Home » TUN5000 » 12 Reviews

Grandtec Tun-5000 Airvision Atsc Dtv/hdtv Receiver Tuner (grandtec Tun5000) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy (5)

Pros:

Crisp Picture (7), Fast Connection (7), Easy Installation (8), Great Picture (3), Easy To Set Up (3)

How long have you owned it:

A Month Or Less (4)

Best Uses:

Home (11)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Works great

By wilma92010 from Carlsbad, CA on 04/09/2009


Pros:

Pulls In Distant Stations

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was able to pull in stations > 80 mile away in HD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good and simple

By beecee Verified Purchaser from ne iowa on 04/09/2008


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Fast Connection, Easy Installation, Crisp Picture

How long have you owned it:

A Month Or Less

Best Uses:

Sports, Home, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Put the grand-tec on my 52" projection to bring in digital broadcast. works great. our signals are over the air antenna, with most stations being 50-70 miles away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works very well

By Wayne Verified Purchaser from Littleton,MA on 03/20/2008


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Crisp Picture, Easy Installation, Fast Connection

How long have you owned it:

A Month Or Less

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My biggest problem is with my antenna, but the stations it receives are great looking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture, easy set-up, good remote

By Physics Guy Verified Purchaser from High Desert Southwest on 02/02/2008


Cons:

No Aux Inputs, No Surround Sound

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy, Professional

Pros:

Intuitive Remote, Fast Connection, Crisp Picture, Easy Installation

How long have you owned it:

A Month Or Less

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Use component or composite video connectors (included) to turn my LCD computer screen (which has both those inputs) into a Hi-Def TV. Will work with a regular TV so you can get digital channels (but won't be HD, so you should get a cheaper box [...]). Buttons on box let you turn on and change channels if you can't find the remote! Comes with unobtrusive flat antenna encased in white plastic. Remote controls channels, volume, and lets you change aspect ratio and resolution with dedicated buttons.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised at a great price.

By Greg Verified Purchaser from La Center, WA on 01/25/2008


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Crisp Picture, Fast Connection, Easy Installation

How long have you owned it:

A Month Or Less

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The instructions say that when the unit is on a green LED will light up and at least on mine that's not the case. More of an amber color. It caused me a little difficulty getting the unit to work initially, but the total time from unpacking to watching ATSC programing was less than an hour and even 35-40+ miles away from the transmitting towers I get more stations than my normal TV and PBS in HiDef is awesome. I bought separate component cables because the included cables are kind of cheap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Good

By Ron Verified Reviewer from Eugene, Ore. on 12/18/2007


Cons:

Channels Won't Stay Delet, Changes Channels By It's

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Easy Installation, Fast Connection

How long have you owned it:

One-to-three Months

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit to primarily hook-up to my DVD recorder so I could record a program while I watched a different program on my TV. The first thing I noticed was that when you delete channels after approximately 1-2 hours they are not deleted any more. The same thing happens with the parental lock. The channels won't stay locked out. The thing that made me the maddest is that it changed channels all by itself. For example channel 34-1 is a FOX network channel and 34-2 is an independent channel. After a short period of time the unit changes channels from 34-1 to 34-2. It does this every time I try to tune in 34-1.[...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grandtec Tun-5000 Airvision Review

By Silver Bullet from Louisville, KY on 06/27/2007


Cons:

Elec Prog Guide Quirks, Had One Scanning Issue

Describe Yourself:

Professional, Gearhead, Tech Savvy

Pros:

Perfect Digital Pictures, Crisp Picture, Easy Installation, Fast Connection, Love Digital Broadcasts, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like the performance, features and ease of use of this tuner. I'm getting flawless digital broadcast reception from all local channels using an Antennas Direct DB4 antenna http://www.antennasdirect.com/attic.html and a PA-16 amplifier. I even receive one channel that has a tower 54 miles away. Most of the towers are about 20 miles from my house.I added the amplifier after moving the antenna to the attic. The longer cable runs were causing me to loose one channel during bad weather. The amplifier fixed that problem. [...]I used the antenna supplied with the unit just to see if it would pick up any channels. I ran a scan and it picked up two channels but the signals were too weak to show up. I then attached my DB4 antenna and ran a scan. The scan ran quickly and I didn't pick up ANY channels. I was very disappointed and thought my hope of getting digital broadcast was over. I put the receiver back in the box to ship it back. After thinking about it, I wondered why the small antenna would pick up two channels and the big one didn't so I hooked everything back up again and ran a scan. This time the scan took about a minute and I started seeing channels adding one by one. I was delighted to see it was working. I suppose I just needed to power cycle the box after switching antennas for the scan to work. So, everything is great now.I won't be able to watch analog TV anymore. digital is awesome.I did notice two issues with the Electronic Programming Guide (EPG).1. It uses a 24 hour clock and doesn't offer an AM/PM display option2. For some reason it gets confused about DST and the guide is often off by one hour. Sometimes it is fine sometimes its off an hour. I don't know if these issues are due to the tuner or the station broadcasts but they aren't really a big deal either way.I'm happy with the receiver and would recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Holy Cow!!!

By D from Central NJ on 06/13/2007


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Easy Installation, Crisp Picture, Fast Connection

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wow!! I live in central New Jersey in a valley by a river where I could only receive 7 or 8 channels, most of them fuzzy. After hooking up the TUN-5000 and adjusting the antenna location,it picked up 27 channels! The on-screen TV guide is great too! This worked way better than I expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This device "ROCKS"

By Geraldo the Dweeb Verified Purchaser from Nashville, TN on 06/01/2007


Describe Yourself:

Gearhead

Pros:

Easy Installation, Crisp Picture

Best Uses:

Sports, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This little ATSC tuner, Rocks! It picks up all the QAM digital channels in my area and has a very nice remote control. The 480i and 720i performance is outstanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous! Buy it!

By Tara from Santa Clara (County) Verified Purchaser from Sunnyvale, CA on 04/04/2007


Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Technically Challenged

Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Unobtrusive Design, Great Picture

Best Uses:

Home, Tv

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's small, it's powerful, it's easy to set up and it's easy to use, it provides GREAT picture quality. What more could I ask for...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great High Definition Receiver !!!!

By Nick @ TFI Verified Purchaser from Miami/FTL FL on 03/06/2007


Pros:

Great Picture, Great Signal Quality, Attractive Design, User Friendly Menus, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Movies, Professional Use, Tv, Office, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product from Grandtec is a great receiver for free over-the-air High Definition Channels as well as standard UHF & VHF. I purchased an outdoor antenna for mine and I have over 45 channels including the MTV-like (when they used to show musicvideos) and many other great high def stations. You can even watch the SuperBowl on a giant screen in high def.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great HD Tuner

By Perfectionist Pete Verified Purchaser from Clarksdale, MO on 02/27/2007


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Excellent Remote, Great Picture

Best Uses:

Home, Office, Bedroom, Kitchen

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great add-on tuner to enable reception of HD & Digital over-the-air TV signals. I'm out in the country - 15 miles from the nearest small town that has one TV station and 45 miles from a major city with eight stations. The tuner is on an 15" LCD TV in the kitchen, with the tv's own NTSC tuner only two stations come in very good and four others with some to moderate snow. With the TUN5000 I'm receiving 29 excellent - high quality digital & full High Deff channels. It actually receives a couple of chanels that my Sony 55" HDTV will not lock onto. I highly recommend this tuner...only wish it was a little less expensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved