Home » Computers » Printers » Large Format Printers » CA61201VM » 106 Reviews

Epson Ca61201vm Printer, Epson, Stylus Pro 3880 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 106 reviews)

92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Heavy weight papers

By H2OS from Western, NY on 09/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had some trouble with heavy weight papers as the print heads clip the outer edges of the paper. I believe that the slight curl on the papers vertical is the problem. Using a lighter weight paper works best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ICC Profiles

By BILL from NC on 05/15/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy set up but am disappointed that many paper profiles for the SR 2400 do not seem to be available for the 3880.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880

By Scott from Austin Texas on 04/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Printer for high quality color images. Easy to update ink cartridges. Straightforward settings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wishful thinking and praying

By janet e from albuquerque, new mexico on 04/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this is my third 3880. the first one worked great for two months, then broke. the replacement arrived broken and now the third one here i really hope will work. i bought it to replace my 2200 which i successfully used for over ten years and three different macs. i was very disappointed that the software wouldn't work anymore so i forked out the cash to buy this one. pray for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Full Inks, Exceptional Print Quality, But...

By thepipe from Southern NJ on 04/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quality Solely in terms of print quality, this unit is the best of the best. Both black and white and color images have astounding detail. I also suspect the images will have superior longevity. Unfortunately, my printer has two ongoing issues. I keep getting various error messages, requiring me to unplug it briefly. The printer then resets and works well again for another week or two until...more error messages. The same reset process gets me up and running again. The second issue is one experienced by many others: the printer and its rear feed tray don't get along. It's no better than 50/50 as to whether it will accept paper loaded there each time. I'm not using substandard paper, either. It's Epson brand premium paper! Even after careful examination, there is nothing wrong with the rejected sheets. Providing these two issues don't worsen, I can live with them. Size This is a large printer. Double check your dimensions to ensure it will fit where you want it. Value This is not an inexpensive printer. However, Epson does something very few other printer manufacturers do: they include all nine FULL ink cartridges rather than starter sets. Kudos to them, as this fact alone increases the out-of-the-box value of this printer by hundreds of dollars. Keep this enhanced value in mind when evaluating competitor's offerings. Overall This is one of the best printers available today at any price. If you need a professional or prosumer inkjet of this size, the 3880 should be on your short list.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Jack from Corvallis, Oregon on 04/02/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson 3880 is a superb printer. This is my second one; the first one printed beautifully for over 4.5 years. I have printed on all kinds of paper and canvass. There are two downsides. A printer of this caliber should be able to handle rolls. Also sometimes when I am printing fine art papers, I have to use the front feed; I get constant errors with the rear feed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer by EPSON

By Phototheque from Miami, FL on 03/31/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am glad I bought the Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Inkjet Printer. I've experienced many of the benefits and features this powerful tool has to offer and I recommended to all my colleagues at the CubanAmerican Phototheque Foundation. I made all prints for the first 2014 Miami Photo Salon with this printer and artists were in heaven, one told me at the opening reception " This is the first time that I can see my image in its full colors, what a wonderful copy!" Another told me "This copy is better that the one I can produce!" So we went over the printer she had from another brand and I recommended her the 3880.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 3880

By Warren C from Western Ma. on 03/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been an epson user for years. They have never let me down and the prints from them let me keep my work in house. I love how it prints on canvas and basically only want to print on canvas now. Setup is easy,printer driver is good, tank access is easy and the several options for loading media is good. I have no complaints from people on the ultra chrome inks it uses. Images on Matte paper are stunning. I have yet to find fault with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Professional Quality Printer

By Lorenzo from Georgia, USA on 03/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this printer for about 3 years now, mostly for my fine art prints and prints for clients. All the enthusiastic reviews about print quality and ease of use are true, so I won't repeat them. I'll just limit my review to a few things that I've learned after using the printer for several years. First, this should be taken for granted if you're in the market for this kind of printer, but it's so important that I'll discuss it anyway. This printer uses pigment ink, not dye ink. Any pigment ink printer, any model from any manufacturer, must be used regularly to prevent nozzle clogging. That's just a fact with pigment ink printers. You can't let this printer sit unused for three months and expect it to be fine. So if I don't intend to use the 3880 for a while, I run a nozzle check at least every two weeks, and if I see even one missing segment for any of the 8 colors, I do a head cleaning. This is not necessary if you use the printer frequently. Only if you use it infrequently. But you can't just let the printer sit unused. Second, this printer was designed to use cut sheet paper in sizes up to 17 inches wide. There's no limit on the length. Normally the fine art paper is sold in 17X22 inch sizes, which is fine for most people. But you can print any length you want if you know what you're doing. Sometimes I need those last two inches for a 16X24 inch print. I buy roll paper and cut my own sheets. That's all great except for two things. You have to turn off the "check paper size" in the printer menu, and you have to make sure the sheet is flat (not curled) before you try to print on it. This printer was not designed for roll paper, and it won't print correctly on paper that's not FLAT. So I'll use sheets that I cut myself from a roll, usually 17X28 inches, to make 16X24 inch prints. But you need to make sure your custom sheets are flat, and you need to turn off the paper check size on the printer. Lastly, there's the issue of the printer switching back and forth between photo black and matte black ink. That process consumes a ridiculously large amount of ink, and at $60 per cartridge, you don't want to do that very often. My solution is to use fine art paper that will tolerate the photo black ink whenever possible. If I absolutely have to use the matte black, I try to wait until I have enough prints to justify the large amount of ink consumed in switching. If I had any criticism of the printer, it would be about the expense of switching black inks. It's something you want to avoid doing, it at all possible. Other than that, the Epson 3880 is a fantastic printer for any kind of cut sheet printing 17" wide or smaller. I love mine and intend to use it for as long as I can.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PRINTER

By dallasdoc from Dallas, TX on 02/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Beautiful results with 17 x 22 inch prints (the maximum width). I don't make a lot of prints but having my own printer lets me control the results completely, and that's important to me. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the ink is very expensive. This replaces my 3800, which I had for about 10 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reproduction of Art Images

By Kathy from San Marcos, California on 01/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am greatly pleased with the reproduction of art images. It was easy to set up. It has great color and detail. I like that it turned itself off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best

By Moldie from East Dover, VT on 01/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My best friend has had the 3880 for many years and he's the reason I bought one. I'm very pleased with everything about the 3880. Keep up the good work Epson.I liked it so much I boought the Epson 820 for PDF's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 3880

By Samantha from Portland, Oregon on 01/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the Epson 3880 for professional black and white printing. The Ultrachrome K3 and three-level black technology produces rich black and white prints with great tonal range and attention to highlights and shadows. With four different presets for black and white I am able to have more control and precision in the printing process. The printer also has the technology to produce prints with little grain. I would recommend for photography students and professionals.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A fine printer

By RC from Pennsylvania on 12/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In a few short months of use, the 3880 has performed exceptionally well -- both with semi-glass and luster papers as well as presentation matt and hot press bright archival papers. Print quality is first rate, especially like the look of the .12/inch white border. So far have used only Epson papers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Large Format Printer Without The Large $$$

By zookeeper from Tamps, Fl on 12/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a large format printer to support my photography hobby and the ones I had looked at were way out of my budget. I saw the Epson Stylus Pro 3880 and saw that it could print 17in. by 22in. boderless prints. This makes it easy to make wall murals, put many different size photos on one sheet of 17x22in paper and many other possibilities. I can't wait to try some of the "Fine Art" paper and canvas in the printer. The current range of paper sizes and types of paper that I used in my "other" printer I can use in this so I don't have to buy all new paper to use. I use my other printer (an Artisan 837) for the everyday stuff. This is reserved strictly for my photography work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Inkjet Printer

By Donald from Derwood, MD on 12/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good printer. Easy to set up and so far has been producing excellent prints. Controls are easy to use and instructions are clear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Buy

By MurphysLaw from Undisclosed on 12/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Colors produced on printer are dull and do not match those of the original art work. Technical support concerned with upsell of unrelated services instead of fixing printer quality issues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Inkjet Printer

By 427Accobra from East Windsor, CT on 12/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchasing this printer has been a wonderful addition to my photograph and recreating the photos. It is very easy to use and works great with many of the paper I had already.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far so good, but that's what I expected.

By Purdis from Nashville, TN on 12/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an Epson 3800 that I made thousands of prints on. It was a great machine. It was finally beyond fixing so I decided to replace it with the 3880. Setup on the 3880 was super easy. It worked flawlessly right out of the box. I've only made a handful of prints so far on the new machine but I swear the print quality is better than my old 3800. Even after one day of use I could tell that the 3880 is a superior printer to the 3800. The only thing that is throwing me off a bit is that it seems to have presented me with a slightly different print menu in my Aperture program. I'll just have to get the hang of that and I'll be golden.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By andy from Chicago on 12/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Friends have praised this printer for several years now, and now that I own one, I heartily agree. It is a versatile printer with great tonal range. It gives me a chance to see photography whole - from shooting to printing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Inkjet Printer

By LLBoycejr from Indianapolis, IN on 12/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am still currently evaluating this printer. Once thing I would recommend is that a better guide for paper feeding and printing be designed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW what a Printer!

By Skoves from Milwaukee, Wisconsin on 12/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the digital novice this printer was a hair intimidating, but when I started to print 8x10 proofs to get the hang of it, its not very difficult at all. The Color is amazing and the B&W is very true. The initial set ups aren't that difficult and there is a slight learning curve that's not too difficult. Overall I am 100% pleased with my purchase and the quality this printer render's. Like everything else, my ability to hone in on fine details while printing will happen over time.............


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Using The Epson Pro 3880

By Chas G from Babylon, New York on 11/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After owning three Epson Printers,the Pro 3880 is the most reliable,strongest with no paper jams, or breakdowns at all.The ink cartridges are 80ML and don't run out of ink constantly. Thanks to the easy to follow instructions,The Epson Printer Pro 3880, was online in no time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Bob R from Sacramento, CA on 11/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Only used a few times but I'm so pleased with the color of images and ease of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Amazing Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Printer

By Bob from Cape Coral, FL on 11/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just received my Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Printer last week by the new speed 'mailing' services. I took a day to go through the manual and outline the main things I needed to do. The next day I decided to Print one of my first Art pieces on both the Epson Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster and the Epson Ultra Smooth Fine Art Paper, both in the 17x22" size. I couldn't believe the results - they looked fantastic. It was so nice to see my Art in an enlarged 16x20 size from the usual 8x11.5. The Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Printer performed flawlesly from loading the large size paper to automatically switching Photo Black to Matte Black in going from the Photo Paper to the Art Paper. I put my Art Print in a frame and it looks fantastic! Very satisfied with my Epson 3880 Printer purchase!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880

By ViewFinder from Smithfield, VA on 10/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After many years and much use, my Epson 3800 finally died so what to do? Not a hard choice for me given the excellent service my earlier Epson had provided. Ordered my new Epson 3880. Set up is a snap and after calibrating my monitor and selecting the print profiles for the papers I use, it was like a dream. Perfect tone and contrast. I have been a photographer for many years and I love the ability to control my art from start to finish and when I use Epson printers, its a great way to finish the job!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

problems

By yrag from Alton, Utah on 10/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After setting up the printer with inks i noticed the maintenance cartridge was 80 % full. Isn't this a lot of wasted expensive ink. I am replacing my Epson 3800 printer with the 3880. The 3800 has been great. After installing the drivers and software and the installation was successful i tried to make a print. This is not happening there seems to be a lack of communication between the computer and the printer. I will be calling Epson tech support tonite and see if we can get this straightened out. Not happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solidly built

By Gamut_lover from Undisclosed on 10/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this printer to replace an older Epson R2400. I was very pleased that everything worked perfectly right out of the box. I've used both Epson and third party papers in the rear sheet feeder, and the paper fed smoothly each time on the first try. I've also been very happy with the print speed on this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE LOVE LOVE! This ...

By Anonymous from Spring Hill, TN on 09/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

LOVE LOVE LOVE! This printer exceeded my expectations in quality of prints! I am so incredibly happy and excited to use this to make quality art prints from my original scans!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By David Burlison from Yukon, Oklahoma on 09/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Epson makes beautiful color and black and white prints. My clients love the quality, and I do too. I highly recommend the 3880 printer if you are looking to make large prints that last.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Inkjet Printer

By Sue from No California on 09/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just purchased and installed the software for this printer, but have not yet had a chance to print an image. This is a big upgrade for me as my older printer is an Epson R2880. I look forward to using the 3880 and expect that it will provide exceptional printed images just as the R2880 has done. I highly recommend Epson printers!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EPSON 3880 . . . Plugged it in today . . .

By Dan Draws from Courtland CA on 08/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just now plugged it in right out of the box and the quality of my first print (on Epson Velvet Fine Art Paper) was FANTASTIC! Setup was minimal and straight forward. I know it's only one print but right now I couldn't be happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like the 3880

By Zack from Denver on 08/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I do fine art and fine art photography. I have been using an Epson 1280 printer for over 10 years never had a problem I couldn't fix. I liked the quality of the 1280. So when the 1280 did go out it was between the 4900 or the 3880. I picked the 3880 because of the reviews of the 4900 and nozzle clogging. It was a smooth setup right out of the box. Im glad I read reviews so I knew about all the tape that had to be removed. I like the software for the printer, its easy to use. The first big prints were spectacular rich blacks and bright whites. My favorite thing about this printer I can print big all day without changing ink. The only problem I had was the first matte prints the blacks were not black. My second matte run came out much better with very rich deep blacks. This is an awesome printer and if I had to do it over I would get this printer again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Printer

By mdst from SF Bay Area, CA on 08/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been researching Epson printers and was thinking of getting a 4900 until I read way too many negative reviews so I decided on the 3880. Easiest Printer I have ever setup. Very happy with the print outs so far although the paper grabber for the sheet feeder seems a bit clunky and I have to reload the paper again. Otherwise awesome printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PERFECT

By FALAS from DENTON,TX on 08/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Among all other printers, this is the best !I believe there is no other type of printer that can be as this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 3880

By Louise from Philadelphia, PA on 08/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am thrilled. For months I have been struggling with my old 3800 which I have had for 5 years and it was time to change. Uplifting is all I can say. I have been a very good photographer and finally am seeing it with the 3880. Epson I have stuck with you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Quality!

By dbei from Santa Cruz, CA on 07/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Only done a few prints so far but totally blown away on the quality and ease of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good reliable easy ...

By bonter from Lake Forest IL on 07/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good reliable easy to set and use I don't know yet about ink consumption but I know this printer from school and that was a reason I bought it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

small image large paper

By sashavon from fallbrook, ca on 07/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The first couple of images I printed were exceptionally good. After that, alas I got a portion of an image on a 16X20 paper. I tried this several times, triple checking the paper size selected. I ruined lots of paper and now have nothing left and nothing to show for it. I had to take one of the first non final prints I made to the art show as the entry deadline came up yesterday.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous!

By Ottavio from Houston, Texas on 07/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using a 3800 for over 5 years and did not see the need to upgrade to a 3880. Technical problems made the decision for me! I should have moved up to the 3880 when it came out. As good as the 3800 was the 3880 surpasses it in all aspects. There is a noticeable improvement in image quality and the added features make the 3880 indispensable. Works great with my Mac Pro set up. The unit is at its best when matched with Epson paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent printer

By Drawavision from Henderson, NV on 07/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very pleased with my Epson 3880 printer. I use it mainly for the reproduction of my pen & ink drawings. The quality of the reproductions have exceeded my expectations. Once I got past my learning curve I found the printer easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3880

By marvelus1 from Boca Raton, FL on 07/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A wonderful printer. Easy to use, many convenient features, i.e. paper paths menu system, large ink cartridges. Most of all, wonderful prints. Great color or B&W rendition, outstanding tonality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just Replaced my 3800 with the 3880

By Review-3880 from Undisclosed on 07/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After many years of use my 3800 was not printing proper colors and repeated cleaning attempts did not solve the problem. I recently received the 3880 and the results are superior to the prints from my 3800 even when it was in top form. Skin tones are excellent along with details and contrast. I can even use the auto function on the platen gap which was never reliable with the 3800. It is also quitter. Highly recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Mighty 3880

By Tooltime from Pleasant Hill, CA on 06/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an R2400 for years that served me well, but decided I wanted to make a jump to the largest print my workspace would allow, so I started doing the research... I ended up with the 3880, and frankly, I could not be happier! Set up was a breeze, and I was making prints within an hour of getting everything in place... I have some physical limitations, but am able to manage the functions on the printer, and between the 3880 and the Mac, I am thrilled! Great looking prints!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

owner

By pj from az on 06/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use with excellent detail. I have used epson printers and paper for years and I've been very satisfied


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The image quality and ...

By Kim from Undisclosed on 05/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The image quality and colors are really fantastic. I can make my own fine art prints now! The only things I would change would be some things on the printing program for my computer (windows). The program runs slow for some reason and freezes if I don't wait for it to load. I also cannot for the life of me get my images to center completely in the middle of the page. Usually I can figure technical things out by myself but on this I am completely lost. For a fine-art printer I feel like being able to figure out how to center an image onto a sheet of paper would come standard. I am able to get even margins on the left and right (vertical), but the distance on top and bottom I cannot get even so I print it so that there is more space on the bottom. I sign them under the image so it all works out anyways.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

beginner's view

By Anonymous from Davis, WV on 05/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Setup was a snap despite my inexperience. I was afraid I might be in over my head when I ordered this printer as I've never used a professional grade one nor even attempted to print my own photos, but one has to start somewhere and thus far I love it! I downloaded the software as my laptop does not have a CD/DVD - no problems there. As for the prints - they're beautiful whether I color manage or leave it to the printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not happy with the ...

By Thom from Voorheesville ,NY on 05/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not happy with the printer as it only worked for a few early prints and now refuses to print at all ? It keeps indicating that the paper is not loaded in the correct manner and puts the images on hold . Having had 11 different Epsons over the years this one is clearly a disappointment .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expensive joke on Me

By Anonymous from denver ,co on 05/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

IT prints but they all look like very bad the advanced black and white is a joke: no contrast, shadows have blue tint -- yes i cleaned heads, nozzle checke and all that; usde correct icc profiles too; cannot wait to dump this thing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Pro 3880

By Steveg from Oakland Ca on 04/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to unpack and instructions were a breeze to follow and setup. Colors were next to perfect when printing various types of media. I used color profiles when printing and the match to my monitor (calibrated) were just amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Enthusiastic But Disappointed

By Yale from Baltimore on 04/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After only two years, my original 3880 stopped working while displaying error 1127 (carriage won't lock). The repair facility informed me that a "chunk of the carriage had fallen off " and the cost of repair would be prohibitive. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed since the printer had been used only moderately and never damaged in any way. I have given the 3880 five stars because it is a great printer when working properly ( I have since purchased a new one ). My experience was probably an anomaly but, as you can imagine, I am still disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for my needs

By Steve from Tillamook, Oregon on 04/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After doing considerable research on selecting a printer for my fine art reproductions, I decided to get the 3880. Initially thinking the 13" format would be enough, I liked the idea of larger prints and more versatility. Using my DSLR to take RAW images I am making wonderful prints on fine art matte paper that I mount, matte, and place in clearbags or frame. I have sold numerous pieces. No troubles feeding paper or with color adjustments. I use Photoshop Elements and have my monitor calibrator put to good use. After about half a dozen initial attempts, and short learning curve, I am happy with every print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another 3880

By Jeff from Frederick MD on 04/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second 3880. The previous one started leaking black ink after using it for 3 years and 5 months without any problems. A crack developed in the print head and would cost close to the price of a new one to repair (Epson Authorized Repair Center). That being said, I did not hesitate to replace with another 3880. This is a quality printer that delivers excellent Color and Black & White prints. The set-up and operation of the printer is easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 3880

By Jac Finch from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma on 03/30/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Would never advise anyone to purchase this product. I cannot install it on a Windows 8 computer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer for Photographers

By Shoot to Print Gal from Los Angeles on 03/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For me, Epson printers are the industry standard and the only ones I would consider as they are made well, are reliable with few problems, and the inks are excellent. I am extremely happy with my new 3880! I calibrated my iMac monitor to this printer (and 2 papers) using x.rite'e i1 Display Pro and used software called BasICColor. I don't really have to do test prints anymore as they come out perfect. With this calibration, this excellent printer and inks for the 3880, I am good to go for my fine art prints as well as any commercial prints. Highly recommended! The only thing is for heavy paper, which I thought had to be hand fed in the back, it takes some getting used to in getting the printer to accept the paper. But now I learned I can feed it from the top, which is pretty easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylus Pro 3880

By loribob from Edwardsville, IL on 03/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is amazing! I make prints on it of my artwork(paintings) and they come out beautifully every time. The 3880 is affordable for everyone and makes my artwork look astounding. I definitely recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Impossible to beat price, ...

By Almighty from FL on 03/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Impossible to beat price, excellent printer, previous 3800 lasted 6 years, never a problem. Wish all photo products were so reliable. Can't recommend this printer enough. Not for high speed production, per se. But if you want incredible enlargements, this is the machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding

By Bearman from Sayreville N.J. on 02/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had many printers, but this printer is by far a high quality professional printer. I do alot of canvas printing. With this printer loading canvas into the unit is very easy and the prints are fantastic. Epson you did an outstanding job with this printer period.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Printer

By Craig from Miami on 02/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I do B & W Fine Art Photography Prints and I find the speed & detail exactly what I require to show my best work


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Drawman from Henderson, NV on 02/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer and superior quality. I anticipated the ink to be very costly and it is. However the cartridges are of greater capacity. Front load of paper is a little difficult to get the proper alignment. So far I have had two sheets jam in the printer. I found nothing in the manual about proper feed only how to clear paper jam. I have had this printer for approximately 2 weeks and printed 10 copies of my drawings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

epson 3880

By joseph from Dunn, NC on 02/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love It! This is great for my personal photography, and big advantage in providing quality prints to serious customers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Favorite printer

By brownsphoto from St. Louis, MO on 02/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am on my second 3880. I purchased the same printer again (nothing lasts forever) because it works well for me. It is reasonably priced. The photographs look as good as my professional lab. I can print up to 16x20 photographs. I do recommend the extended warranty if you use your printer a great deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880

By liseng from Brooklyn NY on 02/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent choice of printer for a multimedia artist/painter...... Can take almost any fine-art paper and with beautiful results. Only beef..the rear sheet feed is not really working ...my feed gets spurned.... Have not tried the front loader yet...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Service is superb

By photolove from Bay Area, California on 02/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned a a stylus Pro 3800 and a 3880. The 3880 started developing an error that prevented the printer from starting up, just before the warrantee was over. I just restarted it and forgot about it until I tried to turn it on a week later. The issue got worse. I printed beautifully when it was on so I tried not to turn it off. Finally I called Epson. They offered me an exchange for a refurbished printer! Wow! It arrived and it works! As a pro series owner, Epson has a phone number that you can call for help even when your printer is out of warrantee. It has been wonderful! It has fixed several problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW

By Papa John from California on 01/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got my new Pro 3880. The installation was straight forward and easy to follow. The unpacking was a bit more of a challenge, not knowing the printer, but I made it thru. My first print blew me away, it was remarkable. It impressed my wife so much she made me reprint all the photos I had on display. I would strongly recommend this printer to anyone looking to upgrade there photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer and probably worthy of 5 stars.

By mmarlitt from Undisclosed on 01/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only had this printer for a few days so don't look for information on durability or longevity! I love what I've seen so far - the unit is compact, closes up to a sleek profile, is designed with a logical flow and seems like a good value. I have been using an older PS4000 and love the 3880 in comparison. It's not the fastest printer I've used but the output for photos is outstanding. I have used both matte and gloss papers, both BW and color output. All have been flawless. My only design beef with the 3880 is the inability to use roll paper. This is a small issue and one I knew fully going in so was not important enough to dissuade my purchase. For what it offers I would give the 3880 5 stars, but the option of a 3880 model with roller capability would be a great offering. Lastly, for a printer of this price, including even a 'cheap' protective dust cover for the unit would have been nice. I've just flipped over the plastic packing bag and use it, but it certainly isn't as impressive or professional a statement for Epson as it would be under a branded, fitted cover.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Batman from Newmarket, NH on 01/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an upgrade from the R1800 for me. Loved the R1800, but the 3880 is light years ahead. I really like the fact I can use all the signature worthy papers. My favorite is the Hot Press Bright for color and the Exhibition Fiber for B & W.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 3880 Printer

By Frank from Philadelphia, PA on 01/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fanatastic printer; using Epson Hotpress Natural paper and getting results beyond my wildest expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3880

By Peter Pots from Greater Hartford area. on 01/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second 3880. It does a great job on all kinds of paper. I am looking forward to using it to its fullest.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3880

By bear lover from Reston, VA on 01/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really enjoyed using this printer because of the several shades of gray that seemed to give the photo print more depth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH 3880

By AMAZING from Lake Success New York on 01/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since I switched to the 3880, I have never experienced prints which fade, bronze or have color shift. The colors are dead on, they remain as faithful as can be, blacks are blacks and skin tones are as faithful as I can ask for. This printer has revolutionized printing for me, and I couldn't be happier. I only wish that the ink wasn't so darn EXPENSIVE!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Photo printer, Pro results

By captainmarvyl from Minnesota on 01/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this printer to print my photographs for gallery display. It is the second in this series that I have owned. It prints wyswyg color. I only use Epson Ink and paper professionally but it make great prints on bargain paper also. It prints beautifully neutral B&W. It also makes excellent prints on plain and or matte paper because of the matte black ink. My only criticism is the inability to print on roll paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylus Pro 3880

By chuncha from Chicago suburbs. on 12/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Exceptional color reproduction right out of the box. tonal separation is the best I've experienced in an ink jet printer. Easy setup. I was printing minutes after installation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3800

By Anonymous from Barhamsville, on 12/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson 3800 is a great value, easy to use, for outstanding results and beautiful prints. I have been using Epson printers and scanners now for over ten years. They continue to work year after year after year. I use the 3800 to produce fine art digital prints. The results are impeccable. I would recommend this printer without hesitation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Review of Epson 3880

By FLARKPICS from Florida on 12/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is fairly easy to set up. Downloaded S/W to MBP, connected to Router via Ethernet. Initial prints may not be the "look" you are after, but, with some thought ( user info is complicated ) you can achieve success. Even my initial test prints were remarked on by others as to did I print them or were they from a "lab"!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880

By APSICON from Woodstock, NY on 12/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is as close to a major format printer as you can get. The color calibration is accurate and print out put high quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Pro 3880 makes B&W printing possible again

By Hido from Sunnyvale California on 12/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I hesitated buying the Epson Pro 3880 printer for many months because I did not think I could make fine art quality Black and White prints with an inkjet printer. However, after making a few 8 X 10 test prints on both Epson and Ilford paper, I was amazed by the quality of the prints and subtile gradations produced by the Pro 3880. I am looking forward to printing larger photographs soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality of output great, sheet feeder VERY poor

By Sammy from Sydney, NSW on 12/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had a 3880 for about 2 years. It produces very good quality prints. However, for its price point, I would have expected much better paper handling. The main feed slot is relatively easy to use, but the rear feed is VERY poor: this is the only slot you can use for A4 and A2. It takes much tricky handling of paper to get it to be taken up. For example, 5 prints of A4 size have taken nearly 30 minutes to complete, printing time was less than 10 minutes, 20 minutes getting the paper to engage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Upgrade

By Steve from San Ramon, Ca on 12/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got the 3880 for my class. Previously we had the 2400 and started having paper feed problems. We have printed out over 50 pictures and the quality is fantastic-no miss feeds like with the 2400 so we are extremely happy with the professional looking prints that we are producing now in class.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great pro printer

By Ron123 from Houston,TX on 11/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The printer is a little large for my home office but it gives me exactly what I want. A professional product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Preliminary use of Epson Pro 3880

By leroyself from Portland, Oregon on 11/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having printed a few dozen prints from 5x7 up to 22x24 I have gained some experience with the 3880. Profiles were easy to set up. The printer does an excellent job without any added calibration. One thought...it was a little counterintuitive to be able to disable the printer manages color and let my photography software do it. You have to go to Mode and choose automatic--Off (No color adjustment).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply great

By Mac from Orlando, Florida on 11/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the Stylus Pro 3880 last year but was unable to set it up due to sickness. I finely got to set it up and all I can say is that this is one great printer, easy setup and perfect first print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Stylus Pro 3880. ...

By Dkapp from Mineola, Tx on 11/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Epson Stylus Pro 3880. "Bad to the bone", without a doubt the best printer That I have ever owned. The colors are so true and edge to edge correct and has saved me lots of time printing here opposed the using the lab...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SWEET SUCCESS!!!

By webb3040 from Clovis, CA on 10/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just set up the printer today and made my first couple prints. Needless to say, it wasn't a difficult process and I'm excited about the initial results. I know it will only get better as I venture more deeply into the world of inkjet printing. I have relied on photo labs for years to do my printing. It will be wonderful to not always rely on others to get my printing done. I feel like I'm back in the darkroom again. Can hardly wait to get past all my testing and let the BIG prints begin!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply beautiful

By TriManTed from Naples, FL on 10/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 3880 was easy to set up, but make sure you REALLY look for all of the tape locations, holding things together during shipment. The instructions list maybe half of them. So far, I've only used 8.5"x11" paper and about 33% of the time it's scewed and I have to reinsert it. This might be the way I'm placing the paper into the rear slot. The ink cartriges are ample. I've only printed B&W and haven't seen the ink levels change. The B&W prints are fabulous. I printed B&W test prints I downloaded from a few speciality sites and the grays, blacks and whites match their author's descriptions. I'm using Epson Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster and Epson Exibition Fiber Paper with beautiful results. I have lager paper orderd and can't wait to make big prints. I bought the ColorMonki Display, but I'm exchanging it for the ColorMunki Photo Color Management to coordinate the printer to my monitor. Everyone who's seen the prints from this 3880 are truly impressed, as I am.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By john136 from Shaw Island, WA on 10/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the 3880 after my Stylus Pro 2200 failed, with message indicating that internal parts had worn out. The 3880 is so much better that it is difficult to believe the improvement. I wanted a 4900 until I realized how big it is. The 3880 prints up to 17" width, so it covers over 99% of my needs with a footprint only slightly larger than the 2200. I'm glad the 2200 failed after 10 years. The price is only double the value of the ink included with the purchase!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW!

By Billy from Ocean Grove NJ on 10/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 5th Epson printer and I couldn't be happier. Great colors and great B&W.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer I could buy

By Patrick from New York, NY on 09/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a everything I wanted in an inkjet printer and more. The black-and-white abilities of the 3880 make for really outstanding prints, the ink cartridges seem to last for ever, in short this is a real keeper! Patrick.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buy it.

By mike from Las Vegas on 09/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am so particular, and nothing is ever just right for me. But my last Epson printer, the 3800 was just perfect. That 3800 was perfect for color, using the Epson provided profiles, which were better than the custom profiles I had made for it. To boot, I have put thousands of 13x19 sheets through it over the years Then my SACRED 3800 broke ( head started to bleed ink like a crime scene ). Rather than try to fix the 3000, and hope for the best, I decided to buy a new the 3880, hoping to have the same good luck. Time to reset the wear and tear clock rationale. Brother, I have had that good luck and then some. The prints from the 3800 vs the 3880 are virtually identical. I see minor differences, but you would have to be me, to know. This printer (series) is the best Epson printer ever made, color correct and a workhorse to boot. I know the difference - I have now owned 12 Epson printers, replacing them over the years as they have improved. My printer purchase history goes back to the very first stylus color, and including the 3000, the 4000, the 1200, the 1270, the 1280 and so on. fyi, I am a commercial photographer with 30 yrs experience, who shoots lots of food, usually on white plates (color thing), always from very fine restaurants. I am located in a major city. I am so tight with color I squeak when I walk. To say I am color managed, is only the tip of my iceberg. I shoot with a color meter and color correct every individual light on set to boot, with cc gels. To get perfectly neutral, non crossover color, white whites, grey grays, neutral shadows, out of a printer, perfect color matching my display, perfect color by the rgb and cmyk numbers,has always been a challenge at best. My 3800 did it with ease, and my 3880 just matched it on the first print out. I have a GTI viewing booth to determine this,btw fyi. This 3880 is the real deal, great on ink costs as well. For a color and printer nut like me, there is no doubt - this is the printer to have. Super triple no brainer. Buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love the Pro 3880.The ...

By Anne from Georgetown DE on 09/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the Pro 3880.The colors and the black & whites come out so beautiful. I have 5 Epson printers and I find both of my 3880 s do a great job.I broke a piece of plastic in the older 3880.I did not want to be without my workhorse so I ordered a new one.I will have the older one repaired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer!

By digito from San Jose California on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my 3880 for a month now and its absolutely the best printer I have owned. I was a disappointing that it was not a wifi printer but with its network capabilities its pretty much a wireless printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Printer

By deedee from Chicago, IL on 08/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this printer is worth every dollar! didn't give it a 5 star, because the door magnet is not working...minor issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine printer!

By big matt from Hartford, CT on 08/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the prints coming out of this printer- Smooth gradients, beautiful colors- Even with the printer managing the colors! Nice quiet operation, and big ink cartridges mean fewer changes!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3880 review

By gwcbirds from McLeansville, NC on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Epson 3880 is a great printer for desk top professional work. I had the 3800 and worn it out and the 3880 is a great replacement and the best thing is it used many of the inks I had in stock for my 3800. Thanks Epson for the compatibility of the units and inks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By Landscape painter from Northern Virginia on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this little printer. I am a landscape painter and make prints of my work in my studio. The quality of each print is beautiful. Works well with photoshop and a Mac. I use it for my smaller prints and have just replaced my 24" printer with a new one. I actually bought the 3880 to replace a broken larger format printer because I could buy the 2880 for the repair price. However, I missed the larger prints and very much missed using paper rolls.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stylus Pro 3880 is a winner

By Lespix from New York on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product fully lives up to Epson's moto: It exceeds my vision. I am a seious amateur, and printing on this machine makes me feel like a pro. The pop and accuracy of the colors are superb, the gamut and quality of available high-end papers is inspiring and the ease of use cannot be beat. Keep up the good work, Epson!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good exprence

By vic from Kingston, Georgia on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After buying four other brands of large format printer and none of them lasting more than one year I ask a lot of questions of fellow photographers and store associates All answers pointed to Epson as the most well constructed unit. I had orginaly looked at another model but every were i looked it was back ordered. being i need a unit i went to the 3880 over a smaller unit. I have not been disappointed . The black and white images are a wonderful experience matching my images from the dark room.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT MAC FRIENDLY

By Bob from Bay Area, CA on 07/22/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just purchased and installed and the Epson printer utility crashes with Mac OS X 8. Unbelievable that such a supposedly quality product doesn't work with an operating system with a huge installed base. Sure wish I could return it. And yes, I did load the latest Epson drivers for OS X 8.x and no it still doesn't work... Be prepared to spend lots of hours trying to trouble shoot this. Apparently my time is of no value to Epson.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 3880

By Artist Jan from Ramona, CA on 07/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have not had it long, so haven't tested it on different media (yet), but the first fine art print that I made came out beautifully, without any need to adjust colors. It was probably the closest screen-to-print visual match that I have ever seen. The blue's were incredibly brilliant! I was very pleased with the quality and saturation of the different hues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Product

By Rooster from Greensburg, PA on 07/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The print quality for color prints is unbelievable. Black and White photos just pop off the page if you understand black and White photography editing and setup. Printing made easy with Epson!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson 3880 great printer

By dan from California on 06/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an Epson2880 for several years. I sold it and purchased the 3880. Several friends of mine have this printer and recommend it highly. The college I have taken courses at has this printer and I have seen the excellent print quality that comes out. These are the reasons I purchased the Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Inkjet Printer. I was also informed that I can save a great deal of money using the 3880 print cartridges over the 2880 cartridges. The print quality is unbelievable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An impressive printer

By Mike from Detroit, Michigan on 06/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a pro photographer I've used Epson photo printers for many years and have always been impressed with the quality of the prints. Mind you, the final print quality is only as good as the preparation. The 3880 is a huge quantum leap and produces awesome prints. I use a variety of papers and the output is impressive with each one. It's got the 'wow factor' and gives my clients a warm and fuzzy feeling when they get their prints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

previous owner 3800

By bear from Kanab Utah on 06/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I previously owned the 3800. I was very happy with it. The 3880 replaces the 3800 which was worn out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Time User

By Eastep from New York, NY on 06/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is what I want from my technology, ease of use. I had not used any of the wide format pro printers until I purchased the 3880. I was happy with the way I went from set up to producing portfolio fine art prints in the course of a day or so.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliability Poor

By JohnM from Boulder, CO on 06/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I affirm all the raves about print quality given in other reviews, when it works. I've had years of experience with both the 2200 and the R2880 with little problem, and am pleased with the improved print quality from the 3880. However, this is the first time I ever felt the need to buy an extended warranty on any product. In one year I've had it replaced 3 times due to failure to deliver any ink at all, platen gap problems, and communication problems. The one I have now often fails to recognize it's cartridges on startup, I have to keep reseating them. Sometimes it won't feed paper at all. So far I've got it working by turning if off and on again, sometimes several tries are required. Also it gives 150C error codes and says a service call is needed. Restarting usually clears this. Some of these problems also occurred with the previous copies of this printer I had. I suspect it will soon need replacement. Replacements are all referbs, I wonder if they aren't fully vetted out. Maybe I'm just unlucky, but I know it's not me. I'm an experienced professional who has designed, built, and worked with sensitive, technical electronic equipment all his life. All said and done, I don't know of another printer I'd rather have. I just hope that before my warranty extensions run out I can get a reliable working copy of this printer. I would only recommend this product to a friend with the warning that he might get a bad copy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Printer Upgrade

By Truitt Photographics from Fort Worth, TX on 05/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just purchased a new Pro3880 Epson Stylus printer to replace my 3800 that has served me well for about six or seven years. As with all Epson products the install went smoothly! I also have the Epson 7900 and the print quality from both of these printers never ceases to amaze me or my clients.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved