Home » 29001 » 15 Reviews

Dremel 290-01 Variable Speed Electric Engraver Reviews
Dremel 290-01 Variable Speed Electric Engraver

Dremel 290-01 Variable Speed Electric EngraverAdded to our catalog within last 30 days

features and benefits ideal for identifying and personalizing your valuables as well as decorative engraving at 7,200 strokes per minute, the 115 volt motor and carbide point do more than just scratch the surface stroke adjustment dial on tool regulates engraving depth, from fine lines ... <more> 

Dremel Model: 29001

$28.07

26 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good Value

By MikeS from St. Catharines, ON, Canada on 08/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Smooth operation, comfortable grip, good balance - easy to use, better than another model by a leading retailer that costs more!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Engraver speed

By Arcie from Johnson City, NY, United States on 07/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this to be able to engrave glass. I am sure the more I use the tool the better I will get. I tried to engrave glass and it seems the speed is too fast. But it seemed to me to be too fast. I am sure as said I will get better but would like to see more different tips available beside the one supplied and the ability to purchase the diamond head one. I have used Dremel tools for many years and the quality of them has always been very good. I would recommend this tool


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisfied Customer!!!

By Milo from Lincoln, AL, United States on 05/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thank you Dremel!! Great product, great quality and great value. the ONLY problem I have is, that I don't know which Dremel product to purchase next. Keep up the great work Dremel!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT for US Navy Aviation Tool Control

By Joe Sailor from San Diego, CA, United States on 05/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought 4 of these to replace broken or worn etchers for a US Navy Aviation Squadron. Great for high usage etching of tools and material for US Navy command that has to etch everything for tool control & tracking of equipment. Only problem, is the screw holding the tip comes loose over time & causes a FOD issue (Foreign Object Debris) if it falls out & is unaccounted for. In an aviation environment, we cannot afford to lose any part of tools and/or equipment. Including metal particles or chips/dust. Going to order the Diamond Tip (PN 9299) to see what the difference is compared to the normal tip that comes with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great engraver

By raymieb from Tennessee, United States on 03/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

does the job great engraved all my tools and more works better than described and the tip never came out even after 2.5 hrs of use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple and affordable

By kd7vrc from Provo, UT on 02/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used this to engrave on my valuables in case they are stolen to prove they are mine. Although I've mostly engraved on hard plastics, I used the diamond bit for engraving on aluminum and steel. If you use it properly, you can engrave just as clean and neat as you would with a pen. I haven't put it to heavy use, but it is durable so far as I can tell. I also tried an engraving tip for rotary dremels on a rotary dremel, and this was far better than any engraving that can be done on a rotary dremel. It is well worth the little extra space and cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use!

By RenoBobS from Reno, NV, United States on 02/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 290-01 is easy to use, it is well balanced and the depth of vibration can be adjusted. After a little practice the results were outstanding. It replaced a thirty year old engraver that I could no longer buy tips for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good solid engraver for the price!!!

By mikem5959 from Pottstown, PA, United States on 02/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this for a month or so and I love it and recommend it highly!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use

By Darlene from Innisfail, AB, Canada on 01/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is an excellent tool. It's very ease to use and is lighter than the previous engraver I had.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useful little gadget

By Rose101213 from San Antonio, Texas, United States on 01/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very useful gadget, I use it to engrave all of my equipment in my warehouse to help prevent theft.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great tool

By Scooter257P from Granby, CO, United States on 04/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this item several times, it works better that I had hoped.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dremel and the Art of Engravng . . .

By CatFDB from Rockaway Beach, OR on 03/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the last thirteen years I have engraved the dates of the Oregon rain inside on recycled light bulbs before they go into our gallery as Oregon Du Drops. I use the Dremel engraving tool (290-01) with a diamond-tip engraver (9929). It writes clearly, neatly, and rarely goes through the very thin glass of the light bulb. The only trouble I have ever had with it is a bit of difficulty loosening the tip when it gets dull. I wouldn't use any other engraver for this delicate job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Engraver!

By wml72 from MN, United States on 03/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this about a month ago to make custom brass badges for my Mother and Aunt's vacation flasks. Really nice tool! Great design, comfortable grip, beefy cable and the 1-5 adjustment is wicked sweet!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy to use

By jeff from Honey Brook Pa, on 03/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great little tool , got it for my guys to use at work , they use it alot


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great and very versital uses!

By Jscheetz from Fleetwood, PA, United States on 11/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have been using your engravers for years and they have never let me down!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved