Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Household Cleaning » Vacuum Cleaners » M08230X » 29 Reviews

Dirtdevil M08230x Ultra Power Handheld Vacuum Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 29 reviews)

65% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Very Portable and Light

By JanJ from Canal Winchester, OH, United States on 10/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the Dirt Devil more for light-weight cleaning and it is doing the job. I like that it is light, easy to handle, does not need charged and I love the red color. I did not want to get a cordless one due to the fact that the reviews on these said that they lose their charge quite fast. I used it for cleaning the carpet on my stairs and it worked for this nicely. It won't replace my heavy-duty sweeper, but for the lighter cleaning jobs, it works. I definitely recommend this cute little number.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good tool, with good support

By Jenner from New York on 09/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first Dirt Devil Ultra -- about 20 years old -- had switch problems. I fixed it once; twice was -- well, a sign of time to get a new one. There are no serious competitors to the Dirt Devil Ultra; I bought another. The new version has some improvements (the old hose was removable, and the locking lugs had decayed a lot; the new hose is more permanently affixed, which solves one problem, creating another less serious one). It has some less helpful changes: The new brush roll is wood and the bristle-tufts are not as well fixed, so they can come out too easily. The red cloth bag seems of less rugged material. But this thing still sucks dirt like crazy. It is bagged -- not bagless -- so no dust all over when cleaning. Being corded, it never quits half-way through the job. In short, it is just what is needed, especially in the bird room (but elsewhere, too). My first replacement failed; I think a bearing in the motor broke, judging from the sound. Wouldn't suck, didn't spin the brush roll, made nasty noises. I called customer service and the person on the line listened to the noise and said, "you get a new one" (this tool has a three year warranty, and I could show when I had bought it at Amazon). "Cut off the cord of the old one, snap a picture of the cut ends and e-mail it, and we'll send yours right out." And it happened just that way; a week later I had a replacement. Last thought: My mother had Royal vacuums (Royal being the parent company, now absorbed in some vacuum cleaner company). One was a hand vacuum that looked a lot like the Dirt Devil. It was a favorite too then -- 70 years ago....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hand Vac - Can't buy tool replacement

By glk54 from Undisclosed on 08/16/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this hand vac about 1 year ago. The hand vac suction is good, but crevice tool replacements have been discontinued. I have no idea why a manufacturer would discontinue parts for a machine currently sold. Alternate styles of crevice tools don't fit or are too think to function in small hard to reach spots. Basically, the hose is useless now. Think twice about buying an item without replacement parts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

convenience is what I bought this for!

By Debbidoo4 from Sycamore, OH, United States on 08/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have reviewed some of the other reviews, and I can say that the attachments suction is not quite what some may think it should be, but I love the main vacuum unit and for what it costs, I figure that its great! I can finally clean the dog hair out of the car better than ever before, without dragging the large family vac out. Going up the stairs is no longer a tough and possibly dangerous episode.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loud, poor suction, difficult to push on carpet

By Eddie Chang from New York, NY, United States on 08/10/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just purchased this item as a replacement for black and decker hand vacuum. This is the first time I've ever owned a dirt devil but it is a brand I recognize and consider it very reputable so I did not do my homework on researching reviews. I've used it a few times already and have some observations. It is very loud my much more so than my Previous hand vacuum. My kids would immediately cover their ears and run away. second, the suction is week some crumbs would be missed requiring a second run over. Third, its very difficult to push along carpet. I find myself using the hose extension instead but find that the suction is very week. on the good side it seems very well made and sturdy but it lacks power and is very loud.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It sucks! And that's a good thing.

By Norwegian Houseboy from Northwest Washington State on 08/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced an old hand vac. What a difference! Better suction, wider "mouth" and integral hose for attachments.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No auction in hose

By Jjbean from London, ON, Canada on 07/24/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just bought this vaccuum today, te main part has good auction but the hose is so weak, but the main part does not close all the way there is about a centimeter that just won't shut, is it supposed to shut all the way? If not then this is an awful vaccuum for using the hose part which is what I really wanted it for. :(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great!

By Jan48 from Springfield, MO, United States on 07/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This one was purchase to replace an old one I had for 20 years. It works great and I love the tube feature....especially in my car! It is VERY EXTREMELY loud, but it works so well, I'll overlook that part and wear ear protection if needed! Thanks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

little has changed

By beefy from maryland on 07/11/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Daniel sent a review 2 years ago and thought the tube was useless and it was loud. Nothing has changed. I do like to regular roller part as we use it on stairs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad vacume

By LGaul from iowa on 06/18/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It is a total disappointment it is noisy vibrates has very little suction.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Boat Cleaner from Florida, United States on 06/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This vacuum works perfectly! Good suction, mobile, use it anywhere. The hose is very convenient. Happy I made the decision to purchase the Dirt Devil. Purchase the product, you won't be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks and feels great

By Dowellski from Versailles, KY, United States on 06/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have not had a chance to use it yet. So glad to have found it for sale online.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value for the price

By Keith from Grand Forks, ND on 03/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am surprised after reading some of the other poor reviews. It doesn't have the best suction through the tube, but it still works. I don't mind the noise as long as it cleans, which it does. I mostly wanted it for stairs and am glad to have one to replace the one I had. I would still be using the old one if it weren't for the broken fan blade, caused by a penny in the couch. I wish I could have caught the new, better model, but price and convenience took over.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hope this is as good as my first one!!

By Columbo from Pittsburgh, PA, United States on 03/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My original DIRT DEVIL worked 15 years!! This new one converts to hose use much easier. Works great!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does the job!

By Katrina from Pueblo, CO, United States on 03/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought my second one in probably 10 years, only because I got some fringe caught up in the roller, and in 2 seconds burned up the motor. The first one still had plenty of life left in it (my bad!)....Remember, you need to be diligent about changing the bag when it gets up to the line. It's perfect for dog hairs on furniture, dog beds and stairs. It gets into crevices nicely. Yes, it is a little noisy, but great value for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great Product!

By Erik from Gold Beach, Oregon, United States on 03/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned Dirt Devil products for decades and have found them to be well engineered and of high quality. This vacuum lives up to the standards that I expected from Dirt Devil.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no suction through attatchment hose but very powerful otherwise

By bean from Cleveland, Ohio, United States on 02/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i had needed better performance through the hose attatchment


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great little vacuum

By briette from San Francisco, CA, United States on 01/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Other reviews said this vacuum was very loud for the short period that I use it for its not very loud at all I was surprised at the power it has


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Vacuum

By Pleasestandclearofthedoor from Denison, TX on 01/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this vacuum for a great January 1 deal of $20.15. I like having a small vacuum available with a carpet brush for quick cleanups. The small hose could have more suction, but I really like the power of the main unit on small rugs, etc. The extra long cord is a plus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed

By Tom85 from Holly, MI, United States on 01/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've have a dirt devil very similar to the new one, it's about 20 years old and is still working after we found a belt for it, the new one I bought the wife for Christmas is very loud and there's not much suction on the hose attachment (which is one of the reasons I purchased it, otherwise it seems like a pretty good machine.........


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Hand Vaccum I've ever purchased

By k014 from Norfolk Va on 01/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased one of these and it lasted me for 17 years. Ended up replacing it after it saw it's last run. Still the same quality and longevity, however I wish they would make the motor quieter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Vac But Handle Broke

By Bruce from Los Angeles, CA, United States on 11/05/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this vac for several years with minimum use. The plastic handle keeps breaking near the switch area. I take it apart and super glue it back together but it only lasts for a short time and breaks again. Dirt Devil sells a lot of replacement parts for this unit, but not the handle assembly. Guess I will super glue it again and maybe this time wrap the handle in filament tape.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

30 Years and still going strong

By Dcat from Naugatuck, CT, United States on 10/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great for small spaces especially my dryer. Just wish the nozzle was a little longer and thinner to reach that unreachable area.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for people with pets hair on furniture

By Babette from Mankato, MN, United States on 08/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a professional house cleaner and I've tried a lot of vacuum cleaners on the market. As I use my clients' appliances depending on what their household needs are, I'd definitely recommend this Dirt Devil to any one who wants to grab bad and overwhelming pet hair on upholstery, furniture and staircases. I tried many vacuums and the ones with best suctions are not comfortable to use in standard US staircases; the ones that fit the staircases don't have the right suction or don't work well with upholstery. Pretty much I haven't find the perfect vacuum (do all) yet! If you have hairy pets and you need something that will get rid of the hair off your furniture and every little place, this is definitely the best hand held vacuum I've used so far ( I'm talking about efficiency here). Yes it's VERY loud and heavy on the arm.... I hate that it has a bag too. There are always some leakage if you are dealing with dusty places.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bring Back the Classic

By BlairBugeater from Blair, NE, United States on 06/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The crevice/hose attachment is worthless and simply unnecessary. The classic style was much more balanced. I've returned this model and went back to using my old cracked 8100. Why to companies continue to fix what isn't broken? Bring back the classic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

absolutely the worst ...

By Gini from New Port Richey, FL, United States on 11/30/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

absolutely the worst vacuum, in my opinion, that one might purchase....bought it at ABC in Troy, MI and would have tried to return it, but unfortunately, brought it to Florida with me to use while here. Awkward to use, suction is poor, one little part broke right away. If Dirt Devil would take it for a trade-in on another style, I would be happier. If not, will try another brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best HandVac I've ever owned.

By Leon from Daly City, CA on 09/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had one for years. Saves me the effort of attaching a hose to my upright when getting into tight spaces. Great for stairs and furniture, as well as cleaning off dusty items from storage. The first reviewer probably never shut the rotating brush cover closed when trying to use the tube. You'll never get tube suction if you leave that open. Only wish it came with a long rigid tube extension and a brush end tool for the tube aside from the crevice tool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rebuttal to the one review.

By nwbookie from Southern California on 06/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I, too have used Dirt Devils for years and was pleased when I found the Ultra available. The tube, indeed, is not as powerful as a tank-type, full-size vacuum but is adequate for most small jobs. Perhaps the reviewer has a "lemon" and should give it another try.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Suction at All Through Tube and LOUD!

By Daniel from California on 04/22/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I inherited a Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac. It had no suction at all through the tube which is the only way I use it. It was also much louder than the model 103. My own 103 worked perfectly and I used it everywhere. I gave the Ultra away. After 10 years, when my 103's motor froze, on eBay I bought 3 more 103's and 2 8100's because they don't make them anymore. The Ultra is worthless. Why they still make it I don't know. I bought FIVE (5) of the above models because I wanted to always have one available forever. Dirt Devil needs to discard the Ultra and bring back the model 8100 which has the built-in rear tube for the G-type bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved