Home » Computers » Computer Displays » Projectors » V11H444020 » 12 Reviews

Epson MegaPlex MG-850HD LCD Projector - 720p - HDTV - 16:10 - F/1.6 - 1.7 - NTSC, PAL, SECAM - 1280 x 800 - WXGA - 3,000:1 - 2800 lm - HDMI - USB - VGA - 277 W Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

66% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

great !!

By deanc from ca., wa. on 03/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great picture, easy setup,excellent customer service, fast shipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

850HD Projector

By tkcubs from Undisclosed on 12/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit is easy to set-up and use, the brightness excellent and the clarity of the projection easy to fine tune. The interface with an iPad is moderate at best, the connection acceptable but far more flimsy than I would have expected. I also thought of this as a portable unit, so the absence of a carrying case seems like an oversight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

megaplex mg-850

By Will from Savannah GA on 10/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Beautiful picture easy to set up I use this for outdoor movies and some football and concert films Movies look great the color is on the mark and the blacks look just fine the price was right Movies look just as good as the old drive ins did Epson has made going to the drive in a reality once again thanks Epson


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Epson Mega Plex MG 850 HD

By Michael from Placervile , CA on 08/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

TO conclude I hope Epson continues to make and improves this projector. I would most definitely buy another one when the time comes to replace it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No matter what ...

By Don from Colorado on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

No matter what adjustments I make to the image, there is always a yellow tint to the image. When the projector is on, you can even see a yellow tint inside the projector where the lamp is located. It mostly appears in the upper half of the projected image.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect

By Dave from Santa Cruz, CA on 05/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a projector that I could use for an occasional PC presentation and at home with my iPAD. I quickly learned that there are trade offs with projectors, that one size does not fit all. Then I discovered the Megaplex 850HD. This is technically a home theater projector yet small enough to carry away from home for that occasional presentation in a conference environment. While I've only used it a short while I found it to set up easily and works perfectly with my PC and iPAD. The picture is bright (even in economy mode), sharp, and the machine runs quietly. The built-in speakers are adequate but external speakers can be used with the source, eg iPAD, to realize true stereophonic sound when streaming videos with music. In short, I think this machine perfectly fits what I had in mind.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Chios1969 from Pasadena, California on 01/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's a very nice and obviously portable unit from Epson for the money, and very easy setup with both the iPad and A/V inputs. The clarity was better than I expected and it was very easy to 'true' the image. The sound was very good with the built-ins and the online interface was very intuitive, so much so that the printed quick start installation was hardly needed. I'm very pleased with what Epson has offered for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not compatible with iPhone 5

By tech-savvy chic from LA on 12/02/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's too bad there is no convenient solution for iphone5 use. Technical support is clueless when it comes to the Lightning port on the new Apple iPhone5. I purchased a 30-pin to Lightning adaptor from Apple. It simply allows users to connect with all their previous accessories. When I placed my phone on the dock with the adaptor, the Epson recognizes that there is an iPod device attached, but it does not project what is displayed on my iPhone5. I've heard of a convoluted workaround using an HDMI cable & an additional adaptor. With all of that, I may as well purchase a different product with direct support for the latest iPhone devices. Or, at the very least, Epson should release a "software patch" or an App that will make this compatible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no iPhone 5 support

By MSH from Austin, TX on 11/07/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Epson does not and will not offer support or the docking hardware for iPhone 5 (or further releases). Buyer beware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dock is bad quality

By Quinn from West linn, or on 06/18/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was so excited to receive this projector for family fun, so when it arrived I quickly unpacked it only to find out that the dock didn't work!!! I noticed the iPod dock looked like it had some grease on the bottom but didn't pay much attention until I realized that the dock didn't work. Now I get the joy of dealing with customer service without even getting a chance to use it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought this with fingers crossed...

By dcdcosta from Weston, Florida on 12/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After reading ecstatic reviews on this projector I decided to get it with Epson's money-back assurance. My main worry was that the picture would be disappointing when judged against my excellent 46inch Sony LCD. Well, it turns out that the LCD still wins (obviously) but the Epson runs it a very decent second while providing the large-screen movie experience I wanted. It is useable in "normal" light and VERY nice at night: bright, sharp. I also purchased an Epson screen -- a necessity with projectors, I think. I did have one glitch in getting it up & running with my system. When I tried to connect it directly via HDMI to my AT&T cable-box/DVR it refused to play sound on HD material. Regular video was fine, but HD audio came across as a roar. Calls to support yielded suggestions and I finally tracked down the problem to direct connections to the AT&T box; when I routed the HDMI signal via my receiver (which is what I really should have done, so the Epson would provide the picture and my home speakers the sound) everything was perfect. The projector controls are easy and logical and the overall experience very satisfying. My only real wish for this unit is that it would provide direct support for playing VOB/.iso files directly from an attached hard drive. But this is a detail -- the unit functions just as advertised. And that large picture definitely improves the experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brilliant Images

By fstopover from Tuscaloosa, AL on 11/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The image quality, using iPhoto images on my Macbook is superb. There are ports for every kind of cable. The ease of use is exceptionable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved