Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Household Cleaning » Vacuum Cleaners » UD40235 » 26 Reviews

Dirtdevil Ud40235 Ultra Swivel Glide Upright Vacuum, Red Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 26 reviews)

47% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

easy to clean

By ann21 from CT, United States on 09/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy to have this product cleans real well and easy to carry


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

6 Years and Still Going

By 66Patches from Lynnwood, WA, United States on 08/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this one for 6 years and it works great. We have mostly hard surface floors but the living room is carpeted; additionally, we have 2 short-haired cats, 1 long-haired cat. We have never had any problems and have only replaced the filters, the belt is still fine. I broke the upright handle last week and was here to find a replacement part as I'm confident it will still work for a few more years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not good on area rugs.

By Steveo from Baltimore County, MD, United States on 05/03/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit is very powerful and cleans well. However, if you run it over the edge of an area rug or throw rug it will suck in the edge and possible shred it. Also, the tools won't stay attached to the vacuum. The plastic clip that holds them in is too wide to work. The crevice tool broke the first time I used it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ihad to reorder a new dirt devil vacuum cleaner.

By moach from Pennsylvania, United States on 04/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

when i purchased another vacuum cleaner this one did what it was supposed to do. now the one that I have now works great. what happened to the previous one, it just stop working. I could have gotten it repaired If I wanted to, but I didn't ant to go through all of what It takes to get It reported.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

light weight but clogs easily

By Deb5422 from Memphis, TN, United States on 01/13/2015

I bought this vac 2 months ago and, at first, was very pleased. Now, however, I find I'm spending more time "unclogging" then actually cleaning with it. The hose detaches, even when I don't want it to. Need manufacturer to give instructions on how to clean the clogged areas. I use this on carpet for pet hair removal. Its currently stored as it will not pick up. Please help!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dirt Cup Won't Release - No Replacement Part Available

By rraskey from Michigan, United States on 12/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this vacuum for about a year, and the dirt cup will not release the dirt. I have clobs of dust and dirt trapped in the cup, and even pulling on the actual dirt does not release it. I went to look for a replacement cup, but they are no longer available. I am now forced to buy a new vacuum because this one will not release what it picks up!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great everytime. Great attachments. Easy to Clean

By comus from Altamonte Springs, FL, United States on 10/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love mine. I've never had a problem with it. I've had it for 3 or 4 years now. Works like a charm. Love the attachments. Super easy to clean.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Satisfied

By californiacoast23 from San Diego, CA, United States on 10/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This Vacuum worked fine after I bought it, now it is horrible. In the bagless dirt canister there is a tube in the middle that allows the suction air in, but over time stuff falls into it onto a vent allows the air in, then it gets blocked, the vacuum doesn't have any suction and starts to overheat, it also sounds bad too. But one day I cleaned that out and emptied the dirt, but when I turned it on it puffed out this smoke smelling stuff from the vent on the front! Just What the heck!??? The hose is too confusing to use easily. I didn't buy the thing it was given to me by someone so I ditched it to Goodwill and got a Hoover Windtunnel T Series Rewind which I love and have certainly NO problems with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very poor make

By kirti from NJ, United States on 10/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i got this unit 2 times. 1st time it did not last for a year, i contacted for warranty and got a replacement and to my surprise the wire of the replacement came so much crinkled that it was nearly impossible to stretch the wire straight and i had to replace belt 4 times, and it has very less suction power. So its a piece of junk


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Belt and Filter NOT available locally!

By fshngalebw from Barron, WI, United States on 09/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am on the fence. I got this vac about a month ago. I have been very satisfied with its ability to pick up dog hair (golden retrievers x2). That being said, I blew a belt Friday night. Spent about 2 hours on Monday trying to find a belt! Only after calling the Filtrete 800 number and being referred to Dirt Devil 800 number was I able to get any info. Turns out that Dirt Devil doesn't sell the filters or belts for this model locally! Are you kidding?? If I had known that I couldn't get such simple things locally, I would NOT have purchased this item.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You have to slow down with this one!

By Gruneichtime from Lodi, Ca. on 08/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this one a little over a month ago, and use it almost daily. I have two cats, so it gets a work out. The hand attachment w/brush has to be kept flat, which is not easy.*** A better design would be a angled elbow where it attaches to the hose.(Are you reading this Dirt Devil)*** So far the vac. has worked great at picking everything up on the carpet and hard floors. I have learned after having a bagged vacuum for years and now a bagless, that it is better to dump the bin in your outside garbage, rather than distributing the dust all back into your home. The cord on it, is not quite 25 feet as stated, so for a large house that may be an issue. I have a small apartment, so I only have to switch plugs twice. The filters are easy to clean. Tapping the main Hepa filter on the side, or your hand does work at releasing the pet hair. The Featherlite is what it describes, it is smaller all over which is nice for storage, and the handle folds down. It is not so wide that you cannot get in between things like the wide path ones. It does drop all the way down so you can get under chairs and such, but your limited by the bagless dirt container as to your clearance. It is very lite weight which is nice, but when vacuuming, you have to go slow over your carpet, or you will hear the roller brush fighting to roll. I notice it more when I am pulling back, if I pull to fast I hear it. (My other vacuum was a power driven one, so it is taking me a little bit to get used to not having a power drive) The only thing I have noticed is there is a small amount of dirt lodging under the gasket on the dirt container. I will have to talk to Dirt Devil about it, as I do not want to break a seal to clean it..... All in All I really like this little vacuum. The suction is great!, It's lightweight and narrow, easy to clean, I just wash the dirt cup and filters outside with the hose, then bring inside to dry and done!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powerful unit for such a low price.

By Slavetocleaning from Calgary, AB, Canada on 06/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this unit over 3 years ago and it still runs. Very powerful suction, have used this to clean up wood shavings, dry wall dust, ABS shavings, and long pile fur from our projects. It even has been removing dog hair from the previous tenants. While correctly using this unit we haven't had to replace any belts yet, and we just replaced the filter. Impressive little unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not pick up dirt after clean up filter

By flatcow from Toronto, ON, Canada on 04/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The vacumn left behind dirt which fell off from the vacumn. The vacumn does not work well after I cleaned up the pieces of dirt and dust trapped inside, it took me a very long time, finally able to figure out how to put back the parts. However, it sounds much noisier than before and left behind pieces of dirt falling off from inside the vacumn. Very frustrating, has to clean up floor after the machine. Think twice before attempting to clean up the machine. Now I cannot use the machine anymore.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Value

By Storguy from Hockinson, WA, United States on 03/31/2014

I have owned 4 of these. Bought the 1st one for my store and quickly bought another for home. Unless you are going to pop hundreds of dollars out this is the best one. Wheels on many cheap vacuums fall off, break off ect . The casters on this model never have that problem. It is what it is, A cheap disposable vacuum.They last about 3 years with heavy use, I have owned vacuums that cost 300.00 with wheels that fall off after 6 months ! Ordering 2 more today, I'm a little concerned they are not making them anymore as they are harder to find.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

so far so good!

By ERICA from Hammond, La. on 02/28/2014

I got this vacuum because the one i purchased before this one was a piece of dumpkins so the fellows at dirt devil replaced it because i had only had it couple months and it was under warranty still an this is the one that they sent me. I wont beat around the bush i was very worried that this one would be a piece of doo doo dumpkins also but i was so pleasantly surprised after my first use! It sucked really well and it was compact i didn't have to assemble anything out the box like the other vacuum. I totally love it. I have seen some mixed reviews on here but i wanted to let you know what i thought now i have only had this machine like 3-4 weeks so if it should go down hill soon then i will be sure to come back and post a follow up review for you guys but so far so good no complaints!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why does it have an odor???

By sheri from Illinois on 01/19/2014

I just bought this vacuum cleaner a week ago & the first day I used it, it smelled really bad. It definitely has some kind of an odor. Why does it have this odor? It smells like it's in the canister & even when it's not running I still smell it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had this unit for 4 unit!

By John9809i809 from Los Angeles on 01/07/2014

I have had this product for 4 years and it works great till this day. I am very pleased with the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth the price

By Exhausted_Lady from Los Angeles, CA, United States on 12/03/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this Featherlite that only worked great after a few uses. Now it either won't pick up the dirt or I have to leave it over the dirt and slowly pull it away in order for it to "work". From what took me 10 minutes to vaccum my apartment, now takes me 45 minutes! I made sure there was no clogged tubes, the filter was changed the carpet settings where correct and the machine worked, but yet it refuses to vaccum the way it should. Will not purchase again!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Save your money!

By KandyCaines from Georgia, United States on 11/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Would be nice if I could get it to retain the dirt it sucks. It picks some dirt up and spits it right back out as you shut it off. Haven't even been a year yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cleaning the filter

By nickname from Onalaska, Wisconsin on 11/01/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After cleaning the filter I put in the dirt cup exactly 180 the wrong way (why did it let me?) and it snapped closed. When I realized my mistake I couldn't get it apart again. Now I am forced to buy another vacuum cleaner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Light and Cleans

By Jess from West Bend, WI on 08/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My husband bought me this vacuum for my birthday three months ago. So far, it has been great! It picks up cat litter and car hair, and actually makes the carpeting feel and smell cleaner. The attached hose is a little awkward, but a huge improvement over a separate hose. Having the telescoping extension wand is nice, too, because it doesn't take up extra space in the closet and it's always with you. The TurboBrush is odd and doesn't seem to do a whole lot unless it's perfectly flat on the surface. Cleaning is a little messy, but empty it outside directly into the garbage can. Of course, you get what you pay for, but for $60 on sale, it's a great deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Darn great vacuum, but...

By Karen from Highland Falls, NY on 07/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I believe I've had this vacuum for a couple years, but I live in the house six months of the year. I consider this "light use" for the appliance. About six months ago, the handle cracked without fully breaking where the hand grasps the vacuum. So, I started grabbing the handle below the weak point. Next, the entire handle assembly cracked where the handle hinges at the folding point. Looking at the connection, it seems like a design flaw that only three screws hold this vacuum together and penetrate a half-inch into the main body of the vacuum. I like the vacuum so much, I went back to Walmart to get the closest thing I could find. I hope I can get it fixed, but I am not hopeful because it cost under $100. It appears to me that the plastic is very brittle. The new Dirt Devil I bought is even lighter and designed differently at this point. I highly recommend this appliance for the price. I owned different vacuums over the years and they seem to all break about the same time despite the price you pay! This one really sucks (in a good way)...especially on smooth surface floors (non-carpet).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappointed!!

By Wendy from Undisclosed on 05/25/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this sweeper less than 3 months ago now it over heats and leaves dirt on the floor when it shuts down. I was loving the size and weight of this sweeper now I am very disappointed. It says it has a 2 year warranty so how do I go about getting a new one. If I have to buy another sweeper dirt devil will not be my choice which is hard for me to say cause the last sweeper I had was dirt devil which lasted me over 10 year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Belt Drive Design is Garbage!

By Poppa from Gold Canyon, AZ on 04/15/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I returned the first machine to Target -assuming that there was. a manufacturing defect (possibly drive spindle out of line?) The replacement model lasted through four uses before the belt broke. I put another new belt on and the smell of burning rubber caused me to shut off after five minutes of use. The purchase price is cheap, but zero is too much for this piece of rubbish.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Belt drive is the Achilles heel

By GMUDad from NoVA on 03/31/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought this about 2 years ago. It served the purpose but wasn't everything that the news reviewer stated it was (Today, Good Morning America etc). It is light weight. That's a definite plus however the belt that drives the rotary brushes is this little dirt devil's achilles heel. So far I've gone through two of them. The most recent just 3 vacuums after installing it. I won't buy this product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had this cleaner ...

By becky from Washington on 03/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this cleaner for 5 years and realy like it; but I cant find the belts any more


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved