Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Kitchen Utensils » Cookers & Steamers » HS1050 » 33 Reviews

Farberware Hs1050 B&d 7 Quart Food Steamer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 33 reviews)

81% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Perfectly steamed rice every time!

By Flobo from Baton Rouge, LA, United States on 07/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second steamer,the first steamer is still working perfectly,I wanted a second one for a house warming gift. Replacement parts are easy to order.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is easy to use!

By Steamqueen from Baltimore, MD, USA on 01/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my Black and Decker steamer. I love it so much, I ordered one as a gift for a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this is a awesome product ...

By wrongway from Gerber, Gerber-Las Flores, CA 96035, USA on 12/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a awesome product have been using them for years. it makes steaming vegetables so easy. just set the timer and forget it continue on with the rest of your cooking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does Not Cook Brown Rice

By RJ416 from Lubbock, TX, USA on 12/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this food steamer because my twenty year old steamer gave up the ghost. I bought it mainly to cook brown rice. I've cooked brown rice twice and it has not cooked at all. The water doesn't even get hot. The material quality of the unit isn't up to par compared to the last one I owned. The dial mechanism is cheaper, the rice bowl is thinner, the basket trays are thinner. I'm disappointed and wish I could buy the old Hs80.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Our daughter has an older ...

By Vitamins from California, USA on 12/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our daughter has an older model and this iteration beats it hands down! The flexibility it can be used as a 3, 4 or 7 cup model as easy as just stacking up the containers. The timer is accurate and it doesn't take long to figure out how much time is needed for a specific task. Although I certainly can boil perfect eggs a lot faster on my stove top.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best for fresh veggies!

By Roxx from Upstate New York on 11/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I discovered this wonderful appliance years ago and when I wore out the one I was given as a gift. I live in fear that this great item will have been discontinued. Thank goodness it's still available. I would be lost without it. Efficient, simple, practical and predictable. It's the best for fresh veggies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Updated features but cheap plastic.

By Mountain8Man from Portsmouth, VA on 10/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We needed to replace our 20 year old Black and Decker steamer that began to leak. The new 7 quart steamer has lots of updated features and large capacity. Too large for most of our needs. The egg holding feature may be useful since I have learned steaming is better way to get hard boiled eggs. Love all the new features. My biggest disappointment is the flimsy cheap plastic the baskets are made of. The snap in bottoms reduce the integrity. I wish Black and Decker made a 2 quart steamer as an alternative and improve the quality of the plastic baskets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the steamer

By laura from Amherst, NY, USA on 10/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This handy product is great for steamed veggies as well as hundreds of healthy recipes .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this product

By JaeLyn from Chico, CA, USA on 10/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm replacing the original steamer that I purchased at least 10 years ago. I'm so dependent on it that I'm getting the exact model, complete with rice basket.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Cab58 from Salmon, I'd on 09/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second steamer from B&D. I use it all the time. The first one I had did not have the double deck. But I love the extra room for other foods. It works great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Steamer! I would recommend it!

By lovechile1967 from Charleston, SC, USA on 09/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We eat lots of steamed veggies, fish, etc. And, work such long hours. This is my 2nd steamer from Black and Decker in 17 years. It,s a great product. Highly recommend !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By Bill from Cicero,NY on 09/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an older model of a Black and decker steamer and it is over ten years old....... .i decided to get one for my motor home. I like the new better so I am putting the old on in the motor home and will use the new one in the house. If you keep them clean they last a very long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

7 quart food steamer

By hopper from Sunman, IN 47041, USA on 09/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this steamer. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in a food steamer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Steamer is good for a ...

By DelicatecentPoppy from San Luis Obispo, CA, USA on 09/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Steamer is good for a multitude of possibilities, I plan on buying a couple of more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product works great.

By Livingsimply from Jupiter Florida on 08/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third steamer. I used the others almost every night. I am very pleased with the performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing Replacement

By VegetableLover from Birmingham, AL, USA on 08/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was trying to replace my original B & D steamer which I loved and used constantly. This was the closest I could come with another B & D, and it isn't close at all. It's too big, there's no steaming guide booklet, and the pattern of steaming holes doesn't work as well. Also there are no definitive water level guides for different types of foods. Please bring back the old model HS80!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LIKE VEGTABLES COOKED ...

By BOBBY from ORWIGSBURG PA on 08/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LIKE VEGTABLES COOKED SO I DONT HAVE TO CHEW THEM SO FAR IVE COOKED BROCOLI AND STRING BEANS WHICH BOTH REQUIRED MUCH LONGER TIMES TO GET al dente.THE BEANS WERE FAIRLY FRESH SO ILL HAVE TO EXPERIMENT. PERHAPS IF YOU COULD SLIGHTLY RAISe THE STEAM TEMPERATURE THIS WOULD SIMULATE BOILING.THE DESIGN IS VERY GOOD.ROBERT MCGIRR 8-7-14


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for steaming ...

By Jbrue from Undisclosed on 08/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great for steaming vegetables, especially fresh corn on the cob.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Knob" broke

By MACE from Lake Forest, CA, USA on 08/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I filled up my new food steamer and turn the "Knob" and It stripped after only 3 uses. The "knob" on the timer broke. I can compare it to a model I bought back in the 90's. Poor quality. Plastic not strong enough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broken Knob

By MACE from Lake Forest, CA, USA on 08/01/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The food steamer works great however the knob stripped after just 3 uses ....The model I have from the late 90' is made with much stronger plastic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome product!

By Shebo from Felton, PA, USA on 07/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we are really loving our new steamer!! with all of the fresh vegetables in season, our meals are delicious and healthy and ready in minutes!!! it's wonderful!! and steaming shrimp is so easy and yummy and the clean-up is hassle-free!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Steamer!

By STLCook from St. Louis, MO, USA on 07/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this product for several years now. I use this steamer effortlessly for a variety of uses including fresh vegetables since as green beans, corn on the cob, etc ... I also use it to steam ground beef to make "Maid Rite" sandwiches, a Midwest chain of loose meat resturants.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is a must for tasty, healthy meals.

By HealthyCook from Mesquite, TX, USA on 05/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I bought my first food steamer (another Black & Decker) fifteen years ago, I had no idea what an essential appliance it would become in my kitchen. Whether I am cooking for one or a group, I depend upon my steamer to cook delicious vegetables. I am a very health-conscious cook and much prefer fresh or frozen vegetables to canned. I cook all sorts of vegetables, but my favorites are steamed potatoes and steamed broccoli, together or separately..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

basket not well made

By d2014 from Undisclosed on 04/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am on my 3rd steamer. The basket keeps wearing out, as it is not made very sturdy. However, I keep replacing it as it cooks perfect rice, brown rice, and grains every time. Better than any other product I've tried.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

7 quart Food Steamer Review

By Clancey from Williamsburg, VA, USA on 04/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Was glad to find another B&D steamer, I had the older model for over 15 years. I hope this model will last just as long!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A lot like my old one, but with added features

By SteamedVegetables2Good from Libertyville, IL, USA on 04/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My old Black and Decker steamer finally steamed enough. With it's great history of lasting a long time and doing a great job I looked no further than Black and Decker again. I am pleased with my new steamer and so is my family. It will take some getting use to having removable bottom plates, but being able to stack will allow more to be steamed, as well as a variety of items. Nice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannot find manual on how ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Cannot find manual on how to use it. Assembly for use not obvious. Inferior plastic not flame proof


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I LOVE my steamer!!

By steamerlover from Undisclosed on 07/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE my steamer!! My family is getting tired of me saying that at almost every meal. I am back on-line ordering yet another one for another friend!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great addition to any kitchen

By Luv2Cook from San Diego CA on 12/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product. I use it for fresh vegetables, rice and eggs. Absolutely no complaints. You can't beat the convenience. Take vegetables out when finished. If they sit on the auto warmer after cooking they will continue to cook and get soft. I use this on weekends to cook vegetables for the week. Hard boiled eggs are so easy, no more piercing the end with a pin. I cook them a little longer than suggested. It doesn't work well doing a double batch of rice; follow the instructions. I live in Southern California with very hard water. Cleaning with white vinegar every couple months as recommended in the instructions works like a charm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Madhatter from Springdalea, AR on 09/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned this rice cooker for years. Rice comes out perfectly. Wouldn't be without it for steamed asparagus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Quality

By UnhappyTuck from Sugar Land, Tx on 08/03/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product has only worked correctly twice. It stops steaming in the middle of the cycle and sticks on "refill". Have cleaned it with vinegar more than I've used it successfully!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

use it everyday!

By Gina from Philadelphia, PA on 08/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first Black & Decker steamer lasted me over 10 years and I loved it. When it finally died, I bought this one with the dual baskets. I've had this one over a year now. It's great to cook rice and veggies at the same time. I use this almost every single day and my food turns out perfect everytime. LOVE IT!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Ever

By r8j1 from Ft Stewart GA on 04/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We wanted to eat healthy and not boil all our food then we found this food steamer and it was the best purchase we ever made. It also steams rice to perfection. We Love this steamer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved