Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Label Makers » C51CB70010 » 22 Reviews

Epson LabelWorks LW-400 Label Maker - 0.24 in/s Mono - Tape, Label - 0.24", 0.35", 0.47", 0.71" - Thermal Transfer - 180 dpi QWERTY, Manual Cutter, Barcode Printing, Auto Numbering, Vertical Printing, Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

81% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

lw-400 lable works

By Anonymous from sarasota, fl on 03/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy use, durable product, overall many options of different labeling, and not expensive. good quality and great name brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epsom Label maker LW-400

By Dan from Michigan on 03/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great machine with a lot of options.. I used it a great deal the first month I had it and have most everything labled that I use all the time. I had not even thought about using it to identify cords, cables and power supplies for my computer equipment.. the flag lables work good to identify key rings too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Creativity!

By CeCe from Houston TX on 07/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This labeler is very versatile in its usages. You are able to get as creative as your imagination takes you within the parameters of what is offered. Being able to use 3/4" as well as 1" tape (the variety of tapes is almost limitless!) makes it great for all types of projects. Although I have found the instructions a bit hard to decipher due to lack of detail & assumptions that you should already know the answer, I feel that with repeated use, I will be able to master most of the intricacies of the labeler. If you have never used this type of labeler before, be prepared to waste some tape in the process of learning how to use it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not all combinations of font/sizes look good

By saspus from San Diego, CA on 01/01/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Its OK printer, the UI is adequate and easy to understand, in spite of what other reviewers say. My issue is with the font rendering quality - it tends to over-dither large font, making it look "dirty" and not only kerning is nonexistent but also at some smaller font sizes the letters tend to either overlap or to leave ugly gaps between. So matching font and font size combination that look OK is a long trial and error process, and I only ended up with just one that does not look ugly - Gothic with 2-line printing size. Bottom line, if you don't care about typography it you'll be happy with this printer, but if your eyes hurt when looking at poorly kerned and typeset text - then seek alternative.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nifty label machine with lots of features.

By JohnD from Boston MA on 09/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just like using a new cell phone for the 1st time there is a learning curve with using the LW-400. The people complaining about it being hard are the ones that haven't taken the time to get familiar with it. For the price it is one amazing little machine. Some cons: the screen doesn't display what the actually label will look like. It just displays the Icons, Text and how long the label will be. The manual is sparse. It is just a few pages long and explains things, but could have been much more helpful if it gave examples.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exactly what I spent hours researching for.

By Vixen from Bremerton, WA on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After comparing the main three brands as well as reviews on multiple sites for the main contender. There were many complaints about the instruction manual's clarity. As well as many endorsements of it's ease of use. I must say that the people who can't understand this machine need to take classes in technology to bring them out of the dark ages. This product is wonderful and a pleasure to use. This company thought of everything for enjoyment and ease of use. But, yes, the tape is overpriced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sweet ride

By Okpiggy from Tulsa on 08/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Printer is fantastic. Easy to use and understand. You just pop in a cartridge and away you go


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

size of font

By Anonymous from Indiana on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was surprised to find that the font was so small and could not be increased to full width of the tape. It was inadequate for the outdoor labels I had planned to make. It will be fine for indoor projects such as labeling computer and printer cables.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very useful LabelWorks. I ...

By kevin from San Diego, CA. on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very useful LabelWorks. I can use it in everywhere, anytime. And it very easy to manage. Choose from a huge range of symbols, frames, fonts, barcodes and tapes in a variety of styles, sizes and colors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless device

By dgb2012 from Central Texas on 01/26/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This device has a very bad user interface and equally poor user guide. It is almost impossible for a lay person to use and it does not do what I had expected. The device description does not give real examples of the labels that it can print or I would not have bought it. As it is I am glad I had some spare batteries laying around so I did not waste money on them as this thing is going straight to the trash and I will never buy another Epson Product. If you plan to buy one be aware that it only prints very small letters and is very hard to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rating the L400 Label Printer

By Helene from Athens, GA on 11/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is awesome. I have enjoyed playing with it as I learn the many, many things there are that can be done with this label maker. I love all the symbols and pictures that are available. I still haven't mastered all that there is to know about this label maker. I love almost everything about it. I find that the instruction sheet is a little difficult to figure out. It would be better in a booklet format. The lettering is too small. I have to use a magnifying glass to read it. Overall I'm very pleased with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Manual

By HW1010 from Ellabell, GA on 10/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This labeler works great - my mom loves it. However, she lost her manual which helped her figure things out. So, I went on line to print off the manual. Are you kidding me??!! My mother cannot use her "favorite toy" because the print is so small in the manual - she cannot even begin to read it. I went into the PDF to adjust the print and at least print it off in pieces. Again, passwword protected so you can't adjust anything. This is the most unfriendly manual I have ever run across. While I would recommend the labeler - it has now gone to the bottom of the list simply because of a stupid manual!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most Fully-Featured Label Printer I've Ever Owned!

By chuckiii3 from Jamestown, PA 16134 USA on 10/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Without a doubt, this is the best, most fully-featured label printer I have ever owned! As indicated in previous reviews, there is a bit of a learning curve associated with using this product due to it's numerous features, but once you experiment with it for a while it becomes second nature. I especially like the numerous tapes available for the printer which makes it useful for many different applications. The barcode application is perfect for home inventory purposes, and the backlit display makes it very easy to use in low-light conditions. Whatever you need to organize, this little gem will fit the bill! The Epson LW-400 definitely rates a solid five stars for home and small business use. No other brand compares with its long list of features and choices of label styles, font styles and sizes, border options and symbols. The Epson LW-400 is a winner in every respect!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Label Works 400 and limitations

By Access 1 from California on 09/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Label Works 400 Printer is simple to operate without needing to connect to computer. The limitations is the need for video to show the extra's that are not userfriendly to figure out on with and without the manual. Too many options too little information.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LabelWorks

By lhow from Minneapolis on 07/10/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Complicated, confusing and unclear instructions make it very difficult to use the product. I'm sure it is very useful and versatile, but I've had several people read the instructions and just scratch their heads. Once I had it working, the cartidge jammed within a few days and it cannot be fixed. It must be replaced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson LabelWorks LW-400

By polodave from Hermosa Beach, CA. on 03/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson LabelWorks LW-400 is a great little label maker and works as advertised. This is only the second label maker that Ive every owned but, it works great labeling all the things (personal property) that my wife and I have on our Motor Home. It would be great if Epson lowered the price of the label cartridges, there at lease double the amount I paid for the labels I used in my old label maker. I would think you would sell a great deal more Label Makers if you lowered the price on your cartridges. I would definitely use it more if it wasn't so expensive to user.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

YOUR POWER CORD OR ...

By JOHN SMITH from Chicago on 03/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

YOUR POWER CORD OR ADAPTER SHOULD BE AT THE BACK NOT IN THE INFRONT. It gets in the way. Because of the item the machine is not worth what I paid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LabelWorks LW-400

By ignace from Carlsbad, CA on 03/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Minutes after removing our LW-400 from its box we were producing labels. Took a quick 5 minute read to get most of the key functions and tape loading instructions under our belt. Like the ease and feel of holding the unit in hand and two-hand quick typing of label information. Purchased 2 types of 12mm labels red on white and black on white. So far labels are clear, little waste of extra tape and labels seem to be holding fast to folders. Recommend for a professional and easy to use label machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous

By Clint from Toms River, NJ on 03/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great machine ! It can do anything you want with a label. I find it easy to use and so helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but

By Lostit from St Louis area, MO on 12/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like some of these new phones, you have to scroll thru to get to a particular character, just a minor annoyance. One character missing from all of the symbols, signs, wingdings etc. is a STOP sign symbol. The largest size font is the same on 3/4" tape as on the 1/2" tape, just more white space at the top and bottom. The same goes for multiple lines, on both size tapes the label wording is the same size The display screen is quite bright, good for use in the office, but it makes the keyboard hard to see in the darker warehouse. A major disappointment is the lack of availability through Epson of the AC adapter. I prefer the adapter when possible in the office and try to save the batteries for when AC power is not available like out side or in the warehouse. Battery life has been good so far to be fair.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LabelWorks LW-400 Label Printer

By Charlie 1 from Los Angeles, California on 11/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent little printer. It's so much fun to use that I am putting labels on everything in sight... my dogs, my horse,fruit,everything. Nothing is organized yet( my original reason for purchasing this product) but at least I now know what everything is:"Oh,that's my DOG!" Thank you for yet another exceptional Epson product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LW-300 Label printer

By rhjuno750 from Brooklyn, NY on 11/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to put together. HARD to understand instructions, poorly written. Once you get the hang of it, it is easy to use, it just takes time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved