Home » Computers » Input Devices » Scanning Devices » Scanners » B11B176011 » 54 Reviews

Epson B11b176011 Perfection 4490 Photo 48 Bit 4800x9600 Photo Scanner Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 54 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

The 4490 does a good job ...

By HE from Ohio on 10/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 4490 does a good job of scanning documents and photos but appears to have trouble with film negatives. I tried to scan older smaller negatives from 220 and 110 formats, but no matter what I tried, this scanner was not able to even find the negatives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb Scanner

By Chuck from Escondido CA on 10/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Epson Perfection 4490 Photo Scanner has been so easy to use and has been completely reliable over the years. It's software is user friendly, and the price is right. I'm very pleased at my choice:)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MacOs 7

By jack from Undisclosed on 10/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's terrible. My wonderful 4490 epson scanner does not work with MacOs Lion. Can't find new software for the scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Scanner 4490

By TC68 from Texas on 09/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I;ve had this printer for about 2 yrs and have not had any problems with it. It is a fantastic printer it will do anything you ask it to do. I would recommend this printer to anyone that wants a great printer. Thanks Epson for a great printer. TC68


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does the job very well

By SteveWeb23 from Upstate New York on 08/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the scanner for a several weeks now and I am pleased to report that it works extremely well. It is slim enough so that it doesn't take up too much space. It is quick enough to get the job done without delay. For me, the best part is that the slide and film scanning is quite good. You have to remove the white background panel in the lid, but other than that it is straightforward. We have a dedicated slide scanner in the office, but I think that this 4490 does as good a job. I am very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Our third one!

By Art from Eastern Washington State on 07/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 4490 has been great to use, simple in its operation. I copy documents, photos and 35 mm slides, all very successfully with this scanner. Settings are simple to master, even high resolution professional settings, and I'm sure it is far more advanced in its capability than I am. My only complaint and reason for purchasing yet another is that they seem good for about 1000 scans, then the belt slips. I would also like to have the option to recycle the old one to Epson so it might be refurbished rather than just tossed out here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The product seems up to ...

By edward09 from Ontario on 07/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product seems up to my expectations, however I can hardly offer an satisfactory opinion after having it for less than 24 hours. Epson contined to tell me it was available, but on attempting to purchase it was always unavailable. Only through continuous research on my part did I find a supplier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing quality ...

By Pat from Bishop, CA on 07/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Amazing quality reproductions and modification modes to up grade old photos or slides. I've had to be creative to scan 2 x 2" color slides as the holder is for 35 mm size slides but I've succeeded to get most of the subject matter I want. I'm sure I will become more adept as I really learn more about the options. I do wish an instruction book had come with the scanner, instead of instructions from a cd. I can't keep something on screen and thumb through the instruction book to find what I need. Also, instructions should be in more outline form, instead of constant back and forth from highlighted subjects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and Easy

By Larry from Yong In , Korea on 07/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received my scanner in the mail and within an hour of opening the box, I was successfully downloading my old film negatives into the computer. Would like a larger tray so I could load more at one time. Great product. easy to set up for a 68 year old man.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would have rated 5 stars, but...

By rdogs from Santa Clara, Utah on 06/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The scanner performance is excellent, but the installation software is lacking. The install disk does not have a Linux install. It still does not work on Ubuntu 11.04. Linux should be one of the OS selections


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OMG!!

By gadgetdoozer from Maple Ridge, BC on 06/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not very computer competent so adding or subtracting to or from my present computer equipment is a really hassle. But, I had heard about the Epson Scanner and wanted it for archiving old family photos. I purchased it and then let it sit for several days out of fear. Well, I got it hooked up today in just a few minutes. It worked the first try. I have already scanned old photos and even 39 year old slides...and was able to "fix" them so they are better than the originals. I am so happy! It's easy to operate and the results are wonderful! I highly recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not to good

By JET from Bay Shore, NY on 06/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It seem that Epson can't get a scanner to work with a Artisan 810 while being hookup to your iMac!. I tried to get it to work with very little success. For a short time it seem it was working OK then I hook up my 810 to my router and that was the end of the scanner. I am tired of trying to get a printer that works and has the same features as the Windows computers have. Thank you


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 4490 scanner

By Dick from DFW Texas on 06/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Own two 4490 epson scanners without ever any problems. Even accidently dropped one,still works. Also own two older models Perfection 3750 still working good and one perfection 2580 that I was using for running 35mm film strips but can not get the drivers from Epson anymore when I switched to Win.7 on my other several computers. In addition I own 6 Epson printers and would recommend them all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unable to connect

By Desmid from Michigan on 06/10/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unpack, set up, connect power, and USB as directed. Downloaded the driver and installed. Scanner will not be recognized. My previous Epson scanner was a snap to set up and ran well. Had to purchase a new one because Epson is no longer supporting the old scanner with a driver for OSX 10.6. Still trying to get the scanner to recognize the computer. So why recommend a product when following all instructions it will not connect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Perfection 4490 Photo Scanner

By Scott from Texas on 04/08/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Epson has not released (as of 4/8/2011) updated Smart Panel software for Windows 7. So you cannot use the scanner buttons which are one of the main reasons I purchased the scanner. I tried to purchase the latest Newsoft Smart Panel software (v3.6) which is supposed to work with Windows 7, but unfortunately this model scanner is not listed in their supported scanners. This scanner has worked great with Windows XP and produces nice scans. Needless to say I'm no longer an Epson advocate. Seems my options are now to either buy a new scanner (it won't be Epson) or spend the price of the scanner on third party software that supports the Epson scanner buttons since Epson seems unwilling to support their own product. Unhappy customer... should never have upgraded to Windows 7. Buyer Beware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simplicity

By Anonymous from Charlotte, NC on 03/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In a age of multi-function phones and other electronics, it was nice to find a product that does exactly what you want. We had media that we needed to convert and this scanner did it all wonderfully. It handled slides and photographs wonderfully. The carrier for the slides was well thought out. The carrier for the negatives no so much. One little design change would make this the perfect scanner. As is there is no way to hold the negative in place while the cover is snapped into place, the negative tends to move around. this is very frustrating. By adding some little extrusions to capture the track of the negative to help keep them lined up would make a big improvement in the negative carrier. This is the only downside. The speed, the quality of the finished product, the ease of installation all contribute to make this a quality product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

red light flashes

By dvdcndl from florida on 02/01/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

4490 scanner worked good then next time I wanted to scan...the red light started flashing. Reinstalled software, used another computer...still red light flashes. I'm tired of spending hours trying to get this stupid thing to work. Ready to throw it in the trash. Epson, if you read these reviews, this thing might be 3 years old but hasn't been used that much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4490 review

By Anonymous from Delray Beach, Fl on 01/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've on Y been using the Epson 4490 for two day but already it was easy to setup and as long as there is space between thehotos I been able to scan to fivehotos at a time. The Epson recognizes it and makes separate photos the auto fix immediately recognizes there is something wrong with the colors and make the correction.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By waggish from West Virginia on 11/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have great results scanning photos and also pdf files for inclusion in my general files. Excellent reading and clear copies. Easy to set up and use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My New Epson Perfection 4490 Photo

By Keets from Sunnyvale, CA on 11/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE this scanner! It is easy to use - 1-2-3 and the pictures come out very well. I'm very glad I purchased this particular one. I can't wait to use it to restore some of my other photos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as billed

By yvixen from Marion, MA on 11/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have converted about 1000 slides to digital photos. Slides taken over 30 yr period. Photos are so good , I threw out all the slides and cassettes - will have on CDs and Flash drives for as long as that technology lasts. Couldnt have done it without the 4490.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4490 Works Great!!

By Flash from Venice, FL on 09/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took it out of the carton a couple of days ago to scan in some old photos and 35 mm slides. Easy setup. Works great!! Actually better than I expected after having used an ION PICS2PC unit for scanning in some 35 mm slides. The 4490 is much better. Because my OS is Windows 7, I didn't use the driver that came with the packaged disc but downloaded one from the Epson support site. Also the version of Adobe Photoshop Elements that came on a seperate disc is kind of ancient, it's Elements 2 and now Adobe is up to Elements 8. Overall, I am pleased with the 4490 Scanner performance and price. The color restoration feature of the scanning software is particularly good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner

By OldPhotos from Sacramento CA on 09/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just purchased this scanner and have used it several times. I scans the old photos and the photos look great. Haven't used it for slides yet but am hopeful that they will also be great. Easy set up and was using this machine in no time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner

By VincentLDTC from Delaware on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I actually purchased this scanner quite a while ago and life got in the way of my ever using it so I just got it all together this week. Have played with it for about two hours so far and I love the ease with which I get to do what I want. I think I will be achiving some family family photos this month!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

can't get it working

By maryanne from arlington heights IL on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I cannot get the scanner to work. you need a zero star rating. How can this be so tough. My daughter, the gift giver, called for a new disc. It came, IN SPANISH.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Value

By Jorgito from New York City, NY on 06/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had been previously using two very expensive scanners " one for transparencies (slides/negatives) and one for reflective documents. Both were purchased about eight years ago. Wow, what a difference eight years can make in technology! My new scanner outshines my old scanners in almost everything they could do. The biggest benefit to me is the high native resolution (4800 dpi). I do a lot of restoration and archival work and the higher resolution and bit depth give me more flexibility. Warning! Scanning at high resolutions takes time, its slow, but you must remember its doing a lot of work. Have patience " its worth the wait. Normal scanning at, say 300-600 dpi, is very quick. I found using the software interface fairly easy to use. The Full Auto Mode surprised the heck outta me. Very impressive results outta the box. The Home Mode gives you more flexibility and control. I prefer to use the Professional Mode because I do a lot of tinkering before the scan. The results have been outstanding. Color fidelity is excellent. The Restore Color feature makes some surprisingly excellent guesses. If it is not a good enough guess the results may be an excellent jumping off point to do your own color adjustments. If youve never used Digital Ice for color transparencies, be prepared to be amazed at its dust removal. Saves much time spot correcting. My minuses about the 4490 are that the effective scanning surface for flat documents is only 8.5 x 11. Im used to a slightly larger surface with my old unit. The Dust Removal on b&w images can be wonky. Its logic at how it determines what is dust, and should be removed, and what should be kept is not necessarily accurate, i.e., it cleaned nostrils by filling them in, and it filled in small earrings making an earlobe smooth and clean. Nicely done, but not accurate. The greatest surprise was its price " one-tenth the price of my old scanners. With the amount of work I have to do, I will most likely run my 4490 into the ground much sooner than a casual user, but with the low price, I can replace it with another one without batting an eyelash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scans

By teasz5 from Central Illinois on 06/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When my previous scanner "gave up the ghost" I decided to upgrade and get one that scanned negatives as well. After a lot of research I decided on this one and I have not been sorry. I have a lot of old "Brownie" camera negatives (3 x 5), as well as slides and 35mm, that this machine scans like a charm . The interchangeable negative plates make positioning a breeze and the fact that you are given the option to name the photos versus the automatic "scan001", "scan002" is a plus for sorting. The fact that this scanner is in the lower range of scanner prices makes it's purchase an even better deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4490 Scanner

By stanbw from Gainesville, GA on 06/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Using this scanner reminds me of why I always preferred a single function scanner over do-all units. Extremely fast scans of any document to legal size and incredible scanning of 35mm slides are just two of the reasons I am completely satisfied with this scanner. I have encountered zero problems installing, setting up and using the 4490. It is as advertised a great unit at a very reasonable price. My first scanner was an Epson ES1200C. It cost almost 10 times what this one cost but still runs today albeit handicapped with a SCSI interface.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Driver 310 for Mac Mini

By Harry1 from Mesa, AZ. on 05/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Perfection 4490 has performed spotlessly with my iMac G-4 Flat screen with system 10.4.11 and earlier using Driver 307. When I bought the new Mac Mini with Intel processor & system 10.6.3 'Snow Leopard', I downloaded & upgraded to Driver 310. This driver acts like the Scanner is not connected at all and no amount of diagnosis will uncover the problem. So I tried going back to Driver 307, and it works as it did on the older computer. I did get the 'Copy utility' 3.19.01 which works well for 'Copy to print' and 'Copy to E Mail' but is not for high quality scanning of Photographs. Will there be an upgrade of 310 for Snow Leopard?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Greatest Value For The Price

By alletcat68 from Manchester, pa on 05/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to install. works like a charm on anything from documents to 30yr old slides. Fast & easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MISSING STUFF

By LessThanSatisfiedConsumer from New England on 05/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'd never had or used a scanner before buying this product and if I had some prior experience I would have been aware that this scanner doesn't copy odd-sized negatives or B+W film strips. I have plenty of both from the 1960's and 70's that were dug out of storage with great anticipation only to be extremely disappointed. What this scanner DOES scan, it scans well. If I had known this before I bought my EPSON 4490, I would have looked for a different scanner - either an EPSON product or somebody else's. I went online to see if EPSON offered any special frames to handle my stuff but didn't see any. Maybe I didn't look in the right place. Overall, this is a good product although the advertising on the box it came in should have CLEARLY spelled out what it WOULD and WOULD NOT scan. Live and learn. Now that I've had some experience scanning I will never make this same mistake again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4490 scanner

By babsie from CT on 04/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a uoutstanding scanner the quality is supberb I did quite a lot of work with this equipment


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Is working well

By DavePA from Grove City, PA on 04/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson scanner is now working well. I had some difficulty getting it to be compatible my Mac but, with the help of my computer savvy son-in-law, it is now doing a good job of scanning my old slides.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth will purchase

By durrquipro from Santa Clara, CA on 04/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This replaced on older scanner. Had no trouble setting it up and worked fine on the first scan. I have now scanned about 100 negative slides with no problems. Was worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not bad value for money

By Claudius from New York, NY on 04/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Setup was simple - downloaded the Windows 7 drivers, only to find that the Epson File Mananger has to be copied from the disk (which is not to be used if your OS is Windows 7?). This resulted in the Device Manager showing 2 scanners instead of one. More a nuisance than a problem. Scanning works fine, although color reproduction is sometimes off. I like the idea of being able to scan negatives (I have loads of them), although the process is very slow, even at mediam resolutions. Inserting the negatives in the provided plastic device is tedious and fiddly. Instead of a snap-in cover for the device, it should allow for pushing the negatives into a track. In principle, not bad value for money, but it will take me weeks to get all my negatioves scanned, color adjusted...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pretty good piece

By copycat from Las Vegas, NV on 04/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

quality of scan is prety good...software is a little clunky but workable


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding quality & versatility!

By GCG1 from Hurricane, UT on 08/26/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchase my Epson Perfection 4490 3 years ago. I have scanned in over 1100 pictures. I have scanned in all types: B/W photos, color photos, 35 mm slides and even 50 mm slides (by removing the door to the 2.5 inch film holder and putting in one slide at a time in the center). I just use the Home mode and everything takes care of itself. The digital ICE really works on all the color slides...not as well on the B/W photos. The photos I have scanned in were from 1940 to 1985. The color restoration has been excellent! I just use Micro Soft Picture Manager to clean up the over/under exposure. I also us this to scan in documents and create PDF files. It allows you to scan multiple pages to a single PDF file...something my old scanner from brand x wouldn't do. When I purchased mine it cost almost 3 times more than now and didn't include Photoshop Elements. Now, Photoshop Elements is included...what a deal! I give this my highest recommendation to anyone who needs to scan in photos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Scanner.. Even Used..

By Simba7 from Billings, MT on 05/21/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner at the local rescue mission. I was a bit skeptical until I noticed the top half of the scanner. I went ahead and bought it. It didn't come with the slide or negative attachment, so I laid the slides directly on the glass (4 at a time) and scanned them. I was immediately impressed. I'm currently scanning all of my Great Grandpa's slides at 4800dpi, thousands of them. After I'm finished, I'm scanning his old Polaroids too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding scanner

By joemav57 from Philadelphia, PA on 04/14/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this scanner now for over two years and it still works like a charm. I even purchased an extra negative tray so I can improve my time in scanning the slides and negatives


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible!

By Aleks from Los Angeles, CA on 03/21/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the scanner and worked good for about a month. Now, it keeps jamming saying that the scanner is locked and that I should unlock it. I'm done with it! What a waste of money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this!

By janna from north dakota on 03/11/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a really nice scanner. We have hundreds of slides that I am in the process of scanning and it does a great job and it is so easy. I've scanned things from magazines too and the color is perfect and images clear and clean. I think its great for the price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb

By 66darkmistress from Beatty, Nv on 02/09/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first scan was an off size (probably 126 format) color negative. The colors looked like it was 50 days old, not 50+ years. Many years of rough handling required post scan repair work, well worth the final results. A medium format slide, 120 size and 22 years old, was clean and vivid. I am beyond impressed, time for the Photo 1400 and some printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but with SERIOUS FAULTS

By LANLINE from Minneapolis, MN on 01/17/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This scanner does a fantastic job with normal scans, 120mm film scans... but the negative carrier for 35mm is poorly designed and made. The 35mm carrier will not hold film flat. It there is any curl to the negative... you will get Newton's Rings and poorly focused scans. If there is ANY curl to the negative, it will pop the negative carrier out and you will not get a good scan. They could solve this problem by having the film in a guide like they have for the first corner of the first frame. To be honest, this carrier is just NO GOOD. Poorly made and it really lowers the quality of this scanner - which if you have a flat negative, it is a great scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Scanner

By ApogeeSystemsInc from Atlanta, GA on 11/13/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We develop dedicated applications software for the pulp, paper, and printing industries. As such, we work with many different scanners from multiple manufacturers. The 4490 is perhaps the best scanner we have ever recommended in the last 15 years in this industry. The images it creates are very accurate and repeatable. Color reproduction is excellent and more important to our users, there is very little distortion. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Scanner

By PATTY from Concord Ca on 09/17/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have scanned over 2000 35mm slides of all my childrens growing up in the 60's, 70's and 80's. This scanner does a beautiful job of transferring the image to my computer where they are safe and in one spot. I have scanned 100's of old pictures and they come out so clean and crisp. I am so happy that I started this project Patty


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice and easy

By annie21456 from beverly hills, ca on 09/17/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very userfriendly!! a simple yet powerful scanner! a must have!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner

By Fran from San Antonio, Texas on 07/25/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Scans are crisp, OCR provided works really well. Sharp photo and slide reproductions. Works well with Photoshop Elements


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best scanner for photo work

By MikeI from Denver, CO on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been scanning photos and slides for over 5 years and nothing I have tried has even come close to the quality of the 4490 scanner. I had almost given up on finding a high quality film/photo scanner that was affordable. On a recent project, when I started to clean up the slide images done on another scanner, I found that the images were slightly blurred and all of the colors were off. I rescanned several of the slides on the 4490 and was amazed and the difference in quality. I ended up rescanning the entire 2,000 slides because the quality was so much better. The color correction works exceptionally well for all of the slide and photo scanning. It has completely eliminated the need for photo cleanup with the exception of red eye correction. My project is nearly complete with over 15,000 images and the 4490 has performed way above all expectations. It has handled all of the slides, photos & negatives with excellent results. Don't waste you money on any other scanner for photo work! If the scanner were to die tomorrow, the 4490 would be the would the only replacement I would consider.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very good Purchase for me

By Silverfox38 from Independence M0 on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been very satsfied with this Scanner. I have scanned a lot of photos, but I am especiall delited with the quality of scanned negatives especially the black and white. I have had the scanner for almost 2 years. I like the fact that I can do some preliminary editing before I scan in the photos.I would recommend this scanner to all my friends and relatives. Silverfox38


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4490 Photo Scanner

By TopChop from Pebble Beach, CA on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to set up and use. Scans both black and white and color well. No problems encountered during its first nine months of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Flat bed scanner not quite perfection

By AmateurRestorer from South east Michigan on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson Perfection 4490 Photo scanner has fine resolution and features as typical of such scanners. However, the negative holder leaves something to be desired. It does not hold the negatives firmly in place. I have found that they are difficult to keep at the far end while loading the second negative and/or securing the top frame in place. Older curved negatives will pull up and out of position and touch the glass. At the point of touching the glass, a phenomenon called "Newton's Rings" will occur and and be copied onto the image scanned. They may not be seen until much later if a large group of negatives are scanned and insspected at a high zoom level. They are very difficult to clean even with such programs as Photoshop. It is easier to rescan than clean but the problem can still occur. It would be a real improvement if the negative holder was stiffer and had some crossmembers between frames (such as the older and no longer available Konica-Minolta holder) to keep the negative flat. I now am trying to flatten 35+ year old negatives which do not stay flat long.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice scanner

By tadwalloper from Smallville, KS on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'll admit, I bought this scanner for the price more than the features but I couldn't be happier with it. It's fast, reliable and scans beautifully.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent for the money

By tess from lockport Illinois on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an all in one also but prefer the scanner for negatives and slides especially.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for scanning negs at home

By melmlr from St. Louis, MO on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When trying to find an affordable scanner for at-home use, I discovered the Epson 4490 to be a wonderful investment. I have scanned hundreds of 35mm and medium format negatives. Very happy with the quality. Just wish I could scan 4x5 on this scanner!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved