Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Kitchen Utensils » Coffee Makers » BVMCECM260 » 31 Reviews

Mr. Coffee BVMC-ECM260 Espresso - 4 Cup - Stainless Steel, Black - Jarden Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 31 reviews)

70% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Well made coffee maker. Would choose again.

By jcup from Minnesota, United States on 09/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the BVMC-ECM260-RB Espresso maker for a month now and am completely satisfied and happy with my choice. I had a Mr. Coffee steam espresso machine for many years prior to purchasing this new one, that old machine is still working (with a broken handle), so I took it to work and it is great to have there. This new machine is quiet and brews quickly. For cleaning, I really like this newer version's removable drip tray that the carafe sits on. I chose the "steam" type espresso maker over the "pump" type because I can make a 12 oz. cup of coffee in one brewing as opposed to 4 oz. I like leaving home with "more" coffee, made in a hurry. However, for further enjoyment, I am considering purchasing the Mr. Coffee Pump Espresso Maker (ECMP50-NP) as well, to use on my days off or anytime I'd want what some call a more true espresso, "true" due to the higher pressure that the "pump" delivers in making the espresso. I've read in a review about a mystery "leak" from the machine. My only experience with anything that I could relate to a "leak" is that there seems to be an "overflow" design built into this maker, to take care of overfills of the water reservoir. In any "overflow" action that I have seen, the water takes the same path that the coffee would to the carafe.., or drip try. I never have a "leak" or water issue if I don't overfill the reservoir. If I was looking to buy again I wouldn't have to do a lot of espresso machine comparing, like I did last month, I'd just go get the Mr. Coffee.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of junk

By Jessicer5 from Statesboro, GA, United States on 08/26/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this three weeks ago so I could make lattes at home. It hardly ever works!! It makes espresso shots but every time I go to steam the milk it never works! So frustrating bc I talked my husband into letting me get it and now I don't use it bc the steam doesn't work it just doesn't I have tried everything from cleaning the tips to adding more water inside it just is not reliable huge waste of money do not buy it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Makes delicious espresso for my daily latte fix!

By LynneEPa1 from Williamsport, PA, United States on 08/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third Mr. Coffee espresso maker. I love them because they're so simple to operate and make really GOOD espresso, quickly and easily, and clean-up is very straight forward: rinse the carafe, dump the grounds and rinse the basket and holder and you're done!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tamper

By Staci from Fletcher, OK, United States on 06/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I need a tamper for this! It did t come with one and no where does it say what's size! I need a size! My spice containers are a cheep solution right now but really?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Everything Works Great!

By Ekoopa97 from Gahanna, OH, United States on 06/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Before I bought this machine, I did a lot of research into what would be both reliable and creating quality drinks. This machine honestly lives up to those standards. From what I read a issue regarding the machine was that it didn't warm milk, but that's NOT TRUE. Maybe on previous year sets there were issues but it's seems Mr.Coffee fixed that because the frother gets cold milk piping hot. Also the espresso is of both great quality and tasting!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for home made expresso!

By Mia02 from Boone, NC, United States on 05/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got this today and made my first cup of cappuccino and was really satisfy with the results. It was a little confusing since they attached a picture of a different model's frothing aid but it wasn't too big of a deal. I notice that other reviews stating that the instructions were complaining about adding more water after you make the expresso, it seem that they didn't read the instruction for "how to make cappuccino" because in the instruction it says to add 2 more cups of water than your desired amount of expresso to the water reservoir. For example, if you want 2 cup of expresso you add 4 cup of water to the water reservoir and you make your expresso when you reach the 2 cup mark you turn the switch to the steam to froth your milk. The result was pretty satisfying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a disappointment. Do not buy!

By mcgrail8 from Nacogdoches, on 05/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After a year or two it stopped brewing espresso. I have followed all the directions for cleaning, yet still cannot get my espresso coffee maker to work. Now to look for the receipt to see if it is still under warranty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Funny taste!

By Czuro from Tracy, CA, United States on 05/15/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this product as a gift a couple months ago. Ive dezcaled the machine with vinegar and ran regular water through it. The espresso tastes like a chemical, or melted plastic or something. The machine is great, but I cant drink the coffee:(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really struggling!

By Deb G from Milwaukee, WI, United States on 05/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just bought this machine and I figure I've already ruined it. Nowhere in the instructions does it say to refill the machine with water before steaming so it sucked up all my milk. It eventually all came back, but I assume some is left inside to rot. Gross. The instructions also say to remove the frothing tip with the wrench on the scoop. I'm lost. I don't see a frothing tip. Maybe I missed something? The small inset picture on the parts diagram looks nothing like the frothing arm and frothing aid that are on my machine (or even shown in the large diagram). I'm sure the machine is fine, but for somebody with no experience these instructions are horrid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Little Machine

By RSMP from Undisclosed on 05/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine has great features it is easy to use and we bought tor replace the same exact model which developed a problem after a few years of use, still worked but had a problem with the vapor thingy, figured it was time for a new one and the original worked so good we replace it with the same exact model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheap & Cheerfull

By IHeartFancyCoffee from Undisclosed on 04/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great little product. I'm a fancy lady when it comes to my coffee but not when it comes to my bank account, so this machine is perfect. It makes a great cup of espresso and heats up and froths the milk in a flash. The decanter did break on me while I was washing it, but since it was within a week of purchasing I called and they happily sent me a new one free of charge just the once. Great customer service! To be honest if it broke again a few months from now I'm not mad at paying 10 bucks for a replacement, which costs basically the equivalent of two grande's at Starbucks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good for the price

By CityGirl69 from Corpus Christi, TX, United States on 04/20/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased with great skepticism, considering the low price, but I trust the Mr. Coffee brand so thought i'd give it a try. Cons: The water doesn't reach the recommended 200 degrees to make espresso, reaches about 160 degrees. Only makes one little pot at a time - fine for 2 double capps, but otherwise it's one large capp at a time. It takes time to develop the skill to froth milk - instructions not helpful. Pros: Inexpensive, but still works after a year. Occasional hiccups, like espresso not making, or the steamer not working - usually resolves itself after a few hours.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this machine has become life!

By Luvbnmom from southern California on 04/20/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have two, I've at my house and one at my boyfriend's house; I love the simplicity of making my espresso eachmorning, I actually have two lol. Excellent price too


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine for a great price!

By TeaneckTep from Teaneck NJ on 04/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Makes great coffee. We bought one and used it for over 4 years and then just bought another to use for vacation in another kitchen. What you get depends a lot on the grind and quality of your coffee. We've experimented to find what works best for us and couldn't be more pleased. The machine is super fast, easy to operate and clean. We've heard mixed reviews about the frother, but my husband figured out how to get great milk; however, we almost always drink our coffee black, so frother issues aren't a concern. Our son has a super expensive machine that may turn out SOMEWHAT better coffee, but for the money, we vote for Mr. Coffee every time!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Started strong finished weak

By CappuCrazy from Tucson, AZ, United States on 03/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This worked great for about a week, until I forgot to unplug it. Afterwards, it never reached full temperature again. So, now the steam is inadequate and it takes 2-3 times longer to get a cup. The store doesn't carry this model any longer. Now I understand why.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice little machine

By Wlasi from McMinnville, OR, United States on 03/06/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Is hard though to open water reservoir. If you have arthritis or wrist trouble, even if hands are wet. Both handles need to have better gripping design. It makes very good coffee, quick. The foaming is good too. Messy at times, but fun . I personally would not have bought it for myself, it was a gift. Is a nice machine, except for the handles on the water and brewing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great for me!

By mitchell from Texas, United States on 03/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my machine a couple of months and it works just great. I bought it to specifically make lattes and after becoming more skilled at using it, I can make a double shot latte that tastes every bit as good as a Starbucks. I have no idea if the espresso is hot enough because I steam the milk to a boil. I wind up with about a 190 degree latte. I'll use it till the wheels fall off and see if I can buy another one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for price

By marylandpam from Maryland on 01/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this for husband's birthday gift. We love it with one small exception; the screw on cap is smooth so hard to grip. Do not screw it on exceptionally tight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beats Higher Priced Coffee Brewers

By gottaaddit from sunshine state on 01/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just purchased this model after I wore my previous (similar) one out. This little number holds its own with $100-200 machines. Very economical, easy to use/clean up, brews delicious coffee (I use mid priced coffee), compact. No steamer cup included; I purchased a wide mouth metal cup w/handle. (Used an ordinary cup before getting It.) The steamer nozzle moves forward and back so it's out of the way when not in use. Tastes equal to or better than those expensive, fancy cups of coffee.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this!

By Skyler918 from Branson, MO, United States on 12/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this machine and it finally started to die. My family went and bought me another Mr. Coffee espresso machine and let's just say it's going back. I can't even start on what was wrong on that one. I love this little machine and I'm buying another one. I love how the froth wand is moveable so I can froth at an angle that is comfortable for me. The coffee brews a little slow, even when it was brand new, but the final results are prefect. Did I mention how much I love this machine?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Makes good espresso but instructions are lacking.

By Stephanie from Boston, MA, United States on 12/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this as a gift for Christmas and so far I am pleased. I'm a bit of a latte fiend and spend far too much money at $bux and local coffee shops. The machine appears to work well, however the instructions could be much clearer and the design certainly improved upon. Biggest problem I have with the instructions is that it doesn't make it clear that you need to add more water to the reservoir after brewing coffee in order to steam milk. I thought I had broken the machine until I was able to figure out from the trouble shooting page that you do in fact need to add more water. I also have been a bit disturbed by the noise the steamer makes when frothing milk, however I think that's due to the type of milk I was using (whole milk) because it doesn't sound nearly as loud and terrifying when cleaning it with water. It also occurred to me that I wish there was a way to keep the espresso hot while steaming milk, but I saw a note from someone to start by switching the machine to steam first to get hot, then switch to brew, so I'll try that. Overall: this product is worth it, especially for the price. Someday I'd like to upgrade but this a is a great starter machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice.

By JohnCRay1 from Ridgecrest, CA, United States on 12/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recieved this item as a Christmas gift. The quality of manufacture is outstanding. It performs exactly as expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

horrible experience

By cass from Dallas, OR, United States on 12/24/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just bought this for my husband. first time I use it hot steam starts posing out, and the steamer began to pour water not steam. Very disappointed:(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dumb Feature - Location of Turn ON Lamp indicator

By MadiSar from California, United States on 12/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Human Factors and Ergonomics - would have preferred the Turn ON Lamp in a much visible spot , like the Front end of Coffee Maker. Its position now found hidden behind - misses eye catching attention and the coffee maker mostly ends up staying idle left out ON in the kitchen after making coffee. Leads us to a guilt feeling that we are truncating its life span. . Wish they modify location of Lamp to a more visible spot going forward. However it is the best product of its kind in market on price to performance ratio.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great & inexpensive

By Maritza from Florida, United States on 11/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I tried & returned 3 of the expensive machines. I love this one. Keeps coffee hot & it taste great. I drink the whole thing 4 cups with 4 oz. of half & half. It makes the best foam. I clean steamer arm & steam water right away. Once you create system, it's the best. I bought the stainless steel cup from BB&B. I am buying one for my Mom now & one for my so for Christmas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worthless

By DrFraggle from Parkersburg, WV, United States on 11/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

did not come with pitcher to make cappucino, not only that it would not brew anything, do not buy this product, you will not be happy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Workhorse!

By Richie5561 from Ormond Beach, FL, United States on 09/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I keep three of these machines side by side at both my homes, as well as in my girlfriend's house. We like BIG cups of cappuccino, so three machines cuts down on brewing and frothing times.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little machine...

By EJohn from Seattle on 09/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Considering the price point, this machine brews great espresso and is easy to clean up. Once you develop a technique it is easy to make (2) lattes at a time and rinse/repeat. I have tried the expensive residential machines and found the results not as good and they require far more cleaning and are much more complicated. I have given several to friends and family.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for the price

By Aachisuto from Undisclosed on 08/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great for the money. I just wish it came with a steaming pitcher or it had a longer steam arm. I couldn't find a separate steaming pitcher so I have to use a pyrex measuring cup to steam my milk, so the short arm makes it hard to steam milk with that cup. It's a little tricky getting used to frothing the milk, especially since the instructions in the booklet on making cappuccino don't tell you that you need to refill the machine with water after you make the espresso (I had thought it just needed pressure and that's why the instructions said to froth the milk after making the coffee and didn't say anything about refilling the machine with water. I'd never made cappuccino/latte before so I had no idea. But after searching around other reviews on other sites, I finally found the answer to this problem.) Minor problems aside, now that I have the machine working as it should it's great for the price. It will definitely save me money on buying lattes from a coffee shop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great lattes at home

By karissarose from Burbank, CA, United States on 08/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE this product. It was a bit of an investment, being a broke college kid at the time, but it was worth the money. My only disappointments are how long is takes to foam milk (which is understandable, I just can't use it everyday) and I have a hard time keeping the steaming arm clean but my lattes always come out great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine but for *TWO* design flaws

By JG_Albuquerque from Albuquerque, NM, United States on 06/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The spring return on the frothing arm is a feature that continues to cause aggravation. It is not uncommon to find the arm behind the decanter. I've found that I need that I need an extra hand when frothing. It's clear that Mr. Coffee didn't think this one through. The espresso is on the luke warm side - not as hot as the previous espresso makers I've had over the years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved