Home » XDVD8285 » 11 Reviews

Dual Xdvd-8285 60w X 4 In-dash Mobile Mulit-media Video Player Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 11 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Install (10), Nice Features (4), Durable (6), Easy Controls (10), Attractive Design (3), Great Picture (7)

Best Uses:

Larger Cars (4), Sports Cars (3), Small Cars (3), In-dash (7)

Describe Yourself:

Commuter (5), Gearhead (5), Practical (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Quality unit at a great price!!!!!

By Mike Verified Purchaser from Centreville, VA on 03/11/2008


Cons:

Low Screen Sensitivity

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead

Pros:

Easy To Install, Easy Controls, Great Picture, Lots Of Feature

Best Uses:

In-dash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

[$]I expected alot from a head unit, but figured next to the competition, I might be expecting too much. Boy was I suprised!!! I spent about 10min pre-wiring the harness and had the XDVD-8285 installed in about 10min. I can't speak for the durability because I've only had it 2 weeks, but I have big hopes for it. THe power to my factory speakers was pretty good, but when I hooked 2 component sets, 2 3-way speaker and bridged 2 two subwoofers into the mix I was blown away. I hope to play with more of the functions in the coming days but have been more than pleased so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good bang for the buck

By G Verified Purchaser from Indy, IN on 10/30/2007


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Tuner, Commuter, Practical

Pros:

Great Picture

Best Uses:

In-dash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: With a lower price tag than some competitive models, I was skeptical, but the DVDX8285 surprised me with great features, good quality video & ease of installation. Cons: The sound is great at higher volumes, however at lower volumes; some "hiss" and alternator noise pass through. The control menus are a little goofy & take some getting use to. Overall I am very pleased with this unit, great value overall, Dual could put a little more into their instruction manual as it is a little vague and as I mentioned earlier the sound quality at lower volumes could stand to be improved. Also the unit I received does not allow the use of SDHC cards, only SD, watch that one when you go buying cards.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice car stereo

By ragman Verified Purchaser from pittsburgh on 10/23/2007


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Great Picture, Easy Controls, Easy To Install

Best Uses:

In-dash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

seems well built but time will tell. provides all cables needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome Stereo

By Mike Verified Purchaser from Satellite Beach, FL on 09/28/2007


Describe Yourself:

Practical, Commuter

Pros:

Durable, Great Picture, Easy To Install, Easy Controls

Best Uses:

In-dash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This stereo worked great. Easy install and everything worked as advertised. Interface was easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value, great features...

By Lyrikk Verified Purchaser from Marietta, GA on 08/01/2007


Describe Yourself:

Commuter, Gearhead

Pros:

Easy Controls, Great Picture, Easy To Install

Best Uses:

In-dash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comes with a great manual on how to use all the features. Configuration is easy. Installation was easy. Video playback quality is aweseome. Being able to store 1500 mp3's on a DVD(the units index limit) is great, no more disc swapping. Combine that with built in ipod controls and you're set for life really. I'll warn everyone to be careful while driving though, very easy to be distracted playing with the controls until you get used to where they all are. Enjoy this awesome, great value for the money unit


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Great Product, I would recommend..."

By Ray Verified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 07/12/2007


Cons:

Need Better Software Supp, Sd Card Only 2gb

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Commuter

Pros:

Great Picture, Easy Controls, Easy To Install, Durable

Best Uses:

In-dash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product has everything you need. iPod, SD card (should be able to accept larger than 2GB), DVD player, multizone, video input for navigaton or camera, etc. It was easy to install, I added an overhead monitor for the kids. Very good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Purchase, more than paid for !

By DNAVIGATOR Verified Purchaser from Miami, FL on 07/03/2007


Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Practical, Commuter

Pros:

Easy Controls, Durable, Great Picture, Easy To Install

Best Uses:

Larger Cars, Smaller Cars, In-dash

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this unit for my 2005 Nissan Xterra, fit nicely, and so many options that is unbeliveable for the price. Got my Ipod connected, XM satellite (with [$] optional XM module), SD media card, and MP3 on CD, you will never run out of music. The video display on menu and options is a little bit on the low resolution side (when compared to some factory radios), but you can get over that quickly. DVD quality is good and even better enjoyment once you by pass the emergency brake procedure (w/switch [...]) Overall - I love this unit, and for the price, you can not go wrong. All the inclusives on DUAL are xtras on others, and for double the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect!! Way More than Expected

By Memphis JoJo from South Memphis, Tennessee on 03/23/2007


Pros:

Nice Features, Durable, Easy To Install, Attractive Design, Easy Controls

Best Uses:

All Double Din Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well I switched from a Clarion Max 675D to This unit, and it is all around better for way lest money. The accessories that come with it arent included with other brands(such as the ipod adaptor).It comes in a mounting sleeve which is a plus. The only con is the fitment of the trim panel areound the face. My 03Mustang is a little wide in the dash, so it left like and 1/8th on an inch on each side of the face. I would definatly reccommend it over the clarion and would get it again if it came to it -jo


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very capable all around video head unit

By RevBoxsterS Verified Purchaser from DFW on 03/22/2007


Cons:

Low Resolution Screen, Glossy Faceplate

Pros:

Nice Features, Easy To Install, Attractive Design, Easy Controls

Best Uses:

Larger Cars, Small Cars, Sports Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit to replace my 2005 Porsche's head unit. I did not want to spend too much money on it because the more expensive units are more prone to theft. The Dual XDVD8285 was just right. The unit has 3 features that I feel are very important to me as my factory radio does not have them. MP3 playback, IPOD connectivity, and Bluetooth. All three work great, and so far I am very happy with the performance. I have it hooked up to a 6 channel JL amp, so I have enough power to drive my 2 front, center, 2 rear and sub speakers. The additional features such as DVD playback, rear camera, SD memory slot, IPOD video are very nice but I won't probably ever use them. My car is a 2 seater, so I don't plan to watch too many movies on it. It does have Dolby Pro logic which sounds great on 5.1. Another nice thing about this unit is that everything is integrated; meaning, Bluetooth and IPOD interface are built in, so no need to buy anything separately. Some of things I think could be improved are the glossy black finish is too glossy for my taste; it should have a matte finish. The screen looks great and bright, but when running a slide show from my IPOD, the pictures look low resolution. When playing an MP3 CD, it stops the playback if I go to the main menu which the IPOD playback does not do. I wish it would not stop the playback until I actually select another input source. I strongly recommend it, yet I still have to see how reliable it will be with more use off course.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use and install!

By Lone Verified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 03/06/2007


Pros:

Nice Features, Easy To Install, Easy Controls, Durable

Best Uses:

Luxury Cars, Sports Cars, Larger Cars, Small Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall I am happy with the product. I had a small problem with the iPod dock cable, but Dual warranty support was right on it, and sent me a replacement right away. The product is easy to use. The only negative thing I have to say is that it doesn't offer some of the customization I have seen in other units (color scheme, backgrounds, screen savers etc), but other than that everything works great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jack of all trades for half the price!!!

By Do it yourselfer Verified Reviewer from Everett, Washington on 02/26/2007


Cons:

No Divx

Pros:

Easy To Install, Nice Features, Durable, Easy Controls, Attractive Design

Best Uses:

Larger Cars, Luxury Cars, Sports Cars, Any Type Of Cars, Small Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Xdvd8285 is Awesome!!! It does everything it says it will do and tons of harness for the add-ons. I have 07 F150 and I had to purchase antenna adapter[...], doble din mounting kit[...] and radio harness[...].[...]. Installation was pretty standard. I've soldered two harness (one I've purchased from with one came with Xdvd8285) together and the rest is just snap snap.Pulled my old radio out, installed antenna adapter, installed harness, mounted plastic frame to xdvd8285 (the screw stud and rubber piece for the back panel was perfect fit for my f150) and bolted on to dash. It was a snap.Yea, I did run the ipod cable included(I did not used extension) behind to my glove compartment so I can hook up ipod and leave it in glove compartment (hidden away).Everything works like a charm. Radio works good. The freq. setting is easy with many different sound pre-set or user setting. My Ipod works perfect. Even the video works good (make sure set the ipod video setting). The bluetooth speaker phone pairs fast(samsung A940)and works perfect (quality of sound is better than expected. 4 out of 5 stars). DVD works flawless so far. Emergency brake wiring is somewhat funky. (I would [...] purchase mini switch(normally closed)and solder in-line with emergency brake wire and install wire to direct ground instead of emergeny brake. When I need it I will just give couple of pushes simulating setting of emergency brake twice like manual says. ;) wink ;) I don't have a XM yet so I can't say much about it but it's nice to have it available in-case I need it for later.I wish it had a capability of AVI play. I would have glad to pay more the function.It's a 5 stars overall, because it's nice design, easy to install, many functions built in inside and outside add on.You can't go wrong with this product. HAVE BUNDLE OF FUN ALL YOU DO IT YOURSELFERS....[...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved