Home » Computers » Input Devices » Scanning Devices » Scanners » B11B178011 » 120 Reviews

Epson America Inc B11b178011 V700 Photo Scanner Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 120 reviews)

87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Epson Perfection V700 Photo review

By spruance from New Mexico on 08/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this scanner for several years and it performs flawlessly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scaner

By David from Lehi, UT on 07/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After a month it broke down, I call epson lucky for me I got insurance for it so i had to send it and got another one which it was defective had to send it back and got another one now its been 10 month and got broken again and I don't use it that often


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scanning old, dark 35mm slides

By Joe from Sebastopol, CA on 03/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a collection of 25-40 year old 35mm slides of mountaineering trips. I had tried scanning them with another, inexpensive scanner purchased about 10 years ago. Slides that were really good scanned OK (not great) and ones that were a little dark didn't scan well at all. The dark areas (which showed some detail when projected onto a screen with a Kodak projector) just went black. Moreover, the colors didn't scan very true, white snow became yellowish, skies were discolored, etc. I eventually voiced my problems to a friend who is an editor at a major magazine. He told me that the Epson V700 or V750 would solve my problems and allow me to scan slides 12 at a time. "But it's a bit pricey" he warned. I read a lot of reviews and didn't really find one that seemed to directly address my problems. It did appear, however, that the V700, if it performed as my friend suggested, did everything that I needed. So, I got the V700 and I LOVE this machine. Scanning on "full automatic", it's internal software does such a good job that any "touch up" I do with Photoshop is usually pretty trivial. I recommend this machine to anyone having difficulties of the type that I described. One complaint that I read about in review was that the rack that holds the slides is too flimsy. It isn't bomb proof, but seems to me that with reasonable care it will last a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does a great job on 35mm ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 03/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Does a great job on 35mm slides. Does a great job on color and b/w prints B/W negatives require a little more work Does a great job on color negatives. 2 1/4 slides, mounts have to be removed


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nasim Akhtar

By nasim1951 from Lahore Pakistan on 12/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used both v700 and v750 scanners. Both are good for photographers as well as for pre-press users, like offset or digital printing. It gives you very sharp image, highlights and shadow details. Epson software understands photography values and gives you closest color to the original exposure. The only problem in v700 that it doesn't have oil mounting provision but I have tried oil mounting frame of v750 with v700. When I scanned 6 x 7 cm transparencies mounted with mounting oil, I got better results than durm scanner. I would like to recommend epson people to provide oil mounting frame with v700.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner overall

By Anonymous from Redmond, WA on 12/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall this is a great scanner. The main negative feature is that the scanner does not take in all of the glass scanning area, so the user needs to be aware of that limitation. The V700 has scanned thousands of pictures and negatives and the resulting scans are excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Eight years and still doing a fantastic job

By DeaconMichael from Baltimore MD on 12/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The invoice for my Epson printer is dated 11 December 2006 and after thousands of negatives scanned, I am still using it as if it just came out of the box. Most of my negatives are 6x6 and thus a 35mm scanner would not work for me. This scanner easily handles all my negatives and slides and after I scan them, I can print them up to 16x and larger. I routinely edit my scans and copy them into other photographs, something that I could only dream about doing when I took most of the photos. The speed is acceptable. The only issue is that I have not been able to get the scanner to work in Windows 7 with Adobe CS5. This seems to be a driver issue. I used it without problem with WIndows XP or Windows 7and Adobe CS2. I have also used it with Corel PhotoPaint without problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 scanner

By photo from Natick,Ma on 10/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The V700 is very easy to install on your computer.The photo And negative scanning is easy. I have scanned 35mm to 4by5 Negatives with excellent results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson V700 Scanner

By Anonymous from IL on 08/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

An excellent machine that has provided a way for me to archive my old photos, slides and negatives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 photo scanner

By Jim from Murrells Inlet, SC on 07/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The scanner works great, of course there is a learning curve with it. For me a slow learner when it comes to electronics I think I did fairly well...it does all I want it to do and quite well... My issues are most likely because I'm not doing something correct...for instance: color photographs always have a yellow tint or streak, I do not know how to get rid of that and the glass on the inside appears to have a film on it ... I think it must go to an authorized repair shop to have it cleaned... anyone's thoughts?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Window 8.1

By nate from Philadelphia on 07/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just bought a new desktop with win 8.1. I downloaded and installed the win 8.1 driver. It doesn't work. I still have to use my XP desktop to do a scan which works fine. So I know it's not the scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Perfection V700 Photo Scanner

By Bill from Southern Pines,N.Y. on 07/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No problems at all. It works like a charm doing every thing it is suppose to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works for me

By JohnL from Los Angeles, CA on 07/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My V700 never fails. I have owned mine for a number of years and not once have I had a single problem with it. The quality of the scans I get are superb, whether from large format 4x5 film or 35mm, the scanner and Epson's bundled software are versatile enough to handle all my projects. My previous scanner was a Heidleberg Saphir Ultra and it was known at the time to be the "standard". After purchasing and using the V700, I never looked back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Prefection V700 is perfect

By REOImages from Calverton, NY on 06/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner is the best scanner I have had to date. It scans slides, negatives and prints with accuracy and when I need really good resolution I can change a setting to meet my requirement. It works seamlessly with Photoshop and has met all my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By Dave Pedersen from Long Island, NY on 06/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have used this scanner to copy family photos and slides. Very dependable, easy to use, and it did a great job of handling both photos and mounted slides. I have scanned several thousand pictures without a problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible waiting on exchange

By captain from Los Angeles on 06/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i opened the scanner and the top scanning plate was making a grinding noise and i can't find a program suitable to scan with my iOS software i am waiting on returning the product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

v700 SCANNER

By Anonymous from Hartselle Al on 03/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this scanner for negatives. It was easy to install and does everything I want it to do. It will scan negatives from the smallest size up to 8 x 10. It will also scan at many resolutions to give the best possible result.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Correction of previous comment

By PAyaker from Port Angeles, WA on 03/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Please ignore the previous comment I posted. My new computer with Win 8.1 now readily works with the V700 scanner. Turned out to be a problem with my computer software. I also want to thank the Epson technical staff who were quick to respond and very helpful. I look forward to continue copying my family photos, slides and documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EPSON V700

By ELKNATION from STURGIS, S.D. on 03/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I HAD NO TROUBLE MAKING IT COMPATIBLE WITH MY WINDOWS 8


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner

By Memory Keeper from Maine on 03/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am pleased with this scanner. It does a good job with photos, documents, and 35 mm slides. I had bought it because I was told it would do the larger older slides that measure 2 inches square before mounting. These slides are on glass and mounted with metal. The only way to do this is to put the slide right on the glass. While it will scan this way I would have preferred to have a cartridge to put the slides in similar to the 35 mm and film cartridges. I am needing to be extremely careful so the metal on the edges of the slides does not scratch the glass of the scanner. The manual for the scanner is a bit sparse. I would have liked to see more detailed explanations of how to scan the various types of media.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson V700

By BruceB from Holland, MI on 03/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After receiving a replacement for a DOA V700, I have scanned b&w prints, color prints and Ektachrome transparencies with very good results using VueScan. When I further refine my scanning workflow, I expect even better results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V75o Photo Scanner

By p1nball from Tega Cay South Carolina on 02/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All that I wanted in this unit. Far better then the V500 it replaced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 Scanner

By Bob S from Calgary, AB on 01/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner with a mission in mind. I've got over 10,000 of my fathers and my own slides - a combination of 35mm and 6x6. There are also 5 binders of negatives also in both formats. So far I've scanned over 500 of the 35mm slides and am very pleased with the image quality. I've tried some of the 6x6 negatives, and am also pleased with the images that I've received. I wish that there was a slide template available for the 6x6 slides as this would make it the perfect machine for what I need.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Perfection V700 Photo Scanner

By Betty from Houston, TX on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this scanner. I ordered it to scan all my family pictures on slides. I tried 3 other scanners before I found this one. (This one was a lot more expensive) I will warn you that it is slow. It takes about 30 minutes to scan 12 slides, but once you load them up, you can walk away and do something else while it does the scanning for you. It is better quality than most. The only other drawback is that it comes with only one slide tray. I haven't been able to figure out how to order an extra one. I would like to be able to load up two at a time so that one is ready to go when the first tray is done. But with only one tray that isn't possible. After scanning over 4,500 slides, one of the prongs broke off the tray. It still works, but I'm not sure how long it will last before more prongs break.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great! But....

By m005kennedy from Gorham, Maine on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great, but.... for the life of me I can't get it to work on Windows 8. I need to. It is a great scanner with a large scanning area. Does slides and negatives as well. One of the best out there! Bundled with some real nice software such as the one that removes surface scratches on color material. Not much bad you could say about this product. Will have to check out customer service on the Windows 8 issue. was force to replace my computer that had Win & that worked well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V 700 Exceeds Expectations

By Sammy from Washington, DC on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have thousands of pictures & tens of thousands of slides requiring scanning. By purchasing extra slide carriers, I have been able to make my task much easier. The ease of learning, operation and quality of my finish products is amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mixed Feelings

By Anonymous from Decatur, GA on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I got this I supposed I would no longer need to use my V600 scanner and my productivity would grow by leaps and bounds. Sadly, as it turns out, there are some things the V600 does the V700 is really not set up for. So much for a one-stop scanning experience. Case in point is slides (positives) other than 35mm. If it's a 35mm, fine. If it is any other dimension, and I get a lot of them since I work for a camera store, parts of the template that hold the slide creep into the actual scan itself and I have to crop to get it out. So, back to the V600 which doesn't have that problem. Otherwise I'm very pleased with the V700, like the dual lens system, and enjoy that I can take glass plate negatives up to 8" x 10" and get a cracking good and sharp scan and print out of them. The editing tools the V700 (and the V600 since it is the same software) has cut down a lot on post scan editing I had to do with another scanner. All in all, with the exception of the 35mm positives problem, I recommend this scanner to everyone who needs high quality and fast productivity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product for ...

By Jay Jay from Pickerington Ohio on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent product for revues on slides. I have approx 3600 slides to go through, and, it becomes extraordinarily easy to work with. I chose to purchas three more trays in that I can work easily with batches of forty-eight slides at each sit-down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson V700 Scanner

By Bob from Carbondale, Illinois on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my Epson V700 Scanner for a little over three years now and have found it to do every thing I have wanted. We can always want a larger area to scan but for my purpose it is great. For nearly 30 years I did large format photography using negatives up to 8x10 inches. My earlier scanners would scan up to a 4x5 negative. With this scanner I can scan my 8x10 negatives. By using the "area Guide" I have been able to scan the odd sized negatives. Yes there is a problem with curl on the thin negatives but I solved that problem by buying a non-glare framing glass and put it over the negative with the etched side down on the negative to make them lay flat. I had to put the emulsion side down on the platen instead of up and flip the image after scanning in Photoshop but the result is a scan of the full size of the negative clear and sharp. For print scanning I find it does exactly what I need. The copy feature is very handy and my wife finds a lot of use for that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Results

By jmag from Arlington, VA on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Perfection V700 Photo scanner met all my expectations. The set-up was not overly complicated, it does an excellent job of scanning photographic prints and a good job with transparencies and negatives. The film holders are not as robust as some might require, but do an adequate job when used with care.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have been most pleased ...

By Dick from Naples, FL on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been most pleased with the scanner. It is not only quick but produces great results


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner

By Anonymous from Atlanta, GA on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great scanner! Easy to learn how to use and very versatile as far as sizes and the results are very high quality! Considering the cost of high res scans...well worth the investment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700

By Morgan from Midwest on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have around 7,000 slides to scan. I am a part-time professional, and high quality scans are important to me. The V700 did a fine job scanning the one print I tried, and I imagine it does a great job with documents. However, it did not measure up when it comes to slides. I have tried everything and learned a lot, but the scans are just not crisp. It's as if they are all a little out of focus (which, trust me, they are not). I am returning the scanner today. If all you need are scans for small screen computers or maybe websites, the V700 may work well for you. It is easy to use and the software makes sense, and I like the 12-slide batch capability. But the scan quality is just not good enough for me. Also, I have a Mac with mountain lion, and had a lot of trouble, trial and error before I downloaded the correct software, which didn't come with the scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A powerful workhorse

By robsb from San Jose CA on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased my Epson 700 because I was looking for a scanner that could do both film and Print scanning as well as normal paper scanning. I like the fact that the unit has two lenses each optimized for the job at hand. I use mine with Silverfast Archive Suite 8 and when copying negative film or slides the results are amazing considering this is a flatbed scanner and not a dedicated film scanner. I have compared my results with direct copies of slides done with a full frame camera and when you consider the ability to scan multiple images at once and auto dust and scratch removal, it is no contest. I would chose the results from the V700 every time. Of course it also works well with digitizing paper products like receipts, letters, etc. It works well with Windows 8.1 64 bit OS, and I have never had any problems with the unit. This is an excellent value for the moiney.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner - Software Fail

By GearJunky from Brooklyn, NY on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the V700 a few years back and used it for years without a problem. Then I upgraded my OS and the Silverfast software it came with - much better then the Epson Scan - is incompatible with the newer MacOS's. I don't want to drop another few hundred for the software so stuck using the Epson software. In addition, Firewire communication does not work in the later MacOS's so I'm scanning through USB 2.0 Little frustrations make a big headache.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great scanner for the price

By restorer from Manchester, NH on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this scanner to replace an Epson 1600 scanner I had for over 10 years. Does everything I need: negatives, slides, and documents quickly and accurately with great professional settings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfection V 700

By Billy Bob from Florida on 12/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This a great machine It has surpassed my expectation. I have not found a job it will not do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner, to bad it's stuck with windows!

By Jack from Peoria, Arizona on 11/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just received the V700 scanner. I usually run Linux, but was having a few difficulties, so I loaded a version of Windows 8 that I have for this type of problem. The software loaded and is running fine although I haven't had much time to play with the device. I stuck a number of slides (Kodachrome from the 50's) in and the software picked the positive transparency option and loaded each into its own file, nice. Although pretty slow, it's still faster than I can do it... I would recommend this to others. The film holders are quite delicate and I worry about breaking them, so I need to be extra careful as this is why I purchase the device, for film scanning especially large format (4x5 inch). From what I've seen it does a good job. Living without windows is a dream, too bad I had to regress to it to use the best parts of this product. Jack


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally bought one for home

By Ogapoge from Santa Fe, NM on 11/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used a V700 for several years at work and when I saw a sale, saving over $100, I could not resist. The V700 is great for everything (film or print) you need to image; books are a little tricky and be careful of copyright issues. I highly recommend this scanner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful scanner for photographers

By paball from Seattle, WA & Whitefish, MT on 11/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this jewel to scan old prints, slides, and film, all with excellent results for some time now. Never a problem. Well, until Mavericks came along--and that is getting fixed. No other scanner I have had has come close to this quality. When I use up my ink on old photo printer, an Epson will be in the works, given my experience with this scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner

By Multi Media guy from New York City on 10/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this wonderful scanner for 8 X 10 negatives as well as fabric samples that my wife uses for her instructions. Very versatile and easy to use. It could not be better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fits my workflow and does just what I need

By Andre C from New York Metro Area on 10/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The V750 Scanner does everything I need it to do. I can scan 35mm, medium format, and 4 X 5 negatives, and flat art as well. I do not use most of the image adjustment controls as my scans go through Lightroom 4 and Photoshop CS6 for post processing. As with all scanners you have to know about resolution and how to make a proper clean scan. There are resolution charts available on the net, I use them. The scanning software is good, but not knock out great. I've adjusted to it by now and have no problems. I'm glad I purchased this scanner and would recommend it to advanced amateurs and professionals only.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Quality Beautiful tonal range!

By photopro from Chicago,Illinois on 10/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson V750 Pro Scanner I purchased is the best investment by far. It's very user friendly great quality with professional results. I have a large collection of film,slides,2x2,4x6 negatives etc. which I'm converting to digital,and this scanner is getting the job done beautifully. I also like that it is compatiable with my Windows PC 7 system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson V700

By dufish from Southern California on 09/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit to scan in all my old 35mm negatives. I had no trouble setting it up immediately with my Win7 desktop. The ICE feature works real well while scanning in scratchy negatives. The scratches disappear and the scan looks good. For well-kept negatives without scratches, turn off ICE for a sharper image. I use 2800 resolution, unsharp mask on, and dust removal medium. If you use dust removal high, some small rocks will disappear from the road or hillsides. The results look way better and truer than any scanner I have used before. Now for the bad part. It looked new in the box but the top of the lid looks like some chemical was spilled onto it and some of the gray color was bleached out in blotches. No way does that curtail any functionality. The second thing is the 35mm film holders have two tabs on the right side that fit into alignment holes in the scanner body. After 30 loads the tabs cracked then a day later broke off the holders. I was able to glue them back on with Household Goop so now the tabs are way stronger than stock. I would suggest Epson come up with thicker plastic for the tabs. Or else go ahead and apply some Household Goop on both sides of the tabs where they connect to the holder before they crack. Other than that, it is nice to see all my old pics in high def and perfect color!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

missing firewire

By DC from wisconsin on 09/03/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit partially based on the description that it worked both with firewire and USB. The unit I received does not have a firewire port. The box, documentation and Epson's website say that it has firewire. Very poor job Epson!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V750 Scanner

By Cabinboy from Hoquiam WA on 08/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this scanner since 2007. Over the years, I've scanned hundreds of 35mm & 120 slides & negatives. Even though it was a flat bed scanner, it did a very good job scanning all that. I've also been able to scan negatives using the Film Area Guide and it was just like making contact sheets in the darkroom. Very nice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice scanner

By phcrose from Tx on 08/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The scanner is nice and produce good image. And a good scanner software is involved in the package. It makes it easy to use. For documents and films, Epson 750M gave me good result. I appreciate the scanner, and it's useful for me to scan my films and convert to digital images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Out of Focus

By Jtree007 from Atlanta, GA on 08/03/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is scanner might be fine for paper, photographs, and similar items, but it is a terrible film scanner. The Scanner has the resolution to resolve all the detail of most films but it is almost impossible to get that detail. The film holders are terrible they are flimsy and do a poor job of holding film tight. That is a mild problem compared the complete inability to find the focal point of the scanner. Scans are completely out of focus using the standard holders, and only slightly better with aftermarket holders. The solution is a lens that can auto focus or a larger depth of field. Personally I would prefer both, but either would significantly improve the scanner. The short comings are well known and discussed on online forms, but there are some that can get the v700 and v750 to perform great. Many, including myself, think the manufacturing variance form unit to unit is responsible for wide range of opinions on the scanner. You might get lucky and get a good one, but most likely it will just frustrate you and waste your time. Pros Plenty of Resolution Digital Ice Cons Out of focus when scanning film Shallow Depth of Field for scanning film Flimsy Film Holders USB 2.0 or Firewire 400 TL:DR - This is a terrible scanner for film. Do not buy unless you are working with large format film. Fine scanner for paper, prints and similar.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Flatbed and Versatile

By IndyPA from Camby, Indiana on 08/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I find using a point-by-point detailed review easier to read than a long paragraph... so, here I go.. I got this to scan my Dads Lifelong archives of negatives, slides and medium/large format negatives. . It is fast, and allows with the supplied software, more than enough control over each scan. . The V700 can make easy work out of a large job because of the "Automatic" framing with supplied film holders. . I am pleased with the scanned IQ compared with a 35mm dedicated scanner I used to use. I see no real difference. . The amount of control is impressive. It has a 3 color levels adjustment + RBG, and a Curves Control for a bit more tweaking. I use the 3 Color + RBG levels 90% of the time. And get excellent results across the board. . And the normal USM sharpening, Dust remover, Digital Ice for Color Film, and a handy back-light option that can help with dark slides of negatives. . The supplied film holders have coding that allow the V700 to scan JUST the Neg/Slide without scanning the holder itself. A BIG PLUS!! and time saver. . The V700 warms up fast, and is fairly quiet for a flatbed. It can scan 24 35mm negatives in 30 minutes that results in a 55mb file with plenty of detail. . A totally satisfied V700 user.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700

By Bob from Virginia on 08/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have scanned slides, film strips, 4 X 5, 120 film and 2.25 film. All works well except for the 2.24 film. There is no Guide for that size so I used the Film Area Guide. That was not as convenient as the other holders. The scanning resolution is excellent and I really like it. Of course I wish it was faster but that's always the case - I want to go faster.For the money it really does the job.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 Epson Photo Scanner

By Herbie from Ruidoso, New Mexico on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Flexible Fast Filled with many scan variables for needed specialty requirements Very, very sharp scans Straight forward, clear instructions


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am enjoying my V700

By Redragtop from Arkansas on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this at the recommendation of a man who does photo restoration for a living. I have been a photographer for 33 years and wanted to scan in some of my older stuff and work on it in Photoshop. This machine is great for what I wanted it to do. I have scanned 35 mm slides, negatives, 6X7 negs, and even some odd sizes like my families old 126 and 127 from back in the 50s. I am very happy with the results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson V700 Scanner

By Duckie from Kansas on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very satisfied with this scanner. My only recommendation would be a little bit more user friendly scanning driver.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like

By Joyce from Salt Lake City on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like my new Epson scanner. Only complaint is I wish it had of come with printed directions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Same problems for years

By Mattz from Cinci, oh on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You don't have many options for both 35 mm and 120. When researching this it seems the negative carriers and the software have been complained about for years-- especially the neg carriers --- and Epson hasn't improved them so many people buy 3rd party carriers. I'll be doing that soon too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good scanner!

By Design Pro from Menlo Park, CA on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was scanning images for a book on a little Epson all-in-one. I decided to upgrade to this scanner and there was a visible difference in the scans: richer color and sharper. So I rescanned all the images. I have not yet tried the transparency adapter. Even if you leave it on, you have to wait for it to warm up. And you cannot have photos at the edge because it crops off part of it, and I wish it had a larger scan bed, but for the price it is a good scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson V700 Photo Scanner

By Rod from St. Louis, MO on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have found the V700 scanner to be an excellent product for my needs. I have scanned slides from 50 years ago and converted to videos with excellent results. My family has enjoyed watching them. I many more to scan in my spare time. I am pleased with the time it takes to scan 12 slides. However, any improvement in that area without increase cost would be great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slides, SLIDES, S-L-I-D-E-S!!!

By AMG from Los Angeles, Calif. on 07/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just did 160 slides at 1600 dpi in Epson Professional and it all went well. Perfect exposure, perfect cropping, perfect saves. The slide holder works great for me. It is light but not all that fragile. I recommend the Epson software. As always the SilverFast stuff was not user friendly. But it makes excellent scans at very high res and has great depth - 4.0Dmax.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dead on Arrival

By GA from California on 06/20/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Scanner powers up. Communication cannot be established with the computer. Replacement is on its way. We'll see how well the replacement will perform.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 Scanner

By Techbum from Georgia on 06/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great scanner! Used it to scan hundreds of slides and negatives. No problems and excellent quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Perfection V700

By quepsi83 from Atlanta, ga on 06/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I (still) shoot MF and LF (4x5) film. "Yep! I do" This V700 allows me to extract the highest level of detail from my negatives and transparencies. The lens system is reliable and after a few inital scans, I have (and you can) settle down to expect a level of no-compromise scanning from well-exposed negatives and slides. The film's D-MAX and the scanner's ability to 'pull' detail is exceptional. The film holders - with adjustable heights - really hold the film as flat as possible... thus enhancing the final scan quality. I also shoot digital captures. But, I find that the 'film noir' artifacts I retain from a GREAT Epson Perfection scan - plus - the incredibly large image size has me shooting digital less. The native scanner software is adequate for producing a wonderful image. But, a V700 user also has additional software options. My post-processing has been reduced significantly since I started scanning with the V700.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson V700

By myersb123 from Greensburg, PA on 05/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used my Epson 700 for over a year with great results. I have scanned slides, negatives, prints and documents. I have received consistent results for all my scanning needs. I would recommend the Epson V700 to anyone who needs to make quality documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner

By Old Guy from New YOrk on 05/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this scanner for 8 x 10 inch negatives, color prints and sewing fabric samples that my wife uses for teaching haut culture classes. Wonderful and easy scanner to use. PERFECT quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why NOT to buy an Epson V700

By Bob from Houston, Texas on 05/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was looking for the latest state of the art, highest quality scanning technology on the market today and was willing to pay for it. I thought that I found it when I found the Epson V700. Instead I get a scanner that looks, acts and feels like a similar scanner that I used to have back in the late '90s. This Epson V700 came with old Windows software that gave me nothing but problems installing in Windows7 and didn't work as well when it finally did install as the '90s scanner did that I had before. The free open source scanner software in Linux (XSane) works far better than Epson's Windows software that came with the scanner that I paid big bucks for. Only improvement was an increase in optical scan resolutions of the final scan. But there is much more to a great scan than just higher resolutions. Scans that were NOT high resolution took forever for a small area because of the slow USB2 (TWO) bus. Should be USB3 or faster bus. I dread doing a full sized high resolution document. Also, the guides on the top don't even line up with the scan zone, cutting off maybe a quarter of an inch from the document's edges when placed flat on the glass against the edge guide. To get a proper scan I have to move the document away from all edge guides which makes it impossible to get an image that is not at least a little off square and needs rotating in software afterwards to get it to look right. That is very time consuming to do very many documents that I need to scan. My recommendation is that Epson needs to dump the antiquated design of the V700 and come up with something with a faster bus that works well with today's high tech computers. Epson might consider writing better Linux software for their scanners. What little Linux Software Epson does provide (with difficulty finding only online on their web-site) is poorly done and worse than their Windows software provided with the scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow!

By Porkingham from Colorado on 04/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Upon seeing the 1st 35mm slide shot in 1958 up on the screen at about 11 x 14" I flipped. Then as time went on i got a little pickier. They are not quite as sharp as I had hoped. Some of the mts. are raized up a bit at one end, possibly affecting focus. Tried taping but nothing changes. I don't know hoe much leeway there is. I am confident the 2 1/4 color negs will scan well. Used the Epson built in software and works fine...noo problems. Correct with Photo shop 5.5. Was not aware of interior lid lock so had to resolve the rattling noise with ok FAQ answer. My error.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 Scanner

By Gildersleeve from Houston, Texas on 04/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

On numerous occasions over the last 4-5 years, I have been asked to restore old family photographs for friends. The two things made that possible were photoshop and my Epson V700 scanner. Easy, intuitive and the best quality scanner on the market for the price. I have always gotten the highest photo quality prints from a Epson printers, not so much on the other brands. So, when it became appearant that I would soon be in the market for a true photo quality scanner, I checked into the "other" brands, but I purchased the Epson V700! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellant scannr

By Phil from Orem, Utah on 04/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have appreciated the ease with which I have been able to scan the images I have been scanning with the Epson Perfection V700. So far it has been less "glitchy" and temperamental than my previous scanner and has allowed me to use the automatic scan mode with most 35mm slides I have been scanning. The other modes have also been good to use when it was required. I am a retired professional photojournalist who worked for a couple of newspapers for over 20 years and also worked as a studio and location photographer for a major Utah corporation which produced international publications. I began my interest in photography in the late 1940's as a cub scout and have tens of thousands of personal images in black and white as well as color negatives and slides, all in a number of formats, including 4x5, 120 (and 620), 35mm, 127, etc.., and I appreciate the relative ease with which I am able to make the scans that I desire. I'm in the process of trying to digitize what I have to preserve and organize these images. I have been very pleasantly surprised at how well the V700 scanner has allowed me to accomplish this with reasonable speed and quality of the results. I am still shooting with film but realize some day I will have to go fully digital. But until then, I will continue to need and use this very capable scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Scanner

By Pop Toasty from Seattle, WA on 04/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used this scanner for both documents and film of different format sizes and love the output. The only possible drawback is that I cannot print directly from the scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson V700 Photo Scanner

By David from Rockvile, MD on 04/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a couple thousand old slides I wanted to capture digitally. In my research, I read many good reviews about the Epson V700 scanner, so I bought one. The project is now done, and by my experience all the good reviews are justified. If I had to do it all over again, I'd do it the same way. The scanner gave me control, and it saved me time and money. Scanning in slides is a tedious chore, but once you get the hang of it, it's a no-brainer. I sat at the computer listening to my favorite music, downloading pictures. Not a bad way to spend a few hours a week. Now I'm capturing old family photos from as early as the 1930s and they come out great. Some of the photos have degraded considerably, but the scanner gives a good degree of control, so some of them come out better than the actual photo. For a major makeover, you will probably need a full-blown Photoshop type program, but that is beyond what I want. If my progeny want to fix them up later, now they can. Oh, I chose not to use the ICE feature. It does clean up the image in some respects, but to my eye, it fuzzes up the edges. Not a good trade-off for me. For some it might be. Anyway, good purchase. All the pictures came out better than I thought they would when I bought the scanner. Exceeded expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700

By paball from Seattle, WA & Whitefish, MT on 04/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This jewell has served me for several years, and is indispensable. I have scanned numerous old prints and can depend upon excellent results. It's slide and film scans make a device dedicated to this purpose superfluous unless one is aiming at very expensive drum scans and the like. And of course for low volume everyday scanning and copying it is just fine. A dependable superior product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I considered many film ...

By monte from Reston, VA on 03/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I considered many film and slide scanners. Some which were very highly rated are no longer supported by their manufacturers. In the end the Epson V700 proved to be an excellent film and slide scanner with the added benefit of being a flat bed scanner as well. VueScan is the software I use with this scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Scanner for 35mm and prints

By RogersHSV from Northern AL, USA on 03/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had this for about 9 months and have put about 1000 35mm images through mostly at 3200 dpi. Overall I'm pleased with the results and ease of scanning. The thumbnail scans don't get all of the frame, so I've been marque'ing each frame manually a bit oversize and cropping later in Photoshop. Also have to watch for Kodachrome so I don't waste time on Digital ICE for those scans. ICE is great for cleaning up Ektachrome, but it does add to the time needed per scan - a full tray of 12 at 3200 dpi will run about an hour, but it's worth the time to avoid manual spot cleaning later. This was a bit expensive compared to some other options, but has been worth it for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

quality is not acceptable

By Rende from NJ on 03/28/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I own this machine for 3 years and only used it under hundreds times. I didn't find it's scanning quality much better than your necessary but the mechanical problem were really bather me. Even reality was not matching cheaper regular scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love It

By Russ from Frisco, TX on 03/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had several scanners over the years and I must say that the V700 is the best. It not only does images of photos excellently but also of documents without touchup on either. It's like looking at the picture!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner

By Doc Maker from Wichita, KS on 03/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've had this scanner for about 6 months now and this is the best scanner we have had to date. Simple to use and does a fantastic job. We scan color positive film, B&W and color negative film and prints with extremely high quality results. Color balances positives easily and accurately with the color dropper tool, in fact the scanned images are actually often better than the original images as it restores their original splendor when operated correctly. We actually use this scanner to scan museum quality negs and transparencies. This scanner scans everything from 35mm slide film to 8x10 negatives and positives with no problems. Our first job we used this scanner on paid for the entire scanner. We compared other models and brands and selected The Epson Perfection V700 Photo Scanner and could not be happier. Has been worth every penny.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Scanner for the price

By BillK from Washington, DC area on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been able to scan all my film sizes (up to 8x10") with this one machine and the quality is very good to excellent. It took a little experimentation to get it all right with the file size/quality that I was looking for, but the time spent paid off big time and I'm comfortable making the scan the archive copy and reducing some of the material in my film archive. I had a problem with the top part of the unit and Epson replaced it without problem and I've had no problems since - great customer service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice scanner

By jim from grayling, mi on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For a non-technogeek the scanner is easy to use with the software providing the boxes to fill in. I have scanned color and b&w negatives as well as prints and magazine pages. The only major problem I have encountered is when I scanned a b&w negative that had black borders (clear in negative) the scanner did not read the entire image. Evidently it thought the clear edges were not part of the image even though it was inside the margins. I had to put small pieces of tape in the margins of the negative for the scanner to "see". I really like this scanner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 photo scanner review

By eav from Michigan on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used the V700 on slides, B&W film, color film and color prints. Have not been able to remove dust and scratches from film. Don't know why. The dust removal settings don't seem to make much difference in the output. I already have Photoshop Elements, so the included software was redundant. Manual not very clear. I would give it about a three star.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent flatbed scanner

By Avram from Atlanta, IN on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this beast for some time now and it has performed beautifully. I do not scan 35mm on it as I have a dedicated scanner for that but medium & large format scans have been very useful. The software works and I like it better than Silverfast which came with the film scanner. About the only complaint which is exceedingly minor is that placing anything next to the right side, just a bit is cut off. If that part is critical, I just put the image in the middle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good scanner

By Bill from Baltimore, MD on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner has been excellent for scanning my 4x5 and medium format negatives. It gives me a range of adjustments that lets me get the most out of my scans. Document scans are also a snap. I do find that the updated Silverfast software that was packaged wih the scanner is better than the Epson software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 Scanner

By Mad Dog from Oakland, CA on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the V700 scanner now for over 6 months. I have scanned 1060 slides (just counting the ones I've kept) and several other documents. The scanner has been excellent. I was originally concerned about not being able to load a stack of slides, but the 12 slides at a time works very well: I load a frame and start the scan, then load two more frames while I wait for the scanner to finish. Then I start the next batch while I view and label all the slides from the first batch. Then repeat. Timing is almost perfect. The big problem I had was to locate a company that supplied the additional slide holders, but I found several, and at reasonable cost. Since it will scan virtually anything (including books) I was also able to get rid of my fax machine. I virtually never receive any faxes now, and the only sending was done by neighbors. Now if I need to send a copy I just scan it and make a pdf file for e-mail.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Perfection V700 Photo Scanner

By 35mm from Ravenna, Ohio on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this photo scanner to scan in a few thousand 35 mm slides. The scanner worked flawlessly!! The SILVERFAST software that came with the scanner was very disappointing. I used the EPSON scan software and was very satisfied with it. The scanner slide holders were very well designed and worked great. The EPSON scanner software knew whether I had one or twelve slides. A great feature. I then used the supplied ADOBE Photoshop Element nine to enhance the slides. Very happy with the scanner. Would highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner

By Susan from Toledo, OH on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this scanner. The quality of scanned negatives and reflective pieces is very good. The only reason why I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because within a week of using the negative holder one of the tabs broke off without much force at all. That was very disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great and dependable scanner

By Anonymous from West Virginia on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After scanning over 32,000 negatives, my first V700 is still going strong. So much so, that I just bought a second one for the day when the first scanner eventually does wear out. This is a dependable and consistent scanner. I give nothing but high marks in every department to the V700 as a negative scanner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Perfection V700 Photo Scanner

By craigo from Agoura Hills, CA on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had positive experiences with the quality of the scans I've achieved with this scanner. I am NOT a computer whiz and so some of the settings were initially difficult for me to understand, but the point is that I finally did understand most of them. You're given many options how to store the file, as far as formatting and degree of resolution. Results are superb and enable very high level of photo restoration when used in conjunction with software like Photoshop, e.g., or direct printing. My only criticism is that the photo holders (for film-based materials like transparencies, or negatives) could stand to be a bit more robust. The plastic parts fractured in a couple of minor-but-pesky instances, with use. Otherwise, the scanner itself is very sturdy, with just one simple push-button to activate it, and software to control its settings on your computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent results

By sonofepson from Rockland, MA on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A fine scanner for most film sizes and types. Using the supplied software or Silverfast software the results are excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works OK

By Alan from MANCHESTER, NH on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The installation went without a hitch. Photo quality is good. I'm not sure if the focus is automatic or not. Some images seem out of focus


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Scanner

By Anonymous from Cheyenne, WY on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Being a student photographer and learning Photoshop I have found the V700 to be one of the most important additions to my digital darkroom. The scans are crystal clear and fast, and the V700 is very easy to use. You can't go wrong with this scanner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 Does everything-almost

By Anonymous from Ogden, UT on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this scanner for several years. The main reason I purchased it was to scan my 35mm slides and family photos-to digitize all of them. It took me over a year, but the slide holders and software made it less than difficult. I have also scanned tons of family records into various formats, mainly jepg and pdf. The newer software, which I have downloaded over the past few years, is much more user friendly. If this was to burn out tomorrow I would replace it with the same model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Scanner

By MITP from Malibu, California on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this scanner for many years. Always reliable, easy to use, and so very useful not only for scanning documents but also for photos. I would not replace it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700

By Dang from Cody,Wy on 03/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This scanner has been a great investment. It does flat reflective images great and the transparency adapter work very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mac Lion Issues with Software

By Funk from Phoenix, AZ on 03/08/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I immediately found problems with Silverfast and Adobe Elements on my MacBook Pro. Adobe's customer service is completely inadequate. Silverfast says I need to delete the program and pull something down from the internet. I'm not sure why I need to use the program, anyway. The literature did not make that clear at all. This is not up to the Epson standards I've come to expect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no pdf!!!

By eddie from Philadelphia on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The V700 seems to be a nice piece of hardware and the software allows for good quality scans to image files, but it will absolutely not produce a pdf. It will scan a document, a note appears reminding me that producing a searchable PDF require higher resolution, but when you dismiss the note the Epson Scan program closes. I've searched for a newly created pdf file, but it doesn't exist. The File Save Settings the user manual promises never appears.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

iMac and V700

By iEdgar from London, UK on 11/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its been a year since I upgraded to an iMac from a PC and my old V700 works really well. I'm using Epson's 3.81US driver. As I recall there was some confusion about which driver to use but it became clear after a bit of research and a few false starts. Well worth the effort.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

software that comes with v700

By horse from San Diego CA on 10/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I didn't think you would like my review. But I have to buy some software to make it work. After all the money I spent on the scanner and the software won't work on my IMAC is disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product Except...

By gmsnow from Undisclosed on 10/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The scanner itself is a marvelous product and will serve me well. I am NOT happy about the software that was bundled with it. The Adobe Photoshop Elements does not work on my Windows7 machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfection V700 - out of date out of the box

By Lumin from Brisbane Australia on 10/10/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have recently purchased the Perfection V700. I told the salesman I was a Mac user and was told everything will be fine. I have been busy, so tonight I finally opened the box and there is flyer for Mac 10.7+ users - go to this support website, which I duly did. The downloads on offer for 10.8 are and I quote: "Sorry there are no matching downloads for the Epsom Perfection V700 Photo". Boy am I annoyed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic - V700

By scosro from Santa Rosa, CA on 08/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have recveived the V700 only 3 days ago and have already scanned over 100 4"x5" glass plate negatives (made positives on scanner & printed) and several more 4.5"x6" glass plate negatives (made positives on scanner & printed) - easy to use and setup. Thank you Epson!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

new user

By Anonymous from Port Huron Mich .area on 08/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

opened box inspected. No usb cable hadto use one from ext dr.. temp info vauge we have windows 7/64 and photoshop CS5 loaded. system keeps refering to web for update. will have to study all info sent to become familiar with Epson machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Advanced Scanner, but...

By Anonymous from USA on 07/09/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

With over a couple hundred slides and color pictures, I now can appreciate a bit more the performance of this scanner. Slowly but surely, I am digitalizing 25 years + imagery. The only thing missing for me is 1. an adjustable plastic bracket to better work with no longer standard pictures, and 2. a paper instruction booklet vs the online versus which is time consuming. Still happy with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product. 15.000 ...

By MiSt from Patra, Greece on 05/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent product. 15.000 photos from films and slides scaned with ease and accuracy. If you have a big stock of photos dont worry. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dependable peripheral!

By R.A.W.1 from Prescott, AZ on 02/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using my old EpsonExpress 636 (SCSI), for over 10 years now, and its still working perfectly well! But, after getting a new iMac, I decided that a new scanner was needed (got tired of transferring files, via a memory stick, to the new iMac). The V 700 scanner is really great peripheral (USB rather than SCSI)! It's faster but still as dependable as the older scanner. I primarily import scans via Photoshop CS5 but the SilverFast 8 software is almost as comprehensive as Photoshop for inhancing photo images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner with dust trapped under glass

By Greg from Undisclosed on 02/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought five of these scanners two years ago, and every model had a lot of dust trapped under the glass at the time of purchase. I exchanged most of them, but even the exchanged models still had a few large pieces of dust stuck under the glass with no way to remove them. Perhaps these were specs of glue from the assembly process. Apart from having to remove specs with Photoshop, it is an excellent scanner, although built-in dust is beyond disappointing. And with every Epson scanner I've purchased over the years, with very little use, scanning the white backing always produces darkening at the top few inches. I've addressed this with techs before and they always assure me that the darkening isn't typical. I've experienced this with every v700 I own and with older models from Epson on a variety of Macs. I hope the quality control has improved, because I'm about to buy more, lacking a better choice. The specs are great and Epson is a great company, but it not perfect if you have an eye for detail.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

From 3170 to V700

By Sparky from Tampa, Fl on 01/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had the Epson 3170 for a few years now and have never had a problem or a complaint. Were it not for the limits on scanning negatives I wouldn't need the V700. For issues of technology I don't fully comprehend, negative scanners have until recently been expensive. My father a portrait photographer in an early part of his life left behind a lot of negatives many of which are larger than medium format. With the 3170 I got good service in photos but limited service because of cropped negatives. The 3170 had no frame for 35mm slides either and I had to wing it there. With the V700 I have frames for 35mm film, 35mm slides, medium format negatives, 4"x 5" negatives. Larger negatives are laid out on the scanner up to 8x10. The software of the V700 isn't much of a change from the 3170 so you don't have to figure out a new system. I use it in conjunction with Photoshop 7. The trial Photoshop 9 bundled doesn't show me much more than than the 7. Then again I'm not the brightest bulb on the Photoshop tree. The V700 does photos as well as photo transparencies/negatives. I moved up to the V700 for that reason and I'm quite happy. My 3170 will produce as good an image within it's dimensions. But if you have 6x8 negatives, or bigger you're gonna need this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scanner Review

By galen from Houston Texas on 12/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love it! Worked right out of the box with no instructions:-) Actually, I loaded the software, hooked up the machine according to the giant set of instructions, scanned prints and slides with ease and was up and running production in less than an hour. Buy it. Great product. galen


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Review of the Epson V700 photo scanner

By happywithepson from Sacramento, CA on 11/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this scanner for a couple of months now, and I'm extremely happy with it. I was able to update the software that came with the package with no problems whatsoever. I am majoring in Photography at the local college, and my photography classes use the Epson V700 in lab. I highly recommend it! I am able to scan old family photos for restoration purposes and I am also able to scan flat antique and vintage glass negatives as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no good scanning- copy software

By dave from Flint, michigan on 07/24/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this is a good scanner if xp-vista is your op system, but window 7 has a lousy scanner driver update. Please tell me when the better driver comes out like what came with the printer cpd-21126R3 (disk vol. 1.3AF


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner

By storyshelly from Northeastern, Ohio on 06/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the scanner for over a year now and it has become one of my right hand tools for photo imagery. I restore tons of black and whites along with color and more often than not it pulls through for me before the photos are go to photoshop for finishing. That saying, the scanner is a learn as you go scanner. I wish it had a scanner for dummies style book since there may be tricks I might be missing out on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner, bad software

By Lyndon from La Mirada, CA on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this scanner a few times for scanning black & white prints. The scanner is really fast! However the stock scanning software that comes with the scanner is poor. When I scan a grey scale image, the scan is posterized (pure black and pure white; no grey mid-tones) I recommend using the SilverFast SE software that also comes with the scanner; much better! In fact I recommend upgrading and getting the SilverFast Ai for even more control over photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK for medium format film

By Pedro from Mexico on 02/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the V700 for a year and a half. It is a good scanner, but there is a strong difference between a dedicated film scanner and this one. It is critical that film is completely flat. Older holders, such as the 3200 Photo scanner were better than these ones. I have scanned more than 1500 medium format negatives. Files are huge, at 1,3 gig, and they are easy to post process. The original software is excellent and after some twinking you can have WYSIWYG scans. It is good, but I would love to have one of those Hasselblad 8000 dpi scanners. The price relation is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By jandak from Toronto, ON on 02/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this scanner to scan medium and large format negatives and slides it's great value, quality of images is better than good operational is great. Film holders for 35mm is not very well done !!! However I strongly recommend this product :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased

By Doug F from Dallas on 02/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far so good. Just got it a week ago. Have not figured out how to do anything yet other than fully automatic scanning of slides. I love being able to scan 12 slides at a time. I have even ordered a couple of extra slide trays so that I can re-load while another batch is scanning. I will eventually lean how to manually scan individual slides to gain the highest quality. However, my initial observation is that it is a wonderful tool. Regards, Doug


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solution to a long standing problem

By Mike from Nova Scotia on 12/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Epson Perfection V700 Photo scanner was purchased after several months of research into available scanners on today's market. I needed a scanner that was versatile, fast, efficient and accurate with no nonsense. It's middle of the price range, multiple scanning formats, and high resolution, have given me a versatile, fast, efficient and accurate scanning solution. Take it from someone who spends at least 2 - 5 hours a day scanning everything from survey maps to old baby pictures, it's the real deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

V700 Scanner

By AL329 from Princeton, NJ on 10/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A good scanner; stable, reliable, consistent, and capable of excellent scans. I have used it for the past year for scanning photos only and will start scanning negatives in the next few months. Only the SilverFast SE that came bundled with the scanner needs to be upgraded; the other programs were fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Image reclaimation project

By Ergonomist from Stamford, CT on 10/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was purchased to salvage and preserve a huge collection of old and faded slides. Now that I have been using it for four months I can say that I'm extremely satisfied. The included software restored the color on hundreds of unviewable old Eastman 5247 slides with a single click; saving me hours of editing. It perfomed even better with conventional chromes and I have yet to encounter a negative it couldn't handle. For use with damaged prints, Digital ICE is a necessity which is slower and resource-intensive, but it works! My only complaint is that the retainer frames on the negative carriers could be a little more robust, getting them to snap into place can be a little dicey. Over all, this does everything I've asked it to do with great results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderul

By Grandma1 from Los Angeles, CA on 09/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for a SCANNER only....and it is wonderful. Easy to install (I am a Senior Citizen) & I get good results. I have yet to try it as a printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

initial thoughts

By studio6 from York, PA on 08/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using home type scanners for years, and have not kept up with the changes. Recently, I purchased the V700 because of the lens specs and for "Digital Ice". I have never actually scanned 35mm slides before, so this initial experience was a surprise. The color and detail is much better than expected, and several scans looks like they were shot with a digital camera yesterday. The main reason for this purchase was the Digital Ice dust and scratch removal features. Since this occurs during the scan, but also slows it down, it saves lots of time going in with filters and the clone tool for clean up. The "Silverfast SE" software actually does improve on the built in features and makes the scans even better. Especially because of the cropping done by the built in Epson scan software. Overall, I give this scanner very high marks for producing high quality scans and tools to make the work flow easier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast & Versitle

By Bill47 from Virginia Beach, VA on 07/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The V700 Scanner has met all or exceeded expectations. Scanning at 800 dpi results in only about a minute per 8mm slide or negative. And the resulting images are of excellent quality. The system has great versatility - scanning negatives, slides, photos, documents & anything else that can be put on a 8.5" x 11" scanner bed. Two minor criticisms: 1) The masking device to show the limits of the scanning area is flimsy, and won't stay put while positioning photos. 2) Sometimes when the slide or negative holders are used the software will crop the image in unwanted ways. This generally happens when there is a dark background - perhaps only about 1% of the time. It can be worked around by removing the film from the holder and setting the scan area manually. All in all the scanner has worked very well for me. I have scanner 2,500 images since I got mine a couple months ago.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

widelux scanning

By bowler from N. BABYLON, N.Y. on 10/05/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for someone to print my panoramic 35mm widelux negs & slides. I had someone that could print them, but they went out of business. After searching for years I purchased a printer that could scan 35mm negs, only to find out that it chopped off about a 3rd of my picture. The Epson V700 Scanner does a GREAT JOB!! In home or professional mode all you have to do is unclick thumbnail, then crop each neg.THANK YOU EPSON!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

one of my better purchases this year

By MidwestEditor from downstate Illinois on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The V700 is a drastic improvement over the scanner from a competitor that I had been using. The main reason I bought it was to be able to scan 12 slides at a time instead of the 3 I was limited to on the other scanner. The scans are nice and sharp, the scans are reasonably quick and the software is (generally) useful, although it does have a few quirks. I've found that sometimes the scanner will hang when scanning 8x10 photos in the fully automatic mode. I've learned to go into one of the other modes and manually enter a scan area and then everything's fine. Also in the fully automatic mode, there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to how the software determines which photo to scan first if you have multiple photos on the scan bed at the same time. Sometimes the first photo is the one at the top left of the scan bed, sometimes its the one at top right. If #1 was top right, sometimes #2 is top left, sometimes it's bottom right. If you have a bunch of photos which have to be scanned in order this can be something of a problem. In summary, the quality of the scans is very good, the speed is good and the software is generally good if you can get around a few little quirks. The ability to scan 12 slides at a time is very handy if you have to scan lots of slides. The software is the only reason I would give this a rating of 4 instead of 5.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved