Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Household Cleaning » Vacuum Cleaners » BD20035RED » 39 Reviews

Dirtdevil Bd20035red Dirt Devil Bd20035red Accucharge Stick Vacuum Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 39 reviews)

29% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Dead already

By jcs2345 from dallas, tx on 10/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this vacuum about a month ago and tonight when I put it in the stand the red light came on and went out. Now I hqve3 no idea if it is charging or not. Either way I will have to gert a new charger which costs more than the entire vacuum.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery died

By nmqa from Undisclosed on 09/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this a year ago and use it about once week. The battery will now only hold a charge for 3 minutes. I think the vacuum should have more than aprrox. 50 uses! Junk!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for about 3 months

By VicInAZ from Phoenix, AZ, United States on 09/11/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm on my 3rd Accucharge vacuum. The original one, which was gray, last almost 3 years without any issues. The 2nd one, this model, lasted less than 2 years. My current one, this model, was bought in January and already has the dreaded battery life problem. Resetting the battery by running down the vacuum and unplugging the charger worked a little bit better for ONE cycle. These batteries are JUNK and I wouldn't recommend anyone buy one of these vacuums until they come out with a new battery that holds up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dirt Devils - only good for a few months

By Dissatisfied Peg from St Albert, AB, Canada on 09/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This vacuum was good for the first six (6) months on carpet - it did not pick up from linoleum even when it was new. Previously I had two other Dirt Devils and they both started to fail after six (6) months. I am really dissatisfied with Dirt Devil products and hope to never receive another one?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Won't Hold A Charge / Battery Issues

By dirtdevilowner from Undisclosed on 09/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This ran for a good 15-20 minutes and worked great for the first 7 months or so. Then it started to run progressively shorter on full charge. Now, at the 9-month point, it will only run for about 2-3 minutes on a full charge. This is not unusual as the reviews here show. Also, you will find others with the same issue if you search the Web for reviews on other sites - Amazon, Walmart, etc. Yes, it has 2-year warranty, which I am going to take advantage of, but it should have lasted longer than it did. Next time spend a little more Dirt Devil and ensure high-quality batteries are used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad battery

By Margie N from Bel Air, MD, United States on 08/31/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

received this for Mother's Day 2015 and the battery will not charge. No receipt since a gift.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Preventive Maintenance Helps a Lot

By Rich B from St. Louis County, MO, United States on 08/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this 15.6V stick vacuum (Model BD20035) on January 5, 2015 from Home Depot. It worked fine for several months with occasional cleaning of the two filters. However during the past month or so it failed to maintain full vacuum for more than a few minutes. I followed the instructions in the manual which specified running the vacuum until it stopped and then giving it a full 6-hour charge. This did no good. I was about to measure the voltage across the charger's pins when I noticed a dust film on the pins as well as an even heavier dust accumulation on the mating pins on the bottom of the vacuum. I swabbed both sets of contacts with a QTip moistened with Isopropyl (rubbing) Alcohol. Bingo! Full vacuum life restored.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By JennKenn from Undisclosed on 08/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this vac. for about 6 months. I Loved it for the first few months, but it has gradually held less and less charge. I clean the filter regularly and empty the cup after every use. I used to be able to do all the hard floors in my house, and for the last two months I can't even do the whole kitchen before the battery is so weak that I have no suction. The user manual suggests that if the battery is not holding a charge, you should let the battery run completely out and then recharge. I have done this a few times, and it hasn't seemed to work any better. I tried this again yesterday because the battery is so weak, and now it won't charge at all. It has been charging for 12 hrs., the light on the charger is blinking, and the vacuum is totally dead. I would call this a disposable vacuum. It is ridiculous to spend $80 on a vacuum that works for only half a year. I am extremely disappointed in this product. I have had cheaper vacuums like this that have at least lasted a year. I had higher hopes for this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great thought

By Savonna from Philadelphia, MS, United States on 08/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have bought about 6 or 7 of these. I get about a year of good use out of them before the battery gives out. Really the only complaint that I have about this product is the battery. I hate to just throw them out. It looks like we could replace the battery when the other gives out. I love how they work. It's lightweight and that's what I need because I have back problems. I have been on the sight looking to see what my options are and I am undecided as to whether or not to get a corded vac or another rechargeable. I hate to throw away another $80 bucks but I really love my rechargeable vac. The question as to whether or not I would recommend this product....the answer is yes an no


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I don't recommended this

By Suki from New York, NY, United States on 08/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The battery only hold for 5lmllinutes after 3 months


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery Recharge Life less than a year

By bob114 from Pawleys Island, SC, United States on 07/31/2015

Got for Christmas 2014. Works great on carpets. Learned to clean and dry the filter. But the battery pack's charge retention has gone off a cliff. You can hear the pitch of the motor go down, down, down in the first minute. Please send me a beefed up mbattery pack.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery is JUNK!!!

By Flu3756 from Shepherdstown, WV, United States on 07/19/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought about a year ago, was working fine for the first couple of months, but now we can't even vacuum the kitchen without the battery dying. It's cheaper to buy a new vacuum then it is the battery pack. To say the least this product is disappointing due to the battery life, I would have figured Dirt Devil could have designed better battery. Don't buy!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I had this sweeper less ...

By tricky from Michigan, United States on 07/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had this sweeper less than a year and the charge wouldn't charge the sweeper. The cord is very thin. I took it to sweeper shop and was told not worth fixing. They don't make chargers well. I went on line and to replace the charger is almost $50.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lasted 3 months now doesn't hold charge

By deeproc from Miami, FL, United States on 07/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was the perfect "interim" vac for all of 6 months. Now it doesn't hold charge. Put it on the base station and the red light comes on saying it's charging then goes off. On the odd occasion it does charge, if you don't use it right away, it will lose that charge overnight. Poor product. Won't by dirt devil again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery life does not meet expectations

By Valerie M from Maple Ridge, BC, Canada on 07/07/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am on my second one. I got the first one in September of 2013 and it took about 8 months for the battery to start to go. I stuck with it for a few more months, then finally phoned in to see if there was anyway to get a new battery. They just sent me a new unit. So of course, I am happy with Dirt Devil for that. However, the exact same thing happened again, and now about 8 months after receiving the 2nd one, it also will not run on full charge for more than 5 minutes. I went from being able to vacuum my living room, stair landing, stairs and bottom landing, plus by bathroom, to being able to vacuum the stair landing and part of the stairs. It is disappointing to say the least.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome product...but only for about 6 months

By SkiSteepandDeep from Adding Value for the US Taxpayer Overseas on 06/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought this unit because it came highly reccomended from my office co-workers.. It picks up Dog hair like a champ! It worked great for about 6 months and then the Battery died. We striclty adhered to the instructions regarding the charge and discharge cycles. A must, when it concerns longevity with these type of rechargeable batteries). At first I though it might be the charger itself. After load testing the charger, I deduced it was a battery problem. It's sad to think that such a great product is hampered by such a weak link. Sorry Dirt Devil, but this product could use a little upgrading where the battery is concerned.Or maybe you need to look at QA issues with your battery supplier? Otherwise I loved the product and it 's great design. (I should know, I used to design parts for their competitors.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disapointed

By Chilaw6 from Atlanta, GA, United States on 06/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this a couple of years ago for my second floor. I used it a couple of times with some success. It has been sitting in my hallway since. It has very poor pick-up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst vacuum I have ever had!

By Beccar from Fort Worth, TX on 05/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this for over a year. My daughter gave it to me. Doesn't hold a charge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dirt devil accu charge

By porter4569 from Ontario, Canada on 02/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a superb vacumn and hope they continue to make them


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine design, poor performance

By bgatlin from Starkville, MS, United States on 02/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this in March 2014 and loved it for the easy storage and charging and the quick, efficient cleanups of hardwood floors with scattered rugs. But after a few months, either the battery or the charger (I suspect the charger) failed. A 'full' charge would run the motor at a useful speed for about two minutes. But discharging the battery nearly completely, I was able to get a good charge a couple of times. This makes me suspect the charger rather than the battery. Now, nearly a near after purchase, I cannot coax any usage at all out of it. It's such a clever device otherwise, but the battery/charger makes it a failure. Too bad. I really liekd ti.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for 5 months

By zjmj from Greenville, SC, United States on 01/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this vacuum in Feb2015 and it was great while it worked. After five months it started losing its charge. I have taken excellent care of this vacuum and cleaned it out after every use. Like most reviewers, this is a great vacuum while it works but it's life span is short.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not happy

By joey from British Columbia, Canada on 12/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worked great just like all reviews and after 1year won't charge anymore Other brands have lasted over 3years and used almost daily


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Handy vac

By Geni56 from Florida, United States on 11/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the vac 6 months ago and it was great! A month ago the battery started dying after a few minutes which is very disappointing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best cordless quick vac by far!

By gramzie from northwest washington on 09/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lightweight cordless vac. I am buying a 4th one after I finish this review. I bought my first one 8 years ago, have replaced the battery once. They improved it so 7 years ago I bought one for my daughter - it's great for her 5 year old to help with quick cleanups, especially when he spills food crumbs. We all have dogs so lots of dog hair on the hardwoods. Two years ago I bought myself a second one so I have one in the kitchen and one upstairs for quick cleaning of bathroom floor and hallway. Now I'm buying one for my son who is moving in a new house with hardwoods (did I mention dog hair?), this vac is great for small area carpets too. I rarely sweep since I have these. Battery lasts longer when not using the brush, and of course it helps to empty the fuzz and hair as you go from room to room. I even run it on my wool 8x10 rug every couple of days between weekly cleaning. I have no complaints using it on the rugs but you can't do a whole house at once. I wash and dry the dust cup, filter, and inner filter. LOVE this product!! Haven't had one die out yet and if any do I will just buy another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery life not worth it!

By kcipp from Undisclosed on 09/24/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this vacuum 5 months ago and the first 3 months it worked amazing. However, the battery life started to get shorter and shorter. Now it won't make it to 5 minutes. I have hardwood through the main area of my house and it takes three full charges to vacuum the floor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for short time!

By nanafive from Jackson Tn on 09/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this vac for over a year. It worked like a charm for about 6 months. I use it only on my kitchen & dining area and a small bathroom, all smooth surfaces. I also keep the filters clean. It has practically no suction after 1 minute and is completely dead within 3 minutes. This should be advertised as a disposable vacuum! Suggestion to Dirt Devil - make a stick vacuum with a replaceable battery!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy this cordless vacuum

By ltkang from Las Vegas on 08/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought one in Feb 2014, had about 15 minutes full suction at first. But full suction time getting shorter since July and now I have about one minute of good power then gets weaker. At around three minutes motor still turning but no suction at all. I should have spend more to buy one with Lithium Ion battery or buy one with cord.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Save your money

By Disappointedalso from Edmond, OK, United States on 04/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this about six months ago. It worked great first couple of months and I was recommending it to everyone. One of our friends then bought one. Now the battery won't hold a charge more than five minutes. Our friends are having the same problem. I feel badly about recommending it to them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loved it for three months

By drpka from AZ on 04/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this about three months ago and used it weekly. I absolutely loved it but then it started to lose suction. I cleaned the dust cup and filters every couple of weeks, and it still loses suction. It works so well but evidently doesn't last.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wouldn't Recommend it

By 1234 from Toronto, ON, Canada on 04/12/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this vacuum when I moved into a small apartment thinking that it would be sufficient especially for the price. This vacuum did not work what so ever, you can barely feel the suctioning. It can't even pick up hair or dirt off an individual mat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just doesn't quit!

By DavidW from San Diego, CA, United States on 02/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I feel I owe it to others to write this review. This was one of the best buys I've ever made. The machine is incredible. I bought mine 5 years ago and it is still going without any problems. It's worth noting that I have a canister vac and honestly, the Dirt Devil does a better job on carpets. The canister is much better on floors, but when it comes to the carpet, I always finish off with the Dirt Devil. This is a great product and the price is low. It's a winner all the way around. However, I should note that I keep my machine clean. I never overload the filters and I clean them often. Good maintenance has probably contributed to the long life of the product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slow battery death

By Oscar from Texas, United States on 02/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Own this for 6 month and the battery life has been slowly dying on me. I went front being able to do 5 rooms to now only half a room at full strength and 2 rooms at half strength. Be warned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great rechargable Vac

By Rodk from Calgary, AB, Canada on 12/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this for Christmas from my brother-inlaw. He swore by it - tried it out ourselves. I can`t believe how much dog hair it pulls from the carpets, that our central vac (which has great suction) has missed. Small head, but lightweight, battery life is ok for it`s weight. I`d buy it myself!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brush too small.

By Davydoo from Rio Rancho NM on 12/28/2013

The brush head is a lot larger than the actual brush. The brush is 6 1/4" wide the brush head is 9 1/4" wide. The brush is 1 1/2' in back of the front of the brush head, which means it does not do very good job along the wall which ever way the head is against the wall. The fact that it is cordless is a great feature for quick pickups, but really wish the brush was much closer to the edges.as the vacuum often leaves crumbs along the edges of the wall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FAST & EASY TO USE

By PBURD from SPRING HILL, FL on 10/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS IS MY SECOND DIRT DEVIL STICK VAC. I LOVE IT FOR PICKING UP CAT HAIR! WORKS GREAT AROUND THE LITTER BOX, TOO.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

better than my oreck!

By divotm from vandalia,ohio on 10/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for quick pick-ups and found out it works better than my Oreck XL. I now use it housewide. The battery life is sufficient and the suction is great. I couldn't believe my other vac left so much dirt in the carpets. I'm impressed with this low cost machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

JUNK

By CMDD from SOUTH FLORIDA on 08/27/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

PIECE OF JUNK!!! I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS CORDLESS VACUUM TO ANYONE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quick and Dirty

By Jimbo from Sacramento, CA on 07/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great for picking up the kitchen floor and area around the cat box! Smaller head swivels around tile floors and toilets. Easy to clean. Stays charged for a long time for bare floors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I was looking for

By JZbr from Baton Rouge, la on 06/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this cool vac to use for "touch ups" during the week. My Pekingese sheds during the summer months. I can keep up very easily with tis unit. Better than I expected. Battery life is sufficient for price..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved