Home » Computers » Computer Displays » Projectors » V11H331020 » 22 Reviews

Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 705hd Multimedia Projector - 1280 X 800 Wxga - 16:10 - 5.07lb - 2year Warranty (v11h331020) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Auto iris

By Bob from Lowell, MI 49331, USA on 01/17/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We get the auto iris all the time! Hate it! Of course this started after the warranty expires.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Had this for 3 years and used it as my tv.

By Todd from mississauga, Canada on 07/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Died last night but it was so awesome that I am writing a review and getting a replacement bulb. True HD with great colours. I had it calibrated and my movies were like in the cinema. It did over 3000 hrs in eco mode. Definitely worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still going strong

By Vett_Guy from Lancaster, Ohio on 01/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this projector as a Christmas Gift for myself in 2009 and after 3 years it's still going strong. I only had 1 minor issue with it. After owning it for about 2 or 3 months, the front leveling leg stopped operating correctly. I called Epson and the person I spoke to was very friendly and advised me to ship it back for a replacement. I was told to keep my present Projector until the replacement arrived. Once the replacement arrived (which was shipped next day air) it included a postage paid shipping tag for FedEx. I have never come close of dealing with a company that stands behind their product half as well as Epson does, and a two year warranty at that!!!! When the day comes where this Projector needs replaced I will look no further than Epson. I have recommended many friends to purchase an Epson Projector if they want to get the most out of their Money. Thank you once again for your excellent service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy! Value & Performance!

By GoonerFan from San Francisco, CA on 12/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this projector for nearly 2 years now, and I think only now will I have to think about getting a new bulb. Granted I don't have a TV subscription and use only for streaming sports, movies and gaming, it still seems to have lasted quite some time. I love this projector. Highly recommended especially for your first one. Pros: Great color, size, easy to set up, multiple inputs, settings that help control how the screen is set up so you have placement options. Relatively small, pretty lightweight. Cons: after 1.5 yrs the fan was a bit louder than before. Newer units may have more connectivity options, but this one has enough! When the unit is tilted severely, the sharpness of the picture varies from top to bottom a little, but nearly unnoticeable. Enjoy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My experience with 705HD Projector

By Frank from Rochester, MN on 03/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first experience with the projector was puzzling. I have one lap top with Windows XP and another one with Windows 7 operating system. I followed the manual but to no avail. Thanks to your friendly and capable tech support everything is now in a working order.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Projector

By Marc from Oahu, Hawaii on 02/16/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had one for about 2 years now. It has survived a move from Alaska to Hawaii and sees a lot of use. Still on the original bulb too. Perfect device for my setup and use. The only thing the proector does that bugs me is this little beep noise when it's on. Every 2-3 seconds a low-volume beep comes from it. It doesn't come from the speaker, instead it seems to come from the device itself. Any volume level higher than talking drowns it out however.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EPSON 705HD Projector

By DogBiker from West Islip, New Your on 01/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using the 705HD projector for about 2 months and it has performed beautifully. I use it to teach classes on canine care, behavior and training. I have used it to show power point slide presentations, CD videos and to show U-Tube videos. It is easy to set up and use. The projection image is clear and easily visible. Having this projector has made my classes more interesting and expanded the educational material that I can use utilize to teach a subject that is very dear to my heart, canine behavior. I can explain in great detail what the behavior looks like but being able to show the behavior using the 705HD projector is worth a thousand+ words. When I first bought the projector I was a bit apprehensive because I wasnt sure if it would perform as I was hoping. Well, after 2 months of use I feel I made the right choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PowerLite Home Cinema 705HD

By WarTiger13 from Dallas, TX on 01/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the 705HD primarily for gaming and TV watching. Paired with my Xbox360, games went from good to amazing. The picture is bright and clear, colors were good right out of the box (i did alter them slightly). Sports on TV also look great. Even sports with lots of movement and action such as basketball and hockey play smoothly. The built in speakers sounded rather bad. Best way for me to describe them is talking in a tin can down a cave. However, I run all my audio sources to a receiver and floor speakers anyway, so the built in speakers were not much of an issue. Overall, this projector is very nice and can be had for a reasonable price. Great color and picture on my 94 inch screen. There are a few things to note for new projector buyers: No lens shift which limits mounting/ placement options. Only one HDMI which makes using multiple sources more difficult (An A/V receiver can fix this issue). Do your research on what you need and I'm sure you can find an Epson that will fill your needs like this 705HD did for me. I would recommend this product to a friend in a heartbeat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great projector with oustanding customer service!

By Dee Iznbii from Boise, Idaho on 01/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My family bought this projector for Christmas of 2009 and we absolutely love it! We have all of our entertainment devices hooked up to it including our DVD, HD Cable television, game console, and even my wifes HTC " EVO phone has played through it via HDMI cable; It has become a true entertainment center. Weve hosted BSU football parties at our house (Blue and Orange has never looked better), the kids love to play the Wii on the HUGE screen, and the money weve saved not having to go to the theater has paid for the projector many times over. The image is good enough to watch in a daylight lit room, yet really pops at night! The contrast ratio is a little low, yet for the price of the machine it doesnt bother me. One downside is that although the lifespan of the bulb is rated for 4000-5000 hours, we have had two bulbs so far that have not gone past much more than 1000hrs. Though this has been disappointing, Epson has really come through on their customer service in replacing the bulb, twice, at no cost to me and receiving it within a week of calling customer support; great job Epson! What persuaded me to initially buy an Epson projector was the price for what you get, and the great online reviews. What keeps me as a customer is the phenomenal customer service Epson has provided thus far. I would (and already have) recommend this projector to anyone looking for one as a inexpensive yet effective way to setup a great home entertainment system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD PROJECTOR ! VERY BRIGHT AND SMART FUNCTIONS

By rufranco from Orlando, FL on 12/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very Good home and medium business projector. Covered my expectatives, blacks are not too good but depends also in video source, dvd's are not good either with blacks so no big complaints. smart functions auto keystone, pc connection might be improved. User instructions might be expanded too, not very detailed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good for the price but

By D4EO from Weston CT on 11/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to return it because it was to replace a Runco set at 21' from the 10' diagonal screen and the picture was either too small to fit that screen or flooded way beyond it at the three possible larger projection sizes. I called Epson and they confirmed the problem and recommend their 8350, 8700, 9500 or 9700. I will buy one of those.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great projector

By PA Projector from Philadelphia, PA on 10/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Completely satisified with this little projector. Purchased after doing a lot of research on what's available for a simple home theater. I went with LCD as a couple of family members can see the rainbow effect on DLP and felt woozy after watching movies with a DLP projector (we borrowed to test.) Light output, colors, and resolution are great on a big 4x8 panel we're using as a screen. We're using econo mode as we have a darkened corner of our basement set-up as a theater. With econo mode the fan sound is significantly diminished. Both DVDs and Blu-ray look great. Hope not to have to buy one soon yet part of purchase consideration was the cost of a replacement bulb. Epson compared favorably here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great,, Quick and ...

By Tim from mansfield ohio on 10/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great,, Quick and easy to setup. It is cool to have a theater in your basement. You just gotta love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome projector

By Mwcelentano from Stockton, ca on 10/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a reasonable cost 720p projector, and was deciding between the Epson and one of the Optoma lines. After doing a bit more research, it seemed that the Epson would work out better for our lighting situation (which isn't full darkness). The picture quality, build quality, and operation are all stellar. I am so glad I purchased this instead of settling on a tiny 47 inch led tv at the same price. The only downside is that the speaker is a bit weak and the unit does not offer any audio out options. If you are not using the speaker onboard, then that means you will have to run this through a reciever, so keep this in mind. A great product though, I would totally buy it again. The quality is amazing for a 720 unit. I figure I will use this for 3-5 years, and by then maybe the 1080p units will be out. I am mostly using it for gaming though, so 1080p isn't a priority for me right now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grey is not Black

By bsandy from East Peoria, IL on 09/16/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just opened mine last night. Tried both the HDMI and Component inputs. In 16:9 mode there are grey bars at the top and bottom. Any screen that is supposed to be black is grey. Brightness control is not a true brightness control. (It's more like a lame contrast control from 1970.) The only thing that is black is the backgroup of a menu once you move right on to it, so it is capable of producing black. Called Epson. They are sending me another. The Epson rep said "There should be no grey bars at the top and bottom on the Home Cinema line". We'll see Monday.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture - Pro's & Con's

By Vette from Kentucky on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

PRO's: This projector, for the money, has an amazing picture and is better than I had hoped for. Easy to set-up and recognized my signal source automatically. Great projector for the price. CON's: The projector fan is loud even when running in "Eco" mode. It makes a clicking sound similar to a computer along with the fan noise. This is not a problem when watching movies with the sound system turned up but, when watching normal TV, the clicking from the projector can be annoying. Just so you know, I am running a 120w/7.2 suround system and not relying on the projector to provide sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Took me some time to ...

By movie night from Denver, CO on 02/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took me some time to utilize the options to get the picture desired. There is no manual and on line support not too helpful, so talked to a tech on the telephone. Tech helped me to a great extent. Replaced an older high end projector that produced a very good picture regardless of the content, ie sports, movies etc. The versitility of this unit often requires changing settings to get the desired picture, a bit of a nuisance, but with satisfactory results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

705 projector

By Buz from Nonth Carolina on 02/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I already have the Moviemate 60 and it is great! But I wanted HIDEF! Well I now have it with the 705! I have a 10 ft screen with a Blueray player and it's fantastic! I also stream movies with Netflix the picture is perfect!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This thing has a better ...

By couchtater from southwest indiana on 02/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This thing has a better picture than my LED TV could not be easier to hook up. The best thing I like about it is when friends come over and they see the giant clear picture their jaw hits the floor and they are lost for words.When they finally snap out of it they ask how in the world could we afford something like that .Well worth the money,portable mine came in a real nice carry case with HDMI cable The picture almost has a 3D effect You will need a surround sound system to make a theatre effect


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

705HD

By Barry from Phoenix, AZ on 11/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After spending considerable time doing research for the best wide screen HD format projector for the money, as my budget was limited, I purchased the Epson 705HD. I had some concerns at the time regarding the contrast ratio, and if the performance during dark video scene's would be disappointing. I found the picture quality very acceptable, for the price, right out of the box. My only wish list item would be an audio out connection at the projector to drive a small external amp and speakers for portable applications. When using my computer and using the HDMI interface the computer disables the alternate computer audio output, so I am forced to use the VGA connection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

705hd

By fran beeler from lafayette, IN on 11/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought projector for my sons bedroom for gaming and it was easy to set up and he was playing in 5 minutes. Great product !!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

705HD Delivers

By eric from Vancouver, Canada on 10/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We enjoyed the Powerlite 76C for several years before it suffered a fatal breakdown. Epson was very helpful and fair when this happened. The new 705HD has clearly been re-disigned for better operation. The bulb is less expensive and is rated to last longer. The fan pumps heat out the front, instead of sideways (onto the audience). The resolution is better. Although the fan is quiet, it is still a bit of a presence, which is the reason for not giving a rating of 5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved