with the sand and pet fur it did a phenomenal job! The brushroll is definitely one of my favorite features because it picks up a lot more than without it! (especially the dog fur) I definitely recommend this to anyone to pick up little messes in the car or for the trips to the beach like I used it for!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wont hold charge for more than a few seconds

By christopher from long eddy, ny on 06/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

bought less than ayear ago and used infrequently... this model looked promising andits price of $ 60 was steep. it now does not work except a very weak suction for five seconds before dying... this was a terrible product and very disappointing. is there any solution?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good suction for small jobs but I'm disappointed

By Bunny from Mississippi on 02/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this a month ago and I would not do it again. Yes you can squeeze two little buttons and a lid drops down and lets some of your dust/dirt/hair out, but very little. Most of it sticks to the inside filter or dust bag. Also, After vacuuming for about two or three minutes using the brush, it was wound with hair(human) and threads. It was difficult to unwind the string or hair from the brush. Would to Goodness that a vacuum like this would have an old-fashion removable and/or replaceable bag for the catchings. Disposable bag vacuums are much cleaner to deal with than any of today's "BAGLESS" vacuums. I use it to vacuum crumbs off the table after meals.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No suction.

By Kristi from Waukon, Iowa on 10/08/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I loved this hand vacuum for the first 2 minutes, then the suction went away. I was unable to even pick up a bug. I felt the filter may have gotten clogged, as we live in an older home...and it is hard to stay ahead of the dust and bugs. At this point I emptied the vacuum and tapped the filter against the garbage to make sure it was empty. I did this 3 times, all three times with the same result (only I only had suction for the first 30 seconds now). Then I read the manual, checking the area where the dirt goes in the vacuum to make sure it wasn't clogged. I then gave up for the day, washed the filters, let them air dry, and 2 days later I tried again. I had the same result (great for first 30 seconds). So I called DirtDevil.com and exchanged this product for the Dirt Devil I had for many years-the Ultra Hand Vac (excellent suction, had cord and bag, just thought this unit would be an upgrade).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

At first I loved this little brush roll sweeper..

By Elaine45 from Spencer, WV on 09/21/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this a year ago and now it won't keep a charge....and when looking for replacement battery I find that there are none. I took the case off to see if I could find the kind of battery it took and the sweeper is full of groups of batteries and no way to replace any of them....Needless to say I am very disappointed....why would you make a product that you could not buy batteries for?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE IT!! DOES ALL IT ...

By LARRY20 from INDIANA on 08/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

LOVE IT!! DOES ALL IT SAYS IT WILL DO & MORE! THE POWERED BRUSHROLL IS GREAT!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect

By AKMeow85 from Fredonia, NY on 08/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very strong for a small vacuum! Charge lasts long.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved