Home » C11CA29201O » 57 Reviews

Epson C11ca29201-o Artisan 800 All-in-one Printer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 57 reviews)

66% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

artisan 800

By daddyrab from Anderson, SC on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Arrived yesterday, copies good, scanner drivers do not work when downloaded form the Epson Website. They work when loaded from the supplied disk. Wireless setup is difficult. Paper is difficult to load and trays are not very sturdy. still working on the scanning problem. rating may change if I cannot get the scanner to work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The 2nd machine was better than the 1st one.

By tom5050 from San Antonio, TX on 05/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had trouble with the 1st new machine due to a "replace printer pads" message appearing on the printer screen which required another machine. EPSON determined it was a software glitch. Also had color photos being too green. I would only use black & white ink but the colored inks were depleted without use. I suppose the regular maintenance checks it performs by itself uses up the colored inks! The second printer has performed flawlessly, but is not "energy star" rated and does not 'sleep" if not being used. I do like the hassle free customer service; i got the 2nd machine on the 3rd day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

800 8 x 10 print problems

By elwood from Kansas on 02/23/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The 800 is good at most functions except paper smears on an 8 X 10 photo print. I have tried different paper thickness settings and it still smears.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best All In One Ever Owned

By rondack from NY on 02/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace an RX 700 because of its smaller size, it uses the Claria line of ink, and adds a fax function. I really like that the CD/DVD printing tray is built in. I always had to search for this tray with the RX 700 as it was a separate unit. The main selling point was Epson had a sale price I couldn't refuse


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 800

By lonerangerr from Lakewood, CO on 02/18/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchaased this printer 11/8/2008. Its a great printer but..... i am on my 4th epson 800. Good thing it comes with a 2 year warranty. Epson has really been great to work with. They send out a replacement within a week and i send back the one that doesnt work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Major Disappointment

By BobinChicago from Chicago on 02/15/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Every time I use my Artisan 800 printer I curse the day I bought it. Never have I owned a printer that was so inclined to jam or so likely to pull multiple sheets when printing. Loading or changing paper is cumbersome and the machine goes through ink like there's no tomorrow. Epson will do well to retire this disaster from its lineup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Printer

By Karaokejr from Iowa on 02/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer was a Birthday gift. Its been in use now 2 months. Excellent Scans and Cd printing. I am Very satisfied with this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good printer eats ink fast

By Oscar1 from Los Angeles, ca on 02/01/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love the printer but in less that a Year I have replaced ink three times and I don't print much. I have only printed one cd and some pages, I wish this printer maintained ink control.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By netminder33 from Whiting, Indiana on 01/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the printer three months ago. Have had no problem with it. Yes it is a little noise but it doesn't bother me. Yes the paper tray is flimsy but I don't pound on it, I treat it with care. I can live with these things because of the great results I have gotten. Photos come out fantastic. I print for competition and love the quality print I get. I also don't feel that I am draining ink. I do go through color ink but I am printing high quality prints. I would expect that. Prints fast. I really like the printer. Would highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pass on this one

By DisappointedInColumbus from Columbus, OH on 01/04/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased new Artisan 800 last March and I'm now getting my 2nd replacement. New machine started banding after copying a small number of photos. Received refurbished unit in July, copied a handful of documents and this one is now banding. Hoping my replacement is a keeper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Algeron from Hanahan, SC on 12/31/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer on Feb 13, 2009 to replace an RX580. (The 580 no longer printer correctly and was 1 week out of warranty.) I was a little hesitant due to the initial reviews I read, but I decided to take a chance anyways. I have used this printer to print photos and over 1000 CDs for my company. I have NEVER had an issues with the printer or print quality. The WiFi has never dropped or failed. I have had this printer running under 32-bit Vista and 64-bit Windows 7, and it has ran great with both operating systems. After reading some of the other reviews, it is true that you may run across a bad product here and there, but from my experience, this is a GREAT product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's Well Worth the Money

By MatrixDigitalArts from San Antonio, TX on 12/25/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read the reviews, and admit I was hesitant. But after research, I took the dive, and I'm glad I did! I've had this printer a month, not one paper jam, and ink usage is far from excessive. (After all, it has to fill the ribbons with ink for the first time, so sure, the ink will go fast at first! Common sense!) The print quality is suburb, and scanning and copying is unbelievable. It only took a few minutes to set up. This is the second Epson printer, (first was a R220), and as a professional photographer, I will stand by this printer any time!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, but problematic

By PeterJ from Philadelphia, PA on 12/25/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This could be a truly exceptional product, but working on my Mac (current sofware) it is problematic printing color prints. vertical bar lines are produced. Not all programs (Google's Picassa being a good example) are able to set the page settings to get rid of these bars! Photoshop is great, but I don't want to exit Picassa into photoshop to print! Otherwise, great product. It does use ink quickly, btw, and they're not cheap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DON'T!!!!!

By Vance from Galveston, TX on 12/23/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I regret having purchased this printer. Customer support has been good, but I have no opportunity for a return for credit (over 30 days) although I have had problems beginning within 30 days of purchase. It was replaced once with another 800. The second replacement was an 810. Neither funtion properly when printing CD's, I wanted to replace my RX680 with wireless. The 680 is much better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer and Excellent Price

By Anonymous from Decatur, IL on 12/23/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best Printer for the Money and Feature are Amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best All in one to date

By Cliff from Cincinnati, OH on 12/18/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Epson figured everything out with the release of this model!. I have used this model extensively and have gone through ink 4 times already. Used for all types of printing including the CD function. All conections are wireless and I have no problems with it dropping it or anything like that. The setup is 2 PC and one Mac all routed through a linksys wireless N router. It does everything except I can get items to scan from the printer to a PC. I have to open the scan application on the PC first then scan. Its kind of annoying but I got used to it and for being the only fault I am extremely Happy! I have Yet to test the fax option on mine but my brother uses this printer daily for CPA work and Loves it for that and says the faxs are great. One side note... if you are doing a lot of printing it is definiately a good idea to invest in the large capacity ink cartridges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WiFi stops, ADF Stopped working

By Rubicon from NJ on 12/16/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer less than a year. Constantly drops Wireless connection. No other devices on the wireless network has done this. To make matters worse ADF no longer feeds paper. So now Multipage PDF scan is useless. The only reason I bought this. Stay away from All-in-One. I still have an R300. Love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One Powerful Monster

By donlilli4 from Oshkosh, WI on 12/12/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

OK, I have seen the reviews on here, and I am disappointed in those that have had issues. The main thing to remember is there are many reasons these kinds of failures happen. One main reason is failure to clean the printer regularly, and also not using it regularly. If the printer has to start up and detects it has been a long while since its last restart, it will run a purge and that consumes ink. There is no other way around this as it needs to make sure the nozzles are working. As for slow, this depends on the hookup. My printer is in WIRELESS mode, and it works great. I have a multi-computer environment running Windows 7, Windows Vista, and Windows XP. My only disappointment is I can't run Windows 98 drivers for my very old units, as they don't exist. I recommend this printer without hesitation. The person who was having the document feeder issue should make sure the top feed head is closed and locked. It is likely this is popping loose and causing feed problems. It may also just need to be cleaned a bit. This top is designed to open to removed jammed documents, and can sometimes be hard to close. My CX9400Fax had the same issue, cleaned it, and it now works fine. I gave it to my nephew when I got the Artisan 800. I have the new doc duplexer now for this unit (standard on the 810 now). I tested it and it works great. I can't wait to make greeting cards with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

what is everyone's problem?

By katrocks from SoCal on 12/12/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this printer works perfect? maybe i got a good one, i don't know. i've never had paper jams, but i keep it about half-way full at all times. i've never had an ink issue, but then again, i always print only what i need, never an entire email to get a small coupon. i've never had the printer NOT print on the network...after going through the long set-up process of it running everything through the discs, it's been perfect! i've never had issues with ink smearing or the scanner not working. maybe i was lucky with mine, but i've always bought an epson. well, all 3 of my printers in the last 15 years were epson...and i only bought new ones because i had more needs, not because the printer failed. i will always stick with epson and i LOVE my artisan 800 printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrated

By Nate from Atlanta on 12/10/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The poor reviews are right. Not only did the printer drain the ink cartridges in a flash, but the paper has jammed numerous times. If I wasn't past my return date, I would take the printer back for full refund.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dont throw money away, it will only print hardwire

By truedat from Vancouver, WA on 12/03/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Do not waste your money on this $300 piece of junk. It has never printed anything while on the internet. I thought a printer is supposed to print! Other problems include very SLOW printing, even though it boasts supper fast PPM. The printer is also very noise and wastes a lot of paper - when I can get it to print that is. I am going to take it back as soon as I get a day off of work. Glad it is still under warranty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Paper Jams

By Mayjecon1 from San Antonio, Texas on 11/16/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have own this printer for about 6 months. I have used it with pleasure until I got a big job to do and needed to use the auto document feeder, and this is when my nightmare began. I was using plain paper and I completed ten 25 page booklets. After that its been a battle. I'm on a time line and I could not get the work out. I've tried changing the paper thickness, paper type, and nothing seems to work. Before this I rant and raved about my printer, but the paper jams are enormous and I would not wish this on any friend of mind. Help!!! What can I do about the paper jams, I love the unit but the paper jams have got to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Mistake

By Frankarms48203 from Detroit, Mi on 11/14/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Buying the Artisan 800 printer was the biggest mistake I ever made in purchasing a printer. From the beginning it has eaten its way though one ink cartage after another cleaning its heads. When it cleans its head it seems to blow about a tenth of the full capacity of all ink cartages. Now this would not be a great problem if did this once in a while. But mine cleans heads about every other 4X6 picture! Or every 3ed page of text printed! This means that a new ink cartage has a life span of about a half hour! I would advise anyone who was looking at this printer to run form the store screaming in fear for you cash flow!! Frankarms48203


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for about 7 months

By Suemo54 from Mesa, AZ on 11/09/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great for a few months, then all sorts of issues: cannot use the document feed, always says there is a paper jam when there is not, ink usage is awful, continual problems with powering down...sometimes I have to unplug it. Often get the following message when trying to print "processing, do not open the scanner unit", then sometimes it will print and most times not. There is a job in the print queue and I am unable to delete it, the job has been there waiting for two days, even when I power off it remains. I am extremely disappointed in this Epson product and will definitely not buy another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worthy!

By gabe2000 from New York on 11/06/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my unit for almost a year. After 10-months, the copy feeder gears would jam. Epson sent out a replacement that works just fine. Got it in 4-days! Everything works as it's suppose to, Excellent! One criticism about the unit design. The scanner is recessed into the unit. If you try and scan a long book page you can't lay the book flat because the scanner glass is recessed into the unit. The solution should be that in a future model the scanner glass should be a level surface. Big thumbs up for the 800 other then that one design flaw.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast DVD/CD Printing, Poor Paper Handling

By CandlelightProductions from Buffalo, NY on 11/05/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

OK.. I'll make this short and to the point: The good: - I've had the printer about a year and haven't had any problems - CD/DVD printing is *much* faster than previous models due to built-in disc tray. Probably printed well over 1000 DVDs on it and no problems - Print quality is *excellent*, and speed is pretty good - Scanning across the network (wired or wireless) works well, but may need periodic reboot of PC (possible memory/driver issue?) The bad: - No duplex printing built-in - Paper handling is bad.. often grabs multiple sheets for anything other than plain paper (so you have to put only single sheets in the tray... very inefficient :-( - no "manual paper tray" requires removal of all the other paper for single-sheet printing (or even an envelope), although sometimes you can "slip one in" and it'll work without having to pull everything out - No "Print-to-Fax" driver support.. that'd be awesome! - An "impression-line" is left on my DVD prints, looks like from a roller... this is poor design IMO, and I will exchange this with my extended warrantee sometime in the near future to see if that corrects this problem (which I've lived with for over 1/2 year because I love the printer and am busy!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

going on 3rd one!

By Anonymous from Plainfield, IL on 11/05/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had ink consumption issues (above and beyond what ANYONE would consider normal) with the first Epson Artisan 800, wrote a review, was contacted by a rep at Epson the next day, and replacement sent out. (Great Epson Customer service that time around). Now, this one does not feed paper (single sheet, plain, US Letter) through the doc feeder. Maybe it's my fault for not first trying EVERYTHING when I received the 2nd printer, but I had faith in the Epson brand. (Being a photographer/photo instructor I use mostly the Pro line of Epson Printers for the 4800/4880 to the 9800 printers). Now I am being sent the 2nd printer and am told the warranty dates back to the original purchase in March, which would have been fine, however, not if every 4-5 months I need it replaced. I hope the Artisan 810 is a better much improved all-around, because in my book the Artisan 800 has a L O N G way to go. The only reason its a 2 star is because it is quiet, looks good, and print quality is good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisified Customer

By crazecreekwoman from Oklahoma on 11/02/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer but I'm having problems with printing pictures, and scanning. I've never been able to connect my wi-fi because of location but I recently moved my phone so I will try again. The pictures I have printer are great but scanning is causing me a headache. Also need parts for my printer because I broke the paper tray. The website doesn't seem to have a place to contact for parts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printing

By Mark from Florida on 11/02/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine is nice, I like being able to scan to a memory stick and then move it around to my other computers. One thing is it does not print from Adobe Illustrator, I don't know why. I see it going to the printer on my Mac and then it finds the bit bucket. Reloaded Driver, and same results. Otherwise I like it, wish I could get the duplexer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've had my Artisan 800 ...

By salmon from Lewiston, ID on 10/09/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my Artisan 800 over a week now, and I could hardly be more delighted with the purchase. Installation was flawless with all functions performing as they should, and I tried them all. The only hitch occurred when, in attempting to send a fax, I plugged the connector into the wrong jack on the back of the machine. I've printed several 4x6 photos with unbelievable resolution, and with no ink usage showing in the utility. Printing a number of emails has used a significant amount of black ink, more that my old R 320 did, but the print quality is good even on cheap paper. Other reviewers have complained about the paper guides and trays being flimsy, but I think they are perfectly adequate, and they save some in the total weight of the machine which is on the heavy side anyway. Two thumbs up for this great machine. Jim


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tips and tricks that make this a great buy

By TheLargeWabbitInTheRoom from SOUTH WEST IN THE UNITED STATES on 10/06/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Within the last few months I have gotten to know the "ins" and "outs" of this fine machine. The software and instilation is seamless and works right out of the box. It comes with the "99" in color and the "98" in black. But after looking around and finding a complete "98" cartage set it saved me time rushing out and buying the "99" color carterages. Besides this everything works and can be used as the "Default" printer. Buy the Duplexer as it really works well for two-sided printing and you get a convertion to an Artsain 810 for less. This what I have and it works right out of the box. working as a printer for work-product. Disk printing is very easy and works fast and makes exceptable preformance. You can even work it as a "Limited Addtion" for your backup and your friends too. The rest of the devices work fine as they should be and are up to standards that are EPSON.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Home Printer

By Joe184 from Oswego, New York on 10/06/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I find the Artisan printer to be an excellent all in one home printer and for limited use in an office. The setup procedure for my Mac was especially easy for the wireless setup, and with my Airport Extreme router I can print from 3 computers. The print quality is excellent both text and photo and with the use of the touch screen, the printer is very easy to operate. Also, the software provided more than meet my needs. I have not experienced any or the negative points made by others. While the receiver paper tray is flimsy, a little care in placement of the printer will go a long way to preventing it from breaking accidentally. In other words, do not have the printer located where people walking by can walk into the paper tray.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best gift Ever!

By Anonymous from Bellbrook, Ohio on 09/12/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son gave me this printer at Christmas and I was so excited, however once I learned how to use it, I love it!!! Everyone that sees my photos can't believe I printed them. They say the quality is better than the print shops. I spend a little more for my ink, but I promise you, it is worth every penny. It is a simple unit to use. I have done the restoration on it and it is unbelievable. I love how I can crop a photo that I might not of used otherwise. I recommend this to all my friends and family. I was in a big retailer one day and a couple of men were printing their pictures and the quality was terrible. I interrupted and told them about the Epson Artisan 800, just couldn't help myself :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

impressed so far

By techcafe from canada on 08/25/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this printer is amazing! it was easy to setup and everything appears to be working flawlessly... over the wireless network, no usb cables! photographic prints look fantastic, as do scanned images. the backlit lcd touchscreen is a nice 'touch', intuitive and useful. epson's printer drivers/software are the best too, and don't suck up a lot of system resources (unlike HP's buggy drivers + bloatware). very nicely done Epson, i am thoroughly impressed with my purchase (so far)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A lot of hype for nothing

By aliennoise from New York NY on 08/25/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Only for use on photo paper. if you use any other format of paper or any other kind of media, printer gets stuck and the headache starts, you have to open a paper loader and place only one paper to accept any other media except photo paper. If you have smaller format photo paper and its loaded together with large format paper it will for some reason drag a paper form upper tray first and then you have to reprint. alignment is difficult and i get stripes along the whole page if it prints on regular paper. Nice for quick print of family photos but anything "Artisan" its 0


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BUY IT!! You won't regret this purchase!

By WhoKnew2 from Portland, OR on 08/24/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using Epson printers for many years, now I use the Artisan 800. I believe this is the very best table top printer Epson has EVER made. The photo quality is has been improved to the point we now have professional quality photos in 4X6, 5X7, 8X10 & 8 1/2 X11 sizes. This printer is VERY easy on ink usage, allowing for many quality pictures from each ink cartridge. Granted, I would always like to see more photos from my cartridges, but unlike other manufacturers, I don't feel ripped off using my Epson. I cannot recommend this printer any higher, it's an excellent product for those of us who care about printing ONLY the best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

paper feed bad, print good

By frustrated from Minnesota on 08/19/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The photo and regular prints are very good after the three or more attempts to get the paper to feed 1 and only 1 page per intended print. A typical example is todays attempt to print a 8.5 / 11 of verbiage. The first attempt printed the page over three pieces of paper = trash, the second printed over 2 pieces of paper = trash. Trying to print multiple pages never prints as intended. But the print is very clear on the paper and ink I'm throwing away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wildly exceeds my expectations

By BrooklynChris from Brooklyn, NY on 08/11/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No word of a lie, I have never had a purchase so wildly exceed my expectations. I rave about this printer to everyone I know. When I show people the output, from DVD's printed in the printer itself, to tri-fold brochures, to glossy business cards, to matte business cards, to photographs, to color documents, to black and white resumes, they are consistently blown away by the quality. I am consistently blown away by the speed and the inks, which are long lasting and reasonably priced (compared to the stories I hear from friends about their inkjet printers). The fact that it does all that and does it wirelessly is simply amazing. Also amazing is the ability to do one button scanning directly to USB flash drive without a computer, which I used for an archival project (I just brought the whole printer with me, sat in the archives, and scanned scanned scanned, all direct to USB drive. What a nightmare it would have been had I been forced to do that with a computer attached. The one area where I have had problems is printing directly onto envelopes, which always jam, but I've found that I can take the Post Office's standard Priority Mail mailing labels and load a stack of them in the photo tray and they print beautifully. One small quibble which I can easily forgive in light of all the wonderful features of this printer. a straight through paper path would have made this printer utterly perfect, but it's pretty close to that already.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 800 Artisan

By VF1S from Las Vegas, NV on 07/25/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall I'm very happy with this product. I've only had two issues thus far: 1.The inital wireless setup is farily straight forward. The only issue I had was setting up additional computers to print to the printer as it always seemed to want to reconfigure the printer network to add the drivers and support. 2. On ocassion when I print borderless prints and even on smaller one I get black blotches near the edges. Whether I use photo paper or just plain white. Then other times it seems to work fine. Not sure if its a nozzle thing or what. Tried cleaning it and it still happens, again since it random its hard to tell whats causing the splotch. Wireless printing is awesome, I can actually put the printer where I want raterh than forcing room near a desktop that would then stay on all the time. Scans doc nicely and can save directly to pdf, which is nice for digitizing my paperwork. Ink last as long as any other I suppose.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 800 issues

By KeepItSimpleStupid from East Coast, US on 06/02/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Try copying a set of 8" x 11' documents where the first is oriented portrait and the second in landscape using the ADF. The landscape page will be 8.5" x 14. There is a work around. The second issue is when trying to do double-sided copying or scanning. The way I found that would work easily depends on the Epson scanning software being modified. It needs to allow appending of a suffix to the pages so that pages can be scanned so that you can scan the pages as img001a.pdf and img001b for side a and b. Then you can combine with Acrobat professional into a single file. The free program Rename Master can be used as a work-around. If Epson alloed suffixes, this could be very trivial to copy and scan a two sided document. The scanner skews pages easily. The documents OCR'ed with the included software are not as small when compared with Acrobat Professional. It would be cool if you could fax directly to the printer with a printer driver or even receive faxes to the memory card. Needing to have all the inks before you can print black is a problem. Maybe Epson could create a slide attachement where you place it on the platen and have a way to turn off the internal light and use the external one in the attachment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

doh!

By PeteN from New York , NY on 04/30/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just received a new Artisan 800 today. I unpacked it and started to set up and perform the initial configuration on the printer. Soon after the setup process, I installed the ink and I received an error message. I called Epson tech support and they were very helpful but the printer was DOA. Epson will ship out a new printer to me and I should receive it 3 t o 5 days. :-(. I do not have warm an fuzzies yet...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all-in-one printer

By WB5YJN from Houston, Texas on 04/18/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I looked long and hard before I bought my Artisan 800 all-in-one printer. Color and black and white photos look simply great and, if the photo needs any changes, the included software provides a large latitude in photo revision. Regular paper copies and prints are simple to print. The fax capabilities are quite easy to use. Epson technical support has been superb in assisting me in starting up and in doing some of the more creative things available with the Artisan 800. The ink cartridges have lasted much longer than I heard they would, particularly using the 98 series high-capacity ink cartridges. I only wish the 98 series cartridges were available locally instead of being available from Epson only. The scan-and-print included software is quite intuitive and easy to use. I also have the optional duplexer add-on and it works flawlessly. The included scanning program includes Correct Document Skew and Create Searchable PDF options that I find extremely helpful. Printing to CDs and DVDs is a tremendous feature and is a big help to organizing my disks. My long-and-hard look for an all-in-one printer was worth the effort once I bought my Artisan 800.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my epson artisan 800

By mockingbird from Florida on 04/09/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like my artisan 800 very well. It seems to work perfect, except for one thing!!!!! I can't seem to send my pictures e-mail to anyone. I can't even make a web site. It seems png, JPEG, or static gif files are not included in the format of this printer. I have been told this is an generic problem with all epsons. is this true. Is there anyone out there?? mockinbird


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall Great but some Annoying "features"

By SmallBusOwner from Portland, OR on 04/03/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All in all I'm really impressed with the Artisan 800. Photo prints are really high quality and everything is very fast. The wireless setup was simple and it never falls off the network. Scanning, copying and faxing are all a breeze. And, you don't have to be plugged in to the printer to scan. One really annoying feature though: when you are out of any color ink it won't let you do anything. You could have a full tank of black and only want to print a text document but, no dice. Also, when you are out of ink there is a nag screen that pops up on your computer every time you connect to the network. It "kindly alerts you" that it's out of ink and is very willing to direct you to Epson.com to buy more. Pros: Easy Setup, Fast, Accurate Cons: Ink is $$, Won't print anything if any one of the 6 inks are out, nag screens


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional AIO

By Tyrone from Great Falls, MT on 03/29/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned the Artisan 800 for about six months. I have owned seven printers, and wore them out. This is the most awesome printer I have owned. I use it in a home office for work, and personal. It performs every function perfectly. It was the only AIO printer I could find in this price range that both, handled legal sized documents (prints, scans, copys & faxes) and prints CDs. It is extremely easy to setup on a wireless network (if you follow the instructions). I use it wirelessly on two computers. I scan to file on both computers with no problems. This unit is one for discriminating users. If you would like to use the low cost generic photo paper, and cheap ink, I would not recommend this unit. As with other Epson printers this printer performs best with Epson paper and ink. No ink globs or smears, just fantastic vivid prints. The issues with the flimsy paper tray and cartridge can best be addressed by assuming Epson intended to manufacture a fully functional AIO as light and with as small a footprint as possible. The paper tray and paper cartridge both perform as designed. I would not lean on, or attempt to sit on the output tray. I personally prefer this size to the larger bulkier AIOs that I have previously owned. I highly recommend this printer. If you would like one of the finest home inkjet printers on the market, you will not be disappointed with the Artisan 800


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer Purchase Yet

By ArleneV from Philadelphia, PA on 03/20/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Epsons Artisan 800 is loaded with features and its competitively priced. We also want to comment on Epsons wireless connectivity which is called WIFI. I could not have spend my money on a better All-In-One. I especially purchased it for the double sided printing. I would recommend it to anyone in the home or office. This is my second All-In-One and my third printer. This is the best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best AIO I've owned to date

By GaryS from Denver, CO on 01/17/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had the Artisan 800 now for a couple months or more, and agree with some of the previous reviewers about the flimsy paper tray, but other than that I've been really happy and it's producing incredible prints for an AIO. I did go through a "learning curve" with this printer. One issue I was having was it pulling in multiple sheets. I discovered that the problem was usually due to the slider in the paper tray not being set in the proper position for the paper size. It needs to be spot on, then it will typically grab one sheet at a time as expected. The other problem I had early on was not being able to get borderless prints when printing through PS or Aperture. It worked fine when printing directly off of a CF card. Then I began cropping my images in PS to 5x7 (or whatever) and the issue disappeared. Seems the printer can handle a non standard or slightly off image size when printing from a CF card, but not in software. So make sure you crop your image to the correct size ratio in your editing software first before printing and you shouldn't have a problem. I also bought the add on duplexer and it works like a charm. Faxing is great, scanning is great, printing is fast, and accurate, and the networking works great. Did I mention it's FAST! It is a bit noisy, but doesn't bother me that much once I see the results. I've always trusted Epson to my printing and am not disappointed with this purchase in the least. Highly recommended!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hesitant at first...

By FrankO from Toledo, Ohio on 01/06/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I started looking around for a new printer I was looking at the "other guys" because they are the only printer brand I used ever since windows came out. Best Buy had reps for the "other guys" and Epson and he approached me and tried to sell me something I really did not want. I kept going back to the Artisan 800 and he kept going back to some other model. The next day I went back and purchased the Artisan 800 took it home to find the installation was very easy and I was up and printing in no time. The Artisan 800 is all I had hoped for and more - I love it. It installed to our network quickly without any hassles. I sent for the optional automatic duplexer, something I really need in a printer. As for print quality, it far surpasses what I had been used to. The "other guys" lost out and I am glad I gave Epson a first look. Frank


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Pictures, Fast Documents

By RyanIsTheRyan from Atlanta Georgia on 12/24/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The quality and speed of the printer, as well as wireless, were the main reasons of this purchase. Pictures come out look perfect, you can adjust the properties of the printer to print in an order that suits you, that will automatically fix red eye without having to even touch the great software that comes with it. Ok well the software is better then anything that I have to deal with compared to other printers, I actually install it on all the computers as its helpful, but it ain't photoshop cs4. Quality prints take a while, which all depends on the paper you use. I havn't used any Epson brand paper, and it all works fine and looks great, though I don't do any picture prints on anything but ultra premium glossy. I have yet to get a real paper jam, only run out of paper, and as long as you have the tray set to the right size paper, you will not get paper jams. The speed of this printer is also great, I can print something off right before I go to a lecture and not have to worry about being late.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Favorite Printer!

By coconutgoddess from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/06/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this printer. Our family has seen many printers come and go through our home.. but this work horse is indespensible. The WI-FI was easy to set up, and works perfectly. Great for the laptop owners in my house. I personally love how easy the touch screen makes navigating through set up. I have used the on screen printing options... and they are simple to use and yield great results. I like the various picture configurations. I also love the option to print lined paper with just the touch of the screen. The scanner is quiet but accurate and fast. Ink seems to last pretty long. We are heavy printers. My ONLY issue with the printer is that it doesnt seem to take heavy weight cardstock. But it prints fabulous pictures... so in the end.. it still gets my super two thumbs up!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent All-Round All-in-One Printer

By Scotchguy from Cape Cod, Massachusetts on 12/05/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've owned and used Epson printers for years, so when we moved residences and my wife and I combined home offices, it was clear that we needed an all-in-one printer to reduce desk clutter. We bought the Epson Artisan 800 and it has proved to be everything we had hoped for and more. We print a lot of photos and the print quality exceptionally good, so much so that we typically use it instead of our dedicated photo printer. Even when doing photos, the print speed is fast. Scanning is a pleasure and the copy quality in both black and white and color is really good. Faxing is great and it is a real advantage having the automatic document feeder. There is such utility in this device that I think that it represents real value. Of course, inkjet technology is not cheap and the cost of cartridges makes for a moderately expensive printing experience. I tend to wait for Epson to run specials on its website and then I stock up on supplies. Epson sells two kinds of cartridges, a normal and a higher capacity. I think that buying the higher capacity ink cartridges makes a lot of sense. The printer does have quirks. As noted in other reviews, the paper tray is fussy and a little flimsy. I don't typically print CD labels or on 4 by 6 paper, so a simpler design would have been preferable to us than the complicated design employed. However, we've learned to manage the tray so it's not a big complaint. All in all, we would buy this printer again in a heartbeat. You get a lot bang for the buck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally got my new Epson 800!

By BillP from Pensacola FL on 12/05/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got it within two days after ordering! :) The only problem I had was with that little yellow thingie inside the unit this disables the unit for shipment. I was confused as to where it goes, but when I figured it out...gangbusters! A beautiful printer! Works flawlessly! Got the duplexer today for automatic two-sided printing, and it it works fine! Those who get this feature must realize that the printer must pause before printing on the reverse side to allow the ink to dry. A prompt in the unit's window speaks of reducing the ink density and to adjust the drying time that may be appropriate to the "glossiness" (which may effect drying time) of the paper you are using (I think.) Anyway, I am pleased with this printer, so far. I have yet to use the scanner and other features. Oh, and BTW, it set-up flawlessly on a "WiFi" connection to my wireless Linksys router unit without a problem, but you must pay attention to the prompt that will have you connect the ethernet csble to the wireless router itself as the final stage of configuring your printer! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Artisan 800 comments

By Epsonfan from Albuquerque, New Mexico on 12/02/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been an Epson fan for over 20 years, but I must say that I agree with some of the negatives about this printer that have already been stated in other reviews. The construction seems somewhat flimsy, it crops 4x6 pictures that it is supposed to be printing edge-to-edge, and--the biggie for me--the data on the outside of the box assured me that it printed duplex, but inside the box I find out that I must purchase an accessory duplex unit for it to do so. On the other hand, the color is very true if you set the printer for top quality and automatic photo correction, and the printer is a beauty to behold.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Good and the Bad blended too well.

By CasualRN from Fontana, Ca on 12/02/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best and worst printers I've owned. The CD try for direct CD/DVD printing should be scraped and rethought. It took 4 printers to get one that worked as promised. The failures went as follows: #1. Bad CD tray alignment. Would not retracked. #2. Would not recognize the ink cartridges #3. Another bad CD tray problem. #4 Still working after 2 months. Minimal problems so far. Now the good: It's a great printer! Excellent color and print for photos. Fast printing and scanning. The customer support was good and they did go the extra mile to fix my odd but true situations. It did take almost 3 weeks to finally get everything to work right. Two failed right out of the box! When working... this is an excellent printer. It does everything. The Wi-Fi takes a little work to set-up, but like I said. It is a great printer...when working. Epson needs to remodel the CD/DVD disk tray to work with more stability, but thats for the next printer series I'll bet. Good luck and DO buy the extended warranty. You were warned!!! They did let me keep all the ink cartridges and sent me an extra one for the trouble. But the design... sucks!!! And this was the main reason I bought it. For CD/ DVD lable printing. This is my first Epson... Bad start but good finish... so far. CaZ


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Output good Wireless Setup bad.

By BubbaTX from TX on 11/30/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The general output of the printer is outstanding. I really like the print results. The issue that I have is that the Wireless Printer settings can NOT be set manually to hit a wireless router. The setup requires some funky connection to the router then the PC/Mac tries to configure the connection. All you have to do to go through this entire setup is turn the printer off manually then all Network settings are lost... This is my version of hxxl. Like the guy pushing the rock up the hill eternally - I get to reset my printer then resent my wireless router - then reset the printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad purchase

By barrelracer from North Platte, Ne. 69101 on 11/09/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer will not print business cards and post cards. I go on line for help and was told it was not tested for businesscards. My cheap printer even prints everything. It also cuts off pictures - tops of heads, etc. I have had it for two weeks trying to get it to work. I guess I will have to take it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Way To Go Epson

By Derek from Los Angeles, CA on 11/09/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use several printers during the course of a day, but I must say that the Arisan 800 is one, if not the best, All-In-In-One printer I have ever owned. From the design to it innovative features, I feel good about this purchase. Not only does the device provide all of the necessary features of a device of this kind, but it also incorporates the ability to print lined and unlined paper, note paper (with and without a photo background), which also incorporated wireless technology and coloring book feature to boot. One thing is missing...the ability to use the media card reader as a reader recognized by the Mac computer. Very good Epson as usual!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved