Home » FDL50R1 » 36 Reviews

Frigidaire Fdl50r1 50 Pint Dehumidifier Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 36 reviews)

63% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

good but not amazing

By al from Undisclosed on 12/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far seems good machine but I wouldn't say amazing. Would have thought more choices in that field would have been appropriate like a range of 1-5.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Humidid

By Len from Undisclosed on 12/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit works great in our master bathroom!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It works -- sort of

By tomluoma from Undisclosed on 12/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit is quite well put together. It is quiet, attractive and easy to drain. On the bad side -- 1) it is only settable in 5% increments so given tolerances this could come close to a 10% swing. eg - we set it for 55% but never seems to shut off. And we are never sure what the current humidity is. 2) It is supposed to delay turning on the compressor for a certain period after you start it but does not always do so.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dehumidifier

By Helen from Undisclosed on 12/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think this is an excellent dehumidifier - it keeps our damp basement dry during the summer humidity, and enables me to store fruits and cold season vegetables. Very importantly most of its parts have an extended 5-year warranty - and you can't ask for anything better!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DOESN'T DRAIN THROUGH HOSE

By deedee from Undisclosed on 10/15/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This works for large rooms but only if you empty the bucket all the time. We purchased this for a vacation home that we visit on weekends. It shuts off once the bucket is full so unfortunately it only runs for a couple of days until we can get to it. DOES NOT DRAIN THROUGH HOSE like it says it should. Called customer service; they told me to get a new hose. Called Frigidaire and they said it's not worth it to send someone out to fix it. They were very friendly and refunded our money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what I needed

By jferris from Undisclosed on 10/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We purchased this unit to keep our home more comfortable and possibly run our A/C less in the Texas heat. It worked VERY well. It made the room a lot less humid. So, what's the problem? Well, the dry air released back into the room is heated to over 90 degrees. So, while it was less humid, it was a LOT hotter. That defeated the purpose of getting the device. We returned it after less than 24 hours of use. There is no doubt, it did what it was supposed to do, it was quiet, and it was easy to use. But it was a major fail if you were looking for a cooler environment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A+++

By DL from Undisclosed on 10/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third De-Humidifier and first Frigidaire De-Humidifier. After much research, consumer reports, reviews, etc., I bought this to replace a Sears Dehumidifier that also had good ratings when first purchased. However, shortly thereafter and a few seasons later it started to leak, became very loud and vibrated to the point of moving on its own. The Frigidaire here is exceptional, can barely hear it running on high, controls are easy to read and adjust and the digital readouts pertaining to room moisture content virtually match my stand alone humidity measuring device. It's perfect for my basement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great!

By Michael from Undisclosed on 10/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the dehumidifier to get the humidity out of our finished basement. It works great! Its easy care and love that it drains into our sump pump. So no need to empty out the bucket.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disasster

By Turp from Undisclosed on 10/01/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a piece of junk. Worked for only a few weeks. I will say they were good about giving me my money back. I still had to dispose of the unit. Don't buy this item. Larry


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does a great job

By LRV from Undisclosed on 09/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use this dehumidifier in our basement which has poured concrete walls. Mold began to form on the walls, the doors, and window glass were continually wet. This dehumidifier has completely stopped that problem and keeps it at 45%.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst dehumidifier ever!

By bob from Undisclosed on 09/12/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Don't waste your money on this dehumidifier. I bought this April 2012 and only got 7 months of use before it started freezing up. Definitely won't buy a frigidaire dehumidifier again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dehumidifier

By Larry from Undisclosed on 07/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I now own two units. These units wor tirelessly, they don't complain and they do their job 24/7. They are the closest thing to a robot I can think of. Living in St. Louis with high humidity causes problems with mold, mildew, etc. but not for our family thanks to our frigidare humidifyers. Best investment I have made in years!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for your bedroom.

By flat4u from Undisclosed on 07/12/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Makes too much noise, produces heat, which takes more energy for AC if you are running both simultaneously.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By Shu from Undisclosed on 07/12/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Smaller and quieter comparing to my old unit. If the air flow direction can be adjusted, it will be perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Made in china

By Seattle Sam from Undisclosed on 02/13/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Third in four years. The hose dran still leaks enough to fill the bucket and shut it down. Non repairable condernser leaks on a 70 pint so all i bought was a 50 pint. Choices are slim to very expensive, Keeps under-hpuse area within expectation if I don't expect too much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Noisy

By Menchar from Undisclosed on 02/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Seems to be quite noisy for an indoor appliance - the fan isn't too bad, but the compressor is quite loud. The unit seems to run a lot - cycles on and off continuously when it's working against a high humidity level (75% RH) - gets down to target humidity, then turns off, then comes on about an minute later. I haven't seen my electric bill yet but suspect it will be big increase from running so much of the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does a great job but had some issues

By heneme from Undisclosed on 02/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this for my basement... I must say it does a wonderful job, but I did find some design flaws. My first one, had some issues with the handle on the bucket.. it was VERY weak, you had to hold the bucket from the bottom to empty. Though the first one ran very quietly. When the bucket broke, I could not get just the part-on back-order. It was within the warranty period so took it back to the store and they replaced it. The bucket on the second was of a better design, but now I find that this one has a terrible vibration "buzz" in the housing when it runs. Due to the fact it is in the basement, it doesn't bother me so much, but I can hear it upstairs once in a while. Overall, very good unit. I do notice a jump in my electric bill, but that is way better than mold / mildew damage in my basement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Dehumidifier

By Marmaduke from Undisclosed on 02/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit has many great standard items! I like the fact that when you turn it on the humidity is shown. The timer also is great bas i can set it fir the amount of hours I want it to operate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should have listened to the other reviews...

By SadPanda from Undisclosed on 10/09/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Other reviews mentioned that this unit never turns off...I blew these statement off thinking that the spaces the units were being used in kept getting reintroduced to moist air. However, after owning one for over a month now, I've come to fully realize that this unit really does NEVER turn off (unless full). I do not have my unit on the continuous setting. I have it set for 45. However, it will often get down to 40 (never below) and sit, continuously running, at 40. The unit is in a single medium sized room with little new moist air being introduced to it, yet it still runs. I just received my electric bill too. It definitely reflects the cost of running the dehumidier constantly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works great

By jason from Undisclosed on 08/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product works great. As advertised, unit is relatively quiet and really pulls the moisture from the air quickly. Using in a daylight basement apartment. I let the unit constantly run and it auto shuts off when full. I'm not using the drain function. I empty it about once every 2 days or so. Jason


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Success

By V from Undisclosed on 08/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased the Dehumidifier in the fall 2011. It worked fine but would not drain. We tried everything returning it to the place of purchase reading the directions again and again, nothing worked. Finally we called the manufacturer and were told there was a manufacturing issue and the unit needed an additional part. We received the part, installed it and it works beautifully. Our only wish is that you would inform the sales outlets when you have product issues so that they could help the customers locally.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Dehumidifier

By Happy1 from Undisclosed on 08/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit works great. I like that the air intake is in the front and the exhaust is on top. That way I can put it up against the wall and out of the way. I also like the visible float in front so I can easily see the water level and empty it before it reaches the top and turns off automatically.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Surprised and Disappointed

By CM from Undisclosed on 08/13/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My previous Frigidaire 50 pint dehumidifier was great (though it did break down after just 2 years)! The air was a side discharge that I really liked and it was very quiet. This replacement unit is a top discharge (which I don't like) and is really noisy!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rarely shuts off

By DRM from Undisclosed on 08/11/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Has been running for 2-3 months almost never shutting off. Clear drain hose is mostly dry as well as drain it goes in. Have it set at 60 and humidistat across room says 60%. For an Energy Star appliance it sure uses a lot of power, as my bill for just the dehumidfier is approx. $20 per month per my "watt wise" meter I have attached to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fridgidare 50 Pt Dehumidifier

By jc from Undisclosed on 08/10/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Dehumidifies satisfactorily. But far too noisey.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A+++ Dehumidifier!

By MsC from Undisclosed on 08/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Frigidaire 50 Pt Dehumidifier at the start of this summer, and am glad I did! It has been wet and humid here in Maine. This dehumidifier has run efficiently, keeping my basement - and all of my stored items and model train layout dry and free of mildew! I had a flood in June, and it dried out the space in no time (after I mopped up most of the water)! Easy to empty, clean the filter, quiet and doesn't throw too much heat - much less than my old one. I would not hesitate to recommend this dehumidifier!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not happy

By Kathy from Undisclosed on 05/15/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Recently purchased the 50 pt. dehumidifier. Already on my 2nd one in 1 month. When I set it at 45 and it registers at 40-45, it never shuts off. It's taking humidity out, but runs forever. I can't believe it's too small for the room because I moved it to a very small bedroom & closed the door (for a trial) and it still never shuts off. The first one was replaced by the company, thinking it was faulty, but the 2nd one is no different.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Continuous Drain

By Ed from Undisclosed on 10/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very nice unit. Quiet, efficient and very capable of what is was designed to do. However, we bought this unit for the continuous drain feature from a store that knows its products well and have yet to make it work. We followed the directions to a T and nothing was mentioned by the sales person or the owners manual about having to order an adapter to plug the hole above the water collecting bin. I finally figured out what was happening and came to the website to see if this was a known issue and see that others have run into it before. This is an advertised feature that doesn't come with the pieces necessary to make it work, or even mention it in the owners manual, disappointing! I will make the necessary adjustments but others need to know.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Continuous Drain Design

By Bill from Undisclosed on 10/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The unit works very well, except that in order for the Continuous Drain feature to work, you have to tip back the unit, otherwise the bucket continues to fill, totally ignoring the fact that you have connected a garden hose to the back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not sure yet

By Sue from Undisclosed on 09/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just bought this today. It's been running for about 5 hours and not a drop of water in the bucket yet!! Basement is still very humid. I'll wait until tomorrow to see if it is worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

continuous drain

By RZ from Undisclosed on 09/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you plan to use with a hose attached - call tech support for the adapter kit. 1-866-738-1641


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok, with reservations

By bstnh1 from Undisclosed on 09/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This dehumidifier is very quiet and does a great job of sucking water out of the air. However, there are two significant design problems with it. The humidity sensor is located inside the unit and is far too sensitive. Mine was cycling on at least 4 times an hour and running for only a few minutes when it was not necessary. This will kill any compressor. Since this is one of the few dehumidifiers that will retain its settings and turn on automatically after a power outage, I hooked it up to a Sylvania heavy duty appliance time and set it to come on for an hour 5 times per day. The second flaw is the hose drain. If you hook it up to a hose to drain, plug the 1/4 hole above the bucket or else it will not drain through the hose. Frigidaire has been aware of both of these problems for years yet continues to crank out the same product without correcting them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great start!

By D R from Undisclosed on 09/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first time I've had to use a dehumidifier and this was selected because of the design simplicity, easy to read ratings, quality of other Frigidaire products I own, and price point. Shopping and comparison of manufacturers online took about 30 minutes, in store another 15 minutes. Setup took 10 minutes from opening the box until it was running. In the initial 6 hours of operation this pulled about 1 gallon of water from the air in my home. The unit has an easy lift handle that hides away in the top when not in use and good lift points designed into the sides. The wheels on the base are perfect on my wood floors and tile. Also the components all fit together tightly but are not difficult to remove or install. The rear continuous drain is threaded for a standard garden hose. The water bucket holds about 2 gallons and has a nice handle in the top of it too that makes it very easy to work with. The only tricky thing about this design is the air filter that slides up inside of the front grill from the bottom and is fairly well hidden. Now to see how well this holds up to daily operation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By jerswift2002 from Undisclosed on 06/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought on 6-22-2011 humidity was 90% plug unit in 24 hours humidity was down to 55%, i am using it in the basment. very quiet on high fan speed, easy to empty


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Appliance

By ect from Undisclosed on 06/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have just plugged in this 50 pt unit (had to return 25pt) which is really in excess of my square footage and use requirements. It is inobtrusive, very quiet even on high and has reduced the desired humity level in an hour. The smaller one ran continuosly for 5 days and never reached my desired humidy level. My room, including closets, 2 small adjacent rooms and a bathroom, is under 500 sq ft. The built in humidistat is relatively acurate +/- 2 or 3 % based on my separate humidistat. Worth the little extra money and also runs quieter than 25 pt. I have and have had over many years other Frigidaire appliances . When I do all the comparrisons with other brands Frigidaire is always #1 and never have I had any problems or needed service going back 10 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ideal for crawlspace

By Steve from Undisclosed on 05/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the fan that turns on when in operation. Ideal for circulating the air in my vent sealed crawlspace. The fan will cut off once your RH setting has been achieved or you can select the CL option and have the fan run continuously. Good value at less than $200. Also, much quieter and less expensive than my previous LG 45-pint purchased about 5 years ago.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved