Home » FAC124P1A » 26 Reviews

Frigidaire Fac124p1a 12,000 Btu Compact Room Air Conditioner Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 26 reviews)

76% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

10000 btu a/c

By Ed from Undisclosed on 09/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Cools room very nicely but is much noisier than i expected or would like.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fra106cv1

By anna from Undisclosed on 09/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great running machine! we had one for a long time and we needed a new one .it was great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

How cool!!!

By Pastor Paul from Undisclosed on 08/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a 76 year old Minister of the gospel, who enjoys working with wood in my garage shop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By Kayla from Undisclosed on 08/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with this air conditioner so far (had it for about 2 months). It's sleek, energy efficient and keeps my room cool. It can be a bit loud at times but overall, I'm happy with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great 10k btu AC

By Fabulous French Fry from Undisclosed on 07/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nothing but praise for this well-built efficient relatively low noise AC


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Air Conditioner

By jb from Undisclosed on 07/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very energy efficient and does a great job


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great AC

By Jammi25 from Undisclosed on 07/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Im happy with my Frigidaire Air Conditioner. Its my 1st time buying a Frigidaire product. I love the remote control features and is very easy to install and use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it!!!

By SdlewisSr from Undisclosed on 07/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love everything about this A/C. The remote is my favorite feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor constuction

By Jack from Undisclosed on 07/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Although the package itself was not damaged, the unit had one of the front air vents pushed in so that I could not adjust. Repaired this myself. Also, the front panel had black dirt on it that I could not fullly remove. Also, the rear cooling fins had what appeared to be a silver colored substance that looked like it was splashed on. Could not remove it. Lasty,even though stated in the manual, the room temperature varied by 2 degrees which meant I had to constantly change the setting from the remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase!

By peace4q1 from Undisclosed on 07/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to install and operate, offers multiple cooling options


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleased with Features

By JJ from Undisclosed on 06/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Looked for window unit across many makers, for long time. I am impressed with the cooling power of the unit Vs its actual weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool & quiet

By Senior65 from Undisclosed on 06/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought to replace a 9-yr-old a/c. Our new Frigidaire a/c cools a big room quickly, keeps cool, and is especially quiet for an a/c this size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it, love it, love it!

By Patsy from Undisclosed on 12/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a large 10K BTU window a/c unit replacing an LG that sounded like a jet engine! It is also the second Frigidaire a/c purchase this year. (The first was a small bedroom unit - also super quiet.) It is so quiet (relatively speaking) and it cools a large open area: livingroom, open kitchen and hallway. So anyway, the first unit was broken on arrival. Contacted Frigidaire. They send a replacement from a local store and a team to install it. It's very heavy and it was expertly done. They were careful of the floors and cleaned up all the packing materials and swept up when done. I'm a fan!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quit cooling.

By John from Undisclosed on 12/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The Frigidaire Window-Mounted Compact Room Air Conditioner FRA122CV1 worked great right out of the box, but soon lost refrigerant and now, 5 months old, does not cool at all. I contacted Frigidaire and they said they would send a replacement, but now, one month later, no contact from them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality

By bidawi from Undisclosed on 12/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Defective unit within one month of purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

White noise

By Whitenoise from Undisclosed on 12/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

used with a move with bad traffic,fire dept., ambulace. cools fantasticly,used with a smaller room than a living room,and is on 24 hours a day,for conditioning with white noise,though the fan is just in use for the winter.Will continue using Frigidaire no matter how many times,if they break down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frigidaire FRA106CV1

By PJK from Undisclosed on 10/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unit cools well, the remote temperature reading is a good feature. But by present design standards, the unit's interior air circulation is inexcusably noisy, even at the lowest fan speed, due to poor fan design.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

INEXPENSIVE SUMMER RELIEF

By Judy from Undisclosed on 09/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This air conditioner is the best appliance I have ever had! I am 76 years old & have always used window units. When I received my electric bill at the end of the hotest July on record, I was utterly amazed at the lowest charges ever! It ran night & day with the wonderful sleep feature. It worked silently, efficiently & kept the summer heat at bay!! I highly recommend it to & all!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Remote Sensing

By Max from Undisclosed on 06/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only good things to say about this A/C. Strange that the first reviewer had such a major problem with it. I don't experience any splashing water sounds. Perhaps I properly tilted the unit so the water is expelled from the inside of the unit. Fan speeds are loud if you set it higher than the Low Speed setting but I'm not too bothered by that. Now the best feature is the remote control. The remote control monitors actual room temperature. There are buttons to Start or Stop the Remote Sensing feature on the remote control. You point the remote towards the A/C unit, set your desired temperature from the remote and then where it says Remote Sensing you press start. Now the remote control communicates directly with the A/C unit. I set my remote at some distance from the unit in the same room. I also keep it pointed in the direction of the unit since they are communicating with each other. You'll even notice a red blinking light at the tip of the remote control every minute or so. That indicates the remote is in Remote Sensing mode. There will also be a light on the A/C unit indicating the same. Even better if you switch on the Energy Saver feature. This way once the Unit reaches your desired temperature, the Unit and Fan will both shut off. I prefer the Remote Sensing feature because the temperature setting is way more accurate since the remote control itself is getting an accurate reading of the temperature in the room. Great feature. I always operate the A/C in Remote Sensing mode. Otherwise the A/C is not too accurate with that feature off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Noisy and poor room temp control

By Alex from Undisclosed on 10/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just got this unit as a replacement for an 8 year old Frigidaire 10k btu unit. Two differences between the units is this model is significantly narrower and uses R410A refrigerant instead of the "ozone unfriendly" R22. I believe both of these factors have resulted in the noise increase others have reported on various review sites. And make no mistake, this is a loud unit you wouldn't want to sleep in the same room with. This next paragraph is really for engineering types: There's a big push within the AC industry to increase efficiency. However the change from R22 to R410A results in a efficiency decrease (due to the higher operating pressures of 410A vs "freon", causing the compressor to have to work harder = more power for the same cooling). To compensate, manufacturers have redesigned the condensers (the "hot" radiator) to be larger to help keep the high side pressure as low as possible (directly related to how hot the radiator gets). You see this in central air units where the outside component is massive compared to 20 years ago. However, this window unit is smaller than my older unit. If you make the unit smaller, you can't have a large radiator. Also the fan size goes down, the volume of air for a given fan speed is lower. So the only other option to stop the efficiency tanking is to increase the volume of air moving through the condenser (spin the smaller fan much faster). But you get a lot more fan noise by doing this, and that's exactly what you get with this unit. Now, when you run the fan on the lowest speed, it's far more reasonable. With a sound meter you get the following sound levels at a few feet away: Fan max 61db Fan min 53db Unit off 21db (ambient room noise) On max fan, the minimum noise level was 55db anywhere at the furthest distance in my room. For those not so familiar with db sound levels, an increase of 3db is approximately twice as loud. So 53 to 61 makes it about 2.5x as loud on high as on low. The lowest fan setting is much more tolerable, but because the fan is quieter you do hear water splashing sounds from the (deliberate) design of the fan kicking up condensation and splashing it over the condenser. The cooler your condenser, the lower your AC bill, but again at the cost of some extra noise. Lower fan speed also means less efficiency, so when it's blazing hot outside, you'll probably be forced to run it at the higher speeds. The high fan speed is so loud, it masks the water splashing for the most part. Another problem is the temperature control permits wide swings in room temp. The interior room temp today was 79.5F and the unit would not turn on to cool at a setting of 69. I had to take it down to 67 to get it started. Once it does switch on it then overcools the room because of the low setting. I'm not sure how much better other units do at this, but this is pretty poor. All in all, I would weakly recommend this AC unit (it does cool the air) but it can only go in an environment where there isn't a need for quiet and where you don't mind frequently tweaking the controls. I would not recommend this unit for a bedroom (for noise and comfort reasons), and I'd have reservations about it in a living room, especially for a hot climate where it has to work at the high fan speeds. I'd encourage you to preview the unit in person before buying if you can and hear it for yourself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good a/c

By robbie from Undisclosed on 08/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

its nice and cool even when its 105 outside,and light bill isn't to bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AirGreat

By Yuss from Undisclosed on 08/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Window unit is probably the best I've ever had. Lots of great features built into a small, compact really, unit that saves space and performs well. I'm really pleased with it both for price and design. Thanks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By msprissysmom from Undisclosed on 06/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We where looking for a 110 unit that would cool up to 2 rooms, this 10,000 BTU and will cool 500 sqft. It is energy saving and the perfect and affordable unit, easy to install, and the remote will turn the unit on or off at a certain time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

saved me and my pets

By HotHumidCleveland from Undisclosed on 09/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

3 days ago my 13,000 btu LG all of a sudden died, they forcasted 95 degrees for 3 days.. i made it one day and ran to store and picked this 10,000 btu up. it saved me and my pets, it doesnt perform as well as the LG but for the price it is well worth it. The LG i had was a way more expensive model, with tuff times I went with this. I live above a garage in a 2 bedroom apt, this unit cools 70% of my apartment and I am glad the store had some left! Thank you


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WONDERFULLL!!!

By Hot Moma from Undisclosed on 08/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After days of 110-116 degrees, bought this window unit to help central air unit. This window unit cools considerably better, faster and more efficiently than the much larger outside unit. Add a large pole fan to help move air around and it's even better than before. Would absolutely buy another one in a heartbeat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A/C Unit

By DavMich484 from Undisclosed on 12/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to purchase a new A/C Unit when my old unit blow a switch, which would have cost nearly as much as a new unit. So after some researching, Frididaire was right at the top of that list. The old unit I had was a 18,000 BTU's and quite a bit larger, then the 12,000 BTU Frigidaire. But the Frigidaire out performed the larger unit. And uses less energy. I am very happy with my purchase and hope to have many years of cool summers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved