Home » Computers » Printers » Laser & Inkjet Printers » C11C655001 » 137 Reviews

Epson C11c655001 Stylus Photo 1400 Printer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 137 reviews)

88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Large Format Printer

By printshop from Pennsylvania on 10/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer because I needed a printer that could print over 8.5 x 14" paper. Finding a printer that would do this and also produce a quality product are hard to find. Found this one that prints over 11 x 17" which is a benefit as I work from home on graphic projects that require larger size paper. A benefit was that it did not cost a fortune. I love the quality and ease of use of this printer and would purchase again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Photo Prints

By Beau from Dallas, Texas on 09/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really like the great photo prints, especially borderless, on large format paper. Also have found the CD print feature to be a real plus. I was at first a bit disappointed with the speed when printing business letters, but the overall print quality compensates. Mechanically this is a quality printer. My old Brand X printer never learned how to feed just one sheet of paper. My Photo 1400 is 2 years old and is used every day in my publishing business. It has never given any mechanical problems. Great product. Does what they advertise. Has never let me down. Cant ask for much more that that !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best of the Best

By Samuel from Garden State, New Jersey on 09/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer, Epson Stylus 1400 is worth of the money and it prints great photo, pictures and fast. I give 5 STARS


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ink Life

By Nana from Pflugerville, TX on 09/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love that I was able to print out 10X13 family photo's of my children however, the ink did not last and now have to wait to print any further because the ink prices are too high. I will have to wait until payday to purchase anymore ink. Other than this issue, the printer works great pictures. Thank you, Diana


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By panama-mom from Tulsa, OK on 08/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this machine for 8 months and I love it. Like my other Epson it is a workhorse. Great depth of color, responsive to the software-printer connection. Haven't tried an enlargement yet but I'm very happy with the pictures I print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Paper, Disks, Stable & Reliable

By Print-for-me from Midlothian, Maryland on 07/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the printer too! I need the large paper for photos and mechanical drawings. The 13x19 framed photos impress your friends and relatives (well mine anyway), it will do justice for your photos. I burn my own CD's DVD's and the printable label disks come out amazing, no more ugly marker pen scribbles. The price is affordable too! I have four Epson printers now, and have given up on other brands. The printers print, are stable, and Epson so far continues to support the printers with software updates. I hate loosing a printer because the software becomes outdated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Impressed

By Max from Cape Coral, Florida on 07/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been the proud owner of a Epson Stylus 1400 printer for at least 2 years; liked it so much that I bought my 2nd one recently after the first one was used up I print a lot, especially 13 x 19 and love the quality that this printer gives me with 6 color cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A PLESENT SURPRIZE

By harv from Clarkdale, AZ on 06/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WHAT A WONDERFUL PRINTER. IT PRINTS ACCCURATE COLORS. THEE IMAGES ARE CRISP AND SHARP...WELL WORTH THE MONEY


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love this Epson

By march from Polson, MT on 06/19/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this machine for several years, the photos are of high quality, even print on fabric. Epson knows what they are doing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Support System

By specialprintsguy from Terre Haute, IN on 06/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer performed perfectly for six months at which point the yellow ink system failed. Epson support was very good about this matter. There was no waiting for a technician and this person handled the matter in one phone call, going through the tests and determining that there was a serious problem, initiated the shipment of a replacement unit and on receipt I return the failed item. So much better than most tech support I have dealt with in the past.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

seems like a great printer

By Anonymous from Cape Coral, Florida on 06/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife gave this printer to me for Christmas 2009 and its been in the box until last week. I set it up which was easy and began printing. The print quality is great, it's fast and to my suprise the ink is still fine. I also have a epson scanner a V500 which I have used extensively for about 3 years. Epson makes high quailty products. I would recommed them to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great prints, less than great construction

By InHouse from Brooklyn, NY on 05/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this printer for six years now (I'm currently on my 2nd one) for printing large volumes of 8x10 and 11x14 look book prints for work. The quality and color in the images is absolutely amazing. But the one thing that consistently has me ripping my hair out is how poorly the machine physically functions. The paper feed mechanism is ATROCIOUS if you need to output a high number of consecutive pages. If you are looking for a machine that you can "set and forget" to print a job while you leave the house, good luck to you. The printer will misfeed and stop the print job almost every other page. Sometimes I keep refeeding the pages over and over and they still keep being misfed and spit out the front of the machine blank. I actually punched one of these printers once because of this. Repeatedly. (The machine is at least sturdy and takes a beating without breaking.) The reason we purchased an identical brand new one is because the misfeeds became so frequent it was unbearable, and the cost to find and have someone fix the machine was more than what a new one costs. To summarize: great for small run, infrequent photo printing or DIY printing/craft projects, HORRBILE for larger volume (30+ page) printing jobs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer with a bonus

By DeaconMichael from Baltimore MD on 04/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Two or three years ago I ordered this printer only for printing 11x17 posters and this printer has done a fantastic job of this. I have made several hundred posters with this printer and one of them was out in the elements for almost a year. But this printer also came with a bonus which ended up being my major use for it: printing on CDs. Either feature is worth the price of the printer. If you are looking for a good, reliable printer for your posters and for your CDs, this is the printer to buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400 - A high quality printer

By Boo Graphics from Kelowna, BC Canada on 03/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Epson Stylus Photo 1400 printer about three weeks ago and have use it to print my photographs and graphic design projects. I photograph using film and digital cameras. Allowing the printer to manage colors gives me the truest results. I tried using Photoshop but found the printer managed better. My graphic design work is done in Photoshop, Corel Painter, and Illustrator. I find the flexibility in paper sizes you may print with the 1400 very appealling. Even more appealling is the high quality contruction of the printer itself. The 1400 is an affordable printer which is sturdy, reliable, and built more like an intermediate-pro printer. To top things off, the Claria ink dries fast, is resistant to dampness and scratching, lasts a tremendous amount of time and is reasonably priced. The Epson Stylus Photo 1400 is a printer I recommend to people who want to upgrade or replace a printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great printer for the money.

By bones2bones from Los Angeles on 03/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this printer for several years now and it has given me great service. Some say the ink cost to much , but if it's QUALITY you want then buy this PRINTER. Hands down the best for the MONEY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

owning and running a ...

By Dyno340 from Newport News,Va. on 03/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

owning and running a print service has been rewarding and at the center of it is my 1400. I first got it as a back-up and it became my primary printer as soon as I saw the quality of the prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

epson stylus photo 1400 inkjet printer

By Sandy from San Francisco on 03/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's the best printer I've ever had!! It's so convienent to print at home and the best thing is it can print up to 13 " by 19" paper on this printer. I've this printer for more than 2 years and it's still in a excellent condition. It is trustable and color turns out accurate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not so good

By danlb from Bolingbrook, IL on 03/09/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer is not for the designer. I rely on good quality comps to further my in-house design work. My old 1520 was great for that. But Epson did not produce a driver for Mac OS X, so I had to junk the 1520 and find a new wide-format to take its place. The Stylus Photo 1400 came the closest for the price, but immediately I noticed the blacks were no longer true neutrals but infused with cyan ink. Rendition of color images is only fair. Text OK. Also, the inks are way too expensive for the size/duration of the cartridges. I am replacing this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylus Photo 1400

By Frankie from Pensacola, FL on 03/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 1400 replaced the Photo Stylus 960 which is still in use at the Museum that I volunteer time. They are both used strictly to print Titled/Pictures on DVD's. and CD's. The Epson Print CD Software is easily used and together with the printer they delivered excellent results. I wouldn't have any other Maker or Printer at this time. Thoroughly Satisfied. I also strictly use the Epson INK.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

in troubles with MAC OS-X Lion

By PDP from Rome, Italy on 02/18/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was a very very good printer, we were really amazing of it's performances, and of the color quality. BUT, when we move to OS-X Lion, everything disappeared (the printer too!). There is no printer driver for this OS and the printer is not currently supported. As it is really young (less than 1 year), we are really very very disappointed


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More than Happy

By Tim_F from Greenwood, IN on 01/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer is quick and easy to use. Setup was simple. I did have to down load the Windows & install pack, but that was not trouble. I have printed several 13"x19" and every customer is very impressed with the quality. Even the B/W's are very nice. I am more than happy, between this printer and my Epson R280 I do very little out of shop prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great intro into serious photo printing

By Nick Name from Evanston, IL on 01/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I consider myself an advanced amateur photographer and have spent a lot of time making traditional B&W prints from negatives. I'm calling myself a beginner with respect to my printing expertise because I've never worked with digital printing and only recently bought a digital SLR that captures 16 MP color images nice enough that I wanted to print them REALLY BIG. I chose the Epson Color Photo 1400 because it seemed like the cheapest and most sensible entry into dedicated photo printers that could go at least to 11x14 inches and give me creative control over the final product. Since it arrived four days ago, I've had the opportunity to print maybe 10-15 4x6 prints and two 11x14's. The quality is astonishing compared to what I'm used to (i.e. uploading to a website and picking up at the drug store photo counter). I'm printing directly from Photoshop and turning off the printer's color handling (I think). In any case, the colors are perfectly faithful to my Macbook computer screen and since the print resolution is higher than the screen, the print detail looks much better. I don't know why I waited so long to buy a real photo printer. One thing that was clear when I pulled the printer out of the box was that it means business and demands a significant amount of table top space. It's very nice to look at though, and when all the trays and doors are collapsed it is sleek and solid. It is obvious that this is a tool for serious photography and not for tucking into the corner of a computer desk. All of the doors and trays are nice and solid and don't feel cheap like they will break if you pull a little too hard. Some of them have nice magnetic closures (think of the click in/out glass doors on an entertainment center). The operation is quiet, but I can't really compare it to similar products. What I can say is that my 8 month old son was asleep 5 feet away and didn't wake up as I was printing on both the fast and slow settings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is #2!

By barybull5 from Texas on 01/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own two of the Epson Photo Stylus 1400. I have had one for 3-4 years, using it for individual prints for groups. I thought the first had failed, so I ordered a second. Before that arrived, I discovered the cause of the failure---it was me! Old one still ticking right along. Newer one in storage just in case. It may be there for another few years. GREAT MACHINE!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Print Quality, But Repair????

By Al from Bronx, New York on 12/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer gives excellent output, but the main issue is that when it breaks down, I can't get local service companies to fix it. I have four broken ones in my garrage and love the printers so much that I don't want to get rid of them until I can get them fixed. I love the CD printing capability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400

By Anonymous from Grande Prairie,AB on 12/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very easy printer to program to your comp and is very easy to setup. I have only had it a few short hours and ran out of ink because I was enjoying my pics so much that I just kept printing them. Seriously folks it is a great printer to start with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Windows 7 and the 1400

By artist's artist from GTA Ontario on 12/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third 1400. I recently upgraded to Windows7 64bit. The printer printed but it was not the 1400 I had grown to love. I tried twice to install, again. And again. I finally reached a living breathing speaking Epsom tech support staff. She guided me properly through the install. The 1400 is working again, my tiny handmade fine art books, brochures and reproductions again look terrific. The inks are relatively expensive, but it all works out in the long run. Only use OEM cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3-year Experience

By Heritage from Oconto, Wisconsin on 11/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We just purchased our second Stylus Photo 1400 Inkjet printer. The old one lasted three years. However, by the end of two years, normal printing (black text) was impossible to read and required turning on photo printing - a high use of printer ink and long print times. We also had trouble with banding (vertical). The final straw was black ink that we could not clean out which left streaks on print outs. That aside, when working well, it is an excellent printer and does the type of photo printing that I need, as well as the manuscript printing we do here which includes a lot of graphics. I gave it four stars because it simply does not have a long enough shelf life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

stylus photo 1400

By dbsc from Irmo, South Carolina on 11/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the Epson Stylus Photo 1400 printer for 9 months and have printer over 500 photos. The speed and quality are grate, I have never had a jam or smudged print. This printer has performed above my expectations it is a pleasure to use, I recommended it to one of my friends who bought and he is also happy. Thank you, Epson for a fine printer. DB Irmo, SC


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

epson 1400

By nicksway1 from Maine on 09/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this to use with my screen printing business. This printer does an excellent job of printing fine details and excellent for printing half tones. I love it. Paul


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A 99% favorable review

By Sensha from Houston TX on 09/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like other Epson products, this is (at the root level) a great printer. Good color fidelity, smooth operation, multiple functions. It's of a piece with the other Epson printers that I have used (including two Photo R800s). However, there is a fly in the ointment, one that was not obvious from all of the information that I had read about the printer prior to the purchase. I went looking for a printer that could produce CD labels for my musical group's CDs. I had literally worn out the two 800s over several years of use for same. My graphics for the labels were rendered in Canvas, a high end Macintosh illustration program. Precisely aligned and wonderfully rendered onto the platters, they produced a flawless, Art Deco-themed disk that was cause for favorable comment by one and all. (They also printed up beautiful CD box inserts.) Not so the new printer. After going through the set up process, pulling off all the blue tape, and installing the cartridges, I fired up Canvas, eagar to print a test copy to compare to an older product from the 800 series printers. Unfortunately, the new printer wasn't buying it - all it did was sit there, gleaming on the dining room table. Bummer... It seems that any software wanting to print on CD has to send a special signal to the printer in order to activate the CD printing process. No special signal, no CD printing, period. No problem, I'll just turn to the included Print CD software and paste in the Canvas image. Nope. It accepted the image, but nothing that I could do would align the graphic with the CD template. And, in any event, the graphics did not retain the sharp resolution of the original program. So, it was time to recreate the whole label in the Print CD software. That's where I found that Print CD was capable of printing labels on CDs, but not the label that would equal the product of a "real" graphics program. First off, the interface was "PC clunky". Lots of dialog boxes, non-intuitive processes, and hidden options that were barely described in the documentation and help files. Not a fun thing for a Macintosh person. Second, while the software seemed to offer a lot of options, once the on-screen image was transfered onto the platter, the outcome was somewhat less than optimal. As an example, our CD has (or, should I really say "had") the group name printed around the circumference of the disk, this in an "Arts Decoratif" font called LucalTC TT. The spacing on the group's name was expanded by a couple of points, setting it off from the rest of the text. Print CD offers an expanded text option in its many menus and dialog boxes. But, applying it to the manually entered text in the program's dialog boxes resulted (in the printed product) with each word's initial capital letter being spaced too far from the rest of the text in the word. So, it was lose the expansion of the text. It made for a stilted end product, but at least it was properly spaced on the disk. When it was laid down on the disk, the final output from the Print CD program was about 75% as good as that obtained by using Canvas. Some flaws were minor (a slight rotational alignment error on one text element that I was never able to remove, try as I might), but the spacing issue was a real bummer. And, Print CD doesn't play well with the rest of the Macintosh world. Sure, it may be a PC program, but porting it over to the Macintosh without enabling Command-X for "Undo"? And, what's with the program shutting me out from using my Airport network while Print CD is in operation? When all was said and done, I managed to turn out an end product that was "good enough", in the eyes of my wife. But, I doubt that Print CD output would measure up to the standards of most commercial artists. With better CD printing functions and/or printing software, I would rate this printer at a 5 - it's a great printer with wide format abilities and CD printing utility. But, locking out real graphics software from printing the CD label is a real mistake. We bought it because we needed CD printing right now. Unfortunately, there was no way to determine this problem beforehand. Caveat emptor...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good ...

By Jane from Undisclosed on 09/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good printer1/41/4 this is the second one I bought. I print my art work everyday. Highly recommend.!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer

By Taj Photo from Nashville, Tn on 09/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had mine for a little over two years and I can truly say that my prints are excellent! The inks are a little pricey, but the last a relatively long time! I do mostly CD Printing and 5x7's, So ink consumption isn't too much of problem! Thanks Epson and will be upgrading soon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not so happy with this Epson 1400

By tinman2 from Oregon on 08/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

At first, the printer performed admirably, except for the fact that I find out the hard way that Epson only fills the initial ink cartridges half full. And, of course they run out of ink at different times, so you have to either keep a multi-cartridge replacement on hand, or drive to the computer supply store multiple times. When ink jets clog, and you can be sure they do, the only way of clearing them is to push lots of good ink through the jets of each color, whether that particular color is clogged - OR NOT! It won't just push ink through the one - or two that are clogged, it has to push ink through ALL! And, this ink is VERY expensive! If the ink doesn't clog, each cartridge seems to last a reasonable amount of time, but factor in it's ability to easily clog, you can go thru a new cartridge in no time. Also, if one ink runs out, the printer locks up! Even if you just need a black and white print. This printer becomes a boat anchor until that cartridge is replaced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Photo 1400

By Anonymous from Flint, Michigan on 08/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have been using this photo printer for a couple of years now, and it is the best. The prints are clear, bright and sharp. Love it.... I have been using it for personal use in printing copies of studio pictures for scrapbooking, and for friends doing their scrapbooks. Couldn't do without it...... I think that it prints better than the retail store prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Printer

By thetruth from NJ on 08/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent printer for printing large size (11x17 or larger) prints. Main drawback is the overpriced ink. I would recommend the printer but not the OEM ink. Epson will probably delet this, but who cares?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400

By Jack from Florida on 08/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the third 1400 that I have owned. I just wore out the other two. I produce two military newsletters a month. I would like to know how to get the rebate that was offered with this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Biger, better

By Burnsee from Long Island New York on 07/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was more than content with my Epson Stylus Photo R 200. When its service life expired, I vasalated between repair or replacement. Fortunately I made the right choice. The Photo 1400 does it all bigger and better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for the money

By SRPhoto from Sunriver, OR on 07/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had no issues with my new printer; the ink lasts longer than I expected and I haven't had any problems going a week between printing sessions. The only issue I have is that it prints VERY saturated colors; I've had to create a separate file of images which I've lightened and desaturated. I've made all of the possible adjustments on the print options. I have not callibrated my monitor, and that may solve the problem, but as long as I desaturate at this point, the images come out great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Multi-Purpose Printer Works Well for Music Scores

By Dino from Victoria, British Columbia, Canada on 07/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used my Epson Stylus Colour 1400 printer for the past 3 years for general printing as well as for a number of other special applications for which I initially chose this printer. The most useful feature to me has been that the printer has allowed me to print my music composition scores on an 11x17 paper size to fold into sheet music. Another feature I found useful is the direct print to CD, allowing me to print information and images directly to the CD on which I've recorded my music compostions. Finally, I find I like the image clarity and colour features for photos. One photo I took of a butterfly took Honourable Mention in our District's photo contest! All in all, I find the printer has great versitility and has met my needs well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First sub-standard Epson I've ever bought

By ancientwords from Downingtown, PA on 07/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

With great glee, I found this printer with a large rebate and was glad to go and purchase it. When I got it home, there was a warning not to use the enclosed disk because I am running the latest Apple OS. I spent at least an hour, with many dead ends, before I did what I was directed to do. My first print was very brown, and the second (13x19) was so washed out as to be unusable. I really don't know what the problem is--I own a 3800 Pro, which I had to leave on the west coast for my time here, and I have never had any issues with the 2000, the 2002, or with the 3800. I have always had spectacular prints from Epson products, but I'm afraid I am now the owner of a dog.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jets Clog

By carmenzd from Des Moines, IA on 07/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer worked well for awhile, then the jets started clogging. The only way to clear them is through the computer maintenance. I went through several cartridges, and still part of my blue will not print on the check. There is nothing I can do and my warranty expired 4 months ago. I'm going to try to clean them myself. I think there should be an easier way to clean, like in the old days with a swab and alcohol.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Weird process to replace a cartridge/color balance

By cj craig from Carmel, CA on 07/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer requires several steps to replace a cartridge. It does not show on the printer which cartridge is depleted, it requires that you look at your operating system. Very unusual and cumbersome. Also, my prints tend to run dark and I've had to make many adjustments to get the color right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice

By joe from kansas on 07/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

needed this for a series of small prints and it did the job better than i expected and alot cheaper than having them printed at a shop. so YES very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylus Photo 1400

By Mess from Kentucky on 07/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This will be my 2nd Epson Stylus Photo 1400 ,and I have owned several of the standard format printers and also scanners. This is by all measure the most appropriate for most users. The printer is very stable,prints beautifully, and as I orint about 300 labels and inserts each 6 months, I must have a very reliable printer. This is top of the choice menu. I will not use anything except OEM ink, as the refill,and refurb cartridges will cause poor quality over a short time, and will damage your printer. It is like using re-cycled oil in your Mercedes.. BAD !!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great expectations - perfect service thus far

By Robbi from Fredericksburg, Tx on 07/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm responding with a review in order to be as timely as Epson was for us. However, I have not yet been able to use the printer. I have every confidence that it will be the excellent printer that I have been told it should be. I will say that service and shipping were both excellent! Very fast delivery and the box arrived in good condition. If I had to have a small complaint, it is only that the enticing rebate is a bit of a hassle to complete, but that's not out of the norm for rebate programs. Looking forward to great productivity with a quality product. Thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wonderul quality and ...

By Anonymous from South Carolina on 05/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

wonderul quality and color. I find it slower than my former printer, especially draft copies. I haven't tried it on many surfaces yet, but works great on matte presentation paper. Ink is a bit pricey, but that can be expected with a quality print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

When I saw the price!

By Hmdot from Memphis,TN. on 05/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I saw the price I was on my way to buying this the other day, but then noticed that it was a mail in rebate. Never have had any luck with a mail in rebate, so I'm going shopping again and maybe just maybe they will make it an instant rebate in which I will grab this great printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400 Ink Jet Printer

By peterj from Hollywood, FL on 05/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Second one I'm buying. Used and abused my other one for many years. Prints on large card stock. I recommend it despite cost of ink cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1400 photo

By Bumsi from Southern Ca on 04/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have this printer for two years,my hard drive crashed, so I had to register again. Quality of the print is excellent, but what is very annoing about this printer is that it stops by itself,and you have to adjust the paper and start the printer again.You have to do that many times if you print many pages.Problem is that you cannot leave it alone and come back,you have to babysit the printer. Anna


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer but ink is expensive

By Tom from East Brunswick, NJ on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer to replace a 1280 that I had been using for many years. This seems to be a very good printer and the inks more vibrant than the 1280 inks. The main and perhaps only negative is that the ink seems to run out very quickly and at the exhorbitant prices that Epson charges this will be very costly. As a result I am investigating refilling my own cartridges and/or using a CIS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THis printer has met my ...

By Anonymous from Carson City, Nevada on 03/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THis printer has met my expectations so far. At this point I have only printed three photographs. The setup was easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great 1st photo printer

By Nesto from Washington DC on 03/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer for my school portfolio work 4 years ago but have recently rediscovered it for my photography. I have a color managed workflow using a Color Munki and am getting stellar prints using Ultra Premium photo paper Luster. As I become more seasoned in the art of printing, I will definitely be looking at some of the newer Epsons like the new Stylus R3000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400 Ink Jet Printer

By Tom from Lapeer, Mi. on 03/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit 6 months ago, I wanted to try it a while before writting a review. Here is what I think the PROS are: 1) does a fantastic job on the pictures I print, it's just as good if not better than the 960 did. 2) It prints pictures in half the time my old Epson photo stylus 960 did. 3) It uses a lot less ink than my old 960 stylus did. 4) there is less time and effort spent on setting up and printing out lables for CDs I only have one Con: It takes up a lot of real-estate


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great almost terrific printer

By frazgo from Monrovia, CA on 01/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for its large format printing ability. It does a terrific job with color prints. It does an ok job of printing black and white, the contrast gets a bit muddled and shadow detail is lost too quickly. The CD printing function is cumbersome at best. Even with updating driver information it at times gives error messages regarding wrong media even though the CD carrier is properly loaded. Fortunately that is not a primary task that I bought this printer for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where is the Detail?

By Bill from Minnesota on 01/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer, so far so good as all my other Epson printers have been, but Manual and Reference Guide are much too brief and do not deal with OS10.6 at all. Example: What are all the other Profiles that are listed when Colorsync is chosen? With all the different combinations possible with this machine I think there should be better information, and readily at hand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400

By Jack from Brentwood CA on 01/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent companion to my Epson Stylus Pro 3880. The 1400 is faster at printing simple text documents in black & white. Also good with docs that only have text with some color and small use of graphics. Output is oustanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400

By nycphotogal from New York, NY on 01/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After years of working with Epson's R800, it finally gave up the spirit in December. I would have been perfectly happy to get another R800...but they're no longer made. So, I moved up to the 1400 and it's wonderful: very quiet & faster than my old printer. Since I got it just a few days before Christmas, I haven't printed that many photos yet, but the ones that I've done have been beautiful - fine grain & bright, accurate colors. At this point, I can't comment on how long the ink cartridges last - but I don't expect miracles. I'm sure that as I use it more and more for work, I'll be even happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All great...til....

By krismal from maryland on 01/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Under 3 weeks old and it's already splotched up 3 photos. Another thing, when the ink is low, doing a nozzle check seems impossible, as far as I can tell. I do love the quality of the photos...but should I already be having problems?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 1400

By Christina from PA on 01/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My NEW LOVE! Epson 1400!! I loved my Epson 1280, but it literally died on me, so I reluctantly forked out the $$ to buy a new printer, but it's one of the best investments i've done in a long time!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Impressed

By Mike from Peoria IL on 01/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using the Photo Stylus 1400 for almost 2 weeks now and am very pleased with it's performance. I really like the print on cd/dvd feature, I've printed over a dozen dvd's. The results look very professional compared to the peel and stick labels I was using. Photos I have printed are very good using only the photo level instead of Photo Best. Some reviewers have complained about text mode being poor but I find text very acceptable. Draft mode text is very light but that should be expected. I would highly recommend this printer to friends. I contacted customer service on a rebate issue and it was resolved propmtly. The representative was very courteous and easy to understand. My only con deals with the Epson Easy Photo Print software. I would like more options on the print layout feature or be able to set up custom sizes such as wallet size prints. This may be possible but I haven't found it yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Retraction Epson 1400

By Anonymous from Milford, Illinois on 01/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After posting a stinging review of the Epson 1400, their customer service department promptly contacted me to find out why I was so dissatisfied with the 1400. After explaining my problems with the printer with Illye, she directed me to James, great tech support man. He resolved my problem with the printer in a matter of about 10 minutes. The printer does a fine job afterall! Meets my expectations and allows the flexibility for choosing paper types and print quality I desired in the first place. It is an amazing turnaround in print quality!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus 1400

By fotonut from Helena, MT on 12/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my printer for 2 years now. So very happy with the print quality. Not pleased with the Epson support or locating an Epson repair shop. My first printer the feeder rollers don't work right, was able to buy a second Stylus 1400 refurbished for the price of shipping my original printer to a far away unknown land. Will buy another one if I have to because of the quality of prints, but not for the support!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super

By Snaps from Toronto, Canada on 12/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Past experience with Claria inks in smaller printers suggested that the l400 would not disappoint. And it hasn't. Simple to operate. Excellent software. Strong Epson online support. And a price-point that makes it a great bargain. I couldn't be more pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This printer does a ...

By SPENCER from tennessee on 12/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer does a excellent job. This printer was recommended by a proffessional photographer. The picture quality looks just as good as if it was developed by a photo store. I highly recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am not surprised!

By COWBOY from Coral Gables, FL on 12/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the R800 for a few years and have been very satisfied with it. I force pulled a jammed paper through like a dummy and ruined a couple of jets. I decided to try the 1400 for the large format as a replacement. I am not surprised that it is good, but am so pleased that it is better than I had hoped for. Great and I mean great pictures and it seems so far that the ink useage is very reasonable for the quality. I certainly recommend this unit for anyone that wants high quality prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ink

By bamdesign from Nebraska on 12/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I wish that I could give a more thorough review at this point. Unfortunately my yellow ink cartridge ran out after only three 8.5x11 prints, two of those were only coupons and did not require much ink. I realize they said the first time the cartridges load they wouldn't last as long, but this seemed a bit ridiculous. So I am a little nervous as I get ready to order new cartridges, I hope this not going to be a disappointing purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too soon to tell

By Kitson from Clarkdale, AZ on 12/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's too soon to write a complete report on my new 1400 printer, I just got it set up and only used it twice. I had to call tech support, my questions were answered completely, and everything seems to be operating as advertised. So far I've printed a 13" x 44" picture and a 42 page booklet, both projects were fine, and I like the way the printer works. It's also surprisingly quiet. I've never paid this much for a printer before but once I get the rebate check it will be more inline with my budget. Other than the price, I give the printer five stars - only time will tell if my opinion remains. I also hope to get many years of dependable service. I'll be able to write more after I get some experience with its use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 1400

By Snowdog from Seattle, WA on 12/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed in 2008 on Windows XP. Ran normally with good service until I moved to a new computer with Windows 7, this December, 2010. Had trouble loading the drivers, so downloaded a new driver from Epson. The driver cannot recognize the printer, so nothing prints. Problem resolution pending.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Clogged Heads

By Teeman from Fort Frances, Ont on 12/24/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer is awesome for printing but for me the head clogging and trying to clean them is bothersome, and expensive. When it is working the prints are awesome and no complaints with quality of printing just ink head issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wide Port Epson Printer review

By Rocky from Pittsford, New York on 12/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my Epson Stylus Photo 1400 wide port ink jet printer one day. Whith all that experience, I can say without question that this can work for the serious photographer, and it can produce superior results. But it functions like most any printer, so that anyone can use it. The best way to describe its edge over the competition is that it produces prints that, when compared with another printer printing the same files, the other printer's results look harsher, and may not have very best definition. Harsher enough to say so, and lower enough in definition to say so. There is just no reason not to buy the Epson.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus 1400 Ink Jet Printer

By Buz51us from Smithton, MO on 12/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer, it has perfomed great from day one. I do recommend a continuous ink system, it does like to use ink.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

epson 1400

By epson lover from GA on 12/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm satisfy with the quality of prints with low price. However, inks are very expensive comparing other competitve printers and more high printers. You'd better have enough stocks of Light Magenta and magenta cartrdiges because they run out like flash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a wonderful,unbelievable, experience

By Bob from Batavia,Ohio on 12/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a 14+ mega pixel digital camera that I have used to take pictures of scenery. I have printed them out on 11" x 17" and 13" x 19" and I have been truly amazed at the finite detail and perfect color of the prints. I feel they could not be improved in any manor. I provide training and find that I can print items to include in my program, scan them with my Epson scanner, and include in my presentation with great detail. I then print the Cd's. Thank you Epson for a wonderful product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

professional results

By fauxtog from Lansing, MI on 12/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased this printer for the studio about a year ago and use it every day. It not only produces the best results we have ever had, it required no color correction. We use it exclusively with Epson Paper (duh!) and are able to print luster, semi-gloss, gloss, and matte prints with ease. This printer replaced an older Epson printer and when the time comes we will stay with the Epson products as always!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very nice printer for the serious amatuer

By marc_in_new_orleans from New Orleans, LA on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer to print photos I would develop from Adobe Lightroom 3 and Photoshop Elements 9. I print on Epson and other quality manufacturers 5-Star paper. I'm quite happy with the results and I would recommend this printer to the serious amateur who largely limits printing to smaller conventional sizes. I never had more than 2 printer cartriges to deal with previously with my other printers. This printer has 6 cartriges! I had some initial anxiety about prints being expensive because of frequent cartrige replacements. I'm happy to say this isn't the case. I'm satisfed with the output volume. Epson and their distributers have regular sales. I stock up then.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By godogma from Maine on 12/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my refurbished 1400 from the Epson Store online. I received it quickly. So far it is the best Epson printer I have used. Colors are excellent, no banding or other problems and it is fast enough. I had read some negative reviews and was apprehensive but I am glad that I decided to take the plunge. Ink usage is what I expected but if you can look ahead there are no problems. Very happy with the 1400.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400

By AZTony from Tucson, AZ on 12/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only used this printer for a few days, but the prints made so far are wonderful - including a pale lilac color flower and a BW print of Tower Bridge. Excellent tonal quality and true color. I retired my Epson R1800 (which produced many great prints) when I got too irate at jet blocks, and problems getting satisfactory output after cleanings. Dye ink may not be quite so archival, but it's less trouble and gives excellent color. No regrets yet - I'd buy it again!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FRUSTRATED!!!

By Anonymous from Minnesota on 12/04/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After doing much research, both reading and talking to other photographers, I decided to purchase the Epson Stylus 1400. I have had nothing but disappointment since I began TRYING to use this printer. First of all, the photos looked dark and lifeless. Then when the first ink cartridge ran out, it became a guessing game as to which color needed to be replaced. Now it tells me that another cartridge needs to be replaced, but it won't tell me which one and will not offer the step-by-step instructions that I somehow found when replacing the first one. This has been a VERY frustrating experience and I have wasted a lot of time attempting to print anything. I have another printer which prints beautifully, but I wanted to print larger pictures so I purchased the Epson. Never again! It really shouldn't be this difficult!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Printer

By michelle from Milford, Illinois on 12/04/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer is the absolute worst printer I have EVER used! Paper does not feed consistently, the color printed is more is not the color seen on my monitor. It prints patterns on my photos that are not in the original, the ink is super expensive and does not last. You cannot choose the quality of print or the paper type you are using. There is NO easy way to figure out how to align heads and clean nozzles. I hate this printer!!! A definite waste of my hard earned money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pretty good

By user from CA on 12/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this printer for 8months and I don't have any complain about this product yet. Pretty good if you need high quality of printing works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400

By none from Reno, Nevada on 12/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Slow printing. Prints too light on "text". Print on "Text and Image" is acceptable. Unit is way too large. Feel printer could have been reduced four inches without losing any features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Installation

By RickD from Wlalingford-Ct on 12/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

By far one of the easiest and most organized setup of any electronic devise to my computer in years. follow the detailed directions and way you go!! Test page printed perfectly First twenty prints were cystal clear! Good job!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great investment for the semi-pro

By Wescan from Naples, Maine on 11/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned Epson printers for over 15 years now and just invested in the Epson Stylus Photo 1400. This is a large scale (13" x 19") printer with the ability to print on DVDs as well. I have been a photographer for 45 years and this printer does justice to the photographs I have shot over those years. It is very easy to use and actually the basic setting will do a very nice job without you having to get into the "nuts and bolts" of setup. If you are a finatic, you can get at those adjustments as well. I maintain a hallway gallery and make regular changes to the prints that display there. This printer produces great prints, is easy to use and if you perform the regular maintenance it keeps performing without any fuss.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1400 Is the Best Printer I've had!

By Joe G from Missouri on 11/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second 1400 for me...bought it for a museum where I am on the BOD. I've had my own for a year or so....and it's the BEST printing machine I have...Or have had. Photos come out Beautiful...and the greeting and Christmas cards I print are just perfect. I like the fact of the six inks....colors come out almost just the same as I view on my screen! I really dig this printer....and I got both of them on special rebate!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed in the 1440

By Linda from Great Lakes Area on 11/25/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Granted, I did not purchase the 1400 for use on my fine art photo prints. I needed an inexpensive medium quality printer for my fine art cards. I printed a run of 30 Christmas cards using the Red River Linen stock. The colors were inconsistent from card to card. After printing only 30 4x6 cards, I only have 1/8 of a cartridge of cyan ink left and the others are well below half. For my purposes and quality needs, I would not get another printer that uses Claria ink. I'm no novice - I own and happily use Epson's 3800, (2) 2200 and a 1280 - all for different purposes. I print museum quality images and quite successful with my sales. The 1400 printer will now be used as a low end printer for my accounting paperwork.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400

By Marilyn from South Jersey on 11/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had one since January 2010, and positively love it! I work with thick media and this baby handles it all! I also like the wider format, handling papers over 8.5" wide.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mas o menos

By Zachary from Tampa, FL on 11/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Stylus Photo1400 is a good photo printer but it has its drawbacks such as: Epson paper and ink is expensive so plan on spending some dough on supplies; you have to manually feed paper for duplex prints; and inkjet, while very dramatic, it's not nearly as versatile as laser.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400

By besad from Reading, PA on 11/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought a refurbished unit via the Epson Online Store. Had some initial difficulty setting up the printer, but had excellent technical support that got it up and running. Have only used it a few times for photo printing, but the results have been beautiful. It prints very quickly, and the prints are virtually indistinguishable from a high quality lab print. A VERY good buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus PHOTO 1400

By Neil from Germantown, MD on 11/20/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Let me state unequivocally that I love this printer. I've had a working model for 3-4 days now. This is the third one I received as the first two shipped me did not function properly. The first had a sensor problem, apparently, because it printed the best quality 8x10 glossies I've ever seen, but could not print a drop of ink onto the 13x19 inch Epson paper. The second one I received, in about 8 days after speaking with tech support and agreeing to run through some Inkjet printer cleaning sheets they sent me, which did not address the problem, came with new ink cartridges (6). The instructions told me how to return the defective printer and requested I keep the ink cartridges from the first printer. It took some sting out of getting a defective unit and waiting as my print projects backed up. The second unit received also proved defective as my computer couldn't recognize it, this after Windows advisory that new hardware had been found, so this printer, too, was defective, likely with it's port connection. Two days later, I received another replacement (more ink cartridges) and this one works perfectly. It was frustrating that the manufacturer was on their third strike, but I do love the quality of print this printer produces. The first person I showed my first 13x19 print to, unmatted, unbacked and unframed, purchased it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Great Epson Printer

By Jerry from Plainview, NY on 11/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used the Epson 1270 and 1280 and was very satisfied with them. When the 1280 became a bit aged, recently, I got the 1400. Transition to the new printer was very easy and the results were great. The photos come out even better than with the 1280. My only problem is that there is no hard copy manual for me to easily discover what is now available and how to use it. I've recommended it to a few friends and one who bought it agrees with me on how good it is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good first impression

By patpap from Cocoa Beach, Florida on 11/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just purchased my Stylus 1400 yesterday morning, so I can't speak for long term use, however, the first batch of photos I printed were outstanding. I'm looking forward to printing a few 13x19's. I thought the design was nice and the build was good, not fancy but very functional and simple to use. I had to download the drivers from Epson for windows 7, but that was simple enough. It took about 30 minutes to set up including loading the drivers. So far, so good, if things change I will amend my review.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1st week

By Bob from coastal NC on 10/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This review, requested by Epson, is a little premature. I've only had my Stylus Photo 1400 set up for a little over a week. It is big, and finding space on my desktop was a challenge. It is a bit lound, but not objectionably. Prints CD/DVD lables with little effort and lots of options for the graphics and text. Impressive results! I've done a few color prints and they look great. Will be doing some wide format and panoramas during the next month and will report on that later. Wish it had a roll paper holder attachment though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just What I Wanted

By goldenyears from Philadelphia, PA on 10/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have only had this printer for two days and only used it once. However, it performed just like I wanted. Was putting wedding pics onto a CD and wanted to print a beautiful label. The end result was beautiful. Printer was easy to set up, even though I had to go online to get the proper drivers for Windows 7. I was disappointed that it did not come with the proper cable, but thank goodness Epson made that clear, so I was able to have one ready when it arrived. Am looking forward to doing my special projects on this amazing printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The 1400 did well for 14 ...

By El from Baltimore on 10/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 1400 did well for 14 months and then the printer didn't recognize a new Epson replacement black cartridge when it prompted replacement and refused to print. I purchased additional Epson genuine blacks.. and put another in that it would not identify. I purchased a third from another store and it wouldn't work either. A forth did. I am now at the 18 month of use [ average about 15 sheets a week] and I am having the same problem with the same color. I would have hoped the printer would have lasted longer. I sometimes wonder if printers are programed to last only a few months after warrantees expire.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylus Photo 1400 Great performer & Value

By Engineer62 from Houston, TX on 10/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought it primarily to print 11x17 engineering drawings in my home consulting office. Lowest cost way I could find to have this capability. Nifty plusses include the CD/DVD direct label print utility AND of course, the real strong suit of this printer - incredibly vivid family photos to share, frame, etc. My only possible concern is ink consumption rate and cost, but again, I don't expect to use it a lot so that isn't nearly as important as print quality to me. Installation of software was flawless, but I wish there was an automatic driver update function - I hate having to go through long lists of updates trying to figure out what might apply. It is a quality machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs room

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great quality photos, in a reasonable amout of time. If you buy this printer you need to check for the space you have as the printer is rather large. I was able to fit it on a workstation but it uses up a lot of space. Very Adobe Photo that comes with the printer has lots of features, and provides lots on options.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylus 1400

By Karen from Edmonton, AB on 10/06/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was so excited to receive this printer. I printed 12 - 14"x11"s and 1 - 8.5"x11" and three colour cartridges ran dry (yellow, light pink and light blue). The other cartridges are relatively still full. Perhaps this was why it was refurbished? This printer is going to be expensive for me to use. As for the picture quality, etc., it is equivilent to my little Artisan 50.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my Epson

By Smiles from Eastern PA on 10/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer was easy to set up and easy to use. So far printed out about 50 4x6 pictures and was surprised I did not run out of the ink that came with the printer. My pictures were totally amazing. I love the color and the clarity. Finally my pictures look like I want them to look! I have not printed out anything larger than 4x6 yet since I only have my printer less than a week. You can pick the pictures I printed verses the ones I have taken to places to print out for me. Unbelievable and outstanding pictures from my EPSON. Love my EPSON.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Workhorse products

By Sparky from Las Vegas, Nevada on 09/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson stylus PHOTO 1400 is proving out to be a great printer as advertised. The 13" width print is very usable for lots of poster, protraits and much more. So far, I have had no problems at all, printing is excellent, quiet (except for loading and head cleaning at start). Photos are sharp and clearer than most. In the past, I have experienced many of the Epson printers. Most all were very good to excellent! The 925 got a reputation of bad heads! This was not the case however! I proved it to be defective cartridges! Others (Epson ) were very good. Last and longest service, is the r300. It is a workhorse! Just DON'T allow it to sit (or any one) for long times without ink! Most any ink will clog after many months on not useing. Repair parts (heads) are more expensive than the printer! Be warned!. All said, the 1400 appears to be one of the topmost printers in the Epson line of its level!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just a fair ...

By den from Westfield, NC on 09/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just a fair warning.....The Photo 1400 I purchased was not Windows 7 compatable. Fortunatly I saw the "STOP" instructions. It instructed me to download the drivers online. Almost 5 1/2 hrs later, on dialup, I was instructed to hook up the printer to continue. This is when I found out that a USB cable was not included. On the good side........quiet, fast , good quality pictures and ink was easy to install.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Deal

By duck from New York on 09/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just received my refurbished 1400 printer. So far, it does everything it is supposed to do. I have produced concert posters and printed several cd's without problem. I have a 960, but epson, apparently is not writing a driver for Windows 7-64, so I had to replace it. Only negative with the 1400 is the small ink cartridges. The 960 is much more economical to use. But for the price, this is a great machine. And with Epson's warranty, one can buy refurbished with confidence. Don


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so good

By highway45 from New York, NY on 08/29/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought an Epson 1400 as a replacement for a 7-year-old 1280, after much debate between buying a 1400 or a 1900. As a graphic designer, I'm less concerned with amazing-quality photos and more with overall quality, especially smooth flat color and crisp type. I've only used it for a few prints so far, but the quality seems very good. A little streaky at first, but that cleared up after the first couple prints. Set up was easy & straightforward. So, I like my 1400 so far -- I'm keeping my fingers crossed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase

By Bratinella from Baton Rouge, LA on 08/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

its superb in terms of the quality of print and speed. Never have a hard time on installations.. It's recommended! Epson is the best..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What A Great Experience

By havok from Beecher,IL on 08/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A friend of mine has an Epson Stylus Photo 1400 Printer and when I saw what it could do, I knew I had to get one. I have only used it for a few days but already I am so glad that I bought one. The only problem is that Ritz won't be getting anymore of my business. I will be doing my own printing :-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson stylus photo 1400

By JMal from Culpeper, VA on 08/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received my printer with anticipation! It connect easily but my disspointment came when it did not have the AB USB cable. In my small community it took a half day to find the cable. This was my only complaint, other wise I'm a happy camper. The operating instructions where easy to follow. Mal


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Tootsie from Louisiana on 08/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Over all I am pleased with the 1400. Before I bought it, I read reviews that said it printed a little dark. I find this to be true, but mostly, when people are in a photo. I am making the right printer settings. I lighten these photos and usually have to make a couple more adjustments because of it. My Epson R340 is better at getting "people photos" right, but I am about to pull the plug on it because of print head problems. Epson printers have always worked well for me and I am happy with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rave Review

By WhiteKalmia1 from Maine on 08/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had other name brand printers over the years but none compare to Epson. I love photography and enjoy making large prints as well as regular size prints. All sizes are equally clear. Printing CD covers is a bonus feature. The quality stays even when exposed to sunlight. People say: "YOU DID THAT!". I take the credit but it truely belongs to the Epson Stylus Photo 1400. Ease of use and outstanding quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best purchase ever.

By titanic1 from Gales Ferry, Ct on 07/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I went from an Epson Photo Stylus 600. THe 1400 has a better DPI and a great paper selection to chose from. This printer is more silent than the 600. It is fast when it prints the 13" x 19" and a great picture at this size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just Ausome

By namvet1963 from Ferndale WA on 07/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recieved my 1400 this past Friday..I found it very easy to set up and install softwear to my computor. I have now printed out 26 4x6's and 9 8x10's. I can't be more impressed with the quality of my pictures.They look like they were done at a pro shop. I will add more comments in the future. I am going to start printing 13x17's this comming week.. I don't believe you can find a better printer at twice the price. I am keeping track of the ink usage..I have a running list of the photo's iv printed, and when the inks are low I will be able to see just how many prints it will make before I need more ink.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By CPeters from Seattle, WA on 07/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've always been impressed with Epson printers and have used them since taking graphic design in college. The 1400 Ink Jet Printer prints photo quality images easily, and the advanced print options are straight forward allowing you to easily understand and tweak whatever settings you feel the need to. My co-worker and myself also use this printer to run off final drafts of jobs that we are sending to the print house to verify color and so far it's never steered us wrong in the 3+ years we've had the printer. You could say it's our pre-pre press check tool! We also find it invaluable for printing final drafts of ads before we send our files to any magazines or other publishers. If you are a smaller business, and want to make sure that your projects look their best whether printing them yourself on this printer or printing a final draft before you send your files on, you can't go wrong with this printer. The only drawback that I could ever find is that there is no post-script driver for this printer via Epson. That may have changed, and it's really not a worry if you have the native application your printing out of (InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop) doing the color management as it's darn near spot on to a Pantone color book once the ink is dry!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Portable

By rlyyoung from Nebo Nc on 05/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this printer to go portable using picbridge Prints very good Photos


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Choice

By Pearlharborsurvivor from New Castle, Pennsylvania on 05/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced my Epson Photo R-300 with this Epson Stylus Photo 1400 about a month ago. I am very impressed with the speed and versitility of this product. The printed products and photos, especially, are of the best quality. I will reccomend this printer to all my friends and family.Thank you Epson for making it possible to own such a fine printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Photo 1400 Ink Jet Printer

By hypobmf from Finksburg, MD on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer makes very sharp looking prints. Nevertheless, I am getting a magenta and green shift when I print my totally desaturated IR images. The color shifts fade in about 2 days but there is still a hint of magenta and green left. Other than that and the way it guzzles ink, I am very satisfied with the printer and would recommend it to any serious photographer, on a budget, for limited custom printing. I would not recommend it for production work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 1400

By Nate4 from utah on 04/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printed my whole portfolio on it. The quality is great. However I really dont like the way it prints on epson paper. Try Moab Lasal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Waste of money

By rjretlaw from Upland, CA on 02/22/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer heads clog too easy and once heads are clogged there is no way to unclog them and the printer is useless. This happened to me on 2 brand new printers, on 2 separate occassions. The printr is useless without printer heads and to replace printer heads it costs the same as a new printer. The printer uses a lot of ink and the ink cartridges are too expensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Photo

By Winter from Kansas on 02/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Photo printer right out of the box, easy set up and good software. Have had Picture Mate for years and the Epson 1400 is same quality to print the larger prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By msgadget58 from Bay Shore, NY on 01/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first Epson purchase. Extremely impressed with the results of the photos, each were true to color, vivid and crisp. Love the idea that this printer is able to do so many different projects, 13x19 photos, 12x12 scapbooking, it prints on writable cd/dvd's. No other printer out there could do all of this. I find that the ink does NOT run out any faster than any other photo printer ink, and I have had my share of photo printers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than the competitor

By DnMichael from Baltimore MD on 07/09/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Three years ago I purchased a similar printer from a competitor and within a year it died on me. The company had stopped supporting the product. I still needed a printer to print posters and so I considered the Epson and I am extremely happy that I did. Not only is this printer faster, but I am very happy with the quality of the print. I had no problem installing the equipment and during the last few days I have been making CDs and DVDs often and they really do look professional. I am looking forward to using the printer at the Russian Festival to make our signs and posters. Perhaps I will also make some 11x17 prints from past Festivals so that our customers can see how good this printer is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it

By Windrider86 from Trinidad, Co on 01/30/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my 1400 for a little better than a year now. I must say that there for awhile I was having issues with the printer. It would not read any of the blank onk cartridges i got from Espon. (of course it may have been the cartridgesm read on) Epson was FANTASTIC about it. They would send me replacements at no cost to me. I do porfessional photography and am quite pleased with the quality of prints this printer produces. It does seem to use a lot of ink so naturaly wish the cost of the ink were a bit less. But the old saying goes - "You get what you pay for" And I would much rather pay for quality than be cheap and lessen the quality of my work


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly Recommend for Quality Photos

By OcalaJack from Ocala, Fl on 12/02/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a former professional photographer, I am very concerned with the quality of prints I produce even for personal use. I have had a number of larger format printers before but none can produce the quality of print that this printer produces. One of my standard tests is a series of photos, all under 1 megabyte in file size, printed at the largest printer capability. I did not expect much at 13 x 19 inch size, but the prints were suprisingly sharp. The photo enhancement software really works and the quality amazed me. The printer was easy to set up and worked flawlessly from the moment it was available. I have printed with it from Vista and Windows XP without a problem. The only concern I have is on the ink capacity, but that is ALWAYS a problem with ink jet printers. All in all I would recommend this for anyone wishing to make large prints from their images. It does most of the work for you, BUT use the print set up for a print preview, not your software, as most software does not really support this size printer. The price is good, so there is no excuse for not buying one of these units while they are available.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent photo printer

By Anonymous from Wichita, Kansas on 09/10/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is the best printer I have ever worked with, excellent photos the use of ink is very good, most printers you can maybe get only about 20 photos and you are out of ink, I have printed over 35 prints ranging from 4 x6 to 11 x14 still have half cartiages use. Espon thanks for a very good product. keep up the good work. thanks from a photographer, with a limited budget, I will be buying more from you, Epson thanks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Machine

By Anonymous from Belfry KY on 09/04/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 8 printers from Ink Jets to Laser to Sublimation Dye and the Epson 1400 is just excellent quality and a workhorse. I just couldnt ask for a better printer. I still have an Epson Dot Matrix Printer that is over 17 years old and still works and Have worn out two Epson 1280's You just cant get a better printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic

By ArchPhoto from Chicago, Miami on 08/17/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just the best and fastest printer I have used yet. I shoot interiors and deliver prints to architects and interior designers. The colors are accurate to whats on the monitor and it prints much faster than my 1280.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Printers get better and better

By camb from Alabama on 08/08/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The first printer I bought almost twenty years ago was an Epson. I bought it because the reviews said it was the easiest for a novice to set up and use and a neighbor who was a freelance graphics designer swore by them. I am not so much a novice anymore, but I still love the ease of setting up and using Epson printers. This one has not disappointed me. Within a few minutes I had it set up and was printing borderless prints for myself and family. My previous Epson printer had one large color cartridge and I always wondered if I was throwing ink away. I was sure not all colors were being used at the same rate. I think I am really going to enjoy having the individual ink catridges for each color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FAILED WHILE STILL UNDER WARRANTY

By TONY from DETROIT AREA on 08/07/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

IT WORKED FOR A WHILE, NOW, AFTER EPSON REPLACED IT 3 TIMES (WITH REFURBISHED ONES) THE 4th ONE STILL HAS PROBLEMS. I'M GOING TO SEND IT BACK TOO. THIS ONE WONT EVEN DRAW IN THE PAPER.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Product

By Major from Greeley, Colorado on 08/06/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been actively using the Photo 1400 for some months now. I have found it so superior to my privious printer that I now have an inkjet, not the Epson 1400 for sale. It did ok and the Epson 1400 is outstanding. A great difference! Major


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Work Horse

By HorsePhotog from Eagle, Colorado on 08/06/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love Epson printers for their clearly detailed prints. The extra large ink tanks are a big plus when using the larger papers. If this is your first wide format Epson, Go For It. The price is low and the results are fine. For landscape prints with better blues for the sky, I recommend the R1900.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for color renderings

By architect from Dallas, TX on 08/05/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this printer at the last minute. My client needed multiple 11x17 packages of a color presentation of a building design. I was able to purchase, set it up, and print multiple color pages within an hour. The client arrived and was overwhelmed. The printer made our design look that much better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product at a Great Price !

By izzybee from Jersey Shore on 08/01/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Previous Epson Printer was a 1280 and lasted me almost 8 Years. This 1400 is outstanding for borderless 11x14 and 11.7x16.5 Photos! It is not listed as 11.7x16.5 is supported in Borderless format but it is, which made me very happy. Great Color & Sharpness. I print with Adobe CS3 with GREAT RESULTS. Would reccommend to anyone wishing to print in any size larger then 8.5x11


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Updated 1280

By RobertB from Orange County, CA on 07/28/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

To get prints which would last longer then those from the 1280, I purchased a Photo Stylus 1400. The biggest change noticed immediatly was the much faster speed of the 1400. On the other hand, ink costs increased noticably on a per print basis. The borderless printing continues to be a very desirable feature. I am part of a photography cooperative which holds group exhibits with most members using glossy paper from a wide range of sources. The Epson print quality is more than just competitive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice printer - the 1400

By Jmuxica from Austin, TX on 07/25/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this printer very much. It's definitely designed for the task at hand. I'm a pro photographer and needed to be able to print proofs and final products for quick response to some customers. This printer seems to be a good solution. One recommendation is to ensure that the printer is calibrated to the computer and software being used so that the colors are equivalent among all devices. I have yet to get it to print exactly what I see in terms of color. I'm looking forward to getting some advise (from Epson) on the best drivers to use in my case. As in all these printers, consumables do go fast when you print at max quality and print a lot, the good news is that prints are crisp. This cost is something that non pros should account for as a recurring cost. They are not cheap! On thing. I do find myself increasing the midtones in the pics in order to get those details to appear on the prints. In other words, I always get a slightly darker pict on the printer (some midtones lost) which I hope will be resolved with the appropriate driver.. In the end I'm happy with the purchase. :-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Wide Format Printer

By LADoz from Central Illinois on 07/25/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use the 1400 for most printing not just photos. We mail lots of large 11 inch envelopes but at times it is picky about the heavy ones and just feeds them through without printing.. This is a Good Wide Format printer and Epson is great company with a good line of printers..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Mick from Bensalem, PA on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a professional photographer, I am always looking for perfection. But in the real world it is hard to find.Since only God can make a tree. I have used many printers and was in need of a new one and began my search. I believe I have found a great printer, with vivacious colors and the uniformity in printing with high definition ink, the Stylus Photo 1400 is all that it is ment to be and exceeds in many ways. I recommend this printer full hardly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Ink Jet Printer

By Lefty from Undisclosed on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson 1400 Stylus Photo is a great workhorse inkjet printer. We have had this printer for at least 2 years and it has been extremely dependable. Makes great quality clean b&w line prints of drawings for presentation or markup. Color photos print great on glossy or matte paper, depending on your preference. The only downside is that the ink cartridges are not cheap, and they are not recyclable. The upside is that there are separate cartridges for each color, so if black is most used, you only need to change it. When and if Epson starts a returnable cartridge program, I would give this product a rating of 5 stars. Until then, it is a 4.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer for the Price

By manatee from Austin, TX on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a photographer, and own 3 Epson Printers. Recently I needed a large format printer in a hurry, to compete in a last minute gallery show. Being the typical starving artist, I immediately went to my local Pro Photo store, and purchased the Epson Stylus Photo 1400. I already owned two other Epson Stylus Photos; The 500 and the 700, And knew the 1400 would fill my immediate needs. The Prints are Unbelievable. Can you say POP? I used Epson 5 star Paper, and the results were stunning. The only problem with the printer is the very small ink cartridges. However, I have printed 25-30 11x17s, 13x19s and 8 1/2 x 11s and still have ink. I would love to own the 4800, and maybe if I sell enough large framed/matted pieces, I wil get my wish. For those on a budget, that need High Quality large format prints, This is the printer for you. It is already making me money. Thanks Epson!.. You saved the day! Thumbs up!.. Mike in Austin TX \


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love Epson printers

By scrapbooker918 from Buffalo, NY on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am definitely an "Epson Gal!" I wanted an affordable large format printer for my digital scrapbooking. I love the prints produced both on the Ultra Premium Presentation matt and on the glossy photo paper. I also like the versatility of being able to print numerous sizes with this printer. I should have gone right for this one instead of getting the R260 photo printer first. I would have one less printer taking up space! The only problem I have encountered is that the paper feed is sometimes tempermental


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylus Photo 1400

By David from Littleton, NC on 07/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the print quality for the most part, but I have issues with paper handling and no auto detection of paper type. The Ink cartridges are expensive and small. The software ink monitor starts warning of low ink way too early.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved